The SDP’s Sec-Gen, Dr Chee Soon Juan, addressing party cadres at the 2009 Party Conference.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

This “fool head” should take up a hawker store and sell rojak, that would benefit Singaporean more.
He cant run a small political party and you think he can run a country?
I welcome Jet Li as Singaporean, that is the kind of Singaporean whom will benefit our country more.
hi Singaporekia,
when those who are paid well above market rates fail so badly running S’pore, Dr Chee who spoke up so fervently against those failures will win supporters. in comparison, Mr Low TK who has been less vocal seemingly (i do not have the numbers to back up) get less support for being passive, as it can be viewed as a sign of weakness.
i wonder how does Jet Li benefit by coming to our shores, our movie industry not as established compared to China with its big name directors. the only tangible asset is our passport, IMO.
@ 51) , frankly are you a rojak seller ? don’t be shy ok ? honest living is fine.
you think LHL is running a country ?
in fact the Spore I know has become a famiLee business.
one thing for sure, Chee will stay and the famiLee will run when it comes to the crunch. don’t take my word for it, ask around.
MM has got a couple of years before he sees his maker; PM won’t last much longer if his old cancer returns; compared to MM and PM, CSJ is a blooming youth, in the pink of physical health and at the peak of mental health. In about ten years time CSJ should be in a position to be the PM of Singapore.
#53) famiLee rojak biz
‘one thing for sure, Chee will stay and the famiLee will run when it comes to the crunch. don’t take my word for it, ask around.’
#54) budamax1952
‘In about ten years time CSJ should be in a position to be the PM of Singapore.’
……………………………………………………………..
Ten years! Not so fast. The year CSJ becomes PM will be when Singapore reverts from First World country back to Third World status, when our few hundred billions reserves are depleted and the country is bankrupt and all the wealthy citizens are fleeing.
#22) holden
‘ Dear yang, how exactly did Chee misbehave? By speaking in public? Wearing forbidden t-shirts? ‘
………………………………………………………..
This is some feedback from people, some of them conservative, some educated. When it was shown on TV CSJ shouting at GCT at a food centre during the GE some years ago, it gave a very deep impression to the viewers that CSJ was overly rude. He didn’t get his facts right when he accused the govt of giving $5 billion to Indonesia. When LKY branded him a liar and a gangster many people believe the old man although many other citizens sympathized with the underdog.
Many Chiam S T’s supporters would not forgive and forget him for deposing the founder of the SDP. This is like biting the hand that feed the dog. He should have led his supporters and form another party.
$$$You certainly have done Chee and his team a great disservice. $$$
how so? by questining oppositions ineffectiveness in parliament?
$$Chee is anything
but in it for the money. Why should he? He had a good life , family and a good
job before he went into politics. $$$
i don’t see the oppositions complain about their $200k they are getting for warming seats, do you? hey, even a certain pastor resisted $500k salary but reluctantly accepted in the end because…it was the will of god?
$$$But because of the passion in him to
make a difference, he was knocked down too often for the most flimsy of
reasons and for just exercising his constitutional rights, like they did with JBJ
before. But he had never wavered or conceded to all the abuses of power and
for that he deserves our admiration.$$$
some would argue that the man has a stubborn streak and may even be a weakness which could cloud his judgment.
wish that CSJ would join hand with Kenneth and give those MIW a total wipe out during next GE, of course unless there is a fair play of voting here cos you never know how dirty politics can be.
57) tokcok
I agree! A person who is willing to risk a comfortable life, bankrupcy and jail HAS PASSION!
More than I can say for some opposition seat warmers.
Dr Chee is a high stakes bidder, looks like he’s efforts did not go unnoticed. there is a growing disquiet that is rooting for the likes of him. but i would suggest CSJ do more than stand up against the MIW, offer a robust alternative- to run S’pore.
i wonder what his plans are? besides, all opposition parties has a benefit of lots of time to come up with solutions to the many issues over the last few years, study MIW’s shortcomings & think of “system patches”.
1) Marketplace Thiologist
//////// The logo of SDP resembles that of Daihatsu.///////
Die Hard Su
There are only 14 in the audience?
Where was this recorded?
58) tiredsingaporean
////////////// wish that CSJ would join hand with Kenneth and give those MIW a total wipe out during next GE, ///////////////
If they are truly for the betterment of Singapore, they would put their diferences aside. But he kicked CST out of the SDP and make it his own party, if I recalled correctly.
51) singaporekia
/////// This “fool head” should take up a hawker store and sell rojak, that would benefit Singaporean more.//////
But make sure no food poisoning from his rojak hor.
But he would be able to “talk” himself out of that responsibility since he is such an eloquent speaker.
CSJ said “we have grown”. But no numbers given leh
63) KopitiamApek on August 8th, 2009 8.40 pm 58) tiredsingaporean
If they are truly for the betterment of Singapore, they would put their diferences aside. But he kicked CST out of the SDP and make it his own party, if I recalled correctly.
There are always some differences faced within a party, thats human. Whether CST was being kicked or resigned from SDP, the only answer lies within these 2 persons themselves. It could be out of many other reasons too, reasons they both chose to keep to themselves and move on, we can only guess or speculate. In politics, who can know what is going to happen next? its just like a game of chess, you moved one step, I move another step, its never final until you are being checkedmate.
all want to be chief mah
66) tiredsingaporean
Well said.
We do not know what goes on in the minds of these people.
So can we be leaving our country in the hands of these people?
Would it be any better than leaving in in the hands of the not-too-loved-by-TOC gahmen of today?
After hearing his speaach, I really have heard nothing.
30) Steven Lim Mong Thian
////////His ability to speak is quite rare in singapore, //////////
Go to any of Singapore’s more than 100 Toastmasters Club, to see how many good speakers we have in SG.And thes people can do work besides taliking well too : )
35) curious
///////// question remains..how much does he expect to be paid for his services once he gets to taste real power?///////////
If he declares upfront that he will not take the high minister/MP pay.
That will put things pretty clearly.
////////does he also believe…pay peanuts you get monkeys?////////
and orangutan, gibbons,apes, goriillas..it’s a zoo out there : )
PM Lee Hsien Loong is preparing for a prime minister, which I presume must be from his PAP, a decade from now. That Statement of his(PM) is telling Singaporeans that ten years from now, we will still be governed by the SAME Party, PAP.
patriot
//familee jewel
very funny.
hahaha