Dear readers,

TOC has gone from strength to strength since it first went online in December 2006.  (Visit our original site here). From a monthly hit-rate of just a few hundred in the early months of 2007, we have grown steadily to more than 600,000 in May 2009; we began with an infrequent rate of articles a month in 2007, we now put out about many more articles monthly by our citizen contributors; these days we register thousands of comments a month, a huge difference from what we used to get in 2007.

When Zheng Xi and Andrew first started this blog, they hardly imagined that it would one day hit such heights.  For this, the TOC team has two groups to thank.  First of all, kudos to our writers, who have stepped forth with their energy and words, put countless hours into their contributions and been absolutely fearless with their opinions.

And certainly the second group is our readers – for reading, for giving us critical feedback, for participating vigorously in debate, for making TOC a small part of your lives.  No site could possibly have thrived without so committed a family of writers and readers.  Anyone wanting to dispel the notion of the apathetic Singaporean need only take a quick glance at the TOC community.

Going forward, we would like to build TOC up further.  One important aspect of this is reporting.  You may have noticed that TOC has begun to edge away from solely carrying commentaries, to try to include reports on current events both in Singapore and overseas, and even media footage where possible.

Expanding on this will allow TOC to do more in bringing you the stories or perspectives that are overlooked by mainstream reporters.  We feel that this would complement TOC’s unique feature of providing a platform for ordinary Singaporeans to articulate their opinions.

However, the reality is that TOC is not sustainable on its current operating model for much longer.  Growth has brought about its own problems.  The workload of editing the input of contributors, running a nascent news team, writing editorials and articles, site administration, and media footage, etc has grown to a level similar to that of a full-time job and more.

These day-to-day operations fall largely to our managing-editor Andrew.  He is essentially the only full-time member of the team and draws on funds from his personal savings to sustain himself.

At present, this is not wholly fair to Andrew.  Other members of the TOC team have tried to help out whenever possible, but we are limited by our individual jobs and commitments, as well as the practical difficulties in trying to divide up the managing-editor’s job into smaller, less time-sensitive parcels.  Moreover, the workload of the managing-editor is only growing, as TOC accumulates more contributors and tries to expand on its reporting.

After much discussion, we feel that the best way forward is to ask for your help to put TOC on a firmer footing to sustain itself and to carry out its future plans.  Namely, we need your help in three areas of expense:

(i) The biggest expense will be to pay our managing-editor a reasonable stipend.  This will allow the site to justify retaining someone to work on the site full-time, and would also help us when we try to recruit future replacements for the job.

(ii) Expenses for our growing band of part-time reporters and contributors, to reimburse them for expenses such as transport or simple meals.  It is also a symbolic tribute to their dedication and efforts.  Furthermore, most of our intrepid reporters, for example, are students, and we would like to do what we can to help out with their expenses when they cover stories.

(iii) Site operating expenses such as site maintenance, administration and AV equipment and to support any future plans.

TOC’s accounts and expenditures will be transparent and accessible from the site, so you will know exactly where your money is going.

At present, TOC is funded entirely from our own pockets but this is no longer sustainable. Thus, we are asking for your help, however small.

To support our work, please click on the  button below if you wish to contribute through Paypal or use our bank account number: 656-4-100904 (OCBC, Thomson Branch).

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

The TOC Team

—–

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

130 Responses to “Lend TOC a helping hand”

1. Dumb and dumber 14 July 2009

Just contributed as suggested by 29) JK on July 13th. $20 first for this month.

TOC needs both support and actions, but action is the real thing they need now. Hence, if you have been “talking the talk”, it’s time to “walk the talk” (applies to people who can afford whatever amount – no amount is too small).

Of course, TOC needs to be accountable for the funds. Transparency and accountability is what TOC has been preaching; hence, please provide an action plan on this as well.

Also, you don’t need a PAYPAL account, you just need a credit card.

2. whenpotonpasireatabalong 14 July 2009

[i]source – http://www.ifaq.gov.sg/mha/apps/fcd_faqmain.aspx

Base on the above scenarios, it looks like online citizen would need to register with ROS (if I am not wrong), especially if “donations” are involved. You may also check out the following links for more info:

http://www.donation.org.sg/

Do play it safe and check things out first.[/i]

yes in singapoor
    askin for donations thru the medias constitute a law made by leekuanyew
    if you are donatin towards a pap ride a bicycle tune
    the law is ok
    if you are doin the same to an opposition parties or any whatever you called it forums/club
    you are BREAKIN leekuanyews’ LAWS!
    i used to support $$ in many forums
    but in the end
    i was too tired
    too many politicals hidden agendas…
    today?
    no longer keen
    very sorry

3. Mangee 14 July 2009

#41 plumber,
    ‘TOC ask the big companies for help’

interesting suggesting which leads me to ask, which company would dare to stick the neck out?

4. Online donations, or online shops, or online funds transfer are not subjected to physical legislation. Which is… if you keep TOC online. ^.^

Legal issues come when there is a fraud/crime as a result.

However, do note the regulations of funds transfers with the respective banking services.

5. smallvice585 14 July 2009

Private Trust circumvents the legal requirements for publicly asking for donations.

6. plopp 14 July 2009

I agree with creducator’s call for caution.

Even though I agree and support TOC’s need for $ I believe that two considerations are still critical namely a)keeping TOC afloat in the long term, i.e. avoiding legal investigations because of $ and b)not having stuff that might imply to others that TOC is not free to be independent e.g. major sponsorship by one company.

7. survival in dot 14 July 2009

Like the call by non-apathetic citizens at HLP for transparency and accountability,
    i think these 2 aspects need to be addressed before more will be willing to donate.

TRUST. oh , i forgot this magical, magnificent and happy word.
    just trust lor.

8. agongkia 14 July 2009

Hmm..when helping hand is mentioned,dun think I will stay away from here…I am too poor to contribute anything,but if you need some help in transportation or to run errand,,I am able to get free transport and driver on certain days…

9. Kanchiong Naburee 14 July 2009

I suddenly realise 1 thing:

1. donations I have supported or encountered (those on the streets) is such a transaction that, there seems to be no receipts or any form of traceability that can show beyond reasonable doubt how much was donated by who on the street AND!!!!

the donation collector or volunteer or employer or worker brings this money back to where? oh, the office. How i know? oh, i not sure leh.

Did I shock anyone or you people nebber notice or Trust or took for granted?

I confess. I always trusted the donation people when they paste the sticker on my shirt after collecting my money or after I ‘dong’ into the metal can.
    After the mini bon bon fiasco extravaganzas, I saw many got burnt and some still never learn.

Despite the volunteers may be ultruistically helping those in real need.
    Despite the volunteers may represent real charities.
    Despite them showing real badges and letters certifying the donation is legit,
    the FACT remains, where is the audit trail of all the transactions?

Who knows exactly what is going on?

10. Andrew,

You are, of course, fully aware that Internet Content Providers (ICPs) do not need to register with MDA unless their web pages are primarily set up to promote political or religious causes. However, this changes if the web pages are put up for business ( http://www.mda.gov.sg/wms.file/mobj/mobj.980.internet_industry_guide.pdf – clause 10) so as TOC moves forward it needs to be aware of the ramifications (I’m sure you already are),

Some excellent advice has been given above which need not be repeated. I would only add that your estimate of annual expenditure of $20 k could prove to be low if TOC really takes off. This is quite likely once a critical mass has been reached (it seems to have already been reached), after which growth could take off exponentially. TOC is currently getting about 20,000 hits a day; it is quite possible this figure could rise to 100,000 hits per day in the next year or two. TOC will then have to think in terms of employing staff to manage funds, monitor online content and so on.

TOC also needs to consider what happens if the funds that come in exceed its expenditure. This would, of course, be a happy problem. Much will depend upon how its structured: as a business, a society or a charity.

Look forward to hearing what you have up your sleeve!

11. KopitiamApek 14 July 2009

32) theonlinecitizen
    ////. We did have Google Ads for a while – about 6 months or so, if I am not wrong. Google suspended us from using its ads because of “illegal activity” – meaning someone “sabo” us by incessantly clicking on the adverts, which is against Google Adsense’s rules. And so, we were banned from using Google ads.////////

Google Adsense will suspend your account if you incessantly click on the ads appearing on your own site. If someone else clicks incessantly , it will not lead to suspension. Google protects advertisers from such incessant clicks by not biiling them for such mischiefs.

So I do not think someone can sabo.

12. KopitiamApek 14 July 2009

44) budamax1952

You obvously did not get my point.
    And what can I say about the interesting names you called me.

13. creducator 15 July 2009

Hi (61) Peter Sellers,

Thanks for the link to Internet Industry Guidelines. If I interpret the guidelines correctly, the onlinecitizen might have to take note of the following principles stated:

“3d. MDA’s emphasis is on issues of concern to Singapore. For example,
    in the case of racial and religious material, our purview covers only
    materials which may incite racial or religious hatred among the races
    in Singapore.

“10. Individuals who put up personal web pages are exempted from the Class
    Licence, unless they are putting these web pages for business, or to
    promote political or religious causes.

“22. For discussions where postings are available on websites for the public to
    access, eg bulletin board discussions, the website owner should exercise
    editorial judgment and be mindful of the Code when determining what
    postings to display. MDA’s focus is on discussions targeted at the general
    public. Business or professional closed user-groups which conduct
    professional discussions on websites will not be regulated.”

14. prettyplace 15 July 2009

#KopitiamApek….
    I remember PAP saying they want to get on the net as well and counter…..perhaps they have hired you….what come may….when your kids or your kids, kid starts weeping in Singapore then you’ll realise the truth…not that PAP has done all bad…but they can’t handle matured Singapore anymore….

I am setting up a PayPal a/c…and donating…..

15. #63KopitiamApek;;;Hi Apek;;;Sorry to have hurt your feelings; i thought you will made of sterner stuff; anyway i was just being humorous; please don’t take it seriously.

16. ErniesUrn 15 July 2009

What about starting with small donations? 1-2 bucks? And then see how transparency and accountable is exercised.

17. ebay the brand.. 15 July 2009

sell t-shirts, mugs, pins, and stuff with the toc logo on it…..create revenue stream and generate publicity at the same time….

18. good idea 15 July 2009

.69.. good idea.. can put headlines and sentences from TOC articles onto these t-shirts and mugs. even umbrellas. daily reminder hahahaha

19. Hi,

I would advise against a trust because a) trusts are opaque and b) they are usually based in overseas jurisdictions ie outside the purview of Singapore law. The authorities don’t like this.

Since we are advocating openness and transparency, let us start by demonstrating these qualities ourselves.

20. the riddler 15 July 2009

it always started out..innocent and humble. then it gets bigger and the egos needs must be fed. once it tasted the power, it becomes power hungrier and soon, a strong man( or several) will rise to dominate or decide on a particular vision or direction leaving some or many wanting and dissatisfied.

fights and contentions erupt sowing seeds of discontent, hatred and jealousy. the people gets divided and the division grows into a civil war and the system collapses.

all for what? because some jokers started off with a modest pay and when things become more successful, the ministers demanded millions or they will threaten to leave for greener pasturewhich of course, they won’t since they possess absolute power) .

21. whenmatasworeshorts 15 July 2009

[i]ebay the brand.. on July 15th, 2009 1.10 pm sell t-shirts, mugs, pins, and stuff with the toc logo on it…..create revenue stream and generate publicity at the same time….
    [/i]

mr brown did that
    its was a great success
    all his tees were grabbed liked hotcakes
    in the eyes of papian
    it was not a good sign
    coz the tees was with a tuakua(livers) printed

22. smallvice585 15 July 2009

Hi Peter Sellers #71,

Do you sincerely trust PAP Government will allow activist and opposition politics to grow? The whole point of using a Trust is to minimise the likelihood of the PAP Government abusing statutory / regulatory power to protect its political interest.

Idealism not bounded by pragmatic consideration is simply reckless behaviour. You wrote: the authorities might not like it. Is this a matter subject to their approval in the first place? The Trust may be registered in Singapore. Unless there is a Court Order, the PAP Government cannot inspect the accounts. The Government will need a good reason to apply for such a Court Order.

Moreover, Singapore is an offshore financial centre. Our laws governing Trusts are pretty lax. Trusts are regulated under common law (ie. court case precedence), the Trustee Act and the Trust Companies Act. If the Government decides to apply iron-fisted tactics on the TOC Trust, it will set iron-fisted legal precedence against other Trusts. This is merely shielding TOC by using existing government policy to guard against political motivation.

23. KopitiamApek 15 July 2009

66) budamax
    ///////;;;Sorry to have hurt your feelings; i thought you will made of sterner stuff; ////////

no worries, no feelings to be hurt. when all these we are writing to each other under the cloak of anonymity. I always find it very interesting to see the kind of respond and reaction when people reads stuff that are not in sync with their path of thoughts. It reveals about the “sterner stuff’ you refered to.

////anyway i was just being humorous; please don’t take it seriously.////
    ha ha I am laughing : )

24. KopitiamApek 15 July 2009

65) prettyplace
    ///I remember PAP saying they want to get on the net as well and counter…..perhaps they have hired you….///////

is the world so black and white to you?
    I am sure you have the capacity for dissending views, or are you only wanting to hear what you want to hear?

25. Lee Fatt Yew 15 July 2009

61) Peter Sellers on July 14th, 2009 11.42 pm

You are a good example of what i feel is how many who are ‘scared’ or self-preservatory but wants change can contribute to progress by offering advise to blogs like TOC which is serving the community with news , articles , videos, interviews and facilitating discussions on social or political issues.

There is an infinite number of ways to make progress. Even when the self can be preserved.

I hope readers who has skills and experience from all walks of life can come to this blog and make little contributions here and there like making good advice etc .

a droplet at a time. In time, a tidal wave. Inevita.

peace

26. I’d happily donate WHEN
    you stop writing about FTs entirely
    OR
    if you insist on following the PAP example of welcoming Foreigners, to remove the sign “A Community of Singaporeans” on your header.

27. AlexTheGreat 16 July 2009

I personally believe TOC will survive without donations… look deeper.. sniff harder people…

28. Smallvice at #74:

Now, who’s being naïve? “The Government will need a good reason to apply for such a Court Order.”

Since when has the Singapore government needed “a good reason” to take action when it wants to? From past recorded cases, good enough reason is when its interests are threatened.

I stand by my statement that we need to be open and transparent in what we do, not just for the sake of the government but for all those who have a stake in TOC.

The government cannot fight the internet. It knows this and has decided to adopt a “light touch” approach. Unless a site crosses the border into obvious politicking on behalf of a particular religion or political party, they have promised to leave it alone. Sceptical though we may be, in this instance, we need to give the government the benefit of the doubt.

A heavy-handed approach will just make the site migrate off-shore. It can continue to move to new host-servers, or similar sites can spring up, faster than the government can block access to them. The China government has not been able to prevent news about the unrest in Urumqi filtering out and neither has the Myanmar junta been able to prevent information leaking out.

A trust by itself will not prevent the government from shutting down a site. All the government has to do is regulate that sites must be licensed. And we all know what that means. A trust will, instead, arouse suspicions about the sources of funding. The Singapore government is very sensitive about foreign funding for domestic political activity (see guidelines on political donations on the Singapore elections site). An open and transparent system, far from threatening the long term survival of TOC, will in fact protect it.

29. The SS 16 July 2009

TOC, I gladly support you.

But hey yesterday, I tried to donate by clicking on the button leading to Paypal but it gives me an error message (Twice!).

Has this been fixed? Not sure if I do that again today I might get charged 3 x?

:)

30. Angelina 16 July 2009

Brainstorming my idea:

TOC to suggest an easily affordable figure, eg $2 per month. If there are 1000 readers, this would be $2,000 per month, thats $24,000 per year.

On top of this, TOC can tie up with say McDonalds for TOC supporters to redeem their $2 or get a free Mac if they spend $10 at McDonalds. The return for McD is sales promotion and advertisement in TOC website: Eg Support TOC and get a free Mac with the Mac logo displayed.

31. connection 17 July 2009

Hi,if PAP or NTUC willing to fund all your running expenses plus give you a salary..what say u? :)

32. Freemind 17 July 2009

#83 connection,

Is this out of PAP’s own pocket or taxpayers’ money? Is NTUC taxpayers money? Can TOC still represent the people’s voice if the money is PAP’s money? (not taxpayers)

33. KopitiamApek 18 July 2009

84) Freemind

////// Is NTUC taxpayers money? /////

NTUC gets its money from taxpaying union members

34. KopitiamApek 18 July 2009

82) Angelina

///On top of this, TOC can tie up with say McDonalds for TOC supporters to redeem their $2 or get a free Mac if they spend $10 at McDonalds. The return for McD is sales promotion and advertisement in TOC website: Eg Support TOC and get a free Mac with the Mac logo displayed.////

Can be devaluing the TOC’s “cause” if need hamburgers to entice TOC posters to support

35. Piped Piper 18 July 2009

#78 Jeff : “if you insist on following the PAP example of welcoming Foreigners, to remove the sign “A Community of Singaporeans” on your header.”

i also confused by TOC.

regards
    Piped piper

36. Anton 19 July 2009

To Jeff and Piped Piper:

First, speaking up for foreign workers is different from supporting PAP’s immigration policies. No need to confuse the two.

Second, a community of Singaporeans do not and need not think alike. Some of us sympathise with the plight of foreign workers, who are human beings too. TOC should be commended for being big-hearted, unlike some.

Your kind of blackmail is childish and unnecessary. It’s an invitation for the elites to treat u like kids.

37. To Anton 19 July 2009

I suspect Jeff and Piped Piper are employees of a Gangmaster company that manages, supervises and takes care of foreign workers in Singapore. They are uncomfortable about TOC exposing how fellow Singaporeans can mistreat fellow human beings.

38. KopitiamApek 19 July 2009

89) Anton

///It’s an invitation for the elites to treat u like kids.////
    some of them send out invitation cards on a daily basis.

39. KopitiamApek 19 July 2009

Hi TOC,

Quoting TOC’s “About Us”

//////Who are we? What is the purpose of The Online Citizen (TOC)?
    TOC began in December 2006 with a simple aim in mind: telling the stories about Singapore and Singaporeans that weren’t being told in the mainstream press. ///////////

I think you have done this quite well.

///////////TOC is a blog site which endeavours to reflect the views and opinions of ordinary Singaporeans. It is a platform which welcomes contributions from the man in the street, the average citizen who is concerned about issues facing our country///////

From this article, I have come to understand that TOC is really a one full time man operation (OMO) set-up with some other volunteers..
    And thus understandably, the “issues facing our country” chosen for discussion will very much be based on the choice of this one full time person and perhaps some of the other volunteers.

Are the posters here are representative of the “average man on the street”?
    The type of ” issues” selected would will attract only posters who are interested in them.

///////Here at TOC, Singaporeans share their honest opinions.//////////

That is quite true. Posters here pull no punches, they let it all out. In the process, emotive comments may stray from facts.

In an ideal world, it would be preferable if all the contributing posts to stay the course of posting factual information, but this is not going to happen. Everyone is right from their point of view.

Personal opinions are fine. But when information in posts are non facts, the discsusion goes off course.

We must remember that a lie (intended or otherwise) repeated often enough can be percieved as the truth.

That, in my personal opinion, it is the responsibilty of TOC to stay the course of the truth on whatever subject it may be. But it looks quite an daunting and almost impossible task for a OMO setup.

Again, for the lack of a better example, a busy person who lets his dogs wreck havoc in the neighbourhood cannot claim that he is not liable for the havoc just because he is too busy and have no time for controlling his dog.

The “owner” of TOC thus hold a very huge social reponsibilty to put right factual information so that readers knows the facts from otherwise.

TOC does not pretend to be right all the time in what we say. We are open to corrections and even criticisms. It is our hope that through the honest and civil exchange of views, all of us will benefit and perhaps take public discourse, especially on controversial issues, to a higher and mature level.

TOC, as our tagline says, endeavours to be a Community of Singaporeans – concerned citizens who care enough to express their views.

40. KopitiamApek 19 July 2009

oop! please ignore the last 2 para in #92

41. I will certainly like to help to contribute to this blog as it serves a good cause of informing Singaporeans about alternative news. Unfortunately, I am unemployed and running with my savings.

I find that the 154th propaganda is very similar to those sales reports, selling PAP politicians as cool, caring, concern about residents, and painting golden period and Swiss Standard of living for Singapore. All these are Wayang and Illusion only.

I enjoy reading the quality reports and comments here and learn more about what is really happening around Singapore which the 154th rarely talk of. I certainly hope your blog can make it big like Malaysiakini with viewership of 100,000 per day by the next election. I will help by spreading the articles with my friends and people on political forums.

42. Angelina 20 July 2009

>>>”And thus understandably, the “issues facing our country” chosen for discussion will very much be based on the choice of this one full time person and perhaps some of the other volunteers.”<<>>”Are the posters here are representative of the “average man on the street”? <<>>”The type of ” issues” selected would will attract only posters who are interested in them.” <<< – KopitiamApek

- Of course, if not why bother?

43. Angelina 20 July 2009

The above post is messed up, here’s what it should be:

Ref to KopitiamApek’s post @92

>>”And thus understandably, the “issues facing our country” chosen for discussion will very much be based on the choice of this one full time person and perhaps some of the other volunteers.”<>”Are the posters here representative of the “average man on the street”?<>”The type of ” issues” selected would will attract only posters who are interested in them.” <<

- Of course, if not why bother?

44. Angelina 20 July 2009

Hmm very strange, its messed up again! Will just summarise my comments here:

ST is also based on one person’s choice of ‘news’, we all know who he is. At least at TOC, the one person is one of us. If this one person is not reprsentative of the “average man on the street”, then representative of who – PAP? They’ve got the ST. Thats why I used McDonalds as an eg to work with, not some French Michellin star cuisine restaurants. If the issues are not to attract posters who are interested, why bother?

45. apek, how are you these days 20 July 2009

“The type of ” issues” selected would will attract only posters who are interested in them.”

apek, same goes to your kopi. your kopitiam will only attract those who like the type of kopi served there or laksa, nasi lemak or some beer for nightime kakis.

does your statement also apply to mainstream media and their feedback process.

“Personal opinions are fine. But when information in posts are non facts, the discsusion goes off course.”

you are right, apek. personal opinions are fine and they can be so much different among many different people given different frames of reference.

“We must remember that a lie (intended or otherwise) repeated often enough can be percieved as the truth.”

democratisation of truth & falsehood. that is why it is important that TOC allow the views of people like you and your hardcore kakis to weigh in the other side of the picture.

yes, a lie (intended or otherwise) repeated often enough can be percieved as the truth. we are not only concerned about lies but also many other issues / policies which have being drummed or echoed often into us.

46. Angelina 20 July 2009

KopitiamApek :“We must remember that a lie (intended or otherwise) repeated often enough can be percieved as the truth.”

A very good statement most appropriate for Straits Times! or PAP Propaganda Times.

47. KopitiamApek 20 July 2009

Angelina @ 95,96,97,99

Thank you for your comments on my post.

Seems like you got some problems posting, I happened to me yesterday too. After typing a long post, on clicking “submit”, it disappears.

You have compared my comments of TOC to ST, which a lot of post here like to. Please let me clarify that my comments made no reference ST, and neither are my comments a comparison of ST and TOC.

In response to my comments
    ”The type of issues selected would will attract only posters who are interested in them.”
    you wrote
    “- Of course, if not why bother?”
    which is logical and obvious

However my point was
    “Are the posters here are representative of the average man on the street? ”

The people who are attracted to the TOC topics, are they “the average man on the street”
    That was my question.

You wrote /////At least at TOC, the one person is one of us. If this one person is not reprsentative of the “average man on the street”, then representative of who – PAP? ////
    (btw, You brought in PAP into the picture, which was again not reference to in my post.)
    You are assuming that that a TOC reader/poster is representative of the average man on the street, I am not sure I can agree with that. The readership in TOC is but a small fraction of the populace. So how do you justify it as representative?

48. KopitiamApek 20 July 2009

99) Angelina

////A very good statement most appropriate for Straits Times! or PAP Propaganda Times.////////

Again you comments brings in PAP.and ST, which I made no reference to.

49. KopitiamApek 20 July 2009

98) apek, how are you these days

///does your statement also apply to mainstream media and their feedback process.////
    whether it does or not was not the intend of my statement. please see my post #100 which addressed this.

/////allow the views of people like you and your hardcore kakis ///////
    please explain what you mean by “people like you and your hardcore kakis”

/////we are not only concerned about lies but also many other issues / policies which have being drummed or echoed often into us.//////
    the second part of your sentence seemed to be used to evade answering the first part, which was my question.
    If you are concern about lies (intended or otherwise) posted in TOC, how are you going to address that, (whether ST or PAP drummed what into you, was not my question,)
    Or are you saying that it is ok for non truth to previal in TOC? I am sure you do not want that. 2 wrongs do not make a right. To facilitate productive discussion based on factual info, that was my point.

50. lies or truth 21 July 2009

102) KopitiamApek on July 20th, 2009 9.39 pm
    “If you are concern about lies (intended or otherwise) posted in TOC, how are you going to address that, (whether ST or PAP drummed what into you, was not my question,)
    Or are you saying that it is ok for non truth to previal in TOC? I am sure you do not want that. 2 wrongs do not make a right. To facilitate productive discussion based on factual info, that was my point.”

Do not worry too much about “lies” and “non truth” which could be mere opinions coming from a different perspective. The internet will always have people like you to rescue the situation and it is important that TOC stay open to all for this to happen. Does this address your concern.

Do you think this is possible in the mainstream – double standard ????

Ultimately, “lies” or “truth” are very much dependent on how reality fits into the personal situation of an observer (affected party) and how he interpretes it.