When I signed up with the Young PAP out of curiosity, I genuinely wanted to find out more. By no means was it cavalier, or whimsical; unfortunately, circumstances prevented me from doing so.
Calvin Cheng, NMP, responding to a Today article
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Being curious about an organisation is one thing; taking the next step to become a member is at least an act that indicates an identification with the organisation’s values and modus operandi. Say, I’m curious about Christianity. I can satisfy my curiosity by reading about it, interacting with Christians, etc. Similarly, my curiosity about how the Communist Pary governs China does not mean I’ll have to join the CCP to satisfy my curiousity. If I join the CCP, this means at least I identify with its values and modus operandi. For Mr Cheng to take the crucial step of becoming a member of a political party is hence at least an indication of commitment, and not just a simple case of satisfying curiosity. However, what does it say about someone who join a party but remain inactive since joining, and then renounce it? Also, I’m intrigued by the fact that Mr Cheng seemed to have direct access to Mr Teo Ser Luck! I’m curious how this is possible if he was just an ‘inactive’ member!
wow…its like a part timer needing to inform the VP that he is resigning. only happens in elite parties i guess.
People try out stuff all the time out of “curiosity” e.g. drugs, crime, glue-sniffing as well as volunteer work, hobbies etc.
I guess if Calvin Cheng had been a low profile private citizen doing what he does, it will not be news-worthy.
But since he has been selected as a NMP, then unfortunately, some of his decisions made would be fodder as he has been elevated to someone who is of “public interest”.
Let’s welcome him to adulthood.
Majullah Singapura.
Actually Arts NMP Candidate Lorretta Chen said the same thing about joining YPAP out of curiosity:
Addressing concerns of her YPAP affiliations, she [Lorretta Chen] said she joined the organization after returning from the United States for “morbid curiousity and intellectual discovery” after reading a brochure about the YPAP’s inclusive and dynamic nature. However, her membership has since lapsed after she realized that “a brochure is a brochure” and that she was a “solo dissenting voice” in a YPAP that was more inclined to “reinforce the status quo.”
Source: http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/“a-voice-for-the-arts-and-artists”/
1) curiosity kills the cat on July 13th, 2009 11.12 am
” Also, I’m intrigued by the fact that Mr Cheng seemed to have direct access to Mr Teo Ser Luck! I’m curious how this is possible if he was just an ‘inactive’ member!”
Pecah lobang! want to bluff also cannot do it professionally. How to be in politic.
u know what? We r a very unforgiving society..enuff damage done to his credibility! That’s good enuff.
Both Lorretta Chan and Calvin Cheng have come out publicly to say that they joined just for “curiosity” and then denounce it! Either YPAP has lax criteria for accepting members (maybe desperate for more members?), or that it alienates some very capable people who join it, or both.
The collateral damage of this episode must be the YPAP.
I agree with blackfeline that he has gotten his comeuppance, even as I suspect that he is being made the scapegoat by many for the “vengeance” people want to direct against the ruling party. I suggest we leave him alone for the time being and see how he performs as an NMP.
Perhaps Mr Cheng would allow me to pose him challenge : prove to us that he is worthy of his NMP seat by performing to the standards of the Mr Siew Kum Hong whom we were deprived off.
actually why would this discredit him? I don’t really see it. Unless of course people want to associate him with being a possible lackey in you-know-who party.
Let’s see how he performs in parliament. That is the real proof of his affiliations and beliefs.
Speak up for the little people or not speak up for the little people(aka turn blind eye to protect yourself or worse bootlicking), that is the question.
#1 curiosity kills the cat, you hit the nail on the head! well said!
people who joined YPAP and public declare their affection for the leader are in for something, they dont do it for fun. they know this might go a long way, just like teoseuck… if you are chosen, you would be making millions a year, who is not tempted? everyone is hungry for power and money, the fastest way is to join the A team and be one of the potential candidates.
SKH maybe good but he also knows the big risk he has to undertake if he joins opposition politics.
do you think how many noble people would do politics for our cause? not many.. who are willing to risk their careers, families; you tell me.
It’s true those who joined YPAP has their own agenda. And I think it’s pretty obvious what that is. Why join YPAP? There are many many many organisations to join why this one especially?
This reminds me of the case of the old “new-exco” from AWARE. Lot’s of people argued that they should be given the chance to perform before we condemn them.
In his case we need more “proof” of his guilt, if any. But in the first place why should we be interested in him? He doesn’t warrant so much attention at all.
More likely he will turn out to be a “hi and bye what’s your name nmp?”
I don’t believe he will turn out to be a “Siew Kum Hong”. Such men and women are very very rare in sg nowadays.
At least don’t be a Thio Li-ann.
“If you want to say what the country should be, then you must be prepared to die. If you are afraid to die, it is better to stay on the sidelines and just cheer; don’t enter the arena. The arena is only meant for those who are prepared to die.”
Lee Kuan Yew, 3rd Oct, 1965, 28th Anniversary Celebrations of the Liquor Retailers’ Association
[i]Doublespeak on July 13th, 2009 3.53 pm actually why would this discredit him? I don’t really see it. Unless of course people want to associate him with being a possible lackey in you-know-who party.
Let’s see how he performs in parliament. That is the real proof of his affiliations and beliefs. [/i]
out of the existin 82 pap mps
how many speak for the peasants?
perhaps?
few nights ago
i see MY mp go round on the meathepeople sessions
its liked a boatquays party
surrounded by no less than 15 persons
@ first i though it was a funeral send off
simply because
the whole group walked in a line across
all mus walked beside the kachanputeh mp mey?
jesus christ
i also must ellat if i want to walk through to my hdb castle..
i couldn’t be bothered
i didn’t stopped
nor acknowledged his existance
let alone the rc roadblockers
NMP is the PAP’s strategy of preserving the virtual one-party rule in their favour.
In fact, I have no doubt many join NMP and MP not to serve the public but to serve themselves more by having connection as gahmen and to make their resume look superior.
Aside from outstanding NMP Siew and Sylvia Lim, ask what has the rest of NMP contribute ? The formers are able to establish convincing and thought-provoking argument while rest only go through motion and giving surface argument that lack substances. No different from majority of useless MPs. They just happily waiting for their monthly extra income paycheck of $13,000.
“When I signed up with the Young PAP out of curiosity, I genuinely wanted to find out more.”
If you really want to find out more and is genuine, nothing will stop you. Every clown can find excuse especially without stating the reason.
Agree with Daniel (16) that it would look great for your resume. That civil service job/golden ricebowl is there for the taking in future. This is another variant of money poliltics, not corruption as in what we have seen in other countries. It kind of works differently here. everyone has their own agenda, it’s a dog eat dog world.
NMP allowance is peanuts but the MP’s is way up there. Serve 2 terms and you chia buay liao, serve the people my foot, more like self service.
Has anyone realised the money these NMPs will be paid. Its not a small some to those who are urgently in need of. After all they have to be paid well to avoid corruption and also these newly found talented people we all know were chosen cos of their admiration of the PAP and also not forgetting their leaders!
I guess this NMP scheme has been proven to be a farce. If you dont tow the line , you will be out the sooner an appourtunity presents itself. History has shown that this is the case as evident recently.
Poor chaps they should have decided to stand in the next election for the PAP.They will definitely get into the system if they are so talented. Or maybe like someone said in a different way, talented but not so talented so put thme in the backdoor like the NMP.
Time will surely reveal their so called capabilities and talent and if really they are the UFS–unidentified spies of the government to inflitrate the public and provide information for the party of the PAP.
Two views: its good that the NMP was pretty honest in tendering his resignation following his feelings! Its not important how and why he resigned. He made a decision and wanted out! Any organisation, including political, should create a air of freedom to anyone who wants to join or leave – must be natural rights for any man.
On the brighter side, its good NMP resigned then stay on with guilt, deceit and false intentions. Young PAP should be happy they got rid of the viper! before doing more damage then good in the long run.
There is a good rebutt to NMP Calvin Cheng on TODAYonline.
Source: http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC090713-0000154/Online-Only—I-would-have-been-more-hard-hitting-with-Calvin-Cheng
I sigh with disappointment over Mr Calvin Cheng’s inability to read deeper into Mr P.N. Balji’s inference for criticising the Nominated MP-designate over his curiosity reason in joining the Young PAP. Indeed, I had shot Mr Balji an email last week prior to Mr Cheng’s reply, saying I thought Mr Balji, who is a friend of mine, was spot-on, though easy, with Mr Cheng. I added: “I would have been more hard-hitting than knuckle-rap him for naïve curiosity!”
The healthy type of curiosity a la Magellan, Einstein etc that Mr Cheng associates himself with is not the type in question here. When the phrase ‘Curiosity kills the cat’ was first recorded in the English playwright Ben Jonson’s play Every Man in His Humour in 1598, the cat didn’t die for displaying humanism (not that it could, anyway, being a feline). It died presumably for its poor judgment in thinking too highly of itself and its capabilities.
Mr Cheng would have given the impression that he displayed such opportunism when he stuck to being both a Young PAP member and an NMP aspirant at the same time, in that should the new avenue closes, he could always return to an old avenue. For if he were inactive, why didn’t he quit the party the moment he aspired to be an NMP – why wait till the outcome of his NMP application? If he didn’t think the link between the two would compromise his position, why did he bother to inform the Select Committee about it? More importantly, would he have quit his party membership had he failed in his NMP attempt or keep it ‘inactive’ (aka ‘on standby’?). Thus the crucial question is not why he offered to resign so late but why didn’t he resign earlier.
I am not a fan of the NMP scheme and, like many constitutional puritans, do not believe the sanctity of Parliament is a marketplace for non-elected representatives to articulate their views on behalf of citizens they did not receive their mandate from, no matter how well intentioned these contributions may be. There are always the Select Committees, Advisory Panels, the civil groups, REACH or even the opposition where one could make significant contributions to political life in Singapore.
I hope that rules on the future selection of NMPs include this in-principle clause of the exclusion of candidates with any political party affiliation unless they have first resigned their membership. If you want to be a PAP member, hope you are capable enough to be spotted by the party to be its MP nominees. Don’t we have enough PAP MPs in parliament to add pseudo-PAP MPs to the list?
” Don’t we have enough PAP MPs in parliament to add pseudo-PAP MPs to the list”
It takes two hand to clap but it takes more than 70 MPs (or eunuchs) to perform orchestras fit for the emperor and his closets.
As a media owner I believe Calvin is tied up in other things… he doesn’t even have time to date I presume! So give him a chance. Anyways GOOD REPORTING is to provide NEWSWORTHY articles of INTEREST imho this reporter’s article is not newsworthy at all.
He doesn’t need a good resume… pls, he is owning his own biz.