Monday, July 13, 2009 23:13

“Non-partisan” NMPs? Did we miss something?

In Andrew Loh, Main Stories, Top Story • 2,540 views • 59 Comments

Andrew Loh

What we have now is a PAP-infested Select Committee which has picked, to be NMPs, a YPAP member, a NTUC member and 5 people who idolise MM Lee! Good grief!

“Enacted in 1990, the NMP scheme provides for persons …. to contribute to the political process through the presentation of wide-ranging, independent and non-partisan views in Parliament.” (Emphasis mine)

The above statement is taken from the press release by the clerk of Parliament, dated 8 June 2009.

The news that one of the newly-appointed Nominated Members of Parliament (NMP) was a Young PAP member has thrown up several issues of concern. Mr Calvin Cheng, 34, an entrepreneur in the fashion/modeling industry, had joined the People’s Action Party’s youth wing (YPAP) in 2006.

According to the press release by the clerk of Parliament, on 6 April, the Special Select Committee on Nominations for Appointment as Nominated Members of Parliament (NMPs) invited the general public and functional groups to submit names of persons for its consideration for appointment as NMPs. The closing date for the submission of names was 11 May 2009.

When nomination for the new slate of NMPs closed on 11 May 2009, Mr Cheng was among the 46 names submitted – and he was still a YPAP member.

The Committee shortlisted nine names from the list, which was then submitted to the president on July 7 for approval. The president promptly gave his approval on the same day. Mr Cheng has now revealed that he tendered his resignation from the YPAP the next day, 8 July, Wednesday.  That is, after his nomination had been approved by the president.

Mr Cheng’s resignation indicates that he was aware that NMPs are expected to be “non-partisan’, otherwise there would be no need for him to resign from the YPAP. In his letter to the Today newspaper on 13 July, Mr Cheng explained why he could only resign on 8 July. “Due to the fact that offices were already closed, and also a technical issue about the exact status of my membership,” he said, “I was only able to email my resignation the very next morning on Wednesday.” (Today)

I think Mr Cheng has missed the point. Application for NMPs was opened on 6 April. The Select Committee’s final list was decided on 7 July. That is a period of three months in between. Mr Cheng, during these three months or so, could have and should have settled the “technical issue” about the exact status of his YPAP membership. As he himself put it, the “technical issue” was whether he was “a member of the General Branch or of the Teck Ghee Branch.” Surely, this is not a question which should or would take months to clarify? As for the offices being closed, well, Mr Cheng had had three months or so to resign his YPAP membership. Why wait till such a late hour to do so?

Did not his YPAP membership raise a red flag for the Select Committee, which incidentally, except for Mr Low Thia Khiang, is made up of PAP MPs? Apparently, the committee did not even ask him about it. One wonders if a Workers Party member, say, would be given approval if he applied to be a NMP.

Also, did the president, who promptly approved Mr Cheng’s nomination, raise the question of Mr Cheng being a YPAP member?

There are now questions being asked about Mr Cheng’s “non-partisanship” as an NMP – and he is not the only new NMP being asked these questions.

Mr Terry Lee is the new “Labour NMP”. His nomination was supported by the NTUC, and no NTUC-backed candidate has failed to be appointed so far. He has held many appointments (see here) and is currently a member of the Central Committee of the NTUC.

The first question one would ask about Mr Lee’s appointment is whether we need another representative from the NTUC to be an NMP, given that many current MPs and ministers already are from the NTUC. These include Minister Lim Swee Say, Minister of State Heng Chee How, Mdm Halimah Yacob, Mr Seng Han Thong, Mr Yeo Guat Kwang  and  Mrs Josephine Teo – all except for Mr Yeo belong to the NTUC Central Executive Committee. Are these ministers and MPs so incapable of providing alternative views that we need another NTUC member to do so? And how different would his views be from those of his NTUC boss, Mr Lim Swee Say or how “non-partisan” his views would be from the government’s, given that the NTUC has always boasted of its “symbiotic” relationship with the government?

In an earlier article, I highlighted how five of the 9 new NMPs listed Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew as their “favourite politician”. Basically, they idolize MM Lee. (Incidentally, the only PAP member among the new batch, Mr Calvin Cheng, is one of the exceptions in this case. His political idol is US president Barack Obama. ) [Editor's correction: It is Nelson Mandela, not Obama.]

Now, if you were looking for people who would provide “independent, non-partisan” views in Parliament, would you select – not one or two or three but five – NMPs who hero-worship the person who’s regarded as the most influential and powerful man in the cabinet?

And what about the Select Committee itself? Out of the eight members on the committee, seven are PAP MPs. It is a clearly biased committee. Yet, it is tasked to select NMPs who are to be “non-partisan”? Is this even possible? Would a PAP-controlled committee select say, a Singapore Democratic Party member to be NMP? (Of course, he would have to resign his SDP membership but even if he does, would the committee be really impartial?)

So, what we have now is a PAP-infested Select Committee which has picked, to be NMPs, a YPAP member, a NTUC member and 5 people who idolize MM Lee! That sure gives the term “non-partisan” a whole new meaning.

Seriously, is this what you’d want for a scheme which is meant to provide “independent, non-partisan” views?

For the NMP scheme to have any credibility at all, we should start with looking at the composition of the Select Committee and make it one which itself is non-partisan, or multi-partisan. (One opposition MP on the panel hardly makes it so.) We also need to be clear about political party members applying to be NMPs. What is the select committee’s stand? What is the president’s reasons for accepting and approving the names submitted?

There needs to be absolute transparency and accountability in the reasons why certain people are approved while others are not. To this day, Singaporeans have no idea what the deliberations of the Select Committee were. In its report, the Committee did not elaborate on the reasons why the nine were chosen. Or why the applications of two former NMPs, Mr Siew Kum Hong and Mr Gautam Banerjee, were not approved.

The committe, however, did reveal that all MPs in parliament were consulted for their views on the NMP candidates. This is hardly any comfort, given that 82 out of the 84 elected MPs belong to the PAP.

At the moment, the NMP scheme looks far removed from its aims of providing “independent, non-partisan” views in parliament. How can it, when the ruling PAP has a say in and is present in all aspects of the selection process?

Perhaps it should aim for transparency first, especially when the Prime Minister has decided that the NMP scheme will be a permanent feature in the political landscape.

—-

The special Select Committe comprised of the following members:

Mr Speaker (Mr Abdullah Tarmugi) (East Coast) (Chairman)

Mrs Lim Hwee Hua (Aljunied) - Minister, Prime Minister’s Office, Second Minister for Finance and Second Minister for Transport

Mr Low Thia Khiang (Hougang)

Mr Mah Bow Tan (Tampines) - Minister for National Development and Leader of the House

Mr Masagos Zulkifli BMM (Tampines) - Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education  and Ministry of Home Affairs

Mr Michael Palmer (Pasir Ris-Punggol)

Mr Sam Tan Chin Siong (Tanjong Pagar) - Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Industry and Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts

Mrs Josephine Teo (Bishan-Toa Payoh)

—–

1. 5 out of 9 new NMPs list MM Lee as their “favourite politician”
  2. Media reports on Killer Litter case miss the point
  3. New NMP had joined Young PAP “out of curiosity”
  4. Why are public sector appointments shrouded in secrecy?
  5. Reforming the NMP Scheme

59 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Peter Sellers
Jul 13, 2009 23:48

Here we go around the mulberry bush, the mulberry bush, the mulberry bush!

Led by a Makapili
Jul 13, 2009 23:50

Our Nathan is seemingly very busy nowadays, not the usual ceremonial presidency which was first intended.

Anyhow, obviously he is approving all documents coming to him, BLINDLY.

So, is he busying the productive way?

Pedant
Jul 14, 2009 0:40

Just a minor correction. Cheng said Nelson Mandela. Which I thought was the most original answer. Obama is too obvious – lacks imagination. The other imaginative answer was probably Jefferson, but he is long dead – more of a historical figure rather than a politician. The rest were just muppets who said MM. Bah!No brain.

whenpolisworebrowns
Jul 14, 2009 0:50

fwah lau
leekuanyew must have every words/command @ his fingertips
even nmp must also ungkat him
might as well
made 1 giant grc which can comprised of 15 mp in 1 grc
up to him mah
afterall its ahkong that pay th dogs’ bones what
~zhee~
buaytarhan
better go looked for hdb pillars
and rammed my bloomin head
how many vormit can a sane peasants have?

Concerned
Jul 14, 2009 1:33

I strongly suspect that the nominations were decided well before the interviews. I heard that the interviews were conducted very briefly and casually, obviously just a formality. That was why they did not even bother to query Mr Cheng’s political affiliation. If they are not serious about encouraging impartial views to be expressed in Parliament, why bother to have such a scheme?

The president approved the nominations immediately without looking into the details, or even asking some questions. He is just acting like a rubber stamp. If it is so, that is the most expensive rubber stamp in human history.

Anyway, from the look of it, the scheme will not serve any meaningful purpose this time. It will fail to get the resonance of the public. This would be very sad. Changes involved risks. It calls for courage and determination. If the interviewers wanted to play safe by selecting people they are comfortable with and would not cause any “trouble” to the ruling party, then it is better not to have it at all.

All said, the PAP is not ready for change. It may have the desire but certainly not the courage and determination to do as it said.

smallvice585
Jul 14, 2009 2:12

Question is whether all members of the Selection Committee must defend the decision of the Committee regardless of their personal objection? Otherwise, Opposition MP Low Thia Khiang is unnecessarily dragged down into this inconsistency.

SM Tan
Jul 14, 2009 2:38

Fellow Netizens.

Just would like to repost what I wrote earlier on three occasions to the Today Online Voices comment section which has mysteriously been deleted. I would also like to add that Mr ”Citation Needed’ NMP’s wiki entry has been edited as recent as 7th July 2009.It was quoted that his wiki entry ‘has sources that mention the subject only in a trivial manner/passing references.’

Did Mr NMP ‘leading expert on fashion modeling in Asia’ edit his own wikipedia?

He certainly brands himself very well, associating himself with ‘Cindy Crawford,Claudia Schiffer, Naomi Campbell and Gisele Bündchen amongst others’ in his wiki entry.

He certainly takes a lot of credit for having ‘founded and managed agencies in up to ten cities, including Singapore, Hong Kong, Jakarta and Tokyo.[citation needed] And ‘During Cheng’s term, Elite opened agencies in Bombay, New Delhi, Seoul, Ho Chi Minh City, Hanoi and Shanghai.[citation needed]‘

Please note Mr NMP : Citation Needed!!!!

Also, it was nominated for deletion on several occasions.

Quoted ‘most are directory entries, press releases, and a few others which are irrelevant. Although the sources in the article recognise he is the head of Elite Asia, are all trivial mentions or rentaquotes. Most of the details in the
article appear therefore to be unverifiable.’ Nice try Mr NMP.

Quoted’He’s quoted once or twice in a few articles about Asian
fashion. Getting quoted once in a while does not mean notability — there are lots of company heads out there who are not notable enough for Wikipedia.’Nice try Mr NMP.

Note also that the contributors to Mr NMP’s wiki entries are also promoting his proteges Amber Chia and Elvin Ng.Who is Áricia Lam -a fashion co-ordinator and editor based in Singapore, Malaysia and Hong Kong’ who has edited his wiki?

He is probably a doyen of the Fashion Industry but his ‘curious’ attitude has made me equally curious about him.

winstoncheng
Jul 14, 2009 2:39

Your enemy can weaken you by simply being unfair to you every moment. The mere questioning of justice and receiving an unjust response will wear you eventually. The antidote is to be oblivious and focus on the positive, that is, what we want to achieve.

Doublespeak
Jul 14, 2009 3:31

To 7) SM Tan on July 14th, 2009 2.38 am

PN Balji is that you? Hee…

Joking aside, a thought…maybe he didn’t want to resign his membership in YPAP first but only after confirmation of his nmp status. That’s why during the 3months between application and nomination finalisation he did not take any action. If not he may end up empty handed in both hands?

I am also reminded of James Gomez case of submitting his application to be classified as a minority-race candidate in 2006’s election. The similar works, date of submission, credibility called in question, technicalities etc.

A liar? Or truly just a mistake?

aiyoyo
Jul 14, 2009 6:59

aiyoyo

same abang idea la…

employees from same company again;

so what’s the improvement to be for commoners?

boss say go left, employees say go right meh?

so commoners why still need to pay so much tax? for what?

aiyoyo

score point
Jul 14, 2009 9:01

Does singaporeans Not Deserve to have a non-partisan NMP ?

How many NMPs are linked directly, indirectly to a party before they are nominated?

1 day before he / she resign from something affiliated?

what if this is the case? Is it non-partisan?

What if related to NTUx..x.x.?

I went to interview many years ago.

I was innocent and naive and honest and spoke directly.
I said something based on impression about NTUxxx and I said it was gubbymen linked.

The interviewer, a panel of many, told me kinda strictly and seriously, it is Not.

I thot she was joking.

And then I realised, at least on paper, it may be not. as workers are involved…….

i am very hsien….

Kan Seng Ong
Jul 14, 2009 9:07

Would singaporeans in general mind this background of this nmp?
I think singaporeans in genera will ACCEPT all the NMPs, fortunately or unfortunately.

Would singaporeans care about whether NMPs should be non-partisan?

Would the mind if one has a background with WP ?

singaporeans, singaporeans, singaporeans…..

ho say liao lah.

Ice Koling
Jul 14, 2009 9:23

What could be the effect IF all rising stars , non-partisan, are ‘knighted’ to the family of knights as soon as they are discovered?

get my drift?

Star7
Jul 14, 2009 9:24

An “independent” selection committee selects 9 “independent” NMP, consisting of a NTUC member, an ex-YPAP member and 5 Lee Kuan Yew hardcore supporter.

I should re-define my definition of “non-partisan”.

BryanT
Jul 14, 2009 9:35

(6) smallvice585,

I feel that you concerned for Mr Low Thia Khiang being “unnecessarily dragged down” is paradoxical.

I suppose Mr Low was included in order that the Select Committee incorporates the views of the opposition. If Mr Low is not comfortable with the motivation or proceedings of the committee, he should have declined in the first place or resigned along the way.

If Mr Low now has concerns about how the NMPs are selected, then he should voice out now. Otherwise, silence means consent.

Jc
Jul 14, 2009 10:03

I think let’s give these new NMP time to prove themselves. We have yet to understand where they stand. Till date, most are speculations. Of course, I do agreed that a person who is in NTUC will most likely sing the same songs with the NTUC bosses who are the MPs. I kn I will suck up to my boss too. After all being old and need a job, will I object to my bosses’ view….hell no. Still, it is speculative. Let’s calm down.

I suggest to the govt next time that NMP shld be voted by the public. It does not need to be expensive and can be done via voting online. And it is not compulsory that everyone shld vote like the GE. We do not need all 9NMP to be voted in this manner. Give 1 – 2 NMP slots that are voted by the public so that we can be very sure we have a lively advocacy scene and no one be apathetic if they want their voices be heard…..then, again, this may be a really bad idea as the churches will raise up and vote for some christian right fanatics….Imagine we have 9 TLAs as NMP…..bad idea.

Basically, NMP does not sound like a gd idea at all….

frunky
Jul 14, 2009 10:05

These NMPs will have more to prove now that they are not part of the gang. Maybe they will oppose more ! Cut the crap, no need talk so much here and we will see how they perform in time to come.

David
Jul 14, 2009 10:26

Here comes another reason why one-party state has created so many side effects Singaporeans are facing right now and another good reason why this party needs to be voted out in the coming election. I am even more dissappointed with our current pratamen. His greed for money seems to overwhelm him more than the welfare of the citizens. Frankly, if he has been more alert, more conscientious and more people-oriented, the jinx wouldn’t have gambled away all our CPF monies, this NMP wrong selection wouldn’t have allowed to slip under his nose and god knows what other people-sacrifiicial documents he has blindly or deliberately endorsed to keep his protect is well-paid status while the people in this country struggle with 3 meals a day.

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 14 Jul 2009
Jul 14, 2009 11:02

[...] NMPs Appointed – TOC: “Non-partisan” NMPs? Did we miss something? – The Sketch Times: The New Wave of [...]

tiredsingaporean
Jul 14, 2009 11:24

No use complaining so much here and there. Since when did those MIW ruling party ever do anything fair or justifiable for the people of singapore, so long as they can justify among themselves, they just go ahead with it whether you like it or not.

Anonymous
Jul 14, 2009 11:38

It’s all a farce by PAP. This NMP thing.

Even a person who by his own admission is disinterested in politics can also be elected, what else can we say.

One minute he says he was curious. Another minute he says that he has been inactive all along. So it was for fun, afterall. Damn bloody excuses to cover a lie.

What sort of integrity is there anymore for a liar to be nominated.

Daniel
Jul 14, 2009 12:00

“One minute he says he was curious. Another minute he says that he has been inactive all along.”

He might just mean that he is a curious person and want to stay that way by not finding out the thing that curious him in first place. After all how can he be curious if he know the truth. Curiosity and truth are mutually exclusive.

Maybe he is part of the dilbert’s management style.

Manager: I heard that you are a very curious person and it beats me why amidst your curiosity, you do nothing to find out the root cause of your incompetency.

LazyC: Boss, I want to maintain my curiosity about my incompetency,and if I find out the root cause and truth of it, how can I stay curious of myself. By not doing anything, I can maintain my curiosity trait and stay curious forever. Haven’t you heard of curiosity kills the cat ? Curiosity don’t kill me but the truth kills me ! I will not do anything that jeopardise curiosity. Now, does that sounds logical and rational to you ?

Manager: Wow… that’s thinking out of the box !

LazyC: What do you expect from someone from Oxford ? Of course, A Oxford graduate must be damn unique, indifferent and intelligent. I am a true blue Uniquely Oxford-Singaporean with rare talent so when is my next pay increment so that I can keep my curiosity and creativeness alive ?

sataysatay
Jul 14, 2009 12:14

money talks lah. all you need to qualify is just to say…grace grace and pump in hundreds of millions of dollars into religious commercial building can liao.

Kaffein
Jul 14, 2009 12:22

“…strongly suspect that the nominations were decided well before the interviews. I heard that the interviews were conducted very briefly and casually, obviously just a formality. ”

Bingo! Does anyone need to say more?

Kaffein

justkaypoh
Jul 14, 2009 12:40

I think NMP Siew spoiled the ‘market’ by being over zealous, so now govt become TL and make sure they get puppets to act lor.

Remember Ong Teng Cheong was over zealous too? The next presidential election was a walkover. And we have a super good president who is super productive to sign any paper given to him.

Yang
Jul 14, 2009 12:46

Hello guys, it all along a wanyang show by the ruling party. Just remember to cast your vote wisely in the next election and for WP Mr. Low. You better watch out as ou had not been performing very well in the House. You will be kick out if you dare not challenge things is not rights for the people. Show us your guts!!!!

ErniesUrn
Jul 14, 2009 13:02

Sorry, I reserve my joys for these new NMPs for I still strongly believe in a strong opposition.

Just because a city has “Manchester” in it’s footall club name does not make it a United.

And you would have to bring in Liverpool too for a fair playing field.

smallvice585
Jul 14, 2009 13:12

Hi BryanT #15,

You wrote: I feel that you concerned for Mr Low Thia Khiang being “unnecessarily dragged down” is paradoxical …. If Mr Low now has concerns about how the NMPs are selected, then he should voice out now. Otherwise, silence means consent.

Are you familiar with the Standing Order of Parliament? He may have sounded out his objection, but unless the minutes and the report of Committee of Selection has been published, we will not know.

Jackson Tan
Jul 14, 2009 13:17

From the other article by Balji taken from Today,

Mr Cheng says that he told the committee he was an “inactive member” and that the committee did not question him on this.

In defending his decision subsequently, he said his Young PAP membership expired two years after he joined the political organisation in 2006 and that he never even bothered to pick up his membership card.

If the above were true, then it baffles me what he withdrew from? Some informal membership? But in any case, I wouldn’t consider it too big an issue. In fact, Balji did not criticise him on this point, saying that

In a country where lines get blurred in so many areas, Nominated MP aspirant Calvin Cheng’s decision not to resign his Young PAP membership the moment he launched his bid to enter Parliament is understandable.

To me, I think I will fault him for sloppiness and contradiction of passion and all that sort of thing that is levelled upon him in Balji’s letter, but I think his nonwithdrawal is a mere technical issue. In fact, I don’t mind if he retains his membership (whatever form it is supposed to be), so long as he can bring non-partisan and intelligent debate into parliament.

Jackson Tan
Jul 14, 2009 13:26

In an earlier article, I highlighted how five of the 9 new NMPs listed Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew as their “favourite politician”. Basically, they idolize MM Lee.

I think that is a leap of logic I must disagree upon. Just because Lee Kuan Yew is their favourite politician doesn’t necessarily lead to idolisation. While “favourite” and “idol” shares both admiration and respect, there is a crucial difference that separates the latter from the former, and that difference is worship. If a person is your idol, you worship him (in whatever context the idol is in: a god, an actor or a singer etc.); if a person is your favourite, you may worship him, but it needn’t be.

In fact, I, for one, will name Lee Kuan Yew as one of the local politician I respect the most (with JBJ tailing very closely behind), but this does not imply at all that I worship him, or that he is my idol. As a matter of fact, to me, criticism is a necessary condition for me to respect someone.

SM Tan
Jul 14, 2009 13:28

The institution of the NMP has been thorughly damaged and should be torn to shreds.The question is how many past and present NMPs were party members before or during their term.Or how about this, after their terms?There were at least 30 NMPs since 1990.How many were party or ex-party members? Are NMPs associated with NTUC truly non-partisan?

I hope the Singapore Press does ample coverage than just mere footnotes.We are still waiting unabatingly for the performance updates of our two mega Soverign Wealth funds.Proroguing bought them time.So enough of the distraction.

The Select Committee should be questioned on their decision to nominate Mr NMP.Was it a curious decision? I am hardly surprised of their decision to nominate Mr NMP as 7/8 of them are PAP members.

The concept of independent thought or non partisanship is unfathomable to the PAP.Its either you are with us or against us.Never mind if your inactive.Might as well convert our Pink IC’s into PAP membership cards and for those who want to opt out,convert it into Blue IC’s.

This current slew of NMP candidates are poor to begin with.We do not know if they are impartial or non-partisan.Why don’t MediaCorp introduce a reality series where the public get to nominate for their NMP?Oh, I forgot, our MediaCorp reality series are staged.How would I know?Well ask the producers or the contestants.

Imagine this, I am curious, I join the YPAP, spruce up my political CV and put myself up for NMP nomination to a select group of 8 whom 7 are my fellow cadre members.If I don’t get nominated which is highly unlikely as 7 are my fellow cadre, I can still remain as an inactive member and try my luck again as either a MP candidate or as an NMP in future.Either way I win.I always win even though I am inactive.Curiosity rocks.

Looks like there will be a beeline of Curious Singaporeans rushing to join the PAP/YPAP to put themselves up as future NMP candidates as membership has been proven to have its privileges in this instance.That’s the beauty of curiosity.I look forward to more frivolousness.

The 7 PAP members of the select committee can overturn any veto by Low Thia Kiang as he is and will always be a minority member.Why isn’t Chiam See Tong in the select committee to provide a bit more legitimacy or balance? I mean 6/8 is still a majority.The NMP scheme reeks.MP Hri Kumar even had the audacity to suggest the need for an Appointed Minister who should be free of constituency work.

So ladies and gentlemen, get ready for this.We have NCMPs,NMPs, ‘curious’ NMPs and a new incarnation of the Singaporean Democratic system, the Appointed Minister who is free of constituency responsibility.

PAP membership is like the golden calf.We see many opportunists in Singaporean society but to see it creep into politics is sad.

Mr NMP,his ilk and the Select Committee have further damaged the institution of the NMP scheme, a uniquely Singaporean tool of deinstitutionalizing the role of a multi party system or any semblance of true democracy.

A Tan
Jul 14, 2009 13:57

“In an earlier article, I highlighted how five of the 9 new NMPs listed Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew as their “favourite politician”. Basically, they idolize MM Lee.”

“favourite” does not equal “idolize”. Never did.

Albino Hum Junior
Jul 14, 2009 14:45

Lets imagine if out of all members of the select committee, they even put in 1 WP mp as member, what effect can this MP have on selection? i wonder.

Albino Hum Junior
Jul 14, 2009 14:46

oh, pardon. They also did that. Wow, seem so credible committee wor. stedi bombastic wor.

Albino Hum Junior
Jul 14, 2009 14:51

I wonder what could happen when the bucket is ….. ?

ahkong
Jul 14, 2009 15:16

PAP is baring all its colors. Dare to form such NMP group which is clearly non-partisan. Waste of tax payer money. Imagine $13,000 per NMP down the drain. That is how spendthrift the PAP government is.

prettyplace
Jul 14, 2009 15:27

WOW…..never knew PAP will be so afraid….

They know the troubles ahead, i guess…

with the economy like this…and all their policies going down the drain….1 by 1…..probably they are trying to consolidate….all possible questions put up in parliment….mmm

Times are tough….and there is no way out….sad cos..the loss is like $2million dollar salaries….wonder what they will do…once they lose…mmm..got to ask a minister who lost…..and there was one….

prettyplace
Jul 14, 2009 15:29

Perhaps TOC can highlight to people…that a minister can lose…..giving e.g. of the 1 who lost…sometime back…

Gee
Jul 14, 2009 15:57

What a SHAM!!!

Majulah
Jul 14, 2009 16:01

simply world class:

“presentation of Wide-Ranging, INDependent and NON-Partisan views “

Majulah
Jul 14, 2009 16:03

What is the effect IF all potentials got knighthooded such that there is no one left.

sadoh
Jul 14, 2009 17:26

Another show put up by PAP.

Now we have whole bunch of dogs hand-picked by Singapore emperor.

Goodluck peasants, expect to pay more tax in the coming years.

ahkong
Jul 14, 2009 17:59

By its selection of NMP it seems PAP government has lost all its integrity. PAP wants opposing views and yet select NMPs not conforming to its intention of the NMP roles. PAP go to hell.

tiredsingaporean
Jul 14, 2009 18:27

36) ahkong on July 14th, 2009 3.16 pm

Waste of tax payer money. Imagine $13,000 per NMP down the drain.

You think they bother???? they don’t give a shit, its the taxpayers $$$ anyway . . . . belonging to all those stupid people who still vote for them.

bootlip
Jul 14, 2009 18:58

i am seriously awaiting 1 or 2 GRCs to be lost this election and some ministers be thrown out of their million dollar haven.

in singapore, everything is about greed, power and money. i would not be surprised, if the whole committee was selected because they are supporters of the dominant and also the fact it is easier to control than having SKH or Slyvia Lim there.

to go public with affection augurs well, they maybe groomed to be the next minister.

Enigmatic
Jul 14, 2009 19:03

Dismantle all GRCs and let all aspiring MPs prove their competence of contesting and winning a single ward alone and thence managing single handedly without riding on tail coats of ministers – S$13k per month is a behemoth amount to many of us – this would not happen if not for this farce NMP idea and we are indeed amazed that this can even happen with several members : inclusive ministers on the Special Select Committee chairs – and even the blind approval of our prata man – maybe it was smeared with prata curry then.

This prevaricating Oxford educated chap must have been playing by the adage : a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush but cannot simply set free one first – thats why the very last minute as claimed by him and by t he way emailing is on the round the clock 24 – hr service basis hor ……

Resigning from any organisation does not detach and remove completely any affinity which one previously had and it will be more credible for him to join any one of the opposition party to be truly opposing and be a voice of the people.

How credible can this proceed further – now that all these have happened – but only after whistle blowing hor ……

monopoLee
Jul 14, 2009 20:15

Is it possible to have non-partisan NMPs, when famiLee members, with exception of Low TK, select potential famiLee members ? ……all a sham to me !

Of course there will always be exception, like Siew K H, who caused the famiLee members to regret.
It is a sad situation for S’pore when political leaders just do not understand they have to do much more to regain their credibility, and this NMP scheme is not something to be proud of.

survival in dot
Jul 14, 2009 22:32

All the losses incurred…..
so, no one shall need to pay for it?
so good if that is the case.
Else, i hope no hikes coming.

survival in dot
Jul 14, 2009 22:33

45) bootlip on July 14th, 2009 6.58 pm
\\\i am seriously awaiting 1 or 2 GRCs to be lost this election and some ministers be thrown out of their million dollar haven.\\\

you WAIT long long errr…..
this is singapore and its singaporeans we are talking about hor!
unique until cannot lah.

rwkc
Jul 14, 2009 22:48

Let’s do something that is in our power – vote against the PAP in the next elections. Pass the word to your family members, relatives and friends.

Alex the peasant boy
Jul 15, 2009 11:05

I just wonder why we are having so many of these clowns here in the parliament. We have so many MPs, so many staff without portfolio & so many in the PM office; do we really need another 9 to get things to work? Would getting these 9 fellers actually be productive in any ways? Don’t get me wrong, if there’s a shortage of staff, then they should go out & get the manpower needed, but every time I watch some parliament debate, I could see many of these MPs sitting there, doing nothing & trying not to fall asleep!!

Sigh…now we have another 9 trying to look attentive & forcing their eyes to be open!! I just feel that getting these 9 NMPs are just a waste of money, unless these folks are like Mr Siew, who at least, tried to speak up on various matters that concern the Average Joe! Maybe I should apply for that too, so I could get some extra income for my family.

red_dot
Jul 15, 2009 12:47

Scrap these non-elected parliamentarian system.
Restore the single seat constituencies.
Move towards two party system!

ErniesUrn
Jul 15, 2009 14:57

Share a Joke.

“Can I, out of curiosity, DON”T VOTE PAP?”

:)

be brave
Jul 15, 2009 17:50

This new slate of NMP, contradict what PM said of “ensuring” a different voice in parliament

These days, they talk from both sides of their mouths

old saying: “Guan Zhi liang ge kou”

sincerity is absent !

Come together
Jul 15, 2009 22:47

Every year, there are singaporeans who graduate from ivy league.
What happens if all these get invited to be member of ….. and no ivy league grad is left behind? Apply this to all doctorates. Apply these to all successful biz men.

What is left?

Pay and Pay
Jul 15, 2009 22:59

16) Jc on July 14th, 2009 10.03 am
\\I think let’s give these new NMP time to prove themselves. We have yet to understand where they stand. Till date, most are speculations. Of course, I do agreed that a person who is in NTUC will most likely sing the same songs with the NTUC bosses who are the MPs. I kn I will suck up to my boss too. After all being old and need a job, will I object to my bosses’ view….hell no. Still, it is speculative. Let’s calm down. \\

There is Private Sector A (non GLC) and there is Private Sector B (with GLC) and there is Public sector, methinks .

In the private sector A, how one achieves the top is his own parsah. What he does affects his company and employees at most. Yes, I would admit people need to be nice to their employer in addition to performing. Without the ’soft skill’ and ‘EQ’ to apply the hidden leg, one cannot reach higher or even survive long. Its common and expected and unspoken truth in private sector to soak it up.

In public sector, there is special case. While most things can be the same as private sector, the competition is different as there is no private sector business-business competition. So, there is difference. On top of that, the Character of the talent is even more important than his skills and qualification. In private sector, one may ’sacrifice’ himself and wine and dine and karaoke with his clients and even under the table, using the ‘legal’ way.

In the public sector, the PEOPLE expect honest leaders. This is in a way different from a private sector expectation where anything is possible and can be done as long as you get away with it using ‘legal’ methods.

So, I just hope singaporeans understand that while people will make their employers or boss happy to earn a living, and people will strive to achieve wealth for themselves, for the public sector, WE the PEOPLE better know what to expect from our public servants and not be confused.

Together we beCOME.

tiredsingaporean
Jul 15, 2009 23:00

52) red_dot on July 15th, 2009 12.47 pm
Scrap these non-elected parliamentarian system.
Restore the single seat constituencies. Move towards two party system!

That is not possible. If they allow a two party system to take place then the loon position will be at stake when the ole man kicks the bucket.

Gary
Jul 16, 2009 21:27

Years ago Ong Teng Cheong resigned from PAP before running for President. It will be interesting if OTC got elected then resigned from PAP.

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Weekly Roundup: Week 29
Jul 18, 2009 10:57

[...] or provide real alternative views? – Today In Singapore: NMPs To Shut Up And Sit Down – TOC: “Non-partisan” NMPs? Did we miss something? – The Sketch Times: The New Wave of NMPs – Sgpolitics.net: New NMP Calvin Cheng’s reply to TODAY [...]

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook