Loo Zihan’s valedictorian speech at NTU

“The original draft of my speech was composed of words like “integrity” and “breaking new boundaries” , said Mr Loo Zihan in his valedictorian speech at the Nanyang Technological University graduation ceremony on Thursday, “but a recent incident put a reality check on what I have to say.”

Mr Loo related how a poster for his film, Threshold, was deemed ‘inappropriate’ by the school’s authority to be displayed during [the] convocation ceremony. He was dismayed by this as the poster had earlier been displayed at the school for two weeks without any problems.

“My first thought was to make the changes to the poster as required – but subsequently, as I was practicing for this speech, I realized that I could not say the words I drafted originally with conviction and authority by subjecting my work to censorship which I did not understand. I felt a sense of responsibility to my fellow graduates, who have voted me in as Valedictorian to speak up on their behalf.”

According to the Straits Times, “the poster for his film “Threshold” shows a shirtless man standing at a basin while hands from behind hold his left shoulder and waist. A mirror in front of him shows the reflection of another man.”

Mr Loo withdrew the poster rather than subject it to any changes for it to be exhibited.

“As artists, we should not only strive to produce great art – but also bear responsibility for the art we produce. Otherwise, we betray ourselves, and our audiences,” he said.

The film was created as part of his thesis. You can read more about the film and the transcript of his speech here.

In 2008, another group of NTU students took to Speakers’ Corner to protest media censorship in their school.  (See video below). The students were upset because of NTU’s decision to censor the campus media coverage of opposition politician Dr Chee Soon Juan’s visit to the university. (See reports by TOC here and here.)

The following is a trailer for Threshold:

2008: NTU student protests media censorship in their school

96 Responses to “NTU student protests against school’s censorship in graduation speech”

1. 37) socrates on July 25th, 2009 11.03 pm

I dun think it was inappropriate to raise an issue that relates to their convocation during the convocation. Notice the cheers, I do not think there was much disappointment amongst his cohort on the points he raised.

Your mindset is typically Singaporean — we must make a show and dance to show everyone is happy and dandy during an event so everyone’s face is preserve, and I disagree with you.

May I ask then what is your opinion of Charles Chong calling his fellow citizens “lesser mortals” when interviewed? Was that appropriate? What about MM going to Malaysia and then criticize them? Is that correct?

2. selective accusation 26 July 2009

Who best represents sneaky and deceitful ? Surely not the young man speaking out on behalf of his fellow students. The clearest example has to be the PAP MPs
    How did they sneak into parliament and how many actually spoke up for lesser mortals ? Guess who and what system is behind this ? ……trustworthy ?

3. Loyola 26 July 2009

Chap spoke his heart, kudos to him. I am appalled by the detractors here who think it better to just shut up or speak like an equivocator… .

4. money for nothing 26 July 2009

If I am a member of NTU’s management / administration, I will take Loo Zihan’s speech on behalf of fellow students as a befitting farewell gift to the school.
    Nothing like seeing your students demonstrate courage and conviction pursuing their ideals. Well done !

5. socrates 26 July 2009

Can display conviction, courage, true grit, etc in another way another forum..not appropriate for this platform when you are entrusted to say something like integrity and breaking new boundaries. If I am with NTU Management I feel played out and if I am a new grad in the convocation I feel played out as well. He has used this platform to highlite his own personal problems!

6. mice is nice 26 July 2009

Socrates,

why is it not appropriate?

how is it only a personal problem?

7. Loyola 26 July 2009

Socrates,

Its definitely about integrity..

8. Thinktok 26 July 2009

Zihan what you did is not wrong. It shows that you are quick on your feet. You should thank the silly NTU staff for hitting a ‘high ball’ for you to create a name for yourself. No big deal. You were just angry because you did not get what you want. Understandable.

Actually I prefer people like you rather than those who just tow the line. But be loyal to your family, NTU and country for giving you a good education.

Wish you all the best in your endeavours.

9. lefleche 26 July 2009

My former professor said that a professor’s greatest joy is to see his student excel beyond the teacher. I hope Zihan’s professors are proud of this student.

10. singaporekia 26 July 2009

I also want to protest that those student should not be given student grant.
    I don’t like dog that you feed also bite you.

11. thinktalk 26 July 2009

Agree with thinktok..be loyal to country and be thankful to family and NTU who gave you a good education. Next time you want to say something dont be sneaky. Best wishes in your future endeavour.

12. Ghim Moh resident 26 July 2009

Keep it up Mr Loo Zihan.

Well done and congratulation for your graduation.

13. sofarlji 26 July 2009

these students have only have spoken at hlp.
    but where is the effect if any?
    if there is no positive effect strong enough, there is no success achieved.
    just talking will not make much progress.

14. mice is nice 27 July 2009

never under-estimate the spillover effect of words. that is why the local media is so closely monitored. bacause words can be very persuasive, words can sway the mind, convince critcs, paint a web of lies or create fear.

some effects are subtle, some are not. whether one notices it or not, there is an effect.

15. i support no censorship. SG can never be a media hub if it seeks to censor every artistic expression. No pt hvg all these art school without freedom of expression.

16. David 27 July 2009

Singapore history needs to be rewritten that we are no long a democratic country based on justice and equality. It sounds too artificial and trying for pap to smokescreen us with all their craps.

17. creducator 27 July 2009

I am not sure what “Threshold” is trying to covey. Threshold when homo couple breaks up and one will commit suicide? Is this be the reason for censorship? If not, what is the reason?

Some background of Loo Zihan at “Undergrad strips for Pleasure” – http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20071025-32081.html

18. socrates 27 July 2009

67 Thnks for the link. Now we know more.
    He is self-centred and thinks about himself instead of a bigger audience. He
    used the occasion to air his grievance. He talked about rights to do this and that and creactivity but he completely couldnot understand the rights of the organisers
    who may also be earlier graduates like him. Thy have rights too- the right to rejct his poster. He should do his own art-show instead of relying on NTU. On this occasion he forgot completely that NTU gave him the degree and education.
    There was nothing taboo about talking innovations and beyond boundaries. By changing his script he revelaed that he could not be trusted. I anticpate he will have a stormy career! Let us wait and see.

19. TrueBlood Singapore 27 July 2009

“To Think” “To Question” “To Challenge”

How many Singaporean can do that, less than 5% of population, so we are not thinker just followers? We only live Once but not for the HDB but a greater Dream.

How ashamed to be Singaporean!

20. mice is nice 27 July 2009

hi Socrates,

////There was nothing taboo about talking innovations and beyond boundaries. By changing his script he revelaed that he could not be trusted. I anticpate he will have a stormy career! Let us wait and see.////

what’s your opinion on people who are in positions way above the storm clouds?

omnipotence? :)

21. First slyvia then Chee Soon Juan then David Widjaja then this guy. NTU be nice pls. NTU WAKE UP YOUR IDEA!!!!!

22. to socrates 27 July 2009

buay tahan the govmt bootlickers. u must be in some govmt job rite? all the civil servants and administrators mindset all like yours. how pitiful. like manufactured from a factory. so sad.

23. to socrates 27 July 2009

to all uni grads: grass is greener elsewhere. move overseas if u can.

24. Piped Piper to Hohlarnd 28 July 2009

73) to socrates on July 27th, 2009 11.53 pm
    “to all uni grads: grass is greener elsewhere. move overseas if u can.”

reminds me of piped piper but with a twist.

25. Loyola 28 July 2009

Socrates,

Stormy career? I’d hire this chap for his unconventional outlook and gumption in an instant.

26. mice is nice 28 July 2009

hi Loyola,

“Stormy career?”

as a YES-Man? :P

27. kang thio thong 28 July 2009

with the cameras installed, will students dare to come back?

28. kang thio thong 28 July 2009

47) KopitiamApek on July 26th, 2009 10.24 am 9) David

/////// . Do you know that 66.6% of the populations are oldies who voted for pap out of fear & threat? ////////

You have the stats to prove that?
    ======================================

I hope we educate people what does that 66.6% actually mean.

quiz:
    A. 66.6% out of all possible voters excluding walkovers.
    B. 66.6% out of only non-walkovers.
    C. anything else or not sure.

29. truth hurts 28 July 2009

@ 68) socrates,

” NTU gave him the degree and education”…………Loo Zihan earned the degree and while I agree he did receive some form of education from NTU, Loo returned the favour by showing NTU the meaning of integrity, courage and conviction.

“By changing his script, he revealed that he could not be trusted “…..being non compliant to you means cannot be trusted ?….. such a harsh conclusion is more appropriate for the ruling party members.
    At least when Loo spoke, he was confronting NTU’s management face on, surely they were in attendance for the graduation ceremony. To me that is not being sneaky and deceitful.

“I anticipate he will have a stormy career “……agree with you if Loo decides to work in the civil service or GLC, or become a member of the PAP…….LOL

30. Daniel 28 July 2009

“hi Loyola,

“Stormy career?”

as a YES-Man?”

No lah,, the trend of the government is going towards NO-MAN as YES-MAN portray a bad image of Government due to the ridiculous mess created so far.

But then you will get what you ask for. When you want voice, you get voice (but no action through effective voting) through scamful NCMP, NMP scheme, and the result is the same. Nothing changed.

Now When you want NO-MAN, you will get NO-MEN. But then nothing else is really changed except the question is rephrased to produce the same result.

YES-type QUestion: Do you think Ho JInx is the best women to lead TH despite large loss ?
    YES-MAN: YES

NO-type Question: Do you think Ho Jin is NOT the best women to lead TH despite large loss ?
    NO-MAN: NO.

See the YES-MAN = NO-MAN = Papstard. So what’s the difference ?

31. ultimo 29 July 2009

this guy will sure fail when he sign up for gahmen job.
    but mncs will sure want this guy in their ranks.

32. ErniesUrn 29 July 2009

I think NTU provided the education but his parents or maybe himself paid for his education.

If i was a parent, I would have been freaking proud of what he said.

33. poor undergrad 29 July 2009

Dear Mr Loo

I have read your original speech, it was well delivered than the one at EEE convoc. You spoke your mind with maturity…

Wish you all the best in your future endeavours!!!

Yours Sincerely.

34. auntie moo 30 July 2009

Hey toilet LOO,

U did us Singkies proud! Clap clap clap clap

35. Disillusioner 30 July 2009

Is PAP really that bad in every aspects?

Is Mr Loo really a hero?

Is NTU management as despicable as most of this part of netizens are depicting?

How should one be so sure that he(Mr. Loo) was not being so shortsightedness?

Can one be conclusive everyone in that auditorium were supportive to his action?

36. auntie moo 30 July 2009

@85,

common sense. U seem to lacking some. No wonder u disllusioner.

37. Nazareth 30 July 2009

Censorship is good. Promotes political stability in Singapore. What if my kids see porn or a teen couple indulging in premarital sex on television? The government will definitely shift the blame away to someone else. Best to censure everything before broadcast. Nip in the bud.

38. Disillusioner 31 July 2009

Everything if really goes haywire, blame it on goverment.

However every time have encountered real problems also rely on government.

Most importantly, Government has obligations to all its citizens, be it get whacked

or made scapegoat of many things.

39. ourmoneytemasekcrownjewel 1 August 2009

[i]What if my kids see porn or a teen couple indulging in premarital sex on television? [/i]
    what if you are copulatin with your spouse
    your kids see that
    you asked limsiasuayed to provide curtain from ntuc as well?
    its YOUR kids
    you educate them
    if its my kids
    i teach them to buy condoms
    what so difficult?
    even kids raisin
    you also want the government to provide
    beside
    free shelter
    free meal
    free jobs as well
    did i asked you before
    do you know jesus of nazerth?
    he can turned water into wine
    maybe
    he can turned your internet into a 52″ lcd monitored filtered tv as well?

40. radlife66 1 August 2009

Remember the true Nanyang University (Nan Da).

The spirit of Nan Da is back.

Do not feel ashame. Do do feel fear. Be brave.

It is this spirit that will fight for Singapore and Singaporeans when adversity strikes.

41. Andrew 3 August 2009

Move NTU downtown. Management there too long in woo-lu area now have kampong mindsets

42. creducator 3 August 2009

I like Andrew’s idea (91).

43. SonandDaughtersofSingapore 1 May 2010

Loo Zihan – you have the qualities of a great and righteous leader. Singapore needs people like you to lead us and our future generations to a build a nation that Singaporeans can be proud of; where one can speak out on injustice and wrong-doings; a place to love, care about and call home.

Your parents must be so proud of you. I, too, am very proud of Singaporeans like you. I thank your parents for giving birth to you. Thank you Mr and Mrs Loo.

44. CurrentStudent 4 April 2011

I just entered in 2008 and I had no idea this happened, they really kept it well under wraps.Would have joined them if I knew.