“The original draft of my speech was composed of words like “integrity” and “breaking new boundaries” , said Mr Loo Zihan in his valedictorian speech at the Nanyang Technological University graduation ceremony on Thursday, “but a recent incident put a reality check on what I have to say.”
Mr Loo related how a poster for his film, Threshold, was deemed ‘inappropriate’ by the school’s authority to be displayed during [the] convocation ceremony. He was dismayed by this as the poster had earlier been displayed at the school for two weeks without any problems.
“My first thought was to make the changes to the poster as required – but subsequently, as I was practicing for this speech, I realized that I could not say the words I drafted originally with conviction and authority by subjecting my work to censorship which I did not understand. I felt a sense of responsibility to my fellow graduates, who have voted me in as Valedictorian to speak up on their behalf.”
According to the Straits Times, “the poster for his film “Threshold” shows a shirtless man standing at a basin while hands from behind hold his left shoulder and waist. A mirror in front of him shows the reflection of another man.”
Mr Loo withdrew the poster rather than subject it to any changes for it to be exhibited.
“As artists, we should not only strive to produce great art – but also bear responsibility for the art we produce. Otherwise, we betray ourselves, and our audiences,” he said.
The film was created as part of his thesis. You can read more about the film and the transcript of his speech here.
In 2008, another group of NTU students took to Speakers’ Corner to protest media censorship in their school. (See video below). The students were upset because of NTU’s decision to censor the campus media coverage of opposition politician Dr Chee Soon Juan’s visit to the university. (See reports by TOC here and here.)
The following is a trailer for Threshold:
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Loo Zihan may become another creative Singaporean who feels so stifled in this country that he goes overseas and never comes back.
If I’m not wrong, WP chairman Sylvia Lim also wanted to give a speech in NTU back in 2007 but the poster was also removed later and the speech cancelled. This treatment is the same for SDP Chee Soon Juan?
Few will have been able to stand there and give such a speech. Even fewer will be able to speck it like he does. An exemplary example indeed to all Singaporeans!
And to quote his speech, ” I urge you to carry on and fulfill the role of the artist in society, to think, to question, and to challenge.”
How can NTU aspire to enter the big leagues if it keeps being so cowardly, conservative and backward? Not long ago it censored coverage of Chee Soon Juan’s visit. Now it is censoring posters of films produced by their media students. NTU is in the news for all the wrong reasons.
What happened to academic freedom? What happened to breaking with convention and pushing boundaries? No wonder NTU is widely viewed among young people as the least cool and most staid member of the three universities. Even SMU, a relative newcomer, has a much better reputation.
Please, NTU, for your own sake, fire the dusty old fogies who are making these stupid decisions. Stop acting like the MDA and start acting like a university that treasures academic freedom and independence of thought.
Freedom of speech is a extinct species in Singapore
Well done, Loo Zihan !
The first step towards “integrity” and “breaking new boundaries” are in fact the courage to stand for own conviction and belief, and not succumb to political, social and status quo pressure. Art is about self-expression that not subject to any constraint and element. The very fact that even the school for fear of invoking backslash from political master asking you to alter the speech shows that the true culture of Art did not exist in Singapore but been engineered instead. The creativity and imagination that so critical for ART have been molded to what is only acceptable to political master in Singapore. All these hypocritical professors in the school should feel ashamed of themselves and look themselves at the mirror and ask “Did I reserve to be Art Professor and teach if I didn’t uphold the spirit of Art ? That is the unconditiional freedom to create and express oneself, with creativity and imagination that not subject to external manipulation and control “
If even tenure Art professor in NTU can even betray the spirit of the ART, that say very much of the future of ART culture in Singapore. Singapore as world-class ART HUB and ART CENTRE ? My ass !
Is good youguys dare to speak up. This should be the youth of today. Vote wisely and not to be afraid. The future is yours. Vote for the change.
He speaks the voice of many youngster. Do you know that 66.6% of the populations are oldies who voted for pap out of fear & threat? As jobless rate and poverty are on the rise, I have already heard those 66.6% cursing their guts out and spreading their messages aloud that pap is money swindler and Singaporean hater. What else can I say? Alternative party taking control of half the parliament populations is not too far fetched if election is called now. We should all assist the alternative parties when called upon our duty and responsibility to do so and help them dig more worms out of MIW. This is a good service for the good of our people, our society, and our country
aiyoyo
y like that huh?
in school also control, alamak, where no control huh?
aiyoyo
brokeback mountain in the making?
YOUR TIME IS UP OLD MAN.
Am I the only one who wonders why we’ve been complaining so loudly about the possibility that “even one person might constitute an unlawful assembly”, when the govt clearly allows this park event to happen? I think I counted 20+ people in the video.
Am I also the only one who wonders why the MSM, often touted as the “mouthpiece of the PAP”, actually reported the NTU student protest?
The allegations of “tight censorship and police control” simply doesnt add up with the actual events, which we are witnessing.
I think this government is not as controlling as some people make it out to be. Probably a lot of hype and stirring up of emotions from the Opposition side.
“I think this government is not as controlling as some people make it out to be. Probably a lot of hype and stirring up of emotions from the Opposition side.”
The point is whether that amount of control be it little or be it much is enough to stifle dissent and alternative view because all it need to do is to implant the fear. Get it ?
Just because you see with your own eyes doesn’t mean it is reality ? Did you experience that yourself ? Why not ask Loo Zihan personally ?
I visit Myanmar recently and will I say that based on what I SEE in the peaceful street of Myanmar that “Probably there is a lot of hype and stirring up of emotions from the Opposition side of monks and citizens that result in protest and demonstration against the junta ?”
Singaporean is a strange breed. If it happens in other country, we say it is unfair and it is not right, but when it happen in Singapore, we as Singaporean think that it is okay and it is not that bad after all. Uniquely Singapore, I should say.
“Am I the only one who wonders why we’ve been complaining so loudly about the possibility that “even one person might constitute an unlawful assembly”, when the govt clearly allows this park event to happen? I think I counted 20+ people in the video.”
Dude, the event took place before the Public Order Act was introduced.
Try another smokescreen. Your current one doesn’t work very well. tsktsktsk..
You see a man behind a man and then, you concluded. One wonders whose mind is dirty?
“when the govt clearly allows this park event to happen? I think I counted 20+ people in the video.”
Just because the gov did not enforce the law doesn’t mean it won’t enforce. The fact that it is up to their discretion already put you into disadvantage because it is up to them to interpret whatever way they want to fit their own agenda.
Read about this.
http://fivecentstencents.com/blog/2009/07/21/cpf-life-money-may-not-be-enough-singapore-edition/
“MANPOWER Minister Gan Kim Yong has assured Singaporeans they will receive a monthly payout from the CPFLife annuity scheme for the rest of their lives, despite a ‘disturbing’ provision in the new law.”
Just simply passing a law itself that may or may not enforce means there is neither guarantee nor assurance. And one day if use against you, you have no one to blame but yourself because you agree to the law leeway to be interpreted both way and vague. Just think of CPF Life that is guaranteed for payout but NO, it is not guaranteed. Kangaroo or not , you decide.
Mr Wang raise similar insight too… http://mrwangsaysso.blogspot.com/
“Why? Because this is Temasek. You know their style. Through all these years, it has not changed. Basically, Temasek will never tell you anything, except perhaps the reasons why it will never tell you anything. And even those reasons will be vague and obscure.
Take Goodyear’s departure, for instance. It is revealed that he left because there were “strategic differences”. No further details. This kind of answer could mean anything and everything, and therefore means nothing.
Yes, at the end of day, the law could mean anything and everything and therefore means nothing to you. The law can’t protect you because it is not even a law in the first place, but the same law can protect against you because it is still a law. Get it ?
Smart guy! Very soon, he will be courted just like Vivian Balakrishnan when he was a student leader. Go over to the dark side, it glitters over there. It has happened to some of our present leaders, no need to mention more names.
“Smart guy! Very soon, he will be courted just like Vivian Balakrishnan when he was a student leader. Go over to the dark side, it glitters over there. It has happened to some of our present leaders, no need to mention more names.”
Where is Master Yoda where we need him most ? He need to control the order and council now. The mindless droids of the Imperial Family is now destroying the Jedi orders by divide and conquer.
He should leave if he really feels that this place is stifling him.
Wonder why he bother to get his degree here. He is just biting the fingers that fed him!
It is fellow alumni like Loo Zhihan that makes me a proud Hwachongian.
no socrates, u don’t ask unhappy citizens to leave. u support them in their struggle to make a better country. u admire them for they’re better citizens than those who simply remain silent. or those who ask their fellow compatriots to leave.
It seems Singapore is one of the few countries (or the only one??) that tells their citizens to leave if they’re not happy, rather than say: “stay and make us better.” sad.
I agree with 22)Kishore…Doesn’t mean we criticized the gahment we are anti-gahment…We the people and citizens of this place should stay and make it bettter.
socrates on July 25th, 2009 8.40 pm
What are you talking about when you said biting the hand that fed him? He paid for his own university fees and even if he was on a scholarship, he earned it.
If you are going to tell us how he was a recipient of the infrastructure that is Singapore; please note that he is a Singaporean and through the toil of his parents and his citizenship, he is ENTITLED to it and with his NS stint done and his reservist cycle on, he more than has a right to EVERYTHING Singaporean has to offer especially since Singapore offers everything to foreigners who have done nothing for this society.
I’ll finish this with a question, did Singapore exist because of the government or the the government and the people? That the government now choose to treat the citizens as 2nd class citizens, is the government biting the hands that feed them (without our votes, will they be our government?)?
I present to you this video… I quote V “there is something terribly wrong with this country .. and we are all guilty to the crime that causes the wrong…”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=chqi8m4CEEY
–> 23) I agree with 22)Kishore…Doesn’t mean we criticized the gahment we are anti-gahment…We the people and citizens of this place should stay and make it bettter.
… I slightly disagree. ..Criticizing gahment can be anti-gahment. Being anti-gahment is a basic rights of citizens especially if the gahment in question deserve it… and being anti-gahment doesn’t mean anti-Singapore. In fact, being anti-gahment can make one EVEN MORE pro-Singapore.
It is something socrates needs to learn. But never mind, Singaporeans are slowly learning hehehe.
hi socrates #20 & woman against the tank #25,
The term government is quite imprecise as it can refer to 3 things:
1) Government is synonymous to the Cabinet
2) Government also refers to the Ruling Party or Ruling Coalition
3) Government also refers to the Civil Service in the vernacular sense.
“He should leave if he really feels that this place is stifling him.
Wonder why he bother to get his degree here. He is just biting the fingers that fed him!”
Who feed LKY, his family and his henchmen ? Who give them the money to indulge in materialistic and luxury, wealthy life ? Who give them the money to feed their gambling addiction in gambling away billions of reserves ? Isn’t our taxmoney is used to feed all these clowns, so why the clowns biting the fingers of the citizens that fed them ?
i hope this is a sign of times to come. pap, your time is up come election. we have had enough of your media manipulation. good bye but no thanks.
well done Loo Zihan.. i salute you.!
hi Daniel,
////Who feed LKY, his family and his henchmen ? Who give them the money to indulge in materialistic and luxury, wealthy life ? Who give them the money to feed their gambling addiction in gambling away billions of reserves ? Isn’t our taxmoney is used to feed all these clowns, so why the clowns biting the fingers of the citizens that fed them ?////
rememeber I-Robot movie?
“my response is limited, please ask the right questions.”
that above is the right questions!! ;)
cheers.
post @20 socrates on July 25th, 2009 8.40 pm
////He should leave if he really feels that this place is stifling him.
Wonder why he bother to get his degree here. He is just biting the fingers that fed him!////
dun you feel its stifling here in TOC with so many posters who do not share your views? maybe you should leave TOC? lol…
mice is nice ,
“dun you feel its stifling here in TOC with so many posters who do not share your views? maybe you should leave TOC? lol…”
I agree but then he might just be paid to do the job. The latest news is
Political Parties Go Online To Extend Their Reach (http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/444695/1/.html).
Maybe he is one of those paid to reach us, no matter how distant and remote it seems. And he has his own KPI to meet. Pity him, even Weekend also must kena shit from us.
“…to THINK, to CHALLENGE, to QUESTION…”
How many singaporeans, regardless if PhD or not,
has this ABILITY and ever demonstrated?
From this rare but candid video footage, I learnt more about CSJ and find that he is not as bad as what some people made him out to be.
I emphatise with the singaporeans graduates. In this economic climate, they must be having a hard time securing a job and planning for their future.
HLP should be the 1st RESORT. Singaporeans need to take more risks. From these young people, I feel that there is still some hope left for singapore.
Nothing wrong to talk about integrity and breaking new boundaries
especially young graduates. He sure played Nus out bychanging his
scrip He isn’t hero but just furthering his self interest by complaining
and making NUS look bad ….biting the fingers that ‘fed’ him?is this
a man of integrity?
“is this a man of integrity?”
Who is then the man of integrity in NTU in the first place ? The one in the picture frame hanging high up in the wall together with his wife smiling at you, and look like asking you if you want to eat prata ?
“He isn’t hero but just furthering his self interest by complaining
and making NUS look bad ”
Who really care if he is a hero to you as long as he is a hero to us. Do you have the gut to do a fraction of what he does and voice out his displeasure publicly and IMPACTFULLY AT THE RIGHT TIME, RIGHT PLACE ? Or do you just voice out hiding behind TOC like rest of us here ?
Whatever he does, he has the gut and the spirit. Give this guy a beer.
And I think he picked a lousy time to Challenge and Question
He wasvoted to say something appropriate He is selfish to bring up
his problem Most graduates there would feel stab in theback feeling
Loo Zhihan got the guts to think out of the box and delivered an impressive
speech. Not like the chancellor or professors of NTU, are so cowed by the
PAP government. These are the stooges that will stifle the progress of NTU
and the sudents. Well done Zhihan !
Yesmen who have no integrity and convictions are the lowest form of living amoeba. The censore on Dr. Chee Soon Juan and Sylvia LIm to prevent
them from delivering speeches to the students of NTU, clearly show the compliance of NTU management to the PAP government.
A great shame to an otherwise good NTU.
“And I think he picked a lousy time to Challenge and Question”
So when it the good time to challenge and question that is so impactful and purposeful then ? In the toilet ? haha…
“He wasvoted to say something appropriate”
Isn’t he get voted because his supporters see the passion and potential in him to change Singapore for the better, or did they vote him for status quo. It shows that he did not disappointed them because he did uphold their trust and conviction of his supporters.
“Most graduates there would feel stab in theback feeling”
Yes, until the art graduates see the real world of how the political family control what they can express and produce, they will feel even worse why they didn’t voice out in first place.
If this is considered backstabbling to you then what is betrayal of Spirit of Art by the political master to you ?
Allow me to digress and talk only about this
33) Sayitsgain on July 25th, 2009 10.51 pm
“…biting the fingers that ‘fed’ him?is this
a man of integrity?”
you mean anyone who fed you like your school or employer means you owe him everything and not question, challenge him, regardless of anything and everything?
yes / no?
We’ve been feeding those good-for-nothing blood suckers for so many years, I think singaporeans should feel that enough is enough, even it meant not for yourself at least you do not want your childrens to suffer anymore injustice upon their livelihood.
The time has come… Well done!!
perhaps you should tell that to wee shu min and co. we singaporeans fed her entire family and what did she do? mangled the fingers that fed her pet food daily.
at least this guy bothers to stand up against the :system:.
Absolutely agree that.this young man did the right thing. He spoke from the heart.
NTU’s management was given a lesson on integrity and courage….LOL
deceitful and sneaky isn’t here? Who can trust him now?
yeah socrates.. we now know… that we can never entrust sg’s future to the likes of u..
9) David
/////// . Do you know that 66.6% of the populations are oldies who voted for pap out of fear & threat? ////////
You have the stats to prove that?
22) Kishore
////////, u don’t ask unhappy citizens to leave. u support them in their struggle to make a better country. u admire them for they’re better citizens than those who simply remain silent. or those who ask their fellow compatriots to leave.
It seems Singapore is one of the few countries (or the only one??) that tells their citizens to leave if they’re not happy, rather than say: “stay and make us better.” sad.//////
23) man against the tank
///////////…Doesn’t mean we criticized the gahment we are anti-gahment…We the people and citizens of this place should stay and make it bettter./////////
I agree. Do not add to the numbers of those who run away and now make long distance potshot at us.
Long distance is good. Can hit harder without same bankruptcy fate.
Do not add to the numbers of those who run away and now make long distance potshot at us
Yeah, got a funny feeling the biggest loudmouths aren’t from the neighbourhood.
Kopi si anyone?