Now Singaporeans have a better idea of the constitutional powers of the President. Singaporeans should keep that in mind when electing their next President.

Blogger Furry Brown Dog

13 Responses to “President holds veto power over Temasek CEO appointment”

1. Star7 29 July 2009

That is true, IF there is ANOTHER alternative candidate in the first place.

Many times in Singapore, you just don’t have a choice, with walkover GRCs, with several MPs riding on one prominent one and of course, with ONLY one president candidate. >.<

2. Sorry, this president is a Yes man to PAP.

3. tiredsingaporean 29 July 2009

President got power meh? since when? the last power one already got eliminated by who we all know.

4. Dumb and dumber 29 July 2009

With the only exception of OTC, Singapore’s presidents are all nominated – one way or another – not elected.

5. anakin 29 July 2009

Electing next president? God only know when that will happen….coz the 3 wise men will block all the candidate and then there will be only one

6. truth hurts 29 July 2009

First and foremost, to elect the next president, we the citizens of Singapore have to STOP electing the PAP and its members.
    Simple, yet it needs a supreme effort from all citizens. A true reflection of our pathetic state.

7. GOON_DOO 29 July 2009

Sorry hor, next time they will remove the concept of Elected President liao..

8. ErniesUrn 29 July 2009

Please don’t say our President like that! You guys are disrespectful okie?!

He’s doing he’s best for Singapore.

Just that day he was given out Merlion Trophies to Liverpool FC at the National Stadium (I thought they were going to demolish it?)

So please give some respect to this chap. Being screwed big time for 3million from the behind, is a brave job. Plus with strings attached.

Hmm can someone buy our president a baby nakin as a National Day Present? Drooling seems to be the order of the day.

9. Another one bites the dust! Thats Singapore true and true. When are we going to learn that no matter how much grumbling we do and utter it’s going to make not one iota of difference.

The only way is come the next election we exercise our god given rights at citizens to vote a new party in to power. The change we have seen all over asia and the world must ultimatley spill over to singapore. Stop listening to all this crap that only the PAP are capable of running the government.

I believe it wont be long before another LEE comes into power! So lets put a stop to all this family dynasty. We have already see a President that has no power but is paid so much taht the world looks on in awe at how much is to paid to one person who cant even sneeze without the PAP’s permission.

Let us stand up for justice, let us speak for the people, stop all this threats of singapore falling apart without this government in power. We are or have already fallen with our recent lossees in Temasek which was run and is still run by a member of the LEE dynasty! But since it’s a family loss, lets move on and hope for the best but be prepared for the worst that is soon to come.

Michael Jackson said we need to change the world to make it a better place for everyone. Well we need to change Singapore to make it a better place for all singaporeans, for ourselves, for our children,for our children’s children, So MAKE THAT CHANGE! and please MAKE IT NOW!

10. X.X!!! 29 July 2009

how much of a say does president have?

can president fire the PM? and everyone in the cabinet?
    hehe.. curious!

100% sure, the next guy who wants to run for president better not have a PAP stamp on his head!

11. $40billion$broke 30 July 2009

[i]how much of a say does president have?[/i]

who buyin prata?
    mine
    koson egg and onion
    billed it to lauLEE……………..

12. ShittyTimes 30 July 2009

If u listen to Chee for urself, u realise he’s unlike how the ST has portrayed him. Looks like we’ve been duped.

13. EP Bomb 28 May 2011

The President is empowered to veto the use of government reserves and appointments to key civil service appointments.
    However, if he exercise it, he will be under heavy bombardment & end up like former EP Ong TC.