Friday, July 31, 2009 21:58

Reconsider CCTVs at Hong Lim Park

In Main Stories, Uncle Leong • 928 views • 19 Comments

The following is a letter to the Today newspaper and was published in its online version on 31 July. See here.

Leong Sze Hian

I refer to media reports that the police have installed closed circuit television cameras (CCTVs) at Hong Lim Park.

I have spoken four times at Speakers’ Corner since it was further liberalised last September, on public transport, minibonds, the HDB and unemployment.

One of the main reasons why I spoke, was because I was encouraged by the Home Minister, Mr Wong Kan Seng’s remarks in Parliament that the police have better things to do then to do recordings at Speakers’ Corner.

I also felt that I was doing my part as an ordinary citizen, in answering the Government’s call for more Singaporeans to speak out on issues that affect Singaporeans.

If there had been CCTVs, would I have registered to speak?

Probably not.

I think some Singaporeans may be intimitated by the CCTVs from speaking, or even going to listen.This may be a step backwards in Singapore’s opening up to get more citizen involvement and debate on policies and issues.

I was in London’s Hyde Park Speakers’ Corner last week, which our Speakers’ Corner is modelled after. (Hyde Park - picture, right).

It was vibrant with many speakers and large audiences everyday.

In contrast, ours have few if not no speakers on most days, and often with hardly any audience. Hence, these CCTVs may result in even less usage of Speakers’ Corner.

As to the reason given that the CCTVs are for “safety and security” and “as part of an ongoing initiative to enhance security in the neighbourhoods, police have been expanding CCTV coverage to other parts of the island, including Hong Lim Park”, I would like to ask which other public parks have CCTVs?

Has there ever been any crime or disturbance at Hong Lim Park in the past, given that there was a police post on the site?

Perhaps the CCTVs installation could be reconsidered, as I think ultimately it may be the perception of Singaporeans that may prevail over the good intentions of the police.

It may also not bode well for Singapore’s reputation in the world as a democracy, given former NMP Siew Kum Hong’s remarks that “the move may feed the perception in some quarters that Singapore is a police state.

—–

Read also:

“Even in the cyberage, some things don’t change” - Andrew Loh

Big Brother descends on Speakers’ Corner

CCTVs in Hong Lim Park – police replies to TOC’s queries

——

1. CCTVs in Hong Lim – Police replies to TOC’s queries
  2. TOC at Hong Lim Park on Saturday – Social Justice and Fairness
  3. Two events at Hong Lim Park to mark National Day
  4. Come join us at Hong Lim Park this Saturday!
  5. Join the SDP in New Year countdown at Hong Lim Park

19 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

patriot
Jul 31, 2009 22:21

It is my belief that active opposition politicians and activists are monitored by human cctvs from time to time. This should be a very normal practice in any country.

Commonsense will tell that surveillance is most effective when trained officers are doing the monitorings. To think that surveillance/monitoring is carried out only in HLP is not an accurate reading.

And to know that surveillance is ongoing wherever and whenever it is intended by the Authority means the fear of CCTVs (Devices) at HLP is unneccessary. Though some(not all) maybe intimidated, I am of the opinion that people/citizens should not fear when they DO NOT carry out any illegal/unlawful activity. HLP is designated for activities that are approved by the Authority, for members of the public to meet/gather for participations of the activities or just to see/listen whats going on there. And afterall, that’s a park for people to use whether or not they are there for the activities.

I was there on few occassions, sometimes to watch the activities and sometimes just to laze around. There were occassions that I felt shadowy people around, I maybe guilty of been over suspicious. BUT, as we know, so far nothing untowards had happened and honestly, anything can happen to anyone beyond and outside HLP after the activities there, who is to know when and where You will be set upon ?

patriot

belinda cheng tua lip - very big is relativity
Jul 31, 2009 22:51

If the majority signs a petition to call for the abolishment of these cameras, what will be the result if any?

Lee Fu Yah
Jul 31, 2009 22:53

[[[2) belinda cheng tua lip - very big is relativity on July 31st, 2009 10.51 pm If the majority signs a petition to call for the abolishment of these cameras, what will be the result if any?]]]

I am afraid i am not optimistic like you.
I have never seen Majority of Singaporeans EVER signed any petition.
But I can stand corrected if any of you can prove to me there is EVER such a success. I welcome you. I open this challenge to all. prove to me.

jim007jimmyboy
Jul 31, 2009 23:08

you can pray but PAP will never remove it

pnj
Jul 31, 2009 23:16

was this only posted in the online version or in the newspaper as well?

mice is nice
Aug 1, 2009 1:34

i do believe the Clark Quay where the pubs are need the CCTVs more than HLP. besides, alcohol, men & testosterone are highly “combustible” combination.

the pub owner may even welcome them (the CCTVs) to deter fights from happening. ain’t that probusiness too?

^.^

David
Aug 1, 2009 2:19

Having CCTVs installed in HDB lobby will catch more crimes than having them wasted and stood idle in HLP. So what is PAP so afraid off that they need to spend so much energy and money just to focus on HLP.

aiyoyo
Aug 1, 2009 8:44

aiyoyo

cctv needed at the lifts/lobby, so many people smoking inside lifts, littering, urine etc

not sure how ‘they’ justify cctv at parks instead of improving commoners livelihood?

aiyoyo

Albino Hum of Pinkie Dowager the Man
Aug 1, 2009 9:12

should install at Geylang, Joo Chiat and Dormitory areas first.
are these done yet?

GABRIEL
Aug 1, 2009 9:53

The CCTVs installed in the name of security and public safety has, unfortunately, generated or should I say, degenerated into, discussion about fear. The ordinary man fears being identified as a trouble-maker if spotted by the CCTVs in HLP. The authorities is seen as being afraid of massive public protests taking place at HLP and hence has installed the CCTVs as a deterrent measure.
What really is the truth of the matter?
But first, tell me, how the hell do we rid ourselves of this fear?

ErniesUrn
Aug 1, 2009 10:07

Maybe I should vote out PAP and invite more opposition voices.

As a citizen I concern of the security of the PAP MPs, as the lack the energy to uphold the interest of SIngaporeans is making them loose billions of taxpayers money, and that is very worrying as a Singaporean. Financial security is import.

I think an injection of a healthy dose of opposition memebers would make PAP a safer and more condusive govrnment, so that lesser taxpayers money is lost.

Remeber security is important too for PAP MPs. If I don’t vote in more oppositions into the government, more made people will torch more MPs. So for the sake of “saftey and secuirty” of PAP MPs, more opposition members must be voted in in, if not, MIW will get torched. I do this for PAP MPs saftey and not becuase of upgrading.

hopeless
Aug 1, 2009 12:39

why not put a camera at my hdb block so my bicycle would’nt not got stolen.

Colonel Jessup
Aug 1, 2009 12:46

#1 patriot

If you think there is nothing wrong for politicians and activities to be monitored then where do we draw the line? How abt paparazi? How abt the guys who were sent to ISA coz they video taped Yishun MRT? Do we now operate like the East German Stasi, where even yr friends and family monitor your daily activites?

patriot
Aug 1, 2009 13:07

Hi Colonel Jessup:

me said that politicians and activitists should not fear those cctvs in HLP as human cctvs are used on them whenever and wherever the Authority deemed neccessary. Knowing that, means the fear of those cctvs and getting intimidated in HLP due to the cctvs should be overcame.

Fear not the cctvs but, the people that use the cctvs and even then, one should not fear monitoring devices when one does no wrong. We may have to learn from Chee Soon Juan to rightly not fear injustice.

patriot

Tamasick
Aug 1, 2009 13:15

SPF SHOULD install CCTVs @ this place!!!!

http://www.razor.tv/site/servlet/segment/main/news/34072.html

videoman
Aug 1, 2009 14:26

[i]Do we now operate like the East German Stasi, where even yr friends and family monitor your daily activites?[/i]
friend have you been sleepin with rapunzha?
berlin walls has been torn down
i still have the leftover brick
in china
children betrayed their parents to the kongann just to be a pingpong player
those were THE days…………
even the chinese premeir today is considerin pardonnin those who are in deathrow waitin to buy their owned bullet…
in singapore you cant even buy your own rope if you were on deathrow
just a $20 voucher for your LAST meal on earth….
how much is the infamous chickenrice in mandarin hotel?

Edward
Aug 1, 2009 17:34

4) jim007jimmyboy
‘ you can pray but PAP will never remove it’
…………………………………………….

Only the Germans can make the PAP remove it. It was reported that a former German Chancellor persuaded the old man to release Chia T P who later obtained a scholarship to do research in Germany.

Only the Ang Moh countries and China can apply pressure on the govt.

DavidSeeLeongKit
Aug 1, 2009 21:54

> THE PAP POT CALLING OTHER KETTLES BLACK:

During 2006 General Election, Ng Eng Hen make fun of Workers Party, saying WP = Wayang Party.

But we all know the PAP is THE ACTUAL political party full of cunning, “wayang shows” (in Malay), “chor hee” (in Hokkien) and “tokenism” (in English).

> So you Singapore poor peasants want a Speaker’s Corner?
No Problem — we will give you such a corner BUT you will be subjected to this and that rules.
And we will install CCTVs (under the convenient excuse of maintaining law and order) but actually to keep an eye on our critics — if you talk too much or say something we don’t like to hear, we can quickly “cook up” a defamation suit and “invite” you to stay in Changi Prison (with free lodging, free makan, everything free!)

> So you fellas want a woman Minister?
No Problem — we can quickly produce one to make you fellas feel happy just before the next General Election — so that more “brain-washed and brain-dead” citizens will vote for us and we can continue to rule S’pore for another 1,000 years!

> CONCLUSION: PAP GOVT is full of FORM but short in SUBSTANCE.

FORM = cunningly-clever; wayang; tokenism; insincere empty promise of an “open and inclusive Singapore” by World’s Highest Paid Politician.

SUBSTANCE = competently-clever in solving Singapore’s many national problems; showing due respect and giving proper replies for the feedback/suggestions of the People…..

X
Aug 6, 2009 14:50

PAP = Pathetic Authoritarian Party

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook