Leong Sze Hian / Andrew Loh
Minister fails to realise the consequences of his remarks and actions in Parliament
In 2005, then-Minister for Education, Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam, was the guest of honour at a youth and media conference. The key theme was censorship. “Ask not what you can or cannot do, but do something to make a difference instead,” Mr Tharman urged the youths then.
Four years later, Mr Tharman, now Finance Minister, had a golden opportunity to do just that – to make a difference.
On 18 August, Mr Tharman was repeatedly questioned in Parliament on Mr Charles Goodyear’s resignation from Temasek Holdings. In spite of a 25-minute grilling by Members of Parliament, according to the Straits Times, the Finance Minister flatly refused to divulge the “strategic reasons” which was offered by Temasek as the reason for Mr Goodyear’s departure.
The parliamentary sitting was, to my mind, a case of irony.
We had new Nominated Member of Parliament (NMP), Viswa Sadasivan, saying, “Accountability requires the government to go beyond lip-service in addressing the call for greater democracy, civil liberties and choices”. He was calling for the House to “[reaffirm] its commitment to the nation building tenets as enshrined in the National Pledge when debating national policies, especially economic policies”.
If the Finance Minister’s refusal to answer MPs’ questions on Goodyear’s resignation is not a travesty of the values espoused in the Pledge, and of the standing and authority of Parliament, I don’t know what is! Mr Tharman has given new meaning to the phrase “lip service” – his lips moved but only to insult Singaporeans, not to mention the parliamentarians in the chamber as well.
If the Government chooses not to be accountable to questions in Parliament, citing the reason that it does not serve any strategic purpose, then I say with great sadness as a Singaporean, that Parliament is a sham, and our parliamentarians should be ashamed, that this charade of non-accountability, non-transparency, continues even after 44 years of nationhood.
I was aghast at the Finance Minister’s remarks, that whilst he agreed that it was “a matter of public interest”, he chose not to answer the questions anyway. If there ever was a blatant disregard for the public’s interest, this was it.
And as a minister in the service of the people, and as a guardian of the people’s interests, Mr Tharman’s refusal to answer the question is totally and utterly unacceptable.
Is he saying that what’s in the Government’s interest (to not tell) is more important than the public’s interest?
A Government which puts its own interest above that of the people is not the people’s Government.
Has every Singaporean student’s daily recitation of our national pledge “gone down the drain”?
Did we not, just a few days ago, boast about how significant it was for the entire nation to recite the pledge at 8.22pm on National Day – as we put our clenched fists to our hearts and spoke the words which represented what we hold dear? Words such as “a democratic society”, “based on justice and equality”?
The Prime Minister keeps telling Singaporeans to be united. But, how can we be united, when Parliament is not accountable to the people?
Why elect and appoint MPs to represent the people when the Government can choose at its whim and fancy not to answer questions and keep important answers to issues secret?
The secrecy surrounding Mr Goodyear’s resignation is not the only example. There are the issues of Temasek’s investment failures and losses, the reinstatement of Ms Ho Ching as CEO after having resigned, the GIC’s huge losses too, the Mas Selamat escape fiasco, and so on. No government official has been brought to account for all these.
In the past, at least the Government tried to give all kinds of reasons and excuses, as to why it was not good for the nation, to disclose the information asked for.
This time round, the Government did not even attempt to give any reason at all for not answering!
Maybe it has finally run out of excuses.
In any other democratic country, what happed in Singapore’s Parliament on Tuesday is unthinkable – there would have been a national uproar! MPs would resign! NGOs would protest!
As someone who once urged youths to not be afraid, and to “do something to make a difference”, Mr Tharman certainly did not live up to his own words. For, as Finance Minister, he had the opportunity to make a substantial difference to the discourse over how the two sovereign wealth funds operated – and to lift the veil of secrecy which shrouds Temasek Holdings and the GIC.
“One does not develop a conviction and commitment to a society without first questioning and pushing the boundaries,” Mr Tharman said in 2005.
Sadly, in 2009, that very “conviction and commitment” to society of which he spoke was absent from the man himself.
Does Mr Tharman think that keeping his lips tight would help enhance Temasek’s – and Singapore’s – international reputation for transparency and accountability? Does Mr Tharman think that shrouding Temasek in secrecy helps in its recruitment drive or builds confidence in Temasek? As Finance Minister, does Mr Tharman think that his silence helps in S’pore’s ambition to be a financial hub?
And beyond the damage to Temasek and Singapore’s international reputation, Mr Tharman’s refusal to provide answers in Parliament has, to our minds, a more serious consequence – it undermines the public’s faith and trust in the authority and integrity of the House. For if the House is a place where accountability can be dismissed or avoided by mere semantics, it means the people’s voice and power, in our democratic society, has little meaning – and Parliament nothing more than an empty shell, a theatre for superficial debates.
Perhaps these are the public interest and strategic reasons which Mr Tharman should have considered before he so callously dismissed MPs’ questions.
Mr Tharman’s pathetic defence for non-disclosure is a mockery of Parliament.
Indeed, our parliamentarians should all hang their heads in shame.
——
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

We, the employees of Singapore Inc,
Pledge ourselves to be One United Syndicate.
Regardless of Eye Colour, Skin Colour and Hair Colour,
To Support an Authoritarian Government,
Based on Despotism and Pragmatism,
So as to maximise Discontent, Poverty and Retardation for ourselves.
RED-man #48
True and morbid scenario in frightening details. Hope most of citizens will awake
to the PAP’s way of legally corrupting themselves and famiLee and cronies at
the expense of the poor destitute citizens of Spore.
Do the government cares how you suffer in misery? NO NO NO! they care more to tax us to pay for their high living and even high self-written paycheck.
Medical care are rising day by day. As the saying goes from the old folks. In S’pore you can die, cannot be hospitalised. Too costly. The government talks
about subsidies. But, the open secret is when we see a so-called specialist,
not even for 2mins, we are been robbed of $27/- per consultation, without medicine yet. A serious illness will kill you faster because of worries of money.
The sad truth of the PAP system of meritocracy. The well-off becomes richer and richer. The marginalised poorer and poorer. And everytime PAP talk cock about
take care of our welfare but instead tax us more and in return sugar-coat us a little. I recommend PAP, if they want to talk cock, go into the website: talking cock.com and do not talk cock and sing song to us.
We will not buy your rhetoric anymore. 50 years is too long and PAP has amassed whatever wealth they can away from the citizen and squeeze the average citizens to struggle for a decent living.
The right solution is to vote them out in the next election or vote more opposition into parliament to have alternative voices to contain their arrogance.
ST edited out “it is a matter of public interest’ from Tharman’s reply.
==
From the first page of TODAY 19 Aug:
“People do want to know, there is curiosity; it is a matter of public interest. But that is not sufficient reason to disclose information,” said Mr Shanmugaratnam…
http://imcms2.mediacorp.sg/CMSFileserver/documents/006/pdf/20090819/1908FPG001.pdf
==
From page B6 of Straits Times 19 Aug “Goodyear’s departure not due to shared values”:
# Mr Low Thia Khiang: I’m simply asking information of Temasek: What is the strategic difference, and when (did) it emerge? I’m not asking the Government to intrude.
# Mr Tharman: The board together with Mr Goodyear issued a carefully crafted statement. Both sides agreed on the statement. I do not think it’s advisable for the Government to comment further on the matter and add grist to the mill.
People do want to know. There’s curiosity. But that is not sufficient reason to disclose information. It is not sufficient that there be curiosity and interest.
This applies to private sector organisations, listed companies. Sometimes they disclose the reasons, sometimes they don’t. It depends on the circumstances of departure. Is it mutual, amicable, is there an understanding between the parties as to what should be kept private and what should be made public?
It will not be advisable, nor in the interest of Temasek or Mr Goodyear, for us to comment further. It serves no strategic purpose. I understand the interest but it serves no strategic purpose.
well said RED-man.
Well said.
It is sad too.
actually, the answer to Mr. Low’s question serves a strategic purpose.
It goes to show many things.
Like what kind of shit has HC done.
What is Mr. Goodyears opinion?
What is wrong with their recruitment procedure?
The only check and balance is our Elected President who has officially appointing the entire cabinet. But for the entire NDR there is no shadow of the President and in fact the PM dont even bother to address him during his opening speech in English. So he is as good as transparent.
something is seriously wrong here, can we sue or bring the MP or PM to courts on the grounds of not serving the public interests?
that is a problem resulted by paying them too much in salaries. They will do anything just to keep on to their high paying job.
4 years make a lot of difference, somewhere around 4 x $2,500,000 = $10,000,000.
Vote wisely, and you’ll get a chance to make a difference.
This applied to Wong Cun Seng when Mas Salamat escaped…..& the rest of the PAP MPs as well.
That is really terrible, if they don’t account to us how they spend our money (namely CPF & Tax), than why ask us to “donate” regularly to their coffer and even enforce leglislation to make us donate compulsory. 20% tax on our salary is not a small sum, no wonder the employer begrudge 13% employee tax on them too. We all have a stake in Temasek, so why so secretive? Is something creative going on in there that disclosure becomes a stress on them?
I saw the same ‘Full accountability’ mantra recited by MM Lee in Parliament yesterday. Thank God, the ST did not publish it in the papers.
Why? On the one hand MM Lee said our USA bank stocks were for long term investments.
In the next months, Temasek Holdings see fit to sell them at the lowest point, making REALISED LOSSES of a few billions.
A month later, the price rose, making fools of all those executives in Temasek Holdings. What punishments were meted out to Temasek Holdings board and managements?
The only punishment is Tharman setting the case that there is no push factor to find another CEO soon.
??!! – am I missing something?
Accountability? Sure. If MM Lee says so, it must be so.
46) D’Angelo Spyker Armada KFX901,
Well that’s a good way to find out isn’t it :-)
If the youths (still) don’t know about this, then the call to make a difference earlier hadn’t resonated far and loud enough …… (?)
It IS possible Tharman don’t know the answer himself, and thus no matter how bad it looks, he can only say he don’t want to say…
When you hide the “truth” there must be a few reasons. The truth will create unhappiness and problems, there is something to hide in the first place or finally, by telling the truth you don’t gain anything except having to fend off criticism, particularly from people who “dont know any better”.
The situation is like not telling your wife how you spent your bonus. If she knows that you lost some money, she’s going to give you hell for not informing her (as partner in the marriage she contributed to how well you did and therefore how much you earned). But you are a smart man, you know what you are doing and you feel it is best that you manage it without the noise that will be generated should you tell the “truth”. After all, you have done this for 40 years now. Except now, there’s the pesky issue of new media and people like us who can write in to say what we think. Oh the pressure!
The PAP still doesn’t get it.
You are dealing with a population that is more and more educated. In this age of globisation, the people are getting more and more informed of what is going on in this world.
The days of “just listen to the government” no longer work nowadays.
Why are people more and more critical of PAP ? PAP, you have only yourselves to blame. You have a golden opportunity to clear the air, explain your reasons, convince people of the honesty and integrity of those in government, but you chose to snub everyone with your noses in the air and say, “it serves no strategic purpose”
Phrases like “it serves no strategic purpose” can be used in any issue which the government wishes to hide. Supposing there is a big scandal of bribery, they can easily cover up and say “it serves no strategic purpose” to annouce. Suppose there is poor governance and led to a huge deficit and government wishes to increase fees, it can again tell the public, “it serves no strategic purpose” to tell you why there is a deficit. Suppose, Mat Selamat escapes because someone in high places took bribes, it can again say, “it serves no strategic purpose” to tell anyone about it.
See ? This cuts no ice with singaporeans. There is no accountability for actions and this kind of answers are going to leave people unhappy. Not just because it fails to answer questions but more important, it assumes that government knows best and you all are stupid sheep. The people can see through this easily and it is not going to sit well with them.
And when election results come about, PAP will say we did so much for Singapore and yet they are baffled by the poor results.
PAP, you still don’t get it, do you ????
Over the past few days, I have encounted a couple of instance where people have lied to me in order to save face. Each time, the person laid blame on someone else for their mistakes. They were only trivial things but they wouldn’t admit their fault. Should I have called them out on their lies or is that not the culturally accepted thing to do and just accept it? What happens in people’s performance reviews at work?
It seems that saving face justifies telling lies. Anyway, if the Minister doesn’t give an answer, at least he isn’t telling lies.
51) Oxford Dude on August 20th, 2009 5.39 am
This is entertaining, but sadly, it somehow reflects the “truth” out there.
Singaporean is either too obedient, or too KIASU & KIASI. In any other country, its citizen would already go to street and demand for accountability from their government. But in Singapore, every Singaporean alwalys care for themselves first. We do not want to be the first to protest, because PAP will mark us and make us suffer. No right-minded Singaporean would want to lead, but many are glad to complain online behind the mask of Internet(including me too).
With these type of mindset, Singaporean cannot go anywhere. We do not have the determination to make changes, because we are too afraid of offending those in power, and we are afraid of losing our jobs and freedom. Talking about voting against the PAP … my foot … when PAP scare us if they lose, our HDB value will drop, then KIASI Singaporean will again sillyly vote for PAP.
No pain no gain. If we want changes to a better government, make sure we are ready for a period of chaos, instability, no growth, and lower standard of living.
In a court setting, if you are ask a question and you refuse to give an answer, what is the term lawyers and judges used to throw you in contempt ??
I am sure there are lawyers here. can enlighten us ?
Is not Parliament similar to an open court setting where people who elected those officals ask questions to get answers ??
The Pledge is Dead.
You can’t appeal to it because the Parliament, the highest governing body in the land, just refused to endorse or re-affirm it.
That is, children in schools all over the nation, every day, including this morning, are saying something that our leaders don’t believe in.
Ladies and Gentlemen.
I am glad that you agreed with my above mentioned, but I guess most of the people here already know that. I just simply put it in a more clearer prospective (day-to-day) experience.
The truth is, I really hope that all Singaporean know how fagile their life can be in Singapore or rather globalisation has make this country become. The whole world is a lie and let make my point. Globlisation is only possible in this century because our big lap in information technology make it possible. The world like to paint a great picture that it will bring in more consumers, investors, make the product cheaper and more opportunity for business.
There are few signs that indicate otherwise:
1. Many country begin to control import.
2. You find that when you go shopping, that product that you have been aimming for a long time. The price never actually come down, they simply add in a few functions and obsolete the old model to sustain the price tag.
3. More job opportunity is just a illusion because if your country is not cheap in labour, it doesn’t apply to you. They simply import the FT.
The fact is, greed is not a isolated word to Singapore, it is around the world. It is like a group of people sitting for a banquet and the less fortunate one will take whatever is less over (because everyone at the table want the goodies and the not so tasty will be the left over). So where does Singapore actually fit in? I think we all
know better for the experiences we had for the past 10 years or so.
However, being a asian valued group of people, Singapore has alot of saving. Which is good because it would somehow make the worst more easy to bare. No, we did not because a lot of these saving (the ruling party refuse to tell you, because it does
not serve their purposes) has been lost thru government linked investment. The best part is that we paid them high salary to do just that.
Now, yesterdy MM Lee had said that the pledge that you have been saying every morning during your school days is a Aspiration. Fair enough, so MM Lee I am asking for our aspiration, what did PAP did to ensure it happens? Or are you trying to hint that since it is a aspiration, we can failed as long as we can sustain a ‘reason’ for the failure when it is not met? Then again, your reasoning to increase ministers pay said otherwise (that not only we have meet this aspiration, we done it with flying colour as you have claimed). So, what is PAP commitment to achieve this aspiration in this new era? Your team have delivered last century, what about your son team?
63) kf on August 20th, 2009 9.28 am
46) D’Angelo Spyker Armada KFX901,
Well that’s a good way to find out isn’t it
If the youths (still) don’t know about this, then the call to make a difference earlier hadn’t resonated far and loud enough …… (?)
===========================================
Based on personal encounters with youths on the streets, i am not optimistic.
Youths may look modern from a materialistic point of view, the ones i talked to as not just APATHETIC, what is worse than this is, they seem to be IGNORANT of what are the problems. Problems that also indirectly or directly will affect their future.
On top of that, they go on living OBLIVIOUS to the problems of :
1. competition with FT
2. Less than ideal level of Transparency
3. the Losses
4. the Fiascos
5. the Cameras
6. the amended or new laws / recently passed bills
7. the pricing of HDB
8. etc
I wonder what do they study in GP?
‘We, the employees of Singapore Inc,
Pledge ourselves to be One United Syndicate.
Regardless of Eye Colour, Skin Colour and Hair Colour,
To Support an Authoritarian Government,
Based on Despotism and Pragmatism,
So as to maximise Discontent, Poverty and Retardation for ourselves.’
Oxford Dude, that’s pretty clever. Here is something i wrote about 15 years ago at school, when I was really disillusioned with the masses who didn’t seem to be politically aware, or were too afraid to get off their arses to change things. Seems like pple have become more aware, but unfortunately they still can’t do much cos of electoral Gerry Mandering, apathy or fear. I really hope something changes at the next GE. The current crop of dolts in parliament have truly made a mockery of the electorate and the real pledge.
We, the brainless of Singapore,
Pledge ourselves to this massive monopoly.
Regardless of taste, intelligence or occupation
To build a brainwashed, narrow-minded society,
Based on misguided ideologies and fallacies.
So as to achieve conformity, votes for the PAP and oppression for our nation.
71) RED-man on August 20th, 2009 10.33 am ,
dont get illusion by MM. i had enough of his bull cock reasons. anyone including you who happened to have such position and power with glib of toungh can do the same.
A country is doomed to a catastrophic and sudden downfall if leaders at the top are trying the very best to conceal vital facts from the citizens and with citizens, the majority of whom, are so subservient, apathetic and ignorant of their political rights and the political situation in their country, simply powerless to make those evasive and self-honoured leaders accountable and responsible for whatever they say and do.
Dear fellow Singaporean netizens,
We can debate till the cows come home and Tharman would still keep his mouth shut. Just remember this, come the next election, do the right thing! Spread the word around…
Kojakbt
http://www.3in1kopitiam.com
i’m not sure about the other youths but some i’ve spoken to actually likes and support the current govt. i don’t know why they still support them but this despairs me. i think the ill-informed 66% may be increasing for all i know.
@71) RED-man on August 20th, 2009 10.33 am
Well at least we now know why Singapore is not a nation yet after 40+ years — it’s only an aspiration! So, the ministers can sing tunes about it to the people, get people to pledge to the Pledge but in reality take no concrete steps towards achieving it?
If we take the $40B losses incurred by TH and instead channelled it towards an “aspiration” like planting our flag somewhere, I am confident it can be a “reality” to have it planted on the moon. It’s just a matter of Hokkien saying: “Want to do, don’t want to do.”
I like your point on the MP’s high pay. They didn’t aspire for $m salaries… they simply grab it with both hands/legs/mouths.
101% agree ah! are we singaporean or slave
MM meaning of aspiration is neither white or black…..good one!
Shocking indeed the answers. I can say there is at least $50b worth of reasons and more if we put in GIC’s stake in the American banks’ marked to market losses!
So for those who proudly said the pledge not so long ago.. please go and think again.. what did it mean to you? Just an aspiration and needs no deeds no convulsion to work toward?
If the 66.6% don’t start waking up and thinking for their real future… I wish us all good luck.
you’ve got that right Mr Leong. I agree with you. Great article.
Is not say Mr Tharman dont want to answer, perhaps its that he cant. Cause if he does, a certain old man LEE will boot him out of his lovely position of collection loots of income $$$.
…”he chose not to answer the questions anyway”…perhaps he dare not tell us that ALL our $$$ is GONE? Could be you know?
Would you, if you have squandered somebody’s money away?
Parliament IS a sham….biggest WAYANG on earth!
Reciting the pledge at 8.22pm on National Day was just another dram unfolding to fool the entire nation…after being taken for ride all these years…did you seriously believed these ‘actors”?
“The Prime Minister keeps telling Singaporeans to be united”…
This is divide & rule, not to be mistaken that they really want us to be united…..don’t forget, if we are united they can NEVER rule us.
What MM said is, asipration is a dream in pipeline,
for pap can take you to First world with 3rd world manipulated electroral system, in short 50 years, is a MANDATE to govern on indefinitely.
Give them your CPF and don’t ask questions
Give them your vote and don’t ask questions
Give them the applause ( they need that as proof of achievement ) and don’t ask questions
Give them y6our children’s soul and mortgage their futire to excessive wages of the in-power-people, and don’t ask questions
and keep on dreaming that the asipration in the Pledge will come true in 2159, then they will celebrate 400th anniversary of Stamford Raffles’ founding of Singapore, and 200 years of ( PIPAP) People-in-power Action Party’s rule
However, on the bright side ladies and gentlemen. I notice MM speech in the parliment was not as energetic as usual. He seem to run out of breathe at a few occasion during the entire duration of his talk.
He might not be very far from the 7th month ghost festival membership. Maybe his family will burn the whole singapore and it’s casiono made of papers to him next year same time. I believe that is on most people wish lists. Pray harder, it will eventually be answered if it is loud enough for the maker to hear us.
Accountability is but a Highfalutin Aspiration. Let’s move on.
85) RED-man on August 20th, 2009 2.22 pm
Not sure to agree with you. Although I dislike the current government and their bias and unfair policy, but I do have some respect for the old man who did his share to contribute to the nation for the last 50 years. Imagine at his age, still have to fly here fly there, helping to promote Singapore brands as to bring in more investors from abroad, and so on … these are few very strong points you can find from this old man but not PM, Ministers, or MPs.
Of course, his death is inevitable, as we all have already noticed. But let the nature take its course and do not curse and pray that the old man be gone in no time.
72) D’Angelo Spyker Armada KFX901,
I understand what you mean. It is possible we (still) have youths who know what is happening, but it’s a matter of how large this group is compared to the total number of youths. GP is just 1 of the many avenues for them to understand the world around them. I will be worried if a youth inculcates critical thinking and tolerance for lack of closures only (or even mainly) through GP, and nothing else. If a youth puts up a credible case and thinks differently from me, despite knowing the problems you mentioned, I will give weight to his/ her arguments, GP-style or not. Even if the youth doesn’t have all the arguments in place, it doesn’t mean he is not a concerned youth (for singapore’s future), so let’s evaluate each response on it’s own merit, instead of shooting him/ her down right away like what some others are doing.
@87),
more like the old man contributed during the initial 20 years, then distribute to himself and his stooges for the subsequent years.
since you say we should not curse or pray for the old man to be gone in no time, then may I add it is ok for us to piss on his grave.
I wondered why so many foreigners want to become citizens when there are so many grivances in our c ountry.
Do they know what they are going for?
Maybe they should visit TOC first!!!
sorry foks…nmp “jobs” is to think out of the box , offer ideas and offer real world solutions to all in parliament…based on this input, mps will taken into considerations or patch up certain missing view points or alternatives…i really hope it is not because mps need additional help as i believe the mps are already working very hard to do or exceed nmps in this area and to move singapore and its citizens forward into the sun [hopefully not too much sun burn]…finally, nmps “jobs” also to provide concerns or issues to policies that may have adverse affect on citizens and singapore long term future…thus mps has will be able to take into considerations and have a better view point or “authorized” solution for the citizens and singapore long term future…so it is great to nmps to provide additional wisdom and new fresh ideas…thus with that mps can really made postive changes for the good of singapore and its citizens : )
Dear linkpoint uc:
I presume you belong to the group that thinking Singapore without Lee Kuan Yew cannot. I don’t know why you dislike PAP policies but maybe you want to know who is behind these policies (meaning final says). Goh CT or Lee Hisan Loong as the prime minister, does it make a diiferent? I ask again, who has the final say? Who decide the government structure? Who make wong kan sin, mah bow tan etc what they are today? You seriously believe it is Lee Hsian Loong.
Say if your father is the rich business man and pass the business to you after his so call retirement. You think he will not allow you to do whatever you want when he is alive and kicking? He most like thinking what you know about running the business since I am the founder? Do you realise that your parent still nag at you no matter how old you are?
Are you also saying that Singapore with LKY alone can become what the country it is today? My point is, he is most likely to be “one of the” key person that build Singapore in the past. But I am very sure that if Singapore still have him around, he will be the one that destroy it too.
So tell me what you think linkpoint uc, it is acceptable for you to have someone that give you hope and in the end take your life away? And mind you, it is not about you. It is about the whole population of Singapore! Mostly the helpless one.
Good that you mentioned that this old man still travel here and there. Helping Singapore? I am not so sure, especially after the recent Malaysia visit. He seems to telling the new generation of Malaysia leader that they have failed badly for the purposes of his trip. Maybe it is his way of revenge for hurting the little pride of his when he was young kick out by Tungku. And finally, I thought, he is so confident with his son team, why still need to go around?
Don’t you think he is so old that now he basically creating trouble while go overseas except of course to country leader of china is somehow exceptional.
“He might not be very far from the 7th month ghost festival membership. Maybe his family will burn the whole singapore and it’s casiono made of papers to him next year same time. ”
I thought he himself and his Ho-Jinx already “burn” over $100 billions in preparation for his retirement into the paradise ? Isn’t that enough for him ? He can buy the whole court and army of Paradise with that kind of money, and can even setup LeetiBank, Lee Lynch FI, Lee Learning. Hopefully, he bring his “extraordinary” ministers and whole family with him because he getting senile and making a lot of honest mistakes. His lackey will help provide him with check and balance so much needed. He can als ape his model into the paradise too.
87) linkpoint uc on August 20th, 2009 3.08 pm
You may feel that he is doing it for his the nation’s interest….but other will see it as self-interest as what he does is affecting Singapore Inc whom we knows belong to you-know-who
Re: #85,
Dear Red-man,
I personally do not support the pap’s undemocratic’s governing approach, BUT… let us not curse anyone in power, for GOD shall judge them with full accord..
MM was respectable till 1984, when he bagan to undermine the democracy by bringing GRC and back-door entry MPs, but the first gen of PAP leaders ( many good MPs infact ) did fight for the survival of Singapore, not forgeting our forefathers’s determined hardwork, so… when we critize and disagree, let’s not hit below belt, even if the some ministers they may have done so…
When PAP started, it was truely a party for the people. Thx to the old guards (LKY included), PAP did many great things for Singapore and its people in the 60s and 70s, helping Singapore to become one of the 4 rising little dragons in the 80s. I think somewhere during this time, for the sake of unity of PAP, the old guards, some who couldn’t agree with LKY, left one by one. I recalled Rajaratnam rebutted LKY publicly even after retirement over some matters.
It is during this time that the character of PAP started to change. Without the old guards who at least can act as a counter weight to LKY’s ideas and views, LKY practically runs the whole PAP and Singapore the way he likes. Many junior ministers including Goh Chok Tong would not have the stature to counter him in the party. With the million dollar pay package proposed by him for the ruling elites, it makes things even worse for PAP.
These days, PAP is seen as more self-serving than anything else. You can tell cause many youngsters want to join PAP for quick glory, fame and wealth. Long gone were the days when the old guards join PAP truely to create a better Singapore for Singaporeans at large.
Dear
Dear Jacob Nair
cursing the old man does not mean cursing the PAP. You need to know that many here was once a Pro-PAP in the past. That is as much credit as they deserved in the past. I emphasis in my previous comment that why the situation become what it is today, we as a Singaporean has only ourselves to blame because at many occasions we have the power to make a different in voting. We just want to feel secure and let the PAP grow into wolves.
I say it now again, LKY might have credit as “one of the person” that make Singapore progress and rich. But he will be the one that going to send us back to the starting point if not worst. So, what so great about this old man who is inconsistance. In the term of GOD, I come to lose faith in him (which I believe I am not the only one and won’t be the last) when come to Singapore politic.
Knowing what this country will become in the future. I regret that I am not as cool as you not to mention patience.
Dear Red-Man,
I was once pro-PAP ( pro their policies but did not worshipped any heros )
but I m no more a blind supporter and I am tired of the staged media control and the one theme, one ( Arrogant ) toned propaganda of govt.
Still, we shall not curse anyone.
I disagreed strongly when Andrew Chuah kept insulting JBJ,
I also think we need to be objective when come to disgareement with pap and LKY. pap liked to demolish their opponents ‘s characters and we need not to return evil for evil.
Let the Creator judge him, his son and his families….
pap said that we Singaporean are not wise enough to elect leaders so that they put in place a balanced electoroal system like GRC to manage the progress of democracy, of cos , this is bull shit !
But, let’s not curse and hit anyone below belt… don’t let the Authority seize this as an example that we are not matured and ready to chooose in a free and fair election.
Hi Gilbert Goh #90
家家有本难念的经