Andrew Loh

When I was tasked to write about this line of our National Pledge, “… based on justice and equality”, it set me thinking. What should I write about, given that instances of the lack of justice and equality abound in Singapore.

Many have told me they felt that there’s a divide between the elites and ordinary Singaporeans, even in matters where all should be treated fairly. On example of this was the recent increase of the Appeal Court deposit. Anyone who is thinking of taking his civil suit all the way to the Court of Appeal will now have to first fork out S$20,000 as deposit.

Lawyer Mark Goh was quoted by the Straits Times as saying that “cases in the Supreme Court usually involve litigants of ‘high net worth’ or those who have the means to lodge an appeal.” (ST, 31 July, 2009)

Seeking justice now has a higher price tag.

“Are our administrative agencies and statutory tribunals really fairer than those in our neighbouring countries?” asked Law Society President, Mr Michael Hwang last year. “Or, is it simply that our practitioners are not seeing constitutional and administrative law issues that are embedded in the problems that come before their eyes?”

Mr Hwang said Singapore lawyers are apathetic about Public Law and has set up a committee to “promote greater awareness of public and international law”, including those regarding civil liberties and human rights.

To build a society which is based on justice and equality is a lofty goal, but one which we must of course strive for. So, how does Singapore stack up in these areas? I will not try and do a critical analysis of our justice or legal system as I am not an expert in that area. Instead, allow me to relate a few personal instances with people I have encountered and tell you their stories.

Left for dead

When Mohamad Kamaluddin died from chicken pox while living in a workmen quarters in Tagore Industrial Avenue in December 2008, the authorities concluded that he had died of “cardio respiratory failure”. He was sent home in a coffin to his wife and family in Bangladesh and the case was closed. His employer was not charged for neglect in providing adequate medical treatment despite the fact that Chapter 91.A of the Employment of Foreign Manpower Act (EFMA) clearly states that:

The employer shall be responsible for and bear the costs of the worker’s upkeep and maintenance. This includes the provision of adequate food, as well as medical treatment.

All that Kamaluddin received from his employer were two panadol tablets, we were told by his fellow workers. (See TOC reports here and here.)

And then there is the story of Odud Sayed Ahammed who had come to Singapore to seek a better life for his family. His body was found at a bus stop in Boon Lay early one morning. He had mysteriously died. The authorities concluded that the cause of death was pneumonia. Odud’s body was shipped home to Bangladesh, with an embalming certificate, a death certificate and a document from the National Environment Agency with the heading:

PERMISSION TO EXPORT A COFFIN CONTAINING A CORPSE.

That was all Odud’s wife, Maloti, received from Singapore.

No roof over their heads

When I met Mdm Lim (not her real name), she had moved out of her home with her two children. Her abusive husband had made life unbearable for them and Mdm Tan decided to seek a divorce. Earlier in her marriage, she had had to get a restraining order on her husband. He had also run up debts with the banks and loansharks totaling tens of thousands of dollars. He had used Mdm Lim’s name to apply for these loans and now she is saddled with these debts.

Mdm Lim has two teenage children. She works in the housekeeping department of a hotel, taking home about $700 a month. She pays S$300 for a small rented room which she shares with her two children.

Her application to the Housing and Development Board (HDB) for a government-subsidised rental flat was rejected on the grounds that she was a Malaysian Permanent Resident and that the custody of her children was still being processed in the courts. The HDB told her that her family does not constitute a “nucleus family” because of these reasons, even though her two children are Singaporean and Mdm Lim herself has lived in Singapore for many years.

Her salary of S$700 is barely enough for them to survive on.

When I met her 16-year old daughter, she silently bowed her head and had tears streaming down her face when we asked her what she thought of the situation her family was in. I could only imagine the pain she must be feeling, being homeless and seeing her parents separated.

She did not say a word. She didn’t need to.

Mdm Tan

I will never forget Mdm Tan. She is almost 80-years old. I met her at Orchard Road in February this year, trying to sell groceries – on the streets. It was almost midnight. She has severely deformed fingers caused by the arthritis which she suffers from.  “My hands are weak. I can’t even grasp things properly with them,” she told me. Her only joy in life is to visit the temple to pray. (See story here.)

She lives alone in a one-room rental flat.

John Moe

Moe Kyaw Thu had worked in Singapore for 12 years, helping to build some of our skyscrapers and the Circle Line of the Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) system. In 2007, when the Burmese military junta started its crackdown on protesters, which included highly-revered monks, Moe felt he had to do something to show solidarity with and give his support to those who were risking their lives fighting for democracy in Burma. He took part in the public protest held in Orchard Road by Burmese expats.

For a year after that, he did not receive any notice that he had committed any crimes here. When his work permit expired on 20 January 2009, however, he was told by the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) that it would not be renewing his work permit, even though Moe’s local employer was more than willing to extend his employment.

Appeals to the president, the prime minister and the MOM were futile.

He was, effectively, expelled from Singapore – without so much as an explanation why he was being asked to leave the country he has worked in for 12 years during which he had never committed any crimes.

When I saw him enter the departure gates at Changi Airport in January, I could see the deep sadness in his eyes. His flight would take him to Jakarta where he would approach an international non-governmental organization to help him avoid having to return to Burma. If he did, it was quite certain that he would be arrested and given lengthy sentences of hard labour in jail. Moe effectively became a refugee.

Personally, I was deeply saddened that my country would do this to someone who had done nothing more than taking part in a peaceful protest at a time when the entire world – and not just the Burmese people – was outraged at what the despotic and murderous junta was doing in Burma.

Moe was only expressing what we ourselves are striving for – “a democratic society, based on justice and equality”.

A laudable goal

In an interview with Fareed Zakaria in 1994, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew said he does not believe all men are equal. Referring to the World Bank, he said:

“It makes the hopeful assumption that all men are equal, that people all over the world are the same. They are not.”

It does make you wonder what that phrase in our National Pledge means if even the Minister Mentor does not believe that all men are equal. How then do you strive to build a nation “based on justice and equality”?

Be that as it may, it is still a goal we must strive for. The simple reason is that if we do not, those at the bottom rungs of society will suffer and all of us will slowly but surely lose our humanity. And justice and equality are not attributes or goals we leave in the written pages of our Constitution or in a single line in our Pledge which we recite once a year.

They are in the everyday humanity we express towards our fellow men, in helping them in their predicament, in easing their desperation.

But most of all, justice and equality can only be achieved if those in power and authority look beyond the dead letters of rules and regulations, strictly abiding by them even when particular situations cry out for something more humane. In a word, compassion.

“To build a democratic society, based on justice and equality….”

A laudable goal. To achieve this takes lots of heart.

—-

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

49 Responses to ““Based on justice and equality””

1. sgcynic 7 August 2009

“It makes the hopeful assumption that all men are equal, that people all over the world are the same. They are not.”

“It does make you wonder what that phrase in our National Pledge means if even the Minister Mentor does not believe that all men are equal. How then do you strive to build a nation “based on justice and equality”?”

Maybe he does believe in the ideal, but the pragmatic him knows it’s not true. So do I – I believe in equality of all men (at least before the law), just that it’s sadly not the case in Singapore.

Maybe LKY does indeed not believe in equality of all men. Then he could have been choking on the words when he takes the pledge each time. Look out for him at the NDP.

2. Die-hard Singaporean 7 August 2009

Well said Andrew.

Re your comment that: “But most of all, justice and equality can only be achieved if those in power and authority look beyond the dead letters of rules and regulations, strictly abiding by them even when particular situations cry out for something more humane. In a word, compassion.’

If those in power and authority simply stuck to the dead letters of rules and regulations I think it would be a step forward and in the right direction. Unfortunately, in my view, those in power and authority are thin skinned, petty, immature and insecure. As a consequence they take things personally – damn the rules and regulations. If you upset them, and they get upset very easily, they will get you under one rule or another, even if they have to make it up as they go. If you are prepared to curl up in a corner and accept whatever is dished out to you, you will be OK. Sad.

Goh Chok Tong is the one who talks so much about EQ, compassion and a gracious society.

There is nothing gracious at all if you cannot accept any loss with good grace.

There is nothing gracious about being petty and thin skinned.

There is nothing gracious about ignoring the plight of the needy, be they locals or foreign workers.

There is nothing gracious about telling Singaporeans to send their parents to nursing homes in JB.

There is nothing gracious about the Government thinking aloud about two Singapores, one which eats chicken rice at the Chatterbox and the other eating chicken rice at hawkers’ centres, if at all.

The Government has got itself and us into a messy situation and has no clue how to get out of it.

3. No Problem 7 August 2009

To have justice and equality, first and foremost you must have a system of justice
    that is non compliant and men with integrity running the country.

You must be hoodwinked to believe Singapore has embraced this ideal.

4. bull shit 7 August 2009

I feel really sad reading this.

I do. But for the majority of Singaporeans, they are busy, busying with daily life to care about the foreigners here, the poor, the out of job.

Too busy to care.

5. marketplace thiologist 7 August 2009

According to Alfian Sa’at, if you care too much about Singapore, first it’ll break your spirit, and finally it will break your heart.

According to Siew Kum Hong, if you care too much about Singapore, first the government break your spirit, and finally it will break your heart.

6. prettyplace 7 August 2009

A moving article Andrew….

There was also a pilot in SIA who stood up and spoke during the SARS period, if I recollect right. His PR status was pulled back.

Singapore’s PAP is driving the wrong way. I think it is time to pull the plug on them. I see this as the only way out for a better Singapore.

Most or least 66.6% might not agree, but time will tell each one of you how much Singapore is going to suffer in the coming years. (We can can already see crazy statements coming out of PAP leaders mouths)

I hope John Moe is fine.

7. “Based on justice and equality”, is that idealism or pragmatism?

8. winstoncheng 7 August 2009

I remember two cases involving expats, that of a Japanese MD and a caucasian lady. The japanese MD was drunk and punched a policeman when he was being checked. The then Chief Justice Yong even defended him saying `Oh, he was so drunk, suggesting a diminished responsibilty. In the case of the caucasian lady, she killed a korean mother and her two children while driving at Alexandra road. In both cases, the accused were let off with fines.

In view of these two cases, I can’t help believing that when two opposing parties stand in the court, the system does not see two entities with equal rights but more like, `who’s who’ VS `who’s who’.

Like some had mentioned here and before, we all here are the minorities. Most Singaporeans are apathetic towards this equality issue. They are too busy with their `selves’ and will only cry `murder’ when things happen to them. Take a look at the letters to the forum in ST. Most people, if not all, talk or complain about issues concerning themselves. I don’t remember anyone writing in with altruism.
    Therefore. with a society like that, it will be long before we (the citizens) can force change in the system.

9. one law but 2 kinds of verdict 7 August 2009

I remember the case where a lady editor of one of the local chinese newspapers got only a fine after breaking the red light and got into a traffic accident killing a motorcyclist.

Classic example of how elites get better treatment in our courts than the local peasants. In my heart the pledge of this country died a long time ago…..

10. “It makes the hopeful assumption that all men are equal, that people all over the world are the same. They are not.”

All men are not born equal. It never was and never will be. Because of this inequality, it is a lofty goal to treat all men equally. Bearing in mind that equality and equal treatment are two different things. Just as justice and law are two different things.

The law is only the interpretation of justice. The word and spirit of justice are two different things.

I hope that a just Singapore that treats all her people equally will materialize someday.

11. bfaire 7 August 2009

not enough details in the stories cited to pass fair judgment. but it appears that of the four cases mentioned, three, if not all, were not true blue singaporeans – tell me which gov in the world is elected to mind the problems or affairs( which tax our resources) of non-citizen?
    for such an important topic, you mean you can’t even find a single local story of ill treatment by our authority?

12. Justice belongs to those who have the bigger fist 7 August 2009

#11) bfaire on August 7th, 2009 11.04 pm

there’s plenty…..the detainees under the ISA…..chia thye poh, said zahari, the alleged marxists…..did they deserve this kind of injustice through their detentions?

13. #11 bfaire

I like your definition of ‘justice’ and ‘equality’. Everyone deserves justice but citizens deserve more than non-citizens. Everyone should be treated equally, but some are more equal than the others.

14. bfaire 7 August 2009

up to a certain point, we leave behind historical grievances and its unique events and dynamics. if the current regime still harbor extreme injustice, i am sure, even their kind will turn against them.

15. mice is nice 7 August 2009

anyone remember the Geylang Serai food poisoning case? poor stall owner got got the blame. :(

16. singaporekia 7 August 2009

mice is nice, so we should not blame the stall owner than whom should we blame? you? your father? or is it your mother? or simply blame LKY than?

If Chee SJ is in power do you think Geylang Serai food poisoning wont happen?

17. toolang 8 August 2009

The writer should also provide his solutions to the problems to show our gahmen how to help fellow human beings. If you care to laze around at Chinatown hawker centres one afternoon, you will hear and learn more pathetic stories than these and your solutions may be the ones everybody is looking for.

18. mice is nice 8 August 2009

Singaporekia,

there are many rats at the temporery market. how can it be just 1 stall owner to be blamed?

you a fellow Stomper? :)

19. Andrew Loh 8 August 2009

I intentionally left out the stories about the ISA detainees as they are well-known already.

My intention was to perhaps highlight some of those which readers may not know of. Of course, there are many stories involving locals. Teachers, for example. But many of them do not want their stories told – because of fear they may lose their jobs or some other reasons.

As for solutions, I don’t claim to have all the answers. No one does. But that does not mean it is unimportant to highlight the issues.

20. Andrew Loh 8 August 2009

Also, whether those in the stories are foreigners or locals, the important point is that what happened to them happened here in Singapore. That’s the point.

21. twentythou$and$$broke 8 August 2009

[i]In the case of the caucasian lady, she killed a korean mother and her two children while driving at Alexandra road. In both cases, the accused were let off with fines.[/i]

donkeys years ago
    my uncle who worked for sbs as a driver
    dued to his carelessness
    he hit a graduated sweet singapore young lass to death
    he was sentenced and jailed for 6 months
    and upon his release
    he was sent for retrainning onced again
    my uncle have no proper education
    so bus drivin is his livinghood
    ole yeah durin his trials
    he told the judge and pleaded
    i have a wife who is workin liked hell
    in a hotel cleanin plates
    and i have 2 young schoolin sons
    do the judge cared?
    he pronounced
    you are guilty
    go to jail for 6 months
    do not passed go
    & do not expect to collect $200 as well…
    so if want to appeal
    go where?

22. twentythou$and$$broke 8 August 2009

[i]
    If Chee SJ is in power do you think Geylang Serai food poisoning wont happen?[/i]
    the point is
    it happenned in a pap grc wards
    so?
    don’t make excuses
    as though cheesoonjuan
    please address him as dr chee
    he stll hold that doctorate…
    do you have 1?
    and is dr chee bein paid @ $14,500?

23. theforgottongeneration 8 August 2009

@17) toolang on August 8th, 2009 12.07 am

Obviously an Army mentality here — those that show initiative will be asked to do more. So, why don’t we pay Andrew $14K a month doing some MP’s job? If I complain loudly about MSK’s escape, U mean I have to prove my point and go catch him, is it? No wonder WKS just sit tight like a mouse and let M’sia catch him!

24. theforgottongeneration 8 August 2009

@18) mice is nice on August 8th, 2009 12.14 am

Mice,
    U should hv explain cousin Rat can spread disease. Immediately next day after poisoning, why suddenly many rats caught there. Possible they migrate wholesale there only the night before, what. U accuse NEA of sleeping, awake only when someone dies?

25. As for foreigners working in Sgp, my grouses include they not being properly guided into our society. See the way they bring their negative culture into Sgp, such as speeding in vehicles loaded with fellow workers, cycling in wrong direction, littering, spitting. Monkey sees, monkey do. If no one takes action, other follows, including fellow Singaporeans. Diversity is good, but needs some management and guidance by whoever that brings them in to stay,

26. Die-hard Singaporean 8 August 2009

bfaire

25% of Singaporeans earn less than $1000 a month.

284,000 employed Singaporeans do not have any money going into their CPF at all when the CPF is supposed to be compulsory.

The statistics are not made up. They are derived from official MOM, CPF and Department of Statistics data. They are obviously so muddle-headed that they are unaware that they are publishing such statistics. Do you need more examples of the Government not caring?

In any case if compassion is selective and qualified what sort of compassion is it? We become like the elite. They care about themselves and are compassionate towards themselves. We should not get in the gutter with them.

Stick to principles. The elite have a suite of principles and they trot out the ones that suit them and the particular circumstances they are confronted with. That, they would say, is being pragmatic. I say that is being unprincipled and wishy washy.

27. ErniesUrn 8 August 2009

Dear Andrew Loh,

You may have left out this important ingrediant in Singapore’s Judicial System. Without the jury, court decesions will be left to the judge, and how can one be sure he is partial, impartial, bias or not when he passes judgement?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Judicial_system_of_Singapore

“Jury trials were abolished in 1969 and the Criminal Procedure Code was amended in 1992 to allow for trials of capital offences to be heard before a single judge.The Court of Appeal is Singapore’s final court of appeal after the right of appeal to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London was abolished in April 1994. The president has the power to grant pardons on the advice of the cabinet.

Singapore practices the common law legal system, where the decisions of higher courts constitute binding precedent upon courts of equal or lower status within their jurisdiction, as opposed to the civil law legal system in the continental Europe. The current criminal code was preceded by the Indian Penal Code which was adopted when Singapore was a crown colony.

In 2004, the US Department of State claimed that although Singapore’s judicial system provides citizens with an efficient judicial process, the judiciary is largely compliant and the government often use defamation suits or the threat of such actions to discourage public criticism and intimidate the press.”

http://www.singapore-window.org/ag0721.htm

“Text of a letter from Singapore’s attorney general to law minister S. Jayakumar on the presence of unauthorised persons inside polling stations. The minister summarised the attorney general’s opinion when he replied to a query in parliament from non-constituency MP and Workers’ Party chief J. B. Jeyaretnam July 30.

The Workers’ Party had complained to the police that Mr Goh Chok Tong, Dr Tony Tan and Brigadier-General (NS) Lee Hsien Loong had been inside a Cheng San GRC polling station on Polling Day.

But the Public Prosecutor recently advised the police that the PAP leaders had not broken the law.”

28. Time Changed, People Changed, Pledge Should Change 8 August 2009

There is an old Teochew saying..”Sit wherever is cooling”.

LKY is a very pragmatic with keen instinct of survivorship (kia si?) since young.

Before the Japanese occupation, LKY family was in businesses supporting the British staying in Singapore. At the onset of Japanses occupation, he quickly took up Japanese language and started working for the Japanese. He made his way out of the Japanese and people’s sight (went into hiding) when he saw the Japanese falling. Only later when the dusts was more settled, he stepped out and went into politics (he already knew people had short memory). He maintained his style as being a shrewd and cunning fellow to gain political power by ‘working closely’ with the Communists. And later got them up locked up, for whatever reasons.

Therefore, I think he has built a nation of his style – fast adapting, nimble, unique, but with not a single lasting identity (no backbone). I do believe our Pledge was composed during a time when it was best prescribed for the Singaporeans then, but now, it is no longer applicable.

Should do the nation good if LKY asks his team to re-compose our Pledge.

29. animal farm pledge 8 August 2009

Agree that LKY should decree a new pledge, more in line with present circumstances……. the deeds of his PAP just cannot match the ideals in the existing pledge……unrealistic and hypocritical.

A more accurate and achievable pledge should go along something like this example :
    ” we promote family values as much as we promote famiLee members and
    that all men are equal except some are more equal than others “.

30. The court case involving the Chees and the Lees. Was there justice? Was punishment meted out fairly? Why was the one who told lies walk free and the one who spoke the truth send to jail? And wearing kangaroo T-Shirt is a crime yet we call ourselves a democratic society based on justice and equality? Anyway I am walking out of this stupid land on national day.

31. bfaire 8 August 2009

“Stick to principles. The elite have a suite of principles and they trot out the ones that suit them and the particular circumstances they are confronted with. That, they would say, is being pragmatic. I say that is being unprincipled and wishy washy.”

there is a place for that kind of believe and argument but fighting for the bottom 20% is not going to change things around here. unless you are prepared to challenge the “living standard” or the “quality of life” envisioned by the pap and get the other 80% to agree with you that, chief and foremost, the pursue of high paying jobs has a detrimental effect on society in the long run or that the meritocratic system is fallacious.

andrew and his team need to up their game..that’s all i am saying.

32. tiredsingaporean 8 August 2009

“Based on justice and equality”
    Let those MIW take their pledge on their stand tomorrow during National Day to be reminded that there is a God up there looking at them, whether they are seriously taking their pledge themselves based on justice and equality or they are doing it just to please someone. Remember when God gives, HE gives alot BUT when HE decide to take back, HE takes back “EVERYTHING” nothing left.

33. Albinocus Humus 8 August 2009

one thingie for sure, all men and women young and old NEED TO BE RESPECTED. I think this should be universal.

Also, for most part of the world, people want transparency And some even dare to demand Transparency based on justice and equality so as to achieve.

34. B.Kuppupokusamy 9 August 2009

“Based on expensive justice and….” sounds more true.

35. aiyoyo 9 August 2009

aiyoyo

look at the investment losses, the high price hdb, salary still ‘peanuts’ etc..,

alamak how commoners to survive, also the economy still ‘downturn’

wah really national day liao…

aiyoyo

36. Missing the Point Again 9 August 2009

We are NOT BORN equal but JUSTICE should EQUALLY be served which is NOT the case in Singapore………re Boon Suan Foo, JBJ, Tang Liang Hong, Marxist conspirators, Robert Ho etc.

Agree with Nn 3 & No 5.

The Pledge should be examined through a more systematic and thorough examination of the core words:

CITIZENS, UNITED PEOPLE, RACE, LANGUAGE, RELIGION, JUSTICE & EQUALITY, PROGRESS FOR OUR NATION.

37. Missing the Point Again 9 August 2009

substitute the 2nd examination with the word ANALYSIS

38. Orchid 9 August 2009

Today, I’m going to say my pledge proudly and truthfully. But I’m not so sure about our PM and his cabinet.

I wish for a capable leader with a compassionate big heart for our country who can alleviate our underprivileged fellow Singaporeans’ sufferings.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY SINGAPORE and GOOD LUCK to all of us!

39. Barker in white 9 August 2009

When i was young at 4, i stood in the rain to watch 1968 NDP at High Street, when i was 20, in NS, i loved my country that I queued for a ticket to go Padang NDP.

I recall that in an afternoon around 1.30pm in 1973, I was at Captol Cinema bus stop waiting for bus after school, we saw MM Lee’s convoy drive passed, we waived jubilantly to him, for he was our idol then.

This evening, as I watched TV just now, seeing the young recited the Pledge on the huge TV screen at the floating stage in marina, I don’t doubt their sincerity, but I am not sure if they have seen the real life in Singapore.

My eyes were wet while watching NDP on TV, for we lost many decades of precious time to build a society with democracy, justice and equality,

IF ALL the 1959 PAP leaders were still around, were still having sound minds in their riped old age, I want to ask them, have the 2009 Singapore achieved what we envisioned in the Pledge ?

40. Lee Toh Goh 9 August 2009

Chee SJ worked in police fteam before, he talked 2 much but could he be he knew 2 much ?

JBJ was a district judge, did he know …..?

Francis Seow was a deputy prosecutor, did he …. ?

They are flawed like all of us, for no human is absolutely flawless …. but they had spoken out.

If our system is transparent, we would have faith in it…

Speculation will not cease if there is no transparency in the system, and there will be little meaning to read the Pledge !

41. I think we have to be very careful about what we mean by “equal” – especially when we say “we are born equal” – because it seems to me that it can mean two things.

First, there’s the idea everyone has similar characteristics. This can hardly be true, given random factors such as genetic variations. Some people are better at doing one thing, some at others. Some may be born with a handicap; some may be born shy. And in the interview with Fareed Zakaria, Lee Kuan Yew is referring to this meaning of equal.

There is a second meaning of equal, and this means that there are no barriers to social mobility due to birth – and it is probably this that the “equal” in “we are born equal” means. This can be easily understood when contrasted with inheritance-based class systems, such as that that existed in the UK a century ago. In those days, for example, an army officer is probably from the middle class or royals, never from the lower class.

Of course, this is pretty much tangential to the entire thrust of the article, but I think to criticise Lee Kuan Yew just because of that quote is somewhat a straw-man argument.

42. mice is nice 10 August 2009

hi Theforgottengeneration,

post #24

“U should hv explain cousin Rat can spread disease. Immediately next day after poisoning, why suddenly many rats caught there.”

yeah, those rats, were there to see if there are indeed fat cats so full they let the dirty rats go about breeding & spreading unabated. :)

or they manage to sneak pass those complacent cats managing the market… :P

43. teo soh lung 10 August 2009

Touching article. Sad that our Legal Aid Bureau have not been instructed to handle monetary compensation to the families of those who died.

I think the pledge is no longer relevant to Singapore. I don’t think there was ever any intention to honour it in the first place.

44. theforgottongeneration 10 August 2009

@42) mice is nice on August 10th, 2009 12.58 am

Pls be careful on mention of cats. Somebody may interpret as the 4-legged furred type and start culling them again. As of yesterday, to show we are one united people, with justice, equality, tolerance, blah, blah, even people that feed stray cats (furry type) were highlighted positively in the newspaper. Friend-friend now, but not too long ago, these people & furry cats were blamed for spreading H1H1. So pls be quiet or moods swing again…

For non-furred fat cats….guess still CBCBK (eat-full-walk).

45. theforgottongeneration 10 August 2009

@43) teo soh lung on August 10th, 2009 5.19 am

Off the head, what about the recent coma case of an NSF’s family that was told army will not continue to pay for life support since that person was “off duty” then? Sure the court thankfully judged otherwise, but it show the mentality towards those that have/are serving NS.

And what about the widow whose HDB informed that the insurance on their flat was void upon her husband sudden death because the date of effect of insurance was not due yet? Money paid already but the system still tried to con that poor lady. Again, the outbrust of public opinion and the court eventually overturned that (I recall).

Point is, if nobody was screaming about such things, the authorities seem to be big fish eat small fish if they can. NKF case — who first blew it? The garhem?

46. mice is nice 11 August 2009

hi Theforgottongeneration,

sorry sorry, my bad. the moral of the story is teach the cats how to catch mice & they will survive on their own, do not feed cats till all fat fat.

>.<

47. Retiree 11 August 2009

It is often said that all are born equal. Unfortunately, some are born more equal than others. Over here one is equal only, if one is born smart, intelligent and with good brain. Based on justice? I am not sure too. Often we read that some people with good brain do manage to get away with things.

48. kaao chinuis 17 August 2009

I have been watching some footages of the past and find it interesting to share with all readers what i saw in the video regarding EQUALITY :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B36xbbE-MyA&feature=related

watch 0 min 12th second to 1 min 21st second.

he is so bombastic wor.