Our response in italics:

Speech in English

“Testimony of 48 year old retrenched worker who went to e2i and got a job: ‘I am so happy now. I am earning more than before.’”

- For every one person like him, how many were not able to find a job, or was paid less and by how much less? I think what we need are the statistics, and not just one positive example.

“First class Government, best leadership.”

- Why is it that paying the highest salaries in the world to our ministers has failed to find a 4th Prime Minister, who may have to be a new candidate in the next election around the age of 30?

“The most dangerous fault line is race and religion. We don’t talk very much about it. From time to time, we need to.”

- The Malay community may arguably be the least economically well off on a relative basis. As their (if not most Singaporeans’) biggest asset may probably be their HDB flat, the HDB Ethnic Quota policy may need to be reviewed, as it is generally harder to sell and the market price is much lower.

“The 3Ms (Medisave, Medishield, Medifund) are working well”

- How many have zero or less than $500 in their Medisave account? How many are unable to pay their medical bills? How many are deliquent on their medical bills, being chased by hospitals to pay, paying by installment, etc ?

“No need for new prescription now – review at the end of the year”

- How many more have to be unemployed? How many more have to apply for financial assistance, before we take additional measures?

‘The ‘Then and now” slide show and commentary was great’

- Let us all be united and work together to review the policies that may be causing more Singaporeans to lose their homes, life CPF savings, low savings for retirement, declining incomes against rising cost of living, etc

Speech in Malay

“Buy a flat that is within your means”

- With the prices of new HDB flats continuing to escalate because of HDB’s “market subsidy pricing policy”, despite the economic downturn, is it any wonder that the HDB visited 60,000 HDB households last year who had difficulty in paying for their HDB flats.

“Do not spend every dollar you earn”

- With the wages of the lower-income continuing to decline, how to make ends meet?

Speech in Chinese

“Unemployment rate has increased slightly”

- The resident unemployment rate has increased to six per cent in June, with 116,600 unemployed.

“Basically, most Singaporeans can afford their medical costs”

- What about the 750,000 who do not have any form of medical insurance, according to Mdm Halimah Yacob, Chair-person of the Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) on Healthcare?

- Khoo Teck Puat hospital wih 500 beds will cost S$500 million, compared to the 600-bed Sungai Buloh hospital in Malaysia which we understand only cost RM50 million.

“Community hospitals can provide good step-down care”

- With the recent increase in fees of up to 100 per cent at community hospitals, the net effect, even after the increase in Government subsidies, may be that patients end up paying more.

96 Responses to “Brief response to PM Lee’s speech”

1. toolang 17 August 2009

PM has given a timely reminder of religious propaganda and space. I urge all these religious zealots not to canvass from flat-to-flat at odd hours of the day disturbing my sleep and rest to convert the residents to their beliefs and save the entire world of sinners.

2. hum june nee 17 August 2009

“who may have to be a new candidate in the next election around the age of 30?”

now , who could possibly be this ?

why succession plan not from existing?

3. Terence Goh 17 August 2009

It is an ironic joke that LHL highlights cases of children not caring for their elderly parents.

The same government refuse to grant elderly full concessionary transport fares, thought of sending elderly to JB/Batam, ask them to work till they die, compete with young and fit FTs for work, haggle over how much a month to give elderly who can’t work, cut off the power of elderly when they can’t pay, stood aside while banks conned the elderly of their entire life savings and he is chiding people for not taking care of their eldely???!!!!

4. Do you mean May or May Not? technically, same or not? 17 August 2009

“Unemployment rate has increased slightly”

- The resident unemployment rate has increased to six per cent in June, with 116,600 unemployed.

Thanks to TOC for providing more details. ‘slightly’ is a relative word and does not give a concrete figure.

5. Time is up…….

6. TiongBahru Lover 17 August 2009

I believe the foreigners are an important part of our workforce.

If no there are no foreigners coming into Singapore; who is going to clean our HDB void decks in the morning? Working overnight to repair our roads and widen CTE to smooth traffic conjestion? Building and constructing a world class resort and theme park for our children to enjoy???

We are so pampered that we don’t even clear our own dishes or wash our own clothes at home. We depend so much on domestic helpers now. Try finding a Sinagporean that is willing to do your household chores + looking after baby/ elderly with a monthly salary of S$350. It is more difficult than striking the lottery.

Unless Singaporean are willing to take on such job (mentioned earlier), it is inevitable for the government to import foreigners.

7. The more important thing to note is .... 17 August 2009

\\\\\\“Testimony of 48 year old retrenched worker who went to e2i and got a job: ‘I am so happy now. I am earning more than before.’”

- For every one person like him, how many were not able to find a job, or was paid less and by how much less? I think what we need are the statistics, and not just one positive example.\\\\\

TOC, you have a point there.

But based on my chats with youths, many are oblivious regarding social-political issues. For example, many do not know about the issue of Marital Rape and its legality.

many youths wear modern material goods and appear 1st world.
    But the what is there between the eyes?

People Delegate.
    Executioners do their job.
    You see, its the People that i feel is the issue.

8. Yamamoto 17 August 2009

From CNA

“Speaking in English, he said the first hint of black clouds on the economy appeared two years ago. But now the eye of the storm has passed and some have even mentioned green shoots in the economy.”

Then Why LHL, did your wife and for good old friends cause the SWF to suffer such loss….if they can see it coming…hindsight bias?

Oh wait, here comes another installment of bitter pills…what will SGP be like down the road? I really hope that the bitter pills will be serve to them during the next election…

I don’t know, but everyday that i am staying in Singapore increase my disgust…

9. The more important thing to note is .... 17 August 2009

to clarify, what i meant was, TOC may know a lot about social political issues.
    But at the end of the day, its the People which includes the youths that will make the decision.

How to reach out to this critical mass?

Many i know appear oblivious to many issues.

10. to all who are forming up statements that youths are apethetic..

you want to know why?
    the obvious answer “school never teach” ….sad but true…that’s how they are going to answer and that’s how true it is as well….

and coming into that, since young, we’ve been “reminded” that certain things in lives..such as nation building and decision making is best left for teh elite and “promising” students to engage. the rest should jsut keep quiet and carry on trying to find the meaning of life..

thank you MOE

11. the new PM 17 August 2009

The 4th PM could be Mr. Teo Ser Luck – he is very visible and can connect with the young and old. Lee Hongyi cannot be considered because he is below 30.

12. Yamamoto 17 August 2009

56) TiongBahru Lover

Do you think everybody needs domestic helper at home? domestic helper is one thing…however the competition that the foreigner cause is in areas whereby some singaporeans are willing to work, such as those in coffee shop and foodcourt…why did you fail to mention this aspect?

And perhaps “We are so pampered that we don’t even clear our own dishes or wash our own clothes at home. ” this sentence is for yourself? as generally speaking, there are people like me who does that and don’t depend on domestic helpers…

“Unless Singaporean are willing to take on such job (mentioned earlier), it is inevitable for the government to import foreigners.” Importing foreigners are okay for those job that doesn’t present any threats to singaporeans job…however that is not the case, maybe you don’t know it or maybe you purposely omit it…however, do you take a look at the foodcourt now vs of the past? don’t try to tell us those uncle aunty are not willing to do that job…

Somebody smells like the I-brigade

13. Tks goodness. English League started…….

14. Yamamoto 17 August 2009

50) Terence Goh on August 16th, 2009 11.51 pm

As for what you said, regarding “It is an ironic joke that LHL highlights cases of children not caring for their elderly parents.”

Here is my own cynical view…with all due respect…

This issue is been highlighted because they assume that children are not taking care of their parents, which results in a need for full concessionary transport, fares,cheaper nursing home, us complaining about our elderly inability to compete with FW, having to give elderly who can’t work money, and having to take charge when our elderly got trick…and all this can be prevented if the children have done more and this will save them alot of trouble as they won’t have to handle the issues they mention…

so in short, we need to take care of the elderly, so that it will reduce the burden on the gahmen

this is just my mumbo jumbo

15. Filial piety hypocrisy. 17 August 2009

The biggest hypocrisy is PAP trying to restore filial piety.

What Lee Kuan Yew did by kicking out the old guards and following that by retrenching the middle aged Singaporean workers, replacing by cheap and not-qualified foreign workers shows the government don’t care about Singaporeans.

The process keeps going on. Retrench middle-aged qualified Singaporeans and replacing them by foreign inexperienced newbies shows the 100% hypocrisy of PAP government from LKY, GCT and Lee Hsien Loong.

I SAY VOTE OUT AT LEAST 40% PAP MP’S FOR A BETTER SINGAPORE

16. mice is nice 17 August 2009

is there assurance CPF money is there when 1 retire?
    :?

17. I Can Honestly Say . . . 17 August 2009

and what of the subtle threat for us to vote wisely so that they can remain in their seats for the next 30-40 years when LHL unveiled the grand masterplan?

This is a bloody NDR, not some platform for you to bloody impose your PAP propaganda and arm twisting tactics broadcasted on national tv.

damn it. shameless.

18. mice is nice 17 August 2009

“i so miss the good old days!!”

1. modern S’pore lost so much cultural heritage
    2. the few elites don’t care for others
    3. general lack of graciousness at more levels (from top down)
    4. now like survival of the fittest (concrete jungle)
    5. most people pay never up for years already
    6. cost of living go up like no tomorrow
    7. more stress for everyone, from students to working adults to retirees
    8. citizens get blamed for low birthrates, drop in productivity? lmao
    9. how to social intergrate when all “fighting” for survival? meritocracy like that wan ah?
    10. must moderate wage expectation how far down somemore? $400/mth, FT maid’s pay?

19. Mentor Daddy still around, no worry 17 August 2009

Daddy is still around to mentor, so it’s OK. Never mind mee siam mai hum, ai hum , more hum etc, you all no choice still have to eat what.

20. you people complain complain…. come election you still will vote for them one lah…. they give u a stable country but you must kenna F by their policies …. so which one you chose? at least they run the country super efficient …… till we all kenna con…. on the surface a beautiful country but people all suffer… i think we all numb aredi…. kenna wack by them we can still select them to represent us…. uniquely stupid….

21. TiongBahru Lover 17 August 2009

62) Yamamoto on August 17th, 2009 12.22 am

Do you think everybody needs domestic helper at home? domestic helper is one thing…however the competition that the foreigner cause is in areas whereby some singaporeans are willing to work, such as those in coffee shop and foodcourt…why did you fail to mention this aspect?
    I agree that there is an increase in foreigners working in foodcourt and coffee shop. As you said, only some singaporeans are willing work. So who is going to cover those job not filled up by the locals? you??? Some coffeeshop or foodcourt are operating 24hrs and I believe not many locals are willing to take the night shift. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

And perhaps “We are so pampered that we don’t even clear our own dishes or wash our own clothes at home. ” this sentence is for yourself?
    The sentence is my observation and understanding of the younger generation (13 – 21) who usually depend on their parents or maid to do their chores. Sadly to say, I am also working as part-time domestic helper after office hour.
    as generally speaking, there are people like me who does that and don’t depend on domestic helpers… I am happy that you are able and willing to do your chores. Some family who are not so fortunate may have to engage helper to take care of elderly/ sick person at home.
    “Unless Singaporean are willing to take on such job (mentioned earlier), it is inevitable for the government to import foreigners.” Importing foreigners are okay for those job that doesn’t present any threats to singaporeans job…however that is not the case, maybe you don’t know it or maybe you purposely omit it…however, do you take a look at the foodcourt now vs of the past? don’t try to tell us those uncle aunty are not willing to do that job…
    Maybe the govt should conduct a survey to find out how many Singaporean are willing to take up the job in foodcourt or coffeeshop. Who knows, the survey may show some interesting figures…

Somebody smells like the I-brigade
    Cheers!!!

22. Ask party goers - what else they r AWARE of other than fun 17 August 2009

\\\61) the new PM on August 17th, 2009 12.21 am The 4th PM could be Mr. Teo Ser Luck – he is very visible and can connect with the young and old. Lee Hongyi cannot be considered because he is below 30.\\\

By that you mean IT HAS TO COME FROM PAP only?

23. mice is nice 17 August 2009

TiongBahru Lover,

perhaps you should check how much foodcourt staff is paid? i remembered watching Get Rea!,on Channel News Asain in the past & foodcourt staff are made to pay $50 for a day of absentism. & old people tend to fall sick more easily. what more the risk being quarantined for H1N1? can such low wage workers afford to pay companies 7x$50? how low a salary can a person accept, to live a decent life & save for retirement & rainy days?

you maybe right (not that i have figures to support it) about local’s reluctance to work the “graveyard” shift. but even a rotating 8hour shift [2x morning, 2x noon, 2x night & 2x off days] can be rather bad for health in the long run. worse for alternate 12hour shifts… humans are not robots.

as for having maids, its a reality or trade-off for dual income family. grandparents may not be able to keep up physically with young children. not forgetting that household chores (not just washing plates) still needs to be done. maids free time up so local women can contribute economically to our GDP. household chores is not a walk in the park.

i hope you see (some) things from my point of view.

24. mice is nice 17 August 2009

S’pore should open our PM position to FTs like Thaksin, Bill Clinton…. :)

25. FreeLunchInSingapore 17 August 2009

There was a survey a few months ago showing that s’poreans are more prepared than last recession as they have a lot less debt (supposedly).

So, I don’t know why he thinks we are living beyond our means.

It is not consistent with that survey.

The only people not living below their means is the govt.

They are sucking every body up.

If you are thinking of giving up your Malaysian citizenship to take up Singapore’s, please exchange with me.

26. His comments about the Malay owned flats is an excuse.

He basically want/need to drive home prices up.

while we need to support a bigger liability, he gets the cash to cover the GIC/TH failure in investment.

He made it sound so nice but it is to solve his father’s problem for eating too much with the citibank executives and his wife for not thinking hard enough she buys.

27. Besides insuring against the govt for not paying out CPF life, those considering buy a new flat better think careful.

If the govt fails to drive the property prices sustainably, you will end up like a lot of hk people in the later part of last decade…

You have to factor that in, in your pricing.

28. This is not a ND rally.

It was a PAP rally.

29. to TiongBahru Lover:

Have you been to NUS business ad canteen?

Check it out during evening time.

You will see that the chinese researchers and students don’t patronise local stores but their own chinese store.

They need to learn not us.

30. To haha :

Stable country is every body’s effort.

Once the chinese women came in en masse, and we have murders and amputation of bodies.

That is not stability.

They didn’t run the country well the last few years. Look at the list of failures. They even have to give an award to Malaysian for doing a job better than them.

Their policies are lousy.

You must be dreaming.

31. leeyewkuan 17 August 2009

wah!
    you all realLEe listened to his indoctrinated cartoon proporganda speech( not speeches hor)
    i was watchin shaw bros early 70s kungfool movies, it brought more greater entertainments…
    ~sigh~
    sharin a pants?
    wow singapooriums must be realLEE tahat broke…. imagined a father and his son earnin more than $350,000/month sharin 1 single pants in instana?

32. Well, all I can say is this.
    Its really amazing what he expects the voters to believe.
    What is more amazing is:
    The majority of the voters will believe.

They are here to stay. Give it up, resistance is futile.

33. To TiongBahru Lover:

As if it was the foreigners who cleans the toilets etc, take a look carefully.

Many of them are Singaporeans who voted for LKY 30 years ago.

Did the govt look after them?

If they are doing all this for fun to pass time, it is fine. However, you can check, most of them aren’t doing it for fun. It is their livelihood. And they are mostly of the ethnic chinese.

Go do your checks.

34. Could TOC do a write up on the countries that Singaporeans can migrate to, the process, cost etc. I think many of us are really consider doing so. I know I am.

35. Ah Siao 17 August 2009

#84 Quiter

Wah lao eh, you want to quit also want people to find out info for you!
    Like that cannot make it lah!
    Just to give you an idea, it will probably take you 1 month just to fill up some of the application forms which can be up to 30 pages and ask questions about your grandfather.
    Basic info also you cannot find out yourself, like that how to quit.

Now I know why PAP disregard this bunch of whiners.

36. Really man… WHO THE FXXK is he kidding???

37. even if you are a cleaner today, chances are, you’ll be working in a better and well organized and clean environment( eg working for SIA or in aircondition offices/food court in shopping malls if you’re a singaporean – unlike the 70s when sg was less developed). foreign workers, if you realized, usually work in hot and humid non aircon kopitiam or labor under the hot sun tending to parks and streets etc.

in that sense, PM’s message was consistent.

38. to bfaire :

Not when you have a huge wave of indians and mainland Chinese who clot toilets and make the whole toilet wet.

Let’s not kid ourselves, the exterior of a shopping mall is good and gets better, but the toilet conditions didn’t improve much at least not at the rate of inflation (I don’t even want to compare to rate of increase of salaries of ministers)

39. Caption Fun 17 August 2009

What is LHL saying in the pict?

“Look Papa, I am on TV!”

“My salary will reach ONE BILLION after the next election!”

“One Taco please!”

“Anyone wants my booger?”

“I am gonna stick this finger up the Singaporeans’ …”

40. personally speaking, most toilets i have visited in our malls are fine( though the kopitiam toilets need more improvement)

things are not as bad as it looks for most of our local cleaners. in fact, some of these aunties are quite happy with “low paying” jobs. at their age, they just want to be useful and productive. and if you get to talk to some of them, chances are, they have paid off their homes( enjoying asset appreciation) and their children have become working adults.

what perhaps needs to be improved is our mindset towards menial workers. we need to appreciate their role and accord them with more respect. in a generation or two, their numbers could diminish as more of our people become better educated and trained to fit into new job market. couple with social and lifestyle changes plus new technology taking over menial work(maybe even eradicated), hopefully, we can all be happier to live our life to the fullest.

that could be a possible scenario.

41. 56) TiongBahru Lover

You do not understand.

If the gov imports foreigners for construction, maids or road sweepers, we are OK

But the government imports hordes and hordes of professionals to vie with us for flats and jobs. THAT IS NOT OK

42. it’s OK. the more the merrier!

PAP!PAP!PAP!

43. staying together, moving ahead 17 August 2009

Now I know why we have 3 ‘prime ministers’ in office that costs us SGD 9 mil per year (excluding the secretive bonuses)

MM Lee (foreign talents needed to help Spore grow) and SM Goh ( 10 questions for Singapore) had each already given their NDP rally speech.

Lee Hsien Loong was a 3rd addendum.

Value for money? Or damn expensive?

44. Hey, the fates are kind. Those who wanted another channel to watch, did do — watching Man United in action. Not that MU was that much inspiring. But that’s the nature of the beautiful game. Good players, good manager, scintillating game. In theory, lah!
    Same too with Spore govt — good Ministers & MPs, good leader, great economy. Again, iIn theory, lah!
    So all football fans who watched Man U in action yesterday may not have been that happy. Play was scrappy, at best.
    But those watching the ND rally speech could have been jnspired — it’s a matter of perspective. Many who watched the rally speech were already converted, subjugated folks.
    The rest of the rally viewers, like many TOC readers, had already sharpened their knives to stab our Dear Leader. Poor Dear Leader, always kena screwed no matter what he says nor does. Sometimes, you wonder if, in his heart, he wants to just retire and spend his days doing something less awkward.

45. Homeless in my own country 17 August 2009

Same old propaganda…year over year. :(