This is a letter from the Straits Times Forum Page, 4 August 2009:

Picture from phusion

BASED on blogs about the National Day Parade (NDP) Preview, it seems that pole dancing will be one of the features of the parade.

From the pictures posted, it appears that several dancers dressed in skimpy outfits will be performing.

As a parent, I am concerned about the portrayal of women in skimpy outfits and sensual dancing at the NDP. Pole dancing has its origins in strip clubs, however toned down the sensuality is now.

I am surprised that it should even make an appearance at the NDP when it is not local to Singapore. In fact, I have not heard of any nation celebrating its National Day with performances by pole dancers.

If skimpy attire and pole dancing are glorified on the national stage, then it negates the values that school teachers try to inculcate in their students. Teachers tell their students that their school uniforms should not be too short. Why should students listen when women can perform in skimpy outfits at the NDP?

Cheah Khuan Yew

78 Responses to “From strip clubs to National Day Parade”

1. Jackson 7 August 2009

Even though polo-dancing is hot, I don’t think it’s suitable for a national event like NDP.

2. ordinary Sgporean 7 August 2009

As long as pole dancers are not FTs, it will be OK. Need Chio Bu like Felicia Chin, Fiona Xie etc to do that.

3. anakin 8 August 2009

How about adding Bar top dancing as well for NDP?

4. NDP is getting weirder and weirder over the years.

5. weird country what 8 August 2009

this is a weird country anyway….i remember my china tenant even bought a flag to celebrate national day last year even though the everyone else in the house couldn’t be bothered.

6. Must be really running out of good ideas 8 August 2009

What next?

Go on National Day Parade totally naked?

That would be good thrills for those ministers who do not watch porn-porn in the Internet. Hahahaha ……………

7. 32) budamax1952

//////// Why we never ever seen males doing pole-dancing huh? /////////

Because they do not need another pole, maybe?

8. #57 /// Because they do not need another pole, maybe? /// ;;; Hi KopitiamApek ;;; You mean males don’t do pole-dancing because they do not need another pole, and females do pole-dancing because they need another pole

9. Mista White Horse 8 August 2009

Wow! I like the idea. If the contingent comprised both gender group, I would be happily parading my naked body too. Must be fun and exciting to march behind naked girls.

10. I am of the opinion that NDP is a mass audience thing, and thus should cater to the taste of th masses. Although it could be quite a daunting task to figure out waht is the “taste of the masses” as this is easier said than done, but erring on the side of caution would be one way.

This pole dance thingy should have been avoided.

This year’s NDP song another example. The song chosen is not quite much of a song for mass consumption and mass singing.

11. And TOC should have been more sensitive to the girls in the pole dance item by choosing a more appropriate title than aping typical western media tabloid style by using sensationalising title like ” From strip clubs to National Day Parade”.

You could have insulted these girls and their families.

12. Vote of Opposition 8 August 2009

We have strippers at certain event in Taiwan:

http://www.weirdasianews.com/2008/03/23/stripper-hired-to-dance-at-funeral/

No offense, just for knowledge.

13. mice is nice 8 August 2009

can write to MDA complain say this pole dancing should be NC16 or M18 rated?

8)

14. suggestion for next year parade : striptease

15. Daniel 9 August 2009

Rubbing the pole with vagina ? Will that cause infertility where Singapore already desperate for more babies or are they finding opportunity for masturbation in public ? LOL.

If those ‘contaminated’ poles get auction in ebay, should make money.

16. PAP hypersex committe 9 August 2009

those pole-dancers shoud wear g-string lor!

17. PAP 4ever 9 August 2009

#40. Agree! She is one kind of MILF and always turned me on. Should include Indranee Rajah too.

Slurrpppp. I am burned with lust!

18. jerminho 9 August 2009

maybe next year got tiger show!!
    WOOTS!

19. jerminho 9 August 2009

can have ping pong 21 gun solute..

20. Oxford Dude 9 August 2009

Hi jerminho,

Where does the pingpong balls shoot from?

Are they all aimed at Lee Bee Wah?

LOL

21. In the end, it’s just a storm over a teacup
    as it appeared on TV for only a few seconds.

22. KopitiamApek:

bad taste is bad taste.

even if it is for a few seconds.

but some few seconds stay in your mind for a longer period of time for the wrong reason: horror.

Imagine a flasher doing his thing in front of you for a few seconds… you probably won’t forget it.

ever.

Especially when it was an ugly flasher.

23. swee swee 10 August 2009

Some NDP Attendees could have proceeded to Gaylang and Joo Chiat to make business at these places better and soon our vice trades will bloom into a core industry.

24. 73) FPC

Ya, you got a point there

25. your next door HDB ah pek 11 August 2009

#73 – which the hookers includes FTs…..arrghhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

26. some ministers or commanders went to thailand lately?

hahaha.

27. reply to #77,
    of course la, its Cobra Gold every year and SAF are participating, remember? Just ask Carissa Seet at cyberpioneer!

28. Aiyoh,so darn immoral.Plain suggestive.I don’t see what it has to do with *national pride* and the sense of belonging to SIngapore,at all.