Monday, August 31, 2009 8:04
Low-skilled, low-wage workers an “economic problem”, says Lim Swee Say
In Quotes • 1,807 views • 61 Comments
If we have workers who continue to be trapped in the low-productivity job, in the low-wage jobs, in the low-skilled jobs, whether the worker is a local worker or a foreign worker, he is still an economic problem because Singapore’s economy in certain sectors will not be sustainable.
61 Comments
blackfeline
I Can Honestly Say . . .
you are a million dollar problem.
Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
translation – low wage workers are lazy. they don’t deserve to be given attention, especially when they are a burden on our resources.
mike
the more i see him spewing nonsense and shits from his mouth, i puke everything i ate.
it so sad and pathetic to have such million paid minister talking rubbish.
leesjuanpat
Limsweesay, don’t talk cock OK and waste your mouth muscles. Go and dine in a top class restuarant. You can afford all the things in this world. What do you have in common with the poor workers local or foreign. Mere lip service. Another yes man of PAP government. Spineless! You empathise with them right, then raise the minimum wage for them and let them live a decent life in Singapore.
Just vote wisely and a better Singapore will slowly take shape again. Do we all
want another 50 years of this shit which we smear on ourselves. No !
All for a better opposition and fair voices in parliament !
What Change?
Just the usual drivel from Mr Soundbite. Why’s this bugger in the papers almost every day?
mars
“If we have workers who continue to be trapped in the low-productivity job, in the low-wage jobs, in the low-skilled jobs, whether the worker is a local worker or a foreign worker, he is still an economic problem because Singapore’s economy in certain sectors will not be sustainable.”
Low productivity is not the exclusive domain of low wage jobs or low skill jobs. Low productivity applies equally throughout wage structure, right up to multi-million salary jobs e.g. CEO’s of loss making companies are unproductivity, ministers of a nation in recession is unproductive.
Conversely, low pay does not equate to low productivity. Rather low pay results in higher productivity. Example, a road sweeper who is paid $1,000 sweeps 1km of road while another road sweeper who is paid $600 also sweeps 1 km of road. Who is more productive? The low wage worker.
Ah Long Kia
In his eyes the low skilled workers are the burden for his job “he is still an economic problem” who this idiot Minister want easy life but want to get mil $$$ pay.
gemami
I would like to see him back up his comments with concrete evidence that Singaporeans are part of the un-productive and lazy workforce.
“… whether the worker is a local worker or a foreign worker, he is still an economic problem..,” : Sway Sway.
Notice how the tune is changing. The subtlety of the PAP – as always.
First they tell you that the foreigners coming to our shores are ‘talented’. They are here to help make Singapore more competitive so that we can continue to prosper. Of course, we take it that all this translate to a better life for the Singaporean. Unfortunately, we never seem to get any closer to where we intended to be.
Next, because we have so many ‘talented’ people in positions that tap on their ‘talents’, we get to see these ‘talented’ bosses, in their bid to increase profit-margins that their ‘talents’ called for, deciding to keep wages low, which generally disqualifies the Singapore worker. . . therefore the lazy, unskilled and low wage foreign worker.
Which means that the door to an influx of lazy, unproductive and unskilled workers becomes suddenly wide open. Instead of blaming the foreigners for such work ethics, the Singaporean now get the brunt of the blame – just because he is out of job, cannot find another job and for simply being over-qualified for the lower end jobs.
This is the problem with the government. When no solution to a major problem is in sight, blame the Singaporean. It’s all too easy. The time has come for all Singaporeans to put a stop to this. How long more must we be the cuckolds to the PAP’s numerous blunders?
First and foremost, the revered LKY must bear the bulk of the blame – he made an entire generation stopped at two – remember? What is the worst that had came out from that policy? That the generations after the first are now stopping at less than two – some do not even want to start to ponder about having even one.
patriot
To: What Change #5;
if i may offer my opinion.
He is being put to the limelight most frequently because he has got a pitiful look which could be used to be looked upon with sympathy or mitigates the angers on MIW. He could be the least important member of the Cabinet and can be made to shoulder all blames and then made a scrificial lamb that carries all the sins with his gone case, absolving his other cabinet members from blames.
He seems to enjoy the limelights, for whatever reason and he got many around him that love the limelight more than him. Watch videos that he appeared/appears and one will not fail to see the limelight lovers.
Anyway, he is in danger of antagonizing the Singaporean Workers with the ceaseless empty rhetorics that he is churning day in day out. There are no substance in his words.
patriot
gemami
“… whether the worker is a local worker or a foreign worker, he is still an economic problem..,” : Sway Sway.
Notice how the tune is changing. The subtlety of the PAP – as always.
First they tell you that the foreigners coming to our shores are ‘talented’. They are here to help make Singapore more competitive so that we can continue to prosper. Of course, we take it that all this translate to a better life for the Singaporean. Unfortunately, we never seem to get any closer to where we intended to be.
Next, because we have so many ‘talented’ people in positions that tap on their ‘talents’, we get to see these ‘talented’ bosses, in their bid to increase profit-margins that their ‘talents’ called for, deciding to keep wages low, which generally disqualifies the Singapore worker. . . therefore the lazy, unskilled and low wage foreign worker.
Which means that the door to an influx of lazy, unproductive and unskilled workers becomes suddenly wide open. Instead of blaming the foreigners for such work ethics, the Singaporean now get the brunt of the blame – just because he is out of job, cannot find another job and for simply being over-qualified for the lower end jobs.
This is the problem with the government. When no solution to a major problem is in sight, blame the Singaporean. It’s all too easy. The time has come for all Singaporeans to put a stop to this. How long more must we be the cuckolds to the PAP’s numerous blunders?
First and foremost, the revered LKY must bear the bulk of the blame – he made an entire generation stopped at two – remember? What is the worst that had came out from that policy? That the generations after the first are now stopping at less than two – some do not even want to start to ponder about having even one.
Moe Gan Thai
This bugger said want to upturn the downturn ? What is the result ?? Empty can makes a lot of noise !!!
Time for Change
In my view, his million dollar salary is a much greater economic problem and social cost for our country.
NATO
I say it’s the same for some ppl who continue to draw mutli million dollars salaries, continue to be unproductive with unpragmmatic measures to stem the climbing jobless rate, continue to influx the country with FTs and undermining the locals with cheap foreign labour force, continue to tax us to death while forsaking the old and destitute, and continue to be an economic problem with stupid propaganda slogans while still enjoying the world’s highest political salaries.
Harrison
Finally, the government has to admit that their past policies which led Singapore to its present state is unsustainable. However, Singaporeans just can’t understand the mass influx of cheap labours into Singapore if LIm Swee Say said:
“If we have workers who continue to be trapped in the LOW-PRODUCTIVITY, in the LOW-WAGE jobs, in the LOW-SKILLED jobs, whether the worker is a local worker or a FOREIGN WORKER, he IS STILL AN ECONOMIC PROBLEM because Singapore’s economy in certain sectors will not be sustainable.”
Is Lim Swee Say shifting the blame on Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong or his predecessor for this self-wounding policy of an open house for foreign workers that affects the average Singaporeans adversely and contributing to Singapore’s economic problems?
It is indeed a sham that Singaporeans are paying so much taxes to have ministers of such calibre. Actually, the problem lies in PAP’s system of bringing in UNELECTED MEN into parliament.
Any doubts that opposition is required in Parliament? Only fools (including the greedy lot) believe totally in NMPs and PAP.
hasta la vista
The implementation of this productivity drive will be interesting.
A number of other countries have put in measures to improve the productivity of their workers/industries in order to stave off competition from countries with lower labour costs.
However, these programmes are strictly restricted to their citizens.
If S’pore’s productivity scheme is also opened up to foreign workers, well, I’m sure they’ll be glad to work harder to earn more – but that will also increase their attractiveness to employers in places like Australia, Europe, US =)
Yamamoto
LSS, first world paid minister…but quality is questionable…
instead of improving quality, they prefer to increase the quantity…
mike
hope we are like the japanese election where ruling screwed up and now the oppostion won it with landslide.
hmm,,i can’t imgaine if we ever have the same impact. a friend of mine said to fme , ‘WHY NOT!’
Trade Unionist
I wonder if Lim Swee Say is talking on behalf of the workers or the employers. By asking the workers to raise their productivity, isn’t it a show that this man represent the bourgeoisie elite to exploit the workers to help them gain more capital in the long run. I wonder why we have NTUC. Might as well abolished it, purge out those not fit to represent the workers and start afresh.
What Change?
Gemani: “LKY must bear the bulk of the blame – he made an entire generation stopped at two – remember?”
The damage to our societal fabric extended beyond that. Because many Singaporeans were disgusted with this policy and the graduate mother scheme, many who were able to emigrated. Soon after, those who had kids who couldn’t cope with the super-high Chinese language requirements left too.
SotongBall
The real economic problem is the issue of why certain sectors in Singapore’s economy is no longer sustainable. The economic problem should not be the worker who is stuck in his low wage job.
Aiyo, how can our Labour Chief treat the workers that he represents as an economic problem? But then again for me, the camel’s back has already been broken so doesnt matter if any more rubbish comes out from them.
Yamamoto
Perhaps the economy is no longer sustainable due to the inability to milk more locals as we have reach the tipping point….and without milking us, alot of *ahem* KPI for pay increment will not be met
mice is nice
people who hoard millions of $$ in their various banks are also an economi problem. :)
mice is nice
langar lorri ministers who’s policy crashed is the root cause of other symtomatic problem…
SotongBall
“If we have workers who continue to be trapped in the low-productivity job, in the low-wage jobs, in the low-skilled jobs, whether the worker is a local worker or a foreign worker, he is still an economic problem”
Is this is a worker who is trapped in the low-productivity low wage job and he is a Foreigner; solve your economic problem by sending him back to his country lah…must let me teach you how to do your job meh?
If he is a Singaporean, he is your brother and countryman. He is not your economic problem. Mr Sway, if you are not part of the solution, you are part of the problem.
ApApA
up-pay the lowly paid
Mui Mui of the Looongi
Instead of offering the problem description,
I expect the Solution, clear and concise.
CJ
what a bloody clown…!
.. expensive dead-weight…. can’t help, no solutions, no ideas, talk kock only…
Since you blah blah blah about upturning the downturn – then show us you can do wonder to economy that are not sustainable by upturning it lor…..
Die-hard Singaporean
The Government is finally acknowledging that its economic policy of relying on cheap imported labour (currently 1 million foreign workers out of a total workforce of 2.9 million) to compete with surrounding third world countries is unsustainable, bankrupt and insane. All it does is to cause the majority of Singaporeans to .become poorer and poorer.
Eventually the majority of Singaporeans living in what is supposedly a first world country will be earning the same money as those in third world countries such as India and China.
The elite will of course be earning more and more, much much much more than their counterparts in wealthy first world countries. They will be able to continue with their French cooking classes and annual skiing trips without a care – until such time of course when the peasants tidak boleh tahan anymore and social problems come to the fore.
When will Goh Chock Tong’s EQ kick in? Never is probably the answer. Anyone who is party to thinking that $500,000 is peanuts has no heart.
When will the Government change direction to avoid the huge ice-berg that is so clearly in front of it? I hope the answer is not never! One lives in hope that those wearing the funny hats will wake up to their folly.
transformer
The PAP must have scrapped right to the bottom of the barrel to come up
with a nuthead like him to be a Minister.
Seriously, I do not know whether to laugh or cry whenever he opens his mouth.
AP
high wage civil servants, union leaders, ministers who cannot resolve problems is a social problem…
irobottoo
1st limsiasuayed mentioned we must be lowly paid in order to be productive and valuedformoney
now he want us to climb higher yet he refused to step aside so that we can replace him
alamk! slapped forehead!
wait wait i changed my mind..KOPITIAMapek where are you? brin your head over i need to slap!
theforgottongeneration
Finally, LSS made an important discovery. He must be the only one in S’pore that doesn’t know the by-now standard drill — it takes 5 FWs to dig a hole — 4 standing around watching 1 with the shovel.
Taking this statement another way, he is actually justifying why our ministers need to be paid high wages; if paid low wages, then they will be seen as an “economic problem” and the garhem will not be sustainable??? Ha, ha..
Yang
As I told all of you, election drawing near. The PAP gov is looking many goodies to hand out to us. Watch out for more as they will made sure they must win because they can sense the unhappyness of the people.
man against the tank
If ever He gets retrenched, he can go upgrade himself to write lines for fortune cookies….
Blaming the people for the economic woes that face the country is in fact characterisitc of a common tactic that the PAP commonly uses on a diverse range of issues. The idea is simply to divert attention away from themselves and cast doubt on the people instead, making them focus on defending themselves rather than question the real rationale behind the government’s actions. With their tight control of the political discourse in the mainstream media, the PAP has an added first-mover advantage.
To name a few examples:
- When it came to the issue of foreign talents, Singaporeans are told that we are getting too lazy and need some competition.
- When Mas Selamat escaped, the attention was diverted towards on the common man who is warned against complacency as if he were guilty of it.
- When people clamour for greater political freedom, they are reminded of their inborn disposition towards making inflammatory remarks.
http://secretpoliticalblog.blogspot.com/2009/08/people-are-problem.html
Rod
The comments on this page proves what I said is true – that all these unhappiness with the government is really all about wanting more money in their own pockets. If you are a Singaporean, you will definitely know what I mean.
By the way, no one in their right minds will want to govern an ungrateful bunch if they weren’t compensated according. Isn’t that the truth.
CJ
Their STUPID FT Policy is another Stop at Two disaster, coming to fruition…
When the hell are they going to learn to LISTEN to the very people who pay them their stratospheric salaries???
gemami
Agree with CY,
Here are some views regards to the FT and FW issue.
Concern : Employing FTs.
The Blame: Because Singaporeans are not smart enough.
Root Cause: The PAP’s birth control policy that has shrunk the population.
Concern : FTs employing FWs.
The Blame: Because Singaporeans are too picky and not competitive enough.
Root Cause: The PAP’s policy in allowing cheap labour to be imported at will.
Concern : FWs cannot integrate with Singaporeans.
The Blame: Because Singaporeans are cold shouldered and unfriendly.
Root Cause: The PAP’s policy did not address the concerns of Singaporeans losing their jobs, livelihood, lifestyle and homes to the foreigners. The policy was shaft down the people’s throat.
Concern : FTs and FWs not performing as expected.
The Blame: Because Singaporeans are unproductive and lazy.
Root Cause: The PAP’s numerous programs on upgrading and re-skilling that are producing too many skilled Singaporeans that do not fit the unskilled job range.
loop
People working in low-skilled jobs are an economic problem to the country? How can a minister say these sort of things? Some ppl are low-skilled not by choice but circumstances, e.g. illiteracy, illness etc.
gemami
How does one really define ‘low-skill’ as opposed to ‘high-skill’?
The flawed notion here is that people who are certified better educated are deemed higher skilled while those that are less educated are low skill – just because they are not certified to be high-skilled. There are high-skilled people who are not able to do things that low-skill people do. It takes people of different skills to do different things.
The low-skill definition is not only derogatory but also disparages against those who have chosen a different path – whether by choice or by circumstance.
Yamamoto
Rod, seeing your post never cease to “impress” me…congrats, you have attracted attention.What a joker, you, yourself, are proving what you say is true…using monetary as justification for the people’s displeasure….you are now using that justification for their extraordinary pay? so you are just like what you say others are…
How about this? a true leader will do it for the people without caring for the pay, just like Obama….while someone who ask for pay increment etc can never be considered as a true leader as money is on their mind first…in a corporate world, the first will be called a leader while the other is just a manager….
Mr Rod, do you think that they can lead without these “ungrateful brunch” support? do you think an organization will succeed without its people? perhaps you have not work in the corporate environment before, but it is said that human resource are the only competitive advantage that others can’t copy….
to end this Mr Rod, if you are the leader in an organization, I am sure either you won’t last or the people will just leave….
irobot
[i]that all these unhappiness with the government is really all about wanting more money in their own pockets.[/i]
indeed well spoken
you just used the correct SENTENCE
the government realLEE realLEE wants to stuff their owned pockets with YOUR blood sweat and tears includin your ORGANS
you mereLEE think you are not include amon the peasants?
than again a DOG is still an animal ain’t you?
why was the GRC formed? you instruct leekuanyew on that?
HaiGong
whether the worker is a local worker or a foreign worker, he is still an economic problem because Singapore’s economy in certain sectors will not be sustainable.
If the FW added problem to our economy, dont bring them here. dont need million $ ppl to understand that.
mice is nice
if our ministars so high skills how can they expect retrenched PMETs to accept their next job to pay so much less?
how come GIC & TH loss so much money?
how come inflation rise faster than salary for most?
how come we as a nation cannot progress together, with no one left behind?
Aki
The biggest con job in the country and in the world by the PAP. IF Singaporeans still can’t see by now, then I really feel sorry for all of you.
Aki
The biggest con job in the country and in the world by the PAP. If Singaporeans still can’t see it by now, then I really feel sorry for all of you.
low-productivity ? what low-productivity
“If we have workers who continue to be trapped in the low-productivity job, in the low-wage jobs, in the low-skilled jobs, whether the worker is a local worker or a foreign worker, he is still an economic problem because Singapore’s economy in certain sectors will not be sustainable.”
Well, every learned person who in the area of economics knows this.
Where you do not have the good advantages of having raw resources (other than human beings) to do value additions in the category of manufacturing and production of goods (e.g not services) and where your land resources (physical space for business operation and even living) are creeping upward due to “good marketing”, it is not too difficulty how the equation is going to break someday for some poor souls (not because they do not want to work and that they are not hard working).
Now, how does ‘low-productivity’ (do not even need to talk about low-wage) come into the picture when this financial crisis clearly shows that global capacity is way above real demand (not speculative / hyped up demand made easy due to borrowings not backed up by real earning power). Unless our dear friend refers ‘low-productivity’ in some other context not in the strict sense about manufacturing of goods as we understand.
rwkc
To Lim Swee Say,
Presumably you regard yourself as someone in the high-productivity bracket?
Can you please clarify, and give examples, what do you mean by [a] a high-productivity job and [b] a low-productivity job?
Can you tell us some facts about your job achievements as a minister for the passed, say, three years?
And do you regard yourself as grossly, obscenely overpaid? Please give us reasons, whether your answer is positive or negative.
Sage
The donkey spits again.
What he says is like a mother who adopts another kid just cos her own is not getting distinctions – just As only to realise that the bugger only knows how to eat, shit and leave.
Maybe we shld import some foreigners to act as our ministers as well – just so to increase productivity, competiveness and get them to use their brains more than just sit ard shake legs and spew nonsense….
Sage
but of cos that may also mean that they will start encouraging us to put our parents and eventually ourselves in retirement homes along the johor straits…
theforgottongeneration
@51) Sage on September 1st, 2009 11.35 pm
“….Maybe we shld import some foreigners to act as our ministers as well – just so to increase productivity, competiveness and get them to use their brains more than just sit ard shake legs and spew nonsense….”
Yah lor, then we can also pay them peanuts … better than nothing. But make sure these “imported” ministers knows how to articulate with their hands in a natural manner when giving public speeches.
kee
He is wrong. Workers can never be an economic problem.
That’s because labour is highly mobile. In any economy, developed or otherwise,
there will always be the lowly paid, low-skilled jobs when cost of doing business is a factor otherwise who’s going to clear your rubbish and shit, farm the food we eat, make the cheapest clothes and shoes we wear.etc?
Its’ wrong government policies or the failure of them thats the problem.
Besides LSS is head the NTUC, whose interests is he speaking for?
For once can he wear the role that he is paid.
prettyplace
# Rod….
Yes, people do want to ask for more, so what is wrong with that…
when there are idiots pulling in millions …why can’t an average Singaporean ask for a decent salary to sustain the family comfortably.
We should have minimum wage….both for locals and foreigners.
Then, if it is not enough for the Singaporeans family, the govt should provide additional support, like tuition for the kids, transport and also for food, if the family needs.
I would vote in the opposition for such policies, just like the JAPs.
The ministers should realise that as long as a Singaporean goes to work….willing to break his/her back …then the govt should help them in all ways.
Anyways this is for Lim Swee Sauy….look ….what you said is utter rubbish….because we will always need a toilet cleaner….only a person can do it…unless in the year 2100 perhaps a robot. So what economic talk are you giving.
PLS MAKE SENSE, when you say something.
Poon
Low-productivity job and/or low-wage job and/or low-skilled job, if held by foreigner, tell me: where got problem? It is problem only if held by Sporeans. Foreigners come and go but Sporeans are here to stay.
Similarly, high productivity/high pay/high skilled jobs should be held by Sporeans. We are here to stay but the foreigners are here to milk. So why is it that I see so many foreigners in the workplace? In jobs that do not require specialist skills? In jobs that can be easily filled by Sporeans?
Is this a classic example of what army boys may called “talk c*#k?”
AP
when lss was the minister for the environment he was doing all right (in my opinion)…he introduced recycling, clean toilet hygenic at the food centers, coffee shops, etc…but as a union leader, i find him a big flop….
Alright, great examples to use for my evaluation (criticism) of the effectiveness of Singapore’s solutions to the problems of globalisation for my A lvls economics exam tomorrow. :P
siow
MP = My Pocketmoney.
We slog and slog. They get all the credit like what happen to SAF.
Now Mr Teo has bragged so much about SAF that he do not know that lots of us r so pissed by IT>
Mic O Mic
I think about the old grandpas and grandmas working in Changi Airport, food courts and hawkers. And wonder about the garbage that is spilling out of Lim Swee Say’s mouth.
First he says “Faster better cheaper”, now call them an economic problem.
His parents may be wallowing in his millions while he whips your old folks to work at low paying jobs that requires high physical effort, and the greatest public humiliation.
Under the PAP, Singapore is not a welfare state, it’s just a disgraceful state.
nonsense
Rod Sep 1, 2009 2:35 = LSS’s mother-in-law = Spew better faster cheaper nonsense = normal

if we continue to have stupid Ministas like him…we are doomed for sure!