From Rachel Zeng’s blog:
We gathered at Speakers’ Corner today to commemorate our nation’s 44 years of independence.
Each of us gave a personal speech reflecting on ourselves, on the government and the country, based on the words of the national pledge.
Although we had only a small crowd, I personally felt very motivated nevertheless and I really appreciate their attendance. It was also nice to see a few new faces coming along to hear us speak and to see what we were up to.
As I have never really been a good public speaker, I was of course highly nervous. It was a good experience however and I hope that if given a chance next time, I will be able to keep my eyes rooted from my piece of paper… shy lah!
Read her full account here.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

same group as before
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/remembering-the-22/
Mr Seelan Palay, Ms Rachel Zeng, Mr Mohd Shafie, Mr Chong Kai Xiong and Mr Mohd Khalis
//////Although we had only a small crowd, /////
reason could be the majority of Singaporeans prefer to do it at the NDP.
just want to say good work and please keep it up!
singapore’s national day (it’s not pap’s national day hor)has become brighter because of selfless people like you.
Great job! At least these young people need no prompting to recite National Pledge on 9 Aug 8:22pm.
Singapore still has a future if more people are like you.
Alas, I am too old to be PM by GCT’s reckoning. (lol)
Good, keep it up.
Keep up the good work.
Goondu’s like Kopitiam just don’t know what they want.
Perhaps when his HDB flat gets taken away or his cpf is lost or his kids don’t get a job, then he will start rooting for the opposition and start being coherent. This is how some are and will be,
Nevertheless, A Happy National Day to one and all Singaporeans, I liked and enjoyed the parade very much this year, especially the pledge part…really meaningful.
prettyplace: by the time Kopitiam realises that, is too late liao. helpless and beyond hope,, but too late.
I was watching the NDP parade as a pastime, cos my nieces n nephews want to watch. Everyyear, one kind of expect the same routine, boring. Then when national anthem is being sung, my nieces, nephews spontantenously got up and sang, reminds me what i did from young days to national services…… then i stop singing. Wonder why? Have i lost loyalty to my beloved country?
I then ask my nieces, nephews what the meaning of Majullah Singapura,our national anthem. They look at me blank, as if I know the meaning. I don’t know at all after sung for so many years. I thought the young ones today would know the full meaning, sad to say, they are doing the same like me, singing with gusto without knowing the meaning of our national anthem. Okay maybe I cannot be bother to find out the true meaning, my fault. I ponder how many Singaporeans know the full meaning.
sadly, most singaporean are ignorant and simply bo-chap about the politic in SG, as to them, it is something not important or something they can definitely live without. It does not really matter who are top there, be it LKY or CSJ, as long as they have enough $ to spend or support their family.
CCTVs all over, how to speak up?!
CCTV is the evidence that the government ‘typical 口是心非
why don’t they install CCTV at Botanical Garden ?
Why should CCTVs stop anyone from speaking up? They installed those CCTVs most probably due to their insecurities, why should anyone be deterred from speaking up by the sight of those damn things?
Hehee if anyone is so afraid of CCTVs, maybe they should just stay at home because CCTVs are everywhere, from along the roads, in the buses and MRTS etc. :p
Regardless of our difference in political stand, it is good to see that we stand united as one.
Well Done Rachel!
I support your taking the initiative.
Most singaporeans could not do what you did.
if you dare to speak up, the CCTV shouldn’t bother you.
Unless otherwise.