Probably the only taxi driver in this world with a PhD from Stanford and a proven track record of scientific accomplishments, I have been forced out of my research job at the height of my scientific career, and unable to find another one, for reasons I can only describe as something “uniquely Singapore”. As a result, I am driving taxi to make a living…

Taxidiary

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

21 Responses to “PhD taxi driver”

1. blackfeline 19 August 2009

is this a mockery of our system? A foreign talent (courted by A*star)…given citizenship…and in the end..driving a cab?

2. theonlinecitizen 19 August 2009

Lim Swee Say will say that he is at least “gainfully employed” – like what he said about elderly people sweeping floors, tending toilets, picking cardboards and tin cans, or selling tissue paper.

3. Dr Cai has a choice from now on, there are many job offer. Look at his blog.

4. Gummy Bear 19 August 2009

On paper, Technically, Dr Cai is an EMPLOYED citizen.

Some say, he should not complain as others have no job are worse off.

Some say, he could have found work overseas. Did he tried?

Some say, no one owes you a living.

Some say, no free lunch.

Some say, if economy is well, jobs will be plenty to choose from and high paying.

Some say this recession is a U-shape and others say it will be worse, an L shape.

Dr Cai’s situation teaches us somethings:

1. being employed does not mean getting back the same kind of job u used to occupy nor same kind of pay or lifestyle.

2. a Dr after losing job can work as $900 a month temporary job and still considered EMPLOYED as in no longer part of unemployment statistic.

3. Being employed does not mean can afford a living.

I wonder how many realise this?
    People we must think deeper!

5. Poor Undergrad 19 August 2009

Its bizzare how he got into this predicament…..

6. DrizztNeo 19 August 2009

Its not bizzare at all the poltics at Astar is the same as everywhere. Not many people can or want to play the politics game as well as some of the big shot FT or scholars.

7. He stupid lah, maybe no EQ 19 August 2009

This FT turned citizen must have done something really stupid in his A-Star career or whatever to end up like this.

But I think he is a minority lah, most will achieve their dreams, if not in A-Star, then maybe even better in some Western universities, using A-star or whatever as stepping stone. It has happened and will continue to happen.

8. Citizenship to Nowhere 19 August 2009

Dear Dr Chai

I do sympathize with your present predicament from being an academician to an “Ah Beng” taxi driver all because someone high up there played you out..

What you have experienced should be a learned warning to other foreign talents who are dying to become the Citizens of Singapore without knowing the dire consequences for themselves and their future generations.

Then you were a foreign talent rigorously courted by our government to fill our defunct local talents. Now after becoming a Citizen of Singapore you have realized you are just like one of us.

While there is no point looking back at past mistakes, you will always be haunted by the fact that you would have been much better off being a foreign talent.

Yours sincerely

Singaporean Foreign Talent
    Working in Singapore But staying Overseas

9. ex-elites vs non-elites 19 August 2009

Wow…..we invite stanford phd FT to become citizen and let them end up as taxi driver…..next time will we have road sweepers and cleaners from cambridge or harvard?

man life is getting tougher for us non-elite citizens……

10. creducator 20 August 2009

Who is Dr Cai? Why is he displaced? Read http://sgblogs.com/entry/mingjie/357853 for the answers

11. macam macam 20 August 2009

meritocracy!

12. cool bananas 22 August 2009

Shame shame shame… on you, not the taxi driver but Singapore. How on earth can this happened to a “A” STAR ? maybe, he can swop job with LIM SWEE SAY for a month for a change.

13. OriginalResonance 27 August 2009

Another Bill Gates-like inspiration to all school children in the world. :D

14. This is life, be prepared.

15. It is incredible that Dr. Cai could not get a job that is more related to his work.  Some of his blog readers have suggested that he can teach or perhaps become self-employed as a tutor. 
    Students will come a-flocking to his tuition centre.

Perhaps Dr. Cai wants to attract publicity to his taxi-driving.  If this is the case, he has succeeded, and I also applaud him for his talent in writing.

Dr. Cai’s case makes me feel sad.  For when I compare him with the likes of the late Ng Teng Fong and Dr. Dennis Wee, who have made the most of the little  education that they have, it would make Dr. Cai appear that he has made  the least of the most that he has!  It is important that one has to be resourceful to make the most of a setback.

Some of the property agents who were retrenched have picked themselves up, and though they were secretaries and nurses, have today become very successful millionaires.  Their retrenchment has turned out to be a blessing in disguise.

Please do not get me wrong. 

I do not look upon taxi-driving with disdain, for as my late papa had always said, “Whatever is worth doing, is worth doing well and with dignity.”    I am full of respect for all taxi drivers for my life and well being depend on their skilful and safe driving.  What I am most concerned is what goes on in his mind as Dr. Cai goes around the city with the mundane and perfunctory task of taxi driving.  I hope that Dr. Cai’s driving a taxi is only a temporary solution, for it is vital that he keeps himself updated and analytical, for the brain cells in all of us will gradually distintegrate if we do not use them for what we have been endowed with.  Then when an opportunity presents itself,  Dr. Cai  will be able to go back to the work that he has been trained in and to continue his scientific  research for the greater benefit of  mankind.

16. iamagreedypig 2 April 2010

last week another kaki of moi just become the latest mobile news crier…taxi! taxi!

17. spirited-centred 2 April 2010

Everyone has their ups and downs. Just take it as polishing of your souls  for better time to come.

18. David 2 April 2010

Something is very wrong in PAP leadership.  I am sure there are many hidden examples of Dr Chai out there, all still hunting for that ideal rice bowl but forced to the sideline due to influx of foreigners who came here swiftly by plane, squeeze us dry, and than leave easy too.   Sometime, I felt our systems are totally haywired, too many things simply gone wrong and all seems to appear in sudden under LHL leadership.

19. tiredsingaporean 2 April 2010

Something is very wrong in PAP leadership.
    Looks more like they are trying to swallow as much billions as possible before their party collapse, which will not be too long from now.

20. damagedDNAs 2 April 2010

ganchau
    Apr 2, 2010 11:26 
     Dr. Cai  will be able to go back to the work that he has been trained in and to continue his scientific  research for the greater benefit of  mankind.

what you don’t SEE is a bigger picture..do you?..do you thin dr cai do not want his professorship cushy job?
    its goes liked this…1st get me a kopi C please while i light up my sherlock home’s pipe wearin a pyjamas sittin in my armchair by the fan (sorry singapoor too hot..no fireplace)…
    lets assumed that dr cai worked for the so many overseas universities here whether bras basah road or cambridge market…
    you know i know 1 by 1 its toppled and closed down..even leekuanyew’s favourite joint..you know the frenchie bartop dancers’ pub also closed down…
    why did it closed down? owners runaway mey? noped your friends the pap overpaid overfed ministers start chargin here and there extras expenses without even checkin it there a needs for increased charges @ all…asked the former lta minister to start his owned buiness lark..see how fare can he fared without gettin bankrupt…
    yeah yah we all know limsiasuayed infamous sentence..retrainnin……
    talk is easy if you are liked leekuanyew…i know a few of leekuanyews’ former classmates.. today they are cardboard/tin cans recyclers..some even promote themselves to jumbuan engineers…
    so lets be practical…be reliastic…pennies don’t dropped from Heaven….

21. nonsense 2 April 2010

Pretty clear Dr Cai must have had “offended” someone powderful.