Sunday, August 16, 2009 18:09
We have built a house but not a home, says Reform Party
In K Jeyaretnam, Main Stories, Our Columnists, Top Story • 3,487 views • 103 Comments
The following is the transcript of the National Day Rally Speech of The Reform Party. It was delivered by its party’s secretary general, Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam, at Speakers’ Corner on the 10sup> of August. Vote for the best National Day message 2009 at the polls section of TOC.
Fellow Singaporeans,
It is now 44 years since independence and in that time we have achieved much. We all know that Singapore as a whole is today much richer than it was in 1965. But we also know that Singapore is a far poorer nation in terms of loss of freedoms and lack of opportunities and erosion of human rights.
The Reform Party would like to begin today by focusing on the words of our Nation’s pledge. Like every Singaporean, I recited this every day in primary school, some forty years ago now, followed by the singing of the National Anthem. How far does today’s reality correspond with the words of the pledge?
We pledge to build a democratic society. And truly in these last 44 years we have built….. and built and built. And what we have gained is an infrastructure, an edifice, a corporate head quarters. We have built the house but not the home. And as for a democratic society? From where we stand today this pledge is honoured more in the breach than the observance.
103 Comments
blackfeline
RP, form an alliance with SDP; this will attract tens of thousands of good people to the opposition camp. Malaysia has a solid opposition which is also an alliance of a few parties. I don’t see why this cannot be worked-out here too; if there is a will, there is a way.
Shirley
If the above is what the Reform Party stands for, I’d have no second thoughts about casting my vote to them.
Well said!!!
Just in case someone is asking where are we going to get the funds???
……… well we have accumulated a lot over the past 44 years (less what was recently lost). It’s time to use them to change for the better, to create the next S Curve, to build a HOME, rather than continuing to lose another S$100 billion to poor investments.
Can you imagine, what S$100billion can do for the well being of the average Singaporean ??? Just a fraction of it would be enough to fund the initiatives outlined in the article.
The logo looks like a sea mine
FPC
To KopitiamApek:
… but the substances is better than the lightening bolt…
It actually resembles the sun more and we surely need some human warmth in Singapore.
ZL
If that’s a sea mine, it’s definitely for MIWs, not to Singaporeans and our nation.
enlighten the minds
Logo looks like some powerful sun that brings light to those living in darkness under the PAPies………also
looks like a powerful object that dissipates harmful energy from lightning strike.
DrizztNeo
Do not join SDP. The approach outlined by the reform party is better than the confrontational mode by the sdp which does not accomplish anything in present day singapore. A new start can bring new voices and progress. For the next election, they have a great opporuntiy to capture the vote of the young middle class voters who have been the most affected in the past few years. Issues like overpriced HDB, stagnant and falling salaries for many of the professionals, rising living costs and overcrowding in public transport have to be addressed
dove
i would definitely know who to cast my vote for, but sadly i live in a walkover ward. this should be done away with so it gives us residents in my estate, the majority of whom are very unhappy with the current situation in this country, and who were once PAP supporters, a chance to vote for the changes.
keep it up, mr kenneth jeyaratnam..
our house, our home
Well said Kenneth !
Agree the collective efforts of citizens have built a house, but it is the bloody famiLEE and their stooges who act as though the rest are living in their house !
Beng
“Restrictions on companies bringing in foreign workers to undercut the pay and conditions of the existing Singaporean workforce.”
THANKS! I support any measure to reduce foreigners in my country.
You have my support.
amy
Its a very good speech my Kenneth, I agree with most if not all of his proposals. Singapore needs all the alternative parties it can muster, including SDP. I hear many people are somehow against SDP, however I believe these people have been influenced by papaya propaganda which always put SDP in a very bad light. Though I do not entirely agree with some of the methods employed by SDP, however I believe they are doing real opposition work, nothing wrong, it only appears very wrong in the eyes of papaya because they cannot stand any strong criticism or opposition.
Given the strength of Kenneth and his party, I am afraid that sooner or later they will be subjected to similar kind of papaya attack as SDP.
Daniel
“The logo looks like a sea mine”
It is designed for PAppies to step on it. haha…
Daniel
The logo looks like a red-hot sun. Will that contribute to global warming ? haha
What is the inspiration behind the logo and what it stands for ? The sun is mightier than bolt and lightning of the PAP logo.
koyomin
sorry, my vote always goes to the party with the track record. the party that ensures the economic progression that brings food to my table and shelter over my head.
don’t want to gamble my future with any other “lets-come-together-and-form-a-political-party” group.
i have seen the RP forum. none of them can make it. unless there is a team of kenneth jeyaratnam (better or equivalent).
just like we all want the best for our children, i dun think we should settle for 2nd best when we choose our leaders.
get real! do you want odd-job workers, taxi-drivers, construction workers as leaders?
i am not discriminating against our blue-collar workers who contribute to the society but where i am coming from is : if you choose leaders from people who barely make it in life, who sometimes can’t pay their water bills, do you think their primary focus will be for the greater good of the country or to feed their wife & children first?
koyomin
who will succumb more to greed leading to corruption?
someone who has succeeded in life financially and in career and family?
or someone who has debts upon debts, water bills, electric bills, phone bills all unpaid, credit cards bills revolving and somehow he is struggling to find the next break? and here you give him some money some power as a leader, you think he will stay un-wavered?
i don’t think so.
Go to The Root
Dear KJ,
appreciate your articles.
But please focus directly on the Youths and Mentality of People.
I see its a all about the People’s mindset and not so much the executioner.
tiredsingaporean
Very good indeed Mr Kenneth, do your very best of ability and your daddy would be very proud of you up there. We can count on you and make it a history to singapore for once, we are all very very tired and helpless under those MIW, its time to clean the nation up once and for all.
prettyplace
“Cast off the slumber into which you have been led for the last 10 years. Wake up to your rights as a human being, to your proper role as citizens of this country.”
These words ….mean so much and yet most people like KopiTiam Apek refuse to see it….they are warped, warped with a wonderful pay packet …and in fact I think perhaps he might not even be an Apek…but just a mole…a paid foolish mole
What people like him are doing is not the question….because they are bought over many times…
What most ordinary Singaporeans must is to is heed to JBJ’s words….wake up…or wake up to a Singapore which won’t be Singaporean anymore…but just a bunch of foriegners…..
we will be so diluted if we keep going that we will forget who we are….
Is that what we want for our kids,,,,,and ourselves…..not knowing where and how the time just flew by…
Wapiang
The ideas sound great.
What will RP be doing to achieve them?
Muhamad Nur
The opposition parties should merge (especially Reform party and SDP) since they have many common agreements. I foresee they will be formidable foes to the PAP. These two parties have so many great minds in their leadership. The promised one has return and we shall overcome the adversity.
Rule Singapore With Both Heads & Hearts
#16) #17)koyomin
Choosing leaders with good backgrounds is important. But more importantly, we must choose leaders with selfless hearts.
You must have been one of those greatly benefited from the PAP policies. Well nothing’s wrong with that, but please do remember, you and these blessed ones do not represent the majority of Singaporeans and sad to say, probably failed to see the long term effect of some policies as you guys are living in the comfort zones.
PAP policies are full of HEADS but lack of HEARTS.
FYI, rich people can still be bribed and involved in corruptions.
Eric
Great speech, Mr. Jeyaretnam.
I want to push the argument further.
We have not even build a house. Rather what we build is a hotel, a place more suitable for temporary respite than permanent rest; a business that is run tightly by a select few that seek less to empower and enrich those under their charge, but more to remain in power and to retain riches within themselves.
This will continue when values such as profitability and efficiency have become ends in themselves, but not means to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress, not so much for the nation, which is a constructed idea, but for its people, who are anchored squarely in this land we live.
Sincerely,
Eric
Ask party goers
Youths and young adults in their 20’s – our future.
KJ, your effort can only be fruitful IF these can be reached.
How many know you and your message?
With due respect, of course.
Many, but not the majority, I can only suspect.
That is all that matters.
A new holiday can certainly help.
mon
to Rule Singapore With Both Heads & Hearts:
There is no head to PAP policies.
IT is setting up time bombs for us to clear the mess when the old man goes to hell.
The old man got more than he deserves in honour when he is alive. He will have to pay for shit when he is dead.
FPC
The sun is to provide warmth and encourage photosynthesis and to outshine the lighting bolt, which only serves to slap people with indirect taxes.
with regards to race and religion
one speech by KJ is equivalent to all the speeches made by PAP folks the whole year round…
yet why wont singaporeans vote for KJ or didnt vote for JBJ into parliament after Anson?
elections in singapore are a race vote. just like how it had been in malaysia till last election. Only those who appeal to the chinese majority will win… thats how PAP came into power… and thats how they remain in power. LKT reaches out to the chinese majority and thats why he has won hougang and thats how he remains there as a MP.
if singaporean chinese majority are not prepared for a non-Chinese Prime Minister, why does it make one think they are prepared for a non-Chinese MP? even in the GRCs where there is one non-Chinese MP, the anchor MP is always Chinese.
the day Singapore breaks free from this will be the day change and reform will be possible.
neutral
28),
i suspect we will be a chinese predominant nation for a long time to come. it will have to take an exceptional minority leader to take over the helm.
he sounds like an opportunistic politician or….some kid who lives off parent’s wealth
leesjuanpat
Well laid out speech. Will be a great platform for the election manifesto.
Many issues are covered, but unfortunately, nothing is said of the obscene
high pay the PAP government are legally corrupting themselve !!
Kenneth, do make a strong stand on the high salary issue. When RP is voted into
parliament, How would you look into the highest salary issue on the ministers.
This issue is certainly of national interest. We do not want to have another government who writes its own paycheck like what old man Lee is doing for himself and his cronies.When the national average wage level for the poor is pittance.
Show us what your father JBJ stood for and you now. I will definitely vote for you !!
mon
to koyomin :
PAP doesn’t put food on your table.
You put food on your table. You have to work in S’pore.
In fact, your labor contribute to their wealth as they will then be able to drive the gdp higher and take extra bonus.
I don’t know what you do for a living…
lobo76
16) koyomin on August 16th, 2009 9.46 pm
sorry, my vote always goes to the party with the track record.
The track record was created by people who WERE in the party. The type of people in the party seem to have changed.. for the worse.
The people who created the track record didn’t need walkover elections, carried in by heavy weight ministers, They didn’t require million dollar salaries. They become ministers simply because they wanted to do something for Singapore.
get real! do you want odd-job workers, taxi-drivers, construction workers as leaders?
Frankly, I would welcome a few of them. They understand much better of what is happening on the ground because they experienced it everyday. This is the perspective they can give/contribute. The people who are in the party now (not those who created the track record) seemed locked in their ivory towers.
Of course, if you can get those people in the party to take bus/mrt everyday (the flaws of public transport), shop for themselves (the price increases of everyday stuff) and so on… that might work too.
Min
Mon, u can be a cleaner
Min
$$$Many issues are covered, but unfortunately, nothing is said of the obscene
high pay the PAP government are legally corrupting themselve !$$$
Yes, i agree. Cut all supergrade supercushy civil servant pay also
patriot
There was a comment made in TOC by a poster that someone with a PhD Qualification was or is driving taxi. Anyone wants this to happen to his family member ?
patriot
loop
I am currently doing contract work for NTUC Income. The server was down since morning & serivce is still not available yet. This is how incompetent the Singapore govt is.
BinGo
Good speech! For once, I hear what an opposition stands for.
Kyomin,
“sorry, my vote always goes to the party with the track record. the party that ensures the economic progression that brings food to my table and shelter over my head.”
Unless you work for the PAP, you cannot say that they bring food to your table and shelter over your head. Last i check, I bring food to my family’s table and shelter over their head less the tax (GST, income, corporate, ERP, road, TV, radio, property) that gave my “servants” or better called my rulers food to their table and many roofs over their head and 5 weeks cooking courses.
Ang Gu Lin
“37) BinGo on August 17th, 2009 10.45 am Good speech! For once, I hear what an opposition stands for.
”
But what is the effect ?
How many youths and citizens is reached?
Many read this.
The fact remains, majority are not aware of social-political issues like even marital rape and its legality or illegality.
Do they get to read articles like this in the MSM? I am not sure. I do not buy the news to read – too expensive.
20) prettyplace
Huh?
You are preempting my would-be comments?
I believe I have yet to post anything.
6) FPC on August
///////////
It actually resembles the sun more and we surely need some human warmth in Singapore.
//////////////
Thanks for explaining what the logo means.
Good aspects of the sun:
Sun is life, for without sun there is no life.
Sun is light, for without sun, all will be darkness
Sun is warmth, for without sun, life will be cold
Not-So-Good aspects of the sun:
Sun is UV radiation, cancer, global warming, melting icecaps, failed crops, starvation, forest fires…….
Sun is damn weather in SG
Ahgong
To be honest, we don’t see any potential solid and charismatic opposition emerging. So, i do hope that this KJ can be one rising star. At least learn from his father.
Yang
Well written but you must have the guts to fight in the House as the PAP guys will shoot you down. Don’t learn from WP Low as he is too comfort with his existing role. Dare not to rebuke the PM during Mak Salment issue. Mr. Low is too weak. He will be out if he continue to take on this kind of way.
By the way Kenneth, if your dad around in the house. I think Wong KS will be force to step. Do justice for yourself and for the country. I will ask my potenial guy to join your party. Good Luck.
Moe Gan Thai
RP is a new party, so I think it should do more walkabout in heartlands so that many will know your party. It is an uphill task against PAP, of course we hope KJ will be the next opposition leader in parliaemnt.
enlighten the minds
Get this right, global warming is caused by human activities, inturn caused ice caps to melt prematurely, caused drastic changes to weather patterns, inturn caused drastic changes to rainfall patterns, inturn screw up farmers’ crops.
And starvation is caused by rich pigs with no empathy to share, and 90% of forest fires are man made……..reasonable to blame rich pigs who own most of the lands and rich pigs who failed to help and educate poor farmers.
Agree it is damn hot in Spore but don’t blame the sun……. can be solved if we have more trees instead of more FTs…….
koyomin
i am able to work and bring food to the table becos the govt provides this conducive environment for all to work and earn money.
i am just like all of you, a salary man.
the security of the neighbourhood ensures i am not killed even before i reach home. the money in my bank acct is intact. my children come home from school safely.
yes, we earn the money to buy the food, not the PAP feeding us, this i agree 100%. but if the govt is weak and there is civil unrest and riots, do you think you still got jobs to work in? do you think you can walk home safely to your family?
i think we will all be killing each other for that packet of sugar or rice. the surviving ones can drink from the puddle of dirty water or eat from the rubbish dumps.
Dumb and dumber
To 45) koyomin
“i am able to work and bring food to the table becos the govt provides this conducive environment for all to work and earn money.”
What government doesn’t? Burma doesn’t? N. Korea doesn’t?
At least in private residential estates, an apartment can NEVER be a home when 80% (by share value and strata title area) of your neighbours could sell the roof over your head against your wishes!
Singapore’s en bloc laws cannot stand up to scrutiny when compared to (A) South Korea’s Hapdong en bloc redevelopment mandating 1-for-1 exchange and (B) Hongkong’s sustainable redevelopment based on 40-50 years’ minimum age before en bloc redevelopment could even be mooted.
When an existing owner-occupier faces the prospect of “twice the price, half the size, quarter the value” in en bloc aftermath and the land value is unlocked for corporate developers, how does PM Lee expect us “to live together peacefully and harmoniously”? Get real, man!
The Pariah, http://www.singaporeenbloc.blogspot.com
koyomin
Will you trade your place in Singapore with someone in Burma or N.Korea? People are queuing to come here.
Do you know the poor in many countries would rather be a poor here in Singapore?
Don’t take the peace, stability and prosperity we enjoy here for granted. Our forefathers fought alongside our Leaders to make it happen for Singapore, and to give people like all of us here an education.
Now that one is educated, not only does one not want to contribute back to society and still want to bite the hand that feeds him. tsk tsk tsk…
“Drink water remember the source”
Donaldson Tan
Hi Kyomin #47,
FYI. Singapore was never poor under the British although the wealth was concentrated within European residents then. When you say “Drink water remember the source”, may I know which source are you referring to?
Dumb and dumber
To 47) koyomin
“Will you trade your place in Singapore with someone in Burma or N.Korea? People are queuing to come here.”
You evaded my question totally…. LOL.
Anyway, for argument sake, for apple to apple comparison, why don’t the government enforce the rule that FT/FW have to serve 2 years NS; then we can talk about how many people are queuing to come here.
koyomin
Ah, finally we have a common ground. :)
“FT/FW have to serve 2 years NS”
I put up legs and hands to agree on this!
koyomin
Of cos remember the source that give you the water lah, DUH!
Donaldson Tan
Hi koyomin,
If you are actually talking about water, the source is Johore Bahru. If you are actually talking about Singapore’s continued economic success, the source is Singapore itself. It is a fallacy to assume any Government can control the economy and thus a greater fallacy to attribute economic success to the Government of the Day.
Ahgong
Just my personal opinion, the design of the logo ( the sun) seems fine but kinda of ordinary. The color of sun looks to me unnatural, especially the white patch in the middle of the sun.
48) koyomin on August 17th, 2009 3.31 pm Will you trade your place in Singapore with someone in Burma or N.Korea? People are queuing to come here.
Do you know the poor in many countries would rather be a poor here in Singapore?
Koyomin, I think you misunderstood the whole issue, they never want to replace PAP, these people just want their voices to be heard and also there should be check and balance in govt. Replacing PAP is an impossible task.
Rex
Hi TOC, I notice that after this you put up a poll for which party’s National Day message is the most impressive.. but it becomes slanted because I don’t see any of the other parties’ messages other than RP featured on TOC now that the poll is active.. Unless you can still feature the WP, SDP and NSP messages here..
koyomin
Daisy, note your point. Thanks.
There are many avenues where they can step forward and have their voices heard. IMO this govt has really really relax on the red tape and yes, VOICES can be heard.
What irks me is pple making the noise on virtual sites but when we call them to step forward to say their piece, there is a strange silence.
And it is thru avenues like these that i can engage ppl (and sometimes iritate them) to hear their side of the story and their concerns.
very pissed!
43 moe gan thai 17 august 1.26pm…u r right, reform party should do more walkabouts in the heartlands, even in the walkover wards, if that is possible. i don’t understand this thing about walkover wards and such, but i feel very aggrieved that i m not able to vote for another party. will someone explain to me what is a walkover ward…i mean, is it cos no oppo party contests, that’s why it’s a walkover?
mon
To KopitiamApek
Yeah… wait till you don’t have the sun in Singapore, I don’t know where else you can hide.
to Min :
Yeah… I can be a cleaner but I know a lot more to do more good to society than a cleaner.
Maybe when I make enough I will do that for free like Forest gump.
To neutral :
The only kid who live off his parents’ wealth in Politics is LHL.
JBJ lost his wealth.
Don’t know what his sons had to live for.
59) mon
your are reading too much into what I did not write : )
55) Daisy
48) koyomin
as I have posted before, having 20 of them would be a good number.
lobo76
45) koyomin on August 17th, 2009 1.42 pm
but if the govt is weak …
but it IS weak. That is why it constantly fiddles with GRC boundaries and sues opposition until they bankrupt. If they were ’strong’, why would they need to resort to such methods? They would just beat the opposition flat during the GE itself.
FPC
to koyomin :
Instead of blaming the people for not having courage and stepping forward, you ask your million dollar ministers to stop using GRC and upgrading tactics and come clean for a one on one election.
They have so much money and so little to lose, and am so confident of the good they do, why don’t they do that?
If the GRC is so good, and protected the new MPs, why can’t they still find their future PM from this batch of people.
Talking about guts. Tell your ministers to show some first.
FPC
To KopitiamApek :
I don’t think anyone doubt your tendencies.
The Sun was there all along even before there was global warming…
Misappropriating the goodness/contributions of others to promote oneself is the landmark of this govt.
Why should the opposition be limited to 20?
How are you going to get rid of those non performing PAP people?
How come you are so sure the opposition do not have good people?
kaao chinuis
I am glad to read KJ’s articles.
I feel you have one of the strongest potentials to be one of our leaders beit working for this party or that.
I hope you get people’s support.
And when you do, please heed the following words of wise from one of our leader:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B36xbbE-MyA&feature=related
watch 6:59 min to 7:35 min
Go into Politics to help the nation and its people and these should always come 1st.
Anything else, should be secondary.
juz my humbliness.
Exposer
“Will you trade your place in Singapore with someone in Burma or N.Korea? People are queuing to come here.”
Last time I remember we ask a AngMoh to become citizen here because he praises and appreciates Singapore, a foreign country, and criticize Canada, his home country. However in this case, no one here praise and appreciate Burma and North Korea for their dictatorship and oppression. So wonder why you ask such question. I thought Singapore should be compared to country of Swiss standard or unless Woody has made some honest mistakes about Swiss standard of living ?
“Do you know the poor in many countries would rather be a poor here in Singapore?”
Same, same. “Do you know the the gahmen in many countries would rather be corrupted here in Singapore?”. Chen Shui Bian has himself to blame to be a Taiwanese. Just imagine if Chen is born to PM Lee. Wow… Whole of Singapore INC to himself. No corruption and still a head proud to tell the world “I’m damn bloody good and I worth millions and billions !”
“Don’t take the peace, stability and prosperity we enjoy here for granted. Our forefathers fought alongside our Leaders to make it happen for Singapore, and to give people like all of us here an education.”
Indeed how much our forefathers in their late year here get to enjoy the peace of mind knowing whether they get to live tomorrow happily, stability not to fall sick and become heavy burden to middle and poor family, and enjoy the prosperity that actually manned for the rich, the elite and gahmen.
“Now that one is educated, not only does one not want to contribute back to society and still want to bite the hand that feeds him. tsk tsk tsk…”
Bite the hand ? Can’t even get close to Lee Family, let’s alone bite them. I thought we are paying the gahmen through taxmoney and hence it is us who feeding the gahmen and the Lees’ or is there is some change in logic ?
Did you add that remark in P65 and PAP’s forum and blog too ? They need it more than TOC. We only remember NEWater and its source, which is from our urine and the shit.
Jiekai Koh
Sounds good Kenneth. Now get the team you need to get this done.
64) FPC
you too are reading too much into what I did not write : )
////////Why should the opposition be limited to 20?////////////
That is just my humble opinion. You can have any number of your choice..
64) FPC
/////////I don’t think anyone doubt your tendencies.////////
Do you think you speak for all?
I see there has been a lot of comment on our logo so I thought you might be interested in our logo design competition. On ‘The Young Reformers’ our Youth wing’s page. http://www.facebook.com/search/?q=the+young+reformers&init=quick#/event.php?eid=108326434291&ref=ss
patriot
Exposer #66:
Me likes the Comment You posted, very succinct
and relevant.
patriot
keep it up folks
to FPC, I second what you wrote.
Keep it coming. I like the rebuttals, including those from other posters.
Clever and enlightening.
Only the mindless will see RP’s logo as some kind of sea mine or
seem to think PAP govt puts food on his table and is the source for water.
Serves no purpose when a sea mine is so brightly coloured unless the enemies are all assumed to be colour blind………..LOL
My Views
It seems to me that the noble cause of progressing democracy is still obfuscated with the frustration of soothing an eye sore.
In this light, I feel that the Opposition hasn’t progressed much. Given that the PAP has some credit (at least a tiny bit) for making economic progress, the Opposition still falls behind in their contribution to the society.
The challenge I pose to the Opposition is whether you can demonstrate any improvement of the quality of life with “your model of democracy”.
nappys
way to go man!!!!! The logo look like a SUN with spike, more powerful than the lighting circle. I’ve heard Kenneth voice on the radio, OMG, is like hearing JBJ talking, may the mandate of heaven , bless with this new party and the people of Singapore.
Transparency please
Just like Harry Potter who stood up to Voldemort, we need people brave enough to stand up against the “lightning bolt”. Can the Sun overcome the lightning bolt? Those who have read Harry Potter, know that Harry has a strange scar on his foreheard shaped like a bolt of lightning. Whenever the scar ached, Voldemort’s presence was near.
Daniel
“know that Harry has a strange scar on his foreheard shaped like a bolt of lightning. Whenever the scar ached, Voldemort’s presence was near.”
Did someone check if Dr Chee has the same strange scar because whenever he present, our Voldemort aka Pappy Dog will be present too nearby taking photo and video so much that if there is any leaked sex tape, we know where the source comes from.
Ahgong
#76 most funny joke i ever came across in this forum. I guess the wand, is in between his legs. haha. just kidding
pragmatic
Promising and well put speech, but I wonder if more could have been said about the value of the freedoms you outlined. They have a real (and positive) impact on our future quality of life and even economic and cultural development as a nation but till now they have only been painted as liberal luxuries. Going forward, Singapore can NOT afford to have yes-men and an attenuated, lackluster civil society. We need Singaporeans who can and will speak out for themselves and help each other become a better society. We need the creative flex and a bluesky mindset to innovate and imagine larger possibilities for our country and our economy and our art — not self-censor or kowtow to the boss.
So please, make it clear to people why those freedoms matter to our future. Bring them on board.
pragmatic
Promising and well put speech, but I wonder if more could have been said about the value of the freedoms you outlined. They have a real (and positive) impact on our future quality of life and even economic and cultural development as a nation but till now they have only been painted as liberal luxuries. Going forward, Singapore can NOT afford to have yes-men and an attenuated, lackluster civil society. We need Singaporeans who can and will speak out for themselves and help each other become a better society. We need the creative flex and a bluesky mindset to innovate and imagine larger possibilities for our country and our economy and our art — not self-censor or kowtow to the boss.
So please, make it clear to people why those freedoms matter to our future. They are not good to haves but need to haves. Bring them on board.
Dumb and dumber
I wish KJ run against PM Lee’s GRC. He will make a name for himself in history if he beats him.
benkwok
elections in singapore are a race vote. just like how it had been in malaysia till last election.
yeah that’s why we voted for david marshall as our first chief minister, because be must be a chinese deep down besides those iraqi jew heritage
Ak
KJ, you have my vote!
No.45(Koyomin) go eat sh#t! I bet u r 1 of the good for nothing pappies family member.
Please ask your gov’t to raise GST soon. We are waiting for that to happen next!
koyomin
Ak, relax., be cool
Don’t lose already, start to show emotions. We are all in a healthy debate, trying to work some things out for our little country.
Ai Zai, be steady…
william the con
Ak
No need for personal attacks. It reflects badly on you and your opinions.
Amused
koyomin
“if you choose leaders from people who barely make it in life, who sometimes can’t pay their water bills, do you think their primary focus will be for the greater good of the country or to feed their wife & children first?”
If you can’t see that this is already happening in SG without anyone being able to check or correct it, then there’s no point debating with you as you’ve proven yourself very willing to remain in your deep, comfy well.
Ak
To Koyomin,
I apologize for being uncouth, and I want to reiterate that its not meant to be a personal attack.
You got the better of me with your views.
Please explain to me the multi-million dollar paycheck to our ministers?
I can’t comprehend their reasoning.
Are public servant attracted to joining the government because of the exhorbitant pay?
Is it not because of their passion to serve?
Time and again we have ministers advocating the citizen to bite the bullet and take pay cut becos of downturn.
Can the ministers lead by example?
Have you been to the heartlands? CAn I suggest you go for a cup of coffee and observe what is going on. Its heart rendering when you see old men and ladies resorting to selling tissues and fighting over an empty can drink.
WhileOur ministers and elitist family members live in nice condos and bungalows, plays golf, travel 1st class, fine dine and what not.
Have they ever thought of the gravity of disparity?
Ever thought why there are so much grouses on this forum?
As 1 of your fellow peer puts in bluntly, get out of my uncaring elitist face.
Ah———aH——————–ha
Simple Historian
RP & PR
I wonder what is Reform Party’s view on the influx of permanent residents & its effect on Singapore’s democracy.
JustALandNotMyHome
Please take away GRC boundaries bullshit after you beat them which i do not know when. Increase CPF interest and lower the age to take the money out or if the citizen got special reason for taking them out earlier. Stop the power company for making bullshit claim on shit tag to petrol price, raising when petrol raise and come out with a stupid formula to drop only a little when the petrol price drop heavily. Lower transport cost. Give out more licence for transport/communication/media for competition.
Please stop company from monopolising the market.
Do full investigation on where is singaporean citizen money spent.
Saturn
Well said KJ,
We are counting on your leadership what your Hero Dad left.
He is indeed the Last action hero & a singapore’s icon.
How many of us actually even own or build houses or flats to call it a home. Mortgages & arrears are on most HDB flat owners. So a majority of Citizens are dying to pay the HDB houses till over 60 yrs of age. There is no indication from the HDB as to how many have paid their flats in full before the age of 60, let alone how many have flats are on arrears over 3 months. No indication as how many citizens have been evicted. So where are our actual shelters ???
Even burial grounds are temporary in the land scare singapore. Reclamation land should be included for permanent burials. Please look into the welfare of the poors. Our handouts like GST & others are often taken brutally by tax authorities on the other hand.
Reena
Guess !!! “Bankruptcy” must be all time high. LSH reports on 4mil minor offences in 4 mil SingCity. Why are crime rate so high ? Wat education did we instill or is it poverty. ?
Wats the ratio of Citizens compard to Foreignors. Wat’s d revenue ?
ERP, Tpt, Itx, Ptx, Gst, ura, hdb, all fines in a FINE city, Pwr Sply, conservancy, radio & tv license, hosp bills, parking, sch fees, tuition fees, etx etc alamak… Poor Citizens…….
mating@inbox.com
hi all,
why are we complaining about the perceived unfairness in the distribution of wealth between the have and have not?
This is a natural result of a capitalism society, It’s a fact that 20% of the population control 80% of the world’s wealth.
As for the suggestion for Reform Party to form an alliance with SDP, i don think i want to risk my future and my kid’s future to a “lets-come-together-and-form-a-political-party” group.
The world is in a constant race, and we cannot afford to make any major mistake.
One fatal mistake is enough to destroy the good reputation that Singapore have built over the past 50 years.
OriginalResonance
Call it reductio ad absurdum but many atrocities have been exacted in the name of nationalistic pride, ethnic purity and religious duty just to name a few. Reason and logic have often been subjugated to the whims of the tyranny of emotions. Really, I’d rather have a house than have a home. Maybe I’m cynical. But then again, I’m Singaporean. :D
Have your house. Then furnish it with a heart, liberty and hope and it wil become a home.
SS Stirrer
KoyoMIn
Fact #1 : IF you dont use your muscle, it wastes away.
Fact #2 : If you dont exercise your rights, it will be taken away
Looks like your brain hasnt been used.
go figure what I am trying to tell you. exercise your brains instead of your tongue – bootlicking
SS Stirrer
KoyoMIn
Wake up and smell the roses instead of dwelling on the past…
fatal mistake to be a sheep
@ 92),
just to wake you up from your slumber.
Having 82 PAP stooges vs 2 Opp is already a fatal mistake. Not doing anything about a selfserving govt will be the second fatal mistake, got it ?
The world has no sympathy for a Spore that can make 2 fatal mistakes.
True Patriot Down South
koyomin, you personify everything that is wrong with the mindset of the people who refuse to think beyond the dinner table and refuse to accept that it is time Singaporeans accept the responsiblity of becoming politically mature.
Get this into your head Sir, No PAP does NOT mean No Good Life in Singapore.
Understand Sir that Singapore is the Collective Effort of the People here over the last few decades. 1965 is a long time ago, Sir, the Nation has changed,the Republic has changed and the People are changing. The PAP and their supporters may think that the bench mark is set exclusively by them and surface economic progress their undefeatable weapon but know this Sir, 44 years is not a very long time, Tyrannical Empires lasting 100s of years still eventually fall to rot and the sword of the Patriot so like it or not Sir, time is on our side.
Sic semper tyrannis!
tellthetruth
I would rather die in one slash of a sword than to bleed slowly to death by those bloodsucking bugs that came about after independence.They’re still sucking and we’re still dying slowly.
KJ have mercy,bring this to an end of our agony.Pls hurry b4 our blood runs dry.
OriginalResonance
Deluded. LOL :D
amteel
Quite right. PAP built us houses but not homes. Did Reform Party even build a sand castle?
Thinktok
All these very clever rhetorics do not add up to anything. Nation building must go through stages and we Singaporeans can congratulate ourselves that we have arrive at a more than satisfactory stage. Just look at Malaysia, Indonesia and Phillipines.
It is up to the newer generations to bring Singapore forward. To deride the work done by the MIW or whatever colour is absolutely wrong.
KJ or Kill Joy, afterall is the son of the most bitter opposition in Singapore. Can he be sure that he harbour none of the bitterness??
I can see the bitterness slowly leaching out.
Sean
Koyomin,
You are the classic Xenophobe nurtured and created by years of adhering to the status quo. Its just pretty sad that you hold such a view. But you are entitled to that view for we are a democracy… Everyone is entitled to their views no matter how warped they are.. Agree to disagree and move on.
This is my view that I have posted on some other forums;
I believe singaporeans in general have become too comfortable with the status quo and are afraid if it changes everything will cease to work. Xenophobia is what we are afflicted with…. After all we have only been exposed to 1 government. What will happen if the PAP falls? we won’t know. Will the country collapse when the ruling party loses power? That is what I feel, many of us are afraid of(like koyoming), and they are using it to their advantage. However, the truth is, if the current government were to lose it majority, Singapore will still continue on. Only its leaders will change, all its civil services/statutory boards and its related machinery will remain… ( I give it to the ruling party for building up a solid bureaucracy) Singapore will continue chug along with or without the PAP. So as long as there are credible enough alternatives, I say give them a chance. Bring diversity to parliament, and not the dreary white wash we see today. I believe Singaporeans are a truly resilient lot, but we are just being stifled and caged. We need a little more freedom. And for that to happen, something has to change…
As Donaldson Tan mentioned earlier,
“It is a fallacy to assume any Government can control the economy and thus a greater fallacy to attribute economic success to the Government of the Day.”
The Singapore of today was built by the old guard of yesteryear. Stalwarts such as Goh Keng Swee and Rajaratnam just to name a couple, and even the younger lky when he was still “for the people”. But now, the leaders who are all seating in parliament are all inheritors of said success of yesteryear, they wriggled into the fray through “walkovers”… pathetic excuses for politicians… And now, they are squandering and eroding the rights of its people. treating us as digits that affect the bottom line,
Another thought provoking motion I would like to throw into the wind…
The victors are the ones who write history.. we may well have been raised in a farce from the very beginning… Who are we to say that what we have learnt about Singapore’s early years to be true? Were the communists really communists? or were they just far left nationalists that the British wanted to be rid of… how convenient…
And with that I would like to conclude by saying…
We all have to have a stake in our future, A stake in Singapore. Believe in Change.
We can change…but first, we must want change, 1 vote at a time at the upcoming elections.. :-) That vote is your stake in our future.. vote wisely.
There is always hope.

AMEN!