Thursday, August 20, 2009 15:57

Tharman’s “public interest” remark removed by Straits Times

In Main Stories, Top Story • 3,530 views • 79 Comments

“Volkswagen and The Straits Times are brands with a successful history and a reputation of trust.” – Mr Leon Gumpert, general manager, Sales Singapore, at Volkswagen Group Singapore. (its Times, 15 August 2009)

“So they have to adapt but they have to remain objective, maintain a high quality newspaper and if you read something in the Straits Times or on CNA, you must know that it’s real.” – PM Lee in his National Day Rally speech in 2008.

In Parliament on 18 August, Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam was asked to reveal the reasons for Mr Charles Goodyear’s resignation from Temasek Holdings. In his reply, Mr Tharman said:

People do want to know, there is curiosity, it is a matter of public interest. That is not sufficient reason to disclose information. It is not sufficient that there be curiosity and interest that you want to disclose information.”

However, in the printed edition of the Straits Times the next day, 19 August, Mr Tharman’s “public interest” remark was inexplicably left out. The Straits Times published an ad verbatim transcript of the exchanges in Parliament betwen Mr Tharman and MPs. So, why was Mr Tharman’s “public interest” remark edited out of the transcript?

Straits Times, 19 August 2009

Did the Straits Times intentionally leave out Mr Tharman’s admission that the issue of Mr Goodyear’s resignation was of public interest?

Here’s Today’s report which included the remark left out by the Straits Times:

1. Blog Feature: Straits Times changes headlines 4 times in one day
  2. Straits Times’ perplexing definition of ‘netizens’
  3. A response to MOM but rejected by the Straits Times
  4. Attack on Temasek Review: not Straits Times
  5. The Straits Times thinks only businessmen are Singaporeans

79 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

George
Aug 20, 2009 16:00

You can do anything with your house organ, isn’t it?

But, I heard him on TV and I am sure many others did.

Will someone please put it on Youtube.

Tick
Aug 20, 2009 16:06

IT’s an honest mistake

State Mouthpiece also accountable what
Aug 20, 2009 16:07

SPH got nice big building for us to see too.

RD
Aug 20, 2009 16:12

Straits Times should just add a subheader on the top of its front page reading: “A publication of SPH and PAP.”

Mee siam mai hum
Aug 20, 2009 16:14

Remember the mee siam mai hum speech became mee siam mai hiam (no chilli) published. Sounded better. If not mee siam where got hum (cockles)? But you can have chilli or no chilli added.

Actually quite normal lah, to do touch ups here and there to look good.

Moe Gan Thai
Aug 20, 2009 16:24

ST should make clarification why it is left out. Somebody must have directed ST to do it

Kanaji
Aug 20, 2009 16:29

It is of public interest to know whether someone directed ST to remove the public interest remark from the publication.

anakin
Aug 20, 2009 16:31

why don’t you write to the ST and ask why this was left out?

mice is nice
Aug 20, 2009 16:41

they can omit that line, but it does not mean people do not know that TH fiasco is a matter of public interest.

all creatures of darkness fear light, so the more everyone should cast some more light on them!!

i wonder if other SWFs are doing some “digging” themselves… :)

Fat Hope
Aug 20, 2009 16:51

Lau Lee once said that our ST is so good that foreign governments refer it for information (maybe it is Myamar?). Junior Lee also once said that our ST is a quality, solid paper with good journalism, not some kind of cowboy internet forum……..

Star7
Aug 20, 2009 16:52

Opps, looks like our mainstream media are working hard for an even LOWER ranking on Reporters Without Borders.

Looks like 144th is not low enough, we shall see next year.

Oh yea, its probably nothing, I’m over-reacting, its just an honest mistake.

Somebody
Aug 20, 2009 16:54

SPH is just an intelligence gathering and propaganda office masquerading as a news agency.

pap
Aug 20, 2009 16:54

public interest is a highfalutin aspiration. Lets be realistic.

Aug 20, 2009 16:57

SPH should be renamed Papers And Publications

Moe Gan Thai
Aug 20, 2009 17:01

Tharman may kena mark liao, any how talk, never consult the Lees.

man against the tank

Yang

All of you stupid, ST belong to who? Who control the SPH. Who is the chairman sitting there. Must support the PAP what. No need to mention. This is what call free media or open society in s’pore.

So guys, don’t think so much. Just exercise your important vote in thsi coming election.

BTW, is there a way to protest or fight to change the GRC system in the next election.Any clue????

mike
Aug 20, 2009 17:05

the way they wayang is just so cartoon and so stupid. they think we are all so goondu.

way to go man.

Not deleted
Aug 20, 2009 17:12

Don’t worry guys.

That part was faithfully recorded in “TODAY” on front page yesterday (19th August 2009).

So, we can believe all MSM.

mice is nice
Aug 20, 2009 17:13

SPH is a ‘tool’ with alot of reach….

Oxford Dude
Aug 20, 2009 17:15

Hi Yang #16,

Just attend Opposition rally whether Opposition is contesting in your ward or not.

I am sure PAP will not overlook the sheer size of supporters even if the votes don’t reflect this.

ST_fan
Aug 20, 2009 17:19

Hhm…maybe State Times should invest in time machine or the equipment used by MIB.

Hi guys @ SPIN (pardon..that’s what the new corporate logo looked like)…you deserves the high ranking like Jinx…top 5 from the bottom

BeThankful
Aug 20, 2009 17:23

Not missing lah…probably printed in SPH’s patented “invisible” ink…look closer :)

Eveline
Aug 20, 2009 17:26

What will be interesting to see is if it will be censored in the Hansard too.

Vote of Opposition
Aug 20, 2009 17:27

This is the matter of pubic interest on Chip Goodyear:

http://johnharding.com/

Law
Aug 20, 2009 17:34

Another fiaso from our “Award winning” newsapaper . No wonder the public might be misled when 100% information were not given.
If it was a condemnation of the opposition mistakes, this newspaper will proudly published them in bold.

Despot
Aug 20, 2009 17:38

It is removed to appease their master.

Mr.E
Aug 20, 2009 17:43

call shenanigans!

ST Pros
Aug 20, 2009 17:49

I wonder how these ST journos sleep at night. So thick skinned lapdogs.

Jackson
Aug 20, 2009 18:10

Once again, another childish act by SPH. They really think they’re the only media in Singapore? Well the BEST MEDIA is people telling me straight in the face, no need through newspapers or radio. Haha. SPH lose.

anonymous
Aug 20, 2009 18:17

if ST can anyhow “miss out” sentences, what else won’t they do??
lose billions become lose millions?

its true. even ‘today’ is better than ST.

they were the only one who published MM’s apology for claiming exxon-mobile invested due to him when infact it had nothing to do with him.

maybe thats why LKY was so hot in parliament these few days.
malu those ang moh expose him instead of backup his lies.

Daniel
Aug 20, 2009 18:45

How dare ShittyTimes censor those words of Tharman ? Do they even know that it will alter the impact and overall message of Tharman ? Tharman as minister must sue ShittyTimes over that because “it is a matter of public interest”.

Jonah
Aug 20, 2009 18:46

that was a freudian slip. tharman wasn’t thinking right when he conceded that it was a matter of public interest.

therefore the st has to do damage control lest more singaporeans realize that “hey, the pap government really doesn’t care about public interest – no accountability, no transparency.”

Think Twice
Aug 20, 2009 18:59

If U don’t listen to yor Big Boss at this recession time, U have to take 3year unpaid leave. Or he will give U some idiom “Sayonara” Balek Kampong “Sack”
Li Teo Pock. GoodBye. God Bless U. Take Care

Abandoned
Aug 20, 2009 19:09

I stopped believing in Straits Times long ago.

This is not a surprise. There’ll be more to come.

Yamamoto
Aug 20, 2009 19:11

Well Well, another undeniable prove on the trust-ability of ST and the accountability of our dear leaders….come on singaporeans….for how long more do you want to be ruled by these people?

Yang
Aug 20, 2009 19:20

poor old MM still cannot let go. WHY? because there still a bunch ofunless guys around cannot run this country well. Do all of you understand!!!!

All this so call eltie got paper but no brain!!!

sgcynic
Aug 20, 2009 19:22

It is of public interest to vote Tharman out of Parliament!

Daniel
Aug 20, 2009 19:29

“poor old MM still cannot let go. WHY? because there still a bunch ofunless guys around cannot run this country well. Do all of you understand!!!!”

Can’t you see that MM deliberately want this type of useless ministers in order to show others that he still need to be around and indispensable ? Beside useless and ball-less ministers can’t threaten his Leegime compare to competent counterpart. All Emperors in history will eliminate those powerful people they seen as a threat, including those beside them. Our emperor is not much different. See how quick he remove all the old guards except himself, and create enunchs and concubines to serve him and his family.

GoodYear should known better.

crowbar
Aug 20, 2009 19:30

“if you read something in the Straits Times or on CNA, you must know that it’s real.”

Yes, we know. We know that its’ real that they edited out that comment!

LHL, eversince you became PM, it’s been one fiasco after another. And we’re paying you…… how much is it again?

Whattanapong
Aug 20, 2009 19:56

What is the use of this article IF
the youths and adults do NOT READ this ?

‘Do not read ‘ can be materialised as follows:

1. oblivious
2. info not presented to them
3. they do not visit socio-politico sites.
4. they hooked on computer games and the materialistic world.

How to reach the masses?

Ganga
Aug 20, 2009 19:59

ST is actually idiot-proofing the reproduction of the comment as (stupid) Singaporeans won’t be able to understand. What Tharman meant by his comment is how ST reports it – ‘curiosity is not enough justification for disclosure’. People are taking the ‘public interest’ remark out of context as he was obviously referring to the general interest of the public.

However, what interests me more is that this fact clearly illustrates and serves as concrete evidence of how ST (or the people working there) is partisan to PAP.

ST Pros
Aug 20, 2009 20:02

*42: “However, what interests me more is that this fact clearly illustrates and serves as concrete evidence of how ST (or the people working there) is partisan to PAP.”

Evidence of bias can be found each day in the papers.

salim
Aug 20, 2009 20:06

TOC is super sharp. You’ve my respect.

singaporean
Aug 20, 2009 20:20

if the opposition have done this same mistake it will repeated again untill the poor guy will be sued

Federick
Aug 20, 2009 20:33

Ganga: There is no need for ST to ‘idiot-proof’ another person’s quote. That’s censorship. And for the ST to present it as if it was a direct quote is unprofessional and dishonest.

To me, there are more possibilities of interpretation than the one you offered. It may well have been an idiomatic slip; or it could have been a deliberate attempt at ambiguity, even subversion. There’re contrarian politicians who deliberately let slip public statements, inciting backlash for future political manoeuvre, sometimes for the public’s benefit. In any case, double entendres add to the fun. And Freudian slips can be revealing.

Therefore, I cannot disagree more with your condescending view on Singaporeans. There’re dumb ones, and there’re bright ones, and may be best man/view/interpretation win.

Daniel
Aug 20, 2009 20:41

Can James Gomaz’s action during election be considered as Freudian slips of action then ?

“A Freudian slip, or parapraxis, is an error in speech, memory, or physical action that is interpreted as occurring due to the interference of some unconscious (‘dynamically repressed’) wish, conflict, or train of thought.” From wiki.

Why PAP can have Freudian slip as they wish and as they like whereas opp party cannot have Freudian slip ? Isn’t that double standard ?

Federick
Aug 20, 2009 20:59

Yes Daniel, it’s a double-standard. That is why ST should not have left that statement out.

Anyway, the whole point of a Freudian slip is it is unconscious (as you’d now know from the wiki definition) and is not within the control of the original speaker. I believe what you’re getting at is not Freudian slips per se, but the question of power. Or rather, the critique of those who abuse it.

Ganga
Aug 20, 2009 21:28

46) Federick on August 20th, 2009 8.33 pm, I meant the condescending bit as how our authorities view Singaporeans – so in that respect I couldn’t disagree with ‘myself’ more too!

But having read the exchange and viewing Tharman’s comments in the context I mentioned earlier, coupled with the known fact that our ministers et al simply do not have the capacity to appreciate that an element of ‘public interest’ even exists in Singapore in the first place (otherwise, they woudn’t have been so horribly callous during the Mas Selamat incident), I assert that we’re persecuting him on a non-issue insofar as this little statement is concerned.

That is of course not to say that he should be spared criticism for his actions – based on the holistic perspective of his performance thus far during his ‘job-hopping’ tenure.

Federick
Aug 20, 2009 21:40

- Ganga, the issue is not Tharman’s remarks, but ST’s removal of it.

David
Aug 20, 2009 22:04

We can’t be too picky on PAP Press Holdings. If they can afford to cover up, they will. We all know PAP press holdings are never in objective reporting mode. All these decades of trees being sacrificed, we have not a single piece of paper from them or space allocated specially for alternative parties Signaporeans have been spending too much money buying pap paper. I rather we donate the same amount of money saved from unsubscribing it to help the poor and needy and not to enrich the pap press holdings.

Lee Hoong Chua
Aug 20, 2009 22:46

wat is worse is the decades of brainwashing they did to us. and the worst?? we dont even realise it. all these years of brainwashing and whitewashing. no wonder we sgreans are dumbed down.

xlandjy
Aug 20, 2009 23:22

Thank u for the report.

However, I will not call the journalists and their editors prostitutes. By equating them with prostitutes is an insult to the latter…

Pimps And Prostitutes
Aug 20, 2009 23:39

This is NOT the first time that ST “edits” its articles.

Another example was highlighted by Mr Wang Says So in this blog, where ST edited its archives:
http://mrwangsaysso.blogspot.com/2008/05/thank-you-for-reading-my-blog-aljunied.html

Nothing is sacred as far as ST is concerned.

Bila Lila
Aug 20, 2009 23:44

Even if a dog stands against a PAP candidate, I’ll vote for the dog. At least he can bark and bite!

Ang Gu Lin
Aug 20, 2009 23:44

Which GRC voters voted this man?

Bila Lila
Aug 20, 2009 23:56

He is not going to tell anyone anything. He still remembers what happened in 1993.

Arrest and Conviction
While serving as economics director in Monetary Authority of Singapore in 1993, Tharman was charged under the Official Secrets Act for inadvertently releasing Singapore’s 1992 second-quarter flash projections[3] to a research director Mr Raymond Foo, and economist Manu Bhaskaran, of Crosby Securities and journalists, Kenneth James and Patrick Daniel from the Business Times.

Tharmam was convicted by Senior District Judge Richard Magnus, and fined S$1,500 along with the other defendants.

Alan Wong
Aug 21, 2009 0:09

By replacing the word ‘Temasek’ with ‘NKF’, just imagine the possibility of how cunning Tharman could be if we were to refer the context of Tharman speech to the NKF scandal as follows :-

In other words, the government will only disclose what it deems acceptable regarding NKF, a fund that totalled xx million Singapore dollars as of November. NKF’s internal governance, Mr. Tharman said, “is a matter for the board to oversee and the key task of the government is to make sure we are comfortable with people on the board. Once government starts intruding, or for that matter, parliament starts intruding, with the best of intentions, then we are, over time, changing the character of that relationship between government and NKF.”

If it is not acceptable for NKF, how can it be acceptable for Temasek.

The next obvious question is could there be some scandal cover-up in Temasek that they have to say that it would not serve any strategic purpose to tell the truth ?

Sgcynic
Aug 21, 2009 6:46

Tharman can sleep well at night knowing that he has succesfully prevented? a fallout of nuclear proportions – indeed, how could have let lesser mortals know that there is a huge hole in the nuclear reactor that is Temasek? Sleep well knowing that Tharman is carrying all our pain for us, shielding us from the unbearable truth. It pains me . So I’ll vote for another to take over his pain in the coming elections.

Komenos
Aug 21, 2009 7:34

…reminds me of the novel 1984 where they control the news to control or sway the opinion of the population.

lefleche
Aug 21, 2009 11:17

I’ve always felt very uncomfortable when Tharman takes the stand because my past analysis of what he said always reveals that there is something wrong therefore the govt sends him. in summary:

1. when Bangkok Post published the entire chronology of temasik’s involvement with Thaksin all the way from the setting up of shell companies to the day HC and Thaksin’s wife shook hands listing the names of all involved, the dates accounts/companies were set up even to the place where the 2 honchos shook hands and listed all the laws broken in Thailand during this whole sequence of events, Tharman stood in parliament and said that he is confident that HC/Temasek did not break any laws in Thailand. if that was the case, why didnt Temasek/HC sue BKK Post for so blatantly naming all the offences HC committed?

2. When Tharman defended GIC and said govt not involved in its decision making, then why is almost half of GIC’s board of directors ministers including himself? board of directors who dont get involved? then do they get directors fees..for doing nothing? all those in business know that directors are there for direction and governance and major decisions. even sleeping partners need to know occasionally what is going on so its hard to believe that GIC has half a board of sleeping directors who dont get involved in its running.

3. not to mention the whole episode about saying that drawing of reserves is based on ‘trust’.

i hope i’m not paranoid to say that there is enough to indicate that whenever he appears, there is something more to it. i’ve always felt that Tharman’s greatest strength is his eloquency. perhaps this is where he comes in most useful – when something is wrong and cannot be revealed.

BeThankful
Aug 21, 2009 11:22

>>By equating them with prostitutes is an insult to the latter…

Ya lor…at least the latter gives us VALUE FOR MONEY :)

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 21 Aug 2009
Aug 21, 2009 11:31

[...] GIC, Temasek State Fund Investments – TOC: Tharman’s “public interest” remark removed by Straits Times [...]

Oracle
Aug 21, 2009 12:23

Following up on “Vote of Opposition” comment, maybe Tharman’s comment on why disclosing the reasons for Goodyear’s removal “serves no strategic interest” refers to what’s posted in http://johnharding.com/2009/02/08/is-charles-chip-goodyear-iv-an-impostor/

tom
Aug 21, 2009 13:49

If you take Singapore Airline, the main newspaper is Straits Times (ST).
But many foreigners perfer otherwise.

The Straits Times newspaper distributed to the planes will come Without the Classified Section, always.

Why?

The number of people declare as Bankruptcy + court cases advertised in the Classifed will be shocking….

No surprise certain statements (include this topic) are often omitted out by ST.
Only silly one like T.T. Durai wanted to sue ST.

let's move on
Aug 21, 2009 13:55

It’s an honest mistake, Let’s move on!

The SS
Aug 21, 2009 14:02

This is typical isn’t it? But will the 66.6% learn to see the implications of all these recent events?

Skip
Aug 21, 2009 15:46

This is exactly one of the points raised in NMP Viswa’s speech – how we need traditional media to not be govt. lapdogs.

seeing ghosts
Aug 21, 2009 21:27

you guys are blind or what. It says right at the beginning of the transcript that this is an edited transcript. I believe editing means removing repetitions, among other things. There’s already this sentence in the column on the left — “It is a matter of public interest who the CEO of Temasek is”. So I don’t see any cover up here.

Bila Lila
Aug 21, 2009 22:11

Seeing ghosts is really seeing ghosts. He does not know the meaning of ad verbatim transcript.

SpeedWeed
Aug 21, 2009 23:47

well.. consider this..

ask anymore questions and tharman will need to do a jack nicholson.

YOU CANT HANDLE THE TRUTH!

Daniel
Aug 22, 2009 0:11

“you guys are blind or what. It says right at the beginning of the transcript that this is an edited transcript. I believe editing means removing repetitions, among other things. There’s already this sentence in the column on the left — “It is a matter of public interest who the CEO of Temasek is”. So I don’t see any cover up here.”

Are you really seeing ghost or are you really the ghost yourself ?

abdul
Aug 22, 2009 8:27

“People do want to know, there is curiosity, —-snip snip——. That is not sufficient reason to disclose information. It is not sufficient that there be curiosity [and interest] that you want to disclose information.”

The self censoring folks at Shit Times forgot to cut out the words in square brackets – “and interest” which refers to the deleted part ” it is a matter of public interest”.

Now, that’s interesting!

Ah Cow
Aug 22, 2009 21:20

The name “Shitty Times” is

not far off the mark. Time

for a name change.

crabby
Aug 24, 2009 17:28

It’s the PAP Times to the rescue again!!

Angelina
Aug 24, 2009 19:06

It is so glaringly blatant what the Straits Times is doing and I wonder how our President scholars (top academic creme de la creme) can accept the nonsense and even defend it vehemently. I won’t even call them academics!

ah meng
Aug 24, 2009 23:39

10) Fat Hope on August 20th, 2009 4.51 pm

Lau Lee once said that our ST is so good that foreign governments refer it for information (maybe it is Myamar?). Junior Lee also once said that our ST is a quality, solid paper with good journalism, not some kind of cowboy internet forum……..

lol ^ what foreign governments would read our papers?? no democratic country would read our papers because they know very well its full of shit. thats right i said SHIT, its full of SHIT.

‘Straits Times’ should call it newsletter instead of newspaper

Daniel
Aug 24, 2009 23:53

“Lau Lee once said that our ST is so good that foreign governments refer it for information (maybe it is Myamar?). ”

Yes, democratic foreign government will refer to our ShittyTimes just to learn how NOT to write trash, nonsense, and one-sided partisan information.

Myamar Junta may refer to our ShittyTimes because they want to know the status of the Orchard that name after them in Botanic Garden. Is it cursed and dead in Botanic Garden ? They also want to refer to it for propaganda Shit that love to publicise the negativeness and disaster of other countries that make SIN gov look so good and heaven.

temasick
Feb 6, 2010 14:47

Who on earth gave him the assumption that people are “curious” ? His cronies or his yes-man ppl from the ypap?
The people are “demanding” facts and justifications for the massive losses, not out of curiousity but a responsibility towards the management of the state and people’s funds.

Pls, wake up your million dollars brain, tll now we are still kept in the dark as to how our hard earned CPF monies are being invested and managed by who.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook