Andrew Loh
Mr Teo Ser Luck has been a very busy man. After winning in the 2006 General Elections as part of the People’s Action Party’s team for Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC, he was immediately appointed Parliamentary Secretary (Parl Sec) for the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS). He was then 37-years old.
Since then, his star has been shining – and rising.
In 2008, he was appointed Chairman of the Young PAP (YP), the ruling party’s youth wing, replacing his MCYS minister, Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, who had held that post. In that same year, he was promoted to Senior Parliamentary Secretary for MCYS.
In the Prime Minister’s Cabinet reshuffle in March this year, Mr Teo was given the position of Mayor for North East Community Development Council, taking over from veteran PAP MP, Mr Zainul Abidin Rasheed. The portfolio of Parl Sec for the Ministry of Transport was added to Mr Teo’s basket.
Mr Teo is also the Chairman of the National Youth Council and is the adviser to the Asian Youth Games 2009 and Youth Olympic Games 2010 committees. He is widely credited for Singapore’s successful bid for the YOG 2010 and for being involved in the F1 bid as well. As Chairman of the Sporting Culture Committee (SCC), Mr Teo has also been put in charge of overseeing the $650 million Sports Hub project, which would be the Republic’s largest sports and leisure development and be situated on a 35-ha site on the outskirts of the business district.
The former General Manager of DHL Express Singapore was selected as a Global Young Leader by the World Economic Forum and Outstanding Young Alumni by his alma mater, Nanyang Technological University (NTU) in Singapore.
Politics aside, Mr Teo founded the Triathlon Family Club, an online triathlon community, and the Safe Cycling Taskforce, an advocacy group for the safety of cyclists.
His impressive resume makes one wonder how he finds time to perform his MP duties – and to find time for his family.
Since becoming the Chairman of Young PAP, he has been very active in wanting to canvass views and provide platforms for younger Singaporeans to express themselves. Mr Teo, who attained his Bachelor of Accountancy in 1992 from NTU, has now focused his energy on engaging youths – online.
To achieve this, the Young PAP has revamped its website to facilitate more interaction and information flow. But the launch of the new site ran into a “slight miscalculation” and had to be postponed. This was because of a video which the YP had created and which was supposed to be part of the launch. It had not been cleared by the Media Development Authority (MDA). All films created in Singapore have to be approved by the MDA before they’re permitted to be screened. Apparently, the YP did not know this.
Hiccups aside, Mr Teo and the YP are to be applauded, despite skepticism of the sincerity of their aims from some quarters. It is good to see members of the ruling party reaching out to Singaporeans, nonetheless, and this can only augur well for political engagement.
Having said that, however, there are questions about whether the ruling party and its youth branch are ready for robust engagements. Already, one criticism is directed at Mr Teo’s comment that views in the P65 blog, which now has a new crew of eight writers, “are to steer clear of supporting a political party.”
“The p65 blog is to allow other young people to share their views,” Mr Teo said, “which are non-partisan, neutral and can be constructive criticism of policies.” One wonders how a blog, which was started after the 2006 General Elections and which writers were 12 PAP MPs, and launched with much media publicity then, could be “non-partisan” and “neutral”.
One of the new writers, Nazir (his full name was not provided on the blog), is a committee member of the Young NTUC. Khartini Khalid helps out at Meet The People Sessions, while not much is known about Fredric Fanthome, Julian Hong, or Vikram Nair.
Even its two editors are mysterious – their names are not listed on the blog site and little is known about their backgrounds. One of the two editors of the site, Mr Tang Ho Wan, told Today that none of the eight writers are “affiliated to the Young PAP”. Given how closely organizations such as the NTUC is affiliated to the ruling party, Mr Tang’s words are not entirely reassuring.
It would be good if the site could provide more information on its members.
Perhaps what the newly-revamped P65 blog hopes to do is similar to the blog site by the Workers’ Party supporters, called The Hammersphere. Although The Hammersphere does not claim to be non-partisan – declaring itself “a blog for supporters of The Workers’ Party of Singapore” – it nonetheless hopes to be a “gathering place for everyone who supports the Workers’ Party”. The blog was created in March 2007 but has been rather dormant for the most part since. Its last entry was in April this year.
The other political party which has a site created by its supporters is the Singapore Democratic Party. Called “Friends of SDP”, it however is not a blog but a Facebook group. The group currently has 322 members and meet up regularly for chats and discussions.
It looks like the race is on for the hearts and minds of young Singaporeans. All these online initiatives by the political parties and their supporters bring a breath of fresh air to the PAP-dominated mainstream.
Although the views online may have been perceived as being mostly anti-PAP (especially on socio-political blogs and forums), one would hope that members of the establishment would be more robust in engaging netizens – unlike the government portal REACH, which prefers to stay in its own corner.
Another hope, perhaps, is for the engagement to go further than being “safe”, as Mr Teo insinuated in his remarks about such online endeavours having to be “non-partisan” and “neutral”.
As the Prime Minister said in his swearing-in speech in 2004:
“We should have the confidence to engage in robust debate, so as to understand our problems, conceive fresh solutions, and open up new spaces.” (MFA)
There is nothing wrong in being partisan.
As for Mr Teo himself, he is to be congratulated for the new initiatives he has come up with as Chairman of the Young PAP to engage younger Singaporeans. And in this too he looks to have surpassed his predecessor, Dr Vivian Balakrishnan.
As for the success of the newly-constructed YP website and the P65 blog, it is left to be seen.
——-
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

PAP wants your views, PAP seek your ideas.. you belong to this country, speak up..
Dont be fooled.. THEY had long SHUT their ears. PAP bought their hearts, their souls & ply them with salaries & monies they got used to and go thru the motion…
Did you hear correctly? – it is now called CROWN JEWELS — – they are no longer call National ASSETS but CROWN JEWELS belonging to the KING’s… … a private collection of Jewels…
He is a young man and must go through this rout to prove his manhood – let him try .. After a while he will know it is half fool half empty… many went through this rout. So he is going thru his paces – LET HIM. What he should knows is many SIN had long stop caring.. to give feedback .. to many this is an empty show.
. PAP is too proud to listen. That’s that.
what’s the rush? since when time is not on PAP’s side? another 50 years or is it 5000 years?
It’s unfair but I guess it is always easier to slam someone you have no interest to know from a distance. I appreciate that there are many here who are unhappy with certain decisions made by the PAP. But even the PAP have disagreements within the ranks. What is important is that most members agree with the general direction of the party.
I am not talking about TSL here but It is possible to contribute to the well being of the country by doing what you do best, even when you sometimes disagree with your bosses. Bearing in mind that one day, your bosses will change and you may even have a chance to lead.
Of course some may ask, why not simply join another party or start a new party. Problem is, how can you contribute if people don’t even want to give you a chance ? Just for the sake of example, do you think TSL would have the chance to be involved in the many projects had he joined Chee Soon Juan ? Wouldn’t it be a waste if he waited 20years before being voted in to do what he does best ?
Anyways, I don’t expect everyone to agree with me. But TSL is really not the horrid person some of you made him out to be.
I have known Teo Ser Luck for some years now. He is really one of the more hardworking people that I know. Unfortunately, he is also one of the most small minded persons that I have come across. He is quite intolerant to dissent, generally impatient with differences and very judgemental on people. He is more suited to be a OBS or a sports instructor or maybe a company commander in the army, he will excel in that arena. I am most worried that if he does get to become PM or DPM, people like us with different views, beliefs, values will be naturally squeezed out of our country. I am saying this with utmost objectivity and must add that he is all in all, a good person, just not appropriate to become PM or DPM. It is clear to me that he does not enjoy politics all that much but he is trying his best, in the way that he knows how, albeit awkwardly. PM Lee should look to someone like our Finance Minister to take over. He is super smart, super open minded, measured, tough when need be and humble. TSL’s arrogance comes in a way that he refuses to accept the opinions of others. He is really an old man at heart. His peers can attest to all that I have said. Please Mr Lee Hsien Loong, please spare a thought for the ALL INCLUSIVE SINGAPORE. Please I beg you….
Would like to add that its not fair to describe him or any of his parliamentary colleagues as teacher’s pet. We all have bosses to answer to and we do what is required of us. So long as we do not compromise our integrity in the process, we have every right to be subordinate to our bosses…right?
53) Mic O Mic – TSL is in many projects in squeezing more from people and making living in SG very hard and stressed.
54) Mr Lee – Hardworking, quite intolerant to dissent, generally impatient with differences and very judgemental are traits of our leaders.
Likes go with likes, this is why TSL can do well there. In all closed door meetings, do you expect TSL to speak up for citizens? Do you think PM and SM would accept differences in opinions? TSL knows who are his masters and in order for him to continue to grow in ranks, he has to say yes yes yes.
He would be wagging his tail and accepting in silence and when he is out of the closed door, he would relay the message to his surbordinates and expecting them to say yes and wag their tails. He would say them nicely but if you react, you would be wacked behind closed doors or you end up on the blacklist.
These traits are found everywhere, in GLCs and army. I had encountered many times in army where no questions should be asked and if you asked, you are blacklisted and put on weekend dutys. And in GLC meeting, the GM would say this and that and everyone must accept and act, no questions ask too. If you raised doubts, you end up on the blacklist.
I think we are not wrong about TSL’s small mind and other traits, this is Singapore my friend, not America, it is a hybrid regime and authoritarian and the politicians are moulded that way. Singapore is not open, it painted an open society but we have seen it in Army and GLCs.. ha ha ha
For your info, TSL would not be the PM, DPM maybe… supporting crown prince who is overseas on prestigious PSC scholarship but never did really well in school. ha haha
55) Mr Lee on August 14th, 2009 2.59 am
“Would like to add that its not fair to describe him or any of his parliamentary colleagues as teacher’s pet. We all have bosses to answer to and we do what is required of us. So long as we do not compromise our integrity in the process, we have every right to be subordinate to our bosses…right?”
A politician job should not be regarded the same 100% with private companies where anything can go as long as it makes money.
politicians should be responsible to help the people.
it requires people who want to help the people and this requires people with strong moral values.
58) Shhhh Shhhhh – you seem very naive. This government is all about making $$$, and you are so naive to think our politicians have strong moral values?
58) Shhhh Shhhhh on August 14th, 2009 9.56 am
politicians should be responsible to help the people.
it requires people who want to help the people and this requires people with strong moral values.
Yes it’s true that politicians owe their electorate an obligation to have their best interests at heart. So how EXACTLY has Teo Ser Luck breached his obligation?
So far I’ve only seen high handed rhetoric about how this guy is a PAP yes man and lousy crude jokes about him barking. In order to prove that TSL has breached this obligation, you need to prove 2 things.
1. He acted AGAINST the interests of the people. Acting in the interests of the people but not doing enough doesnt count, because everyone has a different opinion of exactly “how much” one ought to do.
2. He acted against the people despite having A BETTER ALTERNATIVE option available to him at that time and place. Hindsight is always 20/20, and it’s easy to criticize someone for a decision, but it’s a different situation when you’re in his position.
I hate the CPF life scheme. He didn’t goes vote against it in the Parliment. PERIOD.
I make decision upon facts I known… not opinions.
60) XiiAoGeNgEnX – everyone of them is the same lah. if he is in hdb, our hdb would cost millions too. if he in transport, erp be raised to $10 per gantry.
that party only allows barking dogs to be member.
If these PAP online sites are so good, how come that REACH never reply me but sent me a auto-reply message instead?
to @ 53) MIc O Mic and @ 54) Mr Lee,
Both of you claim to know Teo Ser Luck personally, then it is not unreasonable to request you guys to convey my question to Teo SL.
Where does Teo S L stand in the event of a freak elections result not in PAP’s favour and one old fart decides to send in the army ?
Serving nation or serving political masters ? and it is of public interest, right ?
XiiAoGeNgEnX
“So far I’ve only seen high handed rhetoric about how this guy is a PAP yes man and lousy crude jokes about him barking. In order to prove that TSL has breached this obligation, you need to prove 2 things.
1. He acted AGAINST the interests of the people. Acting in the interests of the people but not doing enough doesnt count, because everyone has a different opinion of exactly “how much” one ought to do.
2. He acted against the people despite having A BETTER ALTERNATIVE option available to him at that time and place. Hindsight is always 20/20, and it’s easy to criticize someone for a decision, but it’s a different situation when you’re in his position.”
really? eh, can you enlighten everyone what has he contributed to society so far? doing things for his personal self interest does not count, that includes climbing the career ladder.
we’re talking about someone who is not an unpaid volunteer btw.
I have been following the news in Taiwan recently about the typhoon and the rescue efforts.
Their love for their country is so great. So many donations…many people have sacrificed their lives to rescue others, reporters charging to the most dangerous of locations, utilities workers working even till after midnight to restore water and power, so many volunteers…
I told my Taiwanese friend over msn how I envy and respect their love for their country. I really wished I loved my country the way they did.
He asked me if I knew how much SG donated to Taiwan…..I did not
It was $200,000 USD or a 3-room flat.
I can’t help but feel ashamed. So many people have died, lost their homes. No food, no water….A million children have been separated from their parents. That is SG for you.
good point. coming from a partisan community, the words seem incredulous.
even if they are determined to keep it strictly neutral, there is fear and worry among netizens.
Just feel that I need to speak up since I know Ser Luck for so many years right when he started working. Yes, he is a very humble person,cares for people and not afraid to lead from the front. I can understand why 54) Mr. Lee felt he is small-minded. You probably misunderstood him. He is what I call a person who is very real, not afraid to speak up and doesnt hide. As such, he may seem intolerant because he speak straight from the heart and mind. But he has good intentions and is receptive to views. I used to work for him and he is one of the best bosses I had and most inspiring. Gave us a lot of chance to perform and best thing is he never claimed credit. He just have so much drive and passion and it greatly influence us. Most times, he thinks ahead and put up strong case. But he does accept his is not the best idea when a subodinate comes up with something better and he gladly change his plan. And he protected us when we were in trouble with our corporate headquarters even offering to resign from the company. I would always respect and thank him for that. For someone that young holding these positions, even if he makes a mistake, I can cut him some slack as a voter. It has only been slightly more than 3 political years for him. He would learn and become a better politician and I can wait as I know he would be good for this country and citizens. I am older than him and have seen much but never felt more encouraged by what he has done so far. Never imagined I would speak for PAP but i would for Ser Luck, as he always wanted to us to call him instead of boss.
Teo Ser Luck seems to have quite a few friends speaking in his defence. Nice.
To all his pals,
if Teo SL is that good, then the more reason he should contest in a One on One for the next GE. That’s right ! Lead from the front and show his spineless PM he is made of better stuff.
In fact Teo SL should openly encourage his spineless PM to revert all wards to single seat contest, compete fairly like a true sportsman. And of course Teo SL ought to understand this, right ?
Otherwise all the sing song praises about him is worthless.
Many young men and ladies who are Spore’s future are reading and watching.
69) anotherfriend
I don’t doubt the content of what you write. However yours is based on limited context and issues.
I believe he is well suited at MCYS as he himself is a keen triathlete
To me TSL lacks intellect and had DUCKED real ISSUES concerning matters of public interest as regards govt policies.
……………………………
70) justify the praise
I support your call to TSL to contest in a single constituency.
Dear Another friend
I think you have misunderstood what I was trying to say about TSL. I do not doubt that he speaks his mind. I am saying that when he does, his views are narrow and steeped in fore-judgement. I am not saying that he is a bad person. like I said, I believe he is a great team leader, but it takes more than good leadership or management to make good policies that affect the lives of others. I have no doubt that he has good intentions, in fact, I firmly believe that all our members of our cabinet have good intentions, but intentions alone are not always enough.
Cheers