Kenneth Jeyaretnam

Kenneth Jeyaretnam is the Secretary-General of the Reform Party (RP). He delivered this speech last night at RP’s 1st Anniversary Dinner.

Good Evening, Ladies and Gentlemen.

I would like to extend a warm welcome to you, on this the Reform Party’s First Anniversary Dinner. It is good to see so many people here tonight, diplomats from around the world and representatives of most of the active Opposition parties in Singapore but most importantly it is good to see Reform Party members, their families and all our supporters. And what a lot of you there are. You are the reason we are here today. Thank you.

(Photo Credit: Rachel Zeng)

So, The Reform Party is one year old – Well not quite! Hungry Ghosts and Ramadan took precedence so The Reform Party is actually 14 months old. But, it is of course, almost exactly one year after the founder of the Reform Party, the late Mr. J. B. Jeyaretnam, passed away. Almost a year since JBJ stood in this restaurant on this stage and said:

“Cast off the slumber into which you have been led for the last 50 years, wake up to your rights as a human being, to your proper role as citizens of this country.”

And it is one year since JBJ was interviewed by Hugo Restall of the Wall Street Journal. In that interview JBJ said he was often accused of talking too much about politics so now he was going to speak about economics. For my part, I speak too often of economics. I’m confident you all know by now that I am an economist. But I am also a politician, a politician who has the honour, the privilege, and the responsibility of leading Singapore’s brightest new Party, The Reform Party. So tonight, as is only right, I am going to speak about Politics.

Recently we were given a history lesson in Parliament, by our Minister Mentor Mr Lee Kuan Yew, no less. We were told that in the US, despite the phrase from the Declaration of Independence that “all men were created equal”, it took till 1964 for the Voting Rights Act to be passed. This Act prevented the former slave-owning states in the US using a number of subterfuges to prevent black Americans from voting. It was then remarked that it took nearly another fifty years for America to elect its first Black President.

I suppose that this was to illustrate that Singaporeans could not expect dramatic changes to the way they were governed when after all such reforms had taken 200 odd years in the US. The Analogy is in the first place bogus. If the lesson is that we are not to be impatient, that we are to be content with the system we have, that it is not unreasonable to wait another 50 years for change then that analogy must be followed to its logical conclusion. Our senior ministers should at this very time be saying to us “don’t worry that you are still travelling by Bullock Cart. Progress takes time. Even in America it took 150 years to invent the car.”

But of course No-one in Parliament says any such thing. As any smart young nation would, we leapfrogged the technology bypassing the Penny Farthing and went straight to the MRT and LRT stages. We can make the same leaps with democratic processes.

In any case, don’t be fooled. The lesson to be learnt from America is not the length of time it took for this to happen (even in 2007 who would have thought that a Black man with a Muslim name would become the next occupant of the White House) The lesson to be learnt is that this momentous event did not happen by magic. Instead there was a rising trend of registering Black voters resulting in increased Black participation in American political society and an increasing number of Blacks elected to both Federal and State legislatures and as Governors and Mayors. This culminated in record numbers of Black voters turning out in the presidential election of 2008, so that southern states that since at least the 1960s had always voted for a Republican candidate, suddenly turning Democrat and voted for Obama.

So, Singaporeans, it won’t happen by magic. There is a process involved. If you desire a government that has at its heart a commitment to improve the lives of ordinary Singaporeans then you are the only people who can bring about those changes that put in place a chain of events that culminated in 2008 in the US with the election of Obama or this year in Japan with the victory of the Democratic Party, ending a virtually unbroken 55 year rule of the LDP. And it starts with Waking up! And then Signing up!

As in America that process will begin with one person, then 10 then 100. Communism in Eastern Europe was finally put to rest when that first person climbed on the Berlin wall and started chipping away at it. I‘m not advocating mass disobedience, I’m reminding you that ultimately power resides in the people but if you are not prepared to climb on the wall in your mind and start chipping away at it then you will remain powerless.

But it will not be easy. From every avenue The Government will tell you that there is no need to vote for the Opposition. In fact the Opposition is just a distraction. They have generously given us the NCMP and NMP schemes. Well let me tell you -The NMP scheme is a fundamental subversion of democratic principles that would be laughed at in any properly democratic country. Let me hear no more of NMP’s and their so called voices.

Secondly it is ludicrous to equate NCMPs with NMPs when under our current GRC system 33% of those able to vote in the 2006 elections voted for Opposition candidates and yet the Opposition only won 2 out of the 84 seats in Parliament, which equates to 2.4% of the total. Let’s get that right- 33% of the votes resulting in 2.4 % of the seats. Enough of waiting 50 years! We need a government that will abolish the GRC system and go back to SMCs or move to a system of proportional representation where NCMPs would have the same powers as directly elected MPs.

And what of the argument, often used by the Government in past elections and too often repeated unquestioningly by Singaporeans, that any constituency which votes for the Opposition will find itself moved to the back of the queue for HDB upgrading and other goodies. Firstly, the money does not belong to the Government; it belongs to you, the taxpayers. You earned it, you gave it to them for safekeeping and you should determine how it’s spent. I would stand the argument on its head and say to you, the people of Singapore, if you don’t vote for the Opposition then you will remain powerless to get the changes you desire, need and deserve – not just for your HDB estates but for your country and your lives

But how can you vote for a representative if there isn’t one to be found? It is compulsory to vote in Singapore, unlike in the US and yet for too many of you voting is a meaningless exercise. You are effectively disenfranchised because the Opposition has been unable to find sufficient candidates and financial resources to contest more than half of the constituencies. In 2006 the PAP were able to gain 37 seats on Nomination Day without having to contest them, because candidates could not be found to stand in these constituencies. This is a travesty of how the democratic process is supposed to work and for those of you living in those constituencies you might as well be living in North Korea or China, for all the ability you have to choose your representative.

So not only do we need you to vote, we also need those among you with the necessary abilities and determination to come forward and become candidates.
So I am upping the ante. And adding Stand Up! to Wake Up! and Sign up!

Finally, getting back to that History lesson and The US election campaign, I’d like to remind you of something Obama said frequently during his campaign taking a quote from the poet June Jordan by way of Alice Walker:

“Change will not happen if we wait for some other person or some other time. We are the ones we’ve been waiting for.”

If you want to see policies that put the welfare of ordinary Singaporeans first, then come out and support us The Reform Party, or another Opposition party –

Because I will say this to all of you today: “You are the ones I am waiting for.”

So Wake Up! Sign Up! Stand Up! …………or at the very least buy a T-shirt!

Thank you again for supporting us here tonight and we look forward to growing numbers of you coming forward to join us as we contest our first elections.

23 Responses to “Change will not happen if we wait for some other person or some other time”

1. Singaporean will never wake up or step up..

Maybe two out of ten will rush out to face the challenge, while the rest will step aside and watch.Once defeated, the rest will pass sarcastic remarks and move on.

I’m not ashamed to say that i will be among those who step aside and watch the two .

2. Voting for the opposition is not a big deal.

It makes healthy sense as competetion is always good for the counsumer and the public at large.

The PAP is turning mouldy and stale.

3. ErniesUrn 26 September 2009

Dexter,

You make me laugh. Are you also saying that if you were in the army, you will use your eye power too? Just curious.

4. mathematics 26 September 2009

really sorry that dexter feels that way.

perhaps that’s the extent of the anomie that has been pervasive in Singaporeans. the system needs change.

I think the reform party is in a good position to alter that mindset; to make Singaporeans feel empowered enough to elect their government of choice in office.

5. Congratulation to Mr Kenneth Jeyaretna – & Members of Reform Party (RP)!

Fair speech! Excellence reminder for Singaporeans “Change will not happen if we wait for some other person or some other time. We are the ones we’ve been waiting for.”

“Stand Up! Wake Up! & Sign up!”

Dr Chee Soon Juan Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) may add “Speak Up” in your motto, So!…..“Stand Up! & Speak Up” Two of you can be solidarity of “Singapore Democratic Reform Party “ That’s sound amazing!

“Singapore Democratic Reform Party “

“Stand Up! & Speak Up” “Stand Up! & Speak Up” “Stand Up! & Speak Up”

6. “Maye two out of ten will rush out to face the challenge, while the rest will step aside and watch.Once defeated, the rest will pass sarcastic remarks and move on.

I’m not ashamed to say that i will be among those who step aside and watch the two ”

Care to join the Reserve Party ? Designed for Reserve which only appear at last moment either booing the opp party or the incumbent party. Their T-shirt is imprinted with kangaroo nonetheless.

7. andrew leung 26 September 2009

I look forward to the Reform Party winning at least 1 seat. I hope more potential candidates come forward to join your party.

8. haha “reserve party”!! daniel must be talking about the sdp! kangaroo t-shirts!

I wonder why the sdp bothers to keep up with their politics of protest when singaporeans are not buying. really don’t undertand chee soon juan.

the reform party is way more moderate and acceptable to the public. they have good ideas and a proper standing. their branding looks good too. must never diminish their branding by mixing with the sdp, although opposition unity is very important.

I think the reform party will win an smc ward at least at the next elections. but I hope they take a grc and make a real change to the system. yes la! singapore needs reform!

9. Good speech Kenneth. Please keep it up.
    Also, please work out the math — what does that 33 per cent who are in the opposition ranks mean in terms of numbers? Appeal to these people to each contribute $10. That should help set up a kitty to fund the opposition campaign.
    I used to buy JBJ’s books each time I met him selling them in Raffles Place. It was my gesture of support for a brave man.
    I now pledge at least the amount amount I spent buying JBJ’s books to the Reform Party in support of democratic principles.

10. FrogInTheWell 27 September 2009

So can someone tell me what’s wrong with the Singapore system and how the oppo is going to make it better?

11. Wah seh, man…Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam, you good Asian, mah. Must obey father what. Talk must like father. He so happy now in heaven. He champion Tikam Tikam politics, you oso have followed. Filial son. Voters sure suka you.

All will support you, lah. Don’t afraid, ok!. No worry. Politics and Economics always together. No good politics no good for money, yah. No good economics,
    politics also cannot jalan. Some more now,no chance politics or economics leh. now just frighten become approved opposition, noise making opposition, tah boleh tahan opposition or drunk one like Gopalan Nair. Don’t worry PAP will decide for you. See Mr Chiam, PAP do all his homework for him lol. Senang only.Opposition want to help him also cannot. So sad he on your stage. Make picture like opposition no young leaders. Very strange no mixing of young and old.
    never mind, people don’t care about picture. now pocket very bad. what good economics can help, hah??? go man go!

12. Great speech Kenneth!! My respect is yours. Irregardless how small the influence of the opposition parties, it will only be a matter of time when the opposition voices grow louder & louder & I prophesy that it is only a matter of time when the ruling party gets voted out even if the contest is unfair. Maybe after this coming freak election, you will see more people stepping forward to lead this country to a new dawn. And we will get to spit at the people who sold our land, our jobs, our citizenship & our pride to the foreigners.

13. Great job Kenneth. Since you are an economist, I am very sure you are aware that opposition politics tend to be underprovided in Singapore due to the classic public good aspect of it.

It is non-rival because any opposition sympathizer can reap the gains of all your success without diminishing any amount of it.

It is non-excludable because, once u guys succeed, you cannot stop anyone who is unwilling to pay the price, as you did, from enjoying your success.

Thus, standard economics would predict that, even if Singaporeans are supportive, they will want to free ride on your efforts without joining you.

In the meantime, of course, as Aseop has said, who is going to bell the cat?

14. angry_one 29 September 2009

Not everyone is cut out to be a politician, and running for elections is not the only way to contribute to a better nation. As we heard from Obama last year, effort can come from actions as small as donations, talking to people we know, and even coming to the forums or writing to the opposition with fresh ideas.

15. Dear KJ

Much as I hope and would like that Reform Party in general and your goodself in particular would emerge triumphant in your pursuit, I am not optimistic.

The attitude and reaction by those who have lost tens of thousands, and some even millions in the Lehman Brothers related structured products, and are just free-loading on the efforts of a minority epitomise the said and regrettable state of affair of these down trodden people.

Good luck/

16. andrew leung 30 September 2009

I hope you can find 5 or more members to contest together for the 2011 GE.

http://www.pap.org.sg/articleview.php?id=4859&cid=23
    32. Overall, changes to NCMP, NMP and GRC/SMC schemes will result in a more balanced system
    a. With at least 12 SMCs, fewer 6-member GRCs and a range of smaller GRCs
    b. Each Parliament will have at least 9 opposition members and 9 NMPs
    c. So there will be at least 18 MPs who are not from ruling party
    d. This is about one-fifth of the House

17. lau hum koo 30 September 2009

Congratulation to Mr Kenneth Jeyaretna – & Members of Reform Party (RP)!

18. I am not sure of Kenneth or anyone from RP is reading this but I hope they do.

I must say, sadly, Singaporeans, in general, are a passive lot. I also cannot blame them for being so passive. When you are fed and have a roof over your head versus possibly getting harassed by government stooges, the choice is rather obvious.

Not many people will be brave enough to stand up and fight or lead, unless they have nothing else to lose. Most people would just stand one side and be commentator and give snide remarks. To that extend, the first poster was correct.

Only one with a strong conviction and the willpower to do so will stand up and lead.

However, change can be done. But we still need the opposition to do one more thing, despite all the various hard work so many of your peers and forebears have suffered, we still would like to ask for one last boon from you.

Form an alliance with other opposition parties. Once you form an alliance, voters will wake up. Firstly, you will unite all the various fragmented opposition voters. Instead of picking and choosing this party or that party, they have only two choices. PAP or the opposition alliance. I am sure their choice will be very clear.

Once the opposition voters are united, the fence sitters may also take note and cast their votes on the opposition camp. We may even be able to woo some of the more rational element of PAP voters who felt there were no “credible” opposition.

Form an alliance. Unite.

History has told us that in the face of an hegemony, divided we fall and united we stand.

The Mongols fought among themselves until they united under Genghis Khan’s banner and was able to take on empire China and the rest of the world.

The Scots were able to unite under William Wallace and Robert the Bruce and take on England.

Napoleon was able to conquer almost all of Europe until many countries united and defeated him.

The Nazis tried to do this again and again was defeated by the alliance of many countries, some of them even former and later enemies.

The 13 colonies united and allied with France to gain their freedom as United States from United Kingdom.

The United Kingdom itself became a superpower because of the union of 3 or 4 former enemies and went on to create the British Empire.

Unite, ally and then watch us follows. As we follow, more will do so.

Do this and people will not only stand up, they will JUMP UP and say “Here we are!”

19. I really want to vote PAP out. But walkovers have prevented me time and again.

Do you know 43.4% of Singaporeans did not get to vote in 2006 because of walkovers?

For goodness sake, will the opposition at least try?

20. Walkovers are due to lack of resource by opposition. If you want to vote, do your part and donate to opposition parties. Encourage others to donate and write letters to opposition to ask them contest your ward.

They also won’t contest in your ward if previous GE results in your ward is bad.

Other ways to donate is buy or subscribe to their publications or newsletters so they can raise funds.

Finally, if your ward is LKY or GCT then good luck.