Thursday, September 10, 2009 23:22
Facebook MPs
In Andrew Loh, Main Stories, Top Story • 2,332 views • 46 Comments
Andrew Loh
One meets his Member of Parliament for various reasons. The most common, of course, is when one has a problem. MPs conduct Meet The People Sessions or MPS, which are held weekly in the MPs’ constituencies. One might also meet his MP when the MP is on his walkabout or at a public forum. Besides these opportunities for personal contact with MPs, there do not seem to be many other opportunities.
Of course, now there’s the Internet. Not as personal as being up close with the MPs but an opportunity nonetheless. They’re on the blogs, such as Minister George Yeo and to a lesser extent, Mr Teo Ser Luck who posts comments on the P65 blog. And thankfully, many MPs now are on Facebook as well. Most politicians, both from the ruling party and the opposition, have their personal pages. A notable absence is the Workers’ Party’s Mr Low Thia Khiang and Ms Sylvia Lim.
I haven’t interacted with all of the “Facebook MPs” but have had Facebook dialogues with several such as Minister Yeo, Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam from the Reform Party, and I’ve just been accepted as a friend on Mr Zaqy Mohamad’s Facebook friends list. Minister Yeo, being in charge of Foreign Affairs, naturally is very diplomatic, not the big bad wolf which some may make him out to be. Of course, like me, sometimes we’re disappointed with the replies he gives to our questions on Facebook. But one should understand that Facebook is primarily a personal page and one should not expect government policies to be spelt out in details there. Indeed, Minister Yeo has said that he hopes for his Facebook page to be “fun” and not for spelling out policy positions. Still, on the thorny issue of Burma, for example, Minister Yeo was sympathetic to what his detractors said on his page, but at the same time stood his ground on S’pore’s and Asean’s policy.
I feel that any politician who is afraid of the Internet and social networking sites like Facebook can take a leaf from Minister Yeo’s example. You can engage your audience and still stand your ground – and be respected for that, even if one is not convinced of his explanations or reasons for doing so.
In the future, perhaps online engagement will become an integral part of an MP’s outreach programme, besides the MPS. More and more Singaporeans are going online to seek out alternative views and new ideas, or even help with their problems. An MP who does not engage online, in the future, will be seen as some sort of dinosaur, or an anachronism – out of touch with the ground.
Of course, the most conspicuous absence among politicians are the top ministers – the Prime Minister, the Minister Mentor and the two Senior Ministers.
Perhaps it is time the Prime Minister made his presence felt online?
—
46 Comments
WD Tan
No Excuse
I also feel that WP has not done enough.
They owe it to their supporters, imho.
whoistalking
WP should change the party name, Singaporean do not wish to be workers any more. Everyone wish to be their own boss in one way or the other, the majority are enjoying a good life and no urge to work more that is why we need all the foreign worker to take over all those lousy jobs.
Mr Low Thia Khiang and Ms Sylvia Lim are on facebook. In fact, if I’m not wrong, they were there earlier than Minister George Yeo and P65.
Triple Threat
but it’s not managed by the supposedly “owners” themselves but their supporters. :(
Dulan
I think they are from the older generation so they are likely not good at IT.
Dulan
Andrew, I thought we have only one SM? Since when we have another one?
Oxford Dude
Hi Dutan,
There was a Cabinet Reshuffle in March 2009. The 2 Senior Minsiters are Goh Chok Tong and S Jayakumar.
PM also got
The PM has got a FB page too….but not too sure if its done by him or someone else.
is there some kind of game in FB where we can throw shoes at their faces?
Kaypoh
Andrew Loh indicates in his own facebook that he is among George Yeo’s FANs, that says a lot about this article and TOC.
Friend or Foe
Making friends online doesn’t mean you can’t be enemy offline. The question should not be about how many facebooks one has or whether a person has a facebook or not. It is about making things work and being down-to-earth with the people on the ground like the old folks and the needy poor. How many of these people have PC not to mention even having dialogue over the facebook with MPs. I respect MPs who worked the ground to help the less fortunate than spending million of their time & dollars supporting unpopular policies and than stay behind the the comfort of their screen pretending “to engage” and acted friendly without much fruit for the people offline.
OnlineShmonline
Regarding being a fan of some of Singapore’s online politicians, I think it makes sense to engage them in a manner we are comfortable with. Yes, sound policies matter and if we don’t agree with what the politicians are doing, we have to let them know.
To me, being a fan in Facebook doesn’t mean I endorse those I’m a ‘fan’ of. There is no other way to get updates about Facebook politicians and this is an easy way to keep tabs. Of course, seeing what Minister George Yeo likes to eat and where he travels may appear trivial but sometimes he shares observations about places that seem to suggest what’s on his mind – that is something you cannot get unless you ‘hang out’ with him.
FaceBook Question
1. Is all that is reported as Loss , the whole loss and nothing more than the loss?
2. Is Opposition like WP Complacent in terms of not being much different than it was before in the last 2 elections? What have they to show their supporters that they have fully made used of the 5 years to prepare for better results? Name me 1. just 1.
3. What is the Reality of Opposition? What Real efforts have they put in to engage the majority who did not vote for them? No, Excuse is not the answer I looking for.
4. Who is prep’d to take over GIC?
5. Will there be recession next year?
For #10
Yaw Shin Leong said he voted for his supposedly competitor party.
What is the REALity?
Kilimanjaro
We need a new Loyal Opposition to prevent Complacency.
Depresso
Friend or Foe at 11),
I gave you a thumbs up as I am agreeable to most of your comments, with the exception that “The question should not be about how many facebooks one has or whether a person has a facebook or not.”
With the majority of the Singapore households having at least a PC at home, and more time being spent infront of the computer, this is one of the most efficient ways to engage the masses online, and to convey information which could have never seen the daylight if we are still living in the 90’s and before.
Mr banana
Maybe Adrew should volunteer for George to help in manage his facebook?
I mean there is nothing wrong to do that.
1. TOC is not opposition.
2. TOC has not formed a political party.
3. We must not assume that TOC is for Opposition.
Feel free to criticise me. I beg you.
Anon
Minister Yeo has said that he hopes for his Facebook page to be “fun”…
Of course it would be FUN for him when no accountability is required and he continues to draw his minister’s salary and travel far and wide as the foreign minister.
admin
Mr Low and Ms Lim’s FB pages are not maintained by them.
Being a friend of George Yeo doesn’t mean I agree with everything he says, as I pointed out in the article. Zaqy Mohamad is also a fan of TOC’s Facebook. I am sure he doesn’t agree with everything we say.
Lets move on from this fake dichotomy – that if you’re not for us, you are against us. I think that is a very shallow view to take.
As for me helping to maintain GY’s FB, Mr yeo manages it very well by himself. He doesn’t need me.. ;)
Anonymous
“A notable absence is the Workers’ Party’s Mr Low Thia Khiang and Ms Sylvia Lim.”
Is it fair to single out WP’s 2 politicians and leave out SDA’s Chiam See Tong?
Although Chiam has been inflicted by a stroke and is of poor health, as long as he chooses to continue his MP-ship, he should be judged by the same yardstick accordingly, No?
It does not cost that much to pay someone to maintain his facebook from his monthly MP allowance.
The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 11 Sep 2009
[...] Daily Discourse – TOC: Facebook MPs [...]
aygee
Is the PM ready to have a facebook?
the bigger question is – is he ready to be known as a person, rather than a fatherly figure PM, someone who speaks only when he has to be heard? is he ready to share, engage, discuss? is he ready to LISTEN?
MIA Facebook
I don’t think it will ever be a good time for the PM to make his presence felt on line, not when he has been disappearing at the most opportune moment. LOL
Just imagine the PM having a Facebook and he replies or make comments like once a year, hopefully. LOL
The question is who can help him out ? FamiLee members or those in PMO like Lim Swee Say, Lim HH, etc. ? Perhaps TOC ?
nothoodwinked
“Perhaps it is time the Prime Minister made his presence felt online?”
If he makes himself felt during time of need and crisis (eg Mas Selamat escape,
the toxi investments debacle, the massive losses of GIC & TH) and take charge,
we should be more than happy. No need facebook or twitter .
“Andrew Loh indicates in his own facebook that he is among George Yeo’s FANs, that says a lot about this article and TOC. ”
Some people prefer to keep their work life and personal life separate. Why don’t you judge TOC on the merits of its contents instead of judging it based on its writers.
“Maybe Adrew should volunteer for George to help in manage his facebook?
I mean there is nothing wrong to do that.
1. TOC is not opposition.
2. TOC has not formed a political party.
3. We must not assume that TOC is for Opposition.”
I think its great that TOC seeks to remain non-partisan, since I’m quite sure this is what people are looking for in a free press.
Anonymous
“Non-partisan” is a misnomer for TOC’s supposed mission for investigative journalism.
Consider this piece of latest news, “Myanmar junta siphons gas revenue offshore [to Singapore banks]”
http://www.reuters.com/article/marketsNews/idUSBKK35660720090910
The Singapore government (PAP) and the junta have been the best of buddies for years – Singapore is one of the largest investors in Burma and has turned a blind eye to the horrific abuses suffered by the Burmese people.
And here we have the TOC playing “non-partisan” and even singing Geroge Yeo’s praises as in the para:
“Still, on the thorny issue of Burma, for example, Minister Yeo was sympathetic to what his detractors said on his page, but at the same time stood his ground on S’pore’s and Asean’s policy.”
Non-partisan, My Foot!
Oxford Dude
26) Anonymous on September 11th, 2009 4.05 pm
And here we have the TOC playing “non-partisan” and even singing Geroge Yeo’s praises as in the para:
TOC has limited resources in exercising its coverage. You ought to be releastic in your expectations.
admin
Singing GY’s praises? Lets put it this way, if someone’s action is worthy of praise, lets not be afraid to give it. Otherwise, it makes us all very small human beings, with very small minds.
Waiting Game
And this brings back memories of the several Conspiracy theories since the inception of TOC.
sigh….
i continue to play the waiting game. The only joy to expect. That does not require human intervention. That is a sure thing to happen. That no money nor power can stop it from happening. And maybe enough a bonus holiday.
Fake Meat
The FUNNY thing about opposite is that
despite they having 33.3% supporters,
they have not engaged them directly, most of these 33.3% despite the fact that years have passed and the country is just a city small enough to reach out to these easily over many years.
So Funny. I got to tell my taiwan friends about it.
The situation is so funny i afraid i may go mad if i cannot find the reason why the situation is so funny.
blastpapfacebook
We should blast the PAP facebook with questions, since they are always called themselves ‘ talent’, till they shut down their facebook account.
I really like the comments about throwing shoes at them in the facebook.
Hopefully, there is such a game.
why before election a lot of heavy news coverage on Lee?
The STRANGEST thing i find about Oppo is they have not shown they are able to capitalise on the strong turnout in their speech sessions. some please unstrange my thinking.
faceLESSbook
do you all know that in the olden days, our prince the prime minister do not allowed any TVs in his house?
why on earth do he wants to do that? NEWs blackouts perhaps?
butt… he do employed 2 maids..
how i know? simply because when he was seekin pay increased in parliament donkey years ago..he cited the reasons for pay increased was that he too have 2 maids salaries/levies to pay as well…
this expenses cannot be borne by ah kong accounts in istena…
THAT IS THE ONE AND ONLY REASON….
now you want him to do a facebook? when everytime he pee, he have to ask his father to hold his pants?
~sigh~
“And here we have the TOC playing “non-partisan” and even singing Geroge Yeo’s praises as in the para:
…
Non-partisan, My Foot!”
This is the full context that you might do well to quote the next time.
“Indeed, Minister Yeo has said that he hopes for his Facebook page to be “fun” and not for spelling out policy positions. Still, on the thorny issue of Burma, for example, Minister Yeo was sympathetic to what his detractors said on his page, but at the same time stood his ground on S’pore’s and Asean’s policy.
I feel that any politician who is afraid of the Internet and social networking sites like Facebook can take a leaf from Minister Yeo’s example. You can engage your audience and still stand your ground – and be respected for that, even if one is not convinced of his explanations or reasons for doing so.”
As you can see, Andrew Loh was only singing George Yeo’s praises for engaging Singaporeans online. If you must criticise something, you should criticise the way he gives canned responses to people when on facebook, not the fact that he is on facebook and willing to engage Singaporeans online.
As for whether TOC took a partisan stance, I think your conclusion is rather far fetched. Just because George Yeo is to blame for Singapore’s aiding and abetting of the Burmese junta, deosn’t mean the TOC has to point this out at every turn, especially when that would detract from the main point of the article.
Further, TOC’s statement, “Minister Yeo was sympathetic to what his detractors said on his page, but at the same time stood his ground on S’pore’s and Asean’s policy,” was simply reporting what they observed from his online activities. They have made no judgment whatsoever and you cannot possibly imply that they are not non-partisan for that.
4) DK
///// Mr Low Thia Khiang and Ms Sylvia Lim are on facebook. In fact, if I’m not wrong, they were there earlier than Minister George Yeo and P65.
http://www.facebook.com/lowthiakhiang
http://www.facebook.com/sylvialimsweelian //////////
Alamak !
It just baffles me why TOC writers repeatedly make such errors?
And I get moderated for voicing about it.
Since “MSM’ don’t do accurate reporting, all the more, TOC should rise above that and show that the new media can better then them.
Spirit-centred
May I suggest that any candidates who do not win the elections should become shadowed MP of the constituency they stand in the elections. They should at least conduct their Meet-The-People-Session online through their constituency tag on their party’s websites. They should annouce this communication channel during election rally and their block visits so that awareness are created among the youths who are most likely to engage online rather MPS at the void deck.
This awareness will create his visibility in the minds of the youths and also make him sincere and credible to them.
You have to admire politicians for being alert to the benefits of the internet and I sometimes wish that business people would also wake up to the way in which the new media is changing the way that people react.
I actually salute guys like George Yeo who interacts online and faces people who, thanks to the use of pseudonym decide they can be REALLY HONEST with him in the crudest of terms. It speaks well of the Minister that he’s willing to go down on the ground to be able to talk to people at their level.
For the record, Minister Yeo is the not the only person who has gets “New Media.” For the record, I have Vivan Balakrishnan and Dr Lim Wee Kiak (Sembawang GRC) as friends on Facebook. Facebook is an easy channel to talk to otherwise unaccessible people.
So, if we have at least two ministers who “Get” new media, why is there a constant gripe in the MSM and beyond about why it’s not credible? Perhaps Acting MICA Minister Lui Tuck Yew should take a leaf from George Yeo and start a blog.
y
u wan PM come online to kena blast online as well is it?
Faker Realism
28) admin on September 11th, 2009 5.10 pm
i am sure many readers have been Confused and Distracted by the ‘change of heart’.
regards
cyberscrewmind divide and conquer.
Artemov
LHL doesn’t even make his presence felt in real life, so why bother with online?
The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Weekly Roundup: Week 37
[...] Daily Discourse – The Kent Ridge Common: Post-mortem of a saga: Brand name doesn’t aways sell – Singaporean Skeptic: The priorities of our Government. – Chemical Generation Singapore: Cow Heads and Scapegoats – Singapore Angle: The Operating Spectrum of Civil Society – The Singapore Sports Fan: Move over, SIA, it’s the MCYS’ turn to fend off the brickbats – Today In Singapore: Toys For Army Boys – Singabloodypore: Singaporean Capitalism: A Love Story & Freedom for Sale – Yawning Bread: Proscribing seditious and hate speech – Today In Singapore: Uniquely Singapore – The Brotherhood Press: The Words We Regularly Use To Say Nothing Is Something – A Study in the travesty of reason – Chemical Generation Singapore: Passing the Hat Around – TOC: Facebook MPs [...]
darky
Other WP-related Facebook Pages:
The Workers’ Party Youth Wing
http://www.facebook.com/wpyouth
Low Thia Khiang
http://www.facebook.com/lowthiakhiang
Sylvia Lim
http://www.facebook.com/sylvialimsweelian
WP-related Facebook Groups and past WP leaders:
Workers’ Party Singapore Supporters
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=10878451692
David Saul Marshall
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=16063898916
J. B. Jeyaretnam
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=26481019410
Dr Lee Siew Choh
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=15837757356
Stanley
Is there a Facebook game where I can fix Lee Hsien Loong with Mee Siam Mai Hum?
Pee M eats hum
It will be a damn waste of time for PM Lee to make his presence felt online,
not when Ho Ching and Lee Snr are way ahead of him in real life, for the Wrong reasons of course ! Oh yes, not forgetting younger sister Wei Ling is already one up on him too. LOL…………
Perhaps better for PM Lee to work on .mee rebus mai hum ? meepok mai hum ?
RED-man
///#4
but it’s not managed by the supposedly “owners” themselves but their supporters.
Vote Saved.\\\\
if LTK was to manage his facebook himself, that would be a serious problem. Only MPs with nothing to do will manage it themselves. Then again, whoever that manage the facebook for them, has to seek his approval or agreement for what is being replied and what is being post in their facebook, yah?
Imagine if the person scold LKY in LTK facebook, what will happened. Therefore by arguing LTK did not manage the facebook mean nothing and very lame.
YPY
Most if not all the MPs have their own facebook pages – which is the ‘in’ thing and more of a PR stunt for them to appear more ‘humane’ to the ppl on the ground – but to what extent (I’m sure everyone knows).
Also one thing abt some of the facebook page is that, you have to become a ‘fan’ of that person’s page inorder to leave comments – thus it may nt paint an accurate pic of just who is a ‘fan’.
Example, the WP and Young PAP pages – you have to be a ‘fan’ before you can comment. Hmm..
Anyways…no point checking out the Young PAP page as well – it’s more like a ’shrine’ for ppl to post positive things and praises abt their policies cos everytime someone raises a question or negative comment abt their discussion topic – they will attack in hordes with their own and often lame defensive comments…

I guess their presence online ain’t that important. What we really long for is that they make sound policies.