“Happy Angel” interviews a resident who is seeking help – such as applying for food vouchers –  from his MP and other government departments. In this video, the resident explains the difficulty he faces when doing so.

“Happy Angel” has also posted the videos on the government’s website, REACH. (See here.) She wrote to the MP in question, Boon Lay MP Mrs Ho Geok Choo, but apparently has not received any response from her.

(The interview is in Chinese.)

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

44 Responses to “Handicapped resident applies for aid with MP but faces difficulties”

1. Terrified 29 September 2009

Residents in Jurong town GRC are not very happy with the existing team of pap . I have friends who stayed there and told me that those pap faces really irked him a lot.

2. Ah Long Kia 29 September 2009

These MPs where got time to entertain the less mortal, they only take care of their own business. My advice to these MPs, if they hv no interest or heart to serve the ppl then don’t stand for election. I believe they only go for the status and $$$ going into their bank account every mth.

3. commentator 29 September 2009

One shameful story after another – when will the PAP take note and take action? Or are they utterly shameless?

4. If you are lucky or in the past, you can get those aid vouchers if you visit Sim Lim and buy items from a stall… … … …

Well… MPs are not the only channels you can get all those vouchers. Maybe some shops are distributing them currently as well, but maybe you have to buy somethings from them in exchange…

This one, I am not sure MM knew about it, but I have made sure he knows it now… At least the poor, you know, can get vouchers we were distributing at MPSs without attacking MPs who rejected their pleas for assistance. They can at least buy a computer or peripheral and get some vouchers from shops…

5. mr.Mister 29 September 2009

These higher mortals rather spend $10M to help the FTs to integrate into our society so they can compete comfortably for our jobs, our resources and our land. Yet they pose obstacles to these genuine citizens who need help ?

6. Chua Sai Hoong 29 September 2009

I wrote to a big shot. Very the big kind of big shot about a problem in my neighborhood and cc an even bigger big shot.

ZERO replies after several weeks.

7. So you are very sure what we see is what we get? Wake up and smell the coffee lah. Just as there are many genuine cases of hardship, there are equal numbers of leeches. How to tell who is real and who is not?

8. I fully agree that deserving cases should be and must be assisted.

The problem arises when you have cheats who just go around collecting food ration / vouchers and cash handouts at many charities all over the island.
    Some even obscenely abuse the system by selling off their food vouchers/ration and use the proceeds at betting booths and drinks – hence taking these charities for a ride.

Oh …….and these cheats are also very good in dramas too! Dont be hoodwinked by these people.

And for the able-bodied leeches…….if we have to import foreign workers, there is no reason for them to stretch out for handouts.

9. Many see, many understand the needy and nobody is doing any help.

Lastly, Everbody pointing finger to the government.

10. ErniesUrn 30 September 2009

GRC Walkovers … So that MPs can concentrate on they businesses as vice-presidents of some company.

http://www.singapore-elections.com/parl-2006-ge/west-coast-grc.html

Put an opposition team into that GRC this coming GE and you can be sure these Vice Presidents MPs will coming begging you for their vote they so desperately need… atleast to keep their rice bowl intact. Forget about asking them if they are willing to serve you full-time.

11. During Election times PAP MP will come to U telling “Russian Love Story”.
    Wake U up early in the morning for abalone porridge. Breadtalk Bread.and so on——– just to beg U for a vote. After election U have to beg them back. Now U see in opposition ward the resident have double incentive. I teach U this is a way U have to play the game. Goodu People

12. Today when I was at the Boon Lay Hawker Centre. One of the stall holder Mr.Ng told me : ‘ I was so angry, the RC people just went off. He came to every stall and the market to collect $30. He said one of the RC member was awarded PBM and need to put advertisement on the newspaper to congrate him.’

I asked : did he give you receipt?

He said : ‘no but he only said will put our stall’s name at the newspaper. I was so angry because I think it’s not fair for us to pay the money to show face for the RC people. Why should we pay the money? I want to be interviewed and speak out my mind.’

Is this a practice in RC so long time already? Can the above mentioned RC member collect money and do not issue receipt?

Can anyone answer? How is PA’s view?

Would TOC like to interview and follow up this matter?

13. Retired And Poor 1 October 2009

Sad, but I guess they would rather help a FT to get their citizenship papers done than having to spend time and money to help a handicapped person.

14. patriot 1 October 2009

Jane #13:

Wow! The RC People as descibed seemed very high-handed leh!

patriot

15. Modern Gangster 1 October 2009

Jane on October 1st, 2009 2.56 am
    He came to every stall and the market to collect $30. He said one of the RC member was awarded PBM and need to put advertisement on the newspaper to congrate him.’
    This showed that these RC members are LEGALISED gangsters collecting money from every stalls to please their cronies and master. I guess if the stall owner do not give in as requested, he will be marked and later on got into trouble with the RC. This shld’nt happen in this 1st world country. I suggest these stall owners shld band together and make a complain to the PM.

16. These new MPs nowadays only think of building an image with superfical means like putting up big banners & wasting money.

17. This PAP people will only help you if they can do it in a manner that is loud and visible. An example is the number of buses and MRT trains fitted with handicap-friendly features.

Every morning when I go to work, I am transported by an MRT train that has a few carriage cubicles emptied of seats with standing room only so that a handicap person can take the train. It has been almost a year now, and I have yet to see a handicap person taking a train, either in the morning or when I take the train home after work.

I cannot decipher the reason for converting so many carriages of a train to carry handicap passengers who are invisible when the need to fit the trains with elderly-friendly features are just as important. It is most unfortunate that because of the need to put Singapore on the handicap-friendly map, the graying population has to suffer when they find the seats of the train taken off, resulting in having to stand throughout the journey.

The same goes with our new fleet of handicap-friendly buses. Again, the whole front portion of these buses are taken off to make one wheelchair space. I have also yet to see one handicap wheel-chair bound passenger since the conversion. Meanwhile, the bus company continues to harp proudly on its increased frequencies and electronic monitoring system – forgetting that capacity, and being elderly-friendly is more important.

Coming back to the topic, I think we must all learn that when there is a need for us to pay our MPs a visit to seek help from them, we must approach them in such a way that there is reason for them to shout about. Only then will we be rendered the help we seek.

18. Hi @10) shiokshiok,

How wrong you are. There are many of us who silently go about seeking redress for the many wrongs we encounter each day – by ourselves or the people around us.

Allow me to relate what I did earlier this year.

In April, I wrote a letter to Halimah Yacob to ask her to look into the railing structure erected along Bukit Batok East Ave 6 which prevented residents from crossing from one side to the other. LTA had earlier built a pedestrian bridge and cordoned off the road divider up to 50m on both sides of the bridge. Residents were still able to cross after the 50m mark. Now, they have to walk 150m to cross at the traffic light junction and another 150m to where they intended to be – 10m across the road.

LTA replied that it will evaluate the problem (ref: LTA/TM/T44.002.168/2054/1). There was silence for the next three weeks.

So, I wrote to them again and it replied three days later (Ref: LTA/TM/T44.002.168/2054/2). It its reply, LTA insisted that residents had to cross at the traffic junctions. I was not happy with the reply and countered it with further arguments citing the graying population, pregnant women, handicapped residents (quite a few), school going children and housewives doing marketing – who had to walk this distance under all sorts of weather conditions.

LTA tried to distanced itself from the problem and replied that my problem was in effect due to the pedestrian bridge that was built earlier and that it therefore came under the jurisdiction of HDB. It then forwarded my e-mail to HDB. (Our Ref: LTA/CCOMS_FB/F20.017.000/1953/2/VT).

I immediately wrote back to say that the problem was not the bridge but the railing structure that prevented residents from crossing.

I also wrote to Mediacorp’s TODAY newspaper. This is the extract of it:

About a month ago, the Land Transport Authority barrier up the road crossing along Bukit Batok East Avenue 6, in front of the Catholic Church of St Mary of the Angels, by erecting a rail structure after the 50m mark from where the pedestrian bridge is located and which had been underused since its construction one year earlier.

I wrote to Jurong Town Council on 20/04/2009 to inquire and express my concern that such a closure would be a big hindrance to pedestrians who are elderly, pregnant, residents with heavy loads in hand, with health problems like chronic joint pains and respiratory ailments etc. and who are now required to walk at least100 meters to the traffic light junctions at either end of the road to get across, and then, to walk back to the opposite end of the road where the pedestrian had intended to be. I suggested a traffic light crossing or a zebra crossing be considered instead.

My letter to JTC was forwarded to LTA by one Elizabeth Leong, with the excuse that my suggestion fell under the jurisdiction of LTA. On 21/04/2009, LTA acknowledged receipt of my e-mail correspondence and promise to evaluate and study the feasibility of my recommendation.

There was silence for the next three weeks. I wrote to LTA again to check on the progress and on 07/05/2009, its Engineering Officer for South West Division, Mr Jeffrey Chan replied that it had carried out its studies and found it not feasible to accept my recommendation citing dual-lane, sight range, speed range of 60kmh and the sloped nature of the road among its reasons.

I counter-proposed that LTA addressed these problems by shifting the crossing point from where the pedestrian bridge is currently situated and to reduce the speed-range of motor vehicles to a safe range. These simple measures will address the problem and make it feasible for a road-level crossing to be installed.

On 11/05/2009, Ms Jeana Kua, Executive, Project Communications & Feedback replied that LTA needed more time to look into my counter-proposal.

On 25/05/2009, Mr Calvin Lam, Executive, Project Communications & Feedback sent me an e-mail that says that LTA ‘will continue to monitor the location closely and take appropriate measures to make it safe for all motorist and pedestrians to use the road’.

It then completely changed the plot by making the following comments: ‘We noted your suggestion to enhance the pedestrian overhead bridge. This bridge is currently maintained by the Housing and Development Board (HDB). As such, we will forward your request for ramps to them for their consideration’.

I immediately wrote back to clarify these comments as I am left bemused and confused, firstly because, that LTA is monitoring and looking at measures to ensure the safety of both pedestrians and motorists, when there is zero pedestrian activity along this stretch of road because of the newly set up railing structure.

Secondly, it puts words into my mouth by suggesting that I had asked for a pedestrian ramp for the bridge, when instead, I was recommending a road-level crossing because of the reasons cited above, mainly residents’ welfare.

Thirdly, LTA has now conveniently passed the bucket to HDB giving reason that the building of a ramp comes under the jurisdiction of HDB.

While the various parties continue their pushing game, the affected residents of Bukit Batok East continue to suffer the bridge and the railing structures. This is clearly a case of pushing the problem to another party so long as one can find a reason to do so.

And so it went until I finally gave up – realizing that I was only knocking my head further against a useless wall.

Through all these exchanges, Halimah was kept in the loop, but not one word from her. The final reason given by LTA was that the bridge and the railing structure were recommended by the Citizen’s Committee she is in charge of.

Tell me shiokshiok, can I point my finger now?

19. Retired And Poor 1 October 2009

Hello gemami, LTA just can’t be bothered. Indeed, they just know how to ..tolak. I have complaint to LTA many times after the dirty conditions of overhead bridges and each time after my complaint they will arrange for the service provider to clean it up. A few weeks later the same overhead bridge will be dirty again. This is because, no body in LTA conduct any checks on the service providers. This particular overhead bridge that I am talking about has not been cleaned for the past three weeks and both sides of the staircase are filled with litters/rubbish etc, etc etc. I have given up emailing them to complaint. What is the use?. No one really bothers . First world country, first class civil service, but well below par service. Seems to me, all they are concerned about is money, profits and more profits so that their KPIs will look great and of course more bonuses.

20. POPCORN 1 October 2009

Give up lah.
    When Mr. Tan Kin Lian presented the petition to PM Lee to help the minibond victims, immediately he passed the letter to MAS. If the top leaders engage in passing the ball round, what do you expect of your MPs – just follow their masters – monkey see, monkey do.
    Just have to rely on ourselves. This is Singapore society, ren bu wei ji, tian zu ti mie.

21. Hi Retired and Poor,

Thanks for concurring with me. I actually wrote to LTA because I saw – week after week – many old folks and houesewives who had been forced to take the bridge, struggling to get to the top. And considering that most are getting older by the day, I was hoping Halimah would have said or done something.

She really disappointed me.

22. Hi #19 gemam

I have sent your mail to REACH(reach@reach.gov.sg) and PM Lee lee_hsien_loong@pmo.gov.sg

23. From REACH:
    http://app.reach.gov.sg/reach/YourSay/YourDiscussionCorner/tabid/117/ptid/414/page/6/threadid/2642/forumtype/posts/Default.aspx

REACH Administrator 2 said :

Dear all,

The South West CDC would like to thank all contributors for their concern and comments regarding Mr Ang’s case. It augurs well for Singapore as we seek to build a community of concerned people who look out for the needs of others and not just for themselves.

To clarify the matter, we have been assisting Mr Ang and his family in a variety of ways. In fact, South West CDC has been doing this since 2002. Most recently, the CDC has provided him with a monthly cash grant from March 2009 to August 2009. The family also receives additional assistance from other agencies in the form of food vouchers, cash grants, school pocket money, daily recess and transport allowance for school and 100% medifund assistance.

( Jane’s reply : Mr.Ang had mentioned all the above in his 5 videos. Pls view all the videos for clear understanding of the whole story: )

They have also been renting out one of the bedrooms in their HDB flat for additional income.

( Jane’s reply : Does the social worker notice that the previous tenants have moved out? There were no any tenants on Jul 09 and Aug09. The new tenants came in on 10 Sept 09.)

Mr Ang’s latest request to extend the current financial assistance has also been approved and the CDC has already conveyed this outcome to Mr Ang, even as we continue to work with relevant agencies to help him and his family become self reliant again.

( Jane’s reply : When was the date of approval? He suppose to receive the monthly assistant on 4 Sept 09 but he did not receive it. He called on Aug 09 to ask for review of his case. He waited and see no action. Thus he called on 8 Sept 09 again. The staff told him that the officer will call him. But he waited till 21 Sep 09 still no staff call him. I also sent two emails to the MP Ms Ho Gek Choo on 8-9-09 and 13-9-2009. There were no reply at all even I code *URGENT* in the title of my second email. Thus, I decided to interview him. I uploaded the videos to youtube on 25-9-09 and also email to PM Lee and CEO of NCSS Ang Bee Lian at the same time. Finally at 30-9-09 about 6pm, the social worker came to Mr.Ang and gave him $300 cash of the assistant of Sept 09 which he suppose to receive on 4-9-09. Mr.Ang told me that the assistant will last for three months till Nov 09.

My question : If I did not upload the video or did not write to PM Lee and Ms Ang Bee Lian. Will your social worker come to visit Mr.Ang? )

We wish to assure all contributors that the South West CDC is fully committed to assist those who ask for and are in genuine need of help, and we will do so in a holistic manner, with the ultimate goal of helping them become self reliant again.

( Jane’s reply : I do not agree with you in this case. There are wrong jobs matching for a handicap person, lack of flexibility and sympathy when review this case. FYI, Mr.Ang’s health is getting bad than before.

If CEO of NCSS is able to reply to my mail about one hour time. Why SWCDC needs to take few days to reply to me? Why the manager who was on leave can disable his email? Why SWCDC do not active the auto notice to those people who write in? SWCDC need to improve it’s internal staffs communication for better standard services to the clients in future.

My suggestion : If you don’t agree with me, to be fair to each parties especially SWCDC and Mr. Ang, we can conduct an open forum and video and upload for the forumers here to judge. The below person must attend :

Mr. Ang

MP Ho Gek Choo

Chairman of the Boon Lay RC

Dr. Amy Koh and the Manager of SWCDC

Bizlink

Reporter of Straits Time

Me )

We thank all contributors once again for their views on this matter.

Chin Tong Mui (Ms)

Deputy General Manager (Services Management)

South West Community Development Council

24. Hi Jane,

Thanks for forwarding my mail to Reach and PM. Can I expect a reply here in TOC from either or both?

It will give assurance to Singaporeans that the PM is serious about engaging the concerns of its people online – regardless of the platform these concerns are carried.

25. Karmatic Mythology 2 October 2009

I also wrote a letter to an MP and cc a Minister .

After a few weeks already, Nothing. No Reply from them. Not even an Acknowledgement of receipt.

I am a citizen who votes based on how i am being represented.

26. HELP THE POOR dont FINE THEM 2 October 2009

Another case

UNEMPLOYED/HANDICAP man brought to court by Jln Besar town council over 400bucks arrears in conservacy fees

http://www.temasekreview.com/2009/09/30/town-council-took-unemployed-man-to-court-for-sc-arrears/

27. Hi Jane, it seems that there is another side of the story to it after reading what SWCDC had done for Mr Ang. So…which is true? Maybe Jane can do another Video to check with Mr Ang if SWCDC had done all this for him and his family since 2002.?

- To clarify the matter, we have been assisting Mr Ang and his family in a variety of ways. In fact, South West CDC has been doing this since 2002. Most recently, the CDC has provided him with a monthly cash grant from March 2009 to August 2009. The family also receives additional assistance from other agencies in the form of food vouchers, cash grants, school pocket money, daily recess and transport allowance for school and 100% medifund assistance.

28. Hi 25) gemami

REACH had replied me and sent your mail to the relevant agencies.

29. Hi 28) chuan,

Yes! SWCDC did help before which Mr.Ang had also mentioned in the 5 videos.
    You may want to see more discussion at REACH :

http://app.reach.gov.sg/reach/YourSay/YourDiscussionCorner/tabid/117/ptid/414/page/6/totrecs/72/threadid/2642/forumtype/posts/Default.aspx

30. Hi to all,

When I first read this, I was indeed quite shocked to know that our MPs aren’t doing anything for our residents. Having seen what seems to be both sides of the story, I would like to say that perhaps we are being too harsh on the authorities concerned.

It does seem that the people involved (like the MPs, the CDC etc) are not replying to emails in/on time. It does look like Mr Ang is suffering a hell lot. But Mr Ang is not the only person they are trying to/need to help. There are many other people around whose plight is just as bad, if not worse, than that of Mr Ang’s.

I must say this before I get shot down: I am not saying that Mr Ang’s situation is not bad. In fact, it is, and I have watched the episode on Channel 8 before, thinking that he really needed more support. But we must remember, he’s not the only one that needs help, and we cannot selfishly expect that governmental personnel are there 24/7 for just one person.

And also, it is not as if no help is rendered to Mr Ang. It just seems to be not rendered “on time”. While we shake our heads and sigh when we see that the cash due for him is not given on time, at least he is still getting some form of financial assistance. At least before that payment date, he has been given money and avenues to earn money (through rental, even though there were only 2 months that he did not have any tenants, but now there are new ones so money will come soon).

Fair enough, I personally don’t require financial assistance. And yes, just like every other person, I do grumble when I don’t get my pay on time. But I do know that I need to save, that what I had received in previous months aren’t for me to spend it all at one shot. I do realize that I need to save, even if it’s just $5, so that at least for the next month, should the money not come on time, I have savings to survive on.

So all in all, yes, Mr Ang’s case needs to be looked at, but I feel that we may be blowing things up just a little, when there are so many more people that need help, and MPs and whatnots only have that same amount of time everyday, just like us, to settle all these issues.

Just my personal opinion, simply based on my belief that we should always look at things from both sides of the fence, and we should always put ourselves in others’ shoes.

31. Hi 31) jas,

Pls refer tp my replyied to SWCDC at #24

32. Dear All,

Below was my first email to the MP for your reference :

(You may want to view all the seven videos for clear understanding of this family.)

—– Original Message —–
    To: hogcm@singnet.com.sg
    Sent: Tuesday, September 08, 2009 4:15 PM
    Subject: A handicap case for your attention

Dear MP Ms Ho Gek choo,
    Greetings!
    This is Jane Lim. You may find my personal profile in my web below.
    I have visited and gave some ration to one of your resident in your Zone- Boon Lay.
    His story was on TV8 dated 17 Nov 2008. My first visitation to him was dated 20 Nov 2008
    Below is his particular:

(Note: Health condition : one leg on wheel chair-diabetes.Wife on bed 10 yrs dare not move down due to mental problem.one daughter study in Pr. Sch.)
    I have called SWCDC on 10-12-08 and advised the social worker Christine to follow up this case. I was told that the help from SWCDC will be ended at Aug 09.
    I have advised Mr.Ang to meet you. I even wrote a note on my name card to ask the grassroot chairman of the RC to arrange for your visitation to Mr.Ang on 11Aug09.
    The grassroot chairman called me on 14Aug09 but up till today. No any arrangement was made for your visitation. I asked him was the MP notice of this case?He replied not sure is the MP know?
    Mr.Ang called me today and said that he never have chance to meet you. He went to the meet the people session and waited for one hour hope to collect a 30 dollars food voucher from you. But he was told by the grassroot people that there was no vouchers for him and he had no chance to see you.
    He told me that he saw other people did receive the food voucher. I was told that the grassroot people said :” If MP wants to go and visit everyone, then she must be very busy already.”
    I wonder are you aware of it and is this true?
    To a one leg middle age and low education handicap guy, he pushed the wheel chair to the next block to meet you. It was just next block and is very easy for a normal people to walk over to meet you. But, to him, such a short distance is just like a long long way.
    I write this mail for your attention to visit Mr.Ang. I would appreciate of your prompt action into this matter.

Thanks and Regards

Jane Lim
    http://happyangelclub.wordpress.com/

33. YOUgetWHATyouVOTEDfor 3 October 2009

jas,

the below is why.
    prob more cases, just not known to public.

extracted from http://www.temasekreview.com/2009/09/30/town-council-took-unemployed-man-to-court-for-sc-arrears/

YOUgetWHATyouVOTEDfor on Fri, 2nd Oct 2009 8:16 am

http://news.asiaone.com/News/NDP+Rally+2007/NDP+Rally+2007.html

“No one will be left behind”
    BUT ‘LESSER MORTAL’ OF ‘LESSER MORTALS’ SINGAPOREANs WILL BE LEFT ASIDE TO DIE.

You are NOT LEFT BEHIND OK, You are LEFT ASIDE.

34. YOUgetWHATyouVOTEDfor 3 October 2009

EXTRACTED -

NoOneWillBeLeftBehind-BUT-SomeWillJustBeLeftAsideToDie on Fri, 2nd Oct 2009 1:59 pm

The public needs the 2 elite MPs to come down from their ‘Ivory Tower’ to answer the below.

MP Ms Ho Gek Choo [Boon Lay], WHY YOU DIDN’T ANSWER EMAIL CONCERNING ONE OF YOUR NEEDY/DISABLED RESIDENT NEEDING HELP?
    http://happyangelclub.wordpress.com/

MP in-charge of Jalan Besar town council, DID YOU HELP OUT ONE OF YOUR NEEDY UNEMPLOYED/HANDICAP RESIDENT, OTHER THAN BROUGHT HIM TO COURT OVER $400PLUS IN CONSERVACY ERREARS?
    [Is Ms Denise Phua the MP in-charge of Jalan Besar town council?]
    http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking+News/Singapore/Story/STIStory_351577.html

35. http://happyangelclub.wordpress.com/

By Jane Lim- 3-10-2009

I went to Janlan Kukok visited some of the elderly staying in the one room rental flats. Here are the elderly’s real feedbacks to their MP Dr. Lily Neo:
    *She is really a good MP. She cares for the old people very much. She came to our house and visited us. She even bought two new cloths to some of the elderly during the Chinese New Year time.

When I walked around at Boon Lay, many residents feedback:
    *Our MP Ms Ho Gek Choo is very busy. It is very difficult to meet her. There was one time many residents wanted to meet her to discuss on the HDB big matters, all of them waited so long and finally everyone was very angry.

When I visited other elderly staying in the one room and two rooms rental flats at Toa Payoh , Red Hill,Bukit Merah View, York Hill, China Town etc………Here are the elderly’s general feedbacks of their service providers (SAC-Seniors Activity Centre / RC/CCC/Volunteers / donors etc) :
    * The staffs / volunteers /donors are very caring to us. They are so good and so kind to us. We thank you very much. The SAC staffs and volunteers brought us to many places. If without them, we will never have a chance to visit all the nice places.
    *Some volunteers and staffs of the SAC no good. No respect to the old folks. They are very fierce to scold the elderly. Don’t distribute the food to the elderly even the donors donate many things to them. We don’t want to complaint but last month there were few elderly went to complaint to the management of the agency. Now good to see that the two staffs were replaced by another two new staffs. The two new staffs now very kind and show respect to the elderly.

Most elderly do have very sensitive and true feeling to tell you who are the nice and caring person to them. So,they are the best person who can judge the services provider.

36. To 34)

I heard a real proof of MP Denise Phua :

A middle age suddenly passed away.
    MP Phua went to visit his wife and the young kids. She gave $1000 to his wife from her own pocket.

37. Are the people doing not enough or is it being shown to the public adequately? I do agree that that there are more to be done and that is why Singapore will need volunteers like Jane to work together with the GRO to bring out such issues. I just feel that sometimes when a kind deed is being done, why is people asking to publicise it to the rest of the world? Are we forgetting the true nature of volunteerism?

We see a lot of kind acts in Singapore, I can’t help but to search youtube for such videos and I found one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ex-yJB47W3U

38. Chee An Bai 3 October 2009

36) Jane on October 3rd, 2009 11.37 am To 34)

If I earn those kind of money, I would also.
    Such giving would make me feel good.
    I mean, helping people.
    By the by, where is the proof?

39. NoOneWillBeLeftBehind-BUT-SomeWillBeLeftAsideToDie 3 October 2009

This time round, MP in-charge of Jalan Besar TC did not help d resident having problem.

AND the resident is UNEMPLOYED n HANDICAP.

40. To 40) Chee An Bai:

FYI, the incident happened about one year ago. One of my friend was presented at the funeral and saw it.

41. To: # 25) gemami :

To: linzhen@pacific.net.sg
    Sent: Friday, October 09, 2009 5:32 PM
    Subject: Railing Structure erected along Bukit Batok East Avenue 6-Feedback Number : 20091008-0565

Our Ref: LTA/CC/PCF/FB/F20.000.000/8274
    Date : 09-Oct-2009
    Tel : 63961519 Fax : 63961192

Dear Ms Lim

Railing Structure erected along Bukit Batok East Avenue 6FEEDBACK NUMBER: 20091008-0565

We refer to your email of 2 October 2009 to REACH, which was referred to us. We have attended to the feedback contributor regarding his concerns. We thank you for showing interest in this matter.

Yours sincerely (SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES)
    Cindy OngExecutive,
    FeedbackProject Communication & Feedback

42. u can include the number of buses recruited iwth handicap friendly services.