Saturday, September 19, 2009 1:15
Have your views of the political parties changed in the last 3 years?
In Andrew Loh, Main Stories • 2,607 views • 104 Comments
Andrew Loh

On 6 May 2006, Singaporeans went to the polls to vote a new government. The results? The People’s Action Party was returned to power by a majority of 66.6 per cent of the vote. 1.2 million Singaporeans cast their vote on that day.
The opposition parties together fielded a total of 47 candidates, denying the PAP a victory on Nomination Day. However, 7 GRCs were uncontested by the opposition, leaving the PAP to win 37 seats on Nomination Day itself, out of the 84, by walkovers.
The best-scoring opposition party was the Workers’ Party, which garnered 13.3 per cent of the popular vote. Its secretary-general, Mr Low Thia Khiang, retained his seat in Hougang with an increased vote count of 62.74 per cent, from 54.98 per cent in 2001. Its Chairman, Ms Sylvia Lim, contesting the elections for the first time, became the party’s Non-Constituency Member of Parliament when her team in Aljunied GRC emerged as highest-scorers among those who lost.
The Singapore Democratic Alliance’s Mr Chiam See Tong also won in Potong Pasir, surprising many who had expected him to be defeated. Instead, Mr Chiam’s votes increased from 52.43 per cent in 2001 to 55.82 per cent in 2006.
Mr Lee Hsien Loong and his PAP team in Ang Mo Kio GRC garnered 66.14 per cent of the vote, which was below the national average of 66.6 per cent. The GRC was uncontested in 2001.
More than three years have passed since General Elections 2006 and speculation is starting to emerge about when the next elections will be called. Many now expect it to be held within the next one year.
Many things have happened since then – S’pore saw record unemployment in 2008 and record inflation, and the increase in our population to 4.84 million, with 1.68 of these being foreigners. Number One terrorist suspect Mas Selamat escaped from the Whitley Road detention centre in 2008, and Temasek Holdings and The Government of Singapore Investment Corporation (GIC) have lost more than $100 billion in investments. The 14 PAP town councils too have lost millions investing in toxic financial products.
On the opposition front, a new party was created. The Reform Party, founded by the late Mr JB Jeyaretnam, seeks to reform Singapore, as its name suggests. Now helmed by Mr Jeyaretnam’s son, Kenneth, the party will celebrate its first anniversary on 25 September.
The Singapore Democratic Party continues to challenge the ruling party in ways bolder than other opposition parties, in the process entangling itself in several lawsuits and its senior members made bankrupt.
The SDA, National Solidarity Party and the Workers’ Party seem to prefer to keep their heads below the firing line of the ruling party and not much has been seen from them. The Workers’ Party, for example, has held only one public forum since 2006, excluding those organized by its Youth Wing, which seems more active than the main party.
And more recently, the PKMS, a component party of the SDA, was in the news when its members resorted to violence over internal party disputes.
How Singaporeans vote in the next elections will be keenly watched, perhaps more so this time than in 2006. The PAP will have to deal with a new party, The Reform Party, which for all appearances, seems to have learned from the experiences of other parties’ mistakes in the past. How will the son of Mr Jeyaretnam fare in the hustings? The PAP may also have to contend with Mr Tan Kin Lian, who may contest the next general elections although he was reported to have declared his willingness to contest the Presidential elections instead.
Will Singaporeans be miffed with the Workers’ Party silence since 2006, when they received much support? Will the SDP improve on its 2006 results of just a mere 4 per cent of the popular vote, in the process losing all 7 seats it contested?
And will Mr Chiam really lead a GRC team and come out of his beloved Potong Pasir ?
Perhaps all these will not matter. The crucial question is whether Singaporeans are happy with how the ruling party has governed Singapore since 2006.
Will Mr Lee Hsien Loong improve on his performance next time round? Falling below the national average is a little embarrassing for the man who is suppose to lead his party – and Singapore.
And what about Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, who celebrated his 86th birthday on 16 September? Will he contest the elections? How will he do? Will Singaporeans give MM Lee the mandate to remain in Parliament till he is 90 years old?
Finally, will New Media have any impact or influence on voters this time round?
What are your views on the next general elections?
—–
Visit the Singapore Elections website for archive of election results.
—–
104 Comments
Gabriel
For me, nothing has chanegd much in the opposition parties’ circles.
Only the coming of TKL or maybe Kenneth J have lighted up a seemingly pathetic opposition politics.
PAP will continue to win the next election and the next one for sure – not because they are good but there is simply no viable alternatives here.
Our opposition only wants to win one single ward or a GRC at most and dare not dream big.
There is no single party or even if all our opposition parties will to combine together to form one big party, Singaporeans can’t see that they will be able to run as well as the PAP – however bad they are. PAP has provened to be quite bad lately and this is the best time to overthrow them but so far they is no suitable choice.
In any other democratic countries, if the same bad governance happened, I am sure that the govt will be gone after one election.
The lack of suitable opposition candidates will prove to be Singapore’s biggest bugear. Change only can happen if capable people dare to rise up and be counted.
Lets hope that before the next election (I foresee it may be held as early as Jan/Feb next year), we willsee some miracles happening.
NotQuiteSo
My vote goes to the opposition. PAP is filled with pathetic cowards who do not dare to speak their minds freely to LKY. We need people with a heart now. Obviously, PAP guys do not have such qualities. What is the use of having Einstein’s brain when all you have is the heart of a rat. My support goes to all the opposition parties. You have guys have my greatest respect for trying so hard to make a change despite all the unreasonable and unfair obstacles laid upon you.
Salute! My family of 5 in Kallang will vote for you.
JW
One thing is for sure, the condition in S’pore is much worse than the past years.
The PAP exists for the rich, the current policies favours developers, bankers, employers etc. People vote for the PAP out of fear, ignorance or for purely selfish economic gains.
The PAP after 1990 is totally different from when the old guards (first generation PAP ministers). Today we see favourtism, nepotism, bankrupt of solid economic ideas, pure incompetence to deal with the economic situation except for building for flats, luxurious housing, etc.
Many have left S’pore and the population is shrinking (through babies being born in S’pore) at an alarming rate.
The problem is not a lack of suitable opposition candidates as PAP sympathisers would have us believe. As long as GRC system is in place, our attitude must be to vote for the any non-PAP party.
99.9% of PAP MPs aren’t fit to be MPs because of the GRC system.
Unless you’re a property tycoon or a dirty-rich banker you will be better off voting for the opposition.
SotongBall
Personally I have no confidence in the policies of the current PAP and their apparent lack of accountability post 2006. The lack of confidence is probably reinforced by the views offered by fellow Singaporeans on the internet. As much as the Govt through Mr. Lui tries to discredit the internet for information and credits the ST for its unbias and well balanced views, they probably forgot that the average Singaporean has eyes and ears. The things that they see, hear and experience is different from what is in the MSM and very close to what is discussed on the internet.
One danger point for Singaporeans is the new citizens voters; if they are beholden enough to the PAP for the places here they will vote PAP. So if their numbers are large enough, it could offset the loss of native Singaporeans’ votes.
gemami
The coming election will not be contest among the political parties. Instead, it will be an election where Singaporeans will decide whether enough is enough.
I hope the alternative parties will use this as the main backdrop to ask that Singaporeans cast their votes to signal to the ruling party that their recent policies on immigration (FTs and FWs), on housing, on investments and transparency, on health & medical care, on public and private transport, on business (helping businesses and not workers), on forced social integration and so on, are not translating to any good for the people.
There is absolutely no chance for any of the alternatives to win (except for those perennial anti-PAP areas) based on track records. Their biggest chance at success is to work along the unhappiness and grievances of the citizens, and to turn these into votes that count against the PAP.
The alternatives must provide Singaporeans with the opportunity for every single Singaporean to have the chance to vote.
WE, on our part must stop deceiving ourselves that this or that political party is good for us. WE have to start believing that WE are our own rulers. WE are the party that matters. WE are voting for ourselves. The votes WE cast will determine whether WE have taken back control. WE are the party that WE will be voting for.
This will be OUR election. This is going to be MY election.
preston loon
This time around,the electorates will vote en mass for the opposition parties.Not
because they have found an alternative to the PAP.Put it simply,it is just protest
votes:Protest against high costs of living,protest against foreigners taking away the
livelihood of locals,protest against high salary for the elites and low pay for the
commoners,protest against G.S.T.,protest against secrecy in investments of the
peoples monies,protest this and that.This is what MM LEE is afraid of.A FREAK
election win over by the oppositions.
Merobok
The landscape has changed tremendously. People I meet from all walks of life are just shaking their heads. The PaP has realised the mistakes they made and are now trying to cover their tracks. The PM’s gesture that there will be a slow down of foreigners coming in is an election stunt. The damage has already been done and will take a long time for people to forget!
People want a change so as those in Malaysia, Taiwan, and Japan!
Vivian the sweet 16 gal who wants to play hard
The picture is a MIRAGE – the Voting Results of the last 2 elections did NOT! REFLECT the level of support.
The number of seats occupied by loyal opposition did NOT ReFlect the 33.3% in terms of proportion.
Now, its left to the newbies for some hope.
I thought a miracle could happen judging from the awesome turnout in the election before the last. I WAS WRONG !
I thought a miracle could happen judging from the awesome turnout in the last election. I WAS WRONG !
Maybe it is just me , but i feel that something does not reconcile. does not tally. some explanation is owed to the 33.3% . some people representation for the 33.3% is missing in the house.
Refresher Course
Since the election is coming or at least the 5 year ‘expiry’ date is closing in,
could TOC excellent writers pen a concise, succinct summary of ALL major issues for voters to consider? I mean, recently not much big news for some reasons. So quiet. Many Singaporeans buy ginko biloba to boost memory. This shows a serious problem of Short Term Memory . Btw, biloba has not worked for me. So, I worry for the rest relying on biloba.
Such a concise document requires superior penmanship to reap the greatest effect.
Why split a pie into so many small pieces?
I propose that there be only 4 GRCs – north south east west.
Its only a tiny country with only 1 city. Lets not make it so complicated.
gemami
Hi Vivian,
Are there many more sweet 16 gals out there just like you? This augurs well for the future of Singapore.
Some older folks might just say; “We can now rest in peace” – seriously.
Time for Change
It’s time for change….think we have had enough of PAP propaganda and excuses for the past few years.
It’s time we hold these elites accountable for their actions. If they can’t get rid of the cancerous cells among themselves, we will do it for them.
sorry to be a little bit chim here
The picture used for this article is so apt.
It reminds me of this saying: 星星之火,可以燎原 which means “a little spark can turn ablaze”.
With the right time, the right place and the right people something watershed will happen.
Of course, you ask: “But when?”
Surely this will happen, because PAP will not change over night, because PAP will not change, because PAP has too many self-interests to look after, because the older people who used to the old rule are gradually disappearing, because the younger ones are so much different in their expectations, aspirations, etc., because, simply, this is the law of nature; a regular pattern of history, because any organisation turns fossil after success and victory.
However much we seemingly know about these, but it is just hard to change and adapt because we are our own enemies, because we don’t know what we don’t know.
Yamamoto
Yes, I certainly have a better view of the opposition, as it seems that you can’t really do worse than our dear MIW.
13) Time for Change
You need drastic treatment for cancer yah!~
gemami
To the chim one.
The situation here is not “..because we don’t know what we don’t know…”. There are enough Singaporeans who know what they know.
It is just that the PAP government has been manipulating the political and electoral systems to ensure that it continues to stay in power. It is so effective that many have even put the blame on the Opposition, or the Alternatives, when the real reason is the destruction the PAP was able to carry out on them – using the specially crafted and underhanded means at their disposal.
However, you are right that in time, something will happen. It WILL happen when the PAP runs out of underhanded means that it can use to fix its opponents. It WILL happen when the people begin to realize that this government is running away with itself. It WILL happen when the population begins to make the fundamental decision to take ownership back – the ownership that belongs to every native citizen.
The time is soon. LKY sees it within the next ten years. I think it will happen in the next election, slightly more than a year away. We may not get a new government but we will certainly make ourselves and our voices heard – loud and clear.
Of the many questions posed by the writer in his 19 paragraphs article, the question
” will New Media have any impact or influence on voters this time round?”
is imho most significant.
Something happened in the May 2006 election that had no precedent in SG politics. And it forever changed the political landscape to a point of no return.
Citizen broadcasting.
A rally attended by hundreds of thousands can suddenly be viewed by the entrire voting population via the new media. The public now has access to hear out entire election rallies in the comfort of their home.
Gone are the times when we have to rely solely on the 10 seconds long fragments in the “old media” depicting the “non-ruling” parties in their worst moments (like digging their nose, scratching their hair, yawning, wearing slippers, etc)
And because of the ridiculously short campaigning period of 6 days (please correct me if I am wrong), one needs to clone oneself to be at all places to hear out all the rallies. But with the new media, it is now possible.
A long of stuff are can be heard at the rallies that will never appear on TV or the papers. We now have a chance to know all this.
The ability and calibre of the candidates can be better gauged with more info via the new media.
The voting public is now a more informed with the new media.
This will significantly change the outcome of the election, which is coming sooner than most think.
Best of Both Worlds
I do not see the hum of having 1 seat given to opposition.
How they perform in parliament will be shown on national tv for his voters to judge to see if their desions were correct.
Worse Case scenario : 1 seat, 1 term or less.
Potential Gains for the People : Priceless
I do not see why the people are so unable to see this point.
SAD.
Migrate better.
Anonymous
“Will the SDP improve on its 2006 results of just a mere 4 per cent of the popular vote…”
The only way to go is UP, of course.
But let’s be fair to the SDP.
Any opposition party that received such a legal suit, from LKY & son, covering all its CEC members plus its newspaper’s printer right during the election period was no mean feat at all.
It certainly frightened all the voters who would have considered voting for them as well.
Hancork
I find it funny that though 33.3% wanted change in the last election, we don’t see these people taking part in opposition activites.
Maybe waiting for ‘the Coast is Clear’ to come out to play?
ROFL
funactiver
I am very concern the most online community are rather lack of knowledge of ground activities or to say that many are only interested in grand news of political parties. This worries me as a Singaporean that are we going to vote in future according to such knowledge?
This have make me think that PAP have successfully cultivate such thinking in citizen like us, or either have caught hold of how Singaporean vote. I personally have been know and show interest of reading articles from individual parties, hard work in reaching out, knowledge from ground and even suggestion to improve is my main priority and concern before I vote.
We must me cultivate such a thinking for waiting for news to reach us (mainstream media), but a habit to find out news and update ourselves.
I hope that many who have read my comment will think again (to writer also), do we consider Singapore opposition still laying low under PAP monopoly or we ourselves have not be interested to find out more in who they are and what they have done.
Not so chim after all, since gemami understands me
Well, gemami, take heart…
It’s another law of nature that an advantage in one’s eyes is always a disadvantage when view from another perspective.
Yes, measures after measures have been put in place to “safeguard” their perpectual rule. That also means, it is getting harder and harder for them to change with so many self-interests to take care of, with so many interlocking mechanisms that complicate their operations. They will reap what they have sown.
Also…
Many used to be afraid of the serial number on the voting ticket, do people bother now?
Many used to be enticed by the upgrading program, while I wont’ be sure if all, but I’m sure many do not bother now.
Many used to shun opposition parties’ rallies, do they bother now?
Many used to turn off where the opposition party selling their newsletters, but now they welcome and openly speak with the opposition party members.
Many many changes have had happened… The more they manipulate to their advantage, the clearer people can see and judge themselves.
It’s just another law of nature. They can’t run away from it, neither us.
Harrison
One thing is for sure. PAP needs a bashing from Singaporeans, losing 1/3 of the parliamentary seats and burying the dynasty into history. With that, the accounts will be most revealing.
Singaporeans’ target: AMK GRC and Tanjong Pagar GRC.
When the ailing tree falls, the monkeys will scatter.
Yang
Hello guys, mine back after a long break.
So, what all of you want the opposition to change or things that they done. they are just a small fraction in the house. I would suggest that we should get more oppositions to go in and we will see a lot things will change. That’s what happen in Japan right now. Give them a chance to run the country and trick by PAP that they will ruin this country.
Now is time for the change. Whether we want to do it or remain as is it and complain later. Think about it and try to talk to as many people about this web. Get ourselves ready for the big battle. As what US President Obama said: Are You Fired UP! Ready to go! Think about it again.
Knowledge Is Power
I am really tired of all these years of high handed brush you aside mentality. I just want a REAL CHANGE. I sincerely dun believe Singapore can be so easily ruined by any opposition since the damage is already done by the MIW.
Any thing thereafter can only be an improvement.
These pigs on animal farm HAS to go!
Noob
1.2 million voted.. the others did not even have a chance to to voice their preferences.
We need to change the laws against walkovers. No contest does not represent a vote of confidence.
tookie
Opposition parties in Singapore are basically opposition in namesake! Where has WP been since the 2006 GE? They gave people so much hope that they would be more than just a talk shop, but they have just sat quietly in parliament and elsewhere, collecting dust. SDP members are just bent on getting themselves sued and creating a ruckus. They had the worst showing in 2006 simply because Singaporeans do not generally want radical idiots in government. Even with the PAP blundering around as it is, they are still a safer bet. I would vote for the opposition so long as the PAP’s majority vote in government is secured. I am for greater democracy and more voices being heard, but i will not stupidly throw my vote towards inexperienced individuals who cannot offer me something better than what the PAP gives. It would be very myopic to call the PAP useless, corrupt and not fit for government. Just look around lah. Be rational. They may be stubborn and arrogant when they make mistakes, and heavy handed when it comes to critical views and maintaining control, but it is intriguing that many here view the PAP with nothing but contempt when they have also done alot of good for the country. Take a look around, or take a holiday to any neighbouring country if you want to see real corruption and poor governance.
Its interesting how these political debates online just highlight the lack of understanding of political realities or life in general. It’s either you’re pro or against, anti-establishment or a PAP puppet. Where is the objectivity???
singaporean
it is time to change the system so that we can be happy for the next 5 years
give the opposition equal chance to become MP
singaporean
it is time to change the system so that we can be happy for the next 5 years
give the opposition equal chance to become MP
Surprise
Corrution has many ways . Does not mean what is reflected in the paper or see is corruption . Corruption come in many form too .
High salary + Perk + benefit = Clean Corruption (legalise) —same objective
Low salary + Low Perks + low benefits = Corruption (illegal) –same objective
Doing a business and selling back to MNC also can be another method of corruption . Good time take all, bad time sell of to MNC or CIC .
President indonesia got what great experience other than a military personel.
President Obama got what great experience to be the President of USA
President Thailand got what great experience to be President of Thailand
President Reagan (Ex USA President) is just an Actor . Why he can make it and voted 2 time to be the Prsident of USA.
President of FRance what great experience he has ????
Many of our appointed Monoster are all without experience . Only experience are in their own trained field. What political experience we are talking . Even the speeches are drafted by someone and they just use mouth to talk and read it out …..
There are many jobs dont need “BIG BRAIN” many odd jobs or lorry drivers also can perform the task if not involve too technical. If not Lehman wont go burst and all our highly trained talented scholar in GIC, Tumasik will not be burnt. Paper qualification is all for them . Giving excuses is this acceptable..
Summer Worm
Don’t you know SDP was at one of the hawker centres selling The New Democrat yesterday?
Don’t you know SDP has many rounds of Tak Boleh Tahan, were at Speakers’ Cornered and various places raising awareness of the common issues people facing?
Don’t you know WP goes house-to-house visit, almost daily?
Don’t you know WP sells their Hammer every Sunday at neighbourhood food centres and markets, rain or shine?
MSM doesn’t report these. We can understand why you asked those questions.
One needs to be close to the ground to know why people have those concerns mentioned at online forum like this.
One must have enough extra money to take a holiday to neighbouring countries to know what you know. Many are just making ends meet.
One must be at a very comfortable and high level position to appreciate what you see. Many are just doing mid to low level jobs.
You can’t talk to the summer worm about winter. The summer worm won’t understand what’s winter cos it dies before winter.
Muhamad Nur
tookie> you have got it all wrong. You accused the opposition parties of being inactive during non election period. Have you ever visited their website or join their activities? Do you even know what are their manifesto or agenda? Are they really working against the PAP or trying to provide alternative viewpoints? It is a dangerous precedent that you’re taking by voting for the PAP without knowing the content of ideas present in our opposition camps. They debate on social issues, cost of living, security and healthcare in numerous occasions. It is only that you prefer to see them in the lens of the PAP (myopic and uninspiring). Unfortunately people like you make up the majority of Singaporeans. Until that can be changed, I can’t foresee the opposition ever winning the election.
Suzie Pink
@31,
“Don’t you know WP goes house-to-house visit, almost daily?”
By the above, does it mean only to certain Hougang Avenues under LTK and NOT the Entire HG?
Pls respond.
My fren lives in HG complains to me regularly he never seen any grassroots activities by WP @HG non-LTK ward.
32) Muhamad Nur
/////Unfortunately people like you make up the majority of Singaporeans. Until that can be changed, I can’t foresee the opposition ever winning the election. //////
Isn’t that what democarcy is all about? Freedom to choose.
27) tookie
Well said.
tookie
31 & 32,
It is presumptuous to say that just because one speaks positively about the government, he/she is myopic and looking through PAP lens(not to mention well off and sheltered from the ground). What I am looking for is a credible set of opposition leaders, if I am compelled to vote against the PAP. I am not blind to the views of our current opposition camps, but I do not find them entirely inspiring at all. the WP is merely a toothless PAP version, and SDP basically talks as though Singapore is a living nightmare(now that is myopic). If you can name one country in the world, capitalist or pro-welfare that has overcome the challenge of poverty, let me know. I agree that the PAP is stingy to the poor given the billions of reserves we sit on, but I will hesitate to extrapolate this, and limited civil freedoms to a failure of government. Just because the opposition does ground work, doesn’t mean it is providing anything substantive. Sure, let’s give them credit for their passion, but passion is not enough to run a government or a country. The opposition themselves portray themselves as checks and balances rather than a real polity ready to take on the state. They are clearly not ready, so why should I vote for them? There is too much harping on the fact that PAP puts obstacles in their way, and I do not intend to give them pity votes. If you want my vote, give me some real solutions. What will an opposition government do with sovereign wealth funds? What comprehensive welfare system will they enforce? How will they restructure the education system to ensure that students do not come out mathematic and science robots? How do you intend to keep up a robust economy in a globalised world, while introducing protectionist measures?
Also, if WP and SDP are working the ground so hard, why haven’t they inspired more people to support them? Yes, the PAP has certain responsibility for this, but I think you are also insulting Singaporeans for not being able to make rational decisions. If in fact the opposition is working hard to give SIngaporeans the other side of the picture, and yet they still at the end of the day vote for the PAP, then the opposition must take some credit for this failure.
We all complain that we don’t have enough freedom of speech and expression, but I have very little confidence that we will know what to do with such liberties. Just look here at how one cannot respect another’s view point and resorts to name calling and insults, with a desperate need to prove the other wrong simply because there are differences in beliefs.
dude
quote Refresher Course:
“Since the election is coming or at least the 5 year ‘expiry’ date is closing in,
could TOC excellent writers pen a concise, succinct summary of ALL major issues for voters to consider? I mean, recently not much big news for some reasons. So quiet. Many Singaporeans buy ginko biloba to boost memory. This shows a serious problem of Short Term Memory . Btw, biloba has not worked for me. So, I worry for the rest relying on biloba.
Such a concise document requires superior penmanship to reap the greatest effect.”
I strongly support this suggestion. Would be a good chance for people to wisely consider their votes. Transparency is key to democracy -the more information the people have, the better. We as a nation need to learn to make responsible decisions this upcoming election.
fpc
//KopitiamApek
As if there is freedom to choose in Singapore?
Another cheap shot from KopitiamApek.
GRC, changing of electoral boundary and threats sent to opposition just to name a few.
fpc
//tookie and KopitiamApek
Your question on Where is the opposition?
I see more ideas from Low TK during the job credits debate than your million dollar ministers.
Everyone here knows how limit the resources the opposition have and how big the resources the PAP has.
If PAP can claim they cannot solve a problem like the string of cockups from 2007-2008 and the recent cock up such as the excess pay to teachers, I don’t think the opposition has not performed.
BTw, they are also give jobs to people like you for looking and passing your 0.02 cents worth of comments here.
Without them as if you will get this kind of good pay for doing nothing.
Show some respect at least.
JW
tookie
There are many things that are not right with Singapore.
i) all the newspapers fall under the umbrella of the SPH which is linked to the PAP government. Name me a democratic country with such a situation. The PAP government does not allow for even an independent local radio station, (local) TV station or even a (local) newspaper.
ii) anyone in S’pore who joins an opposition party to contest in an election is a brave, selfless person whose main concern is truth and righteosness. He/she is against all odds to succeed because the PAP machinery (propaganda media, judiciary) will be working 24 hours to make sure that they will fail or are misrepresnted. Many are made bankrupt through the malleable court system.
iii) when was the last time you heard the WP MPs (speaking in parliament) in person? Did you ever personally attend (as a visitor) parliament when it sits?
If you heard reports (about WP, SDA or SDP) from the Straits Times or through the local TV stations then you can be 100% sure the reports are not trust-worthy.
iv) Do you really believe the PAP government is ruthlessly meritocratic? It is very obvious recently that nepotism characterises the familLEE. The sheer incompetence resulted in loses of billions of state $$$$.
Remember, the accounts of the GIC and Temasek holdings have not been made public. In accounts, one has to make doubly sure through an independent auditor that the money is there and not rely on faith as in the case of religion.
Over the years the SPH newspapers and the Media Corp stations have done you harm in marring your judgments.
fpc
//tookie
It is not myopic to assume that you are from the PAP.
It is quasi blindness not to see through how the PAP is feeding on the popular masses.
The fact remains that pap is not performing and they are very difficult to incentivise to work in our interest.
It is a lot easier to remove an opposition MP.
That is why every time, Low TK and Chiam CT won, people (well most) were a little relieve because the expectation was they will be voted out because of the gifts PAP showered on the opposition wards.
It is as simple as that.
Nothing myopic from us. Quasi blindness from you.
kf
36) tookie on September 19th, 2009 10.43 pm,
There are 2 sides of the coin. I don’t deny there are some opposition members who may not be up to mark. When I say up to mark, it means, comparing against the role the person needs to fulfill for the citizens, and the monetary package he/ she receives. However, this happens in te ruling party camp too.
Look, I am prepared to vote in a candidate from the ruling party if the person delivers to a level commensurate with what he/ she is paid. The fact is I am getting the impression there are an increasing number who are not up to mark and yet sleep well every night with handsome packages. I am also getting the impression that these people think that if they can get through the election door, they can hold on to their careers even with low performance, oblivious to ground conditions. Ths is clearly unacceptable.
Not all opposition members are as weak (or even weak) as you have stated. The converse is true. In a near monoplistic political environment, there is a tendency to experience a ‘might is right’ phenomenon. You need to address the reasons why opposition members have held their 2 wards election after election, in order to have a balanced view.
Harrison
tookie,
If PAP wins an election without resorting to dirty tactics, enacting unjust laws, etc, they would have won the hearts and support of 80% of Singaporeans easily.
The fact that they won only 66.6% of the votes in the last election despite all their unethical and unacceptable manipulations is proof that the support for PAP’s policies is far lower than perceived.
If one can accept PAP’s level of superficial integrity, then one can also accept Zimbabwe’s Mugabe. It does not matter as long as one benefits under the government? If others have to suffer, it is due to their own incompetence and/or not aligning themselves to the government of the day?
Trust can only be given when transparency and accountability are dutifully adhered to. NKF, Ren Ci and many other cases were consequences of blind faiths. Do we need more scandals to prick our apathetic conscience?
The biggest issue is whether the judiciary is really independent and vested with the power to wrest the governing party. Anything less than that is unacceptable to the populace.
We certainly do not want to be herded like sheeps for its product only. As long as we are humans, we have equal rights to collectively chart our desired future.
tookie
It’s very interesting, #40, because I have attended several parliament sessions this year out of interest, and in the same way young PAP MPs jump to their’ party’s defence at a mere suggestion that they could be wrong about anything, without actually listening to the argument put across and thinking a little deeper, so are the responses to my comments. People here are so determined to be anti-establishment that anything that varies from it becomes idiotic pro-gov drivel and it just becomes a non-debate.
I agree that there are many issues that the PAP has refused to address, many things I disagree with, and there is definitely incompetence especially among younger MPs. All I am putting across is that the opposition has not convinced me(and I am not stupid enough to expect my source of opposition views and news to come from mainstream media, thankyou very much) that they are a competent enough polity to take over the government. Sure if Opposition leaders can convince me that they have the meat and mettle for the job, I will give them my vote. They had my vote in 2006, but I will not be a blind loyalist. It is on both sides to prove that they are doing enough/have substantive ideas of how to run government. I do not find this a myopic view.
Finally, for all you staunch pro-opposition advocates out there, when numbers are not on your side, I don’t think its wise to attack those who try to debate with you, and may not necessarily share your views. You ultimately turn off potential supporters, rather than try to convince them to pay attention to your cause. What is the point of calling the PAP undemocratic, when you have no respect for other points of views either?
David
I see it as a war between us (the voter) and them (PAP). Also on the journalist front ,a war between Us (the online citizens) and tthem (the ST pap newpaper). There will be betrayers and bribery with carrots as ususal. Bullets of lawsuits will continue to fire from the seniors ministers and police will roll in to keep opposition out of the scenes. But we must understand one very important thing here, are we happier after the last election? Have we been insulted and humilated with names from the people we voted in? Are we proud to win Singapore first silver olympic? The answer is very clear. I do not expect the result to be the same as the previous one. The next election will be a war no one will ever see again, it is a battle for our next generation to rid of tyrant and bring in genuine check & blances on our reserve. A two-party state will be formed for the first time in history. I look forward to it before LKY died..
Foon Zachs Svai
dude @37,
“Transparency is key to democracy -the more information the people have, the better. ”
I concur.
Without the access to relevant information, Ah Bian would not have been sentenced.
Without the relentless pursue of the matter and demands for information, explanation and relentless questioning and discussions by the various 名嘴’s (political commentators) of TW, Ah Bian could have went scot free on numerous occasions. These 名嘴 are respectable and intellectual and analytical and usually not overly biased to be able to criticise both parties , the system based on facts as best they could. Mostly, these 名嘴’s speak based on strong reasonings substantiable by documents, evidence etc.
We need a 2100 when we do not have a Malaysiakini.
Eric
Political parties aside, let’s also think about how this coming election can be the game-changer for non-mainstream media.
The time to correct the gross information asymmetry has arrived.
Especially for TOC and other newly-formed current affairs sites, I believe now is a good time to strategize the game plan. For example, detailed biographies of new candidates – going beyond what MSM report, or does not report; beyond the simplistic positive or negative spins – and possibly even policy reviews. Furthermore, thinking through the legal implications of coverage now will clarify how TOC can play a critical role covering the coming election.
We definitely cannot allow the candidates, alternative parties or the incumbent, to offer their solutions without evidence, or to quote figures and expect Singaporeans to blindly accept. Sites like TOC can inform us if candidates are making sense or just plain baloney. Help us to distill the facts from fiction. Call their bluff. Highlight those who resort to gutter politics. Strip them of their knuckle-dusters. Fix MSM’s acts of self-censorship and selective reporting.
The coming election is an opportunity that TOC can seize to provide timely, less-biased and better-researched information to help Singaporeans make informed decisions.
I’m sure it will daunting, but if the mobilization of resources start now, we stand a fighting chance to make this election not just a fairer one, but also a more participative one.
Eric
43) tookie
well said again
tookie
eric, I think that’s an exellent idea. :)
Corine Chang
Agree with #46 Eric,
Its high noon to prepare for it . Based on past elections, we should know what needs to be done to help promote the loyal Opposition candidates who decided to stick their necks out for the people even though majority singaporeans have consciously voted to Deny opposition progress for the last half CENTURY.
Are these people worth fighting for?
that is subjective.
But for the 33.3%, that is a substantial size of the population to fight for.
I hope the quiet 33.3% contribute their bit by supporting the new candidates in whatever ways they can – email, sms, talk with people, walkabouts, educate the apathetic elderlies who do not know much about websites and information on the net and relying only on msm.
This lot maybe impossible to change their mindset given the evidence of the half century. We are left with the post 65′ers and new voters. Some youths maybe too young to vote.
Based on hindsight , we should know what to prepare in advance.
50) Corine Chang
due respect to the elderlies is prudent.
To “educate the apathetic elderlies who do not know much about websites and information on the net and relying only on msm.” is noble but these eledrlies have lived through decades before internet existed, must have their own grapevine other than msm.
I do not think they all live in a vacuum of info and I believe many have the wisdom to distill misinformation
theonlinecitizen
Eric,
Yes, it’ll be a big task, the elections. Would you like to help us out?
Drop us an email at theonlinecitizen@gmail.com
Thanks!
I am splitting this post in segments. This is the 1st part.
Thank you for your patience in reading.
In the 2006 Singapore parliamentary general election,
37 of the 84 seats were uncontested (ie 44% uncontested)
PAP won 66% of contested seats
Thus outright popular support for PAP is 37% of total voters (including walkover wards)
The opposition’s popular support is 19% of total voters (including walkover wards)
The choice of the 44% in the walkover wards who did not have a chance to vote is unknown.
If the oppositions were correct at targeting wards with highest support for them (opposition) we can deduce that the support level in walkover wards should be in favour of PAP. But again this may not be true; as the PAP would have fielded whom they perceived to be stronger candidates in these walkover wards that they (PAP) may have lower support, to trigger a walkover.
Thus,
1. the overall support level (PAP vs OPP) assuming equal share of voter support in the walkover wards is 59% vs 41%
2. the overall support (PAP vs OPP) level assuming walkover wards favour PAP is more-than-59% vs less-than-41%
3. the overall support (PAP vs OPP) level assuming walkover wards favour OPP is less-than-59% vs more-than-41%
The 3rd scenario is the most likely imho, and thus the support level could be close to 50:50.
So the situation may be that the support level for OPP is much higher than 33.3% as Corine Chang posted @ #51
Tan Ah Kow
My views about the oppositions
————————————————-
Workers’ Party, to be kind, is probably slightly more effective than Chiam’s. To be unkind both Workers’ Party and SDA are best described as Wayang Parties. These parties are totally useless are devoid of any purpose other than to be poster boys for PAP’s claim to Singapore being democracy. In a sad and strange way, both these parties are completely out of touch with the pulse of the people just like the PAP but in different ways.
In electoral terms, the WP will probably benefit in the polls from PAP’s unpopularity not because they are tok kong but more likely because the electorate have no alternative choice. In any case, even if WP gain in electoral term, what can one expect beyond that. Zilch really, going by their recently performance.
The SDA is basically a zombie party with a zombie leadership. Assuming that Chiam is still around, the leadership style will be no different from PAP’s — i.e. dictatorial. In which case, don’t expect anything new from the party.
Reform Party(aka KJ) and Tan Kian Lian(TKL). Both personalities are definitely focused on addressing the “bread and butter” issue, which I have no doubt is the pressing issue in Singaporeans’ mind. KJ is attempting to address the fundamental weakness at the economic policy end. TKL addressing more tangible issues. But both are trying hard to avoid the “high faluting” human rights things.
In electoral term, the KJ and TKL combination, would be appealing to the electorate. KJ will probably appeal to the intelligentsia class of opposition Singapore and TKL the common man touch. However, whilst both may be able to appeal to the electorate it is hard to see them becoming a beacon for some serious fundamental changes that given the state of affair now.
First, in terms of macro economic fundamentals KJ is right to have noted change is needed but to get from the situation to the one he presented in his recent speech, it involves very painful change that focusing on economics and not touch on human rights or politics will not addressed. But macro economics is often missed in the minds of the average Joe. In any case, the average Joe are already so in grained in the PAP doctrine (growth is good), how is he going to sell an alternative policy that the average Joe can appreciate. So who exactly is KJ targeting his message? The intelligentsia? But even so, which segment? The willing to accept change or the status quo (who are profiting from it) one? Here is where there is no avoiding the politics (people who want change vs people who don’t want).
Secondly, TKL tries to use the miss-selling issues as a concrete example to rally for change. Very good, idea as it helps the average Joe to understand economics in the real world. However, as can be seen he has not yielded much because he is coming up against really fundamental, not pure legal or economic, stumbling block — i.e. politics (the PAP has to protect the business class at all cost). But pandering too much to the needs of your average Joe could also blind you to much more fundamental issues (i.e. fear to speaking up — i.e. human rights — and institutional changes — i.e. politics).
As for the SDP, in terms of pushing the boundaries for change, they have been the most consistent of the lot and in terms of effecting change they have done more than most of the other opposition parties. Given the apathy that exists in Singapore, they have certainly done something that all other parties have not. That is the only way to overcome fear is to be fearless. Basically, what they have done is when everything is thrown at you and you can still continue to function under such pressure, that is really tok kong. Whereas the WP and SDA type will probably crumble.
So the SDP in the current situation, is probably the kind of opposition that Singapore is going to need right now more so than the others. Maybe when the state of politics, social and economic development reaches the stage where one could describe as a normal democracy, then SDP would be redundant.
On the electorate
———————–
Obvious it is not possible for all Singaporean to come to the same view about things, otherwise we would be living in the textbook world. So to understand how the electorate view the opposition and more fundamentally the current state of affair, I suppose we ought to ask these questions:
(a) Is there a ground swell of appetite for change of status quo?
(b) Assuming that there are appetites for change, the question is to what end? What is the end game for change?
(c) Assuming that the end goal for change is clear, are there any willingness on the part to make the change happens?
I suppose there is no clear cut answer to all these questions. My feeling is that there is probably some element with respect to (a). But in the case of (b), that is a lot less clear or more accurately none. Point (c) is moot as the stage is not clear.
My guess is many want to status quo but for their own individual circumstances to be better or secure. Hence, I don’t really see where all these appetites are being channel. Is it a push for change for the direction espoused by the SDP, or less radical by the KJ and TKL, or simply to slap the PAP on the wrist approach espouse by WP/SDA.
Conclusion
—————
To the question has my views of the political parties changed since the last election?
Answer is no.
My view is that there is fundamental fault line in Singapore’s political, social and economic scene. That has not been addressed not just from the last election but even way back in LKY days when he started crushing the oppositions and other institution of state. Given this state of affair, I still think the SDP approach offer the only way to address those fundamental issue. This applies to now. Maybe in the future, I could look for favourably at the KJ and TKL approach and SDP then become redundant. Can’t say I have much thought for WP (after JBJ) or SDA.
Sue-Anne Hoong
#51,
“I do not think they all live in a vacuum of info and I believe many have the wisdom to distill misinformation ”
But there is historical evidence too solid for you to ignore.
Sue-Anne Hoong
45) David on September 20th, 2009 2.16 pm
“I see it as a war between us (the voter) and them (PAP). Also on the journalist front ,a war between Us (the online citizens) and tthem (the ST pap newpaper). ”
Thailand is a 3rd world.
TW is a 3rd world.
Even these have struggled with the idea of democracy initially.
Now, it has seen progress in its own democracies.
We see mainly peaceful protests.
We see talk shows with intellectuals speaking in public to pursue for information, explanations, transparency, accountability.
They arrived where they are NOT BY CHANCE but thru long long long Struggles and their people have the passion and love for their country to be politically unapathetic to voice up and fight for democracy.
Nation is build over long long time.
Democacy is achieved over long long time and requires a lot struggles, sacrifice and people who stick their necks out, people with VISION of the long term.
‘Long Term’, remember this term? If we look at the Long Term, these struggles are Short Term. USA is not the democacy it is today. It used to have slaves. Thru revolution and struggles over long long time, that kind of struggle ende. Now they have other struggles. The point is Struggles need not be forever.
If we look long term, struggles today is only short term relatively speaking.
TW blue army struggled and won.
TW political commentators struggled and persisted with relentless demands for answers, pressuring for the truth.
Ah Bian now officially a criminal.
No mean feat.
The persistence of Taiwanese intellectuals and visionaries gave birth to the modern TW democracy, a giant leap from its Sun Yat Sen days.
Nothing lasts forever. The only Constant is still Change.
Think long term, where long term is relativity.
peace.
58) Sue-Anne Hoong
Thailand is a 3rd world.
TW is a 3rd world.
I am not too sure they are in the 3rd world.
In Thailand, there were speculation that the red shirts were paid to protest
http://observers.france24.com/en/content/20090416-thaksin-unintentionally-suggests-red-shirts-paid-cause-havoc
57) Sue-Anne Hoong
Please share these historical evidence too solid to ignore.
Part 2
The voters can be categorised into 5 age groups which happen to be quite equal in number based on info on Singapore demographics.
1. 20-29 years old
2. 30-39 years old
3. 40-49 years old
4. 50-59 years old
5. 60- above years old
And very conveniently, they also fit into the 5 stage of a man’s life (also applies to women) which are:
1. Growing
2. Warrior
3. Wounded
4. Sage
5. Sage
At each life stage, the voter’s perception of issues changes, as he/she accumulate life experience.
And with that, the weightage a voter gives to personal vs national issues changes over time
The literate vs illiterate would have very vastly different perceptions.
The young and the old too would have very vastly different perceptions. The old has a longer historical backdrop of time to understand the issues, but that can also become a trap in the form of resistance for change, while the young starts with a clean sheet of paper, not encumbered by past, but also may not have the benefit of “banging some trees along the path”
Part 3 will follow
Part 3
The trend of the decline in popular votes to the ruling party is irreversible. There can be no doubt that this trend was recognised early by the ruler party.
Their effort to tweak the election rules to prevent “freak” results could be for these 2 possible reasons:
1. If one thinks positively of them: it is due to their genuine concern for the long term survival of the country
2. If one thinks negatively of them: they want to rule forever.
The “tweaks to prevent freaks” came in the form of (in chronological order of appearance):
1. Consistently for decades till this day, are the “bunching” of good-news policy to be pushed out just prior to elections, (and of course the painful one will follow without fail after a landslide win), and the mysteriously sudden decrease in traffic fines issued.
2. Ever shifting electoral boundaries
3. GRCs
4. The HDB upgrading programme/ Private Estates Upgrading Programme
5. Pre-election giveaways like distributing budget surplus
I and 5 can be carried out indefinitely for many more elections, and its effect of “vote buying” cannot be denied.
2 will reached its physical limit some day if the support level declines further, as neutralising pro opposition wards with adjacent pro PAP wards will become increasingly a daunting task, there will come a time that there will be no much benefit in doing this to have any effect. This is already happening imho.
3 will still be a force to be reckon with, but because of what is happening with 2, the ruling party has probably recognised the futility in trying to make the GRCs larger and larger. This may explain the reversal in strategy to make them smaller (and hopefully gain some ground support), but really to minimise the casualty rate if GRCs are lost.
4 is loosing steam as many upgrading programme were completed, and the ruling party have “lost teeth” in the wards that already been upgraded as they can no longer use this carrot-cum-stick issue to affect voting patterns. This also explains the scaling down of the MUP and IUP, now renamed HIP- which is really a scaled down version of the upgrading. It is losing its bite.
Part 4 will follow
Part 4
The new media has forever changed the election game.
Something happened in the May 2006 election that had no precedent in SG politics. And it forever changed the political landscape to a point of no return.
Citizen broadcasting.
A rally attended by hundreds of thousands can suddenly be viewed by the entire voting population via the new media. The public now has access to hear out entire election rallies in the comfort of their home.
Gone are the times when we have to rely solely on the 10 seconds long fragments in the “old media” depicting the “non-ruling” parties in their worst moments (like digging their nose, scratching their hair, yawning, wearing slippers, etc)
And because of the ridiculously short campaigning period of 6 days (please correct me if I am wrong), one needs to clone oneself to be at all places to hear out all the rallies. But with the new media, it is now possible.
A long of stuff are can be heard at the rallies that will never appear on TV or the papers. We now have a chance to know all this.
The ability and calibre of the candidates can be better gauged with more info via the new media.
The voting public is now a more informed with the new media.
This will significantly change the outcome of the election.
Part 5 will follow
Part 7
With each new generation, literacy rate increases, we get more affluence, we become more informed, and expectation will naturally rise. Whether the expectations are realistic or not, that is not an issue. The consequence of this tsunami of rising expectation will have only one outcome.
That no matter how well the ruling party does, the trend towards voting against the ruling party will continue.
Competition is always healthy, even in politics. No one party can claim to have all the answers to nation building.
The ruling party, by impeding the natural growth of alternative political groups is doing the nation grievous harm.
If a “freak election” result, by definition of the ruling party, does happen, and it will in a matter of time, having no viable alternative to be voted in by then is the worst possible scenario for Singapore.
End.
Thank you for reading
JW
kopitiamapek
“1. If one thinks positively of them: it is due to their genuine concern for the long term survival of the country”
It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out that the PAP government does not care about the plight of Singaporeans. There is absolutely no thought of the long term survival of the country by the bunch of PAP rulers.
Sad to say, they are but a bunch of greedy, selfish ministers. The only difference between them and the some corrupted African republic is that Singapore is a legalised corruption, –passed by parliament.
The following facts show that the PAP government has no genuine concern for the long term survival of the country:
a) the declining birth rate and the emigration by the thousands to the West and recently to China.
b) implementing policies that is extremely hostile to setting up a family e.g. expensive housing and long working hours just to survive.
If heaven is merciful lightning will strike dead the PAP ministers or if not, the future of Singapore is very bleak indeed.
Sue-Anne Hoong
57) KopitiamApek on September 20th, 2009 7.21 pm
Actually there are 1st worlds , 2nd worlds and 3rd worlds.
quote from wiki :
“… in 1952 French demographer Alfred Sauvy coined the term “Third World” to describe this latter group; retroactively, the first two groups came to be known as the “First World” and “Second World”. ”
where the 1st 2 groups are NATO an Warsaw pact countries (allies).
I learnt that the more appropriate description for some asian countries should be ‘High Income Countries” or “IMF advanced economies” .
By the by, you cannot prove that the red army were all on ‘payroll’.
But in principle, i cannot disagree 100% with you.
One can also argue that some may be doing it for the love of their country or Thaksin and money is an extra bonus?
In this world there is no 100%. So, of course some may be, some may not be.
We just don’t know.
We also work and get paid right?
So, is getting paid to do what we love wrong?
how could it be so?
kopitiamapek
“1. If one thinks positively of them: it is due to their genuine concern for the long term survival of the country”
With consideration of the following, it is hard for one to consider the possibility of the abovementioned.
1. Announcement of the new electroal boundary was made known in a very short time. It was 1 month in 1997 GE, and only 1 (ONE) day in 2001.
2. Elections are conducted by the Elections Dept under the supervision of the Prime Minister Office.
3. Refusal of PAP to reveal the sources of its donations.
4. PAP’s silence on the call for public declaration of ministers’, and their family members’, incomes and assets.
Wat Sup
Some information for all to refer to for activities conduct by opposition parties
WP website – http://www.wp.org.sg or http://twitter.com/wpsg/
NSP website – http://www.nsp.sg or http://twitter.com/nsp_sg or http://www.facebook.com/nsp.organising
RP website – http://www.thereformparty.net/
SDP website – http://www.yoursdp.org or http://twitter.com/sgdemocrats or http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=36465958407
Do join in their network to know more about them and their view before falling into conclusion.
Not likely
With consideration of the following, chances are the abovementioned is rather unlikely.
1. annoucement of the redrawn electoral boundary in a short time before the elections. 1997: 1 month. 2001: 1 day.
2. having the elections department supervised by the PMO
3. on their silence to the call for public declaration of Ministers’, and their family members’, incomes and assets.
64) Sue-Anne Hoong
Hi Sue,
I like your balanced view.when you wrote “In this world there is no 100%. So, of course some may be, some may not be.We just don’t know.”
This is the essence of my many posts here, which oftentime irks those who see the issues as black or white, but really most issues are in a continuum of various shades of grey.
The 3rd world is sometimes used to refer to he poor countries as well, terminologies has a nasty habit of morphing into other meanings given sufficient time.
66) JW
////It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out that the PAP government does not care about the plight of Singaporeans. ////
Thank you for your response.
I view issues in a continuum of various shades of grey.
68) how could it be so?
Thank you for your response.
Your points are valid.
The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 21 Sep 2009
[...] Road to Perdition Repression Election – TOC: Have your views of the political parties changed in the last 3 years? [...]
ZL
If oppositions (except RP, being a new bird) breakthrough GRCs, especially the WP, it’s not becos they have improved, credible nor hard work, but becos the PAP is too much and too pro-FTs. This is like the recent GE in Japan whereby the voters decided to give the inexperience opp a chance which they feel it’s a gamble, as they feel that enough is enough.
Lest
My views on the local political parties, based on a ‘casual’ and very general understanding:
WP – Not much news about them, almost forgot what they are doing since last election. They were trying some youth activities, but think the party needs to decide whether it wants to be more ‘oppositional’ or not.
SDA – Still seen as the ‘Potong Pasir’ party with Chiam as the only memorable figurehead. Current generation don’t know much about the party so a complete makeover might be necessary.
SDP – Doing a lot of Internet stuff. Seems to be the most ‘up-to-date’ and ‘modern’ party. Would attract post-1980 Singaporeans but some older generation still tricky to deal with.
NSP – Can’t remember anything about them but Steve Chia. Can’t get a feeling at all of what their vision, goals or strategies are.
RP – Big commotion because of JBJ’s re-entry, but sad exit soon after. Don’t want to comment about them at all cause I don’t think of them to be a local political ‘brandname’ yet since the son took over.
PKMS – Completely invalid now even to Malay community. Should just disband and join the various local opposition parties to increase Malay representation.
PAP – Getting more concentrated/complex with repression and manipulation. Cock-up a lot recently. Because of lack of challenge from opposition, I think they’ve become too much of technocrats and forgotten (and for the younger ones, never learned) how to be politicians.
Screw Driven
“Have your views of the political parties changed in the last 3 years?”
1 thing for sure, over the last 3 years A LOT of new Citizens have been added to the population.
Is it 20% ?
If so, the last election saw a diff of 33.3% in votes (66.6-33.3 = 33.3).
Now, how many newbies?
no easy thing to drop your passport to take up another.
so, what will be the effect?
Calibrating influx?
Can it be re-calibrated sometime next year again?
73) Screw Driven
Singapore residents:
2006 = 3,525.9 mil
2007 3,583.1
2008 3,642.7
Lest
My comment is waiting moderation? What’s so wrong about it?
half right
Hi ZL,
In the first place, I don’t belong to any political party. Just MHO.
You might be right that people want to have a change and thus WP gets to benefit from the mode of change in the coming GE.
However, we can’t deny the fact that WP has been providing a choice for the past 52 years. All of us know that it’s not easy to be in the opposition camp in SG. What’s more they have been “tonging” for these 52 years. I salute Mr Low Thia Khiang, and many of their long time members who have been holding the fort and staying on and fighting on in spite of all the obstacles, challenges and limitations they face.
The least we should do is to thank them for providing us, the voters, a choice all these years. And I salute the late Mr JBJ too!
I believe Singaporeans who have soem sense of conciense would appreciate that.
Honestly, I always tell myself not to discredit the opposition parties, however they are, if I can’t be like them dare standing up and be in the opposition camp.
Again, it’s just MHO.
George
The people’s basic strategy remains the same: vote for the opposition party not the face. If you vote based on who the candidate is, you will never bring into
parliament a significant group of MPs who will be there to question the govt on
every significant issue. The MSM will continue to be heavily biased against the
oppositions and lean over backwords to make the papa look good. That wouldn’t change and we may even see a NEW approach of the MSM being
tasked by the govt to DISCREDIT bloggers in the new media.
The govt has demonstrated in the past that it is not above dirty tricks to retain
power.
Prophet Kongmin
A wind of change is coming and blowing across Singapore! The time for change has come. 1st in Malaysia. 2nd in Japan. Now is the turn for Singapore to change. It’s time for Singaporeans to wake up from their slumber and challenge the intimidation and fear PAP always seek to create in the minds of Singaporeans by saying how Singapore will go in trouble without them. Nobody is indispensable. Even if the opposition parties are voted in and formed a coalition government, Singapore will still be business as usual or may even be better.
NCMP and NMP cannot vote against bills and can only voiced their opinions. What’s the point of talking when they do not have the power to check the PAP?
Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely. It’s time Singapore has a opposition party or a coalition parties strong enought to provide a check and balance to the PAP, similar to the Western-style democracy.
However, if Singaporeans don’t give the opposition parties a chance to prove themselves by stepping forward in faith and vote for them, how can they be expected to prove their competency? Singaporeans can only blame themselves for the 7% GST, PAP’s squandering of taxpayers money in their high defence spending and paying their regular soldiers high pay, losing of $40 billion by Temasek without accountability and transparency, large numbers of foreign workers pushing down the wages and competing with Singaporeans for jobs and HDB resale flats, etc. etc.
The RP is right that defence spending should be cut. If the defence spending is cut, the GST, income tax and corporate tax may also be cut as well. Thus, bringing more income and purchasing power to Singaporeans and businesses. With more purchasing power in the hands of Singaporeans, it can lead to more demands for goods and services and thus, better business to the companies.
With a reduction in corporate tax rate, it can also boost business profits in Singapore and attract more foreign investments into the country and create more jobs for Singaporeans. Why should the welfare of 1 big money wasting machine (not war fighting machine) come at the expense of Singaporeans? Does a huge defence spending lead a strong SAF? With a huge army based on a forward defence strategy, with its offensive weapons such as attack helicopters, MBTs, Chinooks, it also generate the risks that a war with our neighbours can be sparked off in times of crisis due to military necessity, instead of resolving through diplomacy.
Moreover, by launching a 1st strike becos of military necessity in times of crisis with our neighbours, Singapore will become the aggressor in the eyes of international community. Hence, Singapore may be condemned by UN instead.
Well, terrorism is an internal threat and comes under the purview of the Home Affairs. Does a few terrorists need such a big army to fight? Moreover, while the PAP is calling Singaporeans to defend their home, they are at the same times bringing in more foreign talents to take away the jobs and HDB flats of Singaporeans. Hence, Singaporeans had been called to serve 2 years of NS and 10-ICT cycle to defend the jobs and homes of the foreigners living in Singapore. Statistics of Singapore revealed that 34% of the population are PRs/foreigners.
With the influx of foreigners into Singapore, Singapore has already been colonised by foreigners through economic means, not military means. Hence, the threat of national security and defence of our nation is no longer at the military front. Hence, defence spending should be cut and foreign talents restricted in Singapore. This is what the government should focus on in terms of national security. The PAP is focusing on defending Singapore in the wrong front and the RP is right that defence spending be cut and foreign workers restricted in Singapore.
A strong east wind is blowing to change the political landscape in Singapore to break the political dominance of the PAP in the next election!
Mary
I am well educated (am now that I have been educated overseas but not before) used to be politically ignorant (prefer this word to ‘apathetic’, thinking that PAP=Govt=Spore, opposition are rebels) but no more, thanks to my life overseas and the internet.
The PAPs will have you believe that the oppostions are not credible, not capable, not strong enough… but who needs them to be (even if they are not) when the situation is so dire? These words they use on opposition are now much better suited to themselves. So pathetic are those in Govt any writer here will make a better Minister!
las palmas
Personally, i think that a strong military is the only guarantee of a safe environment for further growth in democracy and national maturity.
omega
like the romanian revolution of 1989
Sean
Agree to Disagree… A basic virtue in democracy. Everyone has a right to their views.
#77, Kongmin, I have to say that I find it irresponsible to mention national strategy in online forums whether or not they are accurate as you say it is.
Whether the defence budget should be reduced or not is something to possibly debate on. But I believe we should spend enough on a credible defence force.
What I am against is the policy of Scholars getting into positions of management within the civil service (military included) solely based on the fact that they have passed an interview 10 yrs before hence allowing them to be placed above the normal people. They earn higher wages den non scholars of the same level… How can the advancement of an individual be determined way before they even started working determine their route of advancement thereafter…. I am not saying that all scholars are idiots. but not all scholars are competent either even with their impressive educational backgrd. The non scholars have to work 5 times harder to get to the same level. A scholarship was meant for for the less well off who needed help in getting a quality education that he/she was not able to afford…. it has now been bastardized into a scheme to create the future political elite… So many more things I can say about the scholar system… But i will say my peace another time.
Meritocracy is a farce… an excuse perpetuate the current system.
My views on politics since 2006 have not changed… my view remains that change is required in Singapore.
And like mary, I used to believe in such a manner that ” PAP=Govt=Spore”. But I didn’t need to go overseas to have my eyes open… all you need is to join the armed forces. Its basically a microcosm of our political system in the most extreme form.
And every Singaporean should be told that if the current gov were to lose power. All its machinery will still remain( i.e. civil service) Its just the “familee”( as some would like to put it) that is removed. A New Captain at the helm… even if a crap gov(Like now) were to be in power we will still survive… So dun be afraid in voting the other side if they prove to be credible enough to have earned your vote… give them a chance. One vote at a time. :)
Fievel
I tend to imagine things…silly, implausible things, and so recently I had this crazy picture/idea that maybe PM Lee is secretly out to make things easier for Singaporeans to vote opposition in, against a system that EVEN he, is unable to change. Hence the relentless implementation of unpopular policies like $2 million+ ministers’ salaries right after PAP won their 2006 election, inflated housing prices (especially in lower end public housing) during a recession, blatant import of foreigners over a short span of 2 years…all without shutting down the numerous Singaporean blogs that give us voters a new found source of information, without which we will all be angry or unhappy with certain policies that affect us individually but will never collectively resolve to vote for “change” in our next election because of ignorance.
Does that sound like too crazy an idea?
The Good Ole Days long gone
Guys and Gals,
noticed somethings recently:
1. ND rally speech : nostalgia, reminiscent, old-new comparison
2. News intro music : a remix of the good old days news intro music.
3. MIW in the news : bring back memories for the elderlies , those who resulted in the half Century reign.
so, whats up doc?
spirited-centred
Hi tookie,
you should go to WP website to read their manifesto to find whether the ideas and policies they suggest is able to meet your expection of them governing Singapore well if they are given a chance. For now, the alternative parties were not given a chance by our fearful voters to even get into parliament by droves, we cannot expect to evaluate the abilities of the alternative parties to govern. So , first step is to put more alternative candidates into parliament for them to be trained and next to put more of them in to deny the pappies two-third majority to evaluate whether they vote against issues or policies are in the interest of the people of Singapore and then put even more into parliament to form the next government of Singapore. I believe only through this evolution process, can we be able to groom another good alternative party who can be our another choice for good government. Then we can say that Singapore will have a good future forever.
spirited-centred
WP frequently do hammer newsletter sales at all the markets in Hougang such as Hougang Mall, Heartland Mall, and Ave 4 markets. They also do weekly house visits in blocks outside LTK constituencies, its take some times to reach your friend area as there are more than 500 HDB blocks in Aljunied GRC, so be patient , they will be there to meet your friend.
As for grassroots activities that are similar to those done by RC & CC, they cannot do these as they are not the incumbent MPs of this areas, so if your friend wants to enjoy these grassroots activities by WP, please vote in the WP.
Tan Eng Niang
Gone are some of the street fighters in PAP, who understood the masses and lived among us.
Today, the elite, the blindly loyalist, the fortune seekers, the one-tone, one-theme pap cronies fill the parliament, to continue their weak footing, out-of-touch, they survive in GRC, they are either muted ( sleeping through their term ) or be a loud speaker for the master, one typical is
Ms Irene Ng, the typical BIG MOUTH, DO-NOTHING pap “mp”
member of parliament not, member of puppets, YES !!
Stanley
Please.
HaiGong
Recently, LKY understands that politicians cannot be created. I think he has observed the new leaders and suppose all failed in his eyes. BTW, he admires CSJ, its a big mistake he has missed out CSJ to absorb him into PAP.
One problem, LKY cannot go back his words that he has a bunch of useless elites, only out to keep holding on to make money from the political position that paid so well.
The next thing and hopefully before he goes to the grave that he understands paying millions to politicians is a graving mistake as well.
Look around us and look at history, what happen to people holding on to power for too long?
We must change in the next election, be good or bad now but eventually will benefit our next generations.
Look at Indonesia, Korea, Taiwan…etc they are a better country now then ever. Admire the Thais, a bit messy but democratic and tolerable. The Malaysians and the Filipinos are doing very well too. These people love their country and looking at their future. They do not want to experience the past again. The HK people are still holding on to what they believed, if not for their people power, HK will be oppressed by the mainland.
Debra Sooni Hoong-G
87) spirited-centred on September 21st, 2009 11.49 pm.
“WP frequently do hammer newsletter sales at all the markets in Hougang such as Hougang Mall, Heartland Mall, and Ave 4 markets. They also do weekly house visits in blocks outside LTK constituencies, its take some times to reach your friend area as there are more than 500 HDB blocks in Aljunied GRC, so be patient , they will be there to meet your friend.”
There is no choice WP, there is no way to discount from having to do all these walkabouts as you want the votes, you have to put in the effort and not just courtesy efforts but 101% efforts. I not sure does WP do Ave 9 and HG Green areas ? That seems like a white area.
You guys complain cannot do this cannot do that due to restrictions. But you said you have been doing walkabouts and selling hammers. Oxymoron?
What i fail to see is you increasing this type of activities to engage the voters.
Hey, come on, it as been years since the last election. What difference have you the WP made?
Tell the me.
Debra Sooni Hoong-G
errata : What i fail to see is you increasing this type of activities to engage the voters.
should be : since you are allowed to do walkabouts and sell hammers, why not do more of this and stretch the boundaries to the max? Unless you tell me you have experienced the max? proof?
Schmells like teen juice
now with the gains from the SELL of C, does it spell the end for opposition?
i think they still lose more than gained. much much more based on wat i see in reports over the past few months.
gemami
Come on people! Stop deceiving yourselves and prolonging your agony. As I have said so in #6, an election – more particularly the next one – is not about this or that party. It is about you and me.
We have to ask ourselves a few fundamental questions.
1. What message do you want to send across to the politicians you want as representative?
2. What message you want to send to the ruling party?
3. What message you want to send to the Alternatives?
4. What message you want to convey for yourself?
If you think the PAP has been good to you, your family, your friends and the community at large; fine; cast your votes based on this understanding. But if you have doubts about the quality of the current PAP team because of the numerous grievances you have heard around you, then you would do well to go hear them out and see if they make any sense to you. After that, go cast your vote and no one will fault you for your choice.
But if you conclude that these grievances have merit, and that you want to be less selfish for once; to think for your fellow Singaporeans who are suffering and lagging behind, and to lend them a hand, then you would also do well to give consideration to all these before casting your votes.
It is understandable that there are opinions – that even as we find the PAP deplorable in many ways – we cannot just cast our votes for any alternatives that have no track records we can rely on.
The point is we need to consider this: if we do not begin to take our chances with the alternatives, we will forever be facing this situation, election after election. When this happens, the PAP becomes more and more arrogant and those not suffering now, will eventually be suffering.
So, the best thing we can do for ourselves is to take a chance. We are not talking about having the alternatives forming the next government. Freak results and what-nots are the PAP’s way of frightening the people. With all the corrupted mechanisms in place, there is no way for such freak results unless Singaporeans are totally pissed with them. If this is the case, then it is not a freak result anymore, is it? It is what Singaporeans want.
What will happen when we take the chance to give the alternatives a chance (and ourselves along the way), is that we begin to set in motion the wheel of multi-party governance. There will no longer be a PAP monopoly; and; there will no longer be a state-centric government but a people-centric one.
If this is the message we want to send to the PAP, then this will be the time to do so. The PAP will be truly awaken to the need to reinvent itself to be people-focused. This is what any government ought to do and this is what we want the ruling party of Singapore to do.
Anonymous
To: #83 Sean,
Even if Singapore is to have a strong defence force to deter any aggressor for national security, the defence budget should be cut. The deterrence value of the SAF comes from the NSF and NSmen and Singaporeans commitment to NS, not the regulars.
The problem is that the PAP is paying the regulars, especially the senior military officers too high pay, so as to give these senior military officers an incentive to keep them in power, in the event that should there be a freak elections, to use their words, they can send in the army to crush the opposition parties elected by the people. There is no such thing as freak election, if someone is elected into office by the will of the people, they are elected. If an election can be freak, can we then said that all the past electoral victories of the PAP are freak elections?
A major in the SAF at the age of 40 can earn up to $9000 per mth, with a retirement fund of $500k at the age of 50. Hence, being a regular officer in the SAF can make a person a millionaire by the time he retired from regular service, while the majority of Singaporeans are left to struggle to make a living becos of the high cost of living in Singapore becos of the high taxes imposed by the PAP to pay the senior military officers. Many of these senior officers with the rank of major and above do not hold combat appointments and even if they do, it is only for the inital few years in their entire military career. Subsequently, their duties are mainly office and administrative bound. Why should Singaporeans be made to pay an army officer such a high pay for a job that is office bound? Even a senior manager or a GM in a private company who has to worry about the profit and loss of his company daily may not earn that kind of pay.
Singapore can still have a strong defence force with a reduced defence budget. The reason the defence budget is so high, (Singapore defence spending is $11.447 billion for FY09, compared to only $4.74 billion by Indonesia in 2008 and Malaysia is $1.69 billion in 2000. Sources. Wikiedia) is mainly becos a large part of the defence budget has been used to pay the regular officers. If MINDEF reduce the pay of the regular senior ofifcers (with the rank of major and above) by $2k a mth, it can save $24k per year from each of them. Assuming there are 5000 officers with the rank of major and above in SAF, MINDEF can save at least $120 million per year!!! The problem with the high cost of living in Singapre is becos of the high defence spending, becos the PAP has mismanage or deliberately pay the regular SAF officers too high pay!!! Can you imagine a major, lieutenant colonel and colonel being pay $10k a month for performing only office bound or admin duties in CMPB, MINDEF and non-combat units? And many of these senior officers misused or make use of the NSFs and NSmen to do their work for them, with the threat to charge them for disobeying orders if they don’t do their work? An NSF or NSmen being pay only a few hundred dollars to do the work of the regulars being pay $10k a mth?
Where's Pinkie?
My View of the opposition parties HAVE NOT changed since the last election.
1. WP is not as gungho nor active as a political party found in other 1st worlds like Australia, USA and basically anywhere else. Whats going on? Whats the reality?
2. I still feel that despite this those who voted for them last round may still do the same if no other options or parties come to the fray. So, its like 1 option out of 1.
A new party with similarly qualified candidates could also get the same level of support if not comparable level of support.
What HAS CHANGED is the blogging scene. These non-political parties websites are the main Contributors to the fight against Apathy. These deserve a pat on their backs. These have spoken on all issues possible for discussion on behalf of the people. These should be the MP and People Representatives. They are more effective.
These are merely my personal views. Feel free to rebut me. If you can.
gemami
Dear Searching-for-Pinkie,
The biggest flaw in your comment is yourself. You have been taken in by the PAP’s indoctrination that no party is any where close to the PAP in terms of its ability to lead the country. You believe this because you have been told over, and over, and over; again and again and again – that no other political party can govern Singapore the way the PAP has been doing.
The PAP operates by using everything at its disposal to escalate every small flaw, amplify every bumbling action, sneer every counter-suggestion and warn against every anti-PAP thought, brought about by anyone opposing them.
By constantly doing all these and more, people like you begin to ask questions that the PAP wants you to ask. You become ensnared without even realizing it.
Any political party can survive any uncertainties, anytime. The power of the people lending support can do wonders – the same wonders our foreparents were able to do alongside the PAP – in the early days of our Nationhood.
This is the reason why I ask that voters begin to see things for what it is. It is not this or that political party who will bring Singapore forward into the future. Let no party tell us this.
It is the collective will of the people; just like the collective will of our foreparents – not one man only – who will ensure that Singapore can look to a future that brings true happiness and prosperity for ourselves.
Prophet Kongming
It is precisely what PAP want Singaporeans to think that there are no alternatives to them and only they are able to govern Singapore. In fact, I would say that it is dangerous for Singaporeans to think that no one can govern Singapore other than the PAP. Bt the grace of the Creator of the universe, there are always alternatives in life. If no Pepsi, you can drink coke, 7-Up, etc. If no Mercedes, you can drive BMW. Each has its own merits.
Teo CW
1)Condo pricing for HDB + stupid HDB guidelines.
2)China Ah Tiongs & India Ah Neh roaming all around SG for our ricebowls.
3)No minimum wage guidelines, peanut salary means monkey business.
4)Shocking & hair raising taxi fares & ERP.(Guo Lu Fei)
5)MRT & Buses squeeze like Ayam Brand Sardine
6)School children no childhood.All about performance only.
7)Dear Ah Ching rather lose billions of our $$ rather than to use it to help the homeless Ah Peks & Ah Mahs picking cardboards.
8)Our highest paid leaders in the world live in super duper big Mansions in Holland & Bt Timah while homeless people set up tent in East Coast.
I can go on & on. My vote goes to the opposition even if the opposition sucks. Because I will be a sucker if I kena conned by PAP again. Period.
V is for Vendetta
I am opposed to Mandatory CPF Life scheme
I am opposed to “unregulated” rise in petrol prices
I am opposed to people in power who don’t understand; don’t care; don’t do enough or have simply forgotten about the struggles of the common people
I am opposed to people in power getting away unpunished for huge mistakes
And the list go on and on and on….
On the other hand,
I have gained more respect for Alternative Parties, TheOnlineCitizen and many other media that dare speak up for the people and for themselves.
I look forward to next election when we will have yet another chance to exercise our rights on who should lead this country.
ooOOoo
seems like many people forgot a quote from Joseph Stalin:
“The people who cast the votes don’t decide an election, the people who count the votes do. “
The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Weekly Roundup: Week 39
[...] to Perdition Election – TOC: Have your views of the political parties changed in the last 3 years? – The Kent Ridge Common: Upfront with The Reform Party: An exclusive interview with Mr Kenneth [...]
Some Sense please
My feeling that there is a greater need for an opposition is getting stronger.
vincent tan
hi somesenseplease,
the opposition is not getting stronger but rather the PAP is getting weaker by the day.
The gahmen has steadily bankrupting their trust of the social contract as time past.
They are arrongant, self-prospering, insensitive to most Singaporean, hardheaded elites.
They only serve the rich and famous, all other Singaporean are just economic milking working units.
The foreign talents policy is the last straw!
stand up for a SINGAPOREAN Singapore

A large number of Singaporeans have changed their views because of Internet GE 2006. The momentum has been building. Naturally, the PAP and ST would rather you not know,, or admit it. Spreading the belief (propaganda??) that nothing has change helps to stem this trend.
Keep up the good work TOC n other bloggers and activists. Never allow yourself to be cowed. Sg must have a real democracy.