The flat prices would probably go up … by 1 per cent, 2 per cent… It will just keep on going up if the economy recovers as people expect, and if confidence returns but affordability will always be there.

National Development Minister, Mah Bow Tan

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

67 Responses to “HDB flats – “affordability will always be there”, says Mah”

1. Resales prices will rise as PRs come in by the thousands with their professional high pay.

Newly wed couples will suffer as they look for resale flats to stay.

Even with the $30K housing grants for purchasing resale flats, newly married will still find it tough to pay for housing without taking a huge mortgage loan further stressing out the marriage if one person is being laid off. many young couples thus put off having children so that they can sweat it out at their careers hoping to have a better pay to pay off skyhigh resale housing mortgages.

Is this the kind of Singapore that we want for our children?

2. Moe Gan Thai 3 September 2009

No, we don’t want this kind of S’pore for our children. The policy is wrong, they want us to bear children and yet make things difficult for Singaporeans. Housing is a basic need for a family nucleus, but sad to say MND does not help us but they help the PRs and blame the market forces. ” affordability will always be there” only for you, billionheir ministers. you dare to come Potong Pasir, we will vote you out again

3. I don’t think FTs are coming in by the thousands.

Many left already.

4. transformer 3 September 2009

Affordability? He is right,
    He is using the Old Man’s ‘ sense of proportion’ s yardstick.
    Based on his million dollar paycheck, HDB flat prices are
    definitely more than affordable to him but not to less than mortal
    masses like us.
    Does he seriously know what is the latest HDB prices are and
    what is the average take home pay of the home buyers?

5. Yamamoto 3 September 2009

The answer will always be simple, consumer who wants to buy will not object to the price, even though it is always increasing…

and worse is, they will be so happy to buy knowing that the value of their own flat will rise….and forget that fact that they are been bleed dry

6. in term of surviving and struggling to meet ends need, how the hell they know commoners living in HDB whereas they are paid million dollars and living in good class bungalows?

talking cock?

7. hdbrickbuilder 3 September 2009

meanwhile…….
    my kaki and good friend have no fund/savins in his cpf account to settle his 4 months overdued mortgages of ONLY $1400/month nia….
    so shortleggs minister..how?
    p.s. yes yes he is the SAME bloke who approach you LIVED regardin his plight

8. That’s some Creative BullCrap from MBT….
    “affordability will always be there..” !
    up yours if you think we are all retards…

9. The above quote could have been mouthed by any durian seller, wait, maybe it was a durian seller after all. We obviously have not learned from Japan and most recently, US and we had the hindsight to see what a bubble economy invariably ends up in.

10. Seah Mei Kok 3 September 2009

Mah BT means that HDB flats are affordable by pappies, peanut ! :)

11. that short fellow is talking through his *s* again.

12. The price of HDB is artificially created by the bureacrats. They say it is free market,

LKY just knows that free market must be tamed and he just understands yesterday that politcal leaders cannot be trained.

At least, now he understands he was wrong all these time by putting all these scholars in politics and high position, to serve the people needs or screw up people lives like the HDB prices.

The Japanese has decided, they are to bring down the power of Bureaucrats. So they have woken up, we are still sleeping.

13. mice is nice 3 September 2009

“It will just keep on going up IF the economy recovers as people expect, and IF confidence returns but affordability will always be there.”

wow, 2 “if”!! “if confidence returns”?? looks like our economy is….

well, if not how?

14. contradiction 3 September 2009

Salaries of ministers keep going up and up, prices keep going up and up, and yet salaries keep going down and down. See the co-relation ??

15. there is no free market as HDB is the only player in “affordable” housing – so why should they see a need to deflate prices? their aim is to keep filling up SG’s coffers with money swindled, sorry, MADE, from the sale of “affordable” housing. With 84% of the population living in pegionholes, there’s plenty of money to be made.

i won’t be surprised if we’ll see more homeless people in the streets.

16. theDwarf 3 September 2009

HDB prices were inflated during GCT’s term as part of a national asset enhancement scheme. It was a callous and careless move, without much thought into the ramifications and resulting in a no-u-turn situation. Now we have HDB flats being priced beyond the means of lower income, even with subsidies thrown in. The inflated property prices also carried with it inflated costs of living, yet with almost stagnant incomes. We are now living with the mistakes of a past leader who has left a bottomless shit-pit that can possibly never be cleaned up.

17. leesjuanpat 3 September 2009

#11 should be MBT not MDT.

Dear TOC

Why is my comment under moderating. Please advice.

Tk U

18. PAP SM Goh promised low cost housing and shelter for everyone and what is happening NOW? Crazy prices and still going up??? That election promise means nothing?

We should vote MBT and SM Goh out and send a strong message for defaulting on election promise!!!

19. ChinesePRbyTheThousands 3 September 2009

On a plane back from China/Xiamen, I saw a lot of middle aged and young Chinese from China having Singapore RED passports. I think this is very different from what I saw 2 years ago… We are really importing them by 1000s.

20. hey guys, seriously, if now the price is out of reach , can u imagine what will be the price like said 15 to 20 yrs from now. I,m really worry for my children.

21. Just vote these morons (pappies) out! Period!

22. The Makan'd 4 September 2009

Like this everytime they win is it?
    But I pitty the new flat lease buyers.

23. can get finance or not ? 4 September 2009

“5) Yamamoto on September 3rd, 2009 12.00 pm

The answer will always be simple, consumer who wants to buy will not object to the price, even though it is always increasing…”

as long as the purchase can get financed (initially) where the basis (present reality) for approving the loan may shift (or turn) against the borrower in the future. And why not (even it is at a higher price) if there are people to finance you. After that, ………….

24. squidsquid 4 September 2009

win liao loh…..a lot of pple taking entire life to pay for the flat and can still said as affordable…..

25. HDB should at least keep prices of 3 & 4 room flats much lower & restrict their purchases only to citizens.

26. Loop, should include 5 rooms as well.

27. wat4stay 4 September 2009

i think the KPI of MBT is to help the pappies generate $.
    as long as he is around, we the people will bleed $ to the damn govt.

affordable? when the HDB prices are now rivalling condos? in his context, yes, it is affordable. not to us mere mortals who can’t earn their annual salaries even in our entire lifetime.

i really hope citizens of singapore will wake up and vote these pappies out. i think we deserve better treatment than just being cash cow to them.

28. He makes baseless motherhood statements and highly irresponsible statements. Sounds more like election talk – empty promises. Buyer beware.. cos he ain’t paying for your housing loan.

29. tiredsingaporean 4 September 2009

I wish and pray for a new govt to emerge next election and throw all these blood sucking MIW doggies out of singapore. 44 years of torturing the local citizens is more than enough to bear for the singaporeans.

30. crystrad 4 September 2009

salaries coming down ( shorter hours, no pay leave, earlier retirement, job status shaky, etc ) , hdb prices going up, where does affordability come in this equation?

LOWER PAY + HIGHER HDB PRICES = BETTER AFFORDABILITY

that is one equation that they did not teach me in school!!!!

31. toppleamkGRC 5 September 2009

Resale flats up by 3% today upon statements from MBT!!! Vote MBT out.

32. Kum sum of the music 5 September 2009

31) toppleamkGRC on September 5th, 2009 9.54 am
    ” Resale flats up by 3% today upon statements from MBT!!! Vote MBT out. ”

But uncles and aunties leaseholders would be so glad right?
    But when they sell, they have no roof over their grey haired heads.
    So, L the P of the you know what i mean….

I pitty those suffering in this economy and still have to buy a lease of a flat that is , if new, 99 years only.

i really pitty them until no tears.

33. Bananarama 5 September 2009

Still talking about price increase for HDB ?? This Minister who is in charge of public housing dosen’t know what he is talking about and has lost touch with the ground. His claim of affordability of HDB apartments is applicable only to himself and maximum 5 p/c of the population (including those already owning private condos / houses) but not to the rest of the working / slaving population. Pay more visits to the constituencies and speak to the masses lah instead of staying in your Ivory Tower.

34. even my associates from china who became PR and bought only 4 rooms. to them 3 rooms got no value. they aim at makimg more than $100k-200K when time comes than let go. make the profits and go back to china and buy even bigger house and land for settlement.

i personally hear it from the ‘horse’s month’.

35. macam macam 5 September 2009

that’s the game homies he’s all out to squeeze the shit out of us

36. flat screw driver 5 September 2009

if i earn lots of money each month, oh so many zeros, then to me it would be really affordable!

37. In the essence of Animal Farm, “… affordability will always be there (for the ultra rich like us)”.

38. Loser from potong pasir 5 September 2009

SIN–apore has become a new province of China.
    Time to scrapped NS as the RED army will be on call. anyway—-all freebies- newbies are EXEMPTED anyway.
    Hey! even SPC has been sold to China–what next?
    With 1.7 million fallen talents, freebies newbies {FTFN}–this bubble can only be .sustained by importing more FTFN.
    BTW– this MBT fellow who lost to Chiam in Potong Pasir is being paid millions for talking a lot of c–o–c–k..
    Why ‘fallen’?—good ones head for US or Australia.
    Why freebies?—no NS for LIFE, treated better than citizens.

39. agongkia 6 September 2009

Heng ah.
    Also time to consider preserving some land and leave some nature alone and not just built and built.
    Newly wed should start to learn to stay with their parent and not just think of geeting a flat and moving out when married .

40. Hello,

MBT is talking about himself lah. He can easily afford an entire block of HDB flats!!!

Must read between his lines mah.

41. Enough is Enough! 6 September 2009

Humans, People, Citizens.

No use asking .

Just conduct a National Poll to answer the question.

Pockets of opinion does not mean much.

Views from individuals on the affordability does not mean much.

The well-offs will say, it is.
    The poorer will say it is not.
    Some poorer may even say it is due to some reasons.

Conduct a ‘Referendum’.

The fact that no Opposition is doing this is a big disappointment.

Such a ‘referendum’ serves only to provide accurate and clear answer how people feels. While how people feels need not dictate a change, it is important Information that should be of Public Interest.

Singapore is such a small country with such a small population and it is just 1 city. 1 only. not even 2 cities. There is no 2 cities. Not even 1.1. Just 1. that is all.

Why is no one conducting an official national poll?

I wonder how does foreigners from advanced economies think about the situation?

why accept polls based on results of a few hundred or 30 people?

give all households a password and id. email them. They login. click on the answer. Poll result generated instantly.

what is so difficult?

I hope no one is afraid of the truth.
    I know i am not.

Let there be Light!

Since no one is doing this, I propose people volunteer for this. We cannot be sitting there and waiting for things to fall from the sky right?

If people are not doing it, lets have volunteers to do it.

I am in.

42. Oxford Dude 6 September 2009

If affordability means taking a lot of bank loan, then Singaporeans are really conned by the capitalist market system.

43. Hallo,
    Does anyone know what caused this financial crisis huh?

44. 43) Gookie

The US of A

45. GreatfulSporean123X 6 September 2009

In Singapore, there is a strange phenomenon that is beyond my comprehension.
    Here our people are actually nice , beyond some inherent cultural flaws ;
    there is a local spirit to strive to be proper which is not evident in many third
    world countries.

We have the best mix of the East and Western Intellect.
    Our Hawkers and Food Centres produce the most delicious mix of Asian and Westenn Food at a reasonable price, Tourists love us for that too.

Even our strays in the streets ( our dogs and cats) look healthy and generally well- behaved, cute , friendly nice to touch and play with.

Our women generally are sweet, sexy and intelligent and are good mothers and wives if treated properly ( with respect).

Its only when Many of our MINISTERS and MPs open their double-tongued mouth that I realise that they are taking us for a RIDE and do not appreciate our uniqueness, strength and true potentials.

The Common People are good , our Natural Environment is free from Natural Disasters, there is actually more than enough in our economy to care for the poor and the destitute, and everyone is working so hard to earn a living and striving to be better and then,…………………………..

We have people from the top echelon who can say that the already over-priced PUBLIC HOUSING prices will continue to escalate and is still happy that it is ‘affordable’.

A very STUPID Statement intended to insult the common man’s sense of basic economics

No more Votes for PAP from me and my friends !

46. #44, the real reason is GREED and Loans and Complex Derivatives.

47. 45) Ah Fook

Yes. Very true. Greed is insatiable.

48. ‘Affordability’ in this context must be taken with the salt content of the Dead Sea. It is in his interest to keep prices high for his salary and performance bonus, not to make it ‘affordable’.

49. in the past, they used the words ‘cheap housing’….now it’s replaced by ‘affordable’….what is next???

50. mice is nice 8 September 2009

what’s next?

“value for money”…