Gilbert Goh

It must be tough for the authorities to figure out a sustainable manpower deployment strategy when it comes to the complex issue of aiding local businesses to make profits through the hiring of foreign workers.

Not only is this a time bomb for social cohesion but also a serious political issue in view of the coming General Election. The government has failed to convince the nation that having so many foreign workers in our midst has really “added spices” positively.

Without empathy for jobless and desperate citizens, it would be very difficult to understand why foreigners are seen more as job snatcher than anything else.

In 2008, foreign non-residents (non-PR, non-Singaporean) account for 1.2M people of the entire population. These foreigners snatch popular jobs such as clerks, receptionists, administrators and salesmen. Their actions only affirm the perception that foreign labour in Singapore is hardly foreign talent.

Employers also prefer to hire foreigners, as they are cheaper and more willing to put in extra hours without grumbling. To a foreigner from a third world country, living and working in Singapore is almost a Godsend.

Many foreigners also found work in the coffee shops and factories. Surprisingly, these workers are also given Permanent Resident (PR) status after a while. A S-Pass worker can apply for PR status after one year and normally it will be granted within month of the application. After two years, he will offered a Singapore citizenship.

R-Pass holders earn below $1,800 a month and are not eligible for PR status. R-Pass holders include construction workers, domestic workers, shipyard workers and many who work in the conservancy and landscaping sector. Due to quota on R-Pass workers, some errant employers may “pass off” a R-Pass-qualified worker as a S-Pass one without paying the minimum $1800/month salary.

As many as 200,000 able-Singaporeans have left the country in recent years and not many are considering to return in the near future. A recent survey suggested that 79% of overseas Singaporean students prefer to work abroad than to return to Singapore. More are expected to leave the country in the near future.

To balance out the population exodus, the Government allows companies to import foreigners from neighbouring countries such as China and India without upsetting the racial proportion. Singaporeans find it difficult to comprehend the Government’s lax foreign labour policy. Some have eventually migrated to other countries in anger that they were replaced by foreign substitutes. They further question whether their loyalty for their country is ever reciprocated at all when there is no protection whatever on their livelihood.

It is hardly surprising that economics is the motivation behind Singaporean workers to shun many opportunities in the service sector. Such jobs pay close to S$1000 a month and after CPF deduction, take home pay is reduced to a puny sum of S$800 a month.

If the worker is the sole breadwinner of a family of four, the sum remains insufficient even if top-up from the Workfare Income Supplement Scheme (WISS) is included. WISS tops up a low-wage worker’s salary to the tune of $1,200 a year. To qualify, the Singaporean worker must be at least 35-year-old and earns a montly salary less than $1,500.

On the other hand, employers in labour intensive industries need to re-evaluate if it is still feasible to hire cheap labour. In recent times, many small cleaning companies mushroomed all over Singapore that bidding for cleaning projects has dropped so low that these companies cannot afford to pay their employees a decent salary without suffering a loss.

The authorities may need to re-look into their policy on government contractual bidding for cleaning projects to impact this particular industry sector. Moreover, dependence on labour intensive industries also works contrary against Singapore’s high-falutin aspiration to be a highly industrialised and knowledge-based economy.

In Australia, many blue-collared jobs offered a chance for many locals to earn a decent wage. For example, the construction sector mostly hires local Aussies and very often, even an apprentice is paid a salary of S$3000 a month before taxes. The implementation of minimum wage policy and skills training courses have allow local workers to be adequately compensated for the menial work performed.

Blue collared workers can command as much salaries as any white collared ones due to the niche skills that such jobs required and also many Aussies shun these jobs due to its harsh working environment. Unlike Singapore, there is no easy back door to hiring undervalued foreign workers in Australia.

Local employers should increasingly look at semi-automating their work flow to lessen their dependence on undervalued foreign labour. I have seen how a team of twenty Indian foreign workers line the road during road works in our country with half practically standing around doing nothing.

This is not the best way to deploy manpower even if they come cheaply. In Australia, even the driver of the garbage collection vehicle assists in the daily garbage collection task. And there are 2 additional person in labour team. It is all very professionally done with minimal human efforts.

Singapore cannot afford to contnue its dependence on undervalued labour to advance the economy. More can be done to streamline our operations in order to boost our efficiency. Local workers can then be better compensated when they take on better-valued jobs. Productivity is also raised in the process.

The current dependence on foreign labour will not bear fruit if we want to advance our economy . Not only will it bring forth social unrest but it will seriously jeopardise the employment opportunities of the local work force.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

61 Responses to “Lessen dependence on foreign labour”

1. 98% seats 21 September 2009

More foreign workers is a “no brainer” solution. Actually no need million dollar ministers to come up with such policies.

The most important thing is that come elections, the PAP must win again with 98% seats. And also no protests in the streets. This the PAP is really very good in ensuring it happens. I have no doubt that it will happen again.

Once this is achieved, they can implement all sorts of policies and having million dollar salaries too. Why care about what or how bad the blogs said or what you folks feel or suffer, right?

2. This is what you get in a dictatorship. Citizens remain voiceless, without any rights to speak up. Elections are a farce, a humbug staged by a department under the prime minister’s office. The MSM has become a mouthpiece of the regime that controls everything, including the judiciary, the parliament, the civil service, the police, etc., etc.

Dictatorship cannot be replaced through ballot box.

3. It is obvious that increasing number of less-educated and elderly people are finding it difficult to get jobs. Without income, they have to depend on other family members for support. This is putting great stress on their households and will have severe social consequences, especially in face of rising cost of living as the economy continues to revive.

There should be more restrictions on employers in hiring less-educated and less-skilled foreign workers so that locals, especially the elderly have better chance to get employed. This is imperative in helping them be financially independent and live a more decent life.

4. blackfeline 21 September 2009

Bingo…u hit the nail on the head! Well researched…suggest u send a copy to all those morons in the government!

5. PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES
    ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT
    Monday, 21st July, 2008

” Over the last three years, an average of about 1,000 Singapore citizens renounced their Citizenship each year.”
    This was a reply to
    Ms Sylvia Lim who asked the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Home Affairs how many Singapore citizens emigrated from Singapore in the last three years

6. Employment Passes (EP) and S Passes . As of December 2007, there were about 143,000 EP and S Pass holders.

As of December 2007, there were about 69,000 dependants on Dependant Passes or Long Term Social Visit Passes.

In 2007, there were about 64,000 Long Term Social Visit Passes issued. Long Term Social Visit Passes can be issued for up to five years.

As of December 2007, there were about 6,600 Long Term Social Visit Pass holders and Dependant Pass holders with work passes.

7. “As many as 200,000 able-Singaporeans have left the country in recent years and not many are considering to return in the near future. A recent survey suggested that 79% of overseas Singaporean students prefer to work abroad than to return to Singapore.”

The only solution to this problem is to get rid of the famiLEE and vote in a sufficient number of opposition candidates.

The person doing the most harm is LKY going round preaching meritocracy for everyone except for famiLEE, the PAP cabinet ministers and PAP related organisations.

The average Singaporean worker is poorly paid taking into account the very high cost of living in Singapore. Since Lee HL was finance minister and then as PM, whatever medical benefits for the Singaporean worker was drastically removed ( more correct to say they were robbed of their basic rights as workers) e.g. young employees working in many organisations are given only an equivalent of 1% of their CPF as medical benefits.

Not surprisingly, in recent years 200,000 have left S’pore seeing that there is hardly any future in the PAP-led Singapore.

The PAP government are at best a deluded group pretending to be as financial savvy as Warren Buffet, Jim Roger or as innovative as Bill Gates. Truth is that, based on meritocracy alone, no non-PAP related organisation or company would pay them more than $400K.

8. spirited-centred 21 September 2009

The pappy’s main goal is to replace the low fertility rate of Singaporeans that are affecting the way economy grows. Without the numbers, they could not get enough tax revenue to cover the enormous fund needed by their spendthrift ministries, CDCs and CCs and also their multi-millions salaries. They knows that foreign workers who work here may not earn high salaries that qualify them to be taxed by the govt, so they introduce the GST to cover the tax revenue, thats why no matter what, the pappys will not free GST from essentials items such as rice, sugar, oil , toiletries, vegetables etc that have to be consumed by all these foreign workers. You can see now that increase GST is not to help the poor (lame excuse), its just to cast a wider net to get tax revenue from both foreign workers and locals. I believe they will never relax the rules of letting in foreign workers if their target population of 6.5million is not reach. Thats why the urgency for them to try very hard to integrate the foreign workers into our society, so as to stem the outflow of these hard to get foreigners after they have worked here for a couple of years. They even make such a ridiculous move to spend 10 millions of tax payers for the purpose of this integration efforts. They thinks money can solve everything. Why dont they spend more money to stop singaporeans from shifting out of our country, if money can do wonders.

9. Bring back the good ole times 21 September 2009

“Not only is this a time bomb for social cohesion but also a serious political issue in view of the coming General Election.”

Yes, some people worry about this.
    But the majority, imho, are ok with this arrangement.
    They can take it .
    How so? well, do you see anyone complaining on the streets?
    Everyone goes on living as usual.
    Each concerned only about their own preservation.

Well deserved. I mean the holiday.

10. The Good Ole Days long gone 21 September 2009

I am aShamed as a citizen to learn that so many citizens migrate each year.
    A Pathetic situation.

I am also aShamed about the peceived Voicelessness of citizens.

I am totally ASHAMED.

11. doctorwho 21 September 2009

I get the feeling there is a great conspiracy going on, in that famiLee is enriching themselves, at the suffering of the average citizens. So long as they gain sufficient riches, their own bloodline can live a wealthy lifestyle for generations.

Sadly, whatever problems made during The Lee Times are left to the next non-Lee singapore government to clean up.

12. Economist 22 September 2009

7) JW on September 21st, 2009 9.32 pm

“The average Singaporean worker is poorly paid taking into account the very high cost of living in Singapore”

Do you know the cost of houses in Singapore per salary dollar is one of the world’s highest? Many say this is true even compared to Tokyo.

Thanks to foreigners, wages are kept low and housing prices high. We have a lot to be grateful to them for.

We cannot complain. The government is paying NSF soldiers 20% more. Wow! That is like $50 more a month! This really offsets the 20%+ increase in housing prices! They are really recognizing our contribution to protect valued foreigners with our lives!

13. since a PR is so easy to get, i wonder how many of these FTs have already converted to PR?

so how many PRs are there in singapore now?

14. Hehehe………..so it seems my wife and I are 2 of the 200,000 people who have emigrated.

Truth be told, there is no regret but only great feeling. All our CPF withdrawn and in our pockets and no more PAP bullshit to listen to. As my nick says, I am but an observer and no longer a partcipant in the biggest wayang show on earth.

15. 14)Observer

Haha you are smart – running with your money.

I may follow your footsteps in down under here.

Depends on a few other factors however. Nothing is cast in iron these days.

Who knows PAP may lose the next election?

16. Dear Gilbert:

Good write-up.

It’s pure tyranny now, in short.

In the hearts of the Leaders, they must be saying ‘We have absolute control; What can You do?’

patriot

17. Terrified 22 September 2009

I am extremely terrified by LHL to allow cheap Foreign workers here to build expensive hardware resulting in local high cost of living. But he, as a leader, failed miserably in his leadership that such foreign workers have diluted Singapore heartware, loyalty and destroy the fabric of our nation. Holding Singapore passport is no longer something we are proud of because any Tom, Dick or Harry get easily get one – even if you come from a village in China or India.

18. theforgottongeneration 22 September 2009

“….Employers also prefer to hire foreigners, as they are cheaper and more willing to put in extra hours without grumbling. To a foreigner from a third world country, living and working in Singapore is almost a Godsend….”

The import of so-called undervalued FWs defied logic & common sense. They are definitely less productive compared to locals (including Malaysians). I think everyone has seen 4-5 FWs standing around 1-2 of their colleagues working while those 4-5 just… well standing around. The only logic is that WORK is generated, meaning GDP and taxes. It seems doesn’t matter to the garhem whether 1 or 10 persons did that WORK. Unfortunately if a job is assigned to 10 persons instead of one, there will be unnecessary overcrowding, competition and strain to the social fabric. Of course these details do not concern people living in ivory towers & who not taking public transport, etc…

The FW situation is due to (1) previous failed population growth policies, and (2) inability/incapability/indifference of our policy makers to address root problems. Say a road sweeper job. Other countries provide the person with a scoop-type pan and broom system such that that person don’t have to bend unnecessarily (& with some dignity). They also are equipped with blowers, suction or hand-plucker systems. All these involved proper job design including passionate people that fight for the rights of the worker. Singapore? We just give the road sweeper the cheapest broom and deal done; of course we also have a lame duck like NTUC whose chief can sing songs very well.

19. theforgottongeneration 22 September 2009

5) KopitiamApek on September 21st, 2009 8.16 pm
    6) KopitiamApek on September 21st, 2009 8.35 pm

Great statistics. Now, any figures of the supposedly “high hundreds” foreign-born imports that are doing NS?

20. Workfare Income Supplement Scheme (WISS) – WISS tops up a low-wage worker’s salary to the tune of $1,200 a year.

By having more and more foreign workers displacing Singapore workers earning less than $1,500 p.m., the government is reducing the payment under WISS.

Inaddition, the government collects more and more workers’ levy from foreign workers.

Why should they care when it is a win-win for the government and increased performance bonus for the Minister of Labor.

21. theforgottongeneration 22 September 2009

@8) spirited-centred on September 21st, 2009 9.50 pm

“….They even make such a ridiculous move to spend 10 millions of tax payers for the purpose of this integration efforts. They thinks money can solve everything. Why dont they spend more money to stop singaporeans from shifting out of our country, if money can do wonders….”

Pls lah, what is $10m compared to $00′s billions that TH is playing (and losing) with.

$10m to integrate 1,700,0000 foreigners — does it sounds like the issue is taken seriously? Which clown will think Integration of 1 out of 3 here is such a simple issue that only need to spend $10m to solve??? There is a report that 50+% of total wages goes overseas. $10m is cheap, man, to get the GDP from this percentage of wages.

Money spent is only for show. Take the Baby Bonus scheme — $230m given out in 2008 and the results were a clear FAILURE. Yet, who is accountable for that $230m? Which minister(s)? Which ministry? Who is looking into effectively increasing Singapore TFR and what is the timeline? Maybe NPS can comment again???? Suddenly, 2009 very quiet on Baby Bonus scheme….

People have short memories, Six months hence, who will remember the National Integration Council?

22. Gilbert,

You are wrong about S-Pass holders having to work here for more than a year before they can apply for S’pore PR. In reality, they can apply for S’pore PR within weeks of arrival.

23. It's going to get worse 22 September 2009

Over the weekend I saw a report on CNA that said foreigners (expats) are coming to Singapore in greater numbers because the job prospects here are better than back home. And then CNA showed a couple of angmo faces. They looked young, like fresh out of college type or with just a few years of working experience.

KNN.

Is the government going to protect jobs for Singaporeans or not?

24. Debra Sooni Hum Kantang Red spinister 22 September 2009

We should not completely blame the ‘executives’ tasked to do a job with mandate given by the people .

These are doing what they can.
    If you think they are not good, we can give them pressure by way of voting a few of them out.

Their level of competence, ability is shown before our eyes.

We must make the right decision considering all factors and isses and how they RESPONDED to these. Eg. Mini Bon Bon. HK-SG story : sessame street has a game called comparing the 2 pictures and tell what is the diff.

The society is influenced by the rich and powerful. These many are involved in businesses. As business people, labor cost is always an overhead. Maybe these have written nice proposals to give reasons for opening up the gates so that they prosper more in the form of feedback many years ago and the gonmin has incorporated this into their plans?

Maybe the poorer ones could not write good proposals to convince to hire more locals?

If i am a businessman, hiring 50% more foreigners may allow me to buy a new audi tt ? why not? people do business to earn money, not to do charity except when they do so for branding and marketing which is still to earn money.

25. Kuah Kim Long 22 September 2009

ya lor, maybe these business bosses also in return out of deep gratitude als sponsor some of the events . possible or not?

and then their effors get awarded and they appear on papers?

the rich gets richer easier.

26. Migrating somewhere just because of some dissappointment will not solve the problem.Our forefathers came here with the intention of giving us a better life .Why must we give up and move elsewhere just becos of some setback..
    Who knows you may be falling into a trap?
    Will that result in a situation where only our poor singaporean are left behind and being surpressed by the rich FT etc in future?
    Those well to do can easily emigrate.How about the poor?
    We really need someone who have our citizen’s interest to stay back and contribute and make our life better..only then we can call ourself a True Singaporean.

27. radlife66 22 September 2009

don’t give up.
    don’t leave.
    Singapore is home.

Fight – with our vote.

28. mice is nice 22 September 2009

yes, do not quit your country, do not let others who are quick to label quitters win.

29. Donaldson 22 September 2009

The label “quitter” does not absolve one of the legitimacy and credibility to be concerned about national issues. It is a divide-and-conquer strategy by PAP, so don’t fall for this nonsense.

30. Please note when an “elected” politician says citizens who leave their country for good are quitters and losers…

when the politician is actually trying to say to the masses is i am actually the real quitter/loser because i do have the EQ or IQ or talent to think of sound policies to keep you in singapore.

that is the truth and nothing but the truth…problem is the self lame politician can’t handle such truths.

stupid is as stupid does.

31. Corrections made, mein apologies:

Please note when an “elected” politician says citizens who leave their country for good are quitters and losers…

WHAT THAT politician is actually trying to say to the masses of LEAVING CITIZENS is i am actually the real quitter/loser because i do NOT HAVE have the EQ or IQ or talent to think of sound policies to keep you in singapore EVEN THOUGH I PAID A LOT TO SOLVE OR PREMPT BAD SCENARIOS FOR MY FELLOW CITIZENS.

LOL

AND that is the truth and nothing but the truth…ROOT problem is the self lame politician can’t handle such truths AND WILL CONTINUE TO PROSPER.

Remember for evil to win, all it needs is good men and good women to do nothing!

stupid is as stupid does.

32. Modernise and bring in automation to reduce the need to import more FT/FW is a way forward. But if there is political reason behind it, that a different matter. Japanese car manufacturers had shown the way years ago. Japan had an aging population and low birth rate like Sinkapore. There were reseach to identity the reasons. Beside the cost of living, the living space availabilty, child care facilities and long working hour demanded by employers.the Japanese Gahment set aside budget to help young married couple to start a family. The reason for low birth rate in Sinkapore had not been addressed but instead a new problem is created for short term gain.
    It is up to Sinkaporean to exercise their vote wisely when the GE come. We may have million dollar ministers, but we do not have “million dollar value solution”. Many oridinary Sinkapore family main concern is the cost of living and cost of child care. Employing a maid may be a solution for some but the cost of housing also had great impact for those who had not have a space room.Is there a hidden agenda ?Is the gahment trying to stop the low income group from staring a family? It had been a PAP’s policy to encorage those educated to have more children and the low income group to have less. This is not new nor a state secret. Are we seeing the side effect of these policies?

33. 19) theforgottongeneration

/// Great statistics. Now, any figures of the supposedly “high hundreds” foreign-born imports that are doing NS? ///

The answer to that is obvious. None.
    Yes are correct in pointing that out.

But I am hoping someone can reconcile the 1,000 per year in the answer to Sylvia and the 200,000 in this article

34. leesjuanpat 22 September 2009

The social implication of foreign labour is a setback to our citizens. The jobs for our citizens become scarce. There are so many unskilled foreign workers in Spore. How can MOM approved indiscriminately and deprive our older citizens of their jobs like cleaners in foodcourts and sweepers in Town Councils.

Everywhere you see China nationals and Bangladesh workers on the job of cleaners and sweepers. Tthe main reason is the levy government is collecting and the employers need not pay CPF for foreigners.

We are in for a tough time with this draconian policy of the PAP government.
    Need we say more……

35. Yes, leesjuanpat, vote out the bl–dy PAP.

36. Schmells like teen juice 23 September 2009

Readers,
    many of you may be working and your colleagues may be FT or new citizens.
    What if you feel that they are not talented? This brings to the question of who defines or what proves that someone is a talent?

why are they here?

cheaper?

that is the only reason?

Are there other reasons?

37. singaporean 23 September 2009

37)

Just to add on…

there are others who have FT-turned-PR as their bosses and what if you feel that your FT-turned-PR bosses is less intelligent than you? Remember, you are the sub-ordinate and your FT-turned-PR bosses took your work and passes it as theirs, how will you feel??

38. mice is nice 23 September 2009

also adding on…

to know the China nationals are given jobs despite not being able to converse in basic English while locals who cannot speak Chinese are overlooked to fill frontline service positions, how will you feel?

job selection merit based? only after the hoo-ha raised in MSM then comes the remedy- for these group of privileged staff to pick up their language skills after clinching the job. wow….

how i feel? like “boomz”!! lol…

39. theforgottongeneration 23 September 2009

@33) sturmtruppen on September 22nd, 2009 6.05 pm

Truth and self-fantansizing of politican? Reminds Hermann Goering’s infamous boast”:

“The Ruhr will not be subjected to a single bomb. If an enemy bomber reaches the Ruhr, my name is not Hermann Göring: you can call me Meier!”

40. theforgottongeneration 23 September 2009

@33) sturmtruppen on September 22nd, 2009 6.05 pm

“…..stupid is as stupid does…..”

Agreed.

41. theforgottongeneration 23 September 2009

34) George on September 22nd, 2009 7.03 pm

“….Employing a maid may be a solution for some …..”

Actually, employing a maid is the designed & sanctioned “solution” of the garhem. Because maid levy = big revenues for govt coffers. Also if one can get all the housewives to work in industries, the GDP somewhat doubles.

This first wave of FWs (i.e. maids) already did damages to our social fabrics (i.e. family integrity) but did the garhem cares? Did they learnt over the years? Thus the blatant second wave of FWs (mainly construction workers, manual laborers) in recent years. It’s all about GDP, period — screw the life quality of S’poreans.

Apologies to quote & comment on mid-sentences, but this particular point I shared strongly. Your other points are also well articulated. All our social issues can be traced to earlier policies.

42. theforgottongeneration 23 September 2009

35) KopitiamApek on September 22nd, 2009 8.26 pm

“…..The answer to that is obvious. None.
    Yes are correct in pointing that out…..”

I believe there are figures. After all, we are calibrating aren’t we? Perhaps it is being massaged into a palatable form as we speak ….

43. theforgottongeneration 23 September 2009

@40) mice is nice on September 23rd, 2009 1.03 am

“…. to know the China nationals are given jobs despite not being able to converse in basic English while locals who cannot speak Chinese are overlooked to fill frontline service positions, how will you feel?….”

It is worse than that actually. I had friends KICK OUT of our educational system cos’ they didn’t do too well in Chinese. Mind you, some are really above average. In fact, one went overseas (kick out, what), did 2 Ph.D + 1 Master and now sourced back into Singapore to teach us Management skills!

Amazing human resource management policies we have here….

44. 22) theforgottongeneration on September 22nd, 2009 11.28 am,

Agreed…. what is 10m these days. Take 10m divided by 1.7m foreigners, and we get $5-6 max per foreigner on integration. I think policy makers know at the back of their minds they are restricted from doing much with the sum. So they asked for public opinions. I’m not trying to pour cold water, but I said in other posts. It’s 10 times easier to react to a brilliant idea than to come up one. Policy makers (supposedly elite ??) are giving the impression that they are opting for work scopes 10 times less, with 10 times the payscales. I hope they are not trying to tell the citizens now the onus is on them. Anyway, how they came up with the figure 10m is anyone’s guess, but probably arbitrary. I recalled that the projected budget for 2008 was -0.7b deficit, and then turned out as 6.4b surplus. Misreading a projection by such gross error % is a sign that the operator doesn’t know the job scope and environment well. No wonder they are not in private sectors where the expectations are higher and more professional.

45. UpSize the DownSize ? Oh NO!!! 23 September 2009

39) mice is nice on September 23rd, 2009 1.03 am
    “to know the China nationals are given jobs despite not being able to converse in basic English while locals who cannot speak Chinese are overlooked to fill frontline service positions, how will you feel?”

1 thing for sure, these foreign workers if non PR do not incur CPF cost to employers who is saving up to buy his next bungalow at Raffles marina. poor thing right?

These are the types of Questions that we need to Compile and challenge ‘those supporters’ for them to give convincing replies, if they are able to.

So, how talented is a talent?

46. angry_one 23 September 2009

Importing hordes of uncivilized, crass foreign labourers who live in choatic 3rd world countries will do sinkapore great harm. Why, their very presence will drive away the real FTs PAP love so much, the high net worth professionals.

Japan is one of the few countries that refuse to rely to foreign labour, and what a great place to visit/work it is! It’s culture is rich and intact. It relies to robots and high technology to fill its labour shortage, resulting in a tech utopia admired by the world.

I’ve sometimes dreamed to sinkeepore adopting this same strategy. There are so many problems that need inventors to solve. But it will never happen.

47. SpongeBoob 23 September 2009

When there is no accurate source of information, any figure is just mere guess. As our minister had already said:

Mr Wong said Singaporeans who emigrate generally do not declare this to the Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA) when they leave. The only available data which gives an indication of the number of emigrants from Singapore is the number of Singaporeans who have given up their citizenship and left Singapore.

The golden rule is – don’t just look at the statistics. Feel it from the ground, and get a sense of the magnitude.

48. Like they say ‘if you can’t beat them, join them’. One fine day, I’ll surrender my red passport, and come back to SG as a quitter and then FT. Take a look at the perks for overseas trained teachers vs locally trained teachers.

HaHaHaHaHa

49. mice is nice 23 September 2009

44) theforgottongeneration on September 23rd, 2009 8.31 am

“Amazing human resource management policies we have here….”

after many many months i still no job, why? got RT, annual ICT (year end). work retail commission is zero. work security job, some HR ask if a know kungfu!! others offer monthly $1050 (max) for 6 days, 12 hour shift cycle. lol…

i not even 40 years old. but feel like expired produce (made in S’pore got short shelf life?). :?

50. mice is nice 23 September 2009

angry_one

post #47 on September 23rd, 2009 12.11 pm

“Importing hordes of uncivilized, crass foreign labourers who live in choatic 3rd world countries will do sinkapore great harm. Why, their very presence will drive away the real FTs PAP love so much, the high net worth professionals.”

these days foreign workers are more mild mannered.

“Japan is one of the few countries that refuse to rely to foreign labour, and what a great place to visit/work it is! It’s culture is rich and intact. It relies to robots and high technology to fill its labour shortage, resulting in a tech utopia admired by the world.”

in S’pore former PMETs are treated like robots. GKY expect these group to take on any new job, for any amount of pay. those who do not take up the jobs are dimmed choosey. lolz….

is S’pore becoming 3rd world again? *shudders*