Friday, September 11, 2009 11:45

Lui misses everything

In Quotes • 1,230 views • 38 Comments

Lui Tuck Yew is completely clueless with his head stuck in the sand. He has missed the forest, the trees, the shrubs, the flowers, the grass, and even the overhead bridge.

Ng E Jay, Sgpolitics

1. Why large discrepancies in cost of trains’ platform doors between S’pore and Taiwan?
  2. Stop the wayang, just return our CPF!
  3. Tell me why
  4. The hourglass effect

38 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

begetting idiocy
Sep 11, 2009 12:23

Nicely stated indeed E. Jay !

Now who and what system put Lui there in the first place ?
It is a sad state of affairs where idiocy begets idiocy. LOL

Moe Gan Thai
Sep 11, 2009 13:33

Balance reporting ? Who is the chairman of SPH ? WHY all of you MIW talk the same frequency ? “No eye see “

gemami
Sep 11, 2009 13:59

The man is in denial. His MSM is losing ground to the popularity of online blogs, especially those socio-political ones. He knows that if his MSM does not change the way it conducts its affairs on news reporting, it will continue to die a slow death.

More and more people are being converted to the online cup-of-tea on a daily basis. It is only a matter of time before more people start giving their own opinions and making news reports by themselves. How is the MSM going to stop this?

How is the MSM going to tell these online commenters that their opinions are wrong and flawed? How is the MSM going to convince us in the printed form? It is hard isn’t it, when the printed media cannot do what the online media can – which is to open up a line of discussion that can tackle topics and issues almost instantaneously.

There is a lot of catching up to do for the printed media and there is no way it can ever catch up with online reporting. It does not help that every online platform set up by the government are seen as an extension of the printed media. No one really pays attention to them anymore except those who are in the same self-denial state as Rear Lui.

T
Sep 11, 2009 15:10

/// Lui Tuck Yew is completely clueless with his head stuck in the sand. He has missed the forest, the trees, the shrubs, the flowers, the grass, and even the overhead bridge. ///

True. But then again, if one spends so many years in the navy sailing the seven seas, one tends not to see the forest & the trees; the birds and the bees.

gambit
Sep 11, 2009 15:45

haha i don’t think it’s sand his head is buried in, though that is an apt position to be in when bending over

mice is nice
Sep 11, 2009 16:41

when people (journalists) are paid to work, they have to balance their “act” carefully, wait kenna replace by foreigner…

one can never be too careful, why risk poor annual appraisals? people at the top set the tone, the unwritten rules…

Fedup
Sep 11, 2009 16:57

Ng E Jay, you’re totally right.

Wise sage says, “He who gets a million bucks, sees only the million bucks.”

Agent008
Sep 11, 2009 17:02

Does this MINISTER even know that the Straits Times (or is it States Times) is ranked 154th position out of something like 164 newspapers in reporting without borders?

Ng E Jay, I love the humour in “He has missed the forest, the trees, the shrubs, the flowers, the grass, and even the overhead bridge.”

admin
Sep 11, 2009 17:14

Two thumbs up for Ejay’s quote. I laugh every time I read it… ;)

blackfeline
Sep 11, 2009 18:55

the only saving grace for him..he has very high EQ….”knife and bullets cannot penetrate”…in our layman term…just plain thick skinned!

DavidSeeLeongKit
Sep 11, 2009 21:14

IN A NUTSHELL:

SINGAPORE is a really Little Red Dot island run by…

…self-proclaimed “First-World” obscenely-paid Muddle-headed Million-dollar Ministers and…
…self-proclaimed “First-Class” over-paid Bird-Brained Bureaucrats…

as well as a supposedly Tropical Island Paradise of…

…obscenely-priced million-dollar “pigeon-holes” (around 1000 sf private condos) and…
…over-priced “bee-hives” (less than 1000 sf HDB flats).

man against the tank
Sep 12, 2009 0:19

Good Paper is a bi-monthly, bi-lingual newspaper devoted to only the positive side of news.
http://www.goodpaper.sg/

HAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH….this is amazing.

tewkauleixifart
Sep 12, 2009 1:44

[i]blackfeline on September 11th, 2009 6.55 pm the only saving grace for him..he has very high EQ….”knife and bullets cannot penetrate”…in our layman term…just plain thick skinned! [/i]

who on earth made him an admiral in our sophicated high tech navy?
he looked liked a nerd more liked a steward servin meals on board a casino ship

Ganga
Sep 12, 2009 11:09

To attack new media by saying that it omitted vital information in the old woman case is in itself an adversarial stance, which would make him the pot who calls what he perceives the kettle black.

In the worst case, any unbalanced reporting (if any) by the New Media would only serve to bring the unbalanced reporting of the Mainstream Media into equilibrium.

KopitiamApek
Sep 12, 2009 13:03

14) Ganga

///////To attack new media by saying that it omitted vital information in the old woman case is in itself an adversarial stance, which would make him the pot who calls what he perceives the kettle black./////////

I have posted earlier that old woman case.
As of today, nobody is any wiser as each side chose to tell part of the story.
Indeed, it is the pot calling the kettle black and the kettle calling the pot black.
We all end up in the DARK mich like living on the DARK SIDE OF THE MOON.

///// In the worst case, any unbalanced reporting (if any) by the New Media would only serve to bring the unbalanced reporting of the Mainstream Media into equilibrium. ////////

That is an interesting concept of equilibrium. Much like what they say how communism creates equality, by making everybody equally broke !

KopitiamApek
Sep 12, 2009 13:03

PINK FLOYD: Dark Side of the MOON: Brain Damage/ Eclipse.

And if the cloud bursts, thunder in your ear
You shout and no one seems to hear
And if the band you’re in starts playing different tunes
I’ll see you on the dark side of the moon.

All that you touch
All that you see
All that you taste
All you feel
All that you love
All that you hate
All you distrust
All you save
All that you give
All that you deal
All that you buy beg, borrow or steal
All you create
All you destroy
All that you do
All that you say
All that you eat
Everyone you meet
All that you slight
Everyone you fight
All that is now
All that is gone
All that’s to come
And everything under the sun is in tune
But the sun is eclipsed by the moon.

THERE IS NO DARK SIDE ON THE MOON REALLY!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FiWEfKRot7c&feature=related

Aki
Sep 12, 2009 16:22

We have been screwed by the man in White!!!!!!!

mice is nice
Sep 12, 2009 23:49

please give this old woman a break. there are real cases that needs attention of the authorities to act on, its queer for them to use an example at their convenience to sort of sidestep their social responsibility.

about equilibrium, it must be some sick game people in positions of power & influence play in their ivory towers & their free time. they can debunk one as a propaganda, but for MSM to be used for that purpose? lol…

only to draw a conclusion that MSM really is a mouthpiece of MIW!!

KopitiamApek
Sep 13, 2009 0:20

18) mice is nice

That is the sad part. Both sides are just using her, nobody is helping her.

mice is nice
Sep 13, 2009 0:50

KopitiamApek

post #19 on September 13th, 2009 12.20 am

“That is the sad part. Both sides are just using her, nobody is helping her.”

the question is, which side is responsible for her “situation”? its all too easy to point fingers at someone (anyone) to just go to her aid, that itself would sweep such social issues under the carpet without looking at what is not ideal in society.

like potential health epidemics, authorities should take a methodological approach to social issues, not some slap dash measures to shove the issue away ASAP. afterall, they are civil servants tasked to take care of the people.

KopitiamApek
Sep 13, 2009 10:18

20) mice is nice

Agree with your point.
But it still leads to the same ending. nobody is helping her.

This reminded me of a story told during a Chinese lesson in my school days long gone by,.
2 children were waiting to have a meal of porridge. There was no spoon, but both refused to go and get it, saying that the other should be doing it. So they waited for each other to do it. In the end, the family cat came by and ate the food.

h2n2viruskiller
Sep 13, 2009 10:45

[i]like potential health epidemics, authorities should take a methodological approach to social issues, not some slap dash measures to shove the issue away ASAP. afterall, they are civil servants tasked to take care of the people. [/i]

which is why the thai government spent $36 millions for the vaccine to be jabbed FREE..how many thais peasants can afford to pay in the 1st place? and the thais are walkin shoulders-2-shoulders so to speak…..
in singapoor? you pay $214 just to be tested FIRST..ca$h upfront as well…
no money no cure..no vaccines…
last week the US government is also introducin FREE vaccine jabs for all the people to contain the epidemics…
meanwhile………..dr khaw is still drawin floorplanks in a johore retirement home..

Winston
Sep 13, 2009 12:10

So , how many out- of- work generals,admirals,colonels etc do we have in parliament and civil service or GLCs?
If they are that good ,how come NONE of them in private sector?
I think we have more than Indonesia and Thailand combined.
Talk about calling in the army in case of FREAK election result—-the army is already IN.

BG@ bg.com
Sep 13, 2009 14:49

22# there are 100s to 1000s of them in GLCs. I am not sure why you dont know.
We have a lot of majors, colonels in GLCs like ST group etc. BG Lee was in SingTel before he went to F&N right?

All these are carefully planned to allow absolute control and grip on government linked companies.

Daniel
Sep 13, 2009 15:10

“only to draw a conclusion that MSM really is a mouthpiece of MIW!! ”

Of course MSM is a mouthpiece. Why do you think MSM stands for More Shitty Men ? LOL

mice is nice
Sep 13, 2009 16:15

KopitiamApek

post #21 on September 13th, 2009 10.18 am

////Agree with your point.
But it still leads to the same ending. nobody is helping her.////

this is the type of stalemate the people ultimately responsible for her plight is trying to paint. is it any wonder why S’pore does not encourage whistle blowing? it makes the higher ups looks bad.

same results does not make the chain of events leading up the it is the same. just like sneezing, it can be due to environmental conditions like dust particles, flu bug or pepper powder getting into the nose.

////This reminded me of a story told during a Chinese lesson in my school days long gone by,.
2 children were waiting to have a meal of porridge. There was no spoon, but both refused to go and get it, saying that the other should be doing it. So they waited for each other to do it. In the end, the family cat came by and ate the food.////

your story does not reflect accurately the situation about the lady ler. to suggest the 2 kids share porridge does not reflect the reality that in this case of the old woman, both parties (relevent authorities & online forum) share a common financial resource to dip into to give her.

mice is nice
Sep 13, 2009 16:19

Daniel

post #24 on September 13th, 2009 3.10 pm

“Of course MSM is a mouthpiece. Why do you think MSM stands for More Shitty Men ? LOL”

some people need prove before they can be convinced mah, so point out the prove loh. people who always demand prove are most often the guilty 1s, that is why laws are to protect these type of people.

KopitiamApek
Sep 13, 2009 16:34

25) mice is nice

point taken :)

mice is nice
Sep 13, 2009 16:40

KopitiamApek

post #27 on September 13th, 2009 4.34 pm

“point taken”

that’s good to know. ;)

KopitiamApek
Sep 13, 2009 17:46

23) Winston

////// So , how many out- of- work generals,admirals,colonels etc do we have in parliament and civil service or GLCs?
If they are that good ,how come NONE of them in private sector? //////

You raised a very valid point here.

This is roughy how the production line that churns out our political leaders works.
The first factory is the schools. Its product are students of varying ability to scores marks.
The “bright” top scoring A levels are harvested, the rest dumped into the society to grow old and become like KopitiamApek.
The valued harvest are given SAF scholarships.
These become the raw materials for the next process.
The SAF factory.
The the final product is packaged together (like 3-in-1) a minister to walkover into a GRC
And eureka, we got a minister !

Brilliant indeed.

mice is nice
Sep 13, 2009 23:02

KopitiamApek,

post #30 on September 13th, 2009 5.46 pm

wah, you describe it just like reality is, people as economic digits, slaves to GDP… with an early expiry dates (30 years old is over the hill).

mike
Sep 14, 2009 10:53

4) T on September 11th, 2009 3.10 pm ,

maybe he should rules the sea and control pirates being too aggressive esp in Somalia….not a bad idea!

Real Rear Admirer of the Sea
Sep 14, 2009 12:52

This Rear Admiral (or Rear Admirer?) ever go to war or not hah?

Can he fight pirates or not hah? Talk also don’t know how to talk properly?

Got watch him speak in Pa-Lee-Men or not? Can’t even pronounce words properly ….

Real disgrace to the top scholars of Sin Ga Pore one, yes or not? Don’t know where to hide my face leh. Take money million dollars every month good good but talk bad bad, hahahahaha …………… what kind scholar like this?

leesjuanpat
Sep 14, 2009 14:27

Lui TY misses many thing in life but not the monthly huge paycheck. The other thing he isn’t missing is the round sky above him. His perspective of news media is like a frog in a well looking at the limited sky above.

What knowledge can an army man know about the mass media and the people
on the ground. Please shut your bugs mouth.

KopitiamApek
Sep 14, 2009 20:48

31) mice is nice on

///… with an early expiry dates (30 years old is over the hill). //////

but some over the expiry date liao still keep using : )

mice is nice
Sep 14, 2009 23:21

KopitiamApek

post #35 on September 14th, 2009 8.48 pm

////but some over the expiry date liao still keep using : ) ////

some more equal than others mah.

those are a rare breed, like Tamiflu, paste sticker to extend expiry date.

randomnessinmind
Sep 14, 2009 23:33

Erm….update about the Old Woman. She is being helped, and currently being allocated to be cared by an NGO in Singapore. And so are others poor people like her being found by netizens in a small charitable project. I don’t care whether MSM or New Media is helping her, but highlighting it has resulted in kind helping hands reaching out. Shutting her down as being not helped at all is not being fair at all.

Agent008
Sep 15, 2009 1:46

If not for new online media like TOC, will this elderly woman ever be known? She has been dismissed by the Minister as someone who owns a 3-rm flat therefore not needing help so will the States Times ever publicise her plight? Of course the States Times would rather dedicate space for “Proud to be Malay Singaporean”, the govt needs help to look good.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook