From Martyn See’s blog, Singapore Rebel:

“It was a no-holds-barred report”, gloats Richard Lim, one of three senior journalists who were commissioned to write the history of the People’s Action Party in a new book entitled Men In White, The Untold Story of Singapore’s Ruling Party.

In the above reports, the Straits Times goes to great lengths to depict the book as a definitive and objective account of PAP’s history, supported by interviews with its opponents – including former communists now exiled in Thailand and leftists (a catch-all byword for staunch anti-colonialists) who had left the PAP to form the breakaway Barisan Sosialis.

But remarkably, the two full page report mentions not a single whiff of Operation Coldstore, the infamous 1963 mass arrests that decimated the entire leadership of the political opposition to the PAP.

Another glaring omission was how the writers failed to contact two founding PAP members, Dr Poh Soo Kai and Dr Lim Hock Siew, who were arrested under Operation Coldstore and detained without trial for periods of up to 19 years. Along with Said Zahari, Lee Tse Tong and Ho Piao, both of them were Singapore’s longest-held political prisoners after Chia Thye Poh.

Visit Martyn’s blog for more.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

100 Responses to “Men In White – “No-holds-barred report” on PAP?”

1. Kow Kee Seng 6 September 2009

Dear Edison Chen
    # 30) edison chen on September 4th, 2009 12.32 am Who is to say the people that were locked up were good people?

well, we don’t know, but history should not be written only by the victors.

The Victorious one be king, defected ones be bandits mend-set does not stand scruntiny of honest historians.

Yes, Sg might have been better off for not going to the Barisan Socialists’way but did pap has the courage to defeat enemies by constitutional mean and not resorted to ISA ??

After 1963, pap had gathered un-shakeable power, and they turned singapore into a police state.

{ See Operation of Cold Storage:

Operation Cold Store and the 1963 Election. In February 1963, Operation Coldstore by the ISD caused the arrest of many Barisan Sosialis members. That notwithstanding, in the 1963 state elections, the Barisan Sosialis won 13 out of 51 seats, becoming the second largest and the leading opposition party. Nonetheless, the election results were viewed as a setback as the party had expected to win power. Also, the opposition vote was split, thus they only won 14 seats (including one from the United People’s Party) despite earning 53% of popular support. After the elections, the PAP accused it of supposedly ‘anti-Communist’ and ‘subversive’ activities, and used the ISD continued arresting Barisan Sosialis members, including MPs.

One famous example is Chia Thye Poh, an MP who was imprisoned without trial in 1965 and was only released in 1998 as one of the longest-serving political prisoners in the world. Even then, his current conditions of release effectively bar him from participating in any politically-tinged activities. Chia was repeatedly and unfoundedly labelled a Communist despite his consistent denials, while his prolonged imprisonment was justified with supposed testimonies from 2 ex-members of the underground Malayan Communist Party. Throughout, Chia maintains that he is and was a prisoner of conscience. }

Dr Lee Siew Choh and folks were to blame too, they walked out of Parliament in 1966 that gave away the trust of some 37.1% and 13 seats ( out of 51 in parliament ) of Singapore’s mandate from GE 1963, in that GE, pap only won 46.9% of popular votes.

The book failed to explain the mystery of the Parliament walk-out.

All politicians in power know the intellectuals are the strongest enemeies, so the pap govt arrested many Nanyang Uni grads, Ngee Ann grads, and also anti-govt unionists among which some brainy are Uni grads too.

Democracy is not pap’s governing principle right from Day One.

In long run, they will go down to history like the defeated KMT in 2000 or LDP in 2009.

2. Wiliam the Con 6 September 2009

Martyn See didn’t actually read the book. He based his comments on one part of the ST series. Today, for example, the ST deals with the Cold Store part of the story.

I don’t understand why people are so quick to condemn anything before they even read it. I haven’t read the book. I will buy it and read it. I won’t simply rely on the ST’s extracts.

3. 51) Kow Kee Seng

//// The book failed to explain the mystery of the Parliament walk-out.//////

They were misled and told its kopi break time, so they walk out for their kopi-O, and the rest is history : )

/////well, we don’t know, but history should not be written only by the victors./////
    Sadly history has always written by victors, as the losers were usualy slaughtered, dead men tell no tale.

4. 52) Wiliam the Con

////////Martyn See didn’t actually read the book. He based his comments on one part of the ST series////

Personally, I find the bloggers overzealous in putting up sensationalising and attention grabbing articles without checking the facts very disturbing.

5. //KopitiamApek
    ///////well, we don’t know, but history should not be written only by the victors./////
    //Sadly history has always written by victors, as the losers were usualy slaughtered, dead men tell no tale.

Another superficial statement from Ah Pek.

Ever heard of

History has been kind to him.

On the Gang Ho note, generals usually lost their heads when they lost their armies or land.

Our generals lost nothing when TH lost so much monies.

Abberations do happen especially in S’pore.

//Personally, I find the bloggers overzealous in putting up sensationalising and attention grabbing articles without checking the facts very disturbing.

Perhaps Ah pek should suggest us to use the system of citations and referencing in blogs like this one.

As if the intentions of PAP needs a lot of analysis and we have so much time…

Do we need to do spell check as well?

6. //KopitiamApek
    ///////well, we don’t know, but history should not be written only by the victors./////
    //Sadly history has always written by victors, as the losers were usualy slaughtered, dead men tell no tale.

Another superficial statement from Ah Pek.

Ever heard of 项羽?

History has been kind to him.

On the Gang Ho note, generals usually lost their heads when they lost their armies or land.

Our generals lost nothing when TH lost so much monies.

Abberations do happen especially in S’pore.

//Personally, I find the bloggers overzealous in putting up sensationalising and attention grabbing articles without checking the facts very disturbing.

Perhaps Ah pek should suggest us to use the system of citations and referencing in blogs like this one.

Do we need to do spell check as well?

7. 56) FPC

I note that you viewed my statement as superficial, although I disagree, I respect your view.

Have you quoted me out of context?
    When I wrote “History is wriiten by victors” I was not refering to any one person in particular
    However you retorted with
    “History has been kind to him”.- whom are you refering to?
    and “Our generals lost nothing when TH lost so much monies” which I am unable withmy superficial level of thought, see any link to what I wrote.

8. 56) FPC

///// Perhaps Ah pek should suggest us to use the system of citations and referencing in blogs like this one.
    Do we need to do spell check as well/////

” the intentions of PAP ” what has this gotta do with what I wrote, albeit superficial in your learned opinion?
    out of conext again?

9. //58) KopitiamApek

//” the intentions of PAP ” what has this gotta do with what I wrote, albeit superficial in your learned opinion?
    out of conext again?

I think you work for the PAP that’s why.

anyway, I wonder if you put your statements in the PAP blog since you find the style of this blog distasteful.

10. //57) KopitiamApek

It is all published up there, check out who I am talking about.

You don’t need to feign ignorance. We know you can read.

11. 59) FPC

You are digressing even further

12. Mr kan nee lah 6 September 2009

time to win the people over before election … with some ‘white washing’ propanganda …. kekeke … yah i believe in yr book ….. in my next life…

13. Boycott the book & Straits Times

14. Lee Yock Seng 7 September 2009

Hello Apek and FPC
    Let’s agree to disagree, no argument… rather voice your opinion, hao ma ? Baik ?

… about Xiang Yu,The Han historian Sima Qian re-validated the 项羽, only after 79 years after Xiang Yu suicided. See below:

Sima Qian (ca. 145 or 135 BC–86 BC) was a Prefect of the Grand Scribes (太史令) of the Han Dynasty in China.

He is regarded as the father of Chinese historiography because of his highly praised work, Records of the Grand Historian (史記), an overview of the history of China covering more than two thousand years from the Yellow Emperor to Emperor Han Wudi (漢武帝). His definitive work laid the foundation for later Chinese historiography.

But he paid a heavy price for saying the truth, he was sentenced by the emperor Wu Di for the criticism of the Han Gao Zu, the great grand father of Wu Di, Sima was given castration and was thrown into prison, where he endured three years. Upon his release, Sima chose to live on as a palace eunuch so as to complete his histories’ writing.

Now, if the history repeats in sg, LKY’s great grandson will remove the balls of any (male) historian who dare to revise this book, that may happen in 2049, 90 years of pap in power….

The saying of Victor writes history is still be the case for at least for next 40 years in Singapore….. So, folks; pls cast your votes wisely so that the tyrants may fall earlier and your great grand children will read a true history of the glorious “founding fathers”, men in white whose hearts were black…

Hello Apek and FPC
    Let’s agree to disagree, no argument… rather voice your opinion, hao ma ? Baik ?

… about Xiang Yu,The Han historian Sima Qian re-validated the 项羽, only after 79 years after Xiang Yu suicided. See below:

Sima Qian (ca. 145 or 135 BC–86 BC) was a Prefect of the Grand Scribes (太史令) of the Han Dynasty in China.

He is regarded as the father of Chinese historiography because of his highly praised work, Records of the Grand Historian (史記), an overview of the history of China covering more than two thousand years from the Yellow Emperor to Emperor Han Wudi (漢武帝). His definitive work laid the foundation for later Chinese historiography.

But he paid a heavy price for saying the truth, he was sentenced by the emperor Wu Di for the criticism of the Han Gao Zu, the great grand father of Wu Di, Sima was given castration and was thrown into prison, where he endured three years. Upon his release, Sima chose to live on as a palace eunuch so as to complete his histories’ writing.

…. back to our future, if the history repeats it in Sg, The 5th PM who is LKY’s great grandson will remove the balls of any (male) historian who dare to revise this book, that may happen in 2049, 90 years of pap in power….

The saying of Victor writes history is still be the case for at least for next 40 years in Singapore….. So, folks; pls cast your votes wisely so that the tyrants may fall earlier and your great grand children will read a true history of the glorious “founding fathers”, men in white whose hearts were black…

15. How do the stories match with the un-classified TOP SECRET documents by the British Government?

I think those documents could serve as a yardstick too.

16. Having read all the official discourse of our history, I cannot but notice the white-washing of certain events, people and situations in our short history. Ironically it seems our history only started 44 years ago. Many I believe, would want to know what happen during the Japanese occupation ( especially to expose those who were Japanese supporters or spies), and what happens with the struggle for independence from the colonial masters. Who were the once who fought and who were the once who used everyone for their own political gain. We never did and never will have a Mahatma or Mendela but lets not create one for self glorification. These two men made great scarifices with hardly any gain. Other so called great leaders benefitted and are still benefitting great wealth and position for themselves and their familites without a hint of morality and continue to justify their legal but immoral gains. These men are no different from the other great dictators of the world. A selfless leader, shrewed politician and a great dictator all belong in history.

17. I heard that some of un-classifed document from the British archives have been made unavilable to public access due to the request of some country or countries in the name of protecting their nationalinterest. Anyone heard of this?

18. 64) Lee Yock Seng

////The saying of Victor writes history is still be the case for at least for next 40 years in Singapore….. So, folks; pls cast your votes wisely so that the tyrants may fall earlier and your great grand children will read a true history of the glorious “founding fathers”, men in white whose hearts were black…/////

With the new media, it is much harder to stonewall information.
    The internet era has changed the whole ball game , information blackout is much more difficult now, if not impossible.

19. 64) Lee Yock Seng

/////// Let’s agree to disagree, no argument… rather voice your opinion, hao ma ? Baik ? //////

I subscribe to that. Thanks

20. Seah Mei Kok 7 September 2009

Re:
    46) Mic O Mic on September 6th, 2009 5.51 am Saw the papers today. Maybe LKY need to sue Toh Chin Chye and Ong Pang Boon for lying….would be interesting entertainment…

LKY wont sue them, for there is no point to waste political capital to beat two old men

LKY die die wants face, he is looking at his historical position, legacy, he is writing 3 equations

Equation (1) LKY = PAP
    Equation (2) PAP = Singapore
    Subsitute (2) into (1) , we obtain; LKY = Singapore… :)

21. Mong Mong wants to play 8 September 2009

#70, by you logic,
    what happens to equation if he completely as in absolutely retires?

22. Seah Mei Kok 8 September 2009

Re:
    71) Mong Mong wants to play on September 8th, 2009 9.38 am #70, by you logic,
    what happens to equation if he completely as in absolutely retires?

The new equations come in

1) Add a variable ( asset to pap ) doctor Lee Wei Ling
    2) Add a variable, new candidate with last name Ho ( not the power first lady but related according to the litte birdy’s finding )
    3) Add a variable, new candidate with last name Quah ( you know the origin of him ), can be the new PM candidate

Then solve the new 3rd order equaltion, if we can’t, use super computer modelling in pap’s HQ in Bedok :)

23. Seah Mei Kok 8 September 2009

Some hints:
    The model answer, is an integration equation that involves Lee, Ho, Quah and then back to Lee. :)

24. No Holes Bored 8 September 2009

This shall be my last post can visualise the result now.
    83:1.

i do not see any effort by the oppos.

i am a carpenter. I have no holes bored today. I shall get cracking.

bye bye singaporeans. keep on dreaming.

25. Teh Chiang Wann 8 September 2009

carpenter , dont give up, go compose a good song for oppos :)

It takes 50 years to end up in an ice age, it will take at elast 20 years to defrost with help of global warming

In Taiwan, Marshall law was lifted in 1986, by 2000, a non KMT man was elected as president, he failed in 8 years but Taiwan moved forward and Democracy flourish,

26. Bought One 9 September 2009

Bought a copy at Kinokuniya for $42.69.

You all have seen the cover page. On the back cover, Lee Hsien Leong was quoted as saying:

“Without PAP, today’s Singapore would not exist. The authors tell the story through the voices of the participants of this epic journey. They spoke to many people on both sides, the non-communists and pro-communists. They convey a vivid feel for what Singapore politics was like, how it has changed over the decades, and how the PAP itself has changed as Singapore was transformed under PAP leadership.”

I would keep an open mind and read the book since I have bought it.

Cheers,

27. From an article in today’s ST:

It all started in May 2001 when then-Prime Minister and PAP secretary-general Goh Chok Tong broached the idea of a book to mark the 50th anniversary of PAP in 2004. Mr Goh and Mr Cheong agreed that it should not be a commemorative coffee-table book, and that it should be well-researched. More importantly, it should be non-partisan and not written for the PAP, but rather the authors’ version of the PAP story.

When Mr Goh Chok Tong told then-Senior Minister Lee about the book, the latter said that it would make for compelling reading if it covered the views of all the players in the struggle – those for and against the PAP.

Mr Lee told the team: ‘If you’re going to tell my side of the story, then you might as well not write the book. This has to be your book.’

He stressed that the authors – Sonny Yap, Richard Lim and Leong Weng Kam – should get the facts right but stand by what they have written.

When the initial drafts were shown to him, he pointed out factual errors but did not question the narrative thread or request that any of the critical and contentious points surrounding him be taken out.

So we know two things. First, the idea for the book came from Goh Chok Tong. It was meant to celebrate the PAP’s 50th anniversary. Second, the drafts of the book were sent to Lee Kuan Yew so that he could point out “factual errors”. Did the writers give their drafts to former leftists for “fact checking” also? I hardly think so.

So, how is it possible for such a book to be truthful and non-partisan? From the very beginning, it was conceived by senior members of the PAP, who were closely involved in its editing also. The interviews and writing were done by senior ST writers, whom we know are beholden to the Establishment. Thus, if there are any inconvenient facts or critical viewpoints expressed in the book, these are probably facts and views that have been pre-vetted by the PAP and deemed to be unharmful.

The PAP is not stupid. They want people to think that this is a non-partisan book, so they would not write an out-and-out propaganda piece. Instead, they would purposely leave in stuff that is critical to the PAP. But the really damaging information would obviously be censored, and overall the book will still balance in favour of the PAP.

And then ST spams articles to drive in the point that the book is non-partisan and writes a balanced account. They have mentioned this many times over the past week, fearing that no one would believe them. Methinks they do protest too much.

28. Fix the Truth 9 September 2009

” no holds-barred ” PAP style means going all out to fix the Truth. LOL

Let me see what can be fixed…..election system, judiciary, political succession, famiLee appointments, walk-over election for President, votes in parliament, media, union, etc……not least ,how we should think. LOL

29. Wee Kimm Han 9 September 2009

Copied this from another thread: Just to share:

MM uses the men in white book launch to “reconcile” with his rival old comrades

But he offered no apology. He thought bringing back these old men and women to old Parliament house chamber would erase his iron fists and acts of cruelty to detain with trial of many rivals for many yaers

Ask: will he forgive his rivals if he was in their shoes ?

This is election plot again.

Older singaporean are very forgiving too, including many leftists’ supporters if they read newspapers and see such photos of handshakes

MM and his factions changed Singapore’s physical face but not without sacrifies of many chinese educated folks whose support he used.

He is a shrewd politician, we want a 1005 clear hsitory, that is actually a book written by Lim Chin Siong published in 1990 before his death.

30. lots of critics out here. perhaps u would have preferred that barisan socialists won, and that pap lost, and singapore today would have become that idealistic utopia of the barisan socialists and leftists? that would indeed be a glorious brave new world instead.

31. Wee Kimm Han 9 September 2009

80) Edwi

Crtics here did not say that they wanted Barisan win.

1) Nobody is sure that, Singapore would not progress if pap lost in 1963
    To praise what you see is to crow after sun rise

2) Nobody can be sure that if Barisan won, they would not arrest pap men
    Afterall, it is the by-product of pap.

3) Many crticis here are driven by
    Absues of power, no transparency of civil services appointments,
    loss of Temasek holding’s bad investment by incompetent hands,
    absurd high salary of pap men ( PM Lee is drawing 5 times morethan President Obama & 8 times more than British PM Gordon Brown )
    Hand-off of welfare for the aged
    High Taxation
    GRC to dominate electoral system

The pap in first 25 years were generally a good govt.
    Till 1984, when the tide turned against PAP, in which we saw teh support swing 12.6% away from pap, then all manipulation tricks followed by pap

Many enjoy comfortable living without fairness and freedom of speech, like the beautiful birds in Jurong bird park, the polar bear in the aircon enclosure in our zoo. They have food, they do not need much thinking and worry.

If that is your choice, we respect that.

But you need not to draw anti pap = pro-barisan socialist.

32. competition is good 9 September 2009

you got it wrong edwi,
    the existence of both parties to keep each other on their toes, not a ratio of 82 to 2 in favour of the PAP where everything can be fixed. Bullying comes in. Citizens become afraid of the govt and not the other way round.
    Get what I mean ?

33. “Bought a copy at Kinokuniya for $42.69.”

What ? You have bought the world’s most expensive toilet paper ? Shouldn’t you get the one sign by the world’s most expensive and arrogant orang utan ?

34. Germain Jackie Mornarny 9 September 2009

to whom does the sales proceeds go to?

if it can be 82:2 and people still accept, who not make it 83:1? no diff what?

75) Teh Chiang Wann on September 8th, 2009 1.29 pm
    “In Taiwan, Marshall law was lifted in 1986, by 2000, a non KMT man was elected as president, he failed in 8 years but Taiwan moved forward and Democracy flourish”

erm , TW and SG is different in the aspect of employment. Does the TW gonmin employ a lot of their residents?
    How many singaproeans’s got their ricebowls tied to it?
    there you have it, enlightment.

35. Germain Jackie Mornarny 9 September 2009

A friend of mine told me “his son still has a scholarship to apply”

36. Koh Beng Seng 9 September 2009

Re:
    80) edwi on September 9th, 2009 6.57 pm lots of critics out here. perhaps u would have preferred that barisan socialists won, and that pap lost, and singapore today would have become that idealistic utopia of the barisan socialists and leftists? that would indeed be a glorious brave new world instead.

Dear Edwi

The majority of critics of pap govt in this bloggers did not say that they preferred a Barisan Societist Singapore …

1) Nobody can surely tell for certain that Sinagpore could not progress if pap lost the 1963 election.
    To trumphet the pap and give them all credits for last 50 years ‘ development is not objective.

2) Nobody can tell for sure that if Barisan Socialists won in 1963, they would not arrest pap men, afterall, the BS iwa spinned off from PAP.

3) The first 25 years of pap ruling was generally good for Singapore.
    But in 1984 GE , when the voters swing away from pap by 12.6%, and pap lost the second wards to opposition ( Chiam won Potong Pasir in addition to JBJ re-elected in Anson), the ruling parties begin a series of manipulation of electoral system and today we see the ills of

- 6 GRC that assures 35 seat in parliament, lead by MM, SM Goh, SM Jeyakumar, PM, and two other ministers. this is a subtle way of blackmailing to voters, it is “dare you vote the ministers out!”:

- Temasek holding lost more than $65B due to incompentency with no accountability

- High taxation and housing prices

- Total govt hand-off attitudes towards the poor and aged. Do youu know that social welfare for old and jobless is $243 per month ( may someone update me if i got a right fingure), is there enough for you to live a day, including ultility bill, medicine, bus fair, housing and food with merely $8 per day ?

- Appointment to close family members of the inner circle to key civil services and govt agencies, look at CAAS, Delgro, etc

- absurd high salary for govt leaders and perm sec, etc. Sg PM draws 5 times salart to President Obama and 8 times more than Bristish Gordon Brown.

many more to list… THINK ABOUT IT !!!

37. A case of historical revisionism if ever I saw one.

38. spyker tom 10 September 2009

86) Koh Beng Seng on September 9th, 2009 9.58 pm

although i am not disagreeing nor agreeing with what you said,
    I like to know
    if what you say is true,
    how come still so many diehard supporters that enabled their endless, ceaseless, NEVER-INTERRUPTED half century mandate?

39. #88, spyker tom

1) If you read Koh’s msg again, he said that the pap changed nature after 1984, i tend to agree

When we were poor, we want stability at ALL COST
    You saw this in Korea, Japan too, the people voted govt clans decades aftter decades.

2) Past GE results will give you a better pic .
    PAP support reached the peak in 1980, but opposition parties still made many close shave contest in 1976, 1980, 1984 and 1988.

By 1991, the effect and constraints of GRC set in, thereafter we see the stagnation of opposition.

3) Even if pap reduces GRC size to 3 or 4 members ( the original design ) it will still take 2 GE to make any gains of more than 2 GRC into opposition hands.

For the restrictions imposed on political activities remain in place.

40. nothoodwinked 10 September 2009

edwi #80
    How could you be so presumptuous with your statements.
    Perhaps if Barisan had won, they would have given us a Utopia but
    perhaps they won’t.
    But now we have seen how the new PAP governed the last 5 years,
    reversing every social policy of the earlier years, do you think we are better
    off than before.
    A good indication would be the peoples’ happiness index and the
    emigration rate of citizens or people who harbour the thought of it.
    I am sad to say both do not reflect well on the PAP Govt.

41. 8 Common Things Between Men in Black and Men in White – http://www.insanepoly.com/blog/?p=849

42. The Straits Times published today one page with Mr Fong Swee Suan

Mr. Fong said he look forwards and have no bitterness towards PAP victors

This confirm the intention of launching of the book

1) LKY seek implicit forgivesness from his old comrades

2) Reminding people that PAP = LKY = Singapore

3) Sway and decieve the old Chinese educated voters one more time, they are used and used and ditched by MM over the past 4 decades

4) Photo opp to show MM’s graciousness towards former arch rivals… @#$%^&*

43. True blue singaporean 11 September 2009

Crocodiles shed tears to its prey?

44. No need to rely on books, just my elders alone know a lot about Operation Coldstore. If LKY thinks he can hide his history from the rest of the world, he should think again.

45. PAP Lingo 12 September 2009

” No holds- barred ” in PAP Lingo means manufacture the truth, withholding the truth, economical with the truth, approving the truth, suppressing the truth, dismissing the truth, twisting the truth……………damn bloody good at it .

46. doctorwho 12 September 2009

see the joke from Mr Brown on MIW

http://www.mrbrownshow.com/

47. This debate proves an interesting point. MSM vs NM. It’s just a personal preference. Our diet of information can come from many sources but our personal biaseness towards issues still determines our choices. Therefore, it is not a matter of which media has more influence but what the reader wants to read.

48. 97) amteel

I like your perspective

49. ill gotten wealth 13 September 2009

to amteel @96)
    Agree with you Only when citizens have a choice and that choice is not controlled by one dominant political party.
    Did citizens really have a choice on what they choose to read before the existence of the internet, availability of sat. communication, etc ?
    Am I glad and thankful that technology has made it hell of a lot harder to BS and get away with it.

The saddest part is to see the men-in-white struggling to be honest and upfront in the way they deal with Sporeans. There is only one outcome for them.

50. 97) amteel

there are so many source of news if one takes the trouble to find them.
    it helps broaden our horizon.