From Martyn See’s blog, Singapore Rebel:

“It was a no-holds-barred report”, gloats Richard Lim, one of three senior journalists who were commissioned to write the history of the People’s Action Party in a new book entitled Men In White, The Untold Story of Singapore’s Ruling Party.

In the above reports, the Straits Times goes to great lengths to depict the book as a definitive and objective account of PAP’s history, supported by interviews with its opponents – including former communists now exiled in Thailand and leftists (a catch-all byword for staunch anti-colonialists) who had left the PAP to form the breakaway Barisan Sosialis.

But remarkably, the two full page report mentions not a single whiff of Operation Coldstore, the infamous 1963 mass arrests that decimated the entire leadership of the political opposition to the PAP.

Another glaring omission was how the writers failed to contact two founding PAP members, Dr Poh Soo Kai and Dr Lim Hock Siew, who were arrested under Operation Coldstore and detained without trial for periods of up to 19 years. Along with Said Zahari, Lee Tse Tong and Ho Piao, both of them were Singapore’s longest-held political prisoners after Chia Thye Poh.

Visit Martyn’s blog for more.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

100 Responses to “Men In White – “No-holds-barred report” on PAP?”

1. Rocker Mozart 3 September 2009

Martyn See you are my hero!

2. Looking at the poster… are you inspired to read it?

I think it is a joke.

3. Moe Gan Thai 3 September 2009

How much does the book cost ? $2 may be I will buy.

4. Ghostwriter 3 September 2009

The authors look like secret agents to me.

5. Book Reviewer 3 September 2009

Someone should point out any thing that is left out in the book, if any.
    and maybe the Alternative View blogs can share their analysis and comments with the Youths who may not have the ability nor knowledge to know the details of History.

It would be good to debate with these writers in a public forum, if they could accept the invitation, if any.

6. Book Reviewer 3 September 2009

by they were “commissioned to write” ,
    it would be of public interest, in my view, to know how are they compensated, if any, for their effort.

7. Vote of Opposition 3 September 2009

Secret my axx! Secret agent only with experience to “tekan” its own citizens for political purpose?

Dun forget Mas Selamat the most dangerous threat to Singapore had escaped from their grip.

8. man against the tank 3 September 2009

Men in white…Appropriate title for the hungry ghost festival…Thank you Martyn See…If it wasn’t for your documentary on CSJ, i would still think of him as a Lunatic as painted by MSM.

9. Wong Soon Fong 3 September 2009

May more truth come forth in the new book, “Men in White and Hearts not so white”

The truth can only be pubulished after MM return to atom and freedom of soeech opened up.

But it might be too late as Dr Poh Soo Kai and Dr Lim Hock Siew, who are already in their old age to give any interview.

Richard Nixon said ” to win your enemies, outlast them…. ” let’s see who would outlast who… stem cell injection may help :)

10. More like the 3 Stooges

11. After all these years the white has changed to black.

I don’t understand their language now. 1-man assembly.

White has become black!

12. Tan Luck Ngor 3 September 2009

This is the pap way to ask “independent” writers to certify govt’s revised history and be sure written into MOE text book.

These 3 men are surely no Sima Qian in Han Dynasty who lost his two balls by insisting writing the true history

13. F1 or F9 3 September 2009

#9,

“”Richard Nixon said ” to win your enemies, outlast them…. ””

Beautiful words of wisdom shared. how true.

Bravo!

14. man against the tank 3 September 2009

Men in white is correct lah…
    macam Ghost…

YAO GUI (hungry ghost meaning greedy in hokkien)

15. propaganda, its been done to death else where.

16. A white wash more likely! I had read “The Singapore Story memoires of Lee Kuan Yew” and my humble view is that dictator had learned from the Jap how to use fear to control the populace. The Jap used to display severed head of victim near Cathay cinemas to instil fear and obedience. The LKY regime uses the laws for the same purpose. Beside destroying the nation legal system, SinKapore is reduced to a Prison Island Republic- just like the Franch Devil Island. The media is reduced to a PAP propanda machine. It is an extension of the PAP. SinKaporean who are educated just like me, is reduced to writing blog on the web to express our dissatisfaction as we are fearful of getting on the wrong side of the laws. LKY had started a Lee Dynasty right under the noses of SinKaporean and we all just accepted. Are we all moron & robots incapable of independence thinking? Maybe we had been guilty in the past but it is never to late to correct it for the sake of our children and all future generations.

17. prettyplace 3 September 2009

Thanks Martyn…nice to go back in history and see what LKY did…

I remember seeing documentaries about Singapore’s history. Those days were exciting and Singapore was moulding her future, until LKY and his gangsters started their tactics of intimidation.

They still exist in archives. Perhaps when old man passes…many are going to come up.

Sad that good people were branded Communist and chuked in prison.

18. prettyplace 3 September 2009

Let them write what they want…but truth has been captured and captured well by western countries.

19. blackfeline 3 September 2009

if the book is titled: The Sins of the Men in White.I dont mind buying a dozen!

20. The dirty winner always project themselves as heroes, so why read those fairy tales.

21. mice is nice 3 September 2009

MIW to me like people who suffer from colonial hangover… they prefer “angmo”.

22. famiLee fiction 3 September 2009

No-Holds-Barred report on PAP in reality refers to sucking-up till you drop.
    And the authors selected for the task at hand must have such natural ability.

23. Yeah Martyn. You gotta do this docudrama. The title: First World Hero or Third World Gangstar.
    Pick your own subject.

24. Hi #6 Book Reviewer:
    The writers spent the last 10 years researching and writing the book. They were on the payroll of the SPH, being journalists of the organisation. At a modest annual income of $100,000 each, the cost for this awesome body of work could have come up $3 million.
    Any redeeming features? Well, the old man was reported to have disagreed with the views of those who fell out of grace with him. Bloody hell, he must have raved — $3 million spent and we had to give space to these disgruntled souls. They should have been left to rot in the silence of their obscurity.
    But I will go buy the book — so that I can get a peek into their minds, and perhaps a better understanding of Singapore, our leaders and our people. And how we have come to this sorry impasse.

25. Don’t be surprise if they are from ISA.

To be a senior journalist needs to carry favour often if not they won’t be senior or working in SPH for so long.

Read Harry Potter or Playboy will be a much better choice.

If you go to bookstores, lots of books on PAP but how many is buying. Ask the salesgirl & she will tell you, its just for show.

26. OriginalResonance 3 September 2009

(#16) SinKaporean who are educated just like me, is reduced to writing blog on the web to express our dissatisfaction as we are fearful of getting on the wrong side of the laws.

“Human rights” is a misnomer. For all the castigation of LKY’s tyranny, why aren’t any of these righteous individuals doing anything to dissolve his grip on our government? The pedestal is too comforting? Liberty is not bestowed. It is earned. When you realize why LKY is the one making statements in the public sphere while your “alternative views” are essentially preaching to the choir, perhaps then you will do something concrete as opposed to mere whining. After all, you did claim that you’re educated (whatever “educated” means).

27. Kum sum of the music 3 September 2009

erm, I just curious to know are any of these 3 PAP members or RC members or grassroots members in any way , past or present?

I curious because the 2 wear pure white and the other partial white.

Ok lah, i kaypoh lah can or not?

28. ALL singaporeans 3 September 2009

1world gangter 1world corruptor 1world cominis 1world slavery that show be the title of mr lee kuan yew

29. ALL singaporeans 3 September 2009

to do good things and to take care of your people is not an easy task and to run the country as honest as loyal you can be is not an easy task

but to run a country like how MR LEE KUAN YEW is very easy indeed simple task to carry.

all he got to do is to sit back and rip out our spinals and suck our blood daily and call it his hard earn money. anyone has anything to say?? he deploy his army.police and so on to lock you up for life!

this is the cominis style that he use to run the country which is a simple task and enjoy we would say.

so the question is…..do we need them? we singaporeans would say a very big NO!!

THIS time election the entire PAP will be vote out. even if one is left in the seat.how long can he survive?his paycheck will be rip off monthly til he resign his post

30. edison chen 4 September 2009

Who is to say the people that were locked up were good people? I think the authors were kind enough to spare them the blushes instead of bringing their disgraced lives back into the spotlight. Of course no offence to them, and I hope that they live out the rest of their lives peacefully and comfortably.

Cheers~

31. The more and often the lies are told, they will become real.

We are back into “1984″

32. Dear TOC
    Can you explain how is the “Rating and vote” done.

Thank you.

33. The book was personally endorsed by MM Lee, for goodness sake. He signed the limited edition copies. How could anyone expect a book supported by MM Lee to be fair and balanced?

34. textbook 4 September 2009

They even re-wrote school history text books to omit a lot of things. This is how a hybrid regime would do… so not surprised the book omitted things they deem negative.

35. These ST journalists are sucking up to MIW in the hope of getting some benefits in return!!

36. Do U think is worthy to buy tihs Booooooooook? The orator should interview some one like Francis Seow, Tan Hus Piow or the Gaint Chia Thye poh or Chen Ping the leader of CPM, in order 2 write this book well. Unlike the Mentor Memoire I pesonally saw it ended in Bras Brasah Complex, second Hand Book Shop, In One incident I saw it ended in one of the Petrol Station toilet, some page has been tear for some purpose. It a laughing stock to have this Book.

37. doctorwho 4 September 2009

These 3 jokers on photo, should be behind bars for knowing abiding a Tryant.

Anyway, 5 yearly event is coming and MM please don’t stand for erection!

38. the rock says 5 September 2009

how about a no holds barred match with the undertaker?

Main event: three jokers vs the undertaker

39. Lau Tak Hua 5 September 2009

Did you guys read the news today?

did that man won by 1 vote?

to me, the article gave me the impression that the book tries to be ‘no holds barred’.
    but i have my own opinions that i am not at liberty to express.

anyways whether won by 1 vote or not is not what interests me nor is it important to me.

40. Chan Chee Seng 5 September 2009

MM fixed ong eng guan, Toh Chin Chye and Ong Bang Boon were rewarded but toh chin chye was pushed over too

Ong Bang Boon did better, some said, his nephew is the second PM,

41. Chilumbong 5 September 2009

So, did the news reported there is proof beyond reasonable doubt that the accused was a commie?

It did mention there was a meeting with some guy.

So, based on that , that is it?

so, if someone has lunch with a nuclear warlord to discuss something like peace arrangement, he is what?

42. commonsense question 5 September 2009

talking about writers and the press,
    allow me to digress a bit.
    I like to ask, with the loss of the Japan LDP after 50 years of reign,
    would there be any change in the management of their Press and change in Editors and Writers ?

I mean it from a coincidental point of view.
    if so, how would the press people be feeling now? excited?

43. Ho Tat Kin 5 September 2009

if pap ever fall, some 30,000 of their cronies will run road, migrate to avoid corruption trial ?

44. Integrity 6 September 2009

Over the pass years, PAP have manage to turn Singapore into a “1984″ style of state.

Affordable housing means both couple take a loan of 30 years.

Talents refers to those who manage to lose 10s of billion of our asset.

Foreign talent includes those who sweep the floor and wash the toilet.

Affordable healthcare will probably bankrupt a family after a major surgery.

While, LKY, Loong are PM of SG, Lee Hsien Yang and Ho Ching not to mentioned numerous of their relatives, classmates holding high office in public sector. They did not even tried to avoid conflict of interest.

45. The Day Of Reckoning is near !

patriot

46. Mic O Mic 6 September 2009

Saw the papers today. Maybe LKY need to sue Toh Chin Chye and Ong Pang Boon for lying….would be interesting entertainment…

47. CommonSense Question 6 September 2009

43) Ho Tat Kin on September 5th, 2009 10.54 pm
    ” if pap ever fall, some 30,000 of their cronies will run road, migrate to avoid corruption trial ? ”

I wonder should this scenario happen, how many new jobs can be created? think superset.

Get my drift?

48. Nabuki suzuker 6 September 2009

#44,
    ” They did not even tried to avoid conflict of interest. ”

how can this be proven?
    Even if so, they are the ‘executives’ , they do they job given to them.
    Its the People who gave them the mandate.
    Without the mandate, there is no executive.
    So, do you see the key factor?
    This is not a complicated question of did the egg come first of the chicken come first.
    This is a no brainer of its the Mandate that gave them the Power.

49. Schweizer Pinlada 6 September 2009

They will need to update this book to make it current in a few years time, at least.
    If you know what i mean. Things change, you know?

50. CommonSense Questions 6 September 2009

I like to see is Any singaporean has the proof and evidence , that is , the answer to the below doubts i have:

1. So, after all the Book and the ST have written, is there Solid Evidence to prove beyond reasonable doubts that he is a communist?

People can say what people feel is the truth but in a country with laws, if you say someone sounds like a communist, that does not prove he is. What if i say someone sounds like a Moby Dick? The system is based on Rule of Law.

So, my question to all is by keep asking if someone is a communist, does that mean he is or he is not without solid evidence beyond reasonable doubt?

2. Did the Book and the Press prove beyond reasonable doubt did that man won by 1 vote?

I see 2 unanswered questions. Not sure how the rest of the intellectual 1st world solid bombastic singaporeans think.

So , who can answer the above questions derived from commonsense?