Like many others, I didn’t mind having to stand and watch the race, unlike holders of grandstand tickets. But imagine my disappointment when I realised I could not see the cars at all – I could only hear the engines roar.
I know I did not pay much, but I did not go there just to hear the roar of the engines.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

If you have ever been to Sepang Track, you will realize that the SGP Street Racing Circuit is a rip off makeshift circuit. Imagine even Hamilton had feedback that the road is bumpy & it is a very tough race for him.
F1 in Singapore is just another business opportunity & I don’t understand that how did FIA agree to it in the 1st place. The proposed Changi Track had been delayed time & time again.
I am very sorry for Tan Kah Hong but what have happened had happened. Glad that you shared this online to let people aware of the unpleasant rip off experience.
Obviously the author hasn’t attended a mega-concert on the cheapest ticket. All you see is a little dot on the stage. Can only hear sound. It’s the same everywhere lah.
I’m on a walkabout ticket too. I did see lots of actions. You just need to know where to stand.
2) Walkabout ticket holder
At leaste in the concert, you can hear the singing, which is what you are there for…
but in this case, he wasn’t there here to enjoy the engine roar
to walkabout ticket holder
pray, enlighten us where to stand. otherwise, readers are inclined to believe that you’re a poser for the f1 organizers…
Mr Tan Kah Hong,
I sympathise and can partially emphatise with you.
Last year, the 1st event, I was there without a ticket, standing outside the tall fence. thousands in the same shoe try to catch a glimpse of the cars but could only see thru 1 small gap of about 10 centimeters wide.
As a suah koo, i was quite thrilled at first to catch a glimpse of about 0.2 seconds of the cars flash by. After 10 minutes, i got tired and demoralised and disgusted as i could not really enjoy the race. Furthermore, the air was filled with tar-smell about 100 times stronger than even what the peak hour traffic could produce. Very bad for health really. The noise level is also bad for the ears. The crowdedness is good place to get infection due to human-human infection with things like flu.
The race was a non-event for me as i watched from the tv that basically, in essence, Lewis drove from the starting point all the way to the end for 61 rounds without having to chase anyone. Oh may be 1 . Thats all.
its more boring than watching the most-spectators sport.
this is my honest opinion. feel free to buay song with my opinions.
i dont really mind u see.
Sinkapore is a businese friendly country but I am not sure if it is consumer friendly. From the amount of blog one read about consumers suffering from unfair trade practices, it is not unfair to conclude the regulations favour the businese. It is all about making money for the rich and powerful. If one do not belong to this class, then we have to take our chances. The Layman Brother mini bond saga was another example when Hong Kong SAR was able to protect its citizen’s investment.
The only solution now available to us is to use of voting right to change the country. This may sound drastic over a F1 race but there are signs of a failing gahment who interest is somewhere else and not with its citizen. We elect our gahment to look after our interests and when they had failed us, then it is up to us to do something about it. We have only one choice and one vote to do it and that is the coming GE. Use it wisely or wait for another 5 years! The choice is in your hand.
Next year i’m going to sell CDs of F1 engines roar to lesser mortals….HUAT!
simple, dont need to pay, watch tv at home free. same ol circling anyway
It is a overly hyped branded expensive spectator sport, where the audience have nothing to do. When the cars went zooming by the grandstand in the first lap, all stood up excited, then again lap 2, same thing happened, then again lap 3 and still samething happened. So I was thinking to myself, are these guy going to do this stand up and sit down 61 times over. Apparently not. After lap 3, only a handful stood up. After lap 30, a lot walked away from their seats.
It is watching 20 cars zipping by 61 times. Each time is the same as the one before. It is amazing, what we do for entertainment. : )
2) Walkabout ticket holder
Yes, there are a number of oplaces with great view
infront of the esplanade is one place looking towards esplanade drive
Next to the floating platform near the makan stalls is another, bnear Rfaffles City is yet another. In fact if one moves about, it is nicer and can feel the whole atmoshphere.
As for Mr Tan, you have my emphathy, as the place is definitly not designed for walking around with a crutch. I wish you speedy recovery and maybe next year you will enjoy it better.
Many Singaporeans are quite funny.
last time, we hardly hear about F1.
F1 has been a big thing to europeans but certainly not singaproeans.
Then someone say watch F1. then everyone watch F1.
F1 existed so long, why now people suddenly think F1 so great? Last time not great meh?
Malaysia so near by already got F1 long ago.
are singporeans very cooperative or are they very cooperative?
F1 car is fast because it burns more fuel than any street legal car.
so, is it GREEN ? not when it burns so much.
not any fuel but special special grade fuel many many times more expensive than highest octane fuel at petrol kiosks.
so, its a car that eats a lot of expensive fue by a very big engine thus creating a lot of power and noise and air pollution. and it costs 2 bombs.
it would be a great car if :
1. can product same power with normal fuel.
2.same fuel consumption as the best street cars.
3. low noise pollution.
4. low air pollution.
spend so much of course such a car should run fast lah.
So, i am not impressed.
There is an alternative to F1 and you can watch whole day for free…just move next to an expressway.
My dear friend, you even write on the ST forum about your plight. You are lucky those cronies published your letter. I have stopped writng to ST long time ago.They only published nice letters praising the government.
Back to your $68/- walkabout ticket. As the ticket name implies, you go there to walk about. Able to see is your luck. The government spent so much of our tax money to hold this F1 event not for us but for the world, to tell them we have also ‘arrived’.
I enjoyed so much (at home) watching life coverage on TV and saw the action all around the circuit. We should not let our government fool us in everything. For 50 years, gahmen has fooled us these last 25 years. See what I mean!
Dear Readers,
I would like to seek answers :
1. how much is spent to host F1 including concerts?
2. how much, if any, singaporean’s tax money is spent on this?
3. Based on what do you give your answers? Where is the black and white? based on some reports, if any? How do you audit the reports?
15) Albino Hum
The race was co-funded by the Government of Singapore, footing 60% of the total bill, or $90 million SGD, out of a total tab of $150 million SGD.