SINGAPORE – Singapore’s elder statesman Lee Kuan Yew said Wednesday that he expects his People’s Action Party to win the next two elections to extend its grip on power by as much as 10 more years.
“I don’t see any problem in the next election or probably in the next one after that,” Lee, 85, said at a dinner to mark the fifth anniversary of a college named after him.
“But if we don’t find a good team in the election after that, and the opposition gets a good team together, we are at risk.”
Lee, who founded the PAP and was Singapore’s first prime minister from 1959 to 1990, remains a powerful figure in the Cabinet and in the party. The PAP is the only party to have ruled Singapore.
The current government was elected in 2006. The next elections are set for 2011.
Lee, who now has the title of mentor minister, said even if the opposition took power by a “freak result,” it won’t be allowed to fire top police, army and other officials without the approval of the president, who is appointed by a committee of government officials.
Lee, who is the father of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, said an opposition government would by law also need the president’s approval to tap international reserves, indicating it would not be given.
Otherwise “all our hard-earned savings could go in five years,” he said. “I spent 15 years thinking up these safeguards.”
–
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

sinkaporean mentality (66% whom voted for PAP) are those “don’t see coffin, don’t weep” until PAP sucks them to the last drop than they can open their eyes!
CONCLUSION FOR ALL COMMENTS –
TIME FOR A CHANGE ! THE CHANGE IS IN YOUR HANDS.
NO CHANGE = NO IMPROVEMENT= FOREVER THE SAME !
The problem i see is mostly those who struggling with low wage and having a hard time as a result of intense foreign imports may most likely vote against.
These maybe the 33.3 .
These may be those who seldom go online.
These maybe living in 3 rooms.
These maybe renting.
These may be too occupied with long working hours and work that they only have time to sleep and work , work and sleep that they are not reading alternative blogs. Only have time to pick up free ‘tabloid’ style newspapers and MSM.
These may be not just IT unsavvy but also less educated and not strong in english. But strong in singrish.
In summary, i theorise why even though 33.3% voted Against the ruling party, only a little speck of this population are reading Alternative blogs and news.
In short, change will not come until the fat lady sings.
I am not sure who can rebut me.
who knows, maybe the new citizens will bite the hands that feed? for despite given the “goodies”, they may not be as dumb as thought out to be.
they may not come from so called 1st world countries, but they may have the street smarts to see ahead, that includes trouble. who is to stop them from casting their votes as they please?
from the little i know these “newbies” may be more political savvy given the fact they lived through incompetent govts. some of them are rather well connected to the situation on the ground, racial enclaves like little Thailand, Phillipines, Myanmar, China, etc helps them keep one another updated.
it may seem alittle far fetched & i got no facts to back me up lah. the truth is out there?
ya, i agree that new citizens may be more democracy savvy than locals. some china citizens impress me for being more vocal and politically savvy than some ‘waiting for instruction’ people.
chee has proven he possesss the qualities of a strong political leader.
in my view, he is more gungho than all opposition i know. we can see how much he tried to reach out to the majority. he is a leader who we can expect will try all ways possible to reach the people.
He is the only credible opposition leader in my view. a REAL politician.
I am wiling to vote for any party other than Foreigners Action Party.
Yes, Chee is a good choice. I don’t even mind voting for Chen Shui Bian.
At least, he protected his country from foreigners (China)
Our gov? They let imports stomp over our land.
We really need better leadership. It keeps getting worse.
1) We used to have local dramas of reasonable quality. Now it is outsourced to China (why wants to watch Shaolin Monks??) and now the weekday drama is outsourced to Malaysia’s NTV 7. What the heck is wrong?
2) Our news programs are pitiful. They either buy cheap videos from China or taiwan’s tv stations, have no videos to show, or report on utterly insignificant issues like how a retrenched wall-street banker has become a tour-guide. What the heck is wrong?
3) We used to have affordable housing. Now HDB prices are shooting off the roof with HDB profiteering and foreigners playing with speculation.
4) An education in NUS used to mean something. Now it is just a freebie that any 2nd rate foreigner can get. Local NUS grads can’t even get good jobs anymore.
5) There is not even a national identity anymore. We are like a pot of Rojak soup boiling over into the fire.
6) We used to have national athletes we were proud of. Now we buy them from overseas and pretend that SG wins when they win. It was excruciating to watch Lee JW playing against the Chinese player. It was not SG vs China. It was China vs China.
What is wrong with the country? Has it gone mad?
How much are our dear ministers really paid? Is it really jus the millions of dollars that they declare to us?
how many of them sits on the directors board of the temasek controlled companies (bought using our hard earned monies) and get directors fees for doing nothing?
# 309) sand
Now you know why our MM Lee passed a new bill that its even illegal to check on any MPs background some years earlier, if I’m not wrong. The salaries they are getting are nothing compared to those whiter white cronies who are sitting on the board of directorship of numerous stateboards just to play golf and collecting year ends millions while some of you people are still having problems with your 3 meals.
#306,
Chee is indeed a real politician – he demonstrated with the struggles real politicians go thru.
He has never punched anyone, killed anyone , stabbed anyone, robbed anyone, set fire to anyone etc. He is a very gentleman opposition politician. Very tamed by international standards.
He is ahead of his time. Singaporeans dare not support him. Singporeans rather believe rumors.
the other type of opposition are those who appear during election rallies. This does not mean they never do other things. its just that i never see them inaction except during rallies. those few days. and then anpther 5 years or so of …….
The good news is that I will get to see PAP loose an election and become an opposition party.
The bad news is that LKY will not get to see it… Oops!…may be that’s also good news for him…
311) Where is pinkelitis ?
///////// He has never punched anyone, killed anyone , stabbed anyone, robbed anyone, set fire to anyone etc. /////////
almost everyone in Singapore outside of Changi Prison fits the above description.
We are livning in an age where people with vested interests or self-interests tell black as white, and white as black. That’s the beginning of the end of a country; time and again history has proven that to be so.
Who have had wasted the people’s hard-earned savings?
Who is drawing big pay cheque for themselves?
Who is suspecting others will squander away the people’s hard-earned savings?
Who have had wasted the people’s hard-earned savings?
Who is drawing big pay cheque for themselves?
Who is suspecting others will squander away the people’s hard-earned savings?
Check the facts. See the budget documents at MOF’s website. This is a recurring misconception.
You find that:
= personal income tax do not contribute a lot to the revenue
= GST does not contribute a lot either
if you do not pay tax, or are in the lower tax bracket, then you are not really contributing a lot to the fiscal revenue
= the expenditure for politicians and parliamentary appointment holders is tiny when it is compared to the fiscal “stimulus” this year
= making the MPs work for free doesn’t even help to finance any form of welfare by much
//check the facts
This is another beautification ploy by PAP.
A low income person might not contribute (on paper) to the fiscal revenue much.
However, he contribute by lending monies to the govt through the CPF which he receives a small interest (maybe negative interest depending on the inflation rate). This sum of monies will not be able to be taken out by the person either because it is not high enough or it is locked up in an ever costly HDB flat, which is the second way he is contributing to the fiscal revenues. I forgot to add that the medisave account savings though substantial is hardly taped by the individual. It is just lying them to insure the govt from paying / subsidizing medical cost like most developed nations.
That function could have been replaced by universal health care insurance.
Then there is NS where normally you should be getting 24K, but instead you get 4800. Not to add in the enormous cost of missing opportunities where you could save monies for the 2 years to pay for a good professional cost later.
If GST is so insignificant, why the reluctance to lower it during economic downturn? Why put it in place in the first place? The cuscaded nature of this tax and the cost of collecting this tax is low.
The govt on paper doesn’t collect a lot of monies from you as tax but it provides housing, car ownership license and things that you use at a superhigh price. The difference between this taxation and the other ways is that it hits you hard upfront by a big amount instead of taking a small amount little by little at a time.
Keep denying that the low income people contribute.
We shall see how long the low income group will tolerate the pap crap.
//check the facts
“= making the MPs work for free doesn’t even help to finance any form of welfare by much ”
I wonder how many of you really think PAP MP works for the people.
This is a joke.
//check the facts
“= the expenditure for politicians and parliamentary appointment holders is tiny when it is compared to the fiscal “stimulus” this year”
This is a standard technique by the govt (as demonstrated by the expensive mrt gates as compared to Taiwan).
You claimed to put out a huge stimulus.
But most of the monies go to the rich GLCs, which the govt TH owns.
In between there is a small leakage to other groups.
As a result, the TH paper looks less dire (after losses in the banks) , the monies didn’t leave Singapore Govt much, and the govt earns publicity.
Didn’t ordinary people benefit?
I wonder how did other developed countries like Germany manage to run their countries with an even smaller “expenditure for politicians and parliamentary appointment holders” in relation to their revenue and in relation to their population size.
Reading “Check you facts” almost want to make you want to give more monies to the PAP people.
However, when you realise these people do nothing, you would decide better not to.
//check the facts
“= personal income tax do not contribute a lot to the revenue”
How I wish he could arrive from “this” to the conclusion that we should NOT pay income tax…since it is so insignificant.
That would be a first.
BTW, which countries have personal income tax making a major portion of the fiscal revenue? If there isn’t, then why should “check your facts” shoot us down for claiming that the govt is taxing us too much? His example prove nothing.
“if you do not pay tax, or are in the lower tax bracket, then you are not really contributing a lot to the fiscal revenue”
Now, I know why the govt keeps protecting the rich and not protecting the poor. These rich people are paying their salaries not ordinary you and me.
I haven’t see a developed country with the rich paying less tax than the poor and both shares the same level of govt protection (to a certain variance).
I don’t know why Singapore has to differentiate itself in this regard and what gains does it give to singaporeans.
And yes, I think you are from the govt, “check your facts”.
//296) L on September 10th, 2009 4.56 pm
//PAPa dont preach
Yeah, PAP don’t preach. They exploit and squeeze the ordinary people.
Remember the govt pays a lot of monies to smart finance people to come up with all these schemes to squeeze you.
Please please don’t fall for it.
//check the facts
“= the expenditure for politicians and parliamentary appointment holders is tiny when it is compared to the fiscal “stimulus” this year”
This analogy remains me of the frequent display of firepower in the SAF in all the exercises but most of us know that is it just for show.
The real substance is a lot less than the real stuff.
It is like a woman with A cup pretending to be C using push up bra.
It is only good to look (to a certain extent) but it doesn’t feel like the real thing.
//check the facts
The seemingly huge stimulus, didn’t reverse the recession and produce anything significant.
The expenditure on the politicians and appt holders could be tiny relative to the so-called stimulus, but their efforts or end result of their efforts is even tinier as shown by the number of serial cock ups last year.
Sad…
#315) the expenditure for politicians and parliamentary appointment holders is tiny when it is compared to the fiscal “stimulus” this year
dude (or girly) wrong comparison!
-1 to u
“check the facts”, go check ur facts on the ground. Ah bian is already in jail, soon it is ur masters turn!
////I wonder how many of you really think PAP MP works for the people////
let me clarify this myth that our MP is working to help the ground people:
about 8 months ago, fellow netitizen wrote to me that his foreign bride was banned by MOM from coming to Singapore after their marriage because his wife used to work in Singapore holding on to a work permit. I agreed to meet him at nearby to understand his case. He shown me 4 MP’s letter that shockingly from the same standard template and 4 returned letters from MOM using also the same reply template. His request is reasonable, he want MOM to tell him when the ban expire so that he can be reunited with his foreign wife. It is so hard to give a answer?
The 4 stupid west side MPs just simply type the same thing and expect different answer from MOM. I told him to stop looking for the MPs and drafted a letter to MOM on his behalf. In my letter to MOM, I reason that if a PRC came to Singapore to work illegally, she will most likely to get a sentencing of 2 years ban from coming to Singapore under the criminal law. I ask MOM, if married without permission from them is a violation of law? If so, why his wife cannot be given a deadlie for the ban to enter Singapore. I further support with the fact that his wife working in Singapore left with good conduct (I told the netitizen to get her ex-employer to write her the testimonial). So why the MOM can’t give a definite answer on this simple request? I told him to send this draft to the highest authority in MOM work permit department instead of going to the counter.
Immediately after this email was sent, he was called by the MOM officer to wait for their call some where in Jun this year. 3 months ago, the netitizen SMS me and told me that his wife had been approved by MOM to come into Singapore.
To hell, with Singapore MPs, they are a bunch of good for nothing people.
Dear “check the fact first”
if PAP is really doing their work, then there isn’t any need to check the fact to begin with. There won’t even a place like TOC if they are working. Demand and supply, you ought to know that. Yah??? You should be the one checking the fact first.
Yes, there are people who don’t pay tax. However, PAP is not stupid when come to robbing the people, to ensure everyone pay, GST was introduced. I suggest that such reasoning used by you should go to say it to a K1 children.
Like FPC, I believe you come from PAP. Only PAP is as lame as you.
RED-man,
Generally MP is nothing but relayer of message. They just relay the message to whoever in charge without really fighting fighting for it. The message is none of their concern since they are just messenger. You see it in parliament when majority of the MP and NMP are nothing but messenger of the ground. They just bring the message into parliament and fight not for it. You wonder why they are paid so much as nothing but messenger and I wonder it too.
#326) Daniel
The prolem in Singapore is that majority of the govt here is that their right hands do not really know exactly what the left hands are doing because all their HODs are busy cracking their heads just to please their bosses boss up there and finally to only one man, hoping to get recognized and get promotion ($$$). So, even within its own ministry, their various depts are still more concern about competing each other rather than a whole. This is exactly whats happening to most of them (MPs) in parliament. Nothing new all these years.
66.6% in the last election when everything was still doing ok.
now with so much hoo-ha on the ground, still expect to win with a convincing margin? I dont think so.
Like many others, i also foresee the opposition capturing a GRC this time round…some ministers are a total waste of the millions we pay them.
I agree with most here that the next GE will be more exciting than watching the world cup finals.
Obviously the 66.6% will go down drastically and if lucky enough the oppositions may even win big time this round, unless those MIW plays dirty by riggng the poll or even announcing false results which is highly possible this time as they know they are loosing popularity day by day now. After all they still command the spf and army to use them as they wish, hopefully those in the spf and military force still remember that they too have parents who are the suffering victims from those MIW bandits and know who are their real enemies instead of following order blindly all these years.
The 13-episode documentary seires 大国崛起, produced by China which gives an objective and good coverage on the rise and fall of the superpowers since mid 15th century till the recent Soviet Union.
LKY claimed that he had watched the show.
What has Singapore learned from the show?
Continuous shutting off of alternate views?
Continuous arrogance and complacency?
Continuous application of past success formulars while knowing that yesterday’s success could be today’s failure?
Continuously doing the same thing the same way while knowing that we can’t expect having different result by doing the same thing same way.
i wonder about what/where sources newly minted citizens get their news fix from. locals papers? internet? or by word of mouth from their motherland?
PAP can only control local media, but outside? look what happen when to S’pore’s venture into telecoms business in Thailand & Indonesia for indications of “success”. lol…
315) check the facts
If you are talking about that. Income tax ain’t that much, GST still ok…but Perhaps you can look at the fact that on top of taxes and GST, 20% of your income goes into CPF that is only usable when you buy a flat or you are at that age…so don’t tell me that contribution isn’t significant
so what does that money goes to? into our SWF investment scheme
“the expenditure for politicians and parliamentary appointment holders is tiny when it is compared to the fiscal “stimulus” this year”
Did you only check from 1 website, or did you fail to notice that our dear leaders can hold other positions in GLC that generates paychecks too? Oh , and why did you fail to mention that our leaders are getting paid way higher then other world leaders like obama. if you are talking about comparing pay vs fiscal stimulus, look at LHL and stimulus vis-a-vis obama and stimulus…does that tell you anything? please, take things in context, not at the surface value….what a joker
“making the MPs work for free doesn’t even help to finance any form of welfare by much”
Paying them at that rate doesn’t seem to produce any noticeable results, maybe only a few manage to shine
Check the fact, what you post is the recurring misconception…so please do not try to tell people here that theirs are…. what you post are just at the surface value, omitting stuff that will contradict your point
@ 315)
If someone is talking about taxes. Income tax ain’t that much, GST still ok…but Perhaps that person can look at the fact that on top of taxes and GST, 20% of your income goes into CPF that is only usable when you buy a flat or you are at that age…so don’t tell me that contribution isn’t significant
so what does that money goes to? into our SWF investment scheme
“the expenditure for politicians and parliamentary appointment holders is tiny when it is compared to the fiscal “stimulus” this year”
that person only check from 1 website? Oh , and why did the person fail to mention that our leaders are getting paid way higher then other world leaders like obama. if you are talking about comparing pay vs fiscal stimulus, look at LHL and stimulus vis-a-vis obama and stimulus…does that tell you anything? please, take things in context, not at the surface value….
Check the fact, what you post is the recurring misconception…so please do not try to tell people here that theirs are…. what you post are just at the surface value, omitting stuff that will contradict your point
what to do, some people select the facts that look good on them & pass off as the whole thing. true they presented facts, but to do so partially, to distort the real situation.
332) mice is nice
so that they can claim they did not lie (which is true)
what they did not tell you is that they presented a selected part of the whole truth
True lies, as Arnie would say. :)
Selective perception, people only see what they want to see….
dynasty rise and demise…this is just normal cycle of life, whether is pap or the great united states….etc are no exception..
perhaps time is not too far away
MM should just zip up.
When MM says that if the opposition seize power by “freak” election, he is clearly insulting the integrity of the voting citizens. He is saying that no normal, conscious, intelligent, morally guided citizen can make such monstrous “errors” unless they are freaks. To layer his condemnation to this abomination, he makes it very clear that the newly elected opposition government will NOT have powers over the police force, army and President. Wow, this is a world’s first. Then what is the significance of a democratic election?
There’s no doubt any more that they will not let go and will do whatever necessary to stay in power. They will declare martial law when the opposition wins big. Just wait and see.
It got me thinking why they pay such high salaries to their yes man ministers. While it may sound good on print that it is used to deter corruption, the much bigger political weapon is to BUY support. Imagine those spineless ministers and civil servants earning big bucks-will they goes against their paymasters to fight for an ideal of equality and lose everything? Of course not. Equality is for poor people. The super rich is mighty fine to have the rest of us scrubbing their floors and polishing their cars.
A king is useless if his own army turns against him. Look at all evil regimes, one example, Burma. Why does the junta still stay in power when the people voted Aung San Suu Kyi as their legally elected new leader. It’s the army/police supporting the junta because they are well fed and paid.
So now we have MM the man himself declaring without apology that even if they lose, PAP will still be in power. He has no fear, no regrets, no apologies, no heart, no soul. Let’s see how this saga plays out. It will be a messy affair and history will notoriously remember tyrants far better than saints.
This is what happens when you let a lawyer run a country?
Food for thought:
What’s the difference between God and a lawyer?
=> God doesn’t think he’s a lawyer. ..:P
MM LKY has passed his era. His rhetorics of a freak election and what not is spoken by a man who do not know how to let go when still in glory. He is clinging on to his last breath enjoying the 3.2 million annual paycheck when the poor and destitute Sporeans are living a hard existence.
In a democracy, chosen by the people, a new government controls all aspect of live and the citizens. LKY is instlling fear to the ignorant about the police, the army and civil service etc will not be controlled by the elected opposition in his term of ‘freak’ election. LKY is testing the intelligence of Sporeans. He is such an old fool now.
Please we beg you, exit gracefully and live your reminiscences of your glory days
with your grand children and maybe with better karma, you can see your great grand children like my mother now at 93 years old. Poor but happy and a good heart. My mother will attain enlightment not you.
maybe the police, army & civil service will vote the pappies out, who knows?
When a political party remained in power for a long time as in the case of PAP since 1959, it is difficult for them to contemplate defeat and out of power. It seemed that they had owned us and the country. Our country had lack checks and balances since independence when the Barisan socialist party was destroyed, all its founders were put in prison under ISA. We were all spectators and none of us fight to keep the opposition. We took in everything we were told. There were communist and out to destroy Singapore. When PAP suceeded in destroying the opposition they also made sure that there was none to replace it. They literally do what they want as there was no one to ask question and challenge any unpopular policies. Generally, the majority population stayed out of politic, more interested in making money and bringing in food for the family. A few brave souls that did, spent many years in prison and we Singaporean did nothing about it. Partly, we lack a figure head to organise any protest. There was a total lack of interest in politic and PAP was left to do what they like regardless. The issue that got Singaporean interested was the wages paid to ministers when it was first announced. But when it went ahead, the issue die down soon after. There was no fellow up as the was no one to organise and keep the issue in the public mind. PAP total control of the media had a big role in creating public apathy toward issue of importance to the country. PAP had discouraged open debates on most issues. Importing large number of FT/FW is anther example. Changes to CPF rules is another issue that had a great impact on Singaporean.It was implemented with no consultation, regardless of the social impact it had on the citizens. A totalitarian form of government is in fact what we have for many years. We must wake up and do what is necessary to restore democracy in our country.
When a political party remained in power for a long time as in the case of PAP since 1959, it is difficult for them to contemplate defeat and out of power. It seemed that they had owned us and the country. Our country had lack checks and balances since independence when the Barisan socialist party was destroyed, all its founders were put in prison under ISA. We were all spectators and none of us fight to keep the opposition. We took in everything we were told. There were communist and out to destroy Singapore. When PAP suceeded in destroying the opposition they also made sure that there was none to replace it. They literally do what they want as there was no one to ask question and challenge any unpopular policies. Generally, the majority population stayed out of politic, more interested in making money and bringing in food for the family. A few brave souls that did, spent many years in prison and we Singaporean did nothing about it. Partly, we lack a figure head to organise any protest. There was a total lack of interest in politic and PAP was left to do what they like regardless. The issue that got Singaporean interested was the wages paid to ministers when it was first announced. But when it went ahead, the issue die down soon after. There was no fellow up as the was no one to organise and keep the issue in the public mind. PAP total control of the media had a big role in creating public apathy toward issue of importance to the country. PAP had discouraged open debates on most issues. Importing large number of FT/FW is anther example. Changes to CPF rules is another issue that had a great impact on Singaporean.It was implemented with no consultation, regardless of the social impact it had on the citizens. A totalitarian form of government is in fact what we have for many years. We must wake up and do what is necessary to restore democracy in our country
The early founders and contributors to PAP were Dr Toh Chin Chye, Dr Goh Keng Swee, Lim Chin Siong, Devan Nair, S Rajaratnam and Lim Kim San and many more. Sadly all the early co-founders were written out of Singapore history. The name all Singaporean know is LKY.It just goes to show what type of person he is.He took all the glory when in the 80s he persuaded all the old guards to step down to make room for the younger generation but he remained to this day. To top it all, he dominated his son to lead PAP – the birth of the Lee Dynasty?How many of our younger generation is familiar with the names of the early leaders?
Do any one out there know whether the children of the first generation leader is in the present government?
“Sadly all the early co-founders were written out of Singapore history.”
Worry not. Very sure many will remember LKY just like they remember Hilter. History will never allow blind eyes to dictatorship, tyranny and oppression.
“The truth, as Mr Seow recounts in his book To Catch A Tartar, was that he had been in discussion with PAP stalwarts Mr Devan Nair (former president) and Dr Toh Chin Chye (former deputy prime minister), who had grown disillusioned with the party they had helped found, to enable the former solicitor-general to take part in the 1988 general elections as an opposition candidate.”
http://yoursdp.org/index.php/news/singapore/2791-seelan-palay-submits-francis-seow-video-for-rating
This means that even founders of original PAP have agreed that old fart and his leegime went too far oppressing the people that they help Francis Seow to setup opp party to bring the PAP back to earth. So if we want to pay respect and homage to all founders of PAP (except for the old fart who create his version of greedy PAP known as New PAP ) , we should boot out the New PAP out in next election.
If the Dear Leader goes, the PAP goes with him. So it’s all dependent on how long more he is around. If he sees himself living to 96 then maybe PAP will win the next two elections. Once his other half goes, it will take a heavy toll on him. It appears his lifelong partner may not live longer than him.
maybe the old man will see PAP fall in front of him, den kick bucket (cannot tahan?)? lol…
The implications of MM LKY of the scenario of a opposition,’s victory in future elections amount to nothing but absolute blackmail of the hardworking citizens that they would not be able to enjoy their fruits of their labour i.e. their cpf savings. Mind you, the present govt. by their rules and constant changing policies have no intentions of doing so anyway. So what have u guys got to lose, pray tell me. Stop living in cuckoo land guys and wake up to the years of deceit and broken promises and vote with your conscience
Singaporeans i am sad to see we are all in Jurrasic park…..
Very soon FT will dominate you and will earn triple the salary then you although they do the same job as yours.PR will come in with fake degress and will drive posh cars leaving you to take MRT and BUS.
This is already wht is happening…Singapore becomes a landing platform for eurpoean countries.since most of the singaporeans see europeans as a higher cast and seems to bend down whenever they talk.its no point complaining because we fail to stand united.there are many races in singapore someway or the other the chinese look down on the malays and the malays on the indians and so on when a gap is form foreigners take this a chance to penetrate inside.
if you dont see the sitaution in a birds eye view you will forever keep complaning.
A true example that is happening right in front of me…..
A comes to Singapore fm India in the hope to make a living….having life hard finding a job he starts from executive job than goes up to manager than senior manager.
Now senior manager A have a chance to select candidates tell me who will he select singaporean or someone from India
To Him since he came from a hard life in india he will give a priority to the one coming form India or China as singaporean can always find job elsewhere
Now you see the chain reaction and the bottleneck our goverment have put us in.
then it goes on…..do you want to see our granfather working in macdonalds whereas these idiots granfather sit in some faraway land getting money thru western union.
Wake up !!
I think the concern is whether opposition can even field enough people to fight all the seats. I want to vote. No more walkover.. 2 elections already… surely not the 3rd time round..