Wednesday, September 30, 2009 2:14
Reform Party man wanted by US
In Main Stories • 3,837 views • 142 Comments
Straits Times
29 September 2009. By Elena Chong.
Former Reform Party committee member Balraj Naidu made a brief court appearance on Tuesday for an extradition hearing which was adjourned until next Monday.
The businessman was arrested at his home last week and brought to court on a warrant of arrest.
He is wanted by the US Government on two terrorism-related charges and brokering an arms deal with the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Ellam (LTTE) .
No charge has been laid against him.
The request for his extradition was made around the middle of the year.
Family members of Mr Naidu were in court with his lawyer, who declined comment.
Source: Straits Times
Press Statement by the Reform Party
The Reform Party
18A Smith Street Singapore 058932 Tel: 6534 9641
30 September 2009.
This US extradition request came as a complete surprise to me. I have just now spoken to Mr Naidu’s lawyer and understand that the request relates to matters that are alleged to have occurred back in 2006. It therefore pre-dates the Reform Party and so The Reform Party has no knowledge of the case.
Mr Naidu had already stepped down from the CEC before this case came to light although he is still a member of The Party.
Our concern now is for his family and we are in discussions with his lawyer as to how we can best assist them through this difficult time and with finding legal representation in the U.S. should the extradition request proceed. Meanwhile, we note that this is an ongoing judicial process and I understand that it is in the very early stages and therefore any further comment on our part would be pure speculation and maybe prejudicial to him.
Regards,
Kenneth Jeyaretnam
SG. The Reform Party
142 Comments
blackfeline
portforlioqueen
whoa! dirty trick department @ worked again…
wanted by the us government for sellin arms to the tamil tigers………
singapore legal government not sellin arms to myammer?
2 laws..2 meanins… 1 is called legal businesses for profit$
the other kachangputeh merchant is charged for sellin equipment thats is lethal to a humane being……
Anonymous
How about Edmond Ng, the Reform Party chairman, who didn’t show up for his party’s 1st anniversary dinner?
Richard Tan
This show that The Reform Party is a threat to PAP, that why all this things come surface on the state media.
This is the standard dirty trick that PAP use to crush the opposition party that have influrence to the nations, don’t tell me PAP are very clean. How about Scott 28 issue?
Good works, Kenneth Jeyaretnam, keep it up.
Band on the run
See what I mean?
You got to be cleaner than clean when you want to do politics in S’pore. No skeletons in the closet because the media vultures will sneak it out in the public domain. You know damn well you are playing offence in the enemy’s endzone, so you gotta up the ante!
Another noble but ultimately foolhardy attempt.
JW
There are, indeed, many surprises in politics.
Looks like the PAP is afraid of the RP as they might lose a couple of GRCs in the coming election.
We know that PAP can’t debate one-on-one, many of the MPs would really know the their standard. The PAP has to depend on the GRC system or throwing mud pies at their opponents to get into parliament.
Jon
Looking at the Oppo’s ’skeletons’, I wonder what kind of skeletons are in the PAP’s 50 year-old closet. Anyone wants to have a look? Would the self-righteous Straits Times kindly take a peek, and report back? :)
Ah Long Kia
Once u got a dot of black ink on your shirt, the ruling party will try to rub and make the black mark spread even bigger. My adv to the opp parties, make sure your members hv no illegal issues for the ruling party to pin u down.
Terrified
Election might be around the corner. I hope RP reports the development of their members and if possible suspend any members, under investigations, from participating in the coming election to avoid dragging down the whole party or even other alternative parties. We know how clever and treaky the situation can be especially when PAP are good in “Fixing” such news. We do not want PAP to tap on any RP unfavourable situations and buy votes again. Singaporeans must not be fooled and betrayed by PAP on every election. This coming election will be Singaporeans judgement day and either PAP lose or two-party system is borned. There will be no other option for PAP. If PAP win like the previous round, than Singaporeans should have no hope to continue living in this little dot, life will be meaningless, the average will become poor, the poor will suffer even more before they die. That is pap agenda for the people.
porsche997
1) blackfeline..
what backbone you’re talking about? the party is trying to help him get legal representation in US and help his family in S’pore.
what about you? what are you doing except shooting your big mouth off. check your facts, use your brain before you open your big mouth.
OnlineShmonline
Cleaner than clean in politics? I don’t think so. All you need is a system that covers up your mistakes or your bosses saying, “It was an honest mistake”. After all, like they say in the SAF – you can do anything as long as you don’t get caught. :)
I’m just wondering why this extradition is only coming through now? I guess the PAP are scared of the RP and are looking at all ways of discrediting them short of slander (which usually only takes place just before the election so that you can’t sue them in time and get publicity from that)…it’s all a fine art, practiced and almost perfected by the incumbents…now THAT is a business model they can export to other governments seeking to stay in power.
TimeForChange
“He is wanted by the US Government on two terrorism-related charges and brokering an arms deal with the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Ellam (LTTE) .
No charge has been laid against him.”
This is odd.. “Wanted…on two…charges”, “No charge has been laid against him”.
Contradiction, no?
andrew leung
http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC090930-0000089/Sporean-man-faces-extradition
Police said it was related to Mr Balraj “engaging in a conspiracy to provide material support to a foreign terrorist organisation and possession of a firearm in furtherance of a crime of violence”.
The press statement issued by the Reform party did not address the public’s concern about the party. It has to restore a level of confidence in its continued efforts to fight for the people’s rights. And to disclose some of its future plans and activities.
jerminho
I find it very sad that the Straits Times Choose to publish this on JBJs first death anniversary.
That’s just low…
ZL
There are quite a number of molesters within PAP and it’s reported on the 154th, too.
Terrorist? Kindly name a country which beside China, provides arms to Burma govt who abuse its people.
After this saga, i’ve more respect to KJ for the way he handled this case who don’t quickly wash hand and distant themselves with the “terrorist”, instead, assist his family and even find legal representation in the US. I know a opp party’s leader who had terminated several of his members after the GE06 who worked in the town council and replaced them by his love pets’ families members.
Only when the Fat lady sings
Looks like they can find out anyone’s background?
And they started the thingie so soon?
Is it coming?
Game over?
TimeForChange
Also, it seems strange that whenever an opposition member is portrayed in a negative light, it is always “Reform Party Man”, or “former Worker’s Party”. But when the ruling party is involved in some scandal, the party name is omitted, like when MP Seng Han Thong got burnt, news just says “MP” or “Singapore MP”. Either they are trying to hide the fact when they are in an ugly situation and like to spread it around when it’s their opponents, or they think they own Singapore and therefore no need to indicate that they are merely one of the many parties here.
Only when the Fat lady sings
I sense that more may be migrating soon.
wow, CPF so many zeroes.!
BilaLila
Phey Yew Kok, a stalwart of the PAP was not only charged with corruption but fled the country using money collected by his “bootlickers.”
No attempts have ever been seriously made to find him or bring him to justice.
I think 30 or even more years have passed.My memory fails me here.
Yet the Straits Times has never ever asked what happened to him.
What a joke.
JustBeCareful
KJ mentioned that the RP has credible members joining the party. We can be 100% sure by now PAP would have the profile of all the RP members and digging up their family trees with the help of the government “KGB”.
So I think it may be good for KJ to introduce them to the public now instead of waiting until the GE.
New Era
I don’t bother with all this BS. All I need to know from Kenneth is whether he will kick out these pesky foreigners and give us back our jobs.
Worst case of ignorance defence if i ever heard one.
Chua Sai Hoong aka Ah Mui
#18, did you mean this ex-PAP MP called Phey Yew Kok mentioned in this blog :
http://swordofdemocles.blogspot.com/2005/09/real-rogues-gallery.html
?
Gerrymandering PAP
The Fix has started.
This is typical PAP/ KGB MSM press work.Why did they not clarify with the Reform Party before releasing this information.I think the guy has not even been charged.So is he already guilty by Singapore standards or by the MSM?
What if he turns out to be innocent and all this is a SABO FIX job by you know who.Then as usual there will be no apologies and have to fight out another NKF case.Then more skeletons will come out.
Please lah MSM and TOC, there is more dirt in the PAP that they nicely wash and scrub away all these years.
The Reform Party Sec Gen at least is giving the man legal representation over here and in the US.That shows that he cares for his members despite being detained without any charges.This is so obviously timely for a general election to be called.
And knowing MSM, they will play the Reform Party Terrorist tune.Go and look at the Anniversary TOC dinner comments.There was one commenter who already knew somehitng was up.So there are already people in the MSM or PAP camp who are putting this out timely.
The Sec Gen is also helping out the family,finances and everything.And not distancing himself.And anyway, this all happened in 2006.If I am not wrong the Reform Party got inaugurated in 2008.
And the PAP and the MSM know that Singaporeans only read headlines and not fineprint.That is why the FIX the Reform Party now. FIX the party and omit details typical PAP and MSM rubbish reporting style.
We don’t call the PAP Gerrymanders for nothing.
Sabo King
This is the new modus operandi of the MSM and PAP.
Dig out everything and let their own stooges roam free.
Which is a bigger crime? Letting Mas Selamat go and losing billions of dollars or this getting detained or extradited without any charges.So all speculation or can be talk cock.
Does the PAP fear RP that much?
Anonymous
In all your enthusiasm for more opposition MPs, you lost the common sense and objectivity.
How can a case involving the US government be a PAP conspiracy?
As for the RP infatuation, there’s only one KJ who fortunately inherits his father’s good name. That’s all. And he has yet shown much political tenacity other than a few articles and speeches.
Just take a look at the standard from the video of RP dinner, and tell me this is really a party competent enough to withstand the critical analysis and scrutiny?
The real problem will only start when many of this kind of opposition are voted into the parliament.
Enough said.
Do U wants any more trouble- Ape-Man.
Get up from that seat and behave yourself.
Friends from London.
XiiAoGeNgEnX
23) Gerrymandering PAP on September 30th, 2009 11.07 am
I quote “This is typical PAP/ KGB MSM press work.Why did they not clarify with the Reform Party before releasing this information.I think the guy has not even been charged.So is he already guilty by Singapore standards or by the MSM?”
The ST did take into account KJ’s press release and include it in the article. What KJ said in the abovestated TOC article was also reflected in the ST article. I think that’s pretty partial and objective of them.
Daniel
Haha,
either you trust KJ or you not. I have no doubt that KJ remains as credible and trustworthy compare to the nonsensical senile old fart. What is worse ? A old fart and his dynasty working with junta selling weapons and money laundering which USA investigate or a innocent man with a party-member which happen to get investigate by USA ?
Conspiracy of nonsense of USA with PAP is nothing new if you read the international flip-flop news . Look like dumping of reckless money into USA do help. Pappy, please dump more money into USA so that USA will return you flavour by generating more nonsense. People are just sick of your nonsense.
New Era
It is not going to work this time. Singaporeans are losing jobs to foreigners and the authority wants to bring in another two million foreigners. If success means foreigners getting jobs here and locals struggling to put food on the table for their children, then I will vote for change.
Notice how foreigners chose not to live in opposition wards. I hope the opposition will contest my GRC and win. At least these pesky foreigners will not be living in my neighbourhood.
New Era
Listen folks. It is not going to work this time. Change is coming. Embrace it. A new era will soon be upon us. The motto of the coming elections will be ‘Singapore for Singaporeans.’ Forget all the other distractions and BS.
Mee Siam Mai Hum (100% original S'pore)
>>The Fix has started
Without skill like Tony, i can also anticipate this
New Era
Anonymous on September 30th, 2009 11.25 am
Have you not read my previous post. Singaporeans want change.
What has success brought to Singaporeans? I’ll tell you what: Jobs for foreigners and retrenchments for locals. Enough of such so call success. What we need desperately now is change. Any change from the present course the government is taking will be good. Flooding this country with cheap foreign imports is not the answer. It is the cause of more problems.
As for me, I don’t care whether the opposition is very capable or not. I will even vote for a bunch of moneys if they will promise to kick out these pesky foreigners who are stealing our jobs.
btan
Our vision has to be be clear and our target has to be fixed.
That target is the voting in of opposition members in the next general election, with enough numbers (more than 35% of parliamentary seats) to deny PAP to do whatever they please, like losing billions of our investment dollars and opening the doors wide to foreigners.
All these dirty tricks employed by PAP is nothing new.
RP is probably going to get their baptism of fire. It will prevail as long as we the supporters prevail.
PAP has did to JBJ’s former party and now they are doing it to his present party.
You can read all the trials and tribulations faced by WP here and see if you can recognise all the dirty tricks they faced by the PAP.
btan
PAP, in trying to point at other parties, conveniently forgot their CORRUPT minister Teh Cheng Wan, who is corrupted and have done heaven knows how much damage and escape conviction by committing suicide.
Poor choice by PAP? Our people suffer. Can’t do anything.
Poor choice by opposition? No harm done to the people at all since they are not voted in with sufficient numbers.
Poor performing opposition candidate? Easily removed by us the voters.
Poor performing PAP candidate? [remember Mas Selamat? Temasek Holdings? Rising HDB prices?] Nothing we can do. And we continue to suffer while they draw million dollars pay.
Do not be confused. The choice is clear.
New Renaissance
As much as the PAP leaders are far from saints, it makes no sense to accuse them of impelling the US Government to arrest an opposition leader:
(1) For goodness sake, it is the American Government; do you think the White House is going to let a foreign government dictate to them what to do?
(2) Handling opposition is considered “domestic affairs” by our government. Having the USA arrest opposition members for them would be “foreign interference in domestic affairs”, which the PAP would certainly not allow.
(3) Even KJ himself did not make such a suggestion.
Seriously, you people here just give RADM Lui more fodder to attack the barbarism of online posters, rather than help the RP or Mr Naidu’s family.
anonymous at 11.25am
Anony at 11.25 am:
”Just take a look at the standard from the video of RP dinner, and tell me this is really a party competent enough to withstand the critical analysis and scrutiny?”
The video was produced by the Sec Gen’s son who is like 12 years old.What do you expect? James CAmeron graphics?
Already the PAP internet brigade is discrediting the video shot by a young child and takes it as the PAP standard.
The Grrymander PAP guy is right.this is how they FIX.
The PAP FIXING has started just when a new party rises.PAP is scared that SIngaporeans are seeing the light.
BBC
Couple of days back I overheard comments made by BBC radio. He said that when a political party have been in power for too long and people are getting tired of them, whatever that political party said or do, citizens will not believe and buy them anymore. Hence, I hope this is happening to PAP. Look at Japan’s recent election, it has proven the case. Let’s hope some setback are done to PAP in this coming election. Justification shall prevail.
PaPfartUp
Now is the time for PAP to pay.
KJ should go and learn more from Dr chee. Dr chee is the hope of singapore, the no 1 democracy figure in singapore. The only threat to current PAP’s ruling status. I don’t see any hope in other parties like WP or chiam’s party.
Dr chee should be able to give some lessons to KJ.
mike
electorate have come to realise and mature to understand politics esp in sg nowaday and thing had changed. though not majority of us can change but i believe its quite a sgnificant can be a impact when next election comes.
my sentiment is – it will as i had gone through about 5 times of election process.
Ah—-Ah——-Ah—-still so many goodu support this Ape-Man.
The next bomd is waiting. Wait and see.
Edmund Ng
Today is JBJ Anniversary.
The Devil has appear again.
Trying to smell JBJ lagacy.
The Most Devilish person in History. not only harm JBJ, but also to his own comrade Ong Teng Cheong, they chose a First Day of Chinese Nw Year to creamated him, just to humilate the Dead.
The Devil is good in Bullying the opposition, cheat the old citizen, in thier CPF or Minibond, Murder the Innocent & Defendless Fetus (Policy Stop At Two)
where 1/2 million of innocent life been murderby his policy.
RP old Guard is a threat to this Devil. Is not the present Idiot.
They know the “Art to Due with his Dictator” That’s why a cover-agent has been sent in. Making Real like Fake, Fake like Real.
For whose who insist to support K—–Ape-Man made it real to other opposition.
When Election time, Firmly Be a Desicive Person.
The Devil must be “NaiL”
BilaLila
#23 Yes, that was the Phey Yew Kok I referred to. He had earlier in court accused Tan Wah Piow of rioting in his office in Jurong. You can read this and more in a book I intend to publish in the near future. ” Men in White with Black Hearts.”
Sick of it
Whats new? Before every election, they will come up with such news… Last time around is gomez…
At 42) Great I support U. Instead 2 Buy LKY Memoir
Write something “Men In White with Black Heart Wearing Black Under Wear”.
No worries sure 2 be sold.
Lets not forget
Yes, the media is so fast to act on such things as long as its about the opposition. The PAP too had bad hats, the most famous was a Minister Teh who swindled the people’s money and took bribes. Is he mentioned ever again. Not even in the new men in white book. At least none of the opposition had a bigger crook than Teh and that honour still belongs to the PAP. Lets not forget that. Anyone remeber any other famous crooks from PAP
Gina
Innocent until proven guilty!
At 45) Lets not forget.
Not only this, Top Man son desperate drink & drive into the drain escort to I–s-t-a-n–a. Sink-Toi playboy modest office girl cover up.
Do U wants some more news look up for “Political Salesman” comment
freaking blinded
So, if I am reading this right. The consensus of this thread is that the PAP got the US government to seek the extradition of a Balraj Naidu. And all this was coordinated to coincide with the anniversary of JBJ’s death.
The act of supplying arms to Tamil Tigers is actually not a crime. And he definitely would not have been punished if he wasn’t a member of the Reform Party. Ok, got it.
Thanks for the insight. I would ahve never got all this from MSM.
XiiAoGeNgEnX
46) freaking blinded on September 30th, 2009 8.34 pm
YES YOU ARE RIGHT! We have all been blinded by those MSM dogs of the PAP!
It’s all the PLOT by the PAP to get rid of the Reform Party. They bribed the CIA and FBI into FABRICATING evidence to SABOTAGE the noble Reform Party. And they MADE SURE the US Embassy only issued the extradition treaty just before JBJ’s death anniversary.
Let the truth of the internet shine light into the darkness!
Moe Gan Thai
Wah ! fixing the opposition has started so soon. Mee Siam My Hum is very free now. I am sure KJ can capture at least a GRC as he has economics background and he can give a good debate in parliament. Cheers to RP, pap starts to worry now. They can’t afford to lose even a seat.
Stop the Fixing
Wah…so fast fix already.Looks like GE within this year as can see all the PAP Grassroots going all out.Look at Georgie Yeo’s facebook page.
They start with the newest party as they know KJ got strong GRC team to take them on.But dunno where?
Please lah Gerrymander until so siow, pay the supporters and as usual Fix the opponents.
The PAP very ungentlemanly one.No wunder all policies and leaders of PAP no quality.
To Freaking blinded
Thanks for your summary.
I think so too.Can’t believe they are that desperate to hide whatever is behind in their closets.Must be 50 years of cobwebs.Remember President Ong Teng Chiong?
I think it will take another 500 years to clear those PAP skeletons in all those dusty closets.
I say vote them all out.I thought take 1 GRC enough.I say Oppo go all out.Field anybody also guarantee more than 45-55% at this rate.
All my school friends at university are annoyed.They even tried to censor our questions to the minister.
Can these guys run our country or arentey ready to hand over to the foreigner?
tiredsingaporean
RP is now becoming the biggest threat to the papees now so they (MIW) will make every effort to check on each and every background on all the RP candidates and shoot them down as many as possible. On the other hand, the RP are not allow to check on any of their papees MPs as the ole man has alerady made it a law as illegal to check on any of themselves, so how to track them down? unless the law is meant to everyone and not just to those MIW then you will see very much more dirty people being exposed. Real dirty politics . . . . tsk tsk tsk. Vote pap more and you people can seal the fate of your children.
tom
It has once again proved MSM is the mouth piece for PAP.
MSM should also check out what happen to MM Lee’s wife, M-I-A for ages.
This month September, MSM did not even publish MM Lee birthday cos his wife is not there but instead he went for overseas trip at the expense of the tax payers.
Don’t keep ponking on opposition parties, MSM.
What goes around comes around. Ultimately, PAP will pay the price.
Daniel
Yes, more fix on opp parties is coming their way. However, the more they fix, the more the things become broken. The more they buy supporter’s vote, the more their supporters grow tired of them knowing that the clowns are just “wolf in sheep’s clothing. Wolf pretending to be sheep as bait to attract more sheeps before group attack.”.
So we must be steadfast in our faith for opp parties and not sway by those nonsenses of the PIG (PAP Internet Garbage).
30 years
Comment No.19—-you are right–ST should do an article on the Phey fellow.
30 years later and still no idea where he is!!!!.
But being no.154 they probably will not.
blackfeline
Read the first para – ‘ This US extradition request came as a complete surprise to me. I have just now spoken to Mr Naidu’s lawyer and understand that the request relates to matters that are alleged to have occurred back in 2006. It therefore pre-dates the Reform Party and so The Reform Party has no knowledge of the case.’
You can do better than to start with a disclaimer in your first public statement on your own member. Least you could do is to stand by your man. LTK would never do this to WP members. RP is just fixing themselves up.
Daniel
blackfeline,
but then what will you say in KJ’s shoe since our “dear” government will surely use the excuse and media to discredit the RP big time by claiming that opp party is putting danger to the nation by harbouring and defending suspected terrorist (though the member may not one) while the USA is performing investigation. Perception is reality, and I very sure that the gov will spare no effort to use this opportunity to eradicate RP by using the Terrorist boogeyman again, and forbid even KJ from even stepping into politics. In other hands, the bird is killed before it can even fly. Since this case is critical, won’t that make sense to make a statement to do some damage control to avoid implication on the party itself while the investigation is still pending on the member ?
Yes, you can say that Low generally will not do that but when it comes to terrorist matter under USA investigation, who can say for sure especially if the investigators claim that they have more info on the case. I don’t think this is a matter of protecting members at all cost but more about doing the right thing to uncover the truth while investigation is pending.
Daniel
blackfeline,
at least KJ did not say “This was a lapse, what to do, it’s happened.”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EDSDdKFpRQc
Human Being
Since after 911, US has been hotly pursuing anyone remotely suspected for terrorism and there had been innocent victims jailed and tortured at Guantanamo and vindicated years later because they were truly innocent. This is a real case that happened to some men in the UK who went there for holidays.
If (I really mean IF) the govt of Spore were to inform the US something to the effect of a suspected terrorist in our country who is plotting something in the US, do you think the US will not be interested? They don’t take any chances. Sorry but I find it too cynical that a suspected terrorist is found from the up and coming RP, at the critical time of nearing election, by a foreign country like US. This time the PAPs know that the wayang has got to have a limit. If the SG govt wanted the opp man for terrorism charges, the penny would be dropped.
I am sharing this because I hate to see innocent people going to jail, the whole family suffers too, think of the children and parents, and all for some elites to stay in power to enrich themselves. Its wrong, wrong, wrong!
One more thing, why do you think the ST is so bold to claim that he is wanted for the CHARGES when he is not even charged yet? Its because they (the Govt) already knows that the pooe man cannot escape. They WILL INCRIMINATE him with some form of evidence supplied by ISA or the police or even the high court judge of Spore. It is sooo easy for the PAPs to do it because everything is under their control.
Human Being
Like someone says it is called PAP smear but of a different kind!
leesjuanpat
When I mentioned in ‘the show of Unity ‘ for the opposition, one of my sentence was to beware of PAP/KGB tactics. Here it happens again without fail to the opposition.
Shit Times is quick to draw the gun on Reform Party and publicised the issue for everyone to know. Need we say more.
PAP really hit below the belt. Yes! everytime a new opposition candidate or party is of some potential, something has to happen. It is sad that Kenneth did not check his members a little more carefully to play into the hands of the gangster tactics of PAP.
Always the smear mechanism.
This incident will not affect our strong perception of the new Reform Party. As when PAP smeared James Gomez in the last election, calling him a liar, but Worker’s Party
secured 44% vote from Aljunied GRC under Sylvia Lim. We have the greatest belief that Aljunied GRC can be taken over by the opposition without PAP using underhand means to change the boundary of the ward, time and again before the election.
Let us cast our right vote for more opposition into parliament to stop PAP’s obsolute
rule. 50 years is enough, enough, enough. Anywhere, all the ministers have made
millions from the poor citizens of Singapore.
Discern
The Godfather (PAPa) has done it again! When the West was going after Communism, 21 yrs ago, some students were rounded up as plotting Communism and Tan Wah Piow was exiled.
Now the West is hot on their heels after Terrorists, look what trouble the opp guy got into? Terrorist charges! Why not round up some socialist opp people (lotsa them) and charge them with plotting Communism? Because he knows it is not the ‘in thing’.
BTW Tan Wah Piow is a now a leading human rights lawyer in London. Was he dangerous? You decide.
Discern
The ‘West’ should be replaced by the ‘West’ followed by the World’ in my above post.
blackfeline
Lets not miss the point. It is not about what is the truth or whether PAP is the mafia behind this is besides the point. It is the way it has been handled. It is just disappointing and disheartening to see a leader taking a position to distance himself from his very own member. Will this kind of leader ever step up for his member when it comes to the crunch during election and other situation like a smear campaign. I am not going to war with such a leader knowing there is no one behind or beside me on the frontline. It is simply scary and uncertain to know he will play you out and just think for himself. Once thought this was some hope, I can see that it would turn out to be another self-driven, self-centric leadership. What hope is there ?
blackfeline
KJ did the right thing…we are behind u 100% ! Do not be distracted . We have hope in u and your team!
blackfeline
i say…there’s more than one way to skin a “copycat”…hit it hard with a baseball bat from behind…
gemami
Like someone already said; selling arms to the Burmese Junta is oh so legal while dabbling in the same business with the Tamil Tigers is not. May I also add that the Burmese junta is still very much well, alive and kicking while the Tamil Tigers had its head blown off recently. So who poses the more danger; or rather; who continues to pose a danger?
This brings to mind another issue: that of ‘Communism’. Chia Thye Poh is still very much considered a communist threat, while opening the National doors to communist dwellers from China, Vietnam, Russia etc does not pose any security threat to Singapore.
Either this stupid government still thinks Singaporeans are in deep slumber, or it thinks we are as stupid as them.
As for the msm; there is no doubt they think Singaporeans are stupid, that’s why they continue to feed us these sort of slanted news and treating us like the stupid people they think we are.
Are we going to prove them right or are we going to do something about it? This sort of news can only mean one thing – election time is here!
And you know what? Even if there is a bunch of new Singapore citizens who are as Chinese and as Communist as they are, I will still vote for them. Like I have said so earlier, this election is not about which alternative we want in parliament, but about what we want to tell this government.
Our vote is our last chance, and it now remains the only way we can talk to this government. They have become so deaf that they can only hear themselves speaking; so blind that they can only see themselves patting each other’s backs; and so unfeeling that they continue to cloister themselves in their own aircon rooms while on the outside, the community burns and weeps.
The truth is “He is wanted by the US Government on two terrorism-related charges and brokering an arms deal with the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Ellam (LTTE) .”
Can anybody ask WHY US Government choose him and not PAP MP????
gj
There are alot of people in Guantanomo arrested for terrorrism by the US but still not charged and convicted.
commentator
7) Jon on September 30th, 2009 9.30 am – Looking at the Oppo’s ’skeletons’, I wonder what kind of skeletons are in the PAP’s 50 year-old closet. Anyone wants to have a look? Would the self-righteous Straits Times kindly take a peek, and report back?
If the PAP dare to declare in the Straits Times that “we have no skeletons in our closet at all – please prove us wrong if you can”, they will get my vote in the next election.
portfolioQUEEEN
[i]Daniel on October 1st, 2009 12.56 am blackfeline,
but then what will you say in KJ’s shoe since our “dear” government will surely use the excuse and media to discredit the RP big time by claiming that opp party is putting danger to the nation by harbouring and defending suspected terrorist (though the member may not one) while the USA is performing investigation.[/i]
ahmad matter the former mp from aljunied or whatever was also investigated by united nation for undertable milk distributions so to speak
do our 154th media published any of that?
united nation case whoa! somewhere representin the singapore government in that capacity…
so who is worst?
this kachangputech minature buisneeman or a united nation member officiate and actin on behalf in the name of singapore?
portfolioQUEEEN
[i]blackfeline on October 1st, 2009 7.16 am Lets not miss the point. It is not about what is the truth or whether PAP is the mafia behind this is besides the point. It is the way it has been handled. It is just disappointing and disheartening to see a leader taking a position to distance himself from his very own member.[/i]
well said indeed
i give you a standin ovation CLAP CLAP CLAP….
now regardin the ahmad matter united nation case…
what is the leader and singapore government goin to do about it?
sweepin under the carpet again?
patriot
Wonder if there are/were people who help to market United States made arms(weapons) and got wanted by the US Authority.
Helped them(American Arms Makers) make money and became wanted by US Authority for felony, jokers.
patriot
Daniel
No worry, whatever happen here is pale in comparison to the PAP Party. The PAP gov is constantly monitor by the USA over the weapon sale to Junta and money-laundering. The stupid thing that the gov will do is to blow up the issue using ShittyTimes and the whole matter backfire.
So I doubt the old fart is stupid enough to character-assassinate RP publicly.
Realist
51 comments on the Temasek article and 74 comments on the RP issue. I guess the timing was exactly right to divert attention from Temasek to the opposition.Going by the reaction in TOC, it must be spot on. Come on, look at the critical issues. Its a extradiction request and not a guilty verdict. Do not fall prey to such divertionary tactics.
The SS
Headline : Reform party member…………..
First liine : Former Reform party……………
If it were some other party it would probaly read differently?
Tsk tsk tsk…. case of bad reporting or 154th?
Moe Gan Thai
It backfires.Now RP becomes in the news and it is more popular now. Hope RP can contest against Mah Boh Tan. This guy said Hdb flats are affordable. !!! Ya true affordable to loan 30 or more years. After 30 years, Cpf is zero, it is your own funeral. Don’t go and seek help from our backdoor MPs.
Ui
If you want to know the TRUTH about Reform Party just ask Ng Teck Siong, ex-chairman who was bullied and ousted from the party.
Harrison
Chua Sai Hoong aka Ah Mui on September 30th, 2009 10.58 am
Thanks very much for sharing this link. This is a precious weapon for slaughtering the superficial PAP integrity.
At 79) Ui.
No worries there are plentyful of time to watch this wayang.
This Ape-man have step on a land-mines.
He must learn a lot of lesson.
The times is not ripe yet.
We’re waiting to see how he’s going to build this Party!
Friend From London.
lobo76
64) blackfeline on October 1st, 2009 7.16 am
Lets not miss the point. It is not about what is the truth or whether PAP is the mafia behind this is besides the point. It is the way it has been handled.
You are correct. It IS about the way it has been handled. Just that ‘it’ should be referring to ST.
1. With any negative news that is related to an opposition member, ST will without fail, features the person’s affiliation to the said opposition party. This was the case even when it was a family affair when the opposition member himself is not directly involved.
2. The title say “Reform Party man”, and then in the text, then it adds ‘FORMER Reform Party man. If it is former, why not also highlight in the title?
3. We are now in the third quarter of the year, and the request was made in the MIDDLE of the year. Why the delay? Is something (e.g election) happening soon?
Passerby
I think we should stop talking about this immediately. This is their strategy. To break group dynamic or potential group dynamic that is being developed. The more you harp on it, the more discontent you become.
FRAMING to NORMING to PERFORMING
FRAMING – They Create a situation for you i.e issue
NORMING – You guys discuss, talk and biker about it and it becomes the norm
PERFORMING – VOILA! after a while you actually believe it or create doubt among you
If you don’t stop now, nothing positive will come out of it.
gemami
Good advise, Passerby.
- THE END -
NB
Passerby, this is not an opposition website, this is a news website so I don’t think anyone should dictate whether or not we should refrain from discussing or criticizing RP.
freaking blinded
sigh, sarcasm is lost on this lot
Much to do about nothing
78) Ui on October 1st, 2009 1.35 pm
“If you want to know the TRUTH about Reform Party just ask Ng Teck Siong, ex-chairman who was bullied and ousted from the party.”
- If you want to know the TRUTH about PAP, just ask our former president Mr Ong Teng Cheong, ex-PAP man, who was for the people, supported by the people. Unfortunately, you need a medium!
- In both cases, until we hear both sides of the story, we should not be judge & jury.
blackfeline
Whatever it is, cant stop my disappointment. Maybe i had high hopes. But for a new party and a new leader, i really would have expected him to tell the press that wait, it is under investigation, and we will stand by our member through this period. Why distance himself even before the member even got convicted ? This is one leader just thinking for himself. JBJ would probably have fought his way and protected his man, like a good fighter he was. Cant say the same about this guy now. As a hedge fund manager, you can make the kiling at all cost. This is not about yourself and money. it is about people !
Agent008
This ST report conveniently omitted to mention how the US first knew about this man. What had he done? Surely this would be the first question a journalist would ask, not which party aliance, where is he arrested etc.
“Working with our U.S. Government counterterrorism team, S/CT takes a leading role in developing coordinated strategies to defeat terrorists abroad and in securing the COOPERATION OF INTERNATIONAL PARTNERS (my caps, referring to FOREIGN GOVTS). ~http://www.state.gov/s/ct/
Its who you know, not what you have done. This man is doomed!
blackfeline
number 87 …u r barking up the wrong tree…in any case….nobody is paying attention to your rubbish…we are supporting KJ..all the way….he’s the living legacy from his late father…and we have hope in him! I suggest u go sweep the floor with your tail! Enuff of your nonsense !
KJ for Prime Minister!
Sinkapore is sinking deep & fast because the present captain has abandoned ship. We need KJ to the rescue!
nappys
They can said people, people cannot said them lah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
monkeyman!!!!!
leesjuanpat
The emergence of a new party is always a threat to PAP. Reform Party with KJ at the helm and son of JBJ, (prosecuted by LKY for years.) KJ’s credentials are impressive. Can hold his own to the crony ministers who ride the smooth boat because of GRC and voted in or walked over. Hardly know the ground.
History repeats itself. LKY will be fixing the son KJ due to no fault of his that
a member of Reform Party is just suspected of arms deal with the Tamil Tigers.
Nothing is concrete yet and Shit Times propagated the issue with velocity. What a mouthpiece for PAP.
The more PAP tries to discredit the opposition, the more we citizens know what is
going on. Nothing will change. The only change is to vote PAP out of the government
gradually.
BilaLila
What I would like to read in the Straits Times:
Reporters from the Straits Times this morning asked PM Lee Hsien Loong on the whereabouts of Phey Yew Kok, a fugitive from the law for the past 30 years.
I bet you a million dollars the reply would be something like this:
I will Phey Yew a million dollars if you can find him for us. In the meantime, stop talking Kok.
A piece of news like this will definitely be reported promptly because it is regarding someone from the opposition party. People in the ruling party get away with racism based on eugenics, existing ministers who worked with and believed in socialists and socialism during pre-independence years get away with the betrayal of the people they once worked with, governmentally invested companies get away with selling arms and cluster bombs to foreign buyers… so many of those and much more went unreported and some under published. They are obviously fixing the opposition here.
JBJ is a legend and an inspiration. His speeches in parliament were that of a true opposition, we don’t get to see that nowadays in parliament do we? :)
No doubt, KJ is his son, I feel that they are two different men. IMO, it is not wise (and not fair to KJ too) to presume, assume or expect KJ to be who JBJ was. Only time and action will tell and show us KJ’s way of politics, his beliefs and how he will go about trying to bring change to things that obviously need changing here.
blackfeline
Yes, i do hope he is as much of a fighter. Issue is he has not shown it. Like father like son. i am waiting and thats why i harbour hopes. But there are also exceptions. JBJ did it for all opposition by opening a pathway. i am not sure he could top that but await to see as to what else he could do. so far whethe it is RP or him, nothing. His first official response is a disappointment and missed the opportunity to address these issues. Worst, if he intended to leave us to do the talkng and bring them up here. He needs to build his street cred, Cambridge degree doesnt count in fights.
New Party or Join WP
Opposition parties generally , for past 50 years , have been short of members.
By welcoming members, this presented a great opportunity for sabotage.
members can come in with all sorts of background stories and sabo the party.
assassination by the lowest form of being.
who sabo? the member lor. i am saying not someone duress’d him to do so.
Either join the established ones or form a new one.
or wait for fat lady to sing the humming song.
Any Opp Party, except WP
Join as a volunteer first, and observe with your big eyes
Observe whether there is a climate of fear within the party whereby their members are too tame, in front of their leaders, and out-spoken, behind the leaders and online forums, only.
Whether the leaders show respect to the members, e.g shouting at them during the party’s activities like the members own the the leader a living.
Observe whether the leader always have the habit of shoot down all ideas that demoralize the members.
Observe whether the leader always send the right-hand man spying the walkabout groups, internal discussion and any function and activity.
Observe whether the leader prefer to thrust his love pets rather than the cec members.
Nitro
KJ for PM? He has not even showed his worth as a party member communicating with Singaporeans during walkabouts. So please, hold your horses.
sayang
I think we shd give any new opp a chance to prove themselves. Sg is not big, but don’t expect a current 30-member opp party to knock your door. RP afterall, is a 1-yr old party.
To be the Prime Minister or any other minister in the government, one has to first understand how it life is like for most of us common folks, what our problems are and the needs of society. That is why walkabouts and talking to the common folks are crucial for any political parties new and old. They need not live like us or suffer our problems first but they need to do alot more by knocking on doors and going on the streets to talk to the homeless, the jobless and people from the heartlands to hear them out. It is not something that can be done overnight. Let KJ and team do their work first before we declare any high hopes and expectations because that will put tremendous pressure on them as a new political party. That sort of pressure might not be particularly beneficial. Give them time to develop their personal understanding of the local issues, party identity and visions first. JBJ is no longer around to lead the party and we cannot expect KJ to breathe the fire and passions of his father. He is his own man just like his father was his own man.
Be fair to him and the party. We’ll see what role they can play in the political field in time to come, and decide for ourselves whether we want them to play a part in policy making or otherwise.
KJ for Prime Minister
Nitro@100
Haven’t you read the latest? Some are prepared to vote their dog or cat or even mosquito! KJ has double first in Economics from Cambridge but it is actually not the paper credential that people should go for, I give him the benefit of the doubt that he stands for a country, not a company to make profit from his people.
Same question to you: What has the current lot done for the people? I mean the PM with his SM, big daddy MM, Deputies and the whole Cabinet behind him and on top of it all, the often trumpeted rich financial resources? Waiting to hear from you, Nitro.
LINK
What has RP and KJ done then ? At least WP has fought in every election since JBJ won that decisive victory in 1981. Two of WP leaders have been doing a great job in Parliament. Only WP is still holding the fort. There is a lot that RP has to catch up. LTK/WP is still the opposition leader today, no doubt about that. KJ can learn to take some lessons in politics from LTK
Why should he learn from LTK when he has his father as the greatest example?
“Politics should be about responsible politics. The opposition should be a watchdog, not a mad dog. That’s the right path for a political party.”
Mr. Low Thia Khiang said that in an interview if I am not wrong. While I accept that he has his opinions, I don’t find myself agreeing.
The politicians in the opposition camp should be critical of the many wrongdoings of this government in power and their flawed policies, while at the same time coming up with alternatives. They should also represent the people by bringing up issues and problems faced by us common folks due to the policies that do not benefit us and push for changes with the intention of making things better for fellow citizens. If LTK sees his role as the watchdog, then I think we have one watchdog too many and don’t think that KJ should become yet another. JBJ will weep and turn in his grave if KJ is to lead the RP like how LTK leads the WP. Remember, JBJ is the extreme opposite of LTK.
If KJ is to turn out to become another LTK, he won’t get my vote for sure.
Albino Prince
Its Clear and I am now Convinced:
THERE IS ONLY 1 THING WE CAN DO.
Nitro
To 101) sayang on October 2nd, 2009 9.05 pm :
Yes so let’s wait for them to prove themselves before making statements like ‘KJ for PM’.
103) KJ for Prime Minister on October 3rd, 2009 6.12 pm
So what if he has a double first? He hasn’t shown that he really cares, or is even connected to or in touch with Singapore and the people in it.
btan
@Rachel Zeng
Watch dog or mad dog, as long as it is not running dog, and can check on the government, is a good dog.
We should support all opposition parties, simply because you have no choice which party will contest in your ward, or at all, due to the dirty tricks employed by PAP.
LINK
KJ or RP has done nothing so far. WP has been around for decades. WP Youth Wing has also been much more active than RP which has only just started. Collaboration can always happen in future. But I don’t see that happening at this time as it seems KJ or his supporters are thinking too highly of him. Let’s not forget that he did not set up RP, JBJ did. He is only riding on the foundation built by JBJ who has accummulated immesne political capital over several decades from WP to RP. You can’t equate the two at the same political level. Long way to go for him.
I agree with Link that some of the supporters have spoken too highly of him before he could prove his worth. However I think this is not exactly the thread for spreading WP propaganda while criticising KJ and RP because the discussion is about RP and KJ. This is my opinion though, you don’t have to agree with me.
Btan, I am a supporter of the opposition and a true opposition in my opinion, is one who is persistent, confrontational when needs be and who commits to coming up with alternatives for the people while they find faults with the current system and government. Personally, I don’t support for the sake of it. I support the opposition who is worth y support and who cares about Singaporeans enough to persevere in trying to push for change despite all obstacles.
mice is nice
come on, let’s fix those that need fixing….
… or major overhaul!! hahhaa… :)
btan
@rachel zeng,
We don’t have the luxury of choosing now, is my message to you. When we have strong opposition parties (strong as in the sense of a substantial percentage of MPs in parliament) then by all means pick and choose.
While we have a grand total of two opposition MPs and 81 PAP yes-men, we the voters have to effect changes by voting in more opposition members. This means whoever is running now should be voted in.
When people see more opposition members succeeding and, hopefully, not sued off their pants, more attractive candidates may step up. (I abhor the word “credible” because this word has been corrupted by PAP. Rather, I would say the current batch of opposition members are less “attractive” mainly due to the lack of information and vilification by MSMs and PAP)
Continue to pick-and-choose, as in the case of the past 40 years and continue to see little or no opposition MPs in parliament and continue to see PAP “fixing” opposition and “fixing” us as well.
Hi btan,
sure we don’t have a choice as to who will run against the PAP in our constituencies. You mentioned support, not vote. Sure, I can vote for the opposition running in my ward but it doesn’t mean that I support that particular party. It simply means that I don’t support the PAP. With regards to the political party that I support, I will take my time to volunteer, help out and contribute when help is needed. That I think I have not made it clear enough in my last comment.
btan
@rachel zeng,
For the purpose of this thread, support would mean voting. But of course if you want to vote for the opposition that run in your ward but not support them, that would be fine as well, since voting is what really counts. (and in my book, it means support)
Voting is the direct action to support. Supporting has many levels. Among them are passive and active support.
Passive support would be reading up on their manifestos, donating to their cause and spreading news and awareness to your friends and family and of course voting for them come election. I use the word “passive” because you don’t really do much with the above. All can be done from the comfort of your home through internet.
Active support will be what you mentioned : taking time to go volunteer or join their party. This is understandably not something many Singaporeans are willing or even dare to do considering the political climate.
I believe more people will do active support once more opposition MPs are elected into the parliament (I would say a critical number of 33% of total MPs) and at the meantime, we should all do passive support to boost that chance.
Don’t forget that many complained they do not get to vote at all. And my message to them is they have to do their part in the passive support in order to get opposition to contest in their ward.
Btan, I understand that you have your opinion on that and it is alright. If the opposition running against the PAP in my constituency is one that I do not believe in and support, I will vote for them anyway. To me, I am voting against the PAP and in a more general sense, for the opposition cause. Doesn’t mean that I support their way of politics or their manifesto. I am personally actively behind the opposition party that I support, in as many ways as I can although I am not a member and even though none of them are in parliament. Hopefully one day they will be able to contest in my ward against LHL. :)
XiiAoGeNgEnX
115) Rachel Zeng on October 7th, 2009 12.27 am
Is this method of voting wise? All of us should be asking ourselves that.
A vote is a mandate; a sign of confidence from you that you believe one party will serve the people’s needs more than the other party can. If you vote for a particular party, but you don’t know what values they stand for, or what contributions they have to offer, then how are you so sure that they’re better than the other party?
Desperate for Change
In response to XiiAoGeNgEnX @116
Desperate times call for desperate measures.
XiiAoGeNgEnX
117) Desperate for Change on October 7th, 2009 7.20 pm
Really? Are times so desperate that our countrymen are living in abject poverty? Are our children starving on the streets while we go about our business in constant fear?
Are times really so desperate that we would blindly vote in ANY party without knowing what they stand for? To throw away our rationality, even our common sense?
For a start, we might consider reading up at least a little about all the political parties in Singapore. Perhaps even attend some of their discussion forums and activities, to understand them better.
NUS Political Science Society is organizing an open forum for discussion and debate. You might even want to bring along your own issues for discussion. Free entry, open to public.
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=home#/event.php?eid=148239148799&ref=mf
Utopia
“Really? Are times so desperate that our countrymen are living in abject poverty? Are our children starving on the streets while we go about our business in constant fear?”
So when is the desperate time for us ? Who to define the desperation ? Me, you or the PAP or the opp party, or the nation in whole.
Do we need to be starved in hunger, all crimes all time high, when women get raped in the street publicly, when men get robbed and killed due to jealousy and survival etc to be consider desperate ? When will Singaporean be desperated if only going by your extreme of desperation of the world ?
Why the Japanese so desperate to overthrow the proven ruling party and call for a change ? Why the USA so desperate for change that they vote the first-in-history American President Obama ? Aren’t these citizens of those countries who vote for party change as intelligent as anyone else, or are they plain moron to vote for change ? Surely you could find more reasons than I could. When people no longer trust the government to do the right thing, that is when the people decide vote the government out.
Could we define desperation when the pappy do whatever to import foreigner to vote them into power again despite the social impact and infrastructure overload ? Why the Pap
“Are times really so desperate that we would blindly vote in ANY party without knowing what they stand for? To throw away our rationality, even our common sense?”
As one commenter says “desperate time goes for desperate measure”. Are we blind to vote any party or are we blind to circumstance ? The circumstance we have now is that Pappy is using foreigner citizens to vote for them, and in times diluting the vote and voice of true citizens for next and subsequent election. So if you believe that what Pappy is doing to retain power, aren’t the first thing you need to do “desperately” is to vote for more opp party into parliament ? Yes, vote for monkey, dog as long as the nation feel that the incumbent behaving and acting worse than those animals.
Did you recall how many times the Pappy evade the questions of accountability and responsibility of opp party and commoner’s voice in parliament, and in return mock the nation with their arrogance and nonsense ?
How much desperation you need in Singapore before you say enough is enough ?
So please, if you want to insult commenter’s intelligence here using the worst case example that attune to the practice of your master, do go elsewhere.
XiiAoGeNgEnX,
I see potential in the opposition camp and I am strongly against the PAP. This is a good reason to vote for the opposition running in my ward. I’d rather that than to have to give up my vote. We have no democracy here and our way of election system is terrible anyway, that is why we get walkovers and lack of choices in each ward. My vote against the PAP is my protest against their governance and monopoly of power. I will never vote for PAP.
tcc
It doesnt matter which party but as long as i have a job and a house for my family, i would vote the party that can provide me this. I may not like their stunts but i do not want to be poor and insecure. My opinion ? Opposition can’t do it. None has the track record of running even a large size company. Forget it.
Rachel, like many here, you have not lived overseas in developing countries. Don’t waste your vote. You are just emotional for what I do not know. But you have not experienced harship. Think first.
Dear tcc, you are wrong. I have lived and worked in China before coming back again at the end of 2006. Hardship? I grew up in hardship and still living a tough life. Your personal assumptions of me are wrong.
IT DOES matter which party is running this country because it affects how our hard earned money (taken as taxes by the government) will be managed, the freedom we will be allowed to speak, the opportunities we will have as local citizens etc etc.
You have a job and a house for your family, now that is good for you. Think however of those who are not eligible to get a roof over their head due to our government’s housing policies and have to live on the streets. What is happening to them? They get fined and if they cannot pay their fines, they go to jail. Think of those who were detained without a trial for their social work, for their opinions and ideologies. They were tortured and forced to declare themselves as who they are not. Think of those who LKY made used of and then betrayed in the past, after he became Prime Minister. Think of the open corruption that we have, ministers are paid sky high while citizens are being affected by the recession. Think of those who have since lost their jobs to cheap foreign workers because they are too old and too expensive to hire. I think of all these and many more and felt that something must be done. Change is needed to bring about justice, a better life and more opportunities to all of these people.
You may be contented with your own happy life but think of the others who may have to sleep under the rain just because their lives have been turned upside down by certain governmental policies combined with unfair employment conditions and competitions. Think of all of those, and maybe more.
Tcc, maybe you should think again?
tryathlete
tcc – the opposition have no track record of running even a large size company? well that’s not a bad thing at all.
Agent008
@121
tcc: “It doesnt matter which party but as long as i have a job and a house for my family, i would vote the party that can provide me this.”
- A 12 hour job to pay a 30-yr mortgage for a 99-yr leasehold flat, to lead a simple SINGLE life, is also having a job and a house. After 50 yrs and acheiving top ranking in this and that, should we remain this?
tcc: “I may not like their stunts but i do not want to be poor and insecure.”
- How do you feel secure when there is not even subsidy for transport if you are disabled? Remember anyone can be stricken with illness or become disabled at any time. Anyone can become poor when the world economy tumbles. Even big banks are wiped out. No need to mention the rest of what if’s.
tcc: “My opinion ? Opposition can’t do it. None has the track record of running even a large size company. Forget it.”
- So your opinion of an MP or Minister is someone who can make profit. Running a company is solely for ONE objective and ONE alone – to make profit. Is this really what you think a Minister should be?
- When the opposition is in Govt, they can appoint scholars (proper ones) just like the PAPa, to steer the economy. I believe there are geniuses in our midst who’s talent are missed because they belong to the wrong camp or who don’t speak good English!
tcc: “Rachel, like many here, you have not lived overseas in developing countries. ”
- At least you make sense by mentioning developing countries, not developed first world countries. Rachel has clarified her position nicely. It would be good if you can name some developing countries you are thinking of.
tcc: “You are just emotional for what I do not know. But you have not experienced hardship. Think first.”
- Rachel is ‘just emotional’? She has given all the valid reasons and as far as I can see, she is a thinking person. She may or may not have experienced hardship but at least she is probably not born with a silver spoon like… (better not name those Ministers). Have those ruling us experienced hardship?
tcc,
if you are asking Rachel to think first, I wonder what is thinking to you.
Rachel,
You should stand for election. We need anyone with a sense of community to stand in now. Like I said, when in power, you will get all the intellectual help you can get by appointments just like what PAP is doing.
Agent008,
Thank you so much! I feel very honored by your suggestion, however there is much to learn and as an activist campaigning for socio-political issues, it is better for me not to be a member of any political parties.
Our society is not matured enough yet to accept the fact that opposition politicians are also genuinely concerned in human rights issues here in Singapore as well as the rest of the world. When prominent opposition leaders from the SDP take up campaigns or petitions, they have been seen to be capitalising on such issues to gain points with the public. The thought is so immature but yet this is how it is now. To engage in advocacy work and activism is all on the agenda for now and there are no future plans to venture into the political arena. I prefer to help out the political party I truly support in the background while on the foreground along with other activists with mutual ideologies and interests, campaign on issues both local and global. Fame and power is not all I care for but social justice is.
I am just an ikan bili, there are many more out there who genuinely cares about Singaporeans but have been slapped with the label of ‘mad dogs’ and ‘psychopath’ by the real psychopaths themselves. They have also been made bankrupts, have their whole images tarnished by the state owned media. These people deserve to be recognised, more so than myself or any of the other watchdogs. I see them working hard every single day, I see them walking about talking to people on the streets and it makes my heart weep to think that they are still doing what they do despite all the defamation and obstacles.
To make things worse, some local citizens are just contented when those from the Ivory Towers throw alms at us just before the elections and end up voting for them without thinking twice and realising that the money belong to us in the first place.
Oh well, the opposition camp needs to work harder indeed but Singaporeans need to start realising that they cannot rely on the alms of those ‘high elves’ who are in fact one of the highest paid in the world, thanks to our willingness to pay taxes dutifully without thinking twice or utter even a sound of protest but complain when among friends and relatives.
Yes some of us lead contented lives for now but who knows, the next victim of those highly rigid flawed policies might be us, the ‘contented ones’. Then you will wonder why you vote for the same party election after election. And then you vote them in yet again when you receive $800 in your bank account as a form of gratitude. :)
(Sorry for the rant hehe…)
tcc
Rachel, you may have compassion but you think too simply of the world. I am not sure what you do in China and what hardship you went through, your words, views and thoughts just didn’t reflect that. Talking about the homeless as if you know. You know what, there are a lot you still need to find out. If you have not work with the homeless or the poor, I urge you to do so. Work with the poor but also work with those that have received help. You get a balance point of view. This not implying the government has been doing good job but at least you get an understanding of how things are done here and compare it with China since you said you have lived there.
A candidate with a track record and experience would win my vote. Just having compassion and emotions are not going to give me the assurance that the place would be effectively run. It is the same when you employ someone, you have to look at the resume.
Rachael, i encouraged you to run for election if you are keen. But you know what, if you do not have the success in your own career or life, I am not sure what success you could make out in politics and I certainly would not entrust my livelihood with you as my leader. If your selling point is in criticising but no solution such as how and where you could generate revenue and how you allocate budget to serve, then I say, do your homework now. You have to make your own decision. Those who coax you but hide behind a nick name are just making noise.
Agent008
“Those who coax you but hide behind a nick name are just making noise.” – tcc
Indeed, well said! Cut & paste from post above:
“Rachael, i encouraged you to run for election if you are keen. But you know what, if you do not have the success in your own career or life, I am not sure what success you could make out in politics and I certainly would not entrust my livelihood with you as my leader. If your selling point is in criticising but no solution such as how and where you could generate revenue and how you allocate budget to serve, then I say, do your homework now. You have to make your own decision.” – tcc
The pre-requisite of Commonwealth member countries is to have the common stand of upholding democracy, good governance and to eradicate poverty. As we know Commonwealth countries get to enjoy previleges (eg no need for VISA in Western countries) that countries like China does not. If our Govt continues to focus only on generating revenues (from whatever means including citizen slavery and selling away the mother land), ‘distributing’ 95% of the revenue to the top 5% of the population and 5% to the rest of 95% respectively, it will get thrown out of CW membership.
So Rachel, a good govt does need to have a sense of community and social mindedness to lead the people. I totally understand and share the sentiments of your post above. There is no justice in this land, thus perpetuating oppression even of the weak (referring to disabled, elderly & poor) to accept and be grateful for whatever crumbs they throw at them (5% revenue) to keep them alive. Some here have rightly called it dictatorship and I would like to add, dressed up in COMMERCIAL ranking reports (including economy, best city to live in for expats, best system, best education etc).
BTW Rachel, tcc thinks you are naive (think too simply of the world). I think you, as well as all those who have been bruised, are to be admired and respected for standing by what you believe for a better world. I live in a part of the world where things are always improving because of people like yourselves and because there is no oppression by rulers. Lucky me but I wish the same can be had for my fellow Singaporeans.
XiiAoGeNgEnX
127) Agent008 on October 9th, 2009 9.27 pm
If our Govt continues to focus only on generating revenues (from whatever means including citizen slavery and selling away the mother land), ‘distributing’ 95% of the revenue to the top 5% of the population and 5% to the rest of 95% respectively, it will get thrown out of CW membership.
Hmmm… Citizen slavery, Selling the motherland, redistributing 95% of revenue to the top 5% of the population? really? I never knew that!
Must be the Shitty Times corrupting my mind with false information! We should be telling others about the truth!
Tcc, I grew up poor and am still part of the poor. However I am not going to elaborate on my personal or family issues here. Neither am I here to compare if I have lived a harder life than anyone else.
You have a definite judgement of people, situations and opinions that I feel are inflexible and very egocentrically only to your perspectives. I was in China as a teacher but not a highly paid one. I’ve also lived on scraps in Belfast for a few months. My opinions and world views were the result of experiences I have had my whole life. I said all of that again to reinforce that your assumptions of me are wrong, in my personal opinion.
You said that I think too simply of the world, I don’t think so. By being happy because there is a roof over your head and a job to provide for your family (for now) and not caring about who is the government, is simple thinking to me.
Like I said before, I have no personal interest in fame and power so I have no plans to go into the political arena. All I am interested in is the pressing issues that exists in our society that have been caused by the ruling party. You talk about personal success in a very capitalistic sense and I have to say that I disagree with you. Success is defined differently by each and every one of us and your concept of success to me, is empty success (if I apply that in my life that is). The poorest of the poor who manage to find happiness and warmth in their lives are more successful than the executive secretary of a MNC who have no time to even see her children during their waking hours.
Anyway yes, you have your right to opinions, I have to recognise that.
Agent008,
I am heartened by your words but I think that compared to some other defamed politicians who are still working hard and genuinely to reach out to the masses and to push the boundaries for them, I’ve still got a long log way to go. Don’t admire me, come join me! ;)
Don’t worry, I won’t be disheartened by the words of those who criticise. By the way, I think this applies to them too. Just change the word ‘coax’ to ‘criticise’, it works the same.
“Those who coax you but hide behind a nick name are just making noise.” – tcc
Brilliant line from tcc, I genuinely love that! :)
tcc
Rachel, thanks for showing a liking for my statement. I will join you if you show me you have a solution or a direction. Questioning is not solution. For an average citizen like me, this lack assurance. I have full respect for teachers. But there are different types. The ones I admire does their homework, research and explain with facts not opinions. The ones I skip are those who follow what others are saying, probably put it in a more flowery language but nothing more factual.
My life experience has taught me to be pragmatic. Survival means going through the hardknocks and make a success out of it. Glad I had my fair share in the early years when I was turned down nth time struggling to get a job overseas.
I like to build upon my success to benefit those who are in need and around me. This is my little contribution. You can disagree about capitalism with me but I think we can’t live on sunshine and air. The needy need food on the table and a job to keep the family intact. When my little contribution of providing some jobs to them make them smile, and the government is not there to stop me from doing my deeds, I am satisfied. I do it with action. i hope you too
Tcc, for your information, I am not just someone who criticises and questions behind a computer screen and do nothing about it. In fact, I think you should do some research and homework on that la.
There are many more successful systems other than capitalism where everyone benefits. I don’t see capitalism as the perfect system because the capitalism that we see nowadays are solely profit and power driven, and not practiced for the sake of making everyone’s lives better as a community, as a nation. In fact, the capitalism we now see, especially in this country is one that has been executed with a ‘top down’ approach, meaning that the government and those who have the power and capital enforces their way of making profits upon us. The government by way of taxes, high legal fines and such; the business elites by the way of cheap labour and threatening to replace locals with cheap foreign labour who they do not even seek to treat like a fellow human being once employed (appalling housing conditions, medical benefits, long working hours and low pay). The ethics in capitalism is in non existence but people are hooked onto it just because it brings profits. Money means status and power nowadays to many, but I have to disagree with that by way of living example.
I am a child care teacher and not many have any respect for my profession. Child care teachers are mostly lowly paid for the hours they work and the responsibilities they carry, and parents do not see us as real educators when in fact early childhood education is one of the most important stage in a human being’s life. Many left the profession after a few years, some going into the service industry because even a handbag promoter can earn a higher salary than some of us, with lesser effort. We all want to make a quick buck nowadays because alot of us have the ideas of capitalism so ingrained in our conscious and subconscious minds that we make decisions based on profit making rather than purpose and benefit for all (or most).
Sure, nothing wrong with wanting to seek a better life for oneself, however when we do so, we think nothing of people we do not know about. We do not see the plight of the homeless, but the fact that they are dirty and they stink. Sometimes while we go about being contented about our own lives and success, we forget about racial quota in the university and civil service, as well as the discrimination in many job industries faced by the minorities. I say that we forget because we keep voting for the political party that had caused all of these with their ruling and policies as well as the lack of transparency and an alternative printed media.
Solutions I can suggest but it won’t be accepted by a moderate crowd. The most important thing that we can all do is to identify problems, flaws and the causes, look actively for the alternatives and solutions and eliminate the problems by eliminating the cause and source. We have to be willing to push for change and suffer awhile of teething problems, before the results come bouncing at us. The most peaceful way is by way of election although there is nothing democratic about the electoral system here. Go look for the alternative that best suits your believes and ethics. We have a variety here and now there is RP. If you believe in any of their manifesto, criticisms and solutions, support them and help them with your actions and your vote.
Nothing comes without hard work, unless you are LKY.
(Ahh busy morning, I may have rambled on out of point here and there but honestly, these are some of my opinions nevertheless)
tcc
I am no supporter of some of the PAP antics. But your statement ‘Nothing comes without hard work, unless you are LKY.’ is one that I would have to disagree. By saying that, I am a little disheartened that you have proven me right that you only give an opinion and it is not factual because I harbour hopes that you are substantial. For all that PAP has done wrong, LKY has done his part. Say what may, you can’t discredit him for building this place.
I only refer to LKY and not the rest.
I respect childcare teachers and would credit them for building such a good foundation in my children that they are doing well in school. Rumblings are ok and no problem even if it is out of point. But you can’t just rumble without understanding history, reading wide, experiencing and giving time to think as a background. If not the rumble would just become noise(hope you like this, I am a culprit of it as well)
So you believe the story of how LKY came into power? Then perhaps you may have read too many of his memoirs and not the accounts of Francis Seow, Lim Chin Siong, Said Zahari, Devan Nair, Tan Wah Biao and many many more of those who he have worked with before and betrayed, falsely accused and tortured due to political greed and the fact that he can’t stand opposition voices or ‘threats’. How I wish that the pre-independence documents, now declassified by the British have been made public here, about how they have protected LKY’s position in Singapore, even before he was Prime Minister.
To me, he is a power hungry man who won’t blink an eye or shed a tear when betraying anyone he had worked with to ‘climb’ into power. Polyclinics and party kindergartens were ideas adopted from Barisan Socialist, did he give them any bit of credit? So many people still revered him, but I won’t respect a man who slander his ‘opponents’, make those who oppose him bankrupts and who believe in eugenics and apply it to create racial quotas for this and that. How come he got away with being such a racist? Is such a person to be credited for stepping on anyone’ shoulders to climb to power? Maybe you think so but so sorry, I don’t.
tcc
Rachel, I am pragmatic after having tried to survive in 2 other countries. Never got a fair chance even though I tried hard and considered 2nd class in those countries. To me, LKY and his PAP built this place where I got a job and a house that my family comfortably lived in. At least I wroked hard and got my payback. I went back to those countries I have lived in. There were no changes. For friends I had there and those who stayed, they are still struggling. The others,like me, left the place. They went to find a greener pasture, I came back home to Singapore.
I read these comments and just felt there is insufficient exposure to the situation overseas. I may sound like a propaganda to you but you know, this is an experience I have to share. Will Singapore be the same moving forward ? Maybe yes, maybe no. But this I would leave it to you and the big people to debate and go fight it out. As far as I am concern, today, there is only talk and no one else has offered or proven themselves except LKY, like it or not. I don’t know how he did it, maybe fair or maybe unfair to his opponents. But to me, I need to pay my loans, educate my kids and give them security. Can the people you mention or you provide that ? Do you have what it takes todo that ? You want my vote, you must prove to me. I am also unhappy about not being able to vote. But so what ? If this place continue to give me a place that I can survive, feed my family, have a job, Singaproe can become two big GRCs, I will still move on. If one day, PAP can’t provide me all these, Iwouldbe the first one to leave or support the opposition and may even throw my hat into the ring. For now, I am contented and would not want to re-live those experiences I had in those countries.
tcc, you do have an annoying habit of assuming about my life experiences or the lack of it from my post. I faced RACIAL DISCRIMINATION for a long time when I was in China from the Chinese themselves in all regards. However I didn’t drown myself in self pity, bit my teeth and learned from that experience. Slowly I climbed up as they felt there was no point in being directly discriminative towards me anymore. It was a learning experience, a good one indeed. I was brought up believing that racial discrimination is bad and when I was there, I understood how bad it could be.
Anyway you do sound like propaganda.
What makes you think that democracy or change will not help you bring food to the table? Right now because the PAP is the ruling government, because of their greed (our ministers are one of the HIGHEST PAID in the world), we are being taxed here and there, fined here and there, pay this and pay that. In Canada, the high taxes one pays goes to the health care but over here whatever taxes we pay goes to the pockets of the ministers, goes to funds to ‘help foreigners and new citizens fit in’… it goes into the hands of Temasek Holdings and GIC and where else it goes, I don’t know because it has never been transparent. Who has been fighting for the transparency of all of these? Well go google it yourself.
In a democracy, transparency will transpire. People can get to voice out and the government will be one that represents the people, the one that works for the people, not the other way round like an authoritarian government that we have now. I believe that the party I am supporting cares for the people, and that is why I am supporting them. The party unfortunately, is not PAP because PAP proves to be the contrary. I think most of the other opposition politicians do care about making life better for Singaporeans too, but they have all been brushed aside just because they are not the men in white. Pretty sad.
My apologies but I think you are not being pragmatic. Rather, you seem selfish to me because you only care about the comfort of you and your family, which led you to think that PAP has built everything. You care not about the truth behind all the lies and whitewashing not even when someone has been hinting and leaving names, hoping that you will be able search for the documents, the archives, blogs and books online and in libraries but you seem uninterested. No worries, it is never an obligation of course and you have the right to find truth in the lies and propaganda you highly believe in. You think all Singaporeans are living in comfort? Look again and it is with hope that you may see something beyond what you see nowadays.
Guess I shouldn’t waste any more time here with you any further, not that I am impatient and not that you are a bad person but there are other things to do than to keep on repeating myself to someone who is not that interested. I have said my piece(s), so I shall leave it up to you. It is always your choice to think of the larger population or just simply a small number of people. This is what I think but don’t worry, I have no intention of judging you further.
Best regards to you and may you continue to live in comfort and not fall to become one of the victims of their policies someday.
tiredsingaporean
Just get those MIW out of the garment and everything else will just fall nicely in place. The rest are BS and we are all wasting out time trying to reason things with those present bunch of unreasonable political crooks. Just get them out and you will see a whole lot of them fleeing the country before all their dirty things are out in the closet. A very good example and lesson from the past leading to how many pairs of branded shoes does the first lady of ex.philippine marcos owned? how many state-owned MNC and big corporates are atually owned or have directorships from the ex.Indonesia suharto? still not enough, ex.thai PM thaksin case, where do this man gets so much millions to buy over a soccer club? what have all these has in common? you don’t need to be a rocket scientist to figure it out right?
tcc
Thanks for being judgemental too, thinking I am selfish. If I am, we are both the same. You are fixated with your views too. Strange thing is that you are still here and not in all the other countries. Why ? If you could not tolerate living with the government, why not leave ? Talk is cheap you know.
You know I discovered our disagreement stems from the fact that you are focusing on things that doesn’t affect our basic bread and butter needs. See you still have a job and a home to go back right ? We are not in chaos and there is no war here, at least for now. Unless where I used to lived in this country, having to jump from one train to another because of bomb threat and not being able to go out in the night to get a pack of cigarrette.
The problem is we are not thinking apple for apple. This could be due to different background and experience. I try not to be judgemental but based on what you have written you are just not convincing enough that you know what it takes. Short of me asking how old you are, I would just leave it as that. If you are a young person, I am concerned you would be facing lots of obstacles(or perceived) and not able to overcome them yourself. If you are of a older age, then nothing much to add.
Just in case you think i live in comfort and not do anything, well, I help those in need everyday. No i am not a grassroots leader. I am not too old but I made enough through sheer hardwork and being pragmatic(sorry, I have to insist). Coming from a poor family, i want to give back and put in the action and not talk. There are many ways to do it. If you want to understand what are the programmes are out there and how these programmes got the funding from the government, let me know. Rather than crying out loud here, try to do something if you haven’t. Volunteers are in demand !
TCC,
I am only here to answer some of your questions:
1. The reason why I came back now is because I HAVE TO take care of my family. I am 26. Given another choice, I won’t be back. I will be fufilling my dream of living in a caravan, globetrotting all over the world.
2. I was a volunteer with several organisations since I was in secondary school. Now, I am mostly a teacher, a daughter and a socio-political activist helping to campaign on certain issues that few people even want to speak about. I am against the government in words and actions.
3. My family was shit poor, I grew up poor and am still poor.
Ok now, time doesn’t permit me to spend more time here. Gotta go back to rush some year end work. Tata! If this conversation happened in March, I would actually love to go on and on but it is the end of the year. So yea. :)
tcc
Rachel, thank you for being honest. I am sorry for having made those comments not knowing you are actually so young. Yes, indeed, you need more experience and should be given time to experience life in general. I am not sure how you define poor but Rachel, poor from what I know is being deseparate enough to beg and to be spat on. Education and working hard is the way out of poverty in material. Books, knowledge and conviction is the way out of poverty in spirit.
Take care of your basic needs. Focus on your work and the backyard before all else. Before blaming others, look into yourself and ask…’have I done enough ?”…have I worked harder than most’…have I added value today’. Some people answer “yes” all their lives, yet achieve nothing. So they blame every external factors they could find. Others keep answering “No” and find themselves lacking confidence in moving forward. I would say, be honest with yourself but know yourself really really well before putting the finger outwards. It works you know as it has been proven before.
Benedict
Rachel Zeng is being young and ideological, not naive nor selfish. It is not necessarily a bad thing.
At least she is doing things upfront instead of just sitting behind her computer and typing away all sorts of criticisms. I think you should appreciate her for engaging you in a discussion for so long.
Mr. TCC, I think you are being quite on the self righteous path out to convince her and us that pragmatism is the way.
So what if your way have been ‘proven’ as you mentioned. It does not mean that it will work again for everyone or forever. The world doesn’t stop at one thing. Rather, it progresses and so should we.
Sorry sir but I am another one who disagrees with you. Rachel may be young but she does not seem to lack experience from what I have been reading.
Go ahead and encourage others to be quitters of this country and let the PRCs come in to be Singaporeans. Then we can all be China’s little colony.
leesjuanpat
I read with interest Zachel Zeng and TCC’s exchange of thoughts. Zachel may be young at 26, by her writing and exposure in life, her maturity is above many.
We have a choice in our destiny of life. Having work and travel overseas opened her perspective wider. Many of us, due to our very attitude of life, will stay dormant even though we know that we new a new change of life and direction. Zachel is one lady who has the courage to do so and voice her concern.
Our very survival in Singapore need more people like Zachel. Spore’s political climate has gone to the dogs. Many citizens are marginalised into third world living, boasting as first. Yes! first world to the million paid Ministers and their cronies and people benefitted by PAP mainly inter-related to them by one way or the other.
Governments around the world, with absolute powers, always degenerate into
self-abused of the very system they built. S’pore is no different.
Personally, I was with the CC for 7 years. willing to serve the community through
the organisation deemed PAP- inclined and beholden. As I moved along, my judgement and perspective changed. The ugly side of human nature showed its true colours. Many serve the CC and RC for self motive and agenda. The mean side of human character surfaced and you really felt sick. I left the CC circle in 2006 but am happy serving the community as a volunteer for the poor and destitute. A sense of better belonging.
Have seen the world through the years. Developed world and not so developed world. Worked in Jakarta for 3 years and did business in Myanmar for 2 years before I retired graciously when I reached 60 .
S’pore need more people like Zachel, with strong ideology and dare to change.
Being poor is not a crime. What is our perceived yardstick of poverty. As long as we are not in want and work hard for our family and face the realities of life without envious comparison, we will feel happy and contented with what comfort zone we are in. We cannot compare with the legalised corrupted Ministers’ paycheck, which they robbed from many average citizens.
We need to change the political suppression we are facing for so many years.
The power is in all of us, the true blue citizens of S’pore. We cannot do justice to our children and their children if we do not act now.
We vote the PAP out for good.
leesjuanpat
Sorry, Should be RACHEL not ZACHEL, thank you. My apopogies.

nice try, 1st thing you did was to distance yourself from your member ! Get a backbone.