The centre of gravity has finally shifted. But what of the government’s response? Are they still in denial mode? Is there anyone there who has the wisdom to see that the best legacy they can leave behind is to redesign the political system to make it more open, competitive, fairer and more soundly based on principles of human rights?

Alex Au, Yawning Bread

32 Responses to “Singapore’s political centre of gravity has shifted”

1. Why should PAP bother to change when MM confidently said that PAP will win in the next two elections? Sometime, one prefer to learn the hard ways in order to wake up from one dream.

2. Oxford Dude 7 September 2009

I think it is a hint that LKY will be alive for at least the next 2 General Elections.

3. No dictator prepares for a peaceful surrender of power when he sees himself losing support because he knows that on the day of reckoning, his judgment will be swift and severe, his skeletons in the closet will be exposed for all to see and when his disgrace is complete, history will not look kindly on him. No attempt to make amends will be of any use. After all, how can you trust a dictator to protect your freedom? Does he even know what it means? Surely 40 years is proof enough that the man is so utterly convinced by his own ideas he will not know how to do otherwise.

The PAP will not prepare to leave a legacy behind. It may be in the interests of their collective reputation, but it is certainly not in the interests of the selfish individuals that comprise it. Just think about how much of the establishment depends on the lack of judicial or citizenry inquiry into their affairs. Look at the non-transparent way our funds are being handled, and the PAP’s many business assosciations for which I am certain you need not look too hard to find a conflict of interest between their business interests and the public interest.

In the last days, their concern will be with hanging on for as long as they can, securing golden parachutes and perhaps covering up their tracks.

I have never seen an authoritarian government give up power willingly to a democratically elected government. The centre of gravity may have shifted, but it is not enough to expect a change in the PAP’s attitude towards political freedom. If anything, recent events only go to show that we’re taking two steps forward in token gestures, and three steps backward with more defamation lawsuits and restrictive laws.

4. Oxford Dude on September 7th, 2009 9.16 am

“I think it is a hint that LKY will be alive for at least the next 2 General Elections”

Even if he is dead, he said he would rise from his grave. He thinks he is the 2nd Jesus Christ !

5. Yamamoto 7 September 2009

Rockeye

“MM confidently said that PAP will win in the next two elections?”

When MM Lee says something, i am not sure whether it will come true especially in recent times…look at the long-term investment that is supposed to last for decades, it end within months….

Just because he say so doesn’t mean it will be so…

6. No redesign lah 7 September 2009

Singapore is unique lah. The PAP is unique, the opposition is unique and the voters are unique.

Hence nothing will change for next 10 to 20 years, never mind what legacy they want to or can leave behind.

7. Angsana Gambong 7 September 2009

5) Yamamoto on September 7th, 2009 1.44 pm

“Just because he say so doesn’t mean it will be so… ”

come on lah, that is just his view wat.
    many people can have many views.
    Its called unique individuals.
    Dun take it so hard.

8. you must understand MM is pig horoscope and this kind of person is very stubborn, they always think they are right and would never change.

lhl is dragon, dragon is very aggressive and haolian, so similar. pig and dragon very gum.

if you believe they would allow level playing field etc???? dream on my friends, this would never happen if they are around. you want change, you have to vote for it.

9. 2) Oxford Dude

///// I think it is a hint that LKY will be alive for at least the next 2 General Elections. ///////

either that
    or
    that they foresee they can massage the electorial boundaries for 2 more elections to their advantage, beyond which, with ever lower level of support, boundaries shifting become no longer effective.
    and
    the carrot and stick of upgrading cannnot be effectively used 10 years later when upgrading is almost all done.
    and
    with the internet, their past strategy of news blackout and selective reporting during the election campaigning is no longer effective

10. Anybody could wished to live as long as they like but whether it will come to past is a difference matter. If one had a failing heart, with triple bypass and a pace maker to keep the old ticker going, then one had to think carefully whether such statement had any medical values. Wish is very difference from reality. If there is almighty up in there somewhere, I only prayed He take pity on all Singaporean and release us from this dictatorial regime. Please join me in our prayers regardless of what faiths you belong. Surely it is a common goals all of us here share. Divine intervention for a good cause any one?

11. It is possible that LKY envisages his own death in the near future and is prepared for Singapore to enjoy greater freedom and democracy after he goes. After all, he would have no more interest in the country. He also envisages that his son will around for 2 more elections. After that, since his son wont be in power anymore or might have migrated, it doesnt matter to the Lee family who governs Singapore. He is probably not confident that his son will successfully cling on to power like he (the father) has.

12. Yamamoto 7 September 2009

GM believes that they won’t have any problem…until the day everything change

13. mice is nice 7 September 2009

the truth always have a way to reach those who take pains to avoid.

14. helpless mere mortal 7 September 2009

Guys, i am experimenting with the suggestion made by a reader in one of the comments for an article.

I have started to email some namecard contacts asking to do the same to their own contacts asking them to post an honest comment at TOC for one of the articles.

I am one man only and to see the effect, it may take a lot of time.

I hope some of you likeminded ones could do the same?

thanks.

15. Seah Mei Kok 8 September 2009

Re: 8) ben on September 7th, 2009 7.58 pm you must understand MM is pig horoscope and this kind of person is very stubborn, they always think they are right and would never change.

lhl is dragon, dragon is very aggressive and haolian, so similar. pig and dragon very gum

Cantonese called such person, “dragon head pig nose”, means seems smart but actually stupid !! :)

16. istenacook 8 September 2009

[i]The Secret Political Blog on September 7th, 2009 9.52 am No dictator prepares for a peaceful surrender of power when he sees himself losing support because he knows that on the day of reckoning,[/i]

this is a realive situation here
    he eat in istena palace and sleep there if he wants to and golfin all day if he had to for FREE….by the end of the month he get paid over $100,000++/month
    who in singapoor in his right mind would want to give up this dream?
    worst of all.. he ain’t even the elected peoples’ president

17. despots are incorrigible 9 September 2009

@ 3 }, The Secret Political Blog,

Nice summary, well said !
    This is what we have in Singapore. A dictatorship masquerading as a democratic and corrupt-free govt., in reality has fooled and will continue to fool many citizens including the international community.

18. Singapore used to be and still is an island void of all natural resources and necessities required for survival. Everything that we need, we import. Perhaps the only thing that Singapore ever exports is its human talents that are based all over the world. The fact that Singapore has survived thus far is a miracle. However, it is by no chance or luck that Singapore got to where she is today.

The fact that Singapore was able to grow and develop into a world class nation was due to her government’s wise policies and the strong leadership and vision of her leaders. The PAP and Mr. LKY should get most of the credit for where our nation is standing today.

Many people emptily criticize Singapore for her lack of human rights, democracy, and fairness. But, one thing that I would like to clarify is, what lack of human rights, democracy and fairness are we talking about here? No one in Singapore is dying of starvation or poverty. Furthermore, our nation boasts of one of the best healthcare systems in the world. Our population is living longer and healthier than ever and our youths have access to one of the world’s best education at minimal cost. As a result of the meritocracy system upheld in Singapore, everyone here has a decent chance of breaking the poverty cycle as long as he or she works hard and is determined enough.

People who shamelessly demean Singapore, clearly do not know what they are talking about.

19. Yamamoto 9 September 2009

18) MRI, or is it the White I Brigade?

As I have said elsewhere, you can have LKY and PAP….but without the hardworking citizen to help build up singapore, do you think we will be at this stage at this age? Do you think a general can win a war by himself? or do you think he needs the *soldiers* and advanced weaponry?

Before you go about blowing the trumpet for our oh-so-glorious leader… just think about it and analyse what you have said, if not it will sound empty…granted, they did help build up singapore….but to quote your own words, you are emptily giving credits…

MRI, do you emptily judge freedom and democracy and fairness by the standard of starvation, poverty and healthcare? so the people should be willing to give up freedom of speech as they are not suffering from poverty, starvation and having good healthcare….hey, MRI, by the time when those stuff struck on you, it will be too late….

“one of the world’s best education” Woa, amazing, perhaps our ranking is good, but are the people that this world’s best education system produced that good? and speaking of minimal cost, we can quote tons of examples from more democratic countries with better institution?

“As a result of the meritocracy system upheld in Singapore” MRI, is your vision ok? Meritocracy system? maybe in some sectors yes? but are you so sure about that? or did you failed to see examples of non-meritocracy?

People who shamelessly gives credit, parroting and failing to understand that lack of poverty/healthcare/starvation does not justify lack of freedom, clearly do not know what they are talking about….

Somehow, i know this will get moderated

20. Yamamoto 9 September 2009

To the post above, thanks for that wonderful piece of “insight”

As I have said elsewhere, you can have LKY and PAP….but without the hardworking citizen to help build up singapore, do you think we will be at this stage at this age? Do you think a general can win a war by himself? can a contract build a building without his workers?

Before blowing the trumpet for our oh-so-glorious leader… just think about it and analyse what is been said, if not it will sound empty…granted, they did help build up singapore….but to quote your own words, somepeople are emptily giving credits…

Do you emptily judge freedom and democracy and fairness by the standard of starvation, poverty and healthcare? so the people should be willing to give up freedom of speech as they are not suffering from poverty, starvation and having good healthcare….and tolerate whatever stuff that is been forced down their throat?

“one of the world’s best education” Woa, amazing, perhaps our ranking is good, but are the people that this world’s best education system produced that good? and speaking of minimal cost, we can quote tons of examples from more democratic countries with better institution?

“As a result of the meritocracy system upheld in Singapore” Meritocracy system? maybe in some sectors yes? but are you so sure about that? or did you failed to see examples of non-meritocracy? talking about meritocracy just sounds….weird

Lastly, People who shamelessly gives credit, parroting and failing to understand that lack of poverty/healthcare/starvation does not justify lack of freedom, clearly do not know what they are talking about….

21. istenacook 9 September 2009

[i]The PAP and Mr. LKY should get most of the credit for where our nation is standing today. [/i]

you meant he is not gettin paid @ over $100,000/month till today?
    beside his son bein the prime minister with his daughterinlaw as the temasek ceo as well?
    how about the public transports? who owned the majorities shares?
    taykoryat inc perhaps? who now hold powers on the PUB(utilities)?
    you me?
    wow! good dog you are….
    here a bone for you just taken from istena cookhouse leftover by the ole gheezer himself

22. @ MRI (#18):

Indeed the PAP and LKY were responsible for implementing many of the policies that were crucial to Singapore’s success, and they therefore do deserve some credit. However you cannot deny that rising income inequality, the loss of jobs to foreigners and the existing restrictions on our freedoms are also the result of these policies. While this should by no means imply that they do not deserve credit for whatever good they have done, I believe that the public should be allowed to weigh for themselves and decide how much credit they deserve.

It is true that many people criticise Singapore and some of these criticisms are baseless. Yet you cannot deny that some of these criticisms are valid. Singapore may be in many respects a wonderful place to live in – and of course you are entitled to your opinion on this matter – however you must accept that some people are still disgruntled, and have good reason to be. People who are directly affected by restrictions on our freedoms or a rising income inequality for instance, have every right to raise the issue in criticism.

While there is no doubt that we need to give credit where credit is due, and acknowledge the relative prosperity that some of us enjoy, this should by no means restrict us from wanting a better life for ourselves – to do so would be to retard progress.

This want for a better life often expresses itself in the form of criticism, which when constructive may prove directly useful and even when not constructive has its uses in pointing out the flaws that need to be corrected.

23. Like I said before, any organisation has things it has done well, and things it had not. In the early years, we had a number of leaders (not necessary all) who served people instead of thinking for themselves. The results were outstanding. Today, one cannot fault the critics entirely for harsh comments :
    (a) the mainstream media only heaps praises not criticisms at current policy makers. This is definitely an unbalanced view which doesn’t require a rocket science to understand. Whenever a criticism is issued through mainstream media (and strong enough), they are shot down. This does not mean there will be no criticisms when balanced views are presented, but at least we get more mature in analyses after these years.
    (b) the policy makers (at least gave the perception that they) don’t admit faults. Just look at a TFR issue. Try asking them why the TFR is so low today (3rd counting from last position out of 200+ countries today) to the point we have to admit a large number of FTs. You will never get the answer that there was a miscalculation through an earlier TFR policy, and a string of failures to revive it.
    This is no small fault, and it takes courage (to them same measure they receive their huge renumerations day in day out) to admit it.

24. theforgottongeneration 11 September 2009

@9) KopitiamApek on September 7th, 2009 8.05 pm

“…the carrot and stick of upgrading cannnot be effectively used 10 years later when upgrading is almost all done….”

There will always be some flats to ugrade but there is a 40-year clause in the “resale-ability” of HDB flats. I think a big chuck of HDB flats are hitting this age now or within the next 10 years, so their resale value will be zil — thus no point upgrading something if that asset can’t be sold! This point is not visible as of now as most HDB on open market is less than 40 years. But this clause will come into play soon, and it will be interesting to see how public home prices can continue to be inflated upwards.

25. theforgottongeneration 11 September 2009

@23) kf on September 10th, 2009 4.27 pm

“…You will never get the answer that there was a miscalculation through an earlier TFR policy, and a string of failures to revive it…”

There was no miscalculation since sustaining the natural birth rate was simply not in the economic equation for Singapore, or in the “long-term” KPIs. The question is: was there a “demographic” equation? Well, the TFR slided from 2.1 to 1.9 to 1.7 to 1.5 to now 1.28 over 40 YEARS and no concrete steps taken to seriously arrest the trend. Go figure why. (Hint: if an ace-card like importing FT/FWs has always been up the sleeve, I guess as a policy-maker, I will not lose much sleep).

26. 25) theforgottongeneration on September 11th, 2009 12.33 am,

It’s going to be a matter of opinion, not of fact between us whether there is a miscalculation. It is also possible that importing FTs/ FWs in such large numbers wasn’t considered at the early stages.
    From the view of policy makers, they will also argue of the numerous schemes they launch to arrest the trend. (I recalled sometime back, ST ran a full page article on the issue). Actually, it doesn’t matter how many schemes they run, if they are ineffective, the results will not come. What we do not know is how lousy their thinking process was before they started to launch each scheme – the case of the ignorant not opening his mouth to others.
    Also in the same article, there was no mention on failure on the part of policy makers, neither was there at least 1 explanation why the rate continued to slide. We cannot even present 1 explanation after so many years ?
    Finding examples of countries who have been successful in reversing TFR trends aren’t difficult (e.g. Holland and France in the 1990′s). So we didn’t learn the mechanics behind why others were successful, didn’t we ?

Then come the FTs/ FWs import which may have been conceived at the beginning/ sometime later. It cannot be denied that FTs/ FWs are creating job issues (e.g. competition, scarcity, etc). The fact that the Mustafa example was raised in a previous National Day speech to reverse the argument, merely points to a weak attempt to use an outlier to make a point.
    So we tried to solve a sliding TFR problem, only to introduce an employment problem, and it’s a question mark whether this was anticpated earlier …

27. theforgottongeneration 11 September 2009

26) kf on September 11th, 2009 8.59 am

“,,,,It is also possible that importing FTs/ FWs in such large numbers wasn’t considered at the early stages….”

In “early stages” back in 1960′s when the 2-is-enough was first effected, there were available literature on the changing demography of the world, in particular the longer life expectancy as a society becomes more affluent, causing a greying population. The policy was also targetted at a sustained 2-3 million population. The rot really set in during GCT era, when there were public bells ringing about the increasing FTs (not quite yet the FWs tsuinami). His infamous answer was that nobody knows the optimum ratio of foreigners to S’poreans, so just let them in! Then the TFR was about 1.7-1.5, so they already started playing the “import” option back then. The 15++ years since then have seen the TFR at 1.28 now, so WHEN did they first consider the “import” option? You think only 2-5 years ago? 10 years back?

“…..Actually, it doesn’t matter how many schemes they run, if they are ineffective, the results will not come….”

Agree. Last year $230 million spent on Baby Bonus, yet RESULTS were WORSE.
    Significantly, no announcement who was looking into this issue, who will campaign it henceforth, who had failed when TFR = 1.5, etc… It’s like $230m is cheap-cheap. Throw money, if win, happy-happy; if lose, so what. After all, TH is throwing $b’s, so what.

“…..Finding examples of countries who have been successful in reversing TFR trends aren’t difficult (e.g. Holland and France in the 1990’s). So we didn’t learn the mechanics behind why others were successful, didn’t we ?…..”

Very recently, Britain also announced reversion in its declining births. Just look at the myopia eyesight issue of S’poreans. Just do a simple B vs C correlation study with ANY country and one should be able to pin-point the root cause(s). Till now, after what 40 years, still “clueless”?

“….So we tried to solve a sliding TFR problem, only to introduce an employment problem, and it’s a question mark whether this was anticpated earlier …. ”

This is called replacing one problem with another. In private sector, such hit-and-miss, aimless management will get the top man FIRED within a year. But I can’t comment about public sector since I’ve never been there…. never will.

28. 27) theforgottongeneration on September 11th, 2009 5.35 pm,

Actually, there are 2 problems :
    (a) during LKY’s era, the perception is they didn’t factor demographic changes into their planning (because they did not anticipate the issue). Failure to anticipate the issue is a failure in itself because it’s unacceptable they are paid to only manage facts.
    (b) yes, I agree the bulk of the issues started during GCT’s time. Imagine a KPI dropping for years, and you couldn’t reverse the trend. You’ll be long gone if you are in the private sector.

The issues on schemes are like this : If they run the schemes, they pay a high price. If they don’t run the schemes, likelihood is the TFR is going to head further south. Now, it’s already 3rd counting from bottom of 200+ countries (and I think it’s misleading for them to represent using a chart online to indicate only selected countries).

They sure are clueless. I laughed everytime they claimed they are in touch with the people, without being able to overcome this TFR issue.
    How can the top man get fired for such performance in public sector ? Not that I don’t have strong respect for old folks. The fact that no heads are rolling out of this for years, is good evidence it intends to run like an old folks’ home.

Sure there is at least 1 root cause they didn’t uncover. Also, it gives me an impression that the recruitment system in the civil service is a question mark. We continue to recruit and retain people who sidestep major issues and cannot deliver ?

29. theforgottongeneration 12 September 2009

@28) kf on September 12th, 2009 9.48 am

Yes, failure is usually NOT a option for a high post in private sector. I too thought that a high pay was incentive to perform; but guess this line of thought is only an Aspiration in the public sect.

I laughed everytime a previous TV clip by Health Ministry implying that our eyesight problem was due to the heavy use of computers. Well, during my youth generation, we didn’t even have TV’s! And yet back then, about 60-70% of us were on specs by mid-primary. Such findngs must have been done by monkeys …. or highly meritocratic civil servants scratching their balls everyday…like… monkeys?

BTW, how is your list of ministers’ KPIs coming along? I wouldn’t write a book on that, you know. Difficult to get pass page one — blank space. (Ha, ha.)

30. 29) theforgottongeneration on September 12th, 2009 12.52 pm,

Well, I grew up with a TV in front of me during youth (so you’re clearly more senior :-), haha). Ever wondered how we landed up having a system that allows scholars to serve in high appointments, and not delivering ? I am not a scholar and I have nothing against them. I also believe they have a place in the society, but to equate recruiting a scholar to having high performance in civil service is rubbish.

Wow, you remembered the KPI episode….. no, actually if you cover all the ministries (did it ever occur to you we had lots of ministerial posts already), you’ll need to have a really thick book (that’s how much accountability these people need to deliver). You say difficult to get past page one because ___________ ? :-)

31. theforgottongeneration 13 September 2009

@30) kf on September 12th, 2009 2.00 pm

Lucky you, guess my family couldn’t afford TV back then. But we had school BOOKS…

Same sentiment about scholars. Nothing personal against them, but nobody seems to know what significant contributions they are adding to our daily lives, besides tuning the ERP rates now & then. So sad of wasted talents (19 Apr, The New Paper reported 1 in 3 scholars, including PSCs, not happy with their scholarship). One would expect a govt-pushed Microsoft-type company by now. (ST, 26 Aug reported that A*Star startups have generated {ONLY} $35 millions in revenue to date).

I’m not keeping tabs of you, it’s just that I remembered someone asked about KPIs. Anyway, nice to have your views.

32. Well, school books are good enough though. Having a TV in the house was never easy. I always had to rush to finish my homework without sacrificing programs.

Only 35 millions in revenue ? So the profit is a fraction (e.g. 15% ?) only huh… In the commercial world, ROI is measured to the tune of 7-10 times a headcount cost. In recession, this changes to about at least 4 times.

I know you are not keeping tabs of me lah :-) Just that the entire subject is too huge for discussion. I don’t claim to know everything, but I have works on KPIs in private sector though. At least experienced enough to tell from the outputs of policy makers they don’t know that much about KPIs. The other problem is the scholars think they are really that high flying. I know of one who came out to work in the private sector, and he said it’s tough cos there are budget scrutinies. Give me a break, budget scrutinies were there all along in private sectors! What we can do is whenever there are some TOC issues which concern KPIs, we can have that as part of the discussion. Like I once said in another post, the civil service hierarchy has many high paying parasites (civil service is by nature a parasitic industry dependent on true revenue gerenating industries for survivial). We can have non-revenue KPIs, (e.g. TFR), but they are not even delivering on them and it will take these people years to discover the world has moved on.