Wednesday, September 2, 2009 12:55

S’pore 3rd world democracy, Malaysia 3rd world mentality

In Quotes • 1,196 views • 20 Comments

The main reason Prime Minister Tunku Abdul Rahman decided to kick Singapore out of Malaysia was the speech made by its then Prime Minister, Lee Kuan Yew, in the Malaysian Parliament in May 1965 questioning the Malay government in Malaysia… If 50 years of independence have given a deeper understanding of the poison sowed by Kuan Yew 40 years ago, the recent events mentioned would not have occurred.

Former Malaysian Information Minister, Datuk Zainuddin Maidin

1. Big Ideas That Changed The World : Democracy – Tony Benn
  2. Malaysia: Cops to hang for Altantuya murder
  3. Malaysia: whose God?
  4. Youth leaders from S’pore & Malaysia condemn attacks on Malaysian churches
  5. TOC’s focus on Malaysia

20 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

aygee
Sep 2, 2009 13:14

Anyone reading this quote, should read the comments on the article itself.

There’s inaccuracies to the Datuk’s speech. and he’s the former Information Minister. As always, Singapore is the boogeyman whenever racial politics is brought up.

First world democracy?? rrigggghtt……

prettyplace
Sep 2, 2009 14:50

There must be minutes of LKY’s speech, can that be retraced.

But everyone knows LKY and the then politicians(some ) wanted to break away from Malaysia. Now, every Singaporean knows it was a great idea, albeit my mum and dad’s families, relatives are in Malaysia.

mmm…about political freedom in Malaysia, it is still better then Singapore’s.

Moe Gan Thai
Sep 2, 2009 14:59

Dr Lee Seow Cho of Barisan Socialis was right not to join Malaysia . Why Lee Kuan Yew could not think of that ? What benefit can Spore get from joining M’sia ? Lee can’t be the PM because UMNO is the ” Tai Kor” (big brother) What is the actual Lee wanted to join M’sia ?? Nobody knows

abangadek
Sep 2, 2009 16:19

when singapore was part of the colonial system, leekuanyew was branded a communist by the BRITISH master as some of you peeps hear of his fellow compatriot limchinsiong…so singapore all that while could not gained independence on its owned..we had to be with malaysia as part of the federations..we had to pay a monthly/yearly of our taxes to kuala lumpur as part of the deal in return for goodies beside water..one fine day leekuanyew did a trick a very fine trick he gambled on seekin independance from malaysia…tenku abu rahman makes 1 silly little mistakes..he assumed singapoor will die of starvations without abang malaya with all the natural resources just liked the former 1/2 blind indonesian preacher president who labeled us tiny red dot…
henceforth
MERDEKA was formed…
see you youngsters never studied history i also never get tutioned from confusius, yet i know…

Chiang Hai Din
Sep 2, 2009 16:25

Umno led alliances was building their nation based on racial representation,

PAP build the nation based on dead-loyal power concentration.

Both paries are good model for some african countries.

Chiang Hai Din
Sep 2, 2009 16:27

Lee Siew Chor shared the blame for forsaken Singaporean who did notsupport pap, the walk out from Parliament was a HUGE mistake. It lays ground for the one party rule till now

gemami
Sep 2, 2009 16:42

If the former Malaysian Information Minister is going to relate the kick-out to the current state of affair in Malaysia, then I am on Singapore’s side, yes, on the side of our former Prime Minister LKY.

Wven though the 50 years of Singapore rule under LKY is bringing heartaches to the people in recent times, the same cannot be said that it is LKY who is responsible for what Malaysia is in now. In fact, the Malaysian rulers would have done well to heed his warning and perhaps prevent what is happening in Malaysia right no. The mess that Malaysia is in at the moment is its own doings, under the racial dominance of one race.

So, Mr Datuk, I am sorry but your comments are not welcomed here.

adekabang
Sep 2, 2009 18:47

Maybe you should have learnt some history from confusius.

It was not the half blind guy that labeled us ” the tiny red dot”. It was Habibi.

Noob
Sep 2, 2009 20:06

Read LKY’s book. He wanted Singapore to join Malaysia because Singapore is too small for him. He wanted to rule the entire Malayan state.

Those malay bumi count themselve lucky that the Tunku was smart enough to kick Singapore out. Otherwise, they’ll be working in Mac Donald’s if they are lucky

George
Sep 2, 2009 20:19

Sinkaporean still think they are more superior to Malaysian. Only if they open their eyes and see what is truly going on in their own tiny red dot. Corruption, obviously Sinkapore is free from it because it is make legal. Gahment could award themselves what ever sum of money they want. They just help themselves and we SinKaporean could do nothing about it except making noise. Even if democracy could jump up and bite our bum, we would not recognise it. We SinKaporean believed we live in the most advance democractic and free society in the world. We look down on our neigbours and a few brave soul who try to warn us to preserve our constitutional rights, we just ignore it., thinking we know better.

abangadek
Sep 2, 2009 22:23

[i]adekabang on September 2nd, 2009 6.47 pm Maybe you should have learnt some history from confusius.

It was not the half blind guy that labeled us ” the tiny red dot”. It was Habibi[/i]

wah1 you minister of education very powerfool hor
just 1 name wrong i kannaed 2 demerit points…
wah kor!
lucky no public cannin…
terima kasi banyak banyak…
ok student remember hor in future just answer 1 bloomin indonesian president labeled us tiny red dot..not sukarno or suharto hor…
hee hee..jagan besar kepala hor..main main sediap…

Amat
Sep 2, 2009 22:26

Your can read the parliamentary debate in verbatim from Malaysian Parliament Hansard document here:

http://www.parlimen.gov.my/hansard.php

go to 1965 > Dewan Rakyat > Mei 26, 27, 31 Mei 1965

In the document, there are debates involving LKY, other MP including Mahathir then. The debates are very lengthy until night time.
Too much for me to read thru. If anyone can read all those, you can share it here.

What Change?
Sep 2, 2009 23:57

For more on this shitface read Malaysia Today blog entries http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/26382/84/ and http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/26365/84/

SY
Sep 3, 2009 7:05

“Umno led alliances was building their nation based on racial representation,
PAP build the nation based on dead-loyal power concentration.
Both paries are good model for some african countries.”

I agree with the part about PAP being a good model! If African countries could follow Singapore’s model and achieve our level of human development and good governance, Africa would be a far happier place. Africa needs strong, able and clean governments more that it needs freedom of assembly. Yeah!

The Secret Political Blog
Sep 3, 2009 8:50

Analysis of the Utusan Melayu Attack on Lee Kuan Yew

Behind Zainuddin Maidin’s attack on Lee Kuan Yew lay deeper issues besides how evil our Minister Mentor is. Which is really a subject that we don’t need a Malaysian newspaper to tell us of.

Let us focus on the deeper issue at hand:

What is the motivation of Maidin’s newspaper column, “History is no teacher”?

To understand so, it is crucial to establish the context of Maidin’s article. Utusan Melayu, the newspaper in which the article was written, has historically been under control of the Malay Ultras, the more extremist branch of Malay Chauvinism, and is Pro-UMNO, the Malaysian political party which is un-apologetically pro-Malay.

The timing of the article, recently after Malaysia’s national day was concluded, at a time when patriotic or rather Malay racial pride is at a high and easily manipulated, points to the true motive of Maidin – that is to arouse Malay Nationalism. Our Old Man was just a convenient scapegoat to direct racial hatred against. In fact, our Old Man has already established his role as serving to be a figure of hatred during the merger of the 60s, when Malays, both Singaporean and Malaysian, regularly burnt effigies of him. Anyone feel like joining me in practicing some “traditions”?

But why the need to arouse Malay Nationalism now? The reason is due to the unprecedented 2008 Malaysian general elections in which UMNO and its Barisan Nasional coalition failed to win the two-thirds supermajority it traditionally enjoyed and the opposition rapidly gaining ground. What is more alarming to UMNO is that its share of the Malay vote has been eroded with the PAS (Pan-Malaysian Islamic Party), a moderate Islamic party gaining.

Full article at http://secretpoliticalblog.blogspot.com/2009/09/analysis-of-utusan-melayu-attack-on-lee.html

R.o.D.
Sep 3, 2009 21:30

A Malaysian politician playing to his own base. No worries.

Anyway, economic indicators are a better judge of this piece of history than anyone’s words in my humble opinion.

Thumbs up if you agree!

unabel
Sep 5, 2009 12:27

Friends, the Malays would never agree to meritocracy at least not for the next fifty years until majority of their rural folks change their mindset in willing to be urbanised. Many knew that due to culture, they lack the will and perseverance to compete with the Chinese Malaysians and hence they are not so enamoured with globalisation which has its attendent undesirables.

Modernist
Jan 15, 2010 16:37

Isnt it amazing that in the midst of all the crisis that Malaysia is facing, they still have time to divert the attention and blame it on SIngapore and LKY? As usual SIngapore is the root of their problems.

They shd really read LKY’s old speech in 1965 printed in Malaysia Today:

http://malaysia-today.net/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=29632:lkys-old-speech-made-in-1965-vs-najibs-1malaysia&catid=18:letterssurat&Itemid=100129

Nazryn
Feb 15, 2010 22:01

just look at the set of arrogant comments here, it just show that superioir mentality so self dellusional….haha

Ex-Malaysian
Feb 15, 2010 23:11

This Zainuddin Maidin guy, lest readers are unaware, is an Indian Muslim (aka Mamak).  Look at his photo.  Darker than Dr Mahathia.  Forgive him.  He’s has to be seen by the Malays as more Malay than the average Malay to be endorsed as a Malay (right?) in Malaysia to be accepted and to enjoy the handouts and priveleges of a Malay (Bumiputra).  Incidentally, the other one is assemblyman Ahmad Ismail from Penang who recently labelled the minorites as “pendatangs” (immigrants) in a pot calling the kettle black situation the world knows the Red Indians or indigenous native aborigines of Peninsula Malaysia are but the Orang Asli!

I leave you with your own reflection.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook