Main Stories, Top Story - Written on Sunday, September 27, 2009 10:11 - 138 Comments
TOC Special Feature: Is Singapore really slum-free?
Location, location, location. Is that the only problem we have when it comes to housing for foreign workers? In Part One of this Special Feature, Stephanie Chok argues that the real ‘housing problem’ is the substandard living conditions thousands of men and women are made to endure daily in this prosperous, globally admired city.
Watch the video before you read the following article.
Stephanie Chok / Pictures by Damien Chng
Liu, 23, from Hebei, China, stayed in the basement of this condominium worksite at Cairnhill Rise for three to four months (see video above). He was sent to another worksite by his employer, Tiong Seng Contractors, around April 2009. (Why was he moved out? Liu was sent from worksite to worksite throughout his time working here, after this he was sent back to a Tuas worksite for a short period, and later to work at the Resorts World Sentosa site.)
In mid-September, his former co-workers were still living in that decrepit basement, surrounded by pools of “smelly water” [臭水]. Meal times, they gather to eat in makeshift areas, balancing styrofoam boxes on upturned buckets or sitting by their bug-infested beds. Drinking water is drawn from sinks which are lined with scum, sinks close to clogged toilets that remain un-repaired. One can only imagine the stench in this humid, damp basement where up to 200 men eat, live and rest, seven days a week.
Before this, Liu previously lived in a dormitory in Toa Payoh and an on-site container [集装箱] somewhere in Tuas. “These places must be much better than the condo basement, right?” I asked Liu. “They were even worse!” he retorts. Worse? I’m trying to imagine ‘worse’ than a toilet swilling with faeces and sleeping on a damp wooden board crawling with insects.
At the Toa Payoh dormitory,100 men were crammed into one big open hall. Bunk beds were lined side by side, with only a narrow path in between for people to walk, single-file. Personal belongings like suitcases were strewn on the bed (the only space available), or sometimes underneath them. “What if there is a fire? There will be casualties,” I said to Liu. He nods in agreement. It will be mayhem as hordes of people try to escape through tight, overloaded spaces. “We were not even told where the fire extinguisher is!”says Liu.
At Tuas, Liu lived in a container. There were 18 men squeezed into each container and cooking is not allowed. If you attempted to do so, you would be fined; if you had cooking utensils, they would be confiscated. How much is the fine? “I don’t know, I didn’t dare to risk it,” Liu smiles ruefully. Instead, $100-$120 is deducted from the workers’ salaries every month for meals that are delivered to the site – workers have no choice in the matter. This is a common practice. Workers complain that the meals delivered are inadequate, poor in quality and sometimes rancid as they are eaten only hours after delivery, causing food poisoning. (Liu has previously found worms in his food.) On-site, there were about 10 toilet stalls shared among 200-300 men from different companies, all living in containers.
The ‘housing problem’
Housing for foreign workers in Singapore is recognized as ‘problematic’. Yet what is often articulated as ‘the problem’ falls into the following categories: shortage of housing, legal versus illegal housing and, of course, where such housing is located. (Basically, the further away from Singaporean residents the better, as demonstrated by the Serangoon Gardens saga). The ‘problem’, however, if you asked the workers forced to live in cramped, ill-ventilated and unsanitary housing, may yield quite a different answer.
There are situations where bathing means scooping water from a giant communal tank – rain or shine, whether you’re well or running a fever, you are made to stand in the open with everyone else and douse yourself with cold water. Other novel shower routines include collecting water in a bucket so as to soap and rinse yourself while standing about in your underwear. After a 10 to 12 hour work shift, one can wait up to 11pm or midnight (if there is overtime work) just for the opportunity to bathe. This is what happens when you have up to a hundred men and only a few taps.
The buckets also serve another purpose – workers hand-wash their clothes in these buckets and put them up to dry wherever they can, stringing up makeshift clothes-lines or hanging damp clothing by their bed-frames. (To add to the indignity, workers’ salaries are deducted for such housing.)

Food storage is another issue. I once gave Guang, a construction worker living in a shophouse dormitory in Lavender, some Chinese New Year goodies. The entire horde was finished that same night! He later explained it was either him finishing it or the rats – there is no fridge nor pantry area to keep perishables and the dorm is rat-infested. “Why not complain to the authorities,” I asked. “They’ve already come before!” he says. According to Guang, conditions improved slightly just before the raid, but reverted to ‘normal’ soon after. “What to do?” he shrugged. No wonder he and his colleagues were dying to return home as soon as possible.
A phrase I’ve heard several times when I asked foreign workers from China about their living conditions is “恶劣” – disgusting. And not just disgusting, mind you, but “非常 恶劣” – exceptionally so. Jiang, 38, a construction worker, stayed in a room with 100 others. Ventilation was poor so it was unbearably hot. (Ever walked into a dormitory without windows? It feels like you’ve just been shoved into an oven and someone slammed the door shut.) The bed bugs, says Jiang, were intolerable, “I couldn’t sleep the whole night”. Jokes Xu, 39, also a construction worker, “Bed bugs, cockroaches and mosquitoes are our ‘close companions’ here in Singapore, they whisper sweet nothings [悄悄话] to us all night.”
The word ‘home’ connotes images of a warm and comfortable dwelling place, a haven in which we unwind, enjoy privacy, leisurely pursuits, and the company of loved ones. The fortunate among us experience this daily, but not enough do (and it’s not just foreign workers). Yet even at its most basic, a home is expected to be functional – a place to cook, eat, sleep, shower. In too many dormitories, even these needs are ill-considered.
There have been comments from some people that since these workers come from ‘Third World’ countries, they should be used to such poor living conditions. On the contrary, ‘it was never this bad back home’, is a sentiment I frequently hear from migrant workers themselves. Liu, for example, has experience as an internal migrant worker, having worked in Beijing doing construction work. While he has stayed on-site in buildings under-going construction, he insists that workers are never placed in the basement because it will be too damp and unsanitary.
There is often also disbelief – many foreign workers have expressed shock that such conditions exist in Singapore, a country they perceived, prior to arriving here, as ‘developed’ and wealthy. But soon comes the realization that such conditions exist here, for those on the margins. Liu is cognizant of the fact that while he and his fellow workers languor in filth at the bottom of this building, when completed, each apartment may be worth a few million dollars.

So here is what remains “恶劣” about this situation. The on-site basement that you see in the video is part of a development described as “luxury hilltop living with the privacy and seclusion of an exclusive resort”. The developer has boasted, on its website, of a net profit increase of 57% to $44.5 million for its 2008 financial year. Meanwhile, Liu’s employer, Tiong Seng Contractors, has won an award from the Building and Construction Authority for Construction Excellence. Its website lists a hosts of other awards and accreditations.
If these are profitable companies with business clout, why are they not even fulfilling a basic requirement of housing the workers building its prized projects decently? Workers who toil up to 12 hours a day, sometimes 7 days a week, to complete the projects that keep our economy humming.
——
Here are some more examples of the living conditions foreign workers endure:

138 Comments
Singapore, where is your humanity?
Million dollar Ministers, where is your conscience?
They will just tell you that is the reason why they built the serangoon hostel.
The day we start to value each human life as equally valuable is the day our nation starts moving towards a more enlightened way of leading our lives.
We have a long way from that day.
But we can begin today.
Sincerely,
Eric
Good Job TOC! This is the type of investigative journalism that we need from the New Media. 2 thumbs up!!!
Very sad indeed.
I think Sgreans are actually not really that heartless. It’s just that they don’t know about these things.
MSM n ST journos, you ought to be ashamed of yourselves. Instead of re-typing PAP speeches, please, do some real reporting. No need to keep telling us how wonderful Singapore is.
No wonder no Singaporeans want to take up the job of a construction worker.
Contrast this with the living conditions of construction workers in Australia, UK and the US. We’re a freakin’ first-world country indeed!
How terrible! It’s inhuman to treat fellow human beings like this. That toilet with overflowing shit is a health calamity waiting to happen.
I can imagine construction company chiefs saying they are in the business to make money, not to be Mother Teresas. But there must be limits below which we should not sink in providing basic dwelling and sanitation.
A concerted effort is required — MOM, the NEA, the health authorities, etc etc — with migrant community leaders (TWC2, hope you are listening) providing assistance and inspection, to rectify this abominable situation.
Congrats TOC, for this expose. But please continue to follow up and see what action is taken by the authorities. Three months down the road, pls do a BEFORE and AFTER report.
We’re not a first world country la. Just because the govt and media keep telling you does not make it so.
We are participating in the G20 as part of the developing nations. We have a looooooooooooooooong way to be first-world. -chuckles-
stan on September 28th, 2009 9.27 am
You wld’nt surprise that SG dormitory will end up like the video shown, because they going to house as many FWs there. I pity the residents staying near to this domitory if it happen.
It breaks my heart to see this. Confirms my suspicion that Singapore led by this government has become just a glossy facade, deprived of compassion and even exploiting the poor. While the government aid the rich to suppress the poor, we stand by and do nothing. We close both eyes, because it inconveniences us to care, it impedes our personal chase for money and status.
Good work Stephanie and TOC, they have done whatever they can, what we can do now and in future is to speak out against social and humanitarian injustices the way we see it, and stop beating about the bush, afraid of offending people in power all in the name of self-preservation. It will render us nothing but cowards, silent conspirators enjoying the luxury that is Singapore at the expense of others. Sometimes not speaking out means consent, because we don’t object, the government will assume we’re fine with it. We have to be reminded that there is no dignity in abetting inhumane behaviour.
Many readers here take comfort in bashing the PAP on this site, I am guilty of that on many counts. What’s needed for positive change is positive action. And it’s all of us who need to bring that about, by voting out this government whose main obsession is GDP growth at any cost. Instead of being an obedient digit, I’d rather be a citizen with a soul.
I’ve long felt the foreigner vs Singaporean divide is a false one. We’re all in this together. If we allowe inhuman deeds to be done to other people, we will also allow them to be done to ourselves. One of your writers KJ had this line about Singapore I’ll always remember: “the chimera of skyscrapers and the reality of slums.” How true.
‘FIRST WORLD COUNTRY’ ???
patriot
Good job TOC. Heart breaking stuff.
Maybe Miss Sumiko Tan would like to consider paying these poor workers a visit after her Prada shopping at Taka. Instead of whining about her lack of men in her life, she can also write about the plight about these workers. Or even better, find a lover there. I am sure these honest hardworking men are good enough for her if not better.
get the whole bunch of million dollar ministers and MPs to visit such sites. there are everywhere for construction site in sg.
they dont preach what they teach.
To be fair i think it takes 2 hands to clap.
1. The conditions were deplorable and i think squeezing hundreds into tiny containers is definitely exploitation by these companies and contractors. MOM explore how this can be regulated. it is really sad how many companies treat their workers like cattle !
2. On the other hand, the state of the facilities i could have also been self inflicted. dirty and choked toilets – how do you think this came about ? if the workers themselves dont wash their own toilets and clear the chokes, who will ? hire maids for them ? they will also need to learn not to throw tissue into urinals ? the companies that bring them over need to provide information and training for them on how these facilities work too !!
Compare the work of TOC and its volunteer writers with those lapdopgs at SPH. They shld be ashamed of themselves. Also that minister who said Whoa everymonth I see my CPF statement ah, I feel so rich you know!
Good luck SIngaporeans!!!
I wonder where if The National Integration Council, chaired by Minister for Community, Youth and Sports Dr Vivian Balakrishnan is willing to part another 10 million or more for these foreign workers?
Why are these ‘foreign workers’ left out in dirty dormitories while the other upper class of foreign talents get to party with 10 million? Somehow ‘meritocracy’ in the government system is playing a cruel game.
Are those ‘foreign talents’ living in Condos build by these foreign workers? What a shame.
Hey Steph,
Great job on this piece!
It is such a gross violation of human dignity to have people (regardless of who or what they are) living in such squalor.
Singapore prides itself on a lot of things but never on its humane-ness because we are so sorely lacking in it.
If our local media continues to gloss over or ignore such travesties, perhaps, it would do good to actually offer foreign media the opportunity to visit these places.
It might help to kick the people who run these dormitories out of their complacency and to accept responsibility for the well being of these workers.
benedict
Tiong Seng Contractors are listed under A1 category by the Building Authority. Which means they have unlimited tendering limits. Foreign workers earn peanuts and live in a sh*t hole while their board of directors make their millions.
Feedback them:
http://www.tiongseng.com/contact.html
http://www.bca.gov.sg/ContractorsRegistry/contractors_tendering_limits.html
No point spending millions of $$$$$ having F1 and F1Rock etc if this sort of abuse and practice is allowed to go on and shown to the whole world in cyberspace. Those who have the authority to change the situation should act now. Where is your conscience? Its BAD KARMA !
Nice to see right after lunch. Urk.
The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 28 Sep 2009
[...] – TOC: Is Singapore really slum-free? – Diary of A Singaporean Mind: ERA report : More evidence price rise due to foreign [...]
MOM approved work-site?!
This certainly looks like a health hazard – we should get Min. of Health and the Environ Min. to issue their opinions on these, and see how MOM defends its ass.
Does MOH and ENV have jurisdiction over MOM-approved sites?
Dear Stephanie Chok and Damien Chng,
I’m shocked and speechless to read your above report with terrifying pictures, still wondering these already lost long ago unhygiene enviroment really happening in our country that’s so famous with a good reputaton for Clean and Green City State ???
Please set up your HOTLINES for more tipoffs about these bad practices, I am very sure you’ll be busy to capture more FT’s cramping in rental room or house that have causing Misery to Neighbours humble living.
Thanks for your good works in reporting, and would like to learn more……..
Regards,
Local Citizen
上 梁 不 正 下 梁 歪 !
See the parable ? We also have our ministars living in their ivory towesr with $3M to $4M salaries, while most of us are survivng on a $3 to $4K income.
I think this is why PM Lee warned our lapdog ST reporters against ‘crusading journalism’. Soon Singaporeans will rise up and VOTE THEM OUT. Shitty country they have turned Singapore into.
Keep it up TOC. Your dedicated volunteers put all those ST lapdogs to SHAME.
I agree with the poster above who said Singaporeans have a heart, except they do not know about the condition. Thanks TOC for bringing this to our attention, but we now need action and explanation.
These cases of inadequate housing conditions should be brought to the attention of the relevant authorities. Basically – BCA, MOM, PUB, NEA, SCDF. Maybe Straits Times as well, but one wonders if such a depressing piece of news would be featured?
Hopefully spreading the word by linking to this page and the video would bring their attention to the incompetency of government authorities since MOM was notified such a long while ago. I would think that THIS should be made priority because it is more than monetary claims; it involves basic living conditions of human beings.
To 16) Nick,
These dorms are filled with people in less than adequate quantity of sanitary conditions. That probably happened in one or two days because of the number of people in there vs number of toilets. What’s wrong with throwing tissue into the toilets? It does not clog as much as other things people flush. It is also appalling that you think these people uncivilised enough to require ‘training’. Please.
truly truly ashamed! the government just looks after the companies and only pay lip service to the workers, consider the transport they are ferried in. this government is really heartless and does not deserve to be even remotely associated with socialism which they claimed to be in their early years.
same on the bureaucrats and the politicians. i am ashamed to be a singaporean after watching the video clip and reading the article……………………
The MOM and NEA Officals got to be shot. This is the kind of standard of living in S’pore.What ever party involved should do something to improve the situation.
Tiong Seng is supposed to be a Class A1 Contractor under the Singapore Building Construction Authority (BCA) Registry of Contrators. In order for Tiong Seng to be registered and given a Class A1 licence (so that it can tender for public projects of unlimited value), it must have a good Safety, Health and Environment (SHE) record. In order to have a good SHE record, Tiong Seng is supposed to comply with all the regulations relating to the health and welfare of its workers which forms part of the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) conditions in the issue of work permits for these workers. To have such deplorable living conditions for its workers, it seems obvious that Tiong Seng has contravened the MOM regulations.
Now the question would be why is MOM not prosecuting big time contractors like Tiong Seng when MOM are already aware of such living conditions ? Only MOM can provide the answer.
From what I am aware, the employment of foreign workers is a big business for some contracting agents because big money is involved. Even our Govt benefits because of the levy system involved through the issue of work permit quotas from MOM. With the issue of work permit quotas, these excess quotas are then sold to the highest bidder (or desperate contractor) in the form of hard cash, contract or material discount in the world of wheeling and dealing. This will explain why the work permit of some foreign workers are issued under different project and company names. And when these particular foreign workers happened to be involved in a worksite accident especially serious ones, a fictitious “sub-contract” is quickly prepared to account for such exchange of foreign workers. And many a times, the skill of such workers are “non-existent” to play around the loophole of paying a smaller levy to MOM.
The MOM seems to have rules for everybody but appears to be only interested in collecting the levies. The big time contractor boys play around all these loopholes to extract the biggest discount from the subcontracting agent when offering these work permit quotas to the highest bidder. The subcontracting agent in turns extort the maximum returns from the poor foreign worker. That’s why you hear so many stories of the poor foreign worker having to borrow or pawn their live savings in order to make a decent living in Singapore.
It’s all a vicious cycle stemming from a rigid work-permit system from our MOM to the predatorial system of our big-time Contractors to ensure that they are able to put in competitive tenders & our greedy manpower recruiting agencis in exploiting the poor foreign workers.
As Alfian Sa’at’s poem says: “Singapore you are not my country”
This is not the Singapore that I am proud of.
This is NOT my country.
Unbelievable that such living conditions exist in Singapore.We’ve become number in a lot of things at the expense of poor workers from developing countries. Other than expressing outrage on line, what could we do to offer some kind of help. Our Govt are too obsessed with breakneck economic growth at all costs and have become immune to people beneath them. Their eyes are only trained on joining the prestigious G20, the tycoons, FI car race and disguised casino IR, and the election machinery, and nothing else matters. How could we be reduced to such a stage.
“What’s wrong with throwing tissue into the toilets? It does not clog as much as other things people flush. ”
Surprisingly, no-one even mention the possibility of toilet breakdown. Could it that toilet is broken but yet the contractors refuse to bear the cost of repairing it because they are not in business of becoming “Mother Teresa” ?
No kidding that Singapore toilet is disgusting. Just visit some of the coffeeshops and you find that the toilet is non-functioning. Cannot flush toilet but yet you have the wayang infrared light blinking and flashing, 2 hours later, more shit will pile up.
this money faced country has lost its sense of humanity in the pursuit of profit.
Let the MIW taste their own shit in next election.
#33) Alan Wong – thanks for the very revealing analysis.
The next question we should ask MoM is what r their measures of of ‘good’ or acceptable health standards & environmental practices, and how they comply with Health Min. & NEA standards and laws.
And does MoM have the capability and relevant expertise to determine what constitutes ‘good’ health and environmental practices or SHE record in order to issue and renew work permit licenses?
Is MoM breaking the law when it allows such unsafe health & environmental practices to occur in worksites that are purportedly their ‘turf’?
I always wonder what to do after the expressing shock/horror/anger/disgust part. As an ordinary news reader, what should I do? Should I write to MOM? Tiong Seng? ST? How aware of this is MOM?
What can I do to make conditions improve?
Dear all,
We understand that late last week, the MOM raided the “dormitory” featured in the video above. However, the workers are still living there as of today (Monday, Sept 28). The workers told us that all that the MOM did was have some people sweep away the pools of water in the dormitory. There were no information or instructions given to the workers, they told us.
The other pictures we have put up are from earlier reports we have done. They’re to show the different ways employers are using to house these workers. Some of the workers in the pictures have been moved elsewhere or have been sent home to their respective countries, and some of the dormitories have been closed down by MOM after it came to know about them.
What can we do? If you come across any of such conditions, let us know. You can also speak to the workers who’re upgrading your lifts, or those at construction sites. Ask them about how they live, whether they’re paid, etc…
There is nothing to stop us S’poreans from caring about these workers who help us build our homes. It is only right that we appreciate them and make sure they are adequately taken care of.
At the end of the day, we the citizens of Singapore must care.
There is nothing to stop us from doing so.
i personally know tiong seng constractor quite well. all they want is at the day, they are making millions just like the ministers. the rest of subcons and suppliers so as lesser mortal living in hell and keep suffering. the wealthy and power are suppressing the poor and have not in sg.
By the way, perhaps we should also email our respective MPs and get them to visit these sites, or at least to ask some tough questions in Parliament.
All I can say is Slavery is in Singapore. I wonder when are International Human Rights Organizations going to clamp down these nonsense & glorify Singapore as a modern slavery country.
#43 TOC…my MP seems to be dealing only with municipal matters like lifts, cleaniness & carpark availability issues etc. During his walkabout last month, he asked ‘How, any problem?” got me stumped for a long moment cos I dun know what kind of ‘problem’ he was referring to but i suspect they have a special talent for ‘localizing’ problems.
The major issue here is health beside other immportant issues – the accommodation is a breeding ground for disease. In a crowded island, contagious disease spread like wide fire. The Ministry of Health should be aware of such condition. Do we need a disaster before we do something? We claimed to be the best in many things and certainly this one is not on the list. It is not something we could be proud of. As Sinkaporean, we are used to “looking down” on others people but this one is happening right in our country. Is it because they are foreigners? Or is it our incorruptable ministers’ brief do not include such issue? In either case, as fellow human such inhuman treatment must not be allowed to persist in our country.There are rules and regulation that exist now that would enable the authority to prosecute the employers. We have the best minister that money could buy and why is the appropriate ministry not doing their job? I am sure they are monitoring the cyper space including TOC but they are more interested about the political issues then humanity. Keeping in power is the only objectives and social issues including those of Sinkaporean is not of importance except maybe during GE.
GKY will tell all those foreign workers not to be choosey!!
lol…
The government dont give a damn about it. With millions of wasteful dollars in the minister’s pocket they will surely kept quiet about this. This is beyond horrible, how can foreign workers live in this terrible living condition, the worst part of all is the toilet clogged with faeces. Omg wheres the action from the government?! They build our houses, flats, malls, condos, park, cleaning up estates. But is this the gift we gave them, in return??? They too contribute to the economy. Those selfish and greedy companies should be ashamed of themselves. They are both immoral and inhumane in treating the foreign workers. Im so frustrated about this!
great whistleblowing piece. one of those times i’m really glad TOC exists as a voice for those marginalized on the fringes of our dystopic society. continue to do a great job doing a job few of us will ever have the guts to undertake.
Strict regulations on how foreign workers are treated and paid will greatly benefit all workers, including locals. If foreign workers are paid the same wages as locals, and strict regulations govern their employment, they will not be attractive to employ anymore VS locals. There won’t be so many of them too. And those who are working here will go home with good impressions of singapore.
This is a horrifying disgrace – esp to give them living conditions even beneath 3rd world countries.
If only Gayle (writer of integration article) has read all these comments. Identity and integration become useless chatter. Perhaps TOC should invite this Literacy scholar to write about humanity.
Great job, Stephanie! I can recognise more and more the style of report and thats what I was missing back in Spore, now possible because of the Internet.
Do you have any idea how many hours a day or a week these workers are made to work? I think every minute is time to earn the money they need to survive. Do they have the luxury of time to upkeep or tidy their accomodation like Nick @16 commented? Who should impose rules to use facilities properly, bearing in mind there are 200 residents sharing them? I tend to think the employers leave them on their own to fight it out. Luckily they seem to tolerate each other like the bad eggs who do stuff tissues in the urinals.
Do not mistaken this First Worst Country for a First World Country – the former in its many aspects has long been showing signs of them – which ,many of us can see and will readily agree hor …………
Really shameful!
Dunno what else to say.
Irresponsible and mercenary with no conscience. I all too agree that the reason why we think singapore is such a great place is because we dont know about it. The government has done a really good job in propaganda. The worst part is that the whole singapore government is mostly controlled by 1 party, from the courts to the head of ministry. The political system is a sham. What MOM is doing is just trying to show those people that discovered the conditions of the dormitories that they are doing something. The government is too damn greedy, what is a lost of revenue of few hundred million. we certainly do not need another shopping mall to destroy the environment.
This contractors are also guilty, have they no trace of humanity in their souls, or are they just souless. The Impressions that are a left on these workers are like mental scars. Whats more, these workers sometimes come from uprising countries like china. These countries will become more powerful, and they will certainly remember us, albeit not in a good way.
#6 Jude wrote:
I think Sgreans are actually not really that heartless. It’s just that they don’t know about these things.
What about those who do know? including the bosses and employees of the construction company? And maybe also some of the people at MOM, NEA and other government agencies?
Are they not Singaporeans? Truly heartless!
Does TOC intend to get further legal or human rights advice on the above situation. Maybe they should work with SDP or foreign embassies on human rights issues.
I believe TOC may need to network and form an advisory panel in future with other political parties, legal and journalism society/groups for further recourse.
Actually most of your grandfather gone through worst when they first landed in Singapore, they were shoeless, jobless and homeless. This Chinese nationals are like your grandfather and Singapore has such an excellent system where by the 3rd generation the family would be living in at least 5 rooms HDB or Condo otherwise they only have themselves to blame. So there isn’t anything unusual, just like any ordinary Singaporean ad the only difference is that your grandparents had paid on your behalf where as they are paying now for their grandchildren to enjoy later.
If you do not agree than you should not blame anyone when price of HDB increases again.
leesjuanpat (patrick leesjuan)
Why are the authorities closing their eyes on such demeaned conditions of living by the foreign workers. Are they not human beings?
And the construction company can win awards. It really makes a mockery of the whole system. Someone need to step out to answer for this.
It is a total disgrace to bring in millions of FWs and subjected them to such hardship conditions of living. This revelation by TOC is only a tip of the iceberg.
Many other harsh conditions of living are not publicised.
The PAP government are only interested in collecting per head levy on every FW coming to Spore and leave everything to the Employers to take care of the rest.
It is a case of corroboratiion in evil doing with the revelant authorities not to take remedial action to better the living conditions of the workers.
Today’s news on 93.8 radio broadcast statistics of 1.25 million foreigners in a
total population of 5 million. Official news.
A first world country torturing foreign workers living in conditions worst than third world citizens. Basically, the workers are not treated as humans but animals to be slaughter in an abatoir. A total shame to the government of PAP.
The government will soon pay a price as the government expenditure cannot be justified.
Look the shit they created.
Andrew Leung,
Lets see if the mainstream media reports on this first. Normally, they will get MOM to comment (so that their report is “balanced”). (After two weeks, I am still waiting for MOM to reply to me on another case.)
Do not overlook who ultimately gain from this situation.
It is never the construction company who hire those folks, they tender their contract on razor thin margin running into red if cost are not controlled.
It is the landlords and PAP (the biggest landlord) who win all.
If MOM imposed stringent sanitation standards, the construction company will not be able to pay. They will bid for higher tender. And providing reasonable sanitation is NOT CHEAP. How many floor space, copper wire, flouresence tube, latrine, pipes one got to lay?
It will then hit the pocket of LKY, Ng teng fong ….etc.
When I started to read Marx recently, I realise Singapore is the country of blood sucking capitalist that fit best the description.
I think the gahmen will take action when this video finds its way onto BBC or CNN.
We should also ask the Workers Party how come they not interested in foreign workers welfare.
Please circulate such pictures to Foreign Workers in their home towns become they come here to work in Singapore. They have the right to making informed decisions.
Do something you can be proud of in your life
Dear all esp Sharon @40
Email this to all your friends & relatives. Spread the news. The more people know about it, the more chances of change.
57) Singaporekia
Yep !
The video mentioned the dormitories are around Orchard area.
Since MM Lee, PM Lee families are staying around the place, they should set an example “to love thy neighbour”.
MM Lee, PM Lee, Ho Jinx & famiLee should pay a courtesy to visit these people & clean up all the mess.
In the 80’s & 90’s, the majority foreign construction workers are Thai, India or Bangladesh. Not many know them well due to language barriers but now with Chinese nationals + internet, many are now aware how these workers are treated.
Many Local construction comapnies (including those on HDB projects, petrochemical, infrastructure, etc) are so call “A1″. But “A1″ is only for the directors & bosses only.
When time to give out bonus, they claim the money is use for investment but these assholes get themselves big houses & cars, treating their workers worst than slaves.
MOM & MOE officals will get “excited” when Election is coming or someone died of illness but now they are worry about retrenchment.
“Actually most of your grandfather gone through worst when they first landed in Singapore, they were shoeless, jobless and homeless.”
“If you do not agree than you should not blame anyone when price of HDB increases again.”
I wonder what kind of argument is this. Is thing oversimplify ?
When my grandfather came here without shoe, without job, without home, the government been for the people, by the people, and from the people, built “really affordable” housing then, and ensure that everyone has a roof and that people don’t have to pay housing for 30 years. Needless to say, citizens trust the government to keep their promise and not disappointed then. It doesn’t matter my grandfather couldn’t afford large house because he is poor (or should I blame him or my father for my plight now because they is not wealthy like those MIW who can buy bungalows (full payment) to live and rent ?)
But now the old guards are now gone, leaving a tyrant and his cronies to run government of what is now Singapore Incorporated with profit as the main objective. and that is why people no longer trust the government and ask why the housing is priced beyond their reach now. No one says that HDB flat don’t increase its price, but to increase significantly at the expense of majority of citizens, and who major purpose is to generate money for TH and GIC for gambling ?
Who kidding who now ? If your argument is so valid, no one should complain about any unreasonable price hike because they have themselves to blame for being born a Singaporean first, since the blame can even extend to as far as grandfather. So blame it on grandfather for bad karma, or even blame myself for not born into Wong’s Can’t Sing’s family.
is this 1st world?
MSM got show this picture to its readers or not?
This IS News!
Is the ShittyToilet the blueprint for future F1 track ? Will be shit hell of a race. F1 rocks !
to lauLEE and all the million dollars ministars, it’s time to step down the golden steps of your ivory towers and feeling the situation on ground.
Try shitting in that feaces filled w.c. and you will understand how the ppl on the ground are so choked with your failed policies of relentless import of FTs and ever increasing prices of property & everything !
What an irony. For these Foreign Workers (FW) who built our hdb flats, condos and marina bay IR, you treat like worst than the lowest caste in their home country by housing them in conditions beyond destitutiion.
And yet for the FTs who compete with us for resources, for our depleting jobs, for our salaries and for our housing, you treat them like Kings and Queens and telling us to help them assimilate ?! And worst, spending $10M of citizen’s money to help them integrate into our society ?! And remind again me who voted them in ?
Singaporekia
post #57 on September 28th, 2009 7.41 pm
S’pore’s early migrants
1) need to pay govt any worker levy anot?
2) they came to seek better lives, not be treated as cheap labour to be exploited then possibly sent back home
3) have nothing to stop them from sinking their roots here.
do you think these labourers will be given PR status by our govt for their contribution?
Hmm…strange, there was some other earlier postings which were not agreeing with the points made within the article, but it does seems that TOC had taken them out. I wonder why?
Anyway, I believe the MSM is reading TOC everyday, so let’s see whether they have the conscience to also made known the plights and suffering of these FWs to the general public.
In addition, can Stephanie or TOC reveals the names of employers who had ill-treated these FWs. Surely they must have an employer before they are allowed to work here, or are these FWs illegal immigrants working in Singapore?
By the way, I do personally feel that it is quite misleading for the heading to read “Is Singapore really slum-free?”, as it is about the living conditions of FWs who are working here, but Singapore was never their place of domicile.
Write to Tiong Seng Contractors http://www.tiongseng.com/ to express your disapproval for housing their workers there and write to SC Global Developments http://www.scglobal.com.sg/ the developer that hired Tiong Seng Contractors to do the work!!
PM Wen should watch this video.
BTW–about the $10 million targetted for INTEGRATION—estimated $11 million already used to construct separate access roads to DISINTEGRATE the middle class Serangoon Garden from FW dorm .
FW not able to walk to Chomp-Chomp to eat.—etc etc
Rich and poor cannot mix—-poor and poorer can.
Where in SIN-apore are the Burmes junta children staying,again?
Let us intergrate only the rich the poor can eat shit.
These slums are just part of the sad story. My friends working in construction relayed me news of accidents resulting in death or disability.
Meanwhile, landlord including HDB are flushing with scandalous profits. This could have used to improve on the living condition and landloard still make $.
But specifying on the tender minimum working will simply hit their pocket as their sub-contructor will demand more $.
Now, ST tries to sell the idea that Singaporean are choosy and there are jobs (these slave shop jobs) around. Notwothstanding Singaporean are the most hardworking race in the world.
It is not Singaporean who cannot do the job. It is the blood sucking landlord who is trying to impose everyone slave shop working condition.
When we refuse, they bring in all these poor FTs and meanwhile ST keep parroting lazy Singaporean, crutch mentality, government take care of us…., Our government and landlord cheers.
Does anyone know which architecture firm is involved in this development?
Shame on those rich developers making good money at the expense of these poor workers.
The developer should pay higher salary to these worker so that they can rent hdb flat.
The Minster of Manpower receives how much in pay?
Need I say more?
This is the underbelly of our so-called first world country that our rulers struggle to hide from the world.TOC must do more to produce such clips as media like The Straits Times will never dare breath a word about such deplorable working conditions in our midst,let alone give us a video clip.
this is what happens when you destroy unions, labour laws and all institutional mechanisms for the individual to seek redress………the warsaw ghetto for these guys
I like to ask, how can this video be seen by the rest of singaporeans who prolly are not aware of such pathetic 3rd world situation in 1st world singapore in the orchard area?
i am sure tour guides dont bring them there to explore explore and jalan jalan ?
the saddest thing is singaporeans who are not readers of this blog may never see this video. So, the information is not reaching the majority.
Google Ads anyone?
Great job by Andrew and Stephanie.
2 thumbs up.
alas the video could not record the stench which will give readers a taste of the living condition.
number #82…majority of singaporeans…sadly..are apathetic…they are not interested! However…if u talk about our so called “national” dishes to be hijacked by our next door neighbour….then u will see pathetic singaporeans up in “arms” ready to fight for “justice”! That’s uniquely singapore for u!
Just a year ago – ironic! – the UN “found” that Singapore is slum-free:
http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_294742.html
“Singapore is the only city in the world without slums, a new report by the United Nations Habitat has found. ”
Wonder what they’ll say now…
The title is somewhat misleading. I thought it’s referring to slums where singaporeans are living in – and there are such places. This report isn’t about ’slums’, which refer to almost permanent ghettos for residents of a place, but the horrid temporary living conditions that foreign workers are living in.
Sadly this world bent on is exploiting the weak.
Your wants : Your branded clothes, your branded shoe, your branded toys, which you tires after 3 months.
Your wants are produced cruelly by juicing from some poor 3rd world workers’ desperate needs.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pgl7vDZ-jF8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xVuScVCF1Ws&feature=related
blackfeline @84
How can people be considered apathetic if they do not know whats wrong in the first place? Its more acccurate to pinpoint ignorance first. Like ‘hibiscus’ @85 post about the UN report. Everything ugly in Spore is well hidden away. Every figure for the statistics is well dressed up. A one-room flat occupied by a family of 5 is considered a roof over your head, plain noodle without any vege or meat is considered food on the table (I have seen with my own eyes a young boy buying this to save money) etc, To ‘angry_one’ @86, yes I think TOC can do a similar take on the one-room flats and interview the families there how they live.
ref: blackfeline @84, ‘hibiscus’ @85 , ‘angry_one’ @86
How can people be considered apathetic if they do not know whats wrong in the first place? Its more acccurate to pinpoint ignorance first. Like ‘hibiscus’ @85 post about the UN report. Everything ugly in Spore is well hidden away. Every figure for the statistics is well dressed up. A one-room flat occupied by a family of 5 is considered a roof over your head, plain noodle without any vege or meat is considered food on the table (I have seen with my own eyes a young boy buying this to save money) etc, To ‘angry_one’ @86, yes I think TOC can do a similar take on the one-room flats and interview the families there how they live.
So people, the least you can do is to SPREAD THE NEWS. Email the link to firends and family.
It would be great opportunity for any opposition leaders to do a PR stint by living one day in the slum with the foreign workers. He records his own video diary and post it on the youtube. TOC can cover the story and release it to other press all over. This way, he will also win the heats & minds of the workers if ever the electoral rule is changed to include them.
Actually not necessary opp leaders, any opp contesting for MP can take the opportunity to get noticed this way. I am afraid it takes such shocking action to get positive attention of the electorate, and to make a difference.
Seng Han Song so the very song
Too bad readers (minority singaporeans), this will never reach the eyes of the majority HA HA HA HA ……..HA!
Too much topic on FT and foreign workers living conditions and lifestyle in Singapore. Is not of significance. Key they are not living in slum as claimed. Key they are saving cost living under the bridge of the uncompleted construction site.
What is the problems if they choose it. There are many local Sinkaporean staying under the bridge along the Nicoll Highway and this is not reported. Some are even living at void deck etc.
Go to North Bridge Road and look at the living conidition of those one room flat and you will understand the conditions those sick, old , destitute are living in . They are dirty, smelly and not clean for years too. Why ????? Too old to do any cleaning and also no $$$$ to buy detegent or pain to sprout up the living condition.
Many other one room flat are in this condition but are not reported. Virtually the local reported , CC , MP have forgotten Sinkaporean and the focus is now directed at FT as a strategy to turn our attention away from the global recession. Unemployment is the top agenda and nothing is reported much to date. Training and retraining are going no ware . Even part time jobs in hospital are thrown out for those age 45 above. (Employment agent are throwing them out, WHY ? HR from hospitals are given directives to engage young).
Talking about FT insurance for FT, Maid etc to be up. Look around why many local sinkaporean Ah Soh, Ah Pei, young, middle age working on part time, contract are without insurance, perks and even CPF. What has the relevant MP or department done .
Key is FT running into the local Singaporean blood . They are indispensable , we need them so badly to suppress the wages, take away jobs (many unemployed), competitions for universities places, jammed the MRT etc. Or they are important for the STATE coffer rather than a lifeline to support the greying population.
Mid career and those in their 60’s,70’s are healthy and able to work with a reasonable income should be able to take care of themselves. We dont need the FT as claimed.
Lastly is a fact they are robbing Singaporeans of their Rice Bowl and turning living conditions in Singapore household to bite the bullets.
Only CIVIL SERVANTS and CEO are enjoying themselves in today climate in Singapore….. PSC motto nobody get sack even how bad the situation are.. Who wrote it …they are prrotecting themselves the smart scholar.
People knowing the truth is what PAP is most afraid of otherwise they won’t have to control MSM (through licence) and even opp newsletter have to be passed by the ‘authorities’.
Seng Han Song @91 is challenging us to spread this news so that it gets read by the majority of Singaporeans. What fun! Businesses can already conquer the world through the internet, he is talking about majority Singaporeans. Lets spread it to the World, not just little Spore!
Most of FT rented unti are flood with many FT flatmate. This are what they are looking at. They are just looking at cost saving and not at the liing conditions.
Personally saw a FT house along Farrer MRT there , those 3 story shophouse. Easily 20 plus China FT staying there with extended third story. Even the living room is filled with a camping tent .
With so many people staying under one roof … whose faults. They want it and who care about the cleanliness or conditions. Key is make a living, earn the $$$$ and fly off to my home land and be a millionaires.
Dont report this findings ..move around and see for yourselves in many housing estates. They like it.
Boon Lay area, FT slum in prroper HDB flat. Not reported. Just look around the slum condition they are living in even a proper HDB flat is allocated for the FT.
Same like Sinkaporean working as security guard ( 12-14 hours) paying 1000-1500 .One off day is a sgood as resting after long day. How much left to clean up the places, wash up the dirty clothing etc. Is as good as round the clock work and work and die from working .
Reality sucks doesn’t it? But that’s just it, that’s just how screwed up it is here in Singapore. What to do? I mean, what CAN we do? Any suggestions? But seriously, MSM and ST can take their bloody heads and stuff it into that toilet clogged with shit.
TOC, good job digging this out, the only problem is, where exactly do we go from here?
peace =)
is MOM being informed about the TOC article. How about let MOM know, if they do nothing after knowing, then we have evidence to show that they fail to do their duty
justkaypoh:
Zaobao reported it today (Tuesday, 29 Sept):
http://www.zaobao.com/sp/sp090929_002.shtml
Zaobao also reported it on its front page in its printed edition.
MOM knows.
It is great that the plight of foreign workers is highlighted. But how about putting the spotlight on the thousands of Singaporeans who live under the same conditions. Many are living like refugees in their own country.
Oh well, that just adds Gan Kim Yong to the same list which WKS belongs to. The ‘it’s an honest mistake let’s move on’ list.
Not third living but fourth or fifth world living in Singapore and co-existing with first world living.
Ask old fellow, Laulee to come and see for himself.
Publicise the award winning contractors for dehumanising their foreign workers.
Go tell the world that fifth world living is thriving in Sing.
Shame Shame Shame
yes, the singapore chinese zaobao does an expose but stops short of asking if MOM is the DEFAULT ACCOMPLICE to this disgusting state of affairs?
The newspaper parrots MOM’s whole long list of fines for errant contractors.
MOM is made to look innocent by threatening to use the whip ($4,000 fine is lame in contrast to the fat millions, a contractor makes; how do u explain contractors blatantly commiting the crime in the heart of Orchard road).
So, is MOM totally ignorant of prevalent or past conditions? why does MOM lack the will to dedicate resource for monitoring contractors stringently when the shit-in-your-face facts are everywhere? The article cites a MOM taskforce, yet the Orchard slumhouse has been around till today!
Is economics really more critical than human decency?
Why is there no whistleblowing channel available to the foreign worker at MOM?
Does the foreign worker really believe this is the expected humiliation he or she has to stomach?
i suggest sending many FWs back home so the dorms wouldn’t be so packed, overcrowding wouldn’t occur and sanitation facilities will not be overused to the point of becoming faulty! anyway, i’m sure they’ll all be happy cos their life back home will probably be better than 3rd world singapore. i mean why would they even want to come here and work as hard labourers??
alternatively, kind, loving and caring singaporeans (like commenters on this post, including myself) can come together, pool some funds, give them to these labourers so that they can afford to buy houses and luxury goods like us!
ilikecomplaining @102,
Some are conned thousands of dollars from borrowed money to come (this excludes the levies they have to pay the Spore contractors). There is a network of labour ‘trafickers’ who are like a mafia group. The labourers mostly come from countrysides back home wanting to work in cities, they think all that glitters in Spore are gold and there is plenty of gold to pick in the streets of Spore if they work hard, as promised by the trafickers.
Having borrowed the money to come in the thousands of dollars, there is no back tracking. These gangs held their family members back home as ransom. The labourers have to literally work to death and accept any condition. The only people who can help them out of this sh!t now is the Govt of Spore. Exposing the story is the least ordinary people can do to pressure the authorities.
To the TOC team, you are going to make a difference in peoples lives through your writings, the first in Spore! I am sure the satisfaction you get out of it is far more than that of financial gain, which the leaders of this country would never understand. Keep going!
Slum does not differentiate between Singaporeans or foreigners. A slum is a slum.
Don’t know if this is relevant or not…but during the school holidays, MOE announced more support for elite/elitist SAP schools and yet my kids are stuffed 40 to a classroom in a neighbourhood school…and we are talking about 40 Normal Academic and Normal technical students here, the weaker pupils of the cohort! Hey! I had 40 classmates when I was in Primary 1 in 1979!
At least smart Singaporean make smart money from these FWs, Govermen and its law don’t care.
smart sing,
Is that all you know how to do – make money? You can stuff the $$$ down your throat and choke on it!
Those pictures that appear on this Thread make SIN looks
like a Shit Country.
patriot
If you think this is terrible, don’t just sit here and complain. Write to the company and express your indignation!
Anyway, Singaporeans’ attitude towards foreign workers probably will need to change to have an impact on this issue. If Singaporeans don’t welcome them, they will hardly care about their living conditions, will they?
this is singapoor..the foreign talents are brought in under the blessin of ALL the ministers who can sink high praise on them includin leekuanyew himself…
how they lived in quarters is not leekuanyew’s concerned when he himself ensured oxleyrise is a private road..even if you have money do you think you can buy a condo in oxley rise?if this were in britain or in europe..the rulin government would have STEPPED in and charged the employers for unfaIR HUMANE being mistreatment under the employment acts…
Alas if only that were true. Poor foreigners leaving in a cosmopolitan city like London or New York can experience quite bad living conditions. Particularly New York in one of those rent-control tenament buildings in the outer boroughs. Especially if you’re an illegal.
Singapore Slums « ASEAN Youth Rising!
[...] Singapore Slums 2009 October 1 by bennetthaynes From Stephanie Chok at the The Online Citizen: [...]
The MOM should know about this report by now. Lets see whether the MOM is willing to do anything about this!
92) Surprise
Entire blocks of one room rental flats where the old lives, were renovated for FREE with brand new bathrooms with elderly friendly features and entire living floor with new tiles, new light fittings and wiring, whole house repainted.
Go to Sago Street/ Sago Lane, the block (dunno block no) just behind the new BuddhistTemple for an example.
Shame on you, Singapore, for not taking care of your foreign workers.
this is so deplorable! but i wonder – do the workers also help in trying to make the place a little more livable by maintaining what they can?
i agree with #109 phillip > we should let more people know about such living conditions. education is the only way we’re going to get people to sit up and pay attention.
i’m not sure if MOM is going to do anything abt this…i don’t have much faith in them. there are hardly any employment laws in SG as there are “guidelines”. everything is a “guideline” when it comes to protecting employees.
anyone with film editing/camera skills want to go shoot this slums and youtube them? if we can generate half th buzz of ris low we can raise awareness and get something done to help these poor people.
I commend TOC and Stephanie and Damien for their excellent efforts in online photo-journalism.
Of course I feel outraged about this happening here. But to get emotional and then point fingers here, there and everywhere about it is useless.
I was once told when I shot my mouth off in criticising one of the high officials in one of the Ministries, “When you watch football, you can see who is playing badly and boo. Can you get into the field and play better football?” Good question. I shut up.
It is so easy to point the fingers at the Gahmen or MIW, and as usual, envy will poke fun at their millions of dollars in earnings. That is beside the point. Just look as see where the fault lies.
It isn’t that the Gahmen don’t know about these conditions. They know or suspect it exists, but don’t know where. You tell them.
Now they know. How can they step in? If they build dorms for these workers, you – the taxpayer- are going to pay for them. If not, the construction company is going to pay for them.
Dorms exist right now — they have to pay $20 per worker! Costs will escalate — they don’t have the money to pay the workers, to whom they will pass on the cost of $20 per month per worker.
Then must find transport from the nice dorms to the worksite. This will cost them (a) transport money (b) lost time in construction.
And time is of the essence. The sooner this condo gets done, the sooner the workers will be released from their hell-holes. If they are late in handing over the project, the contractor or developer must pay money to the purchasers for late delivery. (Speaking as someone who had compensation of $12,000 for 6 months late delivery of a house I bought!)
The contractor, or sub-contractor, who hired the workers should at least provide a working latrine, and teach the workers how to unclog it when it clogs. Come on, they are in the construction line and should know how to handle that!
A friend of mine in a terrace house never dares put tissue paper instead of toilet paper in her toilets. They clog up immediately. What do you think the workers use in place of toilet paper? Probably newspapers. In parts of China, a friend who visited tells me, you don’t put toilet paper into the toilet but into a wastebin next to the toilet. Saves on plumbing problems.
Have you any plans to overcome this problem that you can suggest to the MOM, or developer or construction companies? That would be positive feedback not a negative one – can complain but cannot suggest.
Right now, we want these people well-housed, but please, not in our neighbourhoods. Since they still have my grandfather’s habits (and he, rest his soul, also lived in similar conditions for a start) there is every chance of seeing their habits repeated in the dormitories too. Now to hire an official superviser of the Dorms. More money needed. Whose money? Not mine again, please. More taxes.
Right, back to enjoying ourselves complaining and pointing fingers. In the meantime, be assured the gahmen are looking into this and the solution takes time. In the end they will fine contractors liberally and hugely and then the rich will have to pay $2 million for their condo and not $1 million to cover the costs. I think that is the right solution! Robin Hood had the same idea. Heh-heh!
The main culprits is the contractors/dormitory management.They are responsible
for the workers welfare and health. The authorities should take firm action against them. Lets do it!!
Regards.
The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Weekly Roundup: Week 40
[...] – TOC: Is Singapore really slum-free? – Diary of A Singaporean Mind: ERA report : More evidence price rise due to foreign influx. – The [...]
118) minerva
I am happy to read your thoughts.
Good to know some of us still live in the real world.
Complain is free.
But there is a cost to fix anytrhing.
And especially when the complainer has to pay for fixing it, suddenly all is silent. : ).
Hi minerva #118,
Ministers and Civil servants are highly paid to solve these problems.
102) ilikecomplaining on September 30th, 2009 2.49 pm
///////. i mean why would they even want to come here and work as hard labourers??///////////
You need a reality check here.
//////////alternatively, kind, loving and caring singaporeans (like commenters on this post, including myself) can come together, pool some funds, give them to these labourers so that they can afford to buy houses and luxury goods like us! //////
please invite Stephanie Chok too.
I do not think they will be thrilled with luxury goods, they came here to get themselves out of their poverty hole theyy are trapped in back home, a Prada handbag cannot feed his hungry family back home.
An excellent expose. There is a slumside to the antiseptic city that fines folks at the drop of a butt. Thanks for an inside look on the seamier, dirty, exploitative side of an otherwise marvellous city-state. Great work Stephanie.
Oh no, the toilets are really poorly taken care of! And some of them looked like rust-buckets carted off from some nuked-out city. I’m horrified that humans are asked to live with this kind of sanitation. Absolutely terrible! And some of the corridors look like they violate the Building Code: their passageways so small, it would cause a stampede if they ever had to evacuate the occupants.
I’m ashamed that contractors from my country treat their workers with such shoddy accommodation! And to make it worse, it’s a major player in the construction industry!
I so badly want all the ministers to experience these conditions for themselves, but it’s a damn shame that it won’t happen because they’re either too busy to bother, or when they do, it’s always a highly planned and orchestrated visit, with the place being scrupulously cleaned up and tidied for their inspection and approval.
No sane minister in our country believes in going undercover to see the conditions for what they are. And that is a fact.
107) Human Being on October 1st, 2009 1.11 am
Thanks for your understand && mis-understand.
I think this is more of a question for the developers to answer… Ultimately, they are the ones who hire the contractors and contractors house them…
Hi friends!
Help speak up for these workers, sign a petition we are sending in to MOM to say “Yes! We care!”
Grace/Kah Yoke.
NUS Social Work Students
Hi friends!
Help speak up for these workers, sign a petition we are sending in to MOM to say “Yes! We care!”
Petition form: http://spreadsheets.google.com/viewform?formkey=dEUtVjh3azltV3pNdy1kbXVwNjlTUUE6MA
Check out our blog for more info.
Yours,
Grace/Kah Yoke.
NUS Social Work Students
Thanks Grace/Kah Yoke, Stephanie Chok/Damien Chng, and TOC.
I have signed the petition and hope things will work out for the better for their welfare.
Good work Stephanie.
I am proud to have met you & briefly worked with you :-)
The pictures tell everything thats wrong here in our lovely country which is so much admired by others the world over. (I do hope they see this piece of journalism. I will circulate it to my overseas friends).
This country is built on the blood, sweat & tears of the Foreign Workers.
Its terribly cruel to prosper on the misery of others.
Be assured the Authorities read TOC.
Be it MOM, REDAS, BCA etc etc & all those involved in property (developers), construction firms…….all these people or organisations are aware of the working & living conditions.
Readers should not assume that such living conditions affect construction workers only.
I am almost certain, foreign workers in the shipyards, garbage collection, grass cutting, coffee shop cleaners, shopping mall cleaners may also face silmilar living conditions…….perhaps not as severe as those in construction.
What can we do as a starter?
I suggest that readers do as suggested in comment 74 above.
You see the website links; do write to the companies involved.
This is a good start.Make them aware that people care.
They will realise that they are mentioned on TOC in a bad light.
Lets see if they respond on TOC (make this a challenge).
WHY has this persisted?
———————————
I have said above that the Authorities (eg MOM, BCA etc) & Companies & groups like REDAS are aware of the existing conditions…….so WHY has it persisted for so long?
Its COSTS stupid! ….as they saying goes.
If they collectively do not implement better housing conditions for the foreign workers, their costs will be lower.
Then the total building cost would be lower; then Singapore becomes a cheaper, a more competitive place to do business as the govt would nicely put it.
(There is also an element of truth as proposed in comment 61 above by Von Hayek).
For years, the cost of living rose (esp 2005-2006-2007 when food prices rocketed) whilst oddly enough salaries for these foreign workers fell or were flat.
They were squeezed to make ends meet.
Why has not MOM introduced a minimum wage for these low level workers?
They just do not care—– as long as the overall costs is kept down to keep Singapore competitive.
MOM’s stance on these workers salaries appears to be that ”its an open market”…….if they want to work in Singapore, they take the market rate even though MOM is aware the market rate is morally too low.
So with such attitudes lingering everywhere in the Authorities, the developers, the construction firms……….these unsavoury living conditions will persist for a long time more.
Kudos to Zaobao (see comment 97) for taking up this issue.They always had guts; admirable.
Sorry to Straits Times who always seem to be in a straits jacket parroting the obvious news.
[...] Is Singapore really slum free? [...]
If I didnt know better, I would have said this article belongs in the same class as this
http://tinyurl.com/blgu4a
or this
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Jungle
That comparison wouldnt have been entirely untrue, but this story is separated from those by a whole century and several oceans and continents. And that must mean something.
My opinion ….don’t judge by just a one story.
1) Has anyone seen a completely new dormitory turned to a shithole in just one week by these FWs? Its just their lifestyle….most FWs just don’t give a damn.
2) A condo unit rentd by FTs..looked nice from the outside…but inside, GOD I’d need a respirator to breathe. They dont even bother to flush the toilet! And this is a not a housing provided by employer…its rented by them. I’d pitied the landlord for all the repairworks needed when the lease is over.
3) Anyone had seen Indian/ Bangla workers throwing boxes of “FREE Sunshine buns” given to these FWs during Singtel Roadshow onto the stage and judges just becos they cant see Ms Singtel India/Singapore. These “food” were given to them…and they dont appreciate it. ……..SGs dont get buns when signing for Hi Card :0)
Bottomline, it’s not that the Employers or Gov don’t care…they have tried. These FWs/ FTs don’t appreciate what they have or has been given to them….of course not luxury living, but the FWs or FTs could’nt care less. Just look at the littering problem near the vicinity where they live!
Only they can improve the way they live, their habits……then the Employer or Gahmen will play their part. It has alway been that way…..we cannot afford to spoonfeed.
Thank you for writing this article. I am glad that there are people with a conscience.
As a Singaporean, I am disgusted and embarrassed at the way foreign workers are being treated. They are the backbone behind the building infrastructure that the govt is so proud of. And this is the thanks they get?
I’d like to see if any of the overly paid PAP ministers can rough it out in one of these dormitories and worksites for just a week. Maybe then, the living conditions of these people will improve!
Foreign workers “left among the dead” « thinking aloud
[...] and liveable environment. Contrast this to some other dormitories, detailed in another TOC feature here. We would be getting ahead of ourselves if we squabble over liveable dormitories near [...]
i say lets stop being comfortable with just slamming the PAP and NEA, and put our money where our mouths are. granted they are culpable but so are all of us and we need to get off our arses too.
‘If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor.’
We are should all be appalled at this injustice – and loud in our outrage and disgust.
As an expat in Singapore, I am deeply ashamed that the rights afforded to me as a ‘foreign worker’ are not extended to my fellow human beings as ‘migrant workers’. What is the difference? We are all humans with a right to dignity of life, dignity of person and DIGNITY OF WORK.
Shame on all of us who live here and are quiet or complicit in allowing these disgraceful abuses of human dignity to continue.
Great work Stephanie – keep up the good fight!
Leave a Reply
Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments
It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan
More In Uncategorized
- Rebutting Law Minister K Shanmugam
- Challenge of communication
- TOC & Talk Politics hold successful Year in Review forum
- “Live” from Post Museum – TOC’s Year End Review
- The Fajar Generation
Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments
It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan
More In Uncategorized
- Rebutting Law Minister K Shanmugam
- Challenge of communication
- TOC & Talk Politics hold successful Year in Review forum
- “Live” from Post Museum – TOC’s Year End Review
- The Fajar Generation

LKY: “From third world to first”
nah…. should be From Third World to Turd.
GOOD WORK STEPHANIE AND TOC.
PAP and Straits Times should bury their heads in dung.