Location, location, location. Is that the only problem we have when it comes to housing for foreign workers? In Part One of this Special Feature, Stephanie Chok argues that the real ‘housing problem’ is the substandard living conditions thousands of men and women are made to endure daily in this prosperous, globally admired city.
Watch the video before you read the following article.
Stephanie Chok / Pictures by Damien Chng
Liu, 23, from Hebei, China, stayed in the basement of this condominium worksite at Cairnhill Rise for three to four months (see video above). He was sent to another worksite by his employer, Tiong Seng Contractors, around April 2009. (Why was he moved out? Liu was sent from worksite to worksite throughout his time working here, after this he was sent back to a Tuas worksite for a short period, and later to work at the Resorts World Sentosa site.)
In mid-September, his former co-workers were still living in that decrepit basement, surrounded by pools of “smelly water” [臭水]. Meal times, they gather to eat in makeshift areas, balancing styrofoam boxes on upturned buckets or sitting by their bug-infested beds. Drinking water is drawn from sinks which are lined with scum, sinks close to clogged toilets that remain un-repaired. One can only imagine the stench in this humid, damp basement where up to 200 men eat, live and rest, seven days a week.
Before this, Liu previously lived in a dormitory in Toa Payoh and an on-site container [集装箱] somewhere in Tuas. “These places must be much better than the condo basement, right?” I asked Liu. “They were even worse!” he retorts. Worse? I’m trying to imagine ‘worse’ than a toilet swilling with faeces and sleeping on a damp wooden board crawling with insects.
At the Toa Payoh dormitory,100 men were crammed into one big open hall. Bunk beds were lined side by side, with only a narrow path in between for people to walk, single-file. Personal belongings like suitcases were strewn on the bed (the only space available), or sometimes underneath them. “What if there is a fire? There will be casualties,” I said to Liu. He nods in agreement. It will be mayhem as hordes of people try to escape through tight, overloaded spaces. “We were not even told where the fire extinguisher is!”says Liu.
At Tuas, Liu lived in a container. There were 18 men squeezed into each container and cooking is not allowed. If you attempted to do so, you would be fined; if you had cooking utensils, they would be confiscated. How much is the fine? “I don’t know, I didn’t dare to risk it,” Liu smiles ruefully. Instead, $100-$120 is deducted from the workers’ salaries every month for meals that are delivered to the site – workers have no choice in the matter. This is a common practice. Workers complain that the meals delivered are inadequate, poor in quality and sometimes rancid as they are eaten only hours after delivery, causing food poisoning. (Liu has previously found worms in his food.) On-site, there were about 10 toilet stalls shared among 200-300 men from different companies, all living in containers.
The ‘housing problem’
Housing for foreign workers in Singapore is recognized as ‘problematic’. Yet what is often articulated as ‘the problem’ falls into the following categories: shortage of housing, legal versus illegal housing and, of course, where such housing is located. (Basically, the further away from Singaporean residents the better, as demonstrated by the Serangoon Gardens saga). The ‘problem’, however, if you asked the workers forced to live in cramped, ill-ventilated and unsanitary housing, may yield quite a different answer.
There are situations where bathing means scooping water from a giant communal tank – rain or shine, whether you’re well or running a fever, you are made to stand in the open with everyone else and douse yourself with cold water. Other novel shower routines include collecting water in a bucket so as to soap and rinse yourself while standing about in your underwear. After a 10 to 12 hour work shift, one can wait up to 11pm or midnight (if there is overtime work) just for the opportunity to bathe. This is what happens when you have up to a hundred men and only a few taps.
The buckets also serve another purpose – workers hand-wash their clothes in these buckets and put them up to dry wherever they can, stringing up makeshift clothes-lines or hanging damp clothing by their bed-frames. (To add to the indignity, workers’ salaries are deducted for such housing.)

Food storage is another issue. I once gave Guang, a construction worker living in a shophouse dormitory in Lavender, some Chinese New Year goodies. The entire horde was finished that same night! He later explained it was either him finishing it or the rats – there is no fridge nor pantry area to keep perishables and the dorm is rat-infested. “Why not complain to the authorities,” I asked. “They’ve already come before!” he says. According to Guang, conditions improved slightly just before the raid, but reverted to ‘normal’ soon after. “What to do?” he shrugged. No wonder he and his colleagues were dying to return home as soon as possible.
A phrase I’ve heard several times when I asked foreign workers from China about their living conditions is “恶劣” – disgusting. And not just disgusting, mind you, but “非常 恶劣” – exceptionally so. Jiang, 38, a construction worker, stayed in a room with 100 others. Ventilation was poor so it was unbearably hot. (Ever walked into a dormitory without windows? It feels like you’ve just been shoved into an oven and someone slammed the door shut.) The bed bugs, says Jiang, were intolerable, “I couldn’t sleep the whole night”. Jokes Xu, 39, also a construction worker, “Bed bugs, cockroaches and mosquitoes are our ‘close companions’ here in Singapore, they whisper sweet nothings [悄悄话] to us all night.”
The word ‘home’ connotes images of a warm and comfortable dwelling place, a haven in which we unwind, enjoy privacy, leisurely pursuits, and the company of loved ones. The fortunate among us experience this daily, but not enough do (and it’s not just foreign workers). Yet even at its most basic, a home is expected to be functional – a place to cook, eat, sleep, shower. In too many dormitories, even these needs are ill-considered.
There have been comments from some people that since these workers come from ‘Third World’ countries, they should be used to such poor living conditions. On the contrary, ‘it was never this bad back home’, is a sentiment I frequently hear from migrant workers themselves. Liu, for example, has experience as an internal migrant worker, having worked in Beijing doing construction work. While he has stayed on-site in buildings under-going construction, he insists that workers are never placed in the basement because it will be too damp and unsanitary.
There is often also disbelief – many foreign workers have expressed shock that such conditions exist in Singapore, a country they perceived, prior to arriving here, as ‘developed’ and wealthy. But soon comes the realization that such conditions exist here, for those on the margins. Liu is cognizant of the fact that while he and his fellow workers languor in filth at the bottom of this building, when completed, each apartment may be worth a few million dollars.

So here is what remains “恶劣” about this situation. The on-site basement that you see in the video is part of a development described as “luxury hilltop living with the privacy and seclusion of an exclusive resort”. The developer has boasted, on its website, of a net profit increase of 57% to $44.5 million for its 2008 financial year. Meanwhile, Liu’s employer, Tiong Seng Contractors, has won an award from the Building and Construction Authority for Construction Excellence. Its website lists a hosts of other awards and accreditations.
If these are profitable companies with business clout, why are they not even fulfilling a basic requirement of housing the workers building its prized projects decently? Workers who toil up to 12 hours a day, sometimes 7 days a week, to complete the projects that keep our economy humming.
——
Here are some more examples of the living conditions foreign workers endure:

If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Do not mistaken this First Worst Country for a First World Country – the former in its many aspects has long been showing signs of them – which ,many of us can see and will readily agree hor …………
Really shameful!
Dunno what else to say.
Irresponsible and mercenary with no conscience. I all too agree that the reason why we think singapore is such a great place is because we dont know about it. The government has done a really good job in propaganda. The worst part is that the whole singapore government is mostly controlled by 1 party, from the courts to the head of ministry. The political system is a sham. What MOM is doing is just trying to show those people that discovered the conditions of the dormitories that they are doing something. The government is too damn greedy, what is a lost of revenue of few hundred million. we certainly do not need another shopping mall to destroy the environment.
This contractors are also guilty, have they no trace of humanity in their souls, or are they just souless. The Impressions that are a left on these workers are like mental scars. Whats more, these workers sometimes come from uprising countries like china. These countries will become more powerful, and they will certainly remember us, albeit not in a good way.
#6 Jude wrote:
I think Sgreans are actually not really that heartless. It’s just that they don’t know about these things.
What about those who do know? including the bosses and employees of the construction company? And maybe also some of the people at MOM, NEA and other government agencies?
Are they not Singaporeans? Truly heartless!
Does TOC intend to get further legal or human rights advice on the above situation. Maybe they should work with SDP or foreign embassies on human rights issues.
I believe TOC may need to network and form an advisory panel in future with other political parties, legal and journalism society/groups for further recourse.
Actually most of your grandfather gone through worst when they first landed in Singapore, they were shoeless, jobless and homeless. This Chinese nationals are like your grandfather and Singapore has such an excellent system where by the 3rd generation the family would be living in at least 5 rooms HDB or Condo otherwise they only have themselves to blame. So there isn’t anything unusual, just like any ordinary Singaporean ad the only difference is that your grandparents had paid on your behalf where as they are paying now for their grandchildren to enjoy later.
If you do not agree than you should not blame anyone when price of HDB increases again.
Why are the authorities closing their eyes on such demeaned conditions of living by the foreign workers. Are they not human beings?
And the construction company can win awards. It really makes a mockery of the whole system. Someone need to step out to answer for this.
It is a total disgrace to bring in millions of FWs and subjected them to such hardship conditions of living. This revelation by TOC is only a tip of the iceberg.
Many other harsh conditions of living are not publicised.
The PAP government are only interested in collecting per head levy on every FW coming to Spore and leave everything to the Employers to take care of the rest.
It is a case of corroboratiion in evil doing with the revelant authorities not to take remedial action to better the living conditions of the workers.
Today’s news on 93.8 radio broadcast statistics of 1.25 million foreigners in a
total population of 5 million. Official news.
A first world country torturing foreign workers living in conditions worst than third world citizens. Basically, the workers are not treated as humans but animals to be slaughter in an abatoir. A total shame to the government of PAP.
The government will soon pay a price as the government expenditure cannot be justified.
Look the shit they created.
Andrew Leung,
Lets see if the mainstream media reports on this first. Normally, they will get MOM to comment (so that their report is “balanced”). (After two weeks, I am still waiting for MOM to reply to me on another case.)
Do not overlook who ultimately gain from this situation.
It is never the construction company who hire those folks, they tender their contract on razor thin margin running into red if cost are not controlled.
It is the landlords and PAP (the biggest landlord) who win all.
If MOM imposed stringent sanitation standards, the construction company will not be able to pay. They will bid for higher tender. And providing reasonable sanitation is NOT CHEAP. How many floor space, copper wire, flouresence tube, latrine, pipes one got to lay?
It will then hit the pocket of LKY, Ng teng fong ….etc.
When I started to read Marx recently, I realise Singapore is the country of blood sucking capitalist that fit best the description.
I think the gahmen will take action when this video finds its way onto BBC or CNN.
We should also ask the Workers Party how come they not interested in foreign workers welfare.
Please circulate such pictures to Foreign Workers in their home towns become they come here to work in Singapore. They have the right to making informed decisions.
Dear all esp Sharon @40
Email this to all your friends & relatives. Spread the news. The more people know about it, the more chances of change.
57) Singaporekia
Yep !
The video mentioned the dormitories are around Orchard area.
Since MM Lee, PM Lee families are staying around the place, they should set an example “to love thy neighbour”.
MM Lee, PM Lee, Ho Jinx & famiLee should pay a courtesy to visit these people & clean up all the mess.
In the 80′s & 90′s, the majority foreign construction workers are Thai, India or Bangladesh. Not many know them well due to language barriers but now with Chinese nationals + internet, many are now aware how these workers are treated.
Many Local construction comapnies (including those on HDB projects, petrochemical, infrastructure, etc) are so call “A1″. But “A1″ is only for the directors & bosses only.
When time to give out bonus, they claim the money is use for investment but these assholes get themselves big houses & cars, treating their workers worst than slaves.
MOM & MOE officals will get “excited” when Election is coming or someone died of illness but now they are worry about retrenchment.
“Actually most of your grandfather gone through worst when they first landed in Singapore, they were shoeless, jobless and homeless.”
“If you do not agree than you should not blame anyone when price of HDB increases again.”
I wonder what kind of argument is this. Is thing oversimplify ?
When my grandfather came here without shoe, without job, without home, the government been for the people, by the people, and from the people, built “really affordable” housing then, and ensure that everyone has a roof and that people don’t have to pay housing for 30 years. Needless to say, citizens trust the government to keep their promise and not disappointed then. It doesn’t matter my grandfather couldn’t afford large house because he is poor (or should I blame him or my father for my plight now because they is not wealthy like those MIW who can buy bungalows (full payment) to live and rent ?)
But now the old guards are now gone, leaving a tyrant and his cronies to run government of what is now Singapore Incorporated with profit as the main objective. and that is why people no longer trust the government and ask why the housing is priced beyond their reach now. No one says that HDB flat don’t increase its price, but to increase significantly at the expense of majority of citizens, and who major purpose is to generate money for TH and GIC for gambling ?
Who kidding who now ? If your argument is so valid, no one should complain about any unreasonable price hike because they have themselves to blame for being born a Singaporean first, since the blame can even extend to as far as grandfather. So blame it on grandfather for bad karma, or even blame myself for not born into Wong’s Can’t Sing’s family.
is this 1st world?
MSM got show this picture to its readers or not?
This IS News!
Is the ShittyToilet the blueprint for future F1 track ? Will be shit hell of a race. F1 rocks !
to lauLEE and all the million dollars ministars, it’s time to step down the golden steps of your ivory towers and feeling the situation on ground.
Try shitting in that feaces filled w.c. and you will understand how the ppl on the ground are so choked with your failed policies of relentless import of FTs and ever increasing prices of property & everything !
What an irony. For these Foreign Workers (FW) who built our hdb flats, condos and marina bay IR, you treat like worst than the lowest caste in their home country by housing them in conditions beyond destitutiion.
And yet for the FTs who compete with us for resources, for our depleting jobs, for our salaries and for our housing, you treat them like Kings and Queens and telling us to help them assimilate ?! And worst, spending $10M of citizen’s money to help them integrate into our society ?! And remind again me who voted them in ?
Singaporekia
post #57 on September 28th, 2009 7.41 pm
S’pore’s early migrants
1) need to pay govt any worker levy anot?
2) they came to seek better lives, not be treated as cheap labour to be exploited then possibly sent back home
3) have nothing to stop them from sinking their roots here.
do you think these labourers will be given PR status by our govt for their contribution?
Hmm…strange, there was some other earlier postings which were not agreeing with the points made within the article, but it does seems that TOC had taken them out. I wonder why?
Anyway, I believe the MSM is reading TOC everyday, so let’s see whether they have the conscience to also made known the plights and suffering of these FWs to the general public.
In addition, can Stephanie or TOC reveals the names of employers who had ill-treated these FWs. Surely they must have an employer before they are allowed to work here, or are these FWs illegal immigrants working in Singapore?
By the way, I do personally feel that it is quite misleading for the heading to read “Is Singapore really slum-free?”, as it is about the living conditions of FWs who are working here, but Singapore was never their place of domicile.
Write to Tiong Seng Contractors http://www.tiongseng.com/ to express your disapproval for housing their workers there and write to SC Global Developments http://www.scglobal.com.sg/ the developer that hired Tiong Seng Contractors to do the work!!
PM Wen should watch this video.
BTW–about the $10 million targetted for INTEGRATION—estimated $11 million already used to construct separate access roads to DISINTEGRATE the middle class Serangoon Garden from FW dorm .
FW not able to walk to Chomp-Chomp to eat.—etc etc
Rich and poor cannot mix—-poor and poorer can.
Where in SIN-apore are the Burmes junta children staying,again?
Let us intergrate only the rich the poor can eat shit.
These slums are just part of the sad story. My friends working in construction relayed me news of accidents resulting in death or disability.
Meanwhile, landlord including HDB are flushing with scandalous profits. This could have used to improve on the living condition and landloard still make $.
But specifying on the tender minimum working will simply hit their pocket as their sub-contructor will demand more $.
Now, ST tries to sell the idea that Singaporean are choosy and there are jobs (these slave shop jobs) around. Notwothstanding Singaporean are the most hardworking race in the world.
It is not Singaporean who cannot do the job. It is the blood sucking landlord who is trying to impose everyone slave shop working condition.
When we refuse, they bring in all these poor FTs and meanwhile ST keep parroting lazy Singaporean, crutch mentality, government take care of us…., Our government and landlord cheers.
Does anyone know which architecture firm is involved in this development?
Shame on those rich developers making good money at the expense of these poor workers.
The developer should pay higher salary to these worker so that they can rent hdb flat.
The Minster of Manpower receives how much in pay?
Need I say more?
This is the underbelly of our so-called first world country that our rulers struggle to hide from the world.TOC must do more to produce such clips as media like The Straits Times will never dare breath a word about such deplorable working conditions in our midst,let alone give us a video clip.
this is what happens when you destroy unions, labour laws and all institutional mechanisms for the individual to seek redress………the warsaw ghetto for these guys
I like to ask, how can this video be seen by the rest of singaporeans who prolly are not aware of such pathetic 3rd world situation in 1st world singapore in the orchard area?
i am sure tour guides dont bring them there to explore explore and jalan jalan ?
the saddest thing is singaporeans who are not readers of this blog may never see this video. So, the information is not reaching the majority.
Google Ads anyone?
Great job by Andrew and Stephanie.
2 thumbs up.
alas the video could not record the stench which will give readers a taste of the living condition.
number #82…majority of singaporeans…sadly..are apathetic…they are not interested! However…if u talk about our so called “national” dishes to be hijacked by our next door neighbour….then u will see pathetic singaporeans up in “arms” ready to fight for “justice”! That’s uniquely singapore for u!
Just a year ago – ironic! – the UN “found” that Singapore is slum-free:
http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_294742.html
“Singapore is the only city in the world without slums, a new report by the United Nations Habitat has found. ”
Wonder what they’ll say now…
The title is somewhat misleading. I thought it’s referring to slums where singaporeans are living in – and there are such places. This report isn’t about ‘slums’, which refer to almost permanent ghettos for residents of a place, but the horrid temporary living conditions that foreign workers are living in.
Sadly this world bent on is exploiting the weak.
Your wants : Your branded clothes, your branded shoe, your branded toys, which you tires after 3 months.
Your wants are produced cruelly by juicing from some poor 3rd world workers’ desperate needs.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pgl7vDZ-jF8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xVuScVCF1Ws&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=voVgTkTUKFc&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Jl_YBxMd4o&feature=related
blackfeline @84
How can people be considered apathetic if they do not know whats wrong in the first place? Its more acccurate to pinpoint ignorance first. Like ‘hibiscus’ @85 post about the UN report. Everything ugly in Spore is well hidden away. Every figure for the statistics is well dressed up. A one-room flat occupied by a family of 5 is considered a roof over your head, plain noodle without any vege or meat is considered food on the table (I have seen with my own eyes a young boy buying this to save money) etc, To ‘angry_one’ @86, yes I think TOC can do a similar take on the one-room flats and interview the families there how they live.
ref: blackfeline @84, ‘hibiscus’ @85 , ‘angry_one’ @86
How can people be considered apathetic if they do not know whats wrong in the first place? Its more acccurate to pinpoint ignorance first. Like ‘hibiscus’ @85 post about the UN report. Everything ugly in Spore is well hidden away. Every figure for the statistics is well dressed up. A one-room flat occupied by a family of 5 is considered a roof over your head, plain noodle without any vege or meat is considered food on the table (I have seen with my own eyes a young boy buying this to save money) etc, To ‘angry_one’ @86, yes I think TOC can do a similar take on the one-room flats and interview the families there how they live.
So people, the least you can do is to SPREAD THE NEWS. Email the link to firends and family.
It would be great opportunity for any opposition leaders to do a PR stint by living one day in the slum with the foreign workers. He records his own video diary and post it on the youtube. TOC can cover the story and release it to other press all over. This way, he will also win the heats & minds of the workers if ever the electoral rule is changed to include them.
Actually not necessary opp leaders, any opp contesting for MP can take the opportunity to get noticed this way. I am afraid it takes such shocking action to get positive attention of the electorate, and to make a difference.
Too bad readers (minority singaporeans), this will never reach the eyes of the majority HA HA HA HA ……..HA!
Too much topic on FT and foreign workers living conditions and lifestyle in Singapore. Is not of significance. Key they are not living in slum as claimed. Key they are saving cost living under the bridge of the uncompleted construction site.
What is the problems if they choose it. There are many local Sinkaporean staying under the bridge along the Nicoll Highway and this is not reported. Some are even living at void deck etc.
Go to North Bridge Road and look at the living conidition of those one room flat and you will understand the conditions those sick, old , destitute are living in . They are dirty, smelly and not clean for years too. Why ????? Too old to do any cleaning and also no $$$$ to buy detegent or pain to sprout up the living condition.
Many other one room flat are in this condition but are not reported. Virtually the local reported , CC , MP have forgotten Sinkaporean and the focus is now directed at FT as a strategy to turn our attention away from the global recession. Unemployment is the top agenda and nothing is reported much to date. Training and retraining are going no ware . Even part time jobs in hospital are thrown out for those age 45 above. (Employment agent are throwing them out, WHY ? HR from hospitals are given directives to engage young).
Talking about FT insurance for FT, Maid etc to be up. Look around why many local sinkaporean Ah Soh, Ah Pei, young, middle age working on part time, contract are without insurance, perks and even CPF. What has the relevant MP or department done .
Key is FT running into the local Singaporean blood . They are indispensable , we need them so badly to suppress the wages, take away jobs (many unemployed), competitions for universities places, jammed the MRT etc. Or they are important for the STATE coffer rather than a lifeline to support the greying population.
Mid career and those in their 60′s,70′s are healthy and able to work with a reasonable income should be able to take care of themselves. We dont need the FT as claimed.
Lastly is a fact they are robbing Singaporeans of their Rice Bowl and turning living conditions in Singapore household to bite the bullets.
Only CIVIL SERVANTS and CEO are enjoying themselves in today climate in Singapore….. PSC motto nobody get sack even how bad the situation are.. Who wrote it …they are prrotecting themselves the smart scholar.
People knowing the truth is what PAP is most afraid of otherwise they won’t have to control MSM (through licence) and even opp newsletter have to be passed by the ‘authorities’.
Seng Han Song @91 is challenging us to spread this news so that it gets read by the majority of Singaporeans. What fun! Businesses can already conquer the world through the internet, he is talking about majority Singaporeans. Lets spread it to the World, not just little Spore!
Most of FT rented unti are flood with many FT flatmate. This are what they are looking at. They are just looking at cost saving and not at the liing conditions.
Personally saw a FT house along Farrer MRT there , those 3 story shophouse. Easily 20 plus China FT staying there with extended third story. Even the living room is filled with a camping tent .
With so many people staying under one roof … whose faults. They want it and who care about the cleanliness or conditions. Key is make a living, earn the $$$$ and fly off to my home land and be a millionaires.
Dont report this findings ..move around and see for yourselves in many housing estates. They like it.
Boon Lay area, FT slum in prroper HDB flat. Not reported. Just look around the slum condition they are living in even a proper HDB flat is allocated for the FT.
Same like Sinkaporean working as security guard ( 12-14 hours) paying 1000-1500 .One off day is a sgood as resting after long day. How much left to clean up the places, wash up the dirty clothing etc. Is as good as round the clock work and work and die from working .
Reality sucks doesn’t it? But that’s just it, that’s just how screwed up it is here in Singapore. What to do? I mean, what CAN we do? Any suggestions? But seriously, MSM and ST can take their bloody heads and stuff it into that toilet clogged with shit.
TOC, good job digging this out, the only problem is, where exactly do we go from here?
peace =)
is MOM being informed about the TOC article. How about let MOM know, if they do nothing after knowing, then we have evidence to show that they fail to do their duty
justkaypoh:
Zaobao reported it today (Tuesday, 29 Sept):
http://www.zaobao.com/sp/sp090929_002.shtml
Zaobao also reported it on its front page in its printed edition.
MOM knows.
It is great that the plight of foreign workers is highlighted. But how about putting the spotlight on the thousands of Singaporeans who live under the same conditions. Many are living like refugees in their own country.
Oh well, that just adds Gan Kim Yong to the same list which WKS belongs to. The ‘it’s an honest mistake let’s move on’ list.
Not third living but fourth or fifth world living in Singapore and co-existing with first world living.
Ask old fellow, Laulee to come and see for himself.
Publicise the award winning contractors for dehumanising their foreign workers.
Go tell the world that fifth world living is thriving in Sing.
Shame Shame Shame
yes, the singapore chinese zaobao does an expose but stops short of asking if MOM is the DEFAULT ACCOMPLICE to this disgusting state of affairs?
The newspaper parrots MOM’s whole long list of fines for errant contractors.
MOM is made to look innocent by threatening to use the whip ($4,000 fine is lame in contrast to the fat millions, a contractor makes; how do u explain contractors blatantly commiting the crime in the heart of Orchard road).
So, is MOM totally ignorant of prevalent or past conditions? why does MOM lack the will to dedicate resource for monitoring contractors stringently when the shit-in-your-face facts are everywhere? The article cites a MOM taskforce, yet the Orchard slumhouse has been around till today!
Is economics really more critical than human decency?
Why is there no whistleblowing channel available to the foreign worker at MOM?
Does the foreign worker really believe this is the expected humiliation he or she has to stomach?