On Eric Low

A year ago, a despondent Mr Eric Low fresh from a second straight morale-sapping electoral defeat at the hands of Workers’ Party (WP) chief Low Thia Khiang — decided that he would stop being taken for granted by Hougang residents.

So, he slapped a fee on his previously free health-screening programme and stopped his Meet-The-People sessions and popular free breakfast service for the needy.

On Sitoh Yih Pin

When contacted, Mr Sitoh said he had “no immediate plans” to resume his activities, including meet-the-people sessions, in Potong Pasir. According to grassroots leaders, residents have probably seen the last of the famous $2 shark’s fin soup and abalone porridge dished out at community events in the past.

Mr Sitoh’s right-hand man Chua Kian Meng said no community outreach events have been held since the elections. “So far, there’s been nothing. There’s also nothing planned,” he said.

Today, 18 June 2007

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

37 Responses to “Eric Low & Sitoh Yih Pin – what happened after GE 2006”

1. TOC,

You should really add a quote from a letter to ST Forum today, so that everything falls into perspective.

This is the letter: http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Story/STIStory_439947.html

And this is what you should have quoted (2nd para):

Working closely with the grassroots leaders, the advisers regularly engage the local residents to understand their needs and concerns.

2. OnlineShmonline 9 October 2009

Sour puss. I suppose that’s the kind of ‘leaders’ we have in the PAP. If things don’t go their way, then it’s the highway for either them or us…both are sad outcomes. Whatever happened to ‘laying the groundwork’, ‘doing the time’, ‘earning respect’?

I guess when you have a leader who’s least uncensored quality is spite ( via lawsuits adjudicated by the Singapore judiciary against anyone who’s ever been against him), it’s probably expected that all his yes-men would follow accordingly.

3. So the PAP’s given up?

4. papchowpattern 9 October 2009

now you all know pap patterns
    nothin to gain why give freebies?
    this remind me of 1 shortlegg minister mrarlboroughtann…he also liked that
    he lost..not onced..more than TWICED..and he cried…till laulee hold his hands and guide him through a backalley passage…machiam machiam an ahkua bein taught how to bend over with AFFORTABILTY…..

5. blackfeline 9 October 2009

they are a bunch of shameless gatecrashers who’s trying to steal the limelight..ask them get a life….bloody losers!

6. Maybe when the election is near they’ll reusme all these goodies?

7. Eric Low and Sitoh Yih Pin strike me as fair weather candidates. They’re just out there to win for the PAP. They don’t really have the welfare of the residents at heart. That is so typical of the PAP, selfish and self serving. I really hope the residents of Hougang and Potong Pasir remember that these two losers walked away from them after losing the last elections.

8. absolutely no sincerity at all. what do these dumb PAP pricks take singaporeans for?

9. Moe Gan Thai 9 October 2009

Don’t worry, residents of PP, you will get shark fin soon, election is coming, eat the shark fin if you are given one, but tell Sitoh, your shark fin worth how much, want to bribe me, no way bcos pap says no corruption, so i better vote Chiam

10. guys, finally the true color of GCT lackeys showed who they are. more to come.

time’s up. time to vote but wisely this time.

11. The really sad thing is – the words are spoken without any apprehension.
    To them, that is the way it is, doing anything good for the people or needy
    must be accompanied by some gain, nothing intrinsic about it.

These are the type of people who go to church so that they can go to heaven.
    Without heaven, don’t talk to them about religion, cause doing good is not
    an end in itself.

12. leesjuanpat 9 October 2009

Two opportunists emerging to claim credit when the lift upgrading is announced.
    Both have the dexterity to even appear on national TV as though they are the MP for the wards.

A total lack of protocol and no respect for LTK and CST.

Real running dogs for PAP. And I dare to predict this two losers will be defeated again
    when election is on.

Both are sore losers by the attitude and announcement made after they lost the election in 2006. This time round the lost margin (percentage) will be even wider
    come election.

If Mabok Tan has the courage to pit against LTK or CST, he will be bitten till his pants dropped. Cowards hide behind the fold of the almighty!! Nothing to say.

13. Yamamoto 9 October 2009

Which is why Sitoh not only lost once, but twice to Mr Chiam…Mr Chaim, also the same man who puts MBT to shame…

the people of PP stand behind Mr Chaim most probably because he has really tried his best for them, and is not someone who pops by waving freebies at u

14. Hougangist 9 October 2009

EXTRACT from 3in1kopitiam: LETTER TO ERIC LOW

15. doctorwho 9 October 2009

vote for opposition !!!
    bring down the evil guys !!!

16. Hougangist 9 October 2009

Mr Eric Low,

You had been the Independent Director of Ferror China Limited, a listed company in SGX ipo more than 3 years ago. I am a shareholder of the company.

I attended the agm of the company and you were always there with other board members and all (including you) spoke well of the company. The share price once hit $3 a share. I was told that the company is now in negative asset and not worth even 1 cent.

Ferro China has been suspended since 9 Oct 08. Since then NO news were forthcoming from you and the other Independent Dir, a lawyer. The owner and CEO She Chun Tai has gone into hiding and never heard since. Less than six months later, you resigned as Independent Director giving the following reason I quote:

“”With the cessation of the Group¡¯s business activities, the workings and information flow between the management in Changshu, PR China and the Board members in Singapore have been minimal. It is difficult for him to discharge his duties as an Independent Director without timely information and regular updates from the management.

In addition, he had a surgery and received medical advice to recuperate for time being. “”

You claimed to have a surgery and received medical advice to recupeerate for time being. I noticed that you have become very active again in politics. It seems that you have recovered very fast ha…

I wish you good luck and good health.

From your respectful Shareholders of Ferro China

17. singaporean 9 October 2009

hougang residents are smart to deny such a character from becoming thier MP.

18. So many offers of directorship 10 October 2009

These PAP advisers hold many directorships. I heard that SItoh holds more than 12 directorships.

You see, even only as a PAP adviser (for being the losing PAP candidate), already so sought after by companies to be offered directorships!

Therefore I think PAP will have no problems finding replacement for Eric Low and Sitoh, even though they may have high chances of losing again in the election.

Compared to the opposition trying to attract candidates to stand for elections!

19. tiredman 10 October 2009

I have a question to both of them. If both do not give any respect to the men who have won their rights to rule these places, then, how do you think the people can respect you as a potential MP? Why are you not gracious enough to allow the MP to announce the upgrading?

Please do not take other people’s credit to hope for a better chance to win the coming election. This is not an attitude of a gentleman. Till then, both of you have just lost my respect.

20. massivelosses_sohow? 10 October 2009

Again, you must understand if you want to create a totally complaint and loyal team, you offer perks. Every servants would get something for the undisputed loyalty and support, I am sure everyone more or less know but refuse to understand this is the way they buy loyalty and support.

21. Any handout just take. Then vote the PAP out. Good idea!

22. Sue-Sue Tom 10 October 2009

aiya, just make potong pasir and hougang as tanjong pagar GRC lah. got this grc or not? i no no leh. so easy.

23. patriot 10 October 2009

May I say to the voters in Hougang and Potong Pasir:

You have my greatest respects for refusing to be bribed over time and again.

Show the bribers again that You cannot be bought over by any underhand tactics,
    never will.

My salute again.

Yours respectfully: patriot

24. Colonel Faris Al Ghazi 10 October 2009

Eric & See Toh are just hypocrites judging by their inaction. If theyre genuine in SERVING THE PUBLIC, they should continue to do so under the PAP banner regardless they win or lose the last election. So theyre telling me I wont serve you if Im not elected? Then the residents of PP & Hougang are very fortunate NOT to have these insufficient clowns as MPS.

25. Moe Gan Thai 10 October 2009

Very simple if Sitoh stands again in PP, then confront him and ask him about the lamp post issue ? See how he answers. He is an opportunist .

26. Debra Soong Mui Hong 10 October 2009

There is only 1 THING TO DO.

27. notalone 10 October 2009

23) patriot on October 10th, 2009 2.29 pm
    //////////////Show the bribers again that You cannot be bought over by any underhand tactics,
    never will.
    ////////////////////

Same here, i salute to all residents of Hougang and Potong Pasir!

28. patriot 11 October 2009

To Notalone #27:

Thank You!

Let’s hope that voters in other wards will emulate

the wise and brave voters of Hougang and

Potong Pasir.

patriot

29. Sickened Citizen 11 October 2009

This modus operandi is shamefully unscrupulous.

The gods will be very unhappy about this and the days of the running dogs are coming to an end very soon. I will give it 8 years at the most.

No power can rule forever! No matter how cunning and dirty it can be.

30. These lumps of PAP trash need to be consigned to a permanent trash bin or to the incinerator, to ensure they have no further opportunity to infect others with their stink and hypocrisy

31. PlayFairLah 11 October 2009

#23) patriot on October 10th, 2009 2.29 pm

Agree with you on the point about bribery.

The voters in HG and PP know that bribery is illegal in Singapore. That was why they rejected the bribe offered all this while. (Please note that: Free bread and porridge are not bribes. They are treats to the people in HG and PP and maybe from other constituencies.)

But threats are different. Remember the threat of rubbish being piled high in Opposition wards? There were actually fear in many residents because of this threat.

The people of HG and PP are,however, made of stronger stuff. Bribes and threats will not influence nor scare them. I take my hat off to you.

People in Singapore, reject those who do not respect the laws in the land. We may yet build a more gracious society.

Sit tight.

32. Anti-One-Party Dictatorship 11 October 2009

They who have drafted and passed the Singapore Constitution break their own Constitution by amending it ever so frequently until it cannot be taken as a stable legal document that can be relied upon in the long term interest of the country.

They who have made the countless laws to ensure they continue to stay in power forever, break their own laws for purpose of expediency and so-called pragmatism..

They who have made rules and regulations have refused to abide by them themselves, so they break their own rules and regulations and start to give all sorts of excuses and rationalizations.

They who tell all of us to follow the laws, rules and regulations, yet they themselves would try to twist and turn at every occasion when they themseelves are not able to follow these laws, rules and regulations which they had demanded the common citizens to follow.

Just a bunch of cunningly overpaid self-serving scholar elites handpicked to serve only the one who picked them in the name of the one single political party!

Their glorious days are over. Now they are succumbing to underhand dirty tricks and irrational explanations. They are trying to blur the views of discerning citizens and to ward off the people’s enlightened criticisms about their incompetence and unwillingness to sincerely serve each and every taxpayer of Singapore. For they only know how to be one-sided, bias and unfair to the extent that they are now not able to see for themselves how they are actually behaving in front of public view.

For the long term interest of all the citizens and permanent residents of Singapore,
    the Papa’s party must come to an end, the sooner the better.

Singaporeans deserve nothing less.

33. First, eat all the sharks fin you can get your hands on.

Next, go to the polling station and vote OPPOSITION.

That’ll teach them!

34. how about finding out what they were doing in 2008?

35. alanc 9 May 2011

So for all of you that voted the PAP in, do not complain about high prices because you had a chance and you fellas blew it

36. More people in potong pasir is going to live and repent for the next 5 years as a part of our brave community just voted the pap in. Mr chiam has served us faithfully these year and u all do this to him?