Don’t worry, there are flats available for you, in different parts of Singapore at prices that are affordable.

Mah Bow Tan

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Tags: ,

43 Responses to “Mah Bow Tan dismisses flat buyers’ complaints”

1. Cold Hard Cash 8 October 2009

so typical of pap. reminds me of someone who once said,

“don’t worry, there are retirement options for you, in different parts of the world – jb where it is affordable”?!!!!

2. ErniesUrn 8 October 2009

I actually went to the new puggol estates to do some scouting. In my opinion, it’s what chinese people say: “Niao bu shen dan” (Birds can’t lay eggs over there) . It’s way too far from our work places.

Take a look at this,

http://www.thepetitionsite.com/1/lower-hdb-valuations-or-build-more-affordable-hdb-housing-for-singaporeans

3. borderless 8 October 2009

of course to someone living in a huge mansion, it’s easy to say that.
    but for a newspaper seller to live like a king … wow, it’s something special.

4. Richard Tan 8 October 2009

Bullshitting again, what is consider affortable? With a price that still mark up by 140% profit by HDB or subsidise price that have a minimium profit by HDB?

Don’t believe them anymore, just use your vote wisely.

5. marboroughshortarshkicker 8 October 2009

most probadly somewhere in palua hantu or pulua sudong..where you lived with rsaf bombin you as target practise…
    affortable….why don’t marborough contest his election in affortable district….

6. Richard Tan 8 October 2009

Who set the selling price of the New HDB Flat?

What guideline did the evaluation officer based on to evaluate the resale HDB?

Who standardise the price guideline for the evaluation officer to follow?

I just bought a HDB at Bedok 4 room flat at $330K + $5k (COV), but how they get the evaluation price? This HDB I bought are in original condition, I have to spend a sum of money to do renovation. Before I bought this unit, I saw another unit just next block, the owner did some renovation to their Toilets and partial renovation to their Kitchen, to my surprise, their evaluation price is also $330K but the owner ask for a COV of $35K.

My question to HDB or PAP Mah BT, who set the guideline of the evaluation price where one unit was renovated partial and the other original state and the Evaluation price still the same. The only different is the COV. Isn’t the unit without renovation should be cheaper than the one partial renovated? Why are we wasting time and money to engage a evaluation officer and get the same outcome in evaluation price? How stupid the system can it be?

Singaporean please wake up and do your job for your childern future sake, can they survive in Singapore when they out from study to the working world, and stay in the street, because they cannot affort to buy the HDB.

7. Maria Ozawa 8 October 2009

Dear Singaporeans,

Don’t worry, there are candidates (to be Ministers) available for you, in different parts of Singapore at prices that are affordable.

Love,
    Maria

8. Yamamoto 8 October 2009

You see, the way MBT goes, just shows how high handed people can be

9. lesser mortal 8 October 2009

Ya lor given the max time to travel across the island is only 20 mins

10. 4) Richard Tan on October 8th, 2009 11.40 am

The next time someone else buy a flat in your area it would be ((330+5) + (330+35)) / 2 i.e 350k valuation PLUS COV.

11. Seventh Son 8 October 2009

I am tired of hearing all this bull.

12. It is important to note that gone are the days where HDB has a mandate and public obligation to Singaporeans to provide affordable housing. HDB CORP now exists to make money while at the same time fulfill its political imperatives.

If you believe HDB Corp is there for you the genteel citizen to have affordable housing of your choice, then you’ll also believe SingPower is obligated to give you affordable electricity, or SMRT is there to provide affordable transport.

Nearly all public services in Singapore are corporatised, and all corporations exist to make money. That contradiction is the real problem.

13. PRs should not be allowed to buy hdb flats since there is a high possibility that they may not be setting their roots here.

Reserve the right to buy hdb flats for citizens only. Protect our basic interests.

14. patriot 8 October 2009

Just by sticking to the Word ‘affordable’, Mah Bow Tan frees himself of all needs to explain the policy and purpose of Public Housing and enjoys his big fat pay and high office, talented indeed.

patriot

15. leesjuanpat 8 October 2009

As I said earlier in one of my post., when HDB commercialised the market and open for valuation, hell broke loose. There is no guideline on exact valuation and sellers demand COV to their whims and fancies.

HDB should not be transacted like private property. HDB is the controlling body. HDB brought all these to the general population and leave it to market forces and HDB reaped big money on the levies collected for resale flats and peg price of new flat to the last sale price of resale flats in the area. HDB make six figure profit on new flats. Suppose to be ‘subsidised’. MY FOOT. Eat your own words MBT. Do not pretend to be ‘mabok’.

BTO flats are all gimmicks in name. Price much higher and flats are smaller in area. All the work of HDB with only one motive to make money from the poor citizens of Singapore. Our children will have a hard time.

Let us not talk till the cows come home. JUST VOTE PAP OUT if we can.

16. as usual, MBT is just doing the ‘justification’ on how layman term like. he has no solution exception making more money to sustain their million dollars pay.

same like the other ministers too, it all about ‘justification’ to issues that singaporeans are not happy about.

i believe most of us had more or less woke up by now and ready to charge for what we looking forward for – changes – so use your vote wisely.

17. Colonel Faris Al Ghazi 8 October 2009

Our ever rising HDB valuation has been fuelled by the richer Foreign talents plus the en bloc misers. HDB valuation dept is a no brainer, dead end work. All they did was to use data from last month’s transaction & inched a little upwards based on the current economic growth numbers to derive current HDB valuation. If all the en bloc misers & those with cash decides to splurge on HDB then we’ll be in trouble.
    I’m suggesting that HDB should bar enbloc misers & FTs from buying resale flat. If theyre talented & flushed with cash, they should be looking at private properties.

18. A Kaung O 8 October 2009

Singapore HBD price is really expensive. It should not be. Government should do something.

Cheers!

19. 15) Colonel Faris Al Ghazi

There is no HDB valuation dept

20. 10) SilentAssassin

There is no HDB CORP

21. votetheshortyout 8 October 2009

The shorty is so arrogant. Many people are saying HDB flats are expensive, please review the prices. Yet, he is saying affordable.

No everyone earning millions like him.

Vote him out in the next election !!!!!

Need to show them PEOPLE POWER.

22. Don’t worry folks, if it is not affordable, you guys may want to camp outside 15 Holland Rise where MBT resides! Sure it’ll be affordable!!!

23. 20) AN

15 Holland Rise is how many rooms flat?

24. cosmetic dept ? 8 October 2009

“There is no HDB valuation dept”

surely, there are people in a certain dept in charge or having the role over matters concerning valuation of flats. now what dept do you call this. cosmestic dept ?

25. 21) KopitiamApek,

If I’m not mistaken, its a 3-storey bungalow house with swimming pool, 2dogs, 7bedrooms and of course a sentry (Gurkha guard) outside the house! Drive by there and have a look!

I happened to deliver ‘casket flower’ to MBT in-law 2years ago at this address. Am not a delivery man. Just so happen that day my friend who works for Noel (sub-contractor) called me to say his van broke down and urgently need my help to deliver this flowers. I helped him out and incidentally saw the ‘condolences’ attention to Mrs MBT and the address is 15 Holland Rise.

Met the wife though. Tall and very polite. Was greeted first of all by the sentry guard and then the housekeeper follow by 2dogs and finally got to deliver the flowers to his wife.

26. Thinktok 8 October 2009

MBT is giving excuses because he draws a large salary. That is why he is so apologetic.
    Singaporeans are getting very difficult to satisfy. If flat prices go down they blame the Govt. If flat prices go up they also blame the Govt.
    The Govt is not your punching bag. You can afford it you buy, you cannot afford it you go eat your humble pie and rent a flat.

No Govt in the world is responsible for providing a roof over your head. They only facilitate. REMEMBER

27. Courtier: “Your majesty, the peasants are revolting!”
    MAry Antoinette: “Why?”
    Courtier: “BEcause they do not have bread”
    Mary Antoinette: “Why don’t they eat cake?”

We all know how that turned out, don’t we? Now I don’t advocate violence on anyone but for those in power, if you don’t learn from history, you are doomed to repeat it.

28. Kiss My ASSS 8 October 2009

Invitation to His Excellency – Minister Mah Bow Tan

Dear Minister

May we humbly invite you to stand for election in a single ward constituency in the next General Election so that you can prove yourself against those who mindlessly criticise you.

It will be a referendum of sort, to settle the arguement on your policies, popularity and job performance.

If you are not comfortable standing as a candidate in Potong Pasir, having lost to CST who will probably defeat you again, you are free to choose any other single ward constituency in Singapore.

We urge you to accept this invitation as a mean to Prove your Manhood and Diginity… and whether Singaporeans agree with you that HDB apartments are “available” and “affordable”.

We trust you will do well and pray for you that you will not lose your deposit.

29. singaporeangal 8 October 2009

Master Mah runs a rice shop in a village, his forefathers set up the rice shop and had the support of the villagers then as the rice was affordable and everyone, poor or rich could have hearty meals then.

Days after days, greed grow,.. prices of his rice soared,and because Master mah controls the entire village, other rice shops must sell a different type of rice that are catered to different upper class market and hence naturally alot more expensive. Villagers have nowhere to turn to when they need to buy their staple. And yet they found themselves struggled to buy rice from Master Mah’s shop.
    Villagers were unhappy, they know that they are at his mercy, they have no other options but to accept whatever is offered in his shop.

Master Mah said it’s no fault of his, it is not the price of his rice that has gone up, but that the villagers are fussy. His rice is affordable, the new generation Villagers who can’t afford can buy corns, potatoes and leftover rice that is undesired by others- in short, beggars cannot be choosers. Only those who can keep up with him deserves his rice. And his rice is not even special but one thing for sure, his price will keep rising.

30. 15 HOLLAND RISE? his Home? Get ready all the rotten EGGS! Throw at him, pee and drop dog shit for him to step on. To ALL Singaporeans who cant get a FLAT at all, you know where to find him…

31. marylamb 9 October 2009

23) KopitiamApek on October 8th, 2009 6.17 pm

15 Holland Rise is how many rooms flat?

His mansion is within the GCB (good class bungalow) area with a land area of at least 1000 sq.m. Thus, the land alone can accommodate at least 11 4BR !! (assuming avg 90sq.m per flat). Mr. Shorty had probably rationalised that HDB flats are affordable while playing hide and seek with his ang moh wife in that lush humongous garden of his.

32. I bet to differ.

Just take a look at HDB website on the status of the on going sale of balance flats and you will fund out that the number of applicants have far exceeded the number of flats on offer ALMOST EVERYWHERE IN DIFFERENT PARTS OF SINGAPORE less 2-room flat in Jurong East.

@ 2) ErniesUrn

For your info, Punggol as “Niao bu shen dan” also attracted over 5000 applicants for 700 odd units on sale in the recent BTO exercise. My friend and i were allocated a queue number of over 2000 despite we are both first timer. The third one has a number of over 3000 but he is a second timer.

I am balloting for this on going sale of balance flat in sengkang. As of now, there are already over 700 applicants for 26 units, so chances are i need a miracle!

33. 15 Holland Rise?

Just saw a bungalow at Holland Rise selling for S$ 42 MILLION!
    http://www.singaporeexpats.com/housing-in-singapore/singapore-property/code3880478-bungalow-house-buy-HOLLAND-RISE.htm

No Wonder MBT thinks that 300k+ 3 room flats are affordable…sighs.

34. macam macam 9 October 2009

i really take my hat off to him, he knows his popularity yet he still can smile and make such lame statement “affordable”. chinese saying dwarf usually are kwaft

35. HomeUnited 12 October 2009

Marlboro Tan is one of the worst politicians in the entire world. Only in our homeland can such people still exist. Someone who lived in Holland Bungalow who don’t care F*** about the people.

36. bongiovi 13 October 2009

MBT… you are too much.

HDB is not a free market… public housing is a monopoly by HDB so why must the price be peg to the private market or to be on par with it?

By allowing the market to peg against the free market… it made the newly wed couple having a hard time starting a new family.

MBT what makes you think everyone of us have job security? Aren’t you not aware that the world compared to 10 years ago and 20 years ago is a totally different world?

Globalization had made the world so ever changing, things change so fast.

Government want us to take up insurance, think about retirement, plan for family, save money. How the hell can we do all that?

Do you think we can afford all these? Government encourage us to take care of our parents as well. As an Asian, we have the filial culture to take up the responsibility

But how the hell do we do that? Do you think we do not want to take care of our parents? We are even struggling with our own expenses and living. Plus working in the fast pace economy. Do we have time? Hire maids?

Singapore had become a rotten society and i think the government had play a vital part in this. Influx of foreign talents but they have also jack up the prices.

I think I would reconsider on voting for PAP if the government do not do anything drastic.

MBT you should look through those fancy spectacles of yours.

37. What the hell? keep rising prices n the people suffer, the younger generation can’t even afford to buy houses and have to live with their parents even after getting married. so my question is what the hell are they doing to help us instead of talking all those bull to us

38. ApApA 2 March 2010

MBT was trying to justify the MBT-made-famous word ‘AFFORDABLE’.

39. NoCash 2 July 2010

I am 38 this year…Single female. I felt so so sad….am I a Singaporean? I dont even possible to buy my own flat what if my CPF $ may enough for monthly deduction. But CASH! CASH! Mr MBT, please tell me what do you mean by “there are flats available for you, in different parts of Singapore at prices that are affordable.” Yes, I am not blind I can see there is lots of flats in Singapore! But the choice is limited for Single Singaporean! And the COV require is far too much as high as~45k! Please tell me how a Single Singaporean can “afford” it?
    1) Waiting for CASH drop from sky??
    2) Take all our valuable things go “大兴当” for cash?
    3) Go borrow $ from Ah-Long?
    4) Or go our newly open IR camp there until I have some $ “rewarded”?
    5) Rob the bank?
    6) Maybe I can only wait till I die, and I am afforable to buy any house with papermoney!

PLEASE MP! Do something! I think there is only one place that every one in future can “afforable” to stay, and that is our street!

40. There is no reason for us to pay such a high amount just for a SIMPLE HOME! aka 3-Room. HDB <- Mr Mah, Being a minister, u have to understand. Not everyone can afford. even it is afforable in your words, it is not worth and not fair paying such a high amount just for a HDB. u don't tell singaporean u can't that you can't control. it is govt property!!! main for singaporean.. govt can control tax or etc, why not HDB? what kind of signal are u telling us?? PLEASE!!

41. Sunny 5 May 2011

Public Housing Price 2011

1 room- $30,000
    2 rooms- $60,000
    3 rooms $90,000
    4 rooms $120,000
    5 rooms $150,000

42. Derek Chua 10 May 2011

I am 53 already divorced, after 20 over years of marriage. Now trying to get a 3 rooms flat, and the cost is 300k over, and because of HDB ruling, i cannot loan from HDB, so need bank loan, which means that i have to pay 5% cash of the flat purchase, and on top also the COV of the flat…Even God can’t help…

43. sharon 18 May 2011

Mr Mah can u please shortly the MOP period of the resale flat taking bank loan.Can u make it back to one year for bank loan or 1 and half year.Thank you.