Andrew Loh
We must also not allow ourselves to be divided between haves and have-nots, or winners and losers. We have built a society where every Singaporean has access to good housing, education, healthcare, and much more. This is the result of the deliberate policy of the PAP government, and the efforts of our MPs, grassroots leaders and other volunteers on the ground. If we let the politics of envy drive a wedge between us, our society will be destroyed, and all will suffer. That must never happen. (Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, in his swearing-in speech in 2006.)
Now that MM Lee has said a social divide is “inevitable”, will Singapore society be “destroyed”, as PM Lee warned in 2006? Apparently, the “deliberate policy” of the PAP government has resulted in this “inevitable social divide”.
What must the government now do about this? Or will it simply put the blame on “globalisation”, as MM Lee did in the Straits Times report?
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

————————————————————————————
84) Enough Is Enough on October 23rd, 2009 10.24 am
Respect and loyalty of voters must be earned. They are not inherited.
————————————————————————————
Most Singaporean has proven that “Respect and loyalty of voters can be bought” except for the 2 opposition estate. Benefit or not benefit has superseded like or dislike on our ruling party.
In the past, each time you criticized the papsies they would challenge
you to emigrate as if Sinkapoor belonged only to them.
Now, you criticize them they challenge you to come up with
“constructive criticisms” or else “sit up and shut down”.
They are living in their own perfect world of their own imagination
where all their critics MUST emigrate and leave them to do what they
wish to Sinkapoor. Next, They get paid by the $millions and you and
I have to teach them how to do their jobs!
It’s such a great life they’re living I don’t mind having a slice of it too.
No big deal shaking hands. Most leaders are in it to serve the country, the people and to be influential. The “haves” seem to have everything going for them from the time they are born. The rest of us have a little bit or something. Now it is not a question of trading off wealth and power. Those old enough will remember the song “the winner takes all”.
Dear 88) Andrew Loh,
What are simple are the facts before you – social divide is a fact of life and equality is a pipe dream. If you are honest, you ought to accept them. The destruction from the mishandling of such issues is, of course, far from simple.
This is the first step. Next, we should consider how best to close the social divide and narrow the inequalities. Everybody knows that politicians should not be overpaid. Yet, the puzzling thing is – why do voters accept the status quo by electing the PAP time and again despite ministers’ pay being such a sore point? I can envisage that if a government were to pay themselves such stratospheric salaries overseas, they would have been voted out long time ago!
So, where does the fault lie? If we keep complaining about ministers’ pay, we should ask ourselves who was it who agreed to pay such salaries. It will be useful to hold up a mirror at this moment!
Unless we are suffering from mass bipolar disorder, we should either stop complaining or stop agreeing to such salaries by voting the PAP out. We should have the courage to make the right cjoice.
#100 – “Indeed our beloved country is now divided between the haves and have-nots. ”
In PAP’s world, our beloved country is divided between the haves, and the haves-but-bloody-ungratefuls
Smallvoice,
U r wrong. Voters are not a single entity. They vote for PAP for different reasons. Plus the gerrymandering and fear factor.
What TOC is trying to do is to increase awareness. Try to get it? think?
I think we should view this more objectively and would urge all to take a step back and think about what were said and the real intention – i.e., avoid twisting the words.
Social divide may be inevitable as we are not a communist country. Not everyone will have the same stuff and standards in everything. It’s not possible. Some may be lesser in certain areas than others, but they may well be better in other areas than others.
We all try our best, and we should if we are not already doing so.
That being said, MM was merely commenting a phenomenon that is commonly observed and logically derive-able. PM, noting this possibility, urged that we stay united as a nation and not let this cause divides amongst ourselves.
As a Singapore Citizen who loves this country till the very day I die, I will never ever want a situation like that of Thailand (where political struggles caused bloodshed and unrest and even national embarrassment as evident during the attempted APEC meeting sometime in April) or Malaysia (where politics is about being popular at the risk of the nation’s decline, as evident in their bumiputra policy) and many more.
Pardon my venting, but really, argue on the real stuff and stop playing this word-twisting game. I’m sure TOC can do better, rite?
What happened to the Swiss std. of living? More good years? 5 to 10 Golden era
years? All empty promises and wayang talks? Now you come and tell us it’s
”inevitable” and blame it on ”globalisation” for the sick state of affairs which is happening right under your very nose. You said other countries are also facing the same problem. Wait a minute, ours is not other countries, ours is First Tier, First
World, First Class Elite country, whose Ministers are all getting out-of-this-world salaries. How can you belittle yourself by comparing with other countries?
Come on! Get real! If you want to compare with other countries,then pay your
ministers the salary equivalent to other countries’. When you cannot perform up to the mark you do not repeat do not deserve that type of pay-package.
” globalisation” & ”Inevitable” my foot!!!
smallvoice,
I am amazed that u would place he blame of high salaries on the people, or the voters. I’d have thought that a decent govt would not seek such astronomical salaries for themselves in the first place.
We can talk about the elections at another time – that is another issue altogether and you’re confusing the two issues.
As I said already, and it doesn’t seem to be very well understood, it was PM Lee who said we must nit be divided into the haves and have-nots. It is MM Lee who now says this is inevitable.
I am merely asking now if this means S’pore society will be “destroyed”, as PM Lee warned.
Why is this so hard to understand?
Funny how we can be accused of “twisting words” when all we did was to quote the MM and the PM and even provided a snapshot of the entire ST report and a link to the entire speech by PM Lee.
Some people would grasp at anything. Sad.
Dear 107) TD,
Of course, voters are not a single entity. The outcome of an election is the result of an aggregated average reflecting the preference of the electorate as a whole.
If voters are vulnerable to “the gerrymandering and the fear factor”, then it is their own fault and they should learn from it by living through its consequences and vote more wisely the next time..
And oh, I think some people could do better than grasp at non-existent straws and straw-man arguments.
smallvoice585 (#105),
Sorry but I am not complaining. I in fact have decided that I am no longer interested in giving suggestions, feedback or ideas to the govt. I have instead decided that I will vote for the opposition and will do all I can to persuade all my friends, colleagues, acquaintances, and even strangers, to vote for the opposition.
I think we’re way past the point of hoping the govt will change or take feedback seriously.
Just look at the state of the treatment of foreign workers. We’ve featured their stories and the abuse and exploitation which they face – and we have done so for more than a year – yet, what has changed?
Nothing.
Don’t be naive that feedback to the govt will change things.
It doesn’t.
Smallvoice,
Of coz it’s their own fault. But they are not an entire ‘Voter population’.
And why, TOC is helping to make them aware that they are wrong or at fault. Even if they don’t realize it. :)
12) FaceTheFact on October 22nd, 2009 6.40 pm “They can’t convince you so they confuse you…… ”
Thats the best darn thing I have heard in ages..hahaha
Dear 110) Andrew Loh,
Yes, I blame the voters for the high salaries of the ministers! By electing the PAP, you are agreeing with, nay, even endorsing, their policies – including high salaries.
You can’t separate the election process from its consequences as reflected in present-day Government policies because it is the former that gives legitimacy to the latter.
I know why PM’s exhortation to close the social divide and MM’s pronouncement of its inevitability appear incoherent to you. That’s because you don’t seem to understand their contexts. One is a call for political or social action, the other is an honest observation. If you’re trying to find fault with that, you are obviously scrapping the bottom of the barrel. Please do better. Readers like me expect more from you.
Andrew Loh,
“Apparently, the “deliberate policy” of the PAP government has resulted in this “inevitable social divide”.”
The problem with this sentence of yours is that the policy was to make sure everyone has accessed to quality housing, education, medical services to meet the basic needs, not to create the divide.
Think thats why some felt you twisted the words.
108) can’t stand this on October 23rd, 2009 3.17 pm
All the word-twisting can be done by anyone not willing to accept facts. This is true of most politicians and their supporters. Our weakness as patriots and citizens may be in assuming that presenting the facts should bring the truth to the fore. Seeing some of the opinions thrown around on this page clearly shows this is not so.
So what can we do?
Well, as the marketing mantra goes, “Location, location, location” – we have to be public with the facts we are sharing on this site. Even more public than just through this website. We have to publicise these facts on other websites, on opposition sites (and PAP sites if you don’t mind getting your IP address logged).
Through such publicity, the greater public would be privy to the facts we are sharing. Sadly, PAP approach to truth has been the same as low-brow politicians everywhere, with slander and innuendo. Even more unfortunate is that our legal system is precisely empowered to maintain the PAP in place (where else would a Judge bow to a witness (MM Lee) instead of the norm of everyone bowing to the judge, in recognition of his duty).
As incorrect facts and a slanted legal system can easily be used against opposition politicians who challenge for MP positions (who put their money where their mouth is, unlike us hiding online for fear for our families and existing welfare), the only chance these politicians have to get voted in is if you and I do our bit to wear away at the apathy and ignorance that many Singaporeans have.
While I would love a balanced opposition who have the resources on hand to plan as effectively as the PAP, thereby answering many questions about what they are going to do if elected, the first step towards this should be to take away the PAP majority who go about amending the constitution as they see fit.
I am still peeved by the notion that MM Lee indirectly shrugged off the relevance of our National Anthem. That sounds like someone who is no longer thinking of Singapore. Rather, it sounds like someone simply trying to consolidate his legacy and hold on power by doing away with any and all mechanisms that may hinder him.
The only thing that may stand up to this are a body of politicians who are actually elected by us (as opposed to the GRC walk-ins) and came in because they understand what we needed and not because they have IQ but no EQ.
I learnt long ago that it’s easier to hire someone smart to work for you. However, to find someone who will feel for you…a leader without empathy is someone who can never understand you and I.
So, in conclusion, what should we do?
Vote in the opposition. Yes, Take a chance. After all, with the mess we’re in, with the problems created by current policies of million dollar ministers and PAP yes-men, I’ll take my chances with a patriot who’s brave enough to stand for election and take a chance on me doing the right thing.
[i]) smallvoice585 on October 23rd, 2009 3.53 pm
Yes, I blame the voters for the high salaries of the ministers! By electing the PAP, you are agreeing with, nay, even endorsing, their policies – including high salaries.[/i]
you meant you DID vote for the pap and approved their high self raised salaries?
wow!
incredible..as for my kampond.. we didn’t have the luxury nor the opportunity simply because we cannot garned 6 talented candidates with private limited companies as sponsers…
which country are you in right now?
kenya? iran or myamer?
is this a DEMOCRACTIC country or a kingdom?
117) smallvoice5
‘Yes, I blame the voters for the high salaries of the ministers! By electing the PAP, you are agreeing with, nay, even endorsing, their policies – including high salaries.’
I couldn’t disagree more with your sweeping statement that whatever policies implemented by the PAP is endorsed by the voters.
You put it in such a way that the PAP cannot never do any wrong. And even if anything that is far from satisfactory, it is not their fault but that of the voters.
We have yet to address the issue of how the elections are skewed towards the incumbent holding on to power.
I sense a PAP mole in you.
65) Enough Is Enough. on October 23rd, 2009 2.42 am
##45) suzieTay on October 23rd, 2009 12.12 am
“Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong will see his pay jump to 3.1 million Singapore dollars, five times the $400,000 earned by President George W. Bush. ”
**Lifted this info on MIW salary from another site by a poster called Anon.
Looks like even the most Junior Cabinet Ministers in Singapore are earning more than President Barak Obama. Dosen’t make sense, does it ??
Looks like they are not drawing their salaries but kind of sucking out even the last drop of blood from its citizens.
Dear 108) can’t stand this
118) Jomin
119) Online Shmonline
I support what all of you have said.
But I’m not optimistic of any positive change in our political landscape because:
(1) As Andrew Loh has rightly pointed out – “I think we’re way past the point of hoping the govt will change or take feedback seriously.”
(2) There is a lack of critical mass in non-PAP political forces in Singapore.
111) Andrew Loh on October 23rd, 2009 3.34 pm Funny how we can be accused of “twisting words” when all we did was to quote the MM and the PM and even provided a snapshot of the entire ST report and a link to the entire speech by PM Lee.
I believe there are many KGB being send in here from whom we all know to confuse the public. However, the more these ppl tries to do so would only create more hatred and disgust to most of the readers here as facts and figures are already evidenced and still they trying very hard to deny, i.e. they can still continue lying without feeling the guilt, thats one thing I really envy such ppl with skin thicker than an elephant.
105) smallvoice585 on October 23rd, 2009 2.59 pm
Dear 88) Andrew Loh,
What are simple are the facts before you – social divide is a fact of life and equality is a pipe dream. If you are honest, you ought to accept them. The destruction from the mishandling of such issues is, of course, far from simple.
smallvoice585, it all boils down to what the people think and the majority believe that it is time for the PAP to go. To me it is a waste of time to interpret what the old man said.
The PAP have been in power for almost 50 years and thing have become worse for the majority of Singaporeans. We gave them 50 years but not only have they not delivered, they have messed things up and made life unbearable for the majority of Singaporeans.
As a booklicker of the MIW, I expect you have benefited greatly from it and will work towards keeping your political masters in power. For the rest of us who are struggling to put food on the table, all I can say is enough is enough. While you and your kind struggle to decide which french cooking school to attend during your holidays, the more and more Singaporeans are losing their jobs to cheap foreign imports.
Please take a minute of your time to leave your Ivory tower and see how the rest of us lesser mortals live. Visits a post office and you will see the long queues of Singaporeans who don’t have regular electricity supply but have it as and when they have the cash. The live in darkness most of the time.
I certainly hope you are not want of those who have benefited from the PAP by exploiting cheap foreign workers. Anyway thank for your time and I will now get out of your elite uncaring face.
“Evil will prevail when good men fail to act,”
The time to act is now. Will all good men please step up.
Small voice, when fate hand you something bad, will you accept it and go down with it? or will you stay and fight and try to overcome it to make life better for yourself?
124) tiredsingaporean on October 23rd, 2009 4.34 pm
I believe there are many KGB being send in here from whom we all know to confuse the public. However, the more these ppl tries to do so would only create more hatred and disgust to most of the readers here as facts and figures are already evidenced and still they trying very hard to deny, i.e. they can still continue lying without feeling the guilt, thats one thing I really envy such ppl with skin thicker than an elephant.
===============================================================
My sentiments exactly. I really get pis*ed off when PAP stooges try to tell us that our struggles are sufferings are all imaginary. I also get really mad when they say that we have to choice but to accept poverty as Singapore progresses.
It used to be that while the foreign MNCs and the PAP took a much bigger piece of the pie, they still left a small piece for Singaporeans. Now, the are not even giving us that small piece. They are feeding us the crumbs and they blame it on globalisation. After robbing us, they insult our intelligence as well.
Time for change. Vote opposition.
127) New Era on October 23rd, 2009 4.59 pm
From my observation, this man is getting more vicious as he gets older. Kind of like he will do just anything, I mean ANYTHING just to protect that huge piles of gold that he built up for his family and close cronies. I just can’t imagine the day when the ruling party falls apart with all the hidden truth finally surfaced up to the shock of the citizens, I really can’t imagine what will the people going to do about it but then again probably most or all of them would already have packed and fled the country fearing their lives would be in danger if they stay put.
Here is my suggestion to reduce some of our biggest spending item – housing loan installments…
How about reducing the interest rate of the CPF? Even though it sounds like the CPF is giving a nice interest of 2.5%… I don’t think most of us are earning this interest..
I know for sure I am not earning this interest… All my CPF contribution goes into the home loan.. But because of the ‘nice’ interest of 2.5%, my HDB loan interest rate is 2.6%… (0.1% higher than the CPF interest rate)… It would be great if CPF can follow DBS savings account interest… whatever that is 0.25% maybe… That way. i will not be paying more than 0.5% interest for my HDB loan… would save me a lot!!!
Timely reminder of discordance. Need I say more?
Cheers.
Amazing to me that S’poreans are always blamed for what the PAP govt does. I guess PAP supporters have taken their cue from MM Lee when he blamed Mas Selamat’s escape on Singaporeans’ “complacency”.
Incredible what one believes when one worships another.
105) smallvoice585 on October 23rd, 2009 2.59 pm
Everybody knows that politicians should not be overpaid. Yet, the puzzling thing is – why do voters accept the status quo by electing the PAP time and again despite ministers’ pay being such a sore point? I can envisage that if a government were to pay themselves such stratospheric salaries overseas, they would have been voted out long time ago!
>> Most people voted PAP in the past due to their promise of Swiss living, Golden years, etc. Please kindly get your facts right.
>> If PAP had told the people that they going to increase their salary by such an obscence % before 2006 election, open the flood gate of foreign imports and cheapen our citizenship, locked down the CPF funds, etc; I believe many people would have voted them out.
>> Hence, it’s not the fault of the people that voted PAP after the promise of a brighter future for themselves and their children. It’s the fault and incapability of PAP to have let the people down by not delivering what was promised to the people.
Dumb and dumber (#132),
Thank you. ;)
I think it’s a red herring for people to bring in the election results to blame S’poreans. I know of at least one opposition politician who does this. But this is really a lame point.
I think people who support the PAP with such a lame argument should first question the electoral system – which even NMPs, academics, civil society activists, opposition parties, and ordinary S’poreans have questioned.
This is why I really do hope – and will do all within my means – to influence all the people I know to vote for the opposition in the next elections.
I think for people to first ask me for solutions (when the PAP govt itself has not admitted its shortcomings), and then to blame it on voters (when the electoral system and media is so skewed), is not only to close one’s eyes to what is true but also to close one’s ears as well.
Citizen of Singapore, this is our game plan. We must all vote the opposition though they are frail and weak with limited abilities at this moment. We will force the PAP to split and break up by voting in opposition because once MP sees that public sending them a backlash signal they must break out to protect themselves. This will bring about change and the risk is worth the try.
Do something is better than nothing.
Yes the junior Lee he has came to know, after 1984 after wining the election in Ang Mo Kio. 1987 the semi-com IC chit came to Singapore, he is the first one rejected it. This went to Taiwan, three years later Taiwan is a Boom Market for Electronic IC Chit. 1994 he went to Taiwan and saw these chit was a very good profit, he regretted it. He has found out for thimself has no weight for this PM post.
Today Singapore has critical labour problem, due to the critical mistake LKY policy “StoP At Two” has (motive & slaughter) these “Defenless & Innocent” fetus. Yes this issue is coming back to “Hunt “a must to be address! Killing your love ones “Sister & Brother”
They are ingorant to admit this mistake. Abuse power to kill the opposition.(arrest with trial). many more damages to be arrest on them.
Oh nos. Globalization is going to destroy our society. Blame it on western influence. All these PRCs are bringing in the evil western influence..
PAP AND LKY AND HIS DEAREST PUPPET is not valid anymore.
we singaporeans are suffering in great pain and with goverment debts around us and this is too much to vote for them and wishing for them to help.they will destroy us in no time.
vote them out
a rich son gave his grandma $2000 ever month. grandma go to 4D shop daily to bet on 4D and TOTO and buy big sweep. like get rich fast scheme and waste that money with no worries. the other old folk is to be blame by the goverment!
PAP and LKY don’t give a damn to us singaporeans all there care is to blame on us and keep blaming on us and not once care for us. if they care for us is for some reason of their own benefits and greed!!!
It is a fact that in a society it is inevitable to have income inequality. Only in Communist state it is possible to distribute the income evenly. Therefore it is a fallacy to assume perfect income equality in a society as it was brilliantly stated by MM Lee that having a gini ratio of 0 means no employment. That is what happened in Soviet Union.
However it is another fallacy to assume that high income inequality is necessary to sustain path towards economic growth and prosperity. Some of the states having low income inequality but high standard of living include Scandinavian countries, such as Norway, Sweden and Finland. The ratios of between top 10 percent income earners and bottom 10 percent income earners for these countries are 6.1, 6.2 and 5.6 respectively. As reported by Human Development Report 2009. However having said that one might argue that these countries have high tax regime and work on welfare state model, which might retard the fast pace growth strategy suitable for East Asia and will make Singapore uncompetitive against other countries in the region.
However something which really striking is the fact there are countries in the region which income disparity ratio much lower than Singapore and interestingly they are as competitive as Singapore and some might argue that they are more competitive.
According to Human Development Report 2009, published by UNDP the ratio between top 10 percent income earners and bottom 10 percent income earners is 17.8. While that for Japan it is 4.5 and for Korea (and this refers to South not North) is 7.8 and for Malaysia it is 11.
According to Singapore Government statistics, the ratio between top 20 percent highest income earners and bottom percent lowest income earners was 13 in 2008 compared to 10 in 2000.
So how does it compare to other countries in the region.
According to the figures published by government agencies in Taiwan the ratio between top 20 percent income earning families and bottom 20 percent income earning families was 6.05
http://win.dgbas.gov.tw/fies/doc/result/97/a12/177-186.xls
On the other hand the ratio between top 20 percent income earning families and bottom 20 percent income earning families in South Korea was 5.11 for second quarter of 2009
http://kostat.go.kr/eboard_faq/BoardAction.do?method=view&board_id=105&seq=35&num=35&parent_num=0&page=1&sdate=&edate=&search_mode=&keyword=&position=&catgrp=eng2009&catid1=g01&catid2=g01b&catid3=g01bh&catid4=
So if the government is keen to find the solution to the problem and as challenged by Mr. Bhavan Jaipragas to offer solutions and not rants, I would suggest the government look at the policies implemented in these other East Asian countries where they have been able to achieve growth and prosperity without creating further inequality within the society.
23/10/09
So many postings on this topic, and let us go into the break down on ethnics and correct me if I am wrong, today,the local born Singaporean Chinese are the worse off-have nots whereas, the local born Singapore Malays and Indians are better off today and I was told thousands of them have migrated to third countries unlike local born Singaporean Chinese who all “kena stucked” and being displaced of their jobs by those second and third class Foreign Talents from China.
Regards
Andrew Chuah
Its not surprising. 50 years of cold, heartless and hypocritical rule by LKY and the PAPies has rubbed-off on some people, and this has resulted in producing people who think and act similarly; people like Bhavan Jayapragas and smallvoice to name a few.
## 65) Enough Is Enough. on October 23rd, 2009
**Lifted this info on MIW salary from another site by a poster called Anon.
Looks like even the most Junior Cabinet Ministers in Singapore are earning more than President Barak Obama. Dosen’t make sense, does it ??
===
Please refer to posting # 65 (and view it in full, please).
Would any PAP supporter here like to comment on the MIW Ministers salaries and tell us what you think of it ??
Are the PAP Ministers salaries justifiable ??
Are the PAP Ministers paid fairly in relation to their job performance ??
Any thoughts on the fact that Junior PAP Ministers in Singapore are paid more than Prez Barrack Obama ??
## 28) Bhavan Jaipragas on October 22nd, 2009 9.47 pm
## 44) Bachman Turner Overdrive on October 23rd, 2009 12.00 am
## 52) dd on October 23rd, 2009 12.36 am
## 61) smallvoice585 on October 23rd, 2009 1.50 am
## 108) can’t stand this on October 23rd, 2009 3.17 pm
## 118) Jomin on October 23rd, 2009 3.59 pm
If you are not a PAP supporter, please excuse me for listing your name (above). You will off course be excused from replying to the questions raised.
If you are a PAP supporter, and I have somehow missed your name, please feel free to make your comment.
Thank You.
I still don’t get it. Japan like Singapore is an island with no natural resources, yet the income gap in Singapore is so much more that Japan. Are the present leaders of Singapore incompetent?
As Singapore has become more successful, the income gap has steadily grown bigger. Maybe Singaporeans should think long and hard whether they want or need a more successful Singapore. Maybe Singapore should fail, if that means closing the income gap.
The game of politic is always about pro-people, pro-society when it comes to election. After election, it is about pro-pap and anti-whoever that crossed their path. If Singaporeans have not waken up from all these lies from pap, than what is the use of protecting a nation of peopele with no intelligence, a total waste of time and money.
//The last thing that should happen is for the PAP to lose one election, have an inexperienced Opp team run the govt and spend too much time washing dirty laundy of the past government till the actual developmental needs are neglected to the point that the PAP can show by example the ‘real’ danger of an ‘incompetent government’ once and for all. If this happens, it will be tragic.//
I went to buy some men’s briefs for myself the other day. After an hour of trying a dozen pieces, I decided not to buy any. You see, I have been wearing Calvin Klein’s for the last 20 years, and it fits me like a diaper. Also, the shop only sells Hush Puppies’. I mean, what if Hush Puppies’ cannot absorb much sweat during hot days? What if it can’t accomodate my size when I get too excited? What if…
Sorry guys, but I kind of being bored by some of the familiar ‘Mainstream Media’ style of writing here.
//Bhavan Jaipragas asked a perfectly good question. The people here behave like what the GOP are doing in US Congress, ie, oppose for the sake of opposing. Did the Republicans offer any alternative? No.
Same here for the rest.//
A boy was reprimanded for glue sniffing, after his class teacher discovered him doing it in the school toilet. The parents were asked to meet the teacher in school. On arrival, the father slapped his son in front of everyone, and continued to swear him. The mother then intervened, “Scold and scold, you only know how to scold him…”. And of course the father got even more angry after hearing this. “How bout you? How many times have I told you to spend more time with your son, yet everyday you work so late?” So, the couple continue to blame each other. The teacher could not tolerate any further, so he begs, “Sorry, but I did not ask both of you to come here to find fault in each other. I just want both of you to help your son, your only son…”
Maybe it’s the fault of the teacher to highlight the boy’s issue to the problems. Instead, the teacher should maybe spend more time with his student, understands him, and maybe stands in as a father figure. May be…
//Bhavan Jaipragas asked a perfectly good question. The people here behave like what the GOP are doing in US Congress, ie, oppose for the sake of opposing. Did the Republicans offer any alternative? No.
Same here for the rest.//
A boy was reprimanded for glue sniffing, after his class teacher discovered him doing it in the school toilet. The parents were asked to meet the teacher in school. On arrival, the father slapped his son in front of everyone, and continued to swear him. The mother then intervened, “Scold and scold, you only know how to scold him…”. And of course the father got even more angry after hearing this. “How bout you? How many times have I told you to spend more time with your son, yet everyday you work so late?” So, the couple continue to blame each other. The teacher could not tolerate any further, so he begs, “Sorry, but I did not ask both of you to come here to find fault in each other. I just want both of you to help your son, your only son…”
Maybe it’s the fault of the teacher to highlight the boy’s issue to the parents. Instead, the teacher should maybe spend more time with his student, understands him, and maybe stands in as a father figure. May be…
141) Budamaxx1952 on October 23rd, 2009 10.02 pm
Its not surprising. 50 years of cold, heartless and hypocritical rule by LKY and the PAPies has rubbed-off on some people, and this has resulted in producing people who think and act similarly; people like Bhavan Jayapragas and smallvoice to name a few.
Bhavan Jayapragas and smallvoice are certainly cold and heartless. They have benefited from PAP rule and have no interest in the suffering of others.
Bhavan said “The truism is this – Social Inequality is inevitable. As we progress, circumstances and different abilities between people mean that some will reach a higher standing than others. In my assessment, the government’s social security policies have been far reaching in ensuring that that those who lag behind have adequate help….”
Mr Bhavan please elaborate on our social security policies instead of making such sweeping statements without any substance.
From Asiatimes.
“Health care now accounts for 4.5% of Singapore’s gross national expenditure, one of the lowest such percentages in the world. A research report by Nanyang Technological University’s David Reisman showed that 36% of health-care expenditure was government financed in Singapore in 2007, comparable to the percentages of much poorer Indonesia and economic basket case Zimbabwe.”
Remember the reply from Dr Vivian when Dr Lily Neo told him that $260 was too low for a welfare recipient to survive in Singapore for a month. The good doctor said “How much do you want? Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food court or restaurant?” Does Mr Bhavan also think than $260 is sufficient for someone to live in Singapore for a month.
There are a few people like Mr Bhavan in Singapore. This is inevitable. They are cold, heartless people and think also of themselves.
There was the daughter of MP Wee Siew Kim who said “Please, get out of my elite uncaring face.”
Mr Charles Chong who said “Maybe it made lesser mortals envious and they thought maybe he was a little bit boastful.”
Vote for the opposition. It is time for change.
Bhavan Jaipragas sounds very much like Ms Wee Shu Min, cold and heartless.
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2006/12/%E2%80%9Cplease-get-out-of-my-elite-uncaring-face%E2%80%9D/
http://derekwee.blogspot.com/2006/10/future-of-singapore.html
Full marks to LKY for finally being upfront about it instead of being totally hypocritical. It is now official – Singapore is a dog-eat-dog society, every man for himself.
##142) Cheaper Better Faster ?? on October 23rd, 2009 10.08 pm
“Please refer to posting # 65 (and view it in full, please).
Would any PAP supporter here like to comment on the MIW Ministers salaries and tell us what you think of it ??”
##93) Heckcare on October 23rd, 2009 12.00 pm
“”Peg the salaries of our miniser to that of world-class politicians like Merkel and Obama”"
————————————————————————————————————
I had some free time this morning, so took time out to google the salaries of the 5 most developed nations in the world.
Barrack Obama’s salary (USA = USD 400,000 / year)) http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_Barack_Obama's_salary_as_a_President
Angela Merkel’s salary (W Germany = USD 32,000 / year)
http://www.paywizard.org/main/VIPPaycheck/VIPpaycheckWomen/famous-women-salaries/vip_details?id=angela-merkel
Nicolas Sarkozy’s salary (France = Eur 323,000 / year)
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/7071038.stm
Gordon Brown’s salary (U.K = BP 188,00 / year)
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_prime_minister_gordon_brown's_salary_or_compensation
Kevin Rudd’s salary (Australia – A$ 330,000 or thereabouts)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prime_Minister_of_Australia
Google has confirmed that all the PAP Ministers in Singapore including the Junior PAP Ministers are paid more that the Leaders of the 5 top nations in the world.
I don’t think anyone here can argue that these are countries that are more developed than Singapore, with corrupt-free leaders, a bigger population, higher GDPs (some), higher budgets, more problems to overcome etc. etc…
Take note also that their lowest paid citizens are earning at least 3 – 5 times, or more, compared to ours.
So, where is the justification for the salaries of our dear, beloved PAP Ministers ??
People in all countries, developed or less developed, go into politics to serve the nation / people. Money is not an issue for them.
If the Men In White are so concerned with money, they shouldn’t go into politics, they should go work in an MNC or start their own business.
Readers are welcome to share their comments here.
PS. I don’t think the MIW will agree to it, but the PAP Government should refer to # 93) Heckcare for the best / fairest method to benchmark Singapore Ministers’ salaries.