Leong Sze Hian

I refer to the article “Singapore population of 4.99m is older, more likely living alone” (CNA, Sep 28).

Page 11 of the recently released 72-page Population Trends 2009 – narrative on “Population Size and Growth” – states that “Singapore residents, comprising Singapore citizens and Singapore permanent residents, formed 75 per cent of the total population.”

(Right: New Citizens being sworn in, Photo Credit: People’s Association)

What was not highlighted is that non-citizens account for about 36 per cent of the total population. The percentage of citizens in the total population has gradually declined from 86.1% in 1990 to *64% now.

Whilst the growth rates for the total population, Singapore citizens, and non-resident population were given, the growth rate for Permanent Residents was conspicuously absent in the narrative – but buried in the statistical table in the report.

The PRs growth rate was a whopping 11.5%!

Put it another way, the rate of growth for PRs and non-residents was about 10 and 4 times more than that for citizens.

Of the total population increase of about 150,000 from 2008 to 2009, citizens only accounted for 36,300, or about 24 per cent.

Last year’s Channel News Asia’s report on the Population Trends 2008 had statistics on the number of new PRs and new citizens.

However, I am unable to find these statistics in this year’s report, and the CNA report is also silent in this regard.

Without these data, it may not be possible to estimate say, the number of PRs who may have left Singapore.

By the way, there were about 21,000 new citizens and about 79,000 new PRs last year.

There were 39,826 live-births in 2008, of which 37,277 were resident births (with at least one parent being a Singapore resident).

Why is there no break-down on the number of citizen births?

If I assume the same ratio of citizens to PRs in the total resident population as applying to births, the estimated number of citizen births is about 31,103.

Using the same assumption, the estimated number of citizen deaths is about 14,370, out of a total of 17,222 resident deaths.

Does 36,300 increase in citizens means that there were 19,587 new citizens? (103 estimated citizen births + 14,390 citizen deaths.)

We know that there were 21,000 new citizens last year, but we do not know how many there were from June 2008 to June 2009.

If we make an adjustment for the thousands of Singaporeans who may have migrated in the year, perhaps the number of new citizens from June 2008 to June 2009, may be more than 21,000? T

In any case, it would appear that the number of new citizens may already be outstripping the net increase in the number of existing citizens (births – deaths – emigration).

—-
*TOC thanks Ruijie for pointing out an error. The figure has been corrected from 74% to 64%.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

95 Responses to “New citizens outstripping net increase of existing citizens?”

1. While about a 1000 Sinkaporean born citizen left the country each month according to some estimate, there being replaced faster by new citizen. The Sinkapore as we know it will change will this new influx for good or bad. However, it is the PAP regime policy and we the citizen don’t have a say at all. It is for the good of the country or is it just for PAP? What they had done is just to buy some extra time as these new immigrant will soon discover that their income is allot less then their outgoing/expenditure. At the moment, many live fragully like when they were back home. But their expectation of life in Sinkapore will in time move closer to those that are currently Sinkaporean born citizen. I supposed the PAP regime could continue this import as long as they are needed. The regime should have focus more on why Sinkaporean born citizen are leaving and address those issues rather then using a quick fix solution. New immigrants will bring new problem which at this moment is not apparent yet. The obviousissue for many Sinkapore male is NS and employers having to foot the cost of annual reservist training while the staff was away.My job was taken over by a Malaysian when I was away doing my NS obligation only to discover that there was not really a job for me. I was taken in again based solely because they had too but my prospect was as bright as a moonless night. Beside I was back on my old salary while my Malaysian collede was on a higher band. These are issues that we Sinkaporean male had to live with. What is the gahment going to do about it.

2. It’s about time we recognise the contributions of NSmen, (reservists, retired NSmen) by

(i) giving them FREE medical health care and hospitalisation up to ward B2 for their whole life-time

(ii) 50% discount in buying of HDB flats

New “citizens” employers are not hiring true blue-blooded male Singaporeans because of their NS liabilities.

So far, the PAP government have not addressed the GREAT SACRIFICES of the NSmen. They have only paid lip service and cheap $5 lunches on armed forces day.

The PAP government will only act if they lose a few GRCs and single seats.

It is obvious we know what to do this coming election.

3. Fortune-teller 1 October 2009

They are opening the floodgates in order to keep themselves in power.

I anticipate the people in this country will pay a high price because of their selfishness.

Already, we can feel the effects of such a misguided policy.

4. No worries that them stay here for another two-three years.
    This scenario has happen in the past decade, where Taiwanese ,Honkey Indonesian & some of the PRC have tasted it. THen they will know been “con”. They will scream & curse for “Chao”
    Ah——–Ah———-Ah——-Ah——

5. mice is nice 1 October 2009

yes, yes, open the door wider, our pregnant local women & our NS serving men will just have to “moderate our expectations” further south, “not be choosey” & be thankful that they “provide jobs for local (true blue) S’poreans?…

lmao…

what is our leaders doing to increase the value of our (much talked about) world class workforce? which world class workforce live on 3rd world salaries & conditions?

6. Mr Leong,

An error in your article.

“The percentage of citizens in the total population has gradually declined from 86.1% in 1990 to 74% now. ”

It should be from 86.1% in 1990 to 64% now….not 74%.

7. Sze Hian,

Looking at 2008 data: Total population increase = 251k & citizen increase = 31k.

Ignoring the fact that the 21k new citizens is for calendar year, local born among citizen increase: 31k – 21k = 10k.

From which I conclude that local-born contributed to just 4% of 2008 population growth. In other words, we are now virtually totally dependent on foreign-born for population growth.

If I take your estimates for citizen births & deaths, then emigrants =
    16.7k + 21k – 31k = 6.7k

8. Yamamoto 1 October 2009

A question is, when sgp demographics is been drastically changed by the new citizen…how will it affect future outlook…

just because our population is having growth with the influx of those people ain’t good enough…but will those people be able to cater to the needs for the companies that our gahmen has been courting…

9. tiredsingaporean 1 October 2009

The swopping of citizenship is already on their pipeline, slowly but surely the local born singaporeans will be replaced anyway just to keep those greedy elites to stay in power. Singaporeans please wake up from those elusive dreams of yours into believing whats been told to you all these years and find that you people been played out all the time.

10. EastEndBoy 1 October 2009

Hi Sze Hian
    As pointed out earlier of the error:
    “What was not highlighted is that non-citizens account for about 36 per cent of the total population. The percentage of citizens in the total population has gradually declined from 86.1% in 1990 to 74% now. ”

Assuming 74% now is correct (and sounds reasonable), then the non-citizen is 26%. Compunded over 18 years is 2.8% growth. While 2.8% may not sound high, this is in fact much larger than our natural population growth of 0.8%* in 2008.

Computed from:
    “There were 39,826 live-births in 2008, of which 37,277 were resident births (with at least one parent being a Singapore resident). ”
    and a 2008 population of 4.85million

If we project current 18-year trend to another 18 years in 2036:

Citizens : 4.27million (68%)
    Non Citizens: 1.972 million (32%)
    Total Population: 6.242 million

Note: A majority of us will live to see the 6.5million population projection which was discussed last year, and conveniently swept under the carpet.

11. Moe Gan Thai 1 October 2009

Govt should tackle the problem instead of keep bringing in foreigners. Why true born singaporeans becoming less and less ?? Govt keep blaming singaporeans don’t produce, don’t get married, etc…… but it does not find out the real problems facing us. MPs are good for nothing, the feed back sessions are useless.

12. Going, Going, soon to be Gone! 1 October 2009

Think not just for yourself, think for your children and beyond. Do they have a future if this continues. They now target 6.6 mil (plucked from the air), when this is met, what is to stop them targetting 10 mil? ALL the PM ever wants to see from his minister is $$$ and more $$$! If not, he won’t turn a blind eye.

13. With Temasek and GIC losing our CPF monies, someone needs to cover the liabilities of PAP. It is not accidental the we saw a population boom in 2008, during the abyss of depression, and when our economy cannot create job for immigrant.

Soon the aging Singaporean will withdraw from CPF, cash out HDB. Who is going to take over all this?

This is really a sad thing for us. Every country which proper take care of their citizen, restrict migration except ours.

This is due to our collective wickness. This policy got support from all of our elite, all our parents (happy to see HDB resale rises).

Young people were damn!

14. Hi JW,

What utter rubbish are you spewing (pun intended). The government owe it to every Singaporean to take care of them, not just NS men and their contribution.

You must begin to think big and wide. The PAP’s view is already so narrow; don’t make it any more narrow than it is.

As it is now, new citizens are being classified Singaporeans without each of them knowing the true meaning of being Singaporean. The races; Chinese, Malay, Indians and Eurasians have taken 50 years to create the Singaporean identity we have today.

How can a Chinese or Indian or Malay or European from another country just simply step on our shores and begin to call themselves Singaporeans? They can call themselves Chinese, Indians, Malays etc but they cannot put claim to being Singaporean until and unless the fully understand who we are and the characteristics that make us Singaporeans.

15. how come the foreigners are able to come here and find jobs.. which implies the government is able to generate lot of new jobs.. somebody please explain..

what are the new growth industries that are providing jobs to these foreigners..

can somebody please explain?? how are these foreigners are able to survive in this expensive jungle unless they find lucrative jobs??

16. Re Kan

PRC Chinese in home country suffer 10% and more of jobless. In some dalipilated city probably 20%. It is natural that they find life in Singapore less harsh and are willing to be exploited.

That does not mean Singaporean need to brood with the imported unemployment. This place is built by all of us and we are just a small red dot to be such charitable.

Many PRC Chinese are just living hand to mouth paying rent to the landlords, driving up property. Sure HDB, capitalland will be happy.

Have anyone observe some of our infrastructure already crumbling? Go Changi beach and you find the the seawater is perpetual too sewage for swimming.

With such population growth, sooner our East Coast will be a shit bowl.

I think PAP will stop importing when unemployment hit 8% nevertheless. Loong recent speech to curn immigrant is not charity, its that our employment market already hit limit. Beyond that, we might have a regime change in next election.

17. Generating jobs has to be in line and in tandem with the government’s own policy on immigration. These jobs were mainly created with the foreigner in mind, not Singaporeans. This has already been explained – that Singaporeans are unproductive.

18. Last 2 years a lot of PRs are offered, especially those from China and India. I notice, even old women and men from China, were offered and those with o level equivalent or some even without education (e.g. kitchen helper in restaurant etc) all holding red passports. Bulk of the PRs would be offered citizenship as soon as they arrive, perhaps within 6 months to 12 months.

I guess they feel that the ground is getting very unhappy with their policies and a lot would switch camps, so they are trying to dilute the population with new citizens to give them the edge in election. I had asked some of the new citizens, they are very happy with the speed of their approval and application which is rarely seen in any country, which means they would vote for the government, ironically for efficiency and welcome.

I guess the government is too smart for many of us, they already planned far ahead, with many scenarios planned and mapped. And decided to use influx of new citizens as the latest election strategy. as you can see, this election is being dragged to the tip of 5 year, which is rarely the case in the past. This allows new citizens to asssimilate . The new citizens dont feel much as yet, they have not been here long enough, so likely to reciprocate by giving them their votes.

In short, the election 2011 is getting very difficult for opposition. First we have those die hards, then we have those kiasu/kiasi (who would do anything for paid upgrading, gst credits and repercussions) and now they have another group of so called new citizens to convince? So how?

So the local born citizens whether you tu lang or not, would mean little to what seem to be a losing game.

19. Re: Gemini 16)

Singaporean is the most hardworking, honest and clever employee. Statistic have shown that Singaporean work one of the longest hour.

It is our elites’ top down, carry balls, anti dissident, exploitive that is anti productivity.

Go compare Singaporean with French. French has 35 hour week, 30 annual leave per year, 1 year maternity leave, militant trade union….much more much more….etc

It is their elite who are smart and able to manage these people into productivity.

Our elites are stupid but they simply know how to credit is me, dirty job and fault is singaporean.

20. Donaldson 1 October 2009

10) EastEndBoy on October 1st, 2009 6.30 pm

As pointed out earlier of the error:
    “What was not highlighted is that non-citizens account for about 36 per cent of the total population. The percentage of citizens in the total population has gradually declined from 86.1% in 1990 to 74% now. ”

The correct figure is 64%, not 74%.

21. James Michael Parthi 1 October 2009

Singapore is the only country in the world that hands out new citizenship & PRs’ like distributing freebies,what on earth is PAP thinking?After hearing stories of Foreign Legion apply for PR within 6 months,that gets approved with immediate effect.Lax of immigration policy,nothing stringent about the calibration of influx of foreign invasion from other countries,our forefathers toiled for this nation from the day Sir Stamford Raffles stepped foot on this unknown island,our forefathers sacrificed everything so as Singapore can be what it is today – A FIRST CLASS NATION WITH A BOOMING ECONOMY,A STRATEGIC LOCATION FOR ANY FOREIGN INVESTOR TO PUMP MONEY ON THIS ISLAND!

I’m glad i am in London now,getting my degree & preparing to set foot in the US as well to commence a new business,a land of opportunities as what US has always been,most of my friends & relatives have migrated to either Canada,US,Europe or Down Under….my fellow S’poreans,lest we become strangers in our own land,i foresee that our future here in Spore is indeed bleak for Gen Y.More & more foreigners are questioning our lifestyle,demand their way out of any situation,ask for freebies as if Singapore owes them a living….this doesn’t happen anywhere else,only in Singapore,with the new citizens who some refuse to serve the nation either by NS or doing charity or volunteer work,the 10million dollar fund implemented by our beloved Integration Council will go down as one of the worst days in the history for Spore,i told this to the Brits,they laughed their butts off…..from a colonial system to a cranky nestum!

22. mice is nice 1 October 2009

even Geylang “babes” do not open their “door” that wide!!

lol…

23. Wake-up Singapore 1 October 2009

Time to scrap NS—-there are so many newbies and PR being exempted from NS,it has become meaningless.
    Meanwhile the so-called trained reservists are migrating in droves.
    What a waste of time.
    Trained—emigrate.
    Immigrated newbies—exempted.
    Pretty soon —only one in hundred will carry the burden.

24. Time for Change 1 October 2009

Please do not forget that many foreigners have accepted citizenship in the last few years. True Singaporeans probably account for only 45 per cent of the total population. We are already a minority but it is still not too late to put a stop to this ridiculous influx of trash.

It is time for every true blooded Singaporean to come together and vote for CHANGE in the coming elections. It will be too late in the next elections. As it is, the actual number of Singaporeans leaving for greener pastures is probably closer to 20,000 per year.

Don’t sacrifice the future of your children and your children’s children because of year. Don’t regret in your old age that you did nothing to ensure that they lived better lives than us.

Now is the time for Change.

25. James Michael Parthi,
    Singapore is what you get when you have comedians and clowns running the country. Singapore exists for the world to laugh at and exploit. The old fart and his cronies have demonstrated to the world how to laugh and exploit Singaporeans, and hence foreign companies come to Singapore to create scam and con business to do likewise. Now those clowns tell the world “see, I tell you before, how easy to do business in Singapore, be it monkey business, scam, sham ,deceit business as long as it is business that generate GDP for the SINLAND. Welcome to SIN LAND.”

26. Muhamad Nur 1 October 2009

This island will belong to Singapore for day infinite. Whether they are immigrants or not, in 70 years, those still alive are those born in Singapore now (whether children of singaporeans or foreigners). At the end of the day, Singapore is still very much for Singaporeans. The world is your playground now Singaporeans. Don’t see this island as the only place you can call home. At this point in time, Singapore is definitely a better place to live than all Asian countries. If u really want a change of lifestyle and pace of living, consider the west. If not, be grateful we’re Singaporeans. This land will always belong to us( hey only Singaporeans can defend Singapore right?) SAF is 100% Singaporeans, SPF is 100% Singaporeans. Migrants can dictate their way of life as much as we want them to. At this moment, I have not seen any Singaporeans becoming less Singaporeans because of the 1.8million foreigners in our midst. FYI, I’m not a fan of LKY and his lackeys. Don’t fear him, let him fear us.

27. New Era 1 October 2009

One thing that really sucks is how true blue Singaporean single mothers cannot get the baby bonus while foreign mothers who have accepted Singapore citizenship but are here temporarily can get it. These Singaporean mothers are made to struggle to bring up their children while these foreign mothers lap it up in luxury. Yet the sons of these single mothers are expected to sacrifice their lives for this country. Where is the justice??? Where is the justice???

28. New Era 1 October 2009

Muhamad Nur

Please don’t feed us your BS. You must be living with you eyes close to think that 3 million foreigners in our midst has not changed the character of this country.

And don’t think that we are so dumb as to sacrifice our children in a conflict so that these foreigners can continue to work here comfortably and enjoy the benefits while our sons get killed on the battlefield.

If there is no change in the government after the next election, there will be a mass exodus of Singaporeans to Australia and the West.

29. Singaporekia 1 October 2009

New Era, single parent mother should also get baby bonus? You want govt in a way to be seen as encouraging single parenthood? No no, please please….. I think your parents and grandparents don’t agree too. You should seek justice from your own parents and grandparents. I think the govt can offend you but they won’t ever offend your parents and grandparents, their approach is on the right path.

30. What Change? 1 October 2009

We’re turning into Chinapore.

31. New Era 1 October 2009

Singaporekia,

So you think that these mothers should struggle to bring up their children. These women might have made a mistake (who knows???) but should their children pay the price.

And what of these foreign trash who get the baby bonus. Who knows what they have been up to, to get the bonuses.

This will surely be a big issue in this coming elections.

32. theforgottongeneration 1 October 2009

Re: I have mentioned some data about foreign content in another article. This new citizens/foreigners influx has been going on right under our noses.

Singapore foreign-born population = 36% (2009),
    UK = 9.7% (2005)
    OEDC average = 11.2% (for 2004)
    US = 12.9% (12.5% for 2008)
    Canada = 19.1% (2005)
    Australia = 23.4% (2005)
    Switzerland = 23.8% (2005)
    Austria = 13.5% (2005)
    Sweden = 12.4% (2005)
    Ireland = 11% (2005)

To recall: Increase in foreign-born population is typically 1% for every decade in these countries; we have 1% increase from 2008 to 2009!

33. mice is nice 2 October 2009

Daniel

post #25 on October 1st, 2009 10.50 pm

now you know why Merlion vomit, too much trash!! :)

34. Singaporekia 2 October 2009

New Era, there are many ways in helping single parent but not under national policy such as baby bonus. Actually the govt should not be giving baby bonus, I don’t know why they want to give away money which at the end it benefitted all those childcare centers operator. Most of the private childcare center are charging around S$800 and they are all taking advantage of the S$300 govt subsidy drawn from baby bonus. Some of the center are taking in as much as 16 kids per class under the care of one teacher drawing a salary of S$1300. So if you are in childcare, be the boss and not the teacher.

35. HI Muhamad Nur,

You speak as if most Singaporeans have a choice to choose between the world and Singapore as their home. This thing about being global and having the world as our playground is just a political notion, a ploy, to have Singaporeans buying into it so that we accept the opening of our doors to more foreigners.

For every Singaporean who has the opportunity to choose between the world and Singapore as their home; there are another ten thousand who do not have this choice – they are stuck here – for better or for worse.

The lamentations you hear each day do not come from those who have already migrated or are thinking of migrating. They come from those who are stuck here, struggling to keep pace with this so-called global notion, while at the same time fending off unwanted competition from foreign aliens.

You also said that Singapore will always belong to Singaporeans. So why can’t we now stand up and protect our interests rather than gritting our teeth just because “… At this moment, I have not seen any Singaporeans becoming less Singaporeans because of the 1.8million foreigners in our midst…”?

Can you say the same words in ten year’s time?

36. TemaSICK 2 October 2009

1) George

I hear your pain. My job was taken by cheaper labor from across the causeway too 2 years ago.

I talked to my ex-colleagues recently, locals who are still working there often get lesser salaries than PRs.

It seems although there is a local:foreigner ratio for companies to keep, the company can reduce their local workforce proportion below this ratio when local workers who cannot survive on the meager salaries quit. Then the company hires more PRs from Malaysia, China and India on the pretext that they can’t find local employees.

Bottom line: Not only are we being replaced by foreigners on the national macro scale, we are also being replaced on the micro-scale.

This has been happening for years and years. Instead of voting out the incumbent, Singaporeans(those who had the chance to vote anyway) are too kiasee to see the need for change until they lose their jobs and their homes …and (not-any-more “their”) country.

37. Time for Change 2 October 2009

Singaporekia, please don’t digress from the issue. The concern here is that while the government can spend millions on parties to get foreigners to integrate and millions more on vouchers for foreigners to take English lessons, they are not giving true blue Singaporean single mothers what is rightfully theirs (baby bonus).

Where does the money for the vouchers for English lessons go to?? To owners of language centres.

The baby bonus would be a great help for these single mothers who are struggling to put food on the table for the children and are most probably living in abject poverty.

Singaporeans should come together and fight for this worthy cause.

As for me, I can’t wait to vote for CHANGE in the coming elections.

38. Hello
    I don’t understand the phrase “strangers in our own land”.
    I first assume that all those writers who wrote this belong to the current majority race group, Chinese. The Chinese had never owned singapore. It belongs to local malays. Of course.

During the great “diaspora” of the 1950′s, immigrants – foreign talent you can call it – came in great numbers from Fujian, Kwangtung, Hongkong, Ceylon, to Singapore. The local malays here in Singapore – are truly the ones who became “strangers in their own land”, as gradually, these foreign talents – mind you they are the grandfathers of those who grumble in this blogpost – took control of the economy, the politics and the social structure. The population race-ratio was reversed completely.
    Luckily, the foreign talents – the grandfathers of those who complain on this blogpost – treated the local real, sons of the soil, very well, and we have a harmonious society by and large, for 44 years in Singapore.

What is so new today about the current wave of immigrants coming in? Now we get a taste of what the local Malays feel during the 1950′s when large groups of foreign talent arrived in singapore.- the grandfathers of those who complain on this blogpost.

History is repeating itself, Singapore is recreating itself. The low population growth rate here requires external factors to resolve it. so we have this govt policy to encourage the new wave. Let us face it, even developed countries are not able to increase population by natural birth with govt policies.

Is the new wave of immigrants a boon or bane? Is it a problem?
    I don;t think so. It is a free competition society, Just as it was in the 1950′s.

In many ways, we are going to be better off, with the new wave, who will replace us after we all die. Look at the chinese PR. They speak better, they are more expressive. My hair stands when i see a local born singaporean chinese stammer and speak broken chinese to a chinese PR. I am ashamed of our deplorable standards overall. We have to learn from people who are better instead of condemning. They have pride, they have culture, they speak properly. We must learn from them. They will do good to our cultural makeup. Singaporean chinese who can only speak broken chinese and bad singlish, it is a shame. Or souls rot when we don’t speak our DNA language properly. Many local singaporean chinese have improved their command of the language tremendously because of frequent interaction with people who can speak properly. If we look inward within Singaporean born chinese, we will never ever raise our standards. We speak wrong from the start. Singaporean local Chinese are all starting with English with their babies. This is ridiculous. I hate it. Nobody else in the world will give up their original language and use a caucasiantongue to replace it, without even feeling shameful about it. I really detest hearing broken english baby-speak between singaporean mothers and child, it is utterly disgusting. IT is only the foreign talent who can reverse this trend, insofar as chinese singaporeans are concerned. Perhaps Tamil is more pure also when it comes from native speaker.

Is losing of jobs a problem? Again i point to history. The local malays in the 1950′s were not climbing up very much over the years – precisely because of this foreign talents – the grandfathers of those who complain on this blog. We are just repeating a cycle.
    No doubt there will be hardships due to the fact that the foreign immigrants can accept lower pay. And the NS factor.
    It is the law of the jungle, survival of the fittest. Those who can, go ahead migrate out. Those who can’t and hve to remain in singapore, well, either die off slowly or else compete successfully in harmony with the new wave. 50 years from now the current new wave will then become the new batch of true singaporeans. There is nothing wrong. Singapore is very unique. We shouldn’t use such insensitive phrase like “stranger in our own land”. Remember the grandfathers of those who complain on this blog post, are the very foreign talents they gripe so much about.

Zero

39. Fortune-teller 2 October 2009

38) Zero on October 2nd, 2009 9.03 am

When our ancestors came here, the white men were the owners of the land….not the malays. And the white men benefited and prospered from the exploitation of these migrants.

Although now we are the owners of the land, sadly only those wearing white prosper. Most of us do not see any benefit from these new migrants coming here to take our jobs, homes and benefitting from the security (NS) that we the owners provide.

Perhaps it is time now that we do the same as our ancestors did when they could not take it anymore. I anticipate that it will soon be time to boot out the whites again.

40. poor and poor 2 October 2009

anyone knows the easiest way there is to migrate to nice countries like australia / europe or usa or even malaysia?

my problem for not yet migrated is :
    1. jobless.
    2. nearly 40
    3. not a millionaire.

my strengths:
    1. degree
    2. skills
    3. adaptable
    4. just want to leave for good

41. Re Zero

Zero, are you nuts? This is not about jungle law whereby fittest survive, the immigrationto preserve the unfittest PAP and landlord.

During 1819, there are just couple hundreds Malay here with tememgong, so the majority of Malay here is migrant as well. There is no large wave of immigration in 1950s, the door is already closed, one of the reason being China turned communist.

The situation is worse than the jungle law you mentioned, it is outright discrimination against lower class singaporean.

If we want to stick to jungle rule, do it all the way. Why not import Doctors and Lawyers where most of elites are found. Why displaced only the lower income group occupation with migrant?

And with obligation and sacrifice (NS, land Acquisition Act) comes with implicit social contract. I see no rationale in PR getting 60% subsidies in Uni and health care. If government return us all the acquire land and NS obligation, then we can compete fairplay.

<>

You are really idiot saying this. In every country where by a proper obligation is institutionalised among the citizen, there is a new social contract. The American all migrant from Europe are preventing immigration from latin america.

Western Europe predominatly scion of volkerwandering is preventing immigration from North Africa.

YOU ARE REALLY INSULTING INTELLIGENCE OF LEADERS OF ADVANCE COUNTRY.

And with Indonesia much poorer and nearer, y all low income migrant from China? This has alot to do with our dirty politics

42. The Fact of Life 2 October 2009

Take Australia and Singapore in comparison. Here, the government has a system in place which facilitates for PR ship to GRADUATES students who are undertaking “in demand” courses like engineering, accounting and the likes. Thus ensuring that Australia is getting QUALITY new migrations. Recently, the government here stepped up their English proficiency test ensuring that only capable speaking applicants can be eligible to their PR applications. Which, is a good barrier to protect their citizens and contributing PRs like myself in employments and creating a truly sustainable LOCAL workforce.

Unlike Singkapore, this often hands out PR ships like giving out pamphlets to ToM, DICK & HARRY who some doesn’t even speak English. The PAP just wants NUMBERS and not QUALITY! To think that if Sinkapore is to continue branding herself as an international Biz Hub and with these “new citizens” not able to even communicate properly. Huggh…

As I have not gone home for 3 years, I heard that now in Chinatown, it is predominantly overspilled with PRCs and it seems to be another offshore state of China. Is it truely?

43. New Era 2 October 2009

Listen zero, the orang Asli were the original inhabitants of Malaya. Malays were immigrants from Indonesia. Get your facts correct before you post. And stop grieving about the past. Which century are you still living in.

You must be one of the pesky foreigners.

44. New Era 2 October 2009

We are Chinapore, we are Chinapore
    We will stand together, hear the dragon roar

Feel like China to me now. 60 per cent of the population doesn’t understand, much less, speak English.

45. Hi Zero,

Nice theory; wrong application.

The grandfathers of those who grumble in this blogpost came to a land that was barren, helped the local community (the indigenous Malays) prosper and transformed the landscape of a fishing village into a business centre that reaches to the ends of the earth.

The aliens of today are landing on our shores to grab at the opportunity to share this riches that the grandfathers of those who grumble in this blogpost had so painstakingly helped to build.

Your theory of ‘history repeating itself’ cannot therefore apply.

46. Hello
    In addition to my post earlier, i would like to suggest also why singapore can not be compared with america or europe in terms of migrant issues. Just because we are intellectually mostly english oriented, many singaporeans always like to use caucasian countries to compare ourselves with.

Remember: No where else in the world you will find that Migrant culture will purify the culture instead of contaminate it. Except in Singapore.

In america, if they let in streams of latin people, africa people, the English local language will be contaminated and distorted over time. In Japan if you let in the migrants, the local language japanese will also over time be degraded. Likewise, in France you let in all sorts of people, the french worry that their language will be belittled.

In singapore, really it is unique. If you let in lots of chinese, over time our chinese will be purified and improved instead of degraded. I suspect our standards of Tamil and Malay will also improve, if we let in more of the original native speakers from sri lanka, india and indonesia. I welcome chinese, indians and malays from these lands, no problem at all. We learn from each other. Free competition.

Life is a struggle anyway. You have to strive very hard. It is the law of the jungle, the fittest survive. The weak will be annihilated. The new singapore will be very strong. Life is a struggle.

Majulah Singapura.

Zero

47. Then China has millions of underpaid doctors. Why not let them all in? Why not hired Indian Doctors like what we hired Bangladesh?

China has plenty of lawyers as well. US lawyers are jobless and why not we open door to them.

Why there is only law society and medical guilde to limit practice here.

We should set up road sweeper society, construction society to limit people in the trade.

Latin American has only trivial differences with anglo saxon. Spainish are able to migrate freely in EU. Why US restrict Lat-AM?

The reason why we dont even find construction worker from Indonesia but further up bangladesh is dirty politics.

If we want to play jungle rule, then everyone play. Elite don just sit there.

48. Hi Zero,

I think you’ve just described the thinking of our elites; and peasants like the rest of us have much to fear.

Your warning that “…The weak will be annihilated..” is also one that we have to take seriously. There is simply too many weak ones around us and there is no way we should allow those who think themselves strong to run away with the country.

We must stop these thieves before we lose everything, we really do.

49. Dear New Era
    Perhaps you are right, the Orang Asli were the original inhabitants in Singapore. It doesn’t change my argument one iota. The grandfathers of those who grumble in this blogpost, are the foreign talents and they are definitely not the original owners of the land.. so don’t use the word “strangers of OUR own land” It is insensitive.

And also, to another poster, he mentioned Caucasians as owners of the red dot. No no. Raffles got into a treaty with temengoong somehow through East India Company on Her Majesty service, and England got a lot of advantages out of it.

So, the real owners – the original owners – were neither the white man nor the hokkien man from china or samsui woman from kwan atung who came to singapore in the 50′s to escape communist rule and hard life. Those foreign talent, the grandfathers of those who grumble in the blogpost, helped to built the new singapore of the 60′s to-date.

Likewise, people, please think positive. The present wave of FT WILL over time, also help to build the future new singapore. The fittest survive, the best will win, whether you are local of FT. If you are sub-mediocre, sorry. You will be replaced over time, the fittest survive. If you are really very good, you will succeed. Life is a struggle.

Zero

50. Re Zero :

Bring in doctors. Singaporean is sick of rising medical cost. Our FT policy is not fairplay between elite and plebian. Why not do it all the way.

Down then 1950s, Singapore was still somehow a more pristine land than now. There is no obligation like NS and Land Acquisition.

If fairplay is to be assured, return all the ill-gotton HDB sales to the original poor land owners. They will be millionaire by now.

If fairplay is assured, FT all go NS, and pay market rate for education and health care. Our policy is not even jungle law, it is outright discrimination against Singapore citizen.

As I said, this wave of FT will not ensure fittest survive. It will preserve the odious system of PAP and landlord.

We are all going to sink. Our infra-structure is crumbling. You go Changi beach, our finnest dive site and you see pepertual sign board its too contanminated to swim because of a sewage plant.

Soon with population explosion, east coast will be another cess-pool.

100 years later with this policy we all become Orwell’s “1984″.