The Reform Party is continuing its programme of weekly walkabouts this Sunday (11st Oct 2009). The Walkabout will start from 7.30am at Jurong West St 52, Blk 503 and will continue through to Blk 505. We will then proceed to Jurong West St 41 to finish around 10.30am.
The primary aim of the Walkabout is to introduce the Reform Party and its leadership to the Jurong voters. We will also be informing them of the Reform Party’s platform and manifesto. We will also be gathering feedback on residents’ problems and how they feel current government policies can be improved. The Central Executive Committee will be joined by ordinary members of the Party. We look forward to meeting you and extending our grassroots reach.
Released by the Reform Party’s CEC:
Kenneth Jeyaretnam
Edmund Ng
James Teo
Tony Tan
Justin Ong
Amy Lui
Mohammed Affendy
Quek Teow Chuan
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Wah, I am suprise that currently 2 opposition is eyeing on voters in Jurong. NSP is doing house visit and public outreach in Jurong GRC for months. Now comes the RP. Jurong has finally become the hot spot.
Hi Jurong West residents,
please don’t be surprised if your MPs knock your doors within days after Reform Party members pay you a visit tomorrow.
I personally prefer the Reform Party. Kenneth is an intelligent person and would make a very good leader if he is anything like his father.
I certainly hope the residents of Jurong turn out in force to welcome him.
Our future lies with the opposition.
got get permit or not? scarly kena haul to court for illegal procession.
OPP should not be competing against each other in same GRCs. Set the turf rule clearly and early, no precious resource wasted, no duplication leading to dilution. This strategy worked before, hope they apply it again for the good of SG.
To New Era,
please do not compare Kenneth and his father JBJ. Everyone have to work their way up. I would like to see a grassroot opposition, teamworking MP in town, not another LSL/LKY who many claim that he is talent and genius but has disppointed many & me.
To I dont believe it,
Haha, all opposition is do it many years ago already. Have any party been arrested for doing outreach till now? Ans: None (except SDP)
I hope the opposition will contest in all the constituencies and give the citizen a chance to express their voice through the ballot. An alliance among can be forged with denying PAP two third majority as the goals. Netizens can be a force in this alliance. Instead of just gibing online, we should be networking for change.
The SDP has been making walkabouts and especially in Toa Payoh – Bishan for quite some time now and they’ve publicized it on their website: http://yoursdp.org/index.php/news/singapore/2865-democrats-work-in-toa-payoh-for-third-straight-week
TOC shold cover/feature the SDP’s efforts too.
Hi Reform Party.
I will be there with my family and neighbours to welcome you at Jurong West St 41.See you there.
We want change as soon as possible.All my family,friends and colleagues are supporting all the opposition parties this election.Don’t worry you have loads of support coming.
This is going to be a super tsunami that the PAP will never ever forget.Don’t just contest in Jurong.Contest against the Holy Trinity.We have a lot of support there who also want change.
We will send you our email contacts to you and then you can let us know where you will be doing the walkabout.We will come and support you.Don’t fear the PAP.
Time to get rid of them all over Singapore.Time for a major change.
Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka!
Dear Reform Party.
I will get my whole family and my neighbours to come and support you.We had a couple of residents last year who signed the petition for the By-Election.You have our undying support.
Singaporeans want Change.
We will wear Yellow T-Shirts and will sign up as members as well.
All the best and see you on Sunday.
I believe Jurong will be a sea of yellow on Sunday.
Don’t worry opposition.
Just contest everywhere.Look like you will have a lot of super support.The time has come for Opposition to win like 50 seats in Parliament.
Even the Youth today are super Tulan with the PAP and their lame excuses for everything.Will my children have place in uni?Or must work to serve all these YAYA PAPAYAS? You think what I work so hard sell everything and what? Sky High lan.
Go for Mah Bow Tan.That fella can’t even win Mr Chiam want to hide in a GRC.There are like 40 PAP MPs who win by walkover.And all are hiding and don’t want to contest in SMCs.Make all their Grassroots do the dirty work.
I used to be in Grassroots.All full of YAYA PAPAYA.Not like last time PAP.Last time they very good.Now super HOWLIAN. You think Grassroot all do the dirty work issit? The no balls Sitoh and the other fella can fly kite.
I tell you, even the Grassroot support Opposition now.A lot of Low Jiow resign the past couple of years.Nowadays all young punk only want to do business and networking.Serve People Mee Siam Mai Hum. Go for that WOng Kan fella.Really kan Seng.
But my English no good.Or else I sure contest show who boss.
But don’t worry Son of Hero JB.I tell you Grassroot look up to you and your fighting spirit.PAP people also respect.So the Son and his Reform Party.Don’t worry got support.Kopitiam all support you.
Ah pEk support you.
If what you said about the Grassroots is true, it is starting to make a lot of sense when you put this in perspective with the whole PA and HDB episode. Looks like there is a little mutiny happening behind close doors.
Not surprised as we had a downturn which has definitely affected a lot of Singaporeans.Surely there must be some Grassroots and their family who were retrenched and replaced by the PAP’s favourite PR and FT pets.
I am sorry to hear of your predicament.I also did not qualify for local uni and only got offer from overseas uni.But I can’t afford it.Why should my place be taken by a foreigner? Why is the PAP treating Singapore like 3rd class citizen?
I would be annoyed myself.Heard that the MPS sessions also getting a bit more chaotic.There is a lot of resentment on the ground.I hope the Opposition Parties work the ground.
Also, Mr Pek.I think you should stand for elections.Honestly, it doesn’t matter who you are or where you come from.We just need Singaporeans stepping up into politics.I am probably going down to the RP office this next couple of weeks.
I can’t stand alone.So please join me and lets support the opposition instead of being mere armchair critics.The RP needs numbers.They need like 100 people assisting one candidate at least.
Guys if you are reading this.You have 1 supporter and I will bring a few of my colleagues as well.All of us are annoyed with the PAP.And Mr Pek, please join us.
We can learn a lot of things from experience Grassroots people like yourself.We will all work together so that the Oppo can win more support.I am sure there are also the Ex PAP members who will join you.I have friends who also quit YPAP.They also agree it is a YAYA PAPAYA organisation.All NATOs.No Action Talk Only.
And as Jurong Guy has put it so succintly.
Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka!
Reform Party.Reform Party.Reform Party.
8) Jurong Guy on October 11th, 2009 1.07 am
9) Contest Jurong and all of Singapore Please on October 11th, 2009 1.10 am
It will be good if you guys can take some photos and send to TOC admin. TOC admin can then decide whether to post them on TOC. Video clips of the walkabout will be even better.
We need to keep people inform about the activities the opposition parties are doing in our estates. The MSM will never report such things about the oppositions in the newspaper. Let’s help the oppositions to help ourselves and our children.
If we can’t do great things then let do small things in a great way.
Hi FriedKwayTiaoWithHum.
Can the public citizens take photos and videos of political parties? Is there some sort of law by the PAP that prevents these articles to be distributed in any manner?
How and which address do we send the photos to?I will bring my camera.I will help the opposition if it is legal.We don’t want the opposition to get into trouble before the General Elections.
We will wear yellow to show support for RP.
Hi Guys.
nice to know that its like in the middle of the night and we are all excited for the Opposition. I hope more Oppo will let us know of their events so that we can come and support.
There are times when we find out to late.Like this walkabout for instance.I think a weeks notice would be good.Or if you send us e-mails will be fantastic.
And TOC, I hope you guys organise a forum so that we can meet your wonderful writers and contributers.Your site is fantastic and a boon to Singaporeans.Also invite the Opposition Parties.
I am sure Singaporeans would like to hear them speak instead of watching videos on Youtube.We want to see you and hear you live in person.
Have a good night and see the rest of you tomorrow.Maybe we can all go have breakfast or lunch together with the RP people.Sweet dreams.
There is clearly an hidden agenda by TOC..
NO report about SDP or the other opposition party walkabout.
The Online Cons
FOCUS on bread and butter issues. Working class residents mostly in Jurong. Jurong was late in getting the upgrading of the LIFTS. None of the flats got the full upgrade like those areas in clementi, amk and toa payoh a decade ago. Eventhought the flats here are equally old. Jurong was always a given by PAP. Now most Singaporeans who got retrenched are most likely to be from Jurong. Resentment is high. I just saw a long queue to the M-P-S in JW st41 just on monday. People have problems but a MP cant do much except writing letters. It is the GOV that need to do its job well. If a PAP MP cant help, what is the use of him? Might as well vote a opp MP to represent you in parliament and make the GOV listens to you. No more free lunch for the PAP.
JURONG RESIDENT
Brace ourselves for our last stand against the PAP in the next election before the foreigners overwhelm us. It is now or never. The final hour has come and let it be Singaporean’s D-day , to be freed of oppression and of injustice from the greedy Men-In-Shame. Back then, our forefathers fought against the Japanese invasion, and against British colonization towards a better democratic Singapore, so let us once again reject the tyranny and oppression of incumbent party that betrays the trust of the nation and predecessors, and fulfill the true meanings of the pledge.
dun forget abt the east leh, 20+ yrs walkover ish enough liaoz lor
The buzzword for the upcoming GE is ‘Change’.
Maybe the opposition should have this word printed on T-Shirts and sold to its supporters. I would like to buy one.
Kenneth and company, Don’t forget other constituencies. Why don’t you come over to Serangoon Gardens as I hear from reliable sources that it will be carved out as a single constituency. The MP Lim Hwee Hua has been hinting that she will be standing as candidate and that she will win with her hands down. I am not so sure! The PAP has antagonised a lot of people over here and with the bungling of the worker’s quarters, the traffic jam issue, plus nationals issues like influx of foreigners etc, you will get supporters.
Please do come and see for yourself the unhappiness of the constituents! Come to the market on a sunday morning and feel the pulse and you will know.
Ministers pay almost 6M, cost of living beyond recognition, massive losses, so many friends and relatives in high places, replacement of citizens with 2M of foreigners etc.
Yes we can continue to support this government, it is as good as digging a grave for ourselves. It is up to our kiasu/kiasi citizens now. You worrying about upgrading (which you will pay anyway) or you want to be replaced.
I just hope RP and NSP can co-operate not to split votes when election time comes. Try not to have three-corner fights to give an advantage to PAP.
PAP is a great strategist when election time comes. The opposition Parties must show PAP they can match them and deliver what is promised.
Everyone of us Singaporeans is hoping this coming election will be history in the making. Capture one or two GRC and some other SMC apart from Hougang and Potong Pasir which is a sure win for LTK and CST.
Let the two stooges Sitoh and Eric Low lick a deeper wound than before.
Two real clowns !!
Stand up and be counted. Sign up to make the difference. I intend to sign up with the opposition party that is going to stand in my constituency and get involve to bring real changes to my community. We must break the barrier of fear of association with the opposition party.
Just return from following RP @ their walkabout.
It’s quite a success. Many residents were happy to see them. The place wasn’t a sea of yellow as most people didn’t expect RP to be there. There was a MediaCorp cameraman filming their every move.
I find it strange why the team kept emphasizing the fact that Kenneth is JBJ’s son. We have seen the father-son team in the Government and emphasizing family ties in politics isn’t a good way to introduce oneself.
But I believe JBJ’s shoes is simply to big and I think Kenneth’s his own man.
Good Luck to them.
14) Jurong Guy to FriedKwayTiaoWithHum on October 11th, 2009 2.14 am
“Hi FriedKwayTiaoWithHum.
Can the public citizens take photos and videos of political parties? Is there some sort of law by the PAP that prevents these articles to be distributed in any manner?…”
Hi Jurong Guy,
My knowledge on the laws regarding news distribution in no better than yours. But there is really nothing the PAP can do to stop people from uploading information on the Internet.
You may want to upload the photos/video of the RP’s walkabout at http://www.youtube.com. and then tell us about the youtube the link here. You can also try sending them to TOC and it is up to the editor of TOC to decide whether he wants to upload your photos/video on TOC website.
No harm trying to send to TOC. Remember “if you don’t try your chance is zero. If you try there is a chance. Just like Toto. If you don’t buy no chance to strike. If you buy $1 there is a $1 chance.”
can the opposition please field candidates in every constitutency in this election. we want half our parliament with you people.
Merdeka
Jurong is definitely going to be a hotspot this coming election. The PAP team defending Jurong GRC will be different from the team that won the 2001 election. Mr Ong Chit Chung has passed away July last year and until now, there is no sight of a replacement for him.
Looks like I’m finally going to be able to vote after living 29 years in Singapore.
#16) Equality on
There is clearly an hidden agenda by TOC..
NO report about SDP or the other opposition party walkabout.
The Online Cons
WP used to put it online where they go for their walkabout, but decide not to due to some reasons. But at that time, TOC not born yet, if i’m not wrong. :)
But it will be better if TOC can send a reporter for any opp’s walkabout (not every, of course), so that ppl will not be misled that opps only active when GE is near. Having say that, one need to seek permission from them. WP won’t, but i’m not sure for others.
This is the kind of effort Expected of Opposition parties.
RP is doing the right thing.
WP need to do the same by informing netizens of their walkabouts via blogs like TOC and TR etc instead of just via their own portals which may not have as much traffic as these.
This is one way to mobilise their supporters who for some reason may not have signed up as a member.
AAAAH WHY NEVER COME TO JURONG EAST
D: Please ? Please please please?
PLEASE?
From what I have see, list of CEC member of the Rubbish Party. one have IMH certificate, one is a loose women have resign long ago, one like to take nude photo in the Party Office in the middle of the night. one is a banktrupcy case sue by LKY. Do U people think it this a Genguin Opposition Party can serve Singapore, Look Up Properly. Elitist Double 1st “Phui”
Hi Lionel #7 & Equality #16,
If PAP, SDA, WP, SDP, NSP are willing to inform us in advance of a walkabout, we will probably send one person down to cover the event.
However, we can’t cover every walkabout for obvious reasons – manpower and frequency of the events.
The idea of a coverage is to give TOC readers an idea of what goes on at a walkabout and how the public reacted to the walkabout in question from a 3rd party POV.
However, this article only serves to inform the public that RP is conducting a walkabout today. It is not a coverage.
I can be contacted at donaldson[at]theonlinecitizen.com should any political party wants to invite TOC to cover its walkabout.
Best regards
Donaldson Tan
Deputy Editor
The Online Citizen
That is a great start for Reform Party to do your walkabout. Share with us your experience on your website. Did the residents welcome you or hiding in their flats fearful to be seen supporting you guys?
If this double 1st “Phui” is so good try Tanjong Pagar GRC and prove it. I will take my Hat and salute U. Don’t have to go to isolate country side. Prove U are no body Man!
Donaldson p/s don’t waste your time ,forecast on other Party. This Party won’t be long. Close Shop. Times witness.
32) Donaldson on October 11th, 2009 4.43 pm
I’m beginning to get the impression that TOC has been pro-RP since Kenneth Jeya joined TOC. Else there’s no reason why RP gets 100% coverage so far and other opposition get less than half. There’s nothing wrong, but many people do not like it when you pretend to be fair.
That is surely a welcomed move for the Reform Party, especially since I am a resident of the Jurong GRC.
However, I do question the chances of the RP, since a large number of Jurong Residents now consists of “converted” Singaporeans (aka Foreign Talents) who will most probably vote in favour of the PAP.
I do hope to see more action from them as I will be voting for any opposition in the next election. Vote for Change, Show our Rights in 2011!
Not sure why Jurong is a hot spot. I do not live there but I do visit there occasionally to browse around shopping centers like IMM & Jurong Point.
From what I can see its an immigrant enclave with lots of Ah Tiongs from China, students studying mainly at NTU, NUS & lots of China academics living there too. I believe it also includes new Spore citizens from China. Also after graduation, some of them having being given new citizen status buy resale or new flats there.
So my question to long time Jurong residents, what is the proportion of new citizens from China living in your estates?
How will Kenneth & his team connect with new China citizens? Does Kenneth speak Mandarin cos they will give him bonus points if he can?
Another point to note is that there is way too many alternative parties around. Spore is such a small country. Why do we need so many opposing voices, each one fighting against each other?
It also shows the national psyche that we as fellow Spore citizens do not look out for one another given the proliferation of so many political parties wanting to vye for our votes.
Can they not unify & speak in ONE VOICE in ONE ALTERNATIVE PARTY against the whities. Is that so difficult?
I do NOT see the coming election, if its coming in 2010 or earlier, as a strong upswing in favor of alternative parties. Its just too fragmented, probably status quo, still 2 Opp wards no changes. Look out for one another & speak as ONE ALTERNATIVE PARTY is the best way forward.
At SUpport Oppo,
Don’t be too confident till the last minute, the momentum will swing.
This happen in 2001 election from my perspective view, Very years there are new first time voter. One opposition wayang shouting at Goh Choke Tong to disgrace the opposition, from the last three days of the Election days. Resulted the new voter swing toward the PAP. If you got the heart to vote for the genuin opposition, just go ahead without listening to any Russian Love Story! I love U.
“The heart is willing but the fresh is weak. ”
This sums up the state of the opposition, especially for KJ. Strengthen your “fresh” first. Announce to the people how many have become members since the party was formed. And how confident you can get more members.
And then get the cream to be CEC members.
If the “cream” is just so so except one, difficult lah. You are just fighting a losing battle.
Refer to # 38) CB
It’s unfair to say TOC is pro-RP. I think it’s mainly becos this is RP’s maiden walkabout after RP formed about a year ago, unlike the rest like WP, NSP, SPP or even SDP who have been doing walkabout for donkey years. In light of this, i see nothing wrong for TOC to provide coverage for RP’s maiden walkabout.
Want to take this opportunity thank NSP for visiting and helping me to write to PUB to reduce the fine. I have received your cc letter. Thank you for your newletter also.
Support the opposition if you want to have a better life for you and your future generation. Singaporean must vote for opposition.
[53]One Party Rule Is Really Bad
“Our future lies with the opposition.”
I agree with you totally.
Which means Singaporeans need to vote in the opposition – every opposition party – in the next elections.
43) ZL on October 11th, 2009 7.28 pm
“I think it’s mainly becos this is RP’s maiden walkabout after RP formed about a year ago”
That’s very lame reasoning. TOC did not cover so many SDP maiden events. And not just the walkabout. Everything on RP is covered without fail. In one visit to TOC I see 3 RP logos on the front page alone. Anyway after my last post suddenly RP news was shifted bottom and WP and SDP logos appear right on top. So I guess they agree with me and decided that they do not want to be known as pro-RP, so decided to readjust.
pls come to the north area too.
I hope the Reform Party can share their vision for Jurong with TOC readers.
A) Post Retire Minister GRC
1) GOH Chok Tong
Prime Minister’s Office
2) LEE Kuan Yew
Prime Minister’s Office
3) S JAYAKUMAR
PMO – Ministry of Foreign Affairs
4) WONG Kan Seng
PMO – Ministry of Home Affairs
5) MAH Bow Tan
Ministry of National Development
6) LIM Boon Heng