Tuesday, October 13, 2009 8:41

Reform Party visits Jurong West

In Main Stories • 3,297 views • 128 Comments

Donaldson Tan / Deputy Editor

The Online Citizen joined the Reform Party at its walkabout in Jurong West last Sunday. The walkabout took place at the Jurong West Market and Food Centre.

By 8am, the market was already bustling with activities. One could hear the familiar haggling between the stallholders and housewives in the wet market, and children pestering their parents over the choice of breakfast at the food centre.

(Left: Kenneth Jeyaretnam leading the RP crew, Photo Credit: TOC)

The Central Executive Committee (CEC) of the Reform Party was represented by Kenneth Jeyaretnam (Secretary-General), Edmund Ng (Chairman), James Teo (Treasurer), Tony Tan (Member) and Justin Ong (Youth Wing President). Other party cadres were present to support the effort of the CEC, including Miss Nicole Seah, a recent NUS graduate. She joined the Reform Party a month ago.

Perhaps change was already in the air. The Reform Party was well-received at the Jurong West Market and Food Centre. An elderly chinese lady who declined to be named told The Online Citizen that she is very glad that the legacy of J.B. Jeyaretnam lives on in his son Kenneth Jeyaretnam.

“We need more Opposition such as the Reform Party in Parliament to voice out the concerns of ordinary Singaporeans on coping with the escalating cost of living. My son is struggling to pay my hospital bills while providing for the rest of the family and repaying his HDB mortgage,” she said.

At the wet market, a vegetable stallholder expressed her disapproval with the Jurong Town Council. The ceiling above her stall has been leaking for a few months and the Town Council has yet to take action despite her frequent complaints.

“They [the Jurong Town Council] don’t understand my predicament. When it rains, the ceiling leaks a lot and this contaminates my vegetables. Nobody wants to buy contaminated products,” she said in Teochew.

A 22-year-old Jurong resident said that his heart resonates with the Reform Party’s vision in a democracy backed by transparency, accountability and inclusiveness.

(Right: Reaching out to wet market patrons, Photo Credit: Reform Party)

A society is judged by how it treats its weakest members. “The state should provide a safety net for the most vulnerable members of society. Those in genuine need should not be made to feel grateful for what should be an entitlement,” he said.

The Online Citizen queried the Reform Party whether the Reform Party would participate in a 3-way fight with the People’s Action Party and the National Solidarity Party for Jurong GRC. Jurong GRC is currently a PAP ward while the National Solidarity Party has been conducting community outreach in Jurong GRC every Wednesday. The Reform Party declined to comment. The recent surge in political party activities among PAP and the Opposition has led to many speculating when the next General Election will take place.

More photos of the RP walkabout

—–

Newly revamped Reform Party aims to secure one GRC in upcoming election

Lianhe Wanbao, Sunday, 11 October 2009

The newly revamped Reform Party aims to secure at least one GRC in the upcoming election.

The party started regular walkabouts at Blk 502 and 503 of Jurong West this morning. Helmed by the party leader Kenneth Jeyaretnam, the party aims to prioritise their energies into such groundwork.

Jeyaretnam said that the party previously headed to Geylang Serai for a Hari Raya walkabout. They will be doing another one for Deepavali. Following that, the party will visit Tampines.

Jeyaretnam added, “As for the GRC we will be targeting, we have not reached a decision on that as of now. However, we feel that it is important to raise awareness of our Party, which is why we have commenced walkabouts at different parts of Singapore.”

One year ago, the party was led by the late JB Jeyaretnam. Kenneth, his son, took over the reins four months ago and commemorated the revival of the party with a one-year anniversary dinner, where he announced plans for economic reform and a new team.

Jeyaretnam said, “Apart from the economy, governmental reforms, we also hope to improve upon civil liberties and human issues. We also hope to reform education and aim to bring the minimum up to at least O Levels.”

The party entourage comprised of 8 people who went into the hustle and bustle of the wet market at block 503-505 of Jurong West Street 52.

The Jurong GRC is currently occupied by Tharman. It was previously contested in 2001 by the Singapore Democratic Party.

—-

Newly formed Youth Wing attracts 15 members in short span of 3 months

Lianhe Wanbao, Sunday, 11 October 2009

The newly formed youth wing of the party attracted 15 members over the short span of 3 months.

Kenneth Jeyaretnam said, “We believe that young people have strong ideals and want to regain ownership of their country. They are also hungry for change, which explains the increase in membership intake.”

The president of the youth wing is 25-year-old Wong Wei Shi (Justin Ong), who is a banker with DBS. He graduated from NUS.

Jeyaretnam said, “We currently have 30 members in the party. We would like to encourage those who would like to see change in our country to stand up and join the party. Together we can work towards this common dream.”

1. Reform Party Walkabout
  2. Reform Party man wanted by US
  3. Reform Party: Discussion session on Singapore’s economy
  4. Kenneth Jeyaretnam co-opted into Reform Party CEC
  5. Reform Party ex-chair on his leaving the party

128 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Time for Change
Oct 13, 2009 9:33

I believe that NSP should give way to the Reform Party.

dd
Oct 13, 2009 10:19

think they should form an all star grc group….consisting of the most prominent members of different parties…but fight in eunos or aljunied(whatever its called now) best chance to win and prove something

XiiAoGeNgEnX
Oct 13, 2009 10:33

1) Time for Change on October 13th, 2009 9.33 am

NSP might be unwilling to vacate Jurong West due to the fact that they have already committed plenty of resources, time and effort to this particular constituency. It would be unfair to ask them to leave so abruptly, as support, presence and influence is hard to build up.

Isnt there more than enough uncontested constituencies around Singapore to share around the Opposition? Why is RP intruding on another Opposition Party’s turf?

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 13 Oct 2009
Oct 13, 2009 11:03

[...] Road to Perdition Election – TOC: Reform Party visits Jurong West [...]

anony
Oct 13, 2009 11:16

Why is TOC getting even more enthusiastic over RP’s walkabout than RP itself, with report and photos from its crew following them.

A check on RP’s own website hardly has any thing about it?
http://www.thereformparty.net/

Not A Fan
Oct 13, 2009 11:21

Will the RP be seen as a bully who came in late to Jurong West [than the NSP], yet demanded to be the rightful occupant, just because KJ is JBJ’s son? and because TOC is backing it?

Image Consultant
Oct 13, 2009 11:31

Just a suggestion with no offence intended:

Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam should try to get rid of his pot belly which stood out in most of the photos.

Plus his somewhat “Ang Mo” look (which can’t be helped of course), it inevitably gives the image of a clubbing, beer-drinking hedge-fund manager, instead of a formidable political leader.

Donaldson
Oct 13, 2009 11:49

Hi anony #5,

If PAP, SDA, WP, SDP, NSP are willing to inform us in advance of a walkabout, we will probably send one person down to cover the event.

However, we can’t cover every walkabout for obvious reasons – manpower and frequency of the events.

The idea of a coverage is to give TOC readers an idea of what goes on at a walkabout and how the public reacted to the walkabout in question from a 3rd party POV.

I can be contacted at donaldson[at]theonlinecitizen.com should any political party wants to invite TOC to cover its walkabout.

Btw RP actually updated their facebook page on this walkabout.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Reform-Party/178607321109?ref=ts

Best regards
Donaldson Tan
Deputy Editor
The Online Citizen

Thank you
Oct 13, 2009 11:50

5) anony on October 13th, 2009 11.16 am

The walkabout has been uploaded. :)

Time for Change
Oct 13, 2009 11:52

Singapore is no longer a nation. It has become a hotel where foreigners come, stay a while, do business and then leave.

Local born Singaporeans have given up hope and left for greener pastures elsewhere.

Last week, the Singapore slingers (basketball team) took on a visiting Filipino team. There were 3,000 PRs and new citizens in the Indoor Stadium. The PRs and new citizens were there to cheer the visiting team and jeer the Singapore slingers. There were Filipinos after all.

This coming Sunday, 10,000 PRs and new citizens wil be descending on the Indoor Stadium to watch the Singapore Slingers take on the visiting Philippin Patriots. Agains, all the PRs and new citizens will be supporting the visiting team. Again, all of them will be Filipinos. The Singapore Slingers will feel like they are the visiting team.

This is so sad. Singaporeans don’t give a hoot about this country anymore. The foreigners have taken over. It is time for the locals to leave.

PS. Local Singaporeans were castigated and their loyalty questioned by the Shitty Times when they supported Liverpool FC (English football team) against the Lions in July 2009.
How come the deafening silence by the Shitty Times when PRs and new citizens support another country?

Singapore no longer a nation? You bet.

andrew leung
Oct 13, 2009 12:07

RP should visit NTU and the other Universities to do some recruitment.

Time for Change
Oct 13, 2009 12:17

11) Political Salesman on October 13th, 2009 11.53 am

I think Ang Mo Kio GRC would be too easy for the Reform Party to win. completely unknown newbies from WP contesting there in 2006 garnered 37 per cent of the votes. A swing of just 14 per cent of votes towards the opposition would ensure victory for them. Think Ang Mo Kio would be tough for the opposition to win? Where have you been all these years? Or are you a PR who has just arrived in Singapore.

No Name
Oct 13, 2009 12:19

Isn’t Kenneth Jeyaretnam being hypocritical when he said that “Reform Party is not about personality, but about policies”?

Everywhere he went in Jurong West, he was introduced as “JBJ’s son”.

Singaporeans really need to get over this kind of “good genes” mentality, which is already manifesting in the PAP camp.

btan
Oct 13, 2009 12:22

The last thing opposition needs is a three way fight. RP being a new party needs to learn from the last GE where all the opposition work together to avoid 3-corner fight.

Opposition members need to wake up now as well and form a coalition to take on PAP during the GE.

Bong Tiok Sai
Oct 13, 2009 12:48

11) Political Salesman on October 13th, 2009 11.53 am

The coming General Elections :

It will not be fair to suggest that a frail 88 year old man (who looks like he might just be blown away by a strong wind) fight a young, vibrant opponent like Kenneth Jeyaretnam,

He might just collapse before the contest starts.

A more equal and better match would be for the PAP to put up a young, vibrant PAP Minister like the Honourable Minister of National Development, Mr Mah Bow Tan, to contest Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam in a single ward constituency.

Now, that will be an evenly-matched contest most Singaporeans would love (and die for) to see.

Please, please, please Mr Mah don’t disappoint us who love and believe you when you say that HDB flats are “subsidised” at S$ 300 – 500k and re-sale HDB apartment with COVs of S$ 40 – 50K are still “affordable”

JCKT
Oct 13, 2009 13:08

Don’t forget Mah Bow Tan was defeated at Potong Pasir, If he is good he will stay back at Poting Pasir, do not need to go to Tampines for pakage sales.

Seow
Oct 13, 2009 13:20

Good that the opposition is starting their walkabout early.

New Era
Oct 13, 2009 13:40

Other party cadres were present to support the effort of the CEC, including Miss Nicole Seah, a recent NUS graduate. She joined the Reform Party a month ago.
==============================================================

Good on you Ms Seah. It is heartening to see a young intelligent woman like yourself put the nation before your own selfish interest like those in the Young PAP.

I believe Singapore will have a bright future if there are more young people like yourself.

Yang
Oct 13, 2009 13:55

Well done RP! Keep it it up! Hope your party will drop by in Balestier area. See you.

gillian tan
Oct 13, 2009 14:02

good stuff! the reform party has so many new faces (and good-looking as well!). I hope they eventually break that psychological barrier by winning a grc. looking forward to see intelligent young men and women such as mr justin ong and ms nicole seah eventually contesting together! more young people must forward and get the reform up and about..

old chunky
Oct 13, 2009 14:08

The Reform Party looks to be a really good party! Up and coming + fresh and clean. So different from the SDP who is always trying all ways and means to attract attention but keeps failing..

sue lynn
Oct 13, 2009 14:12

can toc do an exclusive interview justin ong quite soon? keke..~

To Image Consultant
Oct 13, 2009 14:23

Your Suggestion is offensive.

Should PAP MPs also have a makeover? Who should we start with?

Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam has stepped up to take over the Reform Party for Singaporeans, to represent them as their voice.And already you are ridiculing him? Do you advocate more walkovers and more Singaporeans not being able to cast their votes?

And we are seeing young people and professionals joining the party as well.Why is the PAP hell bent on discouraging people joining the opposition party.They can’t even retain their talent and have to go for 2nd and 3rd best to field as candidates.

What is wrong if he is not Chinese or Singaporean looking? If we vote base on looks and image alone, a lot of the PAP MPs do not deserve to be elected into parliament. Stop using Race as an issue.Then we are no different than Barisan Nasional.It’s the PAP that plays the race card always.

Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam and his team at Reform Party will be formidable opponents in the coming election.I foresee a sea of change. If not we will have a PRC as the next prime minister.

Do you want that?

Rajiv Love Motorbike
Oct 13, 2009 14:33

lucky got reform party.. I was at the jurong west hawker centre on sunday morning where they gave out their flyer. looks more professional than the piece of paper that nsp gives out. also I agree with “old chunky” that sdp got no ideas. all day complain minister pay high or that wet market cannot close, but never give any constructive comment.

Nicole Seah Pretty Seah!
Oct 13, 2009 14:38

Miss Nicole Seah must come to Tampines GRC. I surely vote her as MP.. HAha

JW
Oct 13, 2009 15:00

Thank you Donaldson for your public spiritedness.

Right now the opposition (alternative) parties have no luxury to be partisan.

The thing is either you are PAP or non-PAP. The opposition parties are only a small fart compared to the mighty PAP.

If the opposition parties don’t come together and form some form of loose coalition, there is not much hope for them.

mike
Oct 13, 2009 15:08

the oppositions party must hit the right issues as below:

1. costing of living
2. influx of foreigners
3.majority of singaporeas lost of jobs
4. low pay job left for singaporeans
5. unaccountablility by the ruling party

not only hit them but hit them HARD!

One_too_many_lowered_expectations_in_Spore
Oct 13, 2009 15:21

Good to know Jurong might have Reform Party contesting. Finally we get to voice out our grievances with our votes.

sdp suporter.
Oct 13, 2009 15:47

who say sdp got no idea? we always said and complained that minister pay high and we always stand out and protest. recently, the old dog LEEgime show us face, acquite us in court because scare of us. we have many talent indibiduals in party oso,.

alltho many of us in sdp got no uni degree but we all very credble. we got jufri salim and khalis. altho malay and from ite but got alot of heart. got chee soon juan foreigners many like. always say we good. singapore peopl dont understand but we constantly fighting for all allways.

dun like sdp.
Oct 13, 2009 16:01

Hee. The SDP’s tactics are hilarious! Want to defend also defend in such poor language lacking proper logic. They should take a leaf from the Reform Party and start attracting young graduates onto their side.

XiiAoGeNgEnX
Oct 13, 2009 16:09

35) dun like sdp. on October 13th, 2009 4.01 pm

I disagree. We should be welcoming to all forms of political activism from all sectors. I find your views particularly elitist, no different from the PAP in their ivory towers!

RP must recruit talent, volunteers and activists from all walks of life. By focussing too much on the young professionals, they risk alienating the common folk on the ground. So even if they win the election, it’s simply an exchange of one master for another.

alex tan
Oct 13, 2009 16:14

RP needs a base like WP’s hougang and SP’s Potong Pasir.

do consider those wards which are PAP walkovers yet see little development in their town, etc. Jurong, Yishun, Woodland and Choa Chu Kang.

GL
Oct 13, 2009 16:25

To 34) dun like sdp.

You are wrong. Actually it shows that SDP has the hardest working and most loyal members, workers and friends by their side. This is because people are attracted to SDP by its values and determination, and not because they are a convenient vehicle.

The SDP are also the most active online and offline right now so in fact RP has much to learn from SDP.

Seow
Oct 13, 2009 16:52

32) sdp suporter. on October 13th, 2009 3.47 pm
“who say sdp got no idea? we always said and complained that minister pay high and we always stand out and protest.”

If you are truly a SDP supporter and has access to the SDP leadership; please tell the leaders that the SDP come across to me as an angry bunch of people with lots of complaints but no clear vision on what they will do if they are elected.

I know that the leaders mean well for our Country and is highly determined.
Choose and promote a positive cause instead of just highlighting how bad the current leadership is. It may not be a good sign that your enemy lets you off, it may just go to show that you are no longer a threat to them.

DSS
Oct 13, 2009 16:57

To 37) GL

Not sure if SDP are the hardest working. From what I have seen, they have few loyal members and supporters. I was personally turned off when I went to one of their human rights vigils where only 5 turned up, but the SDP inflated the figures to 20+ on their website. They are active online, but its simply alot of noise from their own members. Nobody is really attracted to the SDP due to their complaint culture and lack of ideas. So many have left the SDP. Good people like Ling How Doong who are sick of the SDP pandering to the foreign media. I myself am not attracted to their militant brand of protest politics. I like the Reform Party’s moderate style more. Ordinary Singaporeans like me understand the Reform Party’s stance but not the SDP’s.

Seow
Oct 13, 2009 17:00

Well said DSS.

sdp suporter.
Oct 13, 2009 17:13

38) Seow on October 13th, 2009 4.52 pm

sdp is coming in from strnegth to strnegth always. we will always never die. the old dog LEEgime is obvious scare of us. we are angry bunch yes, but that gives us power to do our belief. it make us strong and give us many idea and way to continue our fighting on. we are lasting threat to PAPPIES. docter chee is good leader who care for member. he deserving of prime minister one day. i hope old dog lee die and son give throne to docter chee. we all got good meaning in our heart. i may be ite but i also care for people. why must always give graduate workers be minsters? oridnary peoples also can do it and go to many outside country promote singapore good..

sdp suporter.
Oct 13, 2009 17:24

reform party must understnd us why sdp must always protesting. walk market not enoug for singapore. reform party must join sdp shake hand with all people and protest at speaker corner. now sdp not enough people, so reform party join us very good. macam dream team..

got docter chee leading kenneth jeyaretnam and reform party, one day will have docter chee is prime minister, and kenneth jeyaretnam be duputy prime minster. reform party must serve sdp so can win many grc in futures election.

patriot
Oct 13, 2009 17:27

The Oppositions should ideally form alliance now, the different parties leaders should meet and accord the ‘better’ leaders the hierachy to lead. This is a golden opportunity for Opposition Parties as the Citizenry is let down greatly disappointed with the Present Regime.

It is not hard to see that there are little or no love and respect for the Present pack of Parliamentarians; curse and swear are plenty instead.

Just a personal view that Steve Chia and Kenneth J could try to work with each other.

patriot

Gross Margin
Oct 13, 2009 17:33

I would like to see more of Kenneth Jeyaretnam and Tony Tan in the future. The Reform Party is a real threat to be reckoned with! Two Cambridge scholars! Sure win a GRC!

Oxford Dude
Oct 13, 2009 17:36

You think RP or NSP can field enough candidates for Jurong GRC alone?

singapatriot
Oct 13, 2009 17:38

a single walkabout by RP and there is so much of mockery, cynicism and attempts to paint the picture that opposition is disunited. it shows only the fear of those who are desperately trying to preserve status quo. why should the opposition be a single entity? they are not one party. why must they all be one choir, singing one song?

Harvard '89
Oct 13, 2009 17:53

It’s just obvious to me that the SDP are trying to co-opt the Reform Party and manipulate them into forming an alliance. The SDP wants to get out of its rut by way of leveraging on the Reform Party’s popularity. But I think Kenneth Jeyaretnam isn’t a fool. He knows that he will win any day, on account of his academic credentials, technocratic reputation and the legacy of his father. He has good people by his side too. It’s obvious why bright young graduates are joining him and not the SDP. I foresee that many more qualified professionals will join the Reform Party’s ranks soon..

Para Para Sakura
Oct 13, 2009 18:00

Did anyone noticed how bored the people were in the pictures?

Bong Tiok Sai
Oct 13, 2009 18:16

## 33) Political Salesman on October 13th, 2009 3.59 pm

Dear Political Salesman

This must be my lucky day.

I never had the pleasure of having a post of mine replied to until now.

I must have hit the nail on the head.

If you have some connection to the PAP, will you please pass on my suggestion to our Dear Minister Mah ??

As a Gentleman and a Brave Warrior of the PAP, I am sure Minister Mah will be more than happy to accept the challenge of meeting Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam in a single ward constituency to prove to all Singaporeans that he is more than capable to get into Parliament on his own and not by the Back Door Way of a GRC.

I, as well as my fellow Singaporeans, will be most grateful if you can get Minister Mah to accept the invitation to stand in a single ward constituency in the next General Elections,

Thank you.

Your Friend

Bong Tiok Sai

Fiona Chan Lan Kam
Oct 13, 2009 19:49

Walkabouts are good for politicians to gauge for themselves the ground.
I suspect they are more greeted or welcomed than before like 20 years ago where people see them like seen a pontianak.

See there are things they can do. Its only have they done enough of it.

tiredsingaporean
Oct 13, 2009 19:58

Indeed, Reform Party is now becoming a major threat to those useless PAP. The ole man must be having a real hard time trying to do them in with all of his usual backhand stabbing kungfu before his pau pei LHL gets kick out protecting their familees golden vault when he kicks the bucket. Be prepared for the worst showdown to come this election.

massivelosses_sohow?
Oct 13, 2009 20:02

just focus of digging heart of the dragon – AMK GRC, MBT GRC, George Yeo GRC and Raymond Lim GRC….and Minister Khaw GRC…

these guys odd to be taught lessons.

Agent008
Oct 13, 2009 20:03

Political Salesman,

Are you actually Marbok Tan? You not only did not address the issue of Bong Tiok Sai’s suggestion to get Marbok to stand in single ward against JB, your most recent 2 posts are typical of Marbok’s silly rebuttals. Where is the substance? Show us some substance to prove you are not Marbok.

Ex-Reach Reader
Oct 13, 2009 20:21

Dear PAP Political Salesman and all PAP members,cadre,supporters and most importantly the Bootlickers,

Get your favourite Minister Mah Bow Tan, the doyen of Singapore Housing to challenge Kenneth Jeyaretnam in a SMC. National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan lost to Mr Chiam See Tong in 1984 GE.

Minister Mah Bow Tan only won a seat in Parliament in 1988 thourgh a GRC in Tampines.How many Cabinet Ministers are there in Parliament who did not receive an electorate mandate?Could all these walkovers have been prevented if we have the SMCs?

Thank you.

Do the Ministers dare to face Opposition in a SMC? Please stop getting all the backbenchers MPs to stop hiding in SMCs.It only shows their incompetencies.

So Mah Bow Tan, if you or your buddies are reading this, please issue a challenge to any opposition if you have the balls to face them in a SMC.Wong Kan Seng,Lim Swee Say,LimBoon Heng all can join you in a Super GRC as well.

We have to vote out and trim theexcess fat.You guys are not problem solvers but a very expensive burden to the taxpayers.

Bong Tiok Sai
Oct 13, 2009 20:29

## 51) Political Salesman on October 13th, 2009 6.39 pm

A real compliment for me to get a follow-up response from you…

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Like you, I used to be a PAP supporter and believed in them in the past.

But, unlike you, I don’t want to be assocciated with them anymore.

Read the postings in TOC, TR, SgForums and the like, and you will understand why more and more Singaporeans are getting angry with, and turned off by the Men In White. We can’t all be wrong, can we ??

I don’t have any problem with you supporting the PAP and, likewise, you shouldn’t have any problem with me supporting the Opposition now.

Your friend

Bong Tiok Sai

PS. Will be grateful if you can speak to our Dear Minister Mah about my suggestion on him contesting a single ward constituency. Thank You.

PAP spy
Oct 13, 2009 20:49

Opposition, the ground is sweet.This is not 2006.Even if they call elections in 2012, at least 3-4 GRCs will fall.That’s my prediction.There are people within the PAP rank and in Grassroots also annoyed.

Go to the YPAP Facebook pages and see the young cadre fight among themselves.It is hilarious.Looks like there are factions within the Youth Set Up.Teo Ser Luck is a boy.No Charisma.

The minorities also won’t support PAP after all the gaffes by MM and his MPs on the pledge.It work against them actually.

My Malay neighbours are all annoyed that PAP always single out their community.The Malays have been tolerent.PM Lee is seen as a braggart.Lucky they have good Malay leaders who are nice people.

Indian leaders do not even represent their community.Go ask the local Indians if they feel represented by the PAP Ministers?

So change is coming.Just keep up the good work even if you are RP,SDP,WP,SPP,NSP.Just avoid three cornered fights.

All the best Oppo.

GL
Oct 13, 2009 21:00

Someone wrote that the SDP only has a few members and supporters, but a look at just this one photograph shows otherwise: http://yoursdp.org/index.php/news/singapore/2687-from-strength-to-democratic-strength

And one look at SDP’s website now shows that its the most organised and active, so some of you in the opposition, instead of being jealous try to learn what you can from them.

Orange
Oct 13, 2009 21:02

To 45) Harvard ‘89 on October 13th, 2009 5.53 pm

“It’s just obvious to me that the SDP are trying to co-opt the Reform Party and manipulate them into forming an alliance.”

Where is your obvious evidence to support this claim?

wansuiPAP
Oct 13, 2009 21:07

I forsee someone from the pic will joining the bankruptcy group soon.

Donaldson
Oct 13, 2009 21:22

Hi Everyone,

Please tone down the extent of mudslinging in this thread.

Cheers
Donald
Deputy Editor
The Online Citizen

Lee Goh Lee
Oct 13, 2009 21:26

Do not put all bets on RP, though I like Ken as he breath new oxygen into thinking minds

NSP has never been a real force to fight PAP, what resources have they put into Jurong GRC ?

WP is getting too timid, public needs to find a way to pour support and donation to one or two opposition parties

WP and RP should work together, Chiam See Tong needs to find succeesor, he can’t afford to be lone old war horse forever, though Chiam has more backbone and he is a wise and man of integrity compared to PAP

Time for Change
Oct 13, 2009 21:28

58) PAP spy on October 13th, 2009 8.49 pm

You raised a valid point about the father and son always picking on our fellow Malay Singaporeans. I certainly hope they are angry enough to kick out the pair in the next elections so that they don’t have to hear this nonsense anymore. I am not Malay but I myself am sick of hearing it every now and them.

la doux vie
Oct 13, 2009 21:49

i feel that the aged, poor, needy, low income singaporeans deserve a voice but is any Opp party willing to take care for them, address their concerns rather than just taking them as another statistic? I feel that this strata is the most ignored group of singaporeans who,in most cases really have none to turn to and living from hand to foot. we need singaporeans who have to walk the talk, not just talk pretty!

ZL
Oct 13, 2009 22:09

Based on the interview i read in Zaobao lately, I don’t think RP will want to work together with WP becos KJ has cited that LTK only want to be a watchdog while RP want to be a alternative choice as a ruling party. Two different concepts won’t work together and shouldn’t, not even to borrow candidates from one another during GE, just in case being spread unwanted viruses from WP.

Muhamad Nur
Oct 13, 2009 23:27

You have a genuine chance of winning a GRC. Just gain the trust of the people. Focus on immigration (what is the value of the Singapore IC?) and rising cost of living which affected the lowest income earners the most. What is their strategy to help these people. Disseminate your actions and not just your ideals. At the end of the day, I still feel the opposition needs to unite to form a government. Only then will the swing voters vote for them. Be brave to tell them you are ready to lead and implement your policies. Having a common manifesto might help them to portray a united opposition front. Please take this advise seriously. People vote for the “GOVERNMENT” and not an MP.

Two Party System with RP?
Oct 13, 2009 23:40

Hi all.

I am really excited about this new political awakening.I am in my late 40’s and I have never voted in my life. I will finish my reservist cycle in a couple of years and let me tell you, the ground is very sweet for the opposition.

My reservist charges are a disgruntled lot.A lot of the Singaporeans are suffering under the present leadership.If it is not your family, its your neighbours or someone from your religious community or someone from your workplace.

I am in two minds whether we are defending the country or a elite group of people.The Men in White are not very popular in a lot of circles.Even in the uniformed groups.Their policies affect everyone.

The HDB alone is causing big distress.The Housing market is in a mess.Will our children and grandchildren have decent homes to live in?

So all of the Opposition, go out and stand in every single seat.Even against the leaders of the party.The Opposition need more people standing up to be counted.This is for ourselves and future generations of Singaporeans.

Reform Party will be the Second Party of Singapore.This will be the party that the Barisan Socialis and Workers’ Party should have become. I am glad that there are a group of Yellowmen walking the ground and speaking with action.Everyone, both Young and Old should stand up and be counted.

If you are a fencesitter, join the Reform Party and be part of the Change you want Singapore to be.Sympathisers should make an effort to see a political process.

We will see a Democrat party emerging in the coming election and we will have our own Obama in 3 elections.PAP dominance is growing less by the day.Their days are seriously numbered.

God bless the Yellowmen and the Reform Party.The founder was a True Blue Singaporean Hero.And the future of Singapore is Bright.The future is Orange.

Goranisovich
Oct 13, 2009 23:41

Whether harvard grads join SDP or RP or NSP does not matter.
What matters to the 33.3% alternative singporites is that there are people fighting for us and Represent us to give us a VOICE where we are mostly fearful of voicing up ourselves.

Kudos to the young grads and volunteers and opposition members for having such strong courage to stick your necks our for us, the closet kpkb’rites. We only dare to bark in our own closets, where no one can hear us.

Sincere thanks to RP leadership and RP members.

So many of us dare not become members because of self-preservation.
Wish you guys all the best! Take one down. Please. I beg you.

Lobang suppper
Oct 13, 2009 23:44

#61,
“The Men in White are not very popular in a lot of circles.”

But there are so many grassroot people around. How to explain that?
Are there many of these business men and women?

walau
Oct 14, 2009 0:08

Make reformation a grassroot movement, not a party call.

FriedKwayTiaoWithHum
Oct 14, 2009 0:10

62) Goranisovich on October 13th, 2009 11.41 pm

while most of us choose not to sign up as any opposition party member doesn’t mean we can’t help in our own way.

We can try to inform our friends, family, colleagues who only read MSM on the existence of the new media such as TOC, TR, etc. We can try to make them aware of issues that are being discuss on the Internet but censor in the MSM.

justkaypoh
Oct 14, 2009 2:22

I don’t think RP is try to contest Jurong GRC, this is only a tactic to distract PAP to let them think that they are in for a 3-party fight.

Good strategy by RP!

Personally, I hope to see them contest the Marbok Tampines GRC. Any supporters of this idea?

New Era
Oct 14, 2009 7:42

Time for Change is here. As Singaporeans clamour for more freedom, the PAPies will implement more restrictive and oppressive policies to control the population. The Public Order Act is just one example.

To say that the PAPies are unpopular is an understatement. Many PAPies now avoid Meet the People Sessions and those that do, are always accompanies by a posse of bodyguards.

Even grassroots members and leaders are now turning against the PAPies. Many of them have done all the dirty work of the PAPies in the past but these did not save them from losing their jobs to foreigners. Fact is many of them are even resentful of the foreigners coming into the RCs and taking over senior positions.

Civil servants are frustrated as well but are fearful of voting for the opposition. Many of them, however, have indicated that they will get their spouse to vote for the opposition.

Time for Change is now. Vote opposition.

baadermeinhof
Oct 14, 2009 8:05

Why cant civil servants vote for the opposition? Can TOC please do an article on the election process to dispel myths.

Charles Lee
Oct 14, 2009 8:23

Wow! How are the comments on ? Exciting stuff.
This is a win-win for Singapore………..Change OR the PAP has to lift their game significantly to remain relevent and the only way they can do that is to do what the people really want.

When the Casino opens, I wonder if they will take bets on the Election?

New Era
Oct 14, 2009 8:49

It would be very interesting to hear from a grassroots member who has become disillusioned with the PAPies. Please share your story.

FriedKwayTiaoWithHum
Oct 14, 2009 8:59

69) baadermeinhof on October 14th, 2009 8.05 am

The notion that civil servants can’t vote against the ruling PAP party is because they are super kiasi. However, such fear is unfounded. I have friends working the civil service who had voted for the opposition in past elections (or at least that’s what they told me).

The civil servants need to understand that their loyalty is to the country and not to any particular political party.

sdp suporter.
Oct 14, 2009 9:51

ok. althoug sdp got few people, we have many heart for peoples. all oppo parti must all learn from us. we most organised and having best people and recsouce. no other parti have. stop being jalous beacos we have best website and most money. many ngo donate docter chee, but no donate other party. reform party must serve sdp. together we can make docter chee prime minster. he deserve to rule singapore for long years.

New Era
Oct 14, 2009 10:05

sdp suporter. on October 14th, 2009 9.51 am

I seriously doubt you are a SDP supporter. Maybe is the way you write you post but you sound more like a running dog of the PAPies than a genuine SDP supporter.

The people of Singapore are now wise to the tactics of the ruling party. They have been doing the same old dirty tricks for every elections. Rather unimaginative.
Their attempts to discredit the opposition will fail this time. And so will the attempts of their running dogs to sow discord amongst the opposition supporters.

Time for Change. Vote opposition.

Impartial.
Oct 14, 2009 10:35

Why is the SDP Internet Brigade tooting their own horn out here on an article that covers the Reform Party?

ahbeng
Oct 14, 2009 10:37

RP is just following the tactics of PAP. Bring in new face, young and fresh led by somebody connected with the past glory or the father. So what is the new ? What have they done ? No plan nothing. They have not even proven themselves in their lives and want to run election ? Run their own lives first lah. They should learn from WP and show by results. Get your candidates elected is what counts. So far no other oppositions has done it except WP. The rest are just talk. RP is going to be the same. Don’t think stand for election, create some attention and lose is cool. You only prove that you are a loser, nothing else. Get elected and stand on an official platform to debate. That is what counts.

sdp suporter.
Oct 14, 2009 10:53

i am genuine sdp suporter who suport docter chee many year. i am part of sdp internet propaganda team who work hard for docter chee. sdp pick up on many issue that sinagpore peoples are angry about and we have a voice for these peoples by making public protest like tak boleh tahan. also, recently judge acquite us say us innocent, no commit crime. they obvious scare of us as big threat. when we take power we will put kangaroo judges and PAPPies in jail long time.
i believe free speech and freedom to walk, esspcicially in public. got so much injustice against docter chee. they starve him in prison and make him bankrupt and that is what i hate to see most. he good family man with wife and dougters but public no see. he always bring doughters to public, so everybody can pity him. that is so important that docter chee is family man but newspaper no report, censor us and singapore peoples don’t understand..
to make sure, i am not PAPPies? I hate the PAPPies and want to see them give throne to docter chee, let him be prime minster many long year.. i not PAPPies. i am for oppo unity. all parti must unity. nsp, wp, reform party must work togther, and all must serve sdp make docter chee prime minster.

Political Salesman
Oct 14, 2009 11:03

At 76) Dear ahbeng,
I totally support your view of comment, I/m a very old friend of JBJ. A young fellow just came back from London not even a year. Known nothing about our cutlture wanted to contest for KJ for Prime Minister.This KJ for Prime Minister is writting by his foreign wife. Anyway back from London, now he is jobless. so tis is a great opportunity 2 go to politics. When Reform Party is going to form. He had been shouting at his Father not to form a Party, Not to form a Party Not to form a Party.
when ever father & son quarrel he will said I’wll sue U right in front of this Father face/Now U see, walkabout he always told people he is JBJ son. It this for this personal or for the people. Those people suppoort him like Bong Tiok Sai & his group look very senile. My Name is Velusamy

Sim Chong Eng
Oct 14, 2009 11:24

I agree with comments #76 and #78. JBJ is different, He fought hard and push his way. I like the way he fights and he does not hold back. I read the thread on this wanted refrom party man and agreed with some of the comments there that KJ just think for himself. He is going around as if he is JBJ. KJ is not JBJ. Trying to ride on connection ? Haven’t we seen too many ? This Reform party with all these young turks are going nowhere. There are many twenty somethings much better and more gutsy. We should get them to replace these just wanna be famous showbusiness types from RP, especially those youth wings.

This Justin guy looks like he is doing catwalk during his walkabout. For show only. Can’t answer any questions. Ask him simple policy issue question, he said some don’t know what event and ask us to attend. My friends laugh until shit their pants. Totally out of touch and nothing upstairs. No wonder just some junior in ah gong bank. Why he join government bank when he oppose government ? This kind of quality if elected, I prepare to migrate.

sdp supporter, you better tell Dr Chee not to come out anymore. He is a joke. If he wants to fight, fight KJ first. I think these two wayangs can go hammer each other and leave the real opposition alone. You can also take on this Justin guy. One do catwalk show and the other talk and make people laugh.

I hope there may never be any collaboration as these wayang people are going to dread the other parties down. Real opposition got real issues to handle.

rgds, Sim

btan
Oct 14, 2009 11:25

All these smearing of opposition parties are really shameless. These people sacrificed everything, risking being sued and harassed to stand for election so that we have a voice and a better life. So that we will not be constantly at a mercy of PAP’s hegemony.

And all you can do is hide in the comfort of your home and smear and criticise them? Shame on you.

Whether it is RP, SDP, WP, SPP, NSP, as long as they are against PAP and will check on them, vote them in. You have no choice at all to which party to support. Unless you are willing to move to a constituency that you know that your favourite opposition party is running.

For your information, the opposition party members themselves support one another.

You can see the latest video of RP’s 1st anniversary dinner here with all the other Sec-Gens toasting together.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rZL3lP6XoSQ

Sim Chong Eng
Oct 14, 2009 11:53

Just to give you background. Last time I was JBJ right-hand man in WP. And then after I join Chiam See Tong, be his right-hand man as election agent. I saw many problems in opposition party and left the party because I want to be CEC in SDP but they chose Ling How Doong and Cheo Chai Chen. I disillusion join PAP.

Nowadays I am comfortably retired, work taxi driver on weekdays and do MLM part time, and fix computer freelance. Must more credible older people like me stand up for election be gvernment than can Singapore progress. No point having young blood, untested challenging for government. All fart, no shit. Experience folks like me should be MP and do changes like how Lee Kuan Yew do in 60s and 70s.

rgds, Sim

tetty
Oct 14, 2009 11:56

oh please guys, just because someone uses the nick sdp supporter and spouts some over-the-top sycophantic crap, we believe him at face value?

he could be a pap planted agent provocateur for all we know. judge a tree by the fruit it bears, not the growth of its foliage I say.

if we as voters are still so undiscerning even now, we deserve to have the pap run in circles around us for another century

Seow
Oct 14, 2009 12:06

No offence Mr. Sim Chong Eng, Lee Kuan Yew was only 36 when he became PM.

Fiona Chan Chee Bee
Oct 14, 2009 12:13

#82, Mr Sim, you suan yourself by giving bad remarks about young leaders ah? You dam joke man. Post some more with your nick name leh. Good joke. Well done.

New Era
Oct 14, 2009 12:27

The PAPies running dogs are out in full force trying to sow discord amongst opposition supporters. Nice try but it won’t work. I a sure that the opposition will work amongst themselves to avoid a 3 cornered fight. This means there will be no rivalry between the opposition parties.

We are all united in wanting to kick out the PAPies. We have given them 50 years but they have made a mess of things. They have run out of ideas on how to govern this country and how to grow its economy. Thus, they have resorted to flooding this tiny island with millions of unskilled and unproductive foreigners.

There were signs as early as 2004 that the PAPies were not up for the job of running this country. In that year LHL visited Taiwan much to the anger of China. LHL appeased China by agreeing to take in 5 million unemployed Chinese citizens to ease the burden on China. Between then and now, we have already taken 2 million Chinese which means we have another 3 million chinese to absorb. These are not their top talent but their uneducated and unskilled people.

Also since that year there has been one screw-up after anther. The latest being the huge losses of Temasek and GIC. Other failures need mentioning are the Suzhou and Batam Industrial Partk. Huge losses were also incurred here.

Any of the other political parties would be a better choice than the PAPies, so it makes no sense for the running dogs of the PAPies to sow rivalry amongst the parties.

Time for Change. Vote opposition.

Political Salesman
Oct 14, 2009 12:28

At 80 btan
I gust U’re wrong ! do not vote blindly. If PAP put on a IMH guy to disguise as opp candidate. are U going to vote for it. Here I understand there in one, last contested in MBT ward. If U want more clue go to youtube.com & search.

sdp suporter.
Oct 14, 2009 12:31

why peoples is always saying me agent of PAPPies? I am geuine sdp suporter many year. i am normal technician (last time study from ite) who do many works to help sdp and sincere believe that docter chee deserve be prime minster of singapore. in party, many like me, simple peoples without much study like jufri salim, jufrie mahmood and gemuk khalis but are high-class mind.

docter chee he has done many great works and deserving noble peace prize more than obama from usa? i think so. we should appluad docter chee for fighting spirit. he always go dirty places like market helping peoples sign form protest closure of market. but docter chee cannot succeed by alone. need many good people from reform parti like kenneth jeyaretnam serve him and loyal to his plan to be prime minster. docter chee is greater than india gandhi (not just sdp gandhi) and ibrahim lincon from usa. he care for member and helping malay race alot better than from PAPPies malay MP. i always say that reform party and sdp must merger to be strong so how can i be PAPPies agent? I hate LEEgime and believe oppo unification. Together that with reform party and worker party must serving sdp, be dream team fight old dog LEE dictatorship give throne to docter chee.

Bong Tiok Sai
Oct 14, 2009 12:42

## 78) Political Salesman on October 14th, 2009 11.03 am

Wow… What can I say ??

To have my postings referred to 3 times by Political Salesman is a record for me.

I am humbled by your attention and your standing ovation.

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

To clarify, I would like to confirm that I am not exactly a supporter of Kenneth Jeyaretnam.

I used to support the PAP, but not anymore.

I now support the Opposition… any Opposition to the Men In White.

If the constituency where I am living in is contested in the next GE, I will support and vote for the Opposition candidate even if he were that 70 year old Ah Pek selling mee pok at the coffeeshop or the 65 year old Ah Mah hawking vegetables at the wet market.

Hope that answers your question on my political leaning, my dear Political Saleman.

Your friend

Bong Tiok Sai

P.S Have you had any opportunity to pass on my suggestion to our beloved Minister Mah about him contesting a single ward constituency in the next GE ??

btan
Oct 14, 2009 12:54

@87) Political Salesman on October 14th, 2009 12.28 pm

[[At 80 btan
I gust U’re wrong ! do not vote blindly. If PAP put on a IMH guy to disguise as opp candidate. are U going to vote for it. Here I understand there in one, last contested in MBT ward. If U want more clue go to youtube.com & search. ]]

“PAP-supported opposition” is a trick to divide opposition supporters and make them fight one another. And it seemed you fell for it line, hook and sinker.

One is either a member of the opposition party or one is a member of PAP. Sometimes, very rarely, a member of PAP will come to their senses and may quit to join the opposition. However, members of the opposition will never have the chance to join PAP as PAP are looking for stooges, not people with independent thinking.

Continue to fight among ourselves as opposition supporters and then the PAP supporters will laugh at our divisiveness and know their party will win in the next election.

United we stand, divided we fall.

Continue to pick-and-choose and you will see PAP being voted in as in the last 40 years and continue to screw Singaporeans.

Time to wake up.

btan
Oct 14, 2009 13:02

@81) Jaslyn Go on October 14th, 2009 11.32 am

No single opposition party can go at it alone. By now we must all realise this. Ask Dr Chee to work with other opposition party and form an alliance. SDP is a close ally of Anwar Ibrahim, seek his advice on how to form a Pakatan Rakyat-type coalition. If the Malaysians can combine such different ideology parties from the ultra conservative PAS to the Chinese parties, surely we in Singapore can do so.

After all, SDP, RP, WP, NSP, SPP all have similar ideology. You all want opposition voices for the people. You all want to check on PAP. You all want to build a genuinely kinder and gentler Singapore. You all want to abolish GRC system. You all want to ensure foreigners are not flooding into Singapore. You all want accountability by the government on our financial and other matters.

If you go alone, you will only be “fixed” one by one by the PAP government.

Learn the lessons of history. Only those who unite can challenge the established giant.

Vessels/Marine
Oct 14, 2009 13:05

83) tetty on October 14th, 2009 11.56 am

I totally agree with tetty. We need to be a discerning electorate! Looks to me that a crazy sdp supporter is spouting sycophantic nonsense. However, what “sdp suporter” is saying is truly frightening!

All that crazy banter about the SDP and Reform Party merging.. That’s just madness! I feel that the Reform Party should go at it alone and must never be associated with the SDP at all costs!

New Era
Oct 14, 2009 13:47

75) Impartial. on October 14th, 2009 10.35 am
76) ahbeng on October 14th, 2009 10.37 am

87) Political Salesman on October 14th, 2009 12.28 pm
88) sdp suporter. on October 14th, 2009 12.31 pm

Why do I get the sneaky feeling that a running dog of the PAPies is using different monikers to sow discord amongst opposition supporters. Are the PAPies so desperate? Are elections around the corner?

Please post your vitriols on P65. It is like a ghost town there.

“If not us, who. If not now, when?”

Rabbi Hillel

Pro Singapore
Oct 14, 2009 13:57

Btan.I agree with you completely.Wehave to be united to get any Opposition into Singapore Parliament for a more caring society.

Charmaine Choo
Oct 14, 2009 14:00

hee hee. damn funny la. the isd agents that impersonate that crazy sdp guy are really hilarious!

keep saying that the Lees must “give throne to docter chee”.. really over the top nonsense but a frightening thought nonetheless! damn scary.. the thought of chee soon juan as prime minister!

Scooter Man
Oct 14, 2009 14:00

But I am Scooter Man.The Real Political Salesman.I go around the different opposition parties and claiming credit for the BEES.I also love to sow discord among the opposition.I believein Divide and Conquer.So that my PAP Masters remain in power for eternity.

andrew leung
Oct 14, 2009 14:03

I feel that RP and the other opposition parties should assign a member to act as a PR Officer to better manage their public affairs online here and on other discussion sites.

They should leverage on TOC to engage the readers who are interested in what they have to say and they can build rapport and maintain a strong presence online.

Political Salesman
Oct 14, 2009 14:11

At 90) btan
Well said! U seen that the water is boilding. Do U have a patient to wait till it is really boil? Don’t be shortsighted. Long way to go, My Dear Friend.

patriot
Oct 14, 2009 14:15

Me thinks that SINGAPORE CITIZENS have only ONE QUESTION TO ASK in the COMING ELECTION.

AND

THAT IS; HAS THE PRESENT PRIME MINISTER AND HIS BUNCH OF HENCHMEN LEAD US TO A BETTER AND HAPPIER LIFE? IS HE COMPETENT TO LEAD US TO A BETTER FUTURE?

Cybercitizens are declaring that they will vote for a dog or a cat if these animals are pitch against any incumbent leaders in an election now; that is how bad the situation is. Should the sentiments be such, then vote any Opposition Members whether or not the Oppositions are united.

WE, THE VOTERS MUST BE UNITED AND UNANIMOUS, ALL TOGETHER IN PURSUING OUR INTERESTS!

So, get the Oppositions in first and deal with future developments later, let us settle one thing at a time but settle the most pressing issue first.

AND

that is; RID THOSE THAT MAKE OUR LIVINGS DIFFICULT, CHALLENGING AND UNBEARABLE!

Let us start afresh with new faces, pick some fresh and untested candidates to test their mettles, there could be gems in them.

patriot

Political Salesman
Oct 14, 2009 14:19

Dear Bong Tiok Sai, Better change your name to But Chiew Ko Tiok Sai!
U always talk about Belove Mah Boh Tan, this mean he is death inthe coffin and U’re by his side knee down & weep. My poor allegience boy.

Bong Tiok Sai
Oct 14, 2009 15:28

## 100) Political Salesman on October 14th, 2009 2.19 pm

I was flattered by your attention.. but I am not too sure about it now because you don’t seem to know who you are or what you stand for, and I don’t want to look like a clown engaging with a mental patient from IMH.

1. I will gladly go to the temple to make an offering if a PAP Minister loses his seat and will be more than happy to make a donation if the PAP Government looses their 2/3 majority in Parliament.
2. I may dislike MBT and his policies, but I would never wish to see him in a coffin. Do you ??
3. You claim to be Velusamy (## 78) which I presume to be an Indian name, but seem to understand Hokkien. Congratulations on being good with languages. May I wish my moniker on you and that it sticks on you always.

Your friend (even if you are from IMH)

Bong Tiok Sai.

btan
Oct 14, 2009 15:45

Doesn’t matter which opposition party you support. The MOMENT you start fighting among yourselves, PAP win.

Remember this.

If you want to let PAP win, then please continue to criticise your fellow opposition party candidates.

Remember, the other sheep voters (a.k.a. fence sitters), will look to us opposition voters. If they see us so disunited and the PAP voters so united, those sheep voters will just follow the united ones. End of the day, PAP MP will get elected in each constituency. End result is again 82 PAP MPs drowning out the voice of 2 MPs.

You mean after 40 years, you still don’t have enough of this? Still want to fight among yourselves?

Help your fellow opposition supporter vote for their opposition party candidate in your ward. If you support SDP but get RP, vote for RP. If you support RP but got SDP, vote for SDP.

Do not spoil your vote or vote for PAP.

Think of the billion dollars lost, the massive influx of foreigners, the lack of accountability, the way we are treated like modern serfs…. and then think of how being divisive, picking and choosing partially causes that.

All you need is to look north. Before the Malaysian opposition form alliance, they are like our opposition now : divided and not showing much results. Once they form an alliance, they captured more than 1/3 of parliamentary seats, denying their government 2/3 majority to rubber stamp laws. And is poised to form the government in future election. All these does not happen by magic. All these happened because both their opposition parties AND their supporters are united.

Opposition parties need to unite. Opposition supporters and voters ALSO need to unite.

Lastly, voting for opposition members is not blindly supporting them. It is a support of two- or multi-party system which is the real check-and-balance and will ensure PAP will not steamroll its citizen whenever it like. True competition means we have two sides who will fight each other to work for US. Think about some salesman who has to make their products and services better to serve US the customer. So you want to be a slave or a customer?

Whether who will be the main government will then depend on the performance of PAP versus the current opposition. If people like Chee Soon Juan, Kenneth, Sylvia Lim, Low Thia Khiang can perform better than our current clown ministers, who is to say they cannot be ministers?

Seriously, we already have PM like LHL and ministers like MBT, WKS etc…what more could be worse??

But all of these means nothing if there are only 2 opposition MPs. You can only see real performance once they have 35% to 45% of opposition MPs in parliament.

The election is one or two years away. Start spreading the message of opposition unity and we will reap the results in the next GE. Continue to bicker and continue to suffer defeat as in the past.

andrew leung
Oct 14, 2009 16:35

http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Reform-Party/178607321109?ref=search&sid=716353024.2165038655..1&v=wall#/pages/The-Reform-Party/178607321109

Jeyaretnam said that the party previously headed to Geylang Serai for a Hari Raya walkabout. They will be doing another one for Deepavali. Following that, the party will visit Tampines.

Jeyaretnam added, “As for the GRC we will be targeting, we have not reached a decision on that as of now. However, we feel that it is important to raise awareness of our Party, which is why we have commenced walkabouts at different parts of Singapore.”

Born in Singapore
Oct 14, 2009 16:42

So long got Opposition Party can get into Parlimament is more than enough. No point asking which opposition win. We just want some opposition voice inside the parlimament.
Good Luck.

Tell the truth. No confident with the SDP. Giving people the impression of messy. Hope that they don’t go and mess up the GRC with 3 party voting it will cause the vote to reduce for the oppsition party. Just my idea.

Charles Lee
Oct 14, 2009 17:24

Thinks Bong Tiok Sai is a pretty cool dude.
Great characteristics for Foreign Service

Ted
Oct 14, 2009 17:42

’sdp supporter’ is so silly to think that people will actually believe that he is Jufri Salim. Some people are apparently not keen on seeing any unity amongst the opposition.

Terence
Oct 14, 2009 17:43

Dear all,

several comments in this thread have been removed. Please exercise care when posting and keep the discussion to the topic. Impersonators will not be tolerated.

New Era
Oct 14, 2009 17:48

105) sdp suporter. on October 14th, 2009 3.52 pm

You seem bent on trying to discredit the SDP. It would appear that you political masters are particularly scared of the SDP. I must admit that Dr Chee can be a very formidable opponent. He has taken on many of the ruling party’s ministers and put them to shame. I would guess that many of them are holding a grudge against him.

The people of Singapore (except the elites) are 100 per cent behind the opposition. It doesn’t matter which party. There is a place in parliament for all opposition party. The PAPies have really made a mess of things. The don’t know what they are doing. They are so afraid to debate the opposition. To make matters worse, all the top positions in the government and private sectors are held by the Lee family and their relatives and close friends.

We need Change badly and we need it now. All I can say is bring on the elections.

gillian tan
Oct 14, 2009 18:00

This thread is about the reform party. I would appreciate it if readers can all stay on the same page and edify one another. To be on topic, I would like to congratulate the Reform Party. All the best. Need more young people coming forth! Cheers.

Yang
Oct 14, 2009 18:39

Hi all, much of discussion here about the next election and party. I think the most important point is whether we want a new outlook for s’pore. Not the same way the PAP run this country. Think hard what we want for our kids’ future, what kind of life we can shape for them.

The other issue is if so much of discussion is made here. I will suggest that those who are capable enough should now come out to serve the country in any party that you feel is right for you. No point arguing here and there. Action is more important. Time for the change is here, let’s all works towards the goal.

prettyplace
Oct 14, 2009 21:20

As Long there is an election and somebody standing….I will vote for the OPPOSITION……YOU KNOW WHY…

I told a taxi driver before the last election GST is going to go up to 8%, he laughed, saying it was already expensive, how will the govt increase somemore….

I had the last laugh…and since I voted opposition, I HAD THE STISFACTION THAT I DID THE CORRECT THING.
(THE Most untimely rise in GST, the last one)

One more thing, not all Pappy Mps are bad….the guy in my constituency is really a gem. Not the rest of the jing bang gang tough,. He is not even my race, but a genuine guy with a good heart to help people from all walks of life. Unfortunatly he stops short at that and doesn’t do the policy stuff.

Standing up
Oct 14, 2009 22:20

To many–one issue that will decide their votes: Scholarships, flats and jobs for aliens and 18-50 NS obliations for citizens.
All males that will defend Singapore in time of war will stand up for these great injustices in time of peace.
Vote them out—be a true Singaporean.

Ah Siao
Oct 14, 2009 22:28

I am all for kicking the PAP out.

Having said that, can Singaporean bear the consequences.

Like it or not,

1) There will be funds leaving SIngapore, Asset price will plummet.

2) Even with a very competent group of oppositions taking over, they will face an uncoorporative civil services put in by PAP, thus govt efficiency will go down the drain.

3) The PAP would not sit queitly as oppositions. With the help of the ” Executive President” no new policy can go thru.

The above is just a short list and I am sure come election time, the PAPies will give you a comprehensive list to scare you!

Do you think Singaporean can take this hardship and still support the opposition?

At for myself, I should have migrated by than!

Thank you and Good Luck!

Waking up
Oct 14, 2009 22:46

There is noting to fear but fear itself—FDR
Govts need “enemies” to frighten their people with; frightened people being more easy to rule.-Albert Gyorgyi, Nobel Laureate
Wake up Singaporeans

justkaypoh
Oct 14, 2009 22:51

TOC

Regarding the slum of the FW dorm, has the problem been rectified? If not, its a great evidence for opposition to use to accuse them

Moe Gan Thai
Oct 14, 2009 23:28

#103 born in singapore,
…… giving people the impression of messy….. this is because local papers gave a bad report about our oppositions. Many people read zao bao and ST. so people tend to believe the papers not knowing that SPH belong to pap’s mouth piece. Which stupid pro govt papers will say good about oppositions. The more the papers slander you, the better it is your party, remember that.

FeverGuy
Oct 15, 2009 0:10

The ground is ripe for some takings by the opposition. Many folks are angry with pap. This is never been seen and felt by me before. People are talking about Singapore being a nation of foreigners and people are fed up with pap policies. This election is a fierce and keen fight. What you have to do is to vote with your heart! Vote justice and equality. Fight for your rights. Vote with your birth right. Regardless the opposition is less than qualified academically they are still superior to the million dollar ministers who are responsible for many of the failed policies of today. Change? Yes We Can!

FG

Sim Chong Eng
Oct 15, 2009 0:37

#84Fiona CCB, why do you say that about me. Am I a joke ? I just state my views and just need to tell me what is not true ? I have a view and TOC is a place for us to share our thoughts. Yes, I have retired but does that make me useless and I am definitely not a joke having been a professional for more than 30 years. Yes, we have to worked extremely hard and at least WP has a plan how to protect our CPF and yet we do not need to work for long compare to now. What did RP produce ? Nothing. Do you expect the young turks to understand ? Of course not. They have not even got married or have kids yet ! Fiona CCB, though I would say there are exceptions. I know this young guy whom I met. He was saying he wanted to stand for election with WP as he had a plan. I introduced him privately to Mr. Low. He was impressed and he is definitely going to shine in the GE. He would be the star as he had a plan. Having a plan is what matters. Many had wanted to know who he is. Can’t say but I don’t mind sharing his initials…TLP. Fiona CCB, I think you are still a young person. But it is ok, if you do not like my views, to share other thoughts maybe I would suggest that I introduce you to TLP. You can both share some insights.

Johnny Lim
Oct 15, 2009 0:41

Come on KJ is good. At least he look delicious

New Era
Oct 15, 2009 3:12

111) Ah Siao on October 14th, 2009 10.28 pm

Do you think Singaporean can take this hardship and still support the opposition?
======================================================

Wake up Ah Siao. Have you buried your head underground all these years? Singaporeans are already suffering under the PAPPies. Many have already lost their jobs to foreign trash. Many are struggling to put food on the table. Some Singaporeans have already resorted to begging for money, on the streets, to buy food for their children. You haven’t seen, meh?

Temasek and GIC lost billions. Suzhou and Batam Industrial Partks lost billions. No CPF left for Singaporeans. Now want to close wet markets so that poor Singaporeans also no job. “If our stall closes, we won’t get to eat”cried a stall holder at Sembawang wet market. Ah Siao, this is good, meh?

If Singaporeans still vote for the PAPPies, GST will increase to 15 per cent!!!
This also good, meh?

Wake up. Wakey, Wakey, Ah Siao.

Time for Change is now. Vote opposition.

Ah Siao
Oct 15, 2009 4:27

Thanks New Era for your advise.

I told you I am all for kicking out the PAP.

I have woken up long ago and planned for my exit.

But unfortunately, I don think Singaporean are able to kick the PAP out in the ballot box. Singaporean are too kiasu and the PAP know this weakness!

We don’t have to wait too long to know the answer. Election should be hold within the next 2 years. I say the best result is 79-5 ( one GRC to the OPPO).

With that kind of result, when do you think the PAP will be KICKED OUT?

All the best to you!

Risk taker
Oct 15, 2009 4:27

Ah Siao @ 111 has made some points that are quite valid however, to me it is a risk worth taking and a necessary one. I am a business person and have taken some risks (calculated of course) and never regretted them. Any decision making needs to take a certain degree of risk. Remember no risk, no gain. I don’t advocate reckless risk taking, neither do I go for unnecessary risk taking.

Also, sometimes things need to get worse to get better. In the case of Spores state of affairs, there may be a period of chaos initially should there be a freak election resulting in a change of govt but like any change, the chaos won’t be forever. When things are sorted out, it can only get better from there. People must be tolerant for the initial period. At least they can hope. At the moment, do you see any hope of getting better?

Ah Siao
Oct 15, 2009 5:38

@New Era

I got to vote for the first time in 1984. except for 2001 there was a walk -over, I got to vote in every poll. and I am proud to say I have always voted for the opposition regardless of who they are.

Now you see, after 25 years of doing my part, I don see the PAP being moved an inch.

I have given up on Singaporean and decided to leave.

Good luck to you!

Moe Gan Thai
Oct 15, 2009 9:19

….. But I worry Singaporeans will be sweet talked by pap come election time. They keep complaining but in the end ,votes still go to pap.

holdon
Oct 15, 2009 9:23

Change in the air? No way!

Sporeans are a bunch of serial whiners & whingers. When they get the opportunity they just lash out. If Opposition parties take that as affirmation that they will vote for them when GE comes, they will be sorely disappointed. Do NOT misjudge complaints from residents in any walkabouts as voters favoring the Opp parties.

When it comes to D Day, voters equate their living standards with their stomachs. They think who brought them into their current living standard today & with their combined threats from MIW & the threat of no investment from foreign companies, it will always work its magic & hey presto, MIW wins the majority.

Opp parties may stand a slim chance of winning a single constituency. But for GRCs never!

So I am now placing my bet that whoever is contesting MIW in Jurong GRC, the next GE outcome will be:

PAP=65 to 68%, rest is Opp Party. Thus majority win for MIW! Easy peasy! Wish Spore Pools will take bets on election results.

holdon
Oct 15, 2009 10:08

Further to my remarks @No 124, I noticed that there is a lot of venom directed towards MIW, so the logic goes that if you dislike them so much, vote them out.

I think that is a flawed thinking. You need to ask yourself whether Opp parties are a reliable & workable Opposition in Parliament who can push thru mega issues and not municipal issues like lift upgrading which I find very trivial. By mega issues eg, job creation, is relying on foreign investment a good way to further Spore’s growth, then what are the alternatives if we cannot? Population growth speeding away like nobody’s business lagging behind in public housing demand etc.

In short, are Opp parties going to deliver changes on mega issues for you compared to PAP? How are their ideas different & are they workable & what kind of time frames are they working on?

I find the size of our voters’ minds are like small peas, no wait, its even smaller than a pea, so tiny that you cannot see it. Is lift upgrading THAT important and the ONLY issue worth considering? All that education in Spore has never given the voters a more analytical brain to suss out mega issues affecting national agenda. Its always ME, ME & ME.

Get over yourself, yes you, the voter! You need to seriously start thinking now & work it out rationally on how you want your future & your family’s to be. Work out the pros & cons yourself: MIW or Opp with reasons.

And as for Opp Parties, they are simply a reflection of ordinary Sporeans psyche, ME, ME, ME and serial whiners & whingers too. No different. Get a UNITED Opp party to stand for next GE in a GRC, one GRC only and I’m not talking about multiple GRCs, no way! Gosh, if its multiple GRCs, probably fist fights & black eyes will make the front pages of newspapers which MIW will clap their hands in glee! If they cannot get over the ME, ME, ME, there is NO Opp Party win in any constituency or GRC.

Sounds cruel but yes it is. You reap what you sow, seeds of discontent, egoism, intra-party defections made public. Where is the UNITED front for Opposition when voters need you most? Some serious thinking & soul searching among Opp leaders is needed if they are at all listening to what us the Sporeans want.

btan
Oct 15, 2009 10:58

@125) holdon on October 15th, 2009 10.08 am

Many voters of PAP are ignorant like you.

Opposition parties have given ideas on mega issues time and again. PAP even secretly adopted some of their suggestions without giving them credit.

You need to go dig out the information. It’s all available in the net.

Besides, this is a red herring. Currently, what we need is more opposition MPs in parliament. Not taking over the government…yet.

Whether PAP or opposition becomes the government will depends on the performance of these two when they are equal. Right now, opposition occupies a minuscule percentage of seats in parliament, so there is nothing to talk about ideas and policies yet because all policies come from PAP.

Also, remember, municipal issues or the bread-and-butter issues are really what most voters go for, whether you agree or not.

What is the point of having world class first this and that when people have difficulty keeping up with high standards of living and stressed out all the time?

FriedKwayTiaoWithHum
Oct 15, 2009 11:22

125) holdon on October 15th, 2009 10.08 am

“….Get over yourself, yes you, the voter! You need to seriously start thinking now & work it out rationally on how you want your future & your family’s to be. Work out the pros & cons yourself: MIW or Opp with reasons…..”

holdon, indeed that’s what I have been doing. That’s why after having seriously started thinking, I conclude that for the future of my family it is time to vote out the self-serving fat cats.

If any of the ah pek or ah ma selling tissue papers were to contest in my constituency at Woodland, I will vote for them without hesitation. Yes, like you say my brain is smaller than a pea but the size of my brain doesn’t bother me.

andrew leung
Oct 15, 2009 11:25

126) btan on October 15th, 2009 10.58 am

Hello btan are you active in any political party?
What are your personal thoughts on RP and SDP.
Thanks for providing me with the links earlier : )

theonlinecitizen on Facebook