Sunday, October 11, 2009 20:40

SDP calls on Dr Teo Ho Pin to stand with Bukit Panjang residents

In Main Stories • 2,309 views • 57 Comments

The following is an excerpt from the Singapore Democrats.

The SDP expressed its concern that the sale of the market to Sheng Shiong will increase the cost of operating the facility, thereby increasing prices for shoppers.

(Left: Dr Chee talking to a vendor. Photo Credit: Singapore Democrats)

Even though the HDB has said that the wet market will not be converted into a supermarket, concerns remain that the takeover by Sheng Shiong will cause the stallholders to become lessees of the new landlord.

The new owner might also implement plans to do away with indivdual vendors in which case the current stallholders will all lose their livelihoods. The vendors will then have to seek employment from Sheng Shiong and they will, like everything else in Singapore, have to compete with foreign workers for meagre wages.

There is also no guarantee that Sheng Shiong will not increase the rental of the stalls. In fact there is every likelihood that, being a private enterprise, the supermarket chain will look to maximise its profits to justify its investment.

For these reasons, the SDP opposes the privatisation of the wet markets. Unless Sheng Shiong can guarantee that its operations will not lead to any increase in prices for shoppers, the premises should not and must not privatised.

Read the rest of the write-up at the Singapore Democrats

—-

HDB responds to queries on proposed conversion of some wet markets to supermarkets

HDB would like to respond to media queries on the proposed conversion of some wet markets to supermarkets in HDB estates.

We received an application from Heeton Holdings on 2 October 2009 to sell the five markets in Choa Chu Kang Street 62, Choa Chu Kang Avenue 1, Serangoon Avenue 3, Bukit Batok West Avenue 8 and Fajar Road. In the application, the buyer Sheng Siong Property Pte Ltd stated the proposed use of the premises as “wet market”.

On 9 Oct 09, HDB met representatives from Heeton Holdings Ltd and Sheng Siong Property Pte Ltd to seek clarification on the use of the five wet markets after the sale. At the meeting, Sheng Siong Property Pte Ltd said that they were aware that they were buying the 5 properties as wet markets. Sheng Siong also confirmed that they will operate the five properties as wet markets.

HDB would like to clarify that we assess requests for conversion of wet markets (operated by single operators) to supermarkets on a case-by-case basis. A key consideration is the marketing needs of the residents. We will consider the demand for the existing wet market in terms of the stall occupancy rate, operating hours and customer crowd etc. HDB has informed Sheng Siong that these five markets, as well as another wet market at Elias Mall where Sheng Siong is reported to be buying, do not meet these criteria for conversion to supermarkets.

For the wet market at Sembawang Mart, the market operator has submitted a proposal to assign the premises. HDB is evaluating the proposal. We have arranged to meet the existing tenant and the proposed assignee to understand their proposed use for the premises. Similarly, marketing needs of the residents will be a key consideration.

HDB would like to remind the existing wet market operators in HDB premises that they must seek the relevant approvals for any sale/assignment and change of use of the wet markets.

Source: AsiaOne

1. Leveling the playing field for residents and non-residents
  2. Bukit Timah flood – where were the police?
  3. Bukit Merah Town Council’s negligence caused girl, 7, to fall through railings?
  4. Don’t pass the buck to Ang Mo Kio residents
  5. Residents query but PAP town councils keep mum

57 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

singaporean
Oct 11, 2009 20:46

Prices will go up if sheng shiong is the owner
don.t let them take over
SDP WELL DONE for bringing up the issues

Jurong Resident
Oct 11, 2009 21:04

Hello TOC.

Well done on reporting on the SDP walkabout. Is there a reason the RP walkabout feature was taken down? I would like to post some pictures and videos.And also do a report.

Many thanks.

Donaldson
Oct 11, 2009 21:30

Hi Everyone,

Please do not denigrate fellow commentators.

Please keep to the topic at hand, i.e. the privatisation of wet markets.

Hi Jurong Resident #2,

The RP feature wasn’t taken down. It is actually an announcement that RP would be doing its walkabout today in Jurong. It is not a report on how RP’s walkabout proceeded today.

At the end of the day, we re-catergorised the RP feature from “Main Stories” to “Events and Announcements”. Please scroll to the bottom of the TOC front-page to view the “Events and Announcement” Section.

This report is not done by TOC. It is written by SDP.

Cheers
Donald
Deputy Editor
The Online Citizen

massivelosses_sohow?
Oct 11, 2009 21:56

Dr Ho is only a puppet, he wont dare to speak up plus he already gambled millions away.

This is Singapore, everything is about profits, they dont care if all the stall holders have nothing to do, they only care if Sheng Siong would pay them the $ they asking for!

Honestly, Sheng Siong is not to be blamed. The government took millions from Sheng Siong and allow them to dictate what they want. If not for the outburst, 6 markets would not be retained.

KopitiamApek
Oct 11, 2009 22:02

4) massivelosses_sohow?

/////The government took millions from Sheng Siong ////

How did that happen?

ApApA
Oct 11, 2009 22:09

SG government is already privatised; wet market privatisation is chicken feed.

Jurong Resident to Donaldson
Oct 11, 2009 22:19

Thanks Donaldson.

Anyway, I want to say thank you to RP and also thank you to SDP. I am supporting the opposition this election no matter what.And thanks for clarifying.

The sun will never set.The new dawn has come.Go opposition.

Just send credible people and the swing voters will vote for you.And Dr Chee we support you too. We will be there at Bishan-Toa Payoh.

All the best SDP.

My relative is a stallholder.There is a market tender process which is always won by the same people.And they lease it out to 2nd and 3rd party vendors.Could the TOC do an expose on the person and business group who wins all these tenders.

I don’t want to say names.But you will find a lot of interesting things in the tender process and the relatives link to some people.This information will definitely swing the election to the opposition.

The market is in Ang Mo Kio Central and also 2 of the markets you mentioned in the article.Go and interview them and find out the cartel that holds the key to not just this but to a lot of markets in Singapore.

And then see the link to Sheng Siong.Then you will see a truer picture of everything.

This elections is for the opposition to win unless they redraw boundaries or they arrest more people in the opposition camp.

michael
Oct 11, 2009 22:22

i think this is a SDP site as it seem all comments are anti govt , weill, then its just a waste of time to continue with all these nothing better to do commentators

jackson teo
Oct 11, 2009 22:38

SDP SDP, you are a real opportunist, ready to show up at the slightest opportunity to score point but with the reputation of chee soon chuan , well , you wont win. Everyone know your storey well, misbehave always, so we are all very sick and tired of all you scheme, so dont waste your time to show us that you are just the good guy party. No one will pity you even when you bring your coin box asking for donation, we will just glance and pity you thats all folks

tetty
Oct 11, 2009 22:41

Its nice to see that the PAP internet brigade are ever-vigilant even on sundays. Definitely worth the tax-payers’ money, every cent of it.

kum beng
Oct 11, 2009 23:14

I am happy to see our loyal opposition more active on the ground.

This is commendable and I hope to see more of their meeting/talking to the residents.

I have still not seen any WP at my home in HG.

RP went to Jurong for walkabout. Another commendable act.

I suspect it may be December .

Opposition need to show they are gungho. The general impression of opposition is they are quiet, inactive, unseen, unheard. This could contribute to reasons why they have not won much votes. The people knows why they might be like this. But the more gungho they show the people, who understand their situations, the more faith/confidence the people may have in them . Its not like they get to appear on MSM many times a year. The people do not know them as much.

Pls try your best to win more votes. We are watching and supporting you with good strong reasons.

tetty
Oct 11, 2009 23:33

Wow what happened to the PAP internet brigade posts? They should be allowed to do their job and their comments retained… they provide me good laughs on a lonely weekend night.

I’m sure many people here would agree. Don’t you guys? :D

man against the tank
Oct 12, 2009 0:02

8) kum beng on October 11th, 2009 11.14 pm

I agree Opposition party needs to be gung-ho but not confrontational to the point of being a uncouth thug as portrayed by MSM…

Opposition Party,You need to stay out of trouble and not give the ruling party an excuse to “fix” you.

Stay within the boundaries of the law…don’t do unnecessary bad publicity like wearing “protest” t-shirt and doing these civil disobedient wayang to put yourselves in a bad light.

People are ready to vote more opposition into parliament…The time is now!

wat?
Oct 12, 2009 0:32

you will be interested to know that somebody’s son is connected to somebody’s daughter. then again.. maybe its just a rumor about sheng siong.

Yamamoto
Oct 12, 2009 1:59

8) tetty

Agree with you….

as the saying goes “Keep your friend close, and your enemy closer”

Anybody keeping a list of how our dear leaders has been roughshod over our fellow people….

Ark
Oct 12, 2009 3:03

price will certainly go up, sheng siong wants to eventually install aircon and replace the hawkers with their own cheap FT labour, although right now they say ‘considering only’

cat
Oct 12, 2009 3:31

how come we are so gentle to the million dollar non performing ministers and expect the opposition to be nice and yet pushing the ministers to do their work?

mad93
Oct 12, 2009 9:37

Privatisation is equaled to Corporatism!

hong gao tong
Oct 12, 2009 10:33

whatever complaints and comments made or articles written, tell me that it is not true that the people eventually still accepts whatever and ever?
tell me this is not true.

Sue-Annie Chua Sai Hong
Oct 12, 2009 10:37

Can someone enlighten who are the top management people or share holders or advisors if any of SS? Are any of them affiliated with ….

whatisGDP
Oct 12, 2009 10:37

[i]Jurong Resident on October 11th, 2009 9.04 pm Hello TOC.

Well done on reporting on the SDP walkabout. [/i]

every night dr chee and his team will do the walkabout in every housin estates aroun singapoor…
last week he came to my area in the kopitiam when i was havin my dinner
i gave $5 for his newmedia print.. i didn’t even read nor open any of the pages
after dinner i took the newmedias and donate to the green recycled bin…

Tea_C
Oct 12, 2009 10:56

Well done SDP!

Political Monk
Oct 12, 2009 11:56

Why is tihs CSJ stii leeching on to SDP. he is already in banktruptcy record.
Why don’t he & some of this cripple cadre give way to some articulated people to run the Party. CSJ U have painted yourself in Black. U are a Chinese Harban Singh.
SDP will not improve with U this type of people still leeching on it.
2001 Election U cause the new voter to swing back to the PAP ,by shouting at Goh Choke Tong. It this a wayang plot. U have been pay a million $

patriot
Oct 12, 2009 12:44

If Sheng Siong is able to offer better price(cheaper), wider and fresher goods with friendlier services than NTUC Supermarkets, i am all for it, the more Sheng Siong the better.

Remember that in some previous threads, comparisons of prices(cost) were made between NTUC and other supermarts and it was shown that NTUC goods were not cheaper than others? Neither is service standard something NTUC Supermarkets can brag about. Though NTUC is supposedly catering to the wellbeings of the workers, it has thus far yet to show it has the welfares of the workers as its’ core purpose and value.

Wet and open markets were a norm in the past and they were always and invariably privately or state owned. I believe Sheng Siong could sublet parts of its’ supermarkets to hawkers of cooked foods and vendors of meats, fruits and vegetables etc and let them operate in non-airconditioned premises.

The concern now is that costs of goods will go up if Sheng Siong and others take over existing wet markets. However, big retailer like Sheng Siong can and should be able to offer better prices and services for their goods due to their bulk purchases from suppliers and benefit their customers by selling goods at lower prices.

patriot

FakeMonk
Oct 12, 2009 12:49

18) Political Monk on October 12th, 2009 11.56 am

Back then in 2001, it did look very disrespectful of Dr Chee for shouting at GCT.

On current sentiment, people would applaud Dr Chee and may suggest that besides shouting at GTC, he should also throw his shoe at GTC and LHL.

FakeMonk
Oct 12, 2009 13:00

19) patriot on October 12th, 2009 12.44 pm

“….However, big retailer like Sheng Siong can and should be able to offer better prices and services for their goods due to their bulk purchases from suppliers and benefit their customers by selling goods at lower prices.”

the bottomline is, Sheng Siong is a business entity. Like all businesses, its sole purpose is to make maximum profit. Entities that take care of the welfare of the people are known as charity organisation.

Sheng Siong has no obligation to consider the welfare of the people. That’s the role of the PAP government which it has failed to do. Should the people be angry when everything that PAP does is always about profit making since it is running Singapore like a MNC.

Omni
Oct 12, 2009 13:44

Thank you TOC for posting up news of SDP’s walkabout/ground efforts too.

Moe Gan Thai
Oct 12, 2009 14:30

#20 fake monk,
I think GCT deserved it, collecting millions of salary, we demand to know, where is our money, Dr Chee did not shout, he was using loud hailer, it made people think he was shouting, anyway you are right, in current time Goh will be lucky if he did not get flying shoes.

btan
Oct 12, 2009 14:33

SDP should not wear protest t-shirts in the streets.

They should be voted into parliament and wear protest t-shirts there while making a speech as MPs!

FriedKwayTiaoWithHum
Oct 12, 2009 14:56

24) btan on October 12th, 2009 2.33 pm

Agreed!
In parliament, MPs have immunity from being sue. People must understand why PAP went all out to destroy and prevent Francis Seow and Teng Liang Hong from winning in past elections. Once elected as MP, PAP can’t stop and can’t sue them in court from what they are going to say in parliament. The only thing that PAP can do is to challenge them to repeat what they said outside parliament.

I wonder what both of them would have revealed in parliament if and only if another 2 thousands voters in ChengSan GRC and Eunos GRC had voted for them instead of PAP.

EunosChengSan
Oct 12, 2009 15:16

What Eunos GRC? Where is it now?

What Chen San GRC? Where is it now?

That’s how they continue to rule Singapore. By changing boundaries and eliminating electoral wards.

Shameful gerrymandering.

Dumb and dumber
Oct 12, 2009 15:37

In my opinion, Singaporeans should vote Dr CSJ into the parliament. I guess he will be able to rock these PAP MPs off the comfortable zone. This contribution alone is worth the all the effort and the trouble.

I look forward to see the PAP MPs fresh and awake than dozing off during parliament meeting. They have been too comfortable in my opinion.

blackfeline
Oct 12, 2009 16:23

looks like it’s working…those scumbags are panicking…and crawling out from their cave! In tonite’s wan pao…surrpising.. front page…headline “Chee and Dr Teo “saliva war” over wet market issue”…..the apparently annoyed Mr. Teo asked Mr. Chee to do his homework! lol We need to hit them hard where it hurts…

Dumb and dumber
Oct 12, 2009 16:43

To 28) blackfeline on October 12th, 2009 4.23 pm,

My point exactly… just send the one-man crack troop, Dr CSJ… into the parliament… better than steroid in my opinion.

Debra Soong
Oct 12, 2009 16:56

will prices go up is SS takes over?

1. SS is profit driven entity.
2. its reported there may be air-conditioning.

Does money drop from the sky?

So, the prices and rental will not go up.

andrew leung
Oct 12, 2009 16:58

The SDP did not offer any alternative solution or write to Sheng Siong for their future plans.

Moe Gan Thai
Oct 12, 2009 16:59

To #25,
Both Tang and Francis Seow know pap’s secret because they are part of the establishment.

angry_one
Oct 12, 2009 17:31

I hope SDP challenges Bt Panjang in the next elections….. oh i forgot that 1/2 of bt panjang belongs to Holland-Bt Timah GRC….

singapoorismyBRAND
Oct 12, 2009 17:57

[i]andrew leung on October 12th, 2009 4.58 pm The SDP did not offer any alternative solution or write to Sheng Siong for their future plans.
[/i]
and without a doubt sheng sionbg would had reply with somnething liked this
deaR dr chee
we thanked you for your feedbacks regardin our profit oriented business movement… do sheng siong inc looked liked a political party with a chARITABLE CAUSE IN MIND?
andrew leung are you really goondu or pretend to be a nerd?
you should have direct this to hdb why they want to sell the wet market to sheng siong instead of thinkin the welfares for the citizens…

Political Monk
Oct 12, 2009 18:00

This movement to over take wet market, is the same tactic they took over early bus operator (Paya lebar Bus. Tay Koh Yat – Hock Lee Bus-STC & so on…….) the same as took over the Yellow Top taxi. Later there are no guarantee rental & goods would not hike, Any way Sheng Siong compare to other supermart their goods are much more cheaper than NTUC & others. Hope the common people will get cheaper food.

andrew leung
Oct 12, 2009 19:17

HDB responds to queries on proposed conversion of some wet markets to supermarkets

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20091010-172885.html

Muhamad Nur
Oct 12, 2009 19:44

Since the question is about income inequality, why don’t the statistician compile a list of the bottom income earners. How much do they earn back in 1998 compared to 2008. How wide is the gap between their annual pay rise compared to the annual rise in cost of living. What is the income ceiling for one to be considered living under poverty. Earning $1000 in Singapore is not the same as earning $1000 in Philippines. Many Singaporeans complain about the high cost of living but we were constantly told our income has actually risen and that we’re very fortunate to live here. Why are there so many Singaporeans contemplating for a better life overseas. GDP per capita is indeed a very poor gauge of a society’s well being.

sasamestreet
Oct 12, 2009 19:49

Hi Muhamad Nur, have you checked the statistics board website and found nothing? Erm…I seem to vaguely remember statistics like these published on ST sometime in the last 12 months. Can anyone here confirm or disconfirm this?

Muhamad Nur
Oct 12, 2009 21:07

It’s probably compiled but never published. This site shows the average cost of living in Singapore – http://www.singaporeedu.gov.sg/htm/liv/liv01.htm

An international student (without any children and elderly parents to shoulder) needs about $750-$2000 a month to sustain a living in Singapore. That is probably the income range of the low income Singaporeans (with responsibilities). In fact I can even deduce that about 3/4 of Singaporean workers salary fall into this income range. So it is safe to conclude that a large segment of the population are living in poverty (equity rich buy cash poor).

This calls for a study on this group of Singaporeans to get a better gauge of their financial situation. The most accurate way to see whether they are really living in poverty is for them to reveal their savings. It won’t reflect well on the government if this study is really conducted.

tiredsingaporean
Oct 12, 2009 21:21

They need alot of $$$ to recoup those $billions of losses they incur so they are now using all kinds of ways to bring in as much money by tendering or selling off all utilities and basic food markets. Nothing is new here but be prepared to pay higher food prices soon if the deals went through.

tom
Oct 12, 2009 21:30

DBS / POSB & CITIBANK. What do they have in common?

Around s’pore, it is not difficult to notice there are so many CITIBANKS in the neighbour areas compare to HSBC, Maybank, Standard.
It operates just like any other POSB with ATMs.
Do you think govt will allow CITIBANKS to operate in the neighbour areas if govt do not have a share in it?

It same applies to Sheng Shiong (Talk C***K Sing Song).
Govt will not be silly to allow Sheng Shiong to complete with NTUC unless the govt has some benefits especially famiLEE.

What happen to CITIBANK will Again happen to Sheng Shiong.

tiredsingaporean
Oct 12, 2009 21:51

They always tap on to the success of any company that compete directly with them by buying over them to monopolise the market, and later they claimed its their success, puiiiiiiiiii! dirty business at the expense of the taxpayers.

CBL
Oct 12, 2009 22:13

I was surpised to see SDP conducting a misleading poll on its website – Do you support the sale of wet markets to private companies like Sheng Shiong?

I found the question very absurb and trying to mislead public into thinking that the wet markets in question are owned by HDB or Govt.

In the first place, aren’t the current wet markets at Choa Chu Kang Street 62, Choa Chu Kang Avenue 1, Serangoon Avenue 3, Bukit Batok West Avenue 8 and Fajar Road owned by a private boutique property developer Heeton.

Anonymous
Oct 12, 2009 22:41

I don’t know why the SDP bothers the wet market issue at all.

During the last GE, the SDP was the only opposition party that raised the NKF issue, and look at what they got from the PAP and the voters in return?

Don’t you agree that other opposition parties are smarter in keeping quiet?

PerpectuallyAntiPeople
Oct 12, 2009 22:42

Why did HDB sell off the wet markets in the first place ?

MBT with his MILLIION dollars paid salary should have the foresight to see that privatisation of these heartland necessities will only lead to higher prices from need to max out profits. Just look at what happened to the privatisation of the utilities with the ever price hikes.

thumos
Oct 13, 2009 0:13

The privatization of our wet markets is a scandal in itself. Why should ever be profit making in the first place? It should be seen as a duty of the HDB to ensure that all basic amenities of an estate be available for the residents, NOT to make money out of them. Why is private operators able to assign the rights to another party like a commercial transaction? And why is NEA ask to manage certain markets? This is not their job. This is simply a case of HDB trying to shrink from their social responsibility and profit all it can. This is a renactment of the previous privatization of the shops, forcing shop owners to pay exorbitant prices to buy over their shops and subsequently force to close or rent out because they could not pay the huge bank loan they took out. This will only drive up the cost of living further. Not content to charge high prices for their flats, now they want people to pay more for using the amenities. This is not community development anymore, its call community profit maximization!!

I no no lah
Oct 13, 2009 1:10

45) tom on October 12th, 2009 9.30 pm
” DBS / POSB & CITIBANK. What do they have in common?”

For one the AXS machines .

1. last time, any local atm card can be used to pay and pay bills.
2. now time, for certain AXS machines, only these cards can be used .
I wonder is it a phased-in approach that eventually only these cards can be used for all AXS? i hope not.

3. while there is the SAM machine, i wonder who owns it?
Will it also follow suit?

4. It seems to me that AXS is the most common in town and next is SAM. There is another one but that is very rare in town. no, should be very very x 10 rare.

Why like this AXS?

citibank shares good good or not nowdays huh?

i remember the govmin bot and sold alot of their shares wore.
anyway its not my money right?

btan
Oct 13, 2009 12:36

@29) FriedKwayTiaoWithHum on October 12th, 2009 2.56 pm

[[Agreed!
In parliament, MPs have immunity from being sue. People must understand why PAP went all out to destroy and prevent Francis Seow and Teng Liang Hong from winning in past elections. Once elected as MP, PAP can’t stop and can’t sue them in court from what they are going to say in parliament. The only thing that PAP can do is to challenge them to repeat what they said outside parliament.

I wonder what both of them would have revealed in parliament if and only if another 2 thousands voters in ChengSan GRC and Eunos GRC had voted for them instead of PAP. ]]

Francis Seow and THL are the BEST we had and looked what happened to them, no thanks to the idiots at Cheng San and Eunos who voted for PAP. And look what happen to their constituency? They got broken up in subsequent GEs. This shows how PAP is “grateful” to you for voting for them.

People have been clamouring for “credible” opposition but when the real stuff came, not enough supported them, thus causing them to be “fixed” by the government.

This caused the rest of us who supported opposition to continue suffer the mismanagement by PAP.

It’s time voters wake up now and vote for opposition in the coming GE.

SDP man.
Oct 13, 2009 16:06

I think SDP should partner with NSP.

patriot
Oct 13, 2009 17:08

Just like to have readers’ opinions.

Does anyone foresee a cartel or cartel like retailing of grocery and sundry goods in SIN? Is retailing of groceries and sundries similar to petrol, utilities, transportation, healthcares and other essential goods and services?

The neighbourhood coffee shops and many food courts are now run by a few large operators, the only complaint i have with them is the factory-like preparations and tastes of the foods in them, but otherwise, i am fine with them.

There are quite a few big supermarts in SIN now and i see more competitions in them as each of them tries to outdo the others in this TINY market and personally do not foresee cartel in this sector.

patriot

Wonderman
Oct 14, 2009 21:41

NTUC Fairprice does not have to pay corporate taxes—yet Sheng Shiong can undercut them in prices of most products.
Conclusion–there must be a lot of fat cats in Fairprice.
BTW–if parliament is ‘privatised’, we probably need to pay 10% of the present cost. Again a lot of fat cats–without portfolio.

johoreroadbroke
Oct 16, 2009 4:23

[i]Wonderman on October 14th, 2009 9.41 pm NTUC Fairprice does not have to pay corporate taxes—yet Sheng Shiong can undercut them in prices of most products.[/i]

every mornin without failed..sheng shiong lorries from johore will be deliverin the freshes grocers from johore just beside dr khaw retiement home next to dr khaw parent farm just beside dr khaw sister clinic….
whiule ntuc inc vegges just flown in from new zealand and australia via phuachukang bataam humane waste fertilizer farm..
without a doubt ntuc inc would have to pay royalthies to phuachukang sdn berhad inc…
now you know……………

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook