Main Stories, Top Story - Written on Saturday, October 31, 2009 17:51 - 93 Comments

Singapore neither a nation nor a country – Ministers

Here is a report by Channelnewsasia in July 2009 on MM Lee saying that Singapore is not yet a nation:

Despite achieving harmony amongst all races in Singapore, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew said on Saturday that the country is still a work-in-progress when it comes to nationhood.

“Are we a nation yet? I will not say we are. We’re in transition,” he said at the Orange Ribbon Celebrations which centres on racial harmony.

“Please remember this is an ideal which we may not completely reach, but because we have this ideal, we’ll continue to make progress,” he said.

On 30 October 2009, Law Minister K Shanmugam said Singapore is “not a country” but a city, according to a report by The Straits Times:

‘This is where most people make a mistake…I have tried to explain that we are different. We are a city. We are not a country,’ he told 200 lawyers, many from America, at the New York State Bar Association International Section’s meeting here.

1. S’pore not a nation yet, says MM Lee
  2. Uniquely Singapore, F1 or F9: Are our ministers also confused by the annuity… erm… Longevity Insurance scheme?
  3. We, the citizens of no country
  4. Uniquely Singapore, F1 or F9?: Inflation up, HDB property tax up, statistics disappear, Ministers’ pay up again soon
  5. SM Goh, please love your country more than the PAP

93 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

You sure or NOT
Oct 31, 2009 18:29

We pay so MULTI-millions to many of them to govern a place which is neither a city or nation, you mean Singapore is really a corporation ie Singapore Inc in disguise?

not a singaporean
Oct 31, 2009 18:36

Hi TOC, I think your title should be ‘SIngapore neither a nation nor a country’

Bohbehchow
Oct 31, 2009 18:45

“Singapore neither a nation nor a city – Ministers”

I can see where you are coming from, but please try and get the basics right — like the headline!

Shanmugam said “We are a city. We are not a country”

So I assume you mean:

Singapore neither a nation nor a country – Ministers

Patriot Missile
Oct 31, 2009 19:12

we are neither a nation nor a city cos’ we are a corporation!

John Michael Connor
Oct 31, 2009 19:29

MM says we are not yet a nation…Law Minister mentions we are not a country,what will our PM declare? – Singapore is not a country,not yet a nation…sounds like that Britney Spears song – Not a girl,not yet a woman!!

John Connor says – Singapore is an MNC – the ruling party wants to make money,more money,just like the MJ song,”They don’t really care about us!”

what the fish!
Oct 31, 2009 19:58

does this mean we can tell them to get lost and just let the civil servants run this place?

despicable politicians
Oct 31, 2009 20:00

Minister Mentor and Law Minister are both liars, cheaters. Sue both of them to bankruptcy.

Franciso
Oct 31, 2009 20:20

Singapore is a country; more specifically, Singapore is a sovereign city-state.
Semantically, we are not a nation.

John Tan
Oct 31, 2009 20:44

Singapore will never be a nation as long as its leaders care only about amassing humongous salaries for themselves. With their outlandish
salaries they will never understand the plight of the poor. Their bottomless
income will always keep them divorced from the true reality and sufferings of the people outside their comfort zone.

white raven
Oct 31, 2009 21:13

Since S’pore is only a city, we need only a Mayor and a City Council. We can do without the expensive wasteful Cabinet and Senior and Mentor Ministers.

Sickening
Oct 31, 2009 21:25

“Singapore neither a nation nor a country – Ministers”

Yes I know! We are a hotel right?

blackfeline
Oct 31, 2009 21:29

ya..we are a city…annexed by, to, with, whatever…. China.

New Era
Oct 31, 2009 21:58

12) Sickening on October 31st, 2009 9.25 pm

Yes, we are a hotel. After all, the foreigners come here, stay a short while, do on with their business and left when it is done. Singaporeans are left to do the menial work.

What do they care as long as the get their million dollar salaries.

tzh
Oct 31, 2009 22:38

we pay and pay them (or you could also consider them sucking us) millions.

I remember LHL once said about paying peanuts and getting monkeys. Well, it seems that we’re paying gold bars and getting incompetent chimps.

But i dont find it surprising, after all, how many times can pap ministers dodge these bullets??

Eventually, one will strike them in the head. And I’d say this bullet is a potential one.

patriot
Oct 31, 2009 22:39

Not a country, not a nation, just a city state, but, a tiny dot of a land has a PM, a MM, a SM, two Deputy PMs and a President to run it. Simply amazing and incredible.

patriot

cro
Oct 31, 2009 22:39

If it is a city, then it must be a corrupted city by the MIWs.

New Era
Oct 31, 2009 22:55

They decide a policy and carry it out with telling us. We only find out when it is done.

It seems like they have already decided to do away with wet markets. Lately, I notice many of their stooges writing in the forum pages to say how they dislike wet markets. The latest is Ms Betty Ho.

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Story/STIStory_448535.html

Not sure why they want to do away with wet markets and end the livelihood of more poor Singaporeans. Do supermarkets bring in more money for the government.

I wonder if any more stooges will be writing in. Why do they take us for fools.

Vote of Opposition
Oct 31, 2009 22:55

This statement makes me ever more determined to seek else where to settle down! There is not sense of belonging as Singapore is neither a country or a nation. Singapore is just a hotel for migrants……….

New Era
Oct 31, 2009 23:01

The vendor was serving three customers who were there before me, so I waited patiently for him to attend to me. In the meantime, more customers came. When the first three customers were gone, the vendor attended to the customers who had come after me. I signalled to him a couple of times that I was next, but each time he turned round to tell me to wait.

Betty Ho (Ms)

She wants wet markets to be closed because of such a petty reason. How can Singapore be a nation. We are not a country. Not a city state. Not even a corporation. We are a prison.

How else can a stooge write in to the form pages of the Shitty Times time and time again pretending to be normal citizens to influence the people in favour of government policy.

woodpecker
Oct 31, 2009 23:04

Dear Shanmugam,

If we really are merely a city and not a country, why do we need to have passports at all?

FriedKwayTiaoWithHum
Oct 31, 2009 23:08

Since Singapore is not a country or a nation so we are not citizens of any country or nation, right? Why then do we need to serve NS/reservist? So we can’t be charged for AWOL, right?

David
Oct 31, 2009 23:28

Hey guys, such statements are wake up call. We are not a country or a nation. We are PAP playground and we serves NS to protect PAP family. Singaporeans are betrayed!!! Many of the laws in Singapore are enacted to protect PAP and they are PAP Law. As such Shamugam has to struggle his way out of the 200 questioning lawyers and when he is in dire state to survive further questioning, he finally told the truth. We are really in deep deep trouble/

Lee Chee Wai
Nov 1, 2009 0:13

To be fair, he probably intended to say that Singapore has no hinterland and (I assume) has to operate/govern as a city. Hence, we are “special”.

Of course, this raises two questions:

1. What does it mean to govern a city? City-Nation-States were common through history, how were they governed? Where there common themes? City-Nation-Island-States were probably rarer, but does that make us more “special”?

2. So, we’re “special” nation governing as a city (whatever that means) … what has that got to do with press freedom?

Shanmugam seemed to fail to explain the conclusion made in his speech. If his point was “asian values” makes us want to control the press, then that really has nothing to do with our being a “special” City-State. The former is tenuously debatable, the latter is simply a red herring with no grounding in logic or reason.

mice is nice
Nov 1, 2009 0:31

can TOC folks compile a list of most memorable quotes of 2009 & let forumers caste votes? :)

best if can caste more than 1 quote. maybe, just maybe can tease Straits Times by “asking” them to put it in print! waha-hahaa…. :D

protest
Nov 1, 2009 0:32

12) Sickening
]]]] Yes I know! We are a hotel right?
Well said Sickening. They ripped us off now and all starting to claim credits and enriched themselves. They care for us? No, they are already preparing to move out anytime. Yet we are still stuck looking for jobs.
These bunch of new gayman need 2b killed.

Anonymous
Nov 1, 2009 0:48

A compilation of MIW’s most memorable quotes here:

http://yoursdp.org/index.php/perspective/political-hors-doeuvre

SoSad
Nov 1, 2009 0:55

Seriously, we can be anything they want. A compliant citizen, city dweller. worker, etc etc.
Does anyone think it means anything to them ?
Or matter to them?

As long as they get to profit from us, all actions
taken will be for that purpose, that is all. The rest
are just for show, that is all.

Reality Bites
Nov 1, 2009 1:19

MM Lee and Shanmugam have just admitted what a lot of people believe Singapore is – that Singapore is a corporate inc. It’s obvious from the way this nation, I mean “city”, has been run by the PAP. Look at their corporate CEO salaries! If the LEEgime had its way, Singapore would only have 50,000 people and 4 million foreigners who come and go and merely be pawns in the economic machine.

Singapore would only be a mid-sized city in the USA (where there are at least a hundred cities) yet some of our ministers, and our president, are paid more than the President of the United States.

lockeliberal
Nov 1, 2009 2:10

Guys and TOC U have quoted and quoted WRONGLY leading to misunderstanding.

His point whether you agree with it or not was that Singapore’s politics was more that of the “politics of a city” versus that of politics of a ‘country” . That was fair comment and neither disparages or insults singapore’s status as a country and a city state

Locke

lockeliberal
Nov 1, 2009 2:10

Guys and TOC U have quoted and quoted WRONGLY leading to misunderstanding.

His point whether you agree with it or not was that Singapore’s politics was more that of the “politics of a city” versus that of politics of a ‘country” . That was fair comment and neither disparages or insults singapore’s status as a country and a city state

Locke

Wake Up Singaporeans
Nov 1, 2009 3:02

Very conveniently said. Singapore is neither a nation nor a country? Singapore is only a city? So, we have been mislead all these years?

In other words, all our ministers are not ministers. Our PM is only a City Councilor and all the Ministers are actually his deputies, Deputy or Assistant City Councilors. And Shanmugam is only an Assistant Councilor in charge of legal matters.

What are MM Lee and SM Goh then? Consultants, Senior Councilors, or Stepped-Down Councilors Who Refused To Retire?

Then why are they demanding to be paid the world’s highest salaries and bonuses? Singaporeans should now ask for money back. Those so-called ministers should only be paid at city councilors’ levels of remuneration. Why is our PM drawing 5 to 6 times the salary of President Obama? Even our Junior Ministers’ pays are higher than that of President Obama!

I think MM is getting too old and starts to make mistakes and has let slip his tongue, and Shanmugan, trying to be too smart, has let the cat of of the bag.

Singaporeans should wake up now.

CJ
Nov 1, 2009 3:20

LOL!
I’ve always felt we’re NOT quite what we are.. but rather, we are WHO we VOTED for!
So very aptly; YOU are what you VOTE..;p

cheaper, faster and better ministers
Nov 1, 2009 5:23

If the job of minister mentor and law minister is to make such unuseful and meaningless comments, it seem like any tom,dick,harry can become minister mentor and law minister of singapore. Which other ministers in the world get paid million dollars a year just to utter nonsense ?
Singaporeans need to vote for cheaper, better and faster MPs to get rid of current useless, ineffective and incompetent PAP MPs and ministers.

BlindMan
Nov 1, 2009 7:47

Singapore neither a nation nor a country and it’s run by the village people, and leading the pack is the village elder.

But why do we not pay “village salary” for “village service” ?

This is like some sci-fi movie where we got one master mind and the people are clones spewing the same concoction of confusion….sooner or later the system will turn on itself…….

New Era
Nov 1, 2009 8:04

Not a country but each of them take home at least $10 million in total.

I for one don’t know what Lim Swee Say has done so far other than doing a song and dance about ‘upturn the downturn’ to distract us from the current recession. If he wants to perform on stage, he can join mediacorp.

What we want are competent and effective ministers who can raise the standard of living of the aveage Singaporeans.

You will only finds these people amongst the opposition ranks.

New Era
Nov 1, 2009 8:46

http://geraldgiam.sg/2009/10/balancing-an-emerging-dragon/

Mr Giam makes a good point about MM Lee being terrified of China’s intention. Yet he is flooding this country with PRCs. This country is being put at risk for economic gains and they hope that the Americans will help when trouble comes.

Its like an arsonists starting fires and requesting for the firemen to standby.

doctorwho
Nov 1, 2009 10:21

In principle, only sovereign states can become UN members. Isn’t Singapore sitting in UN?

nothoodwinked
Nov 1, 2009 10:42

Sure, then tell the whole cabinet to get lost and save our taxpapers
alot of money.
As a city, Singapore doesnt need a national government.
Just individual town councils to mind their own affairs.

Soo Hong Chia
Nov 1, 2009 10:48

I could not understand the rationale behind the saying that
singapore is not yet a NATION.

and

singapore is not a COUNTRY.

It is a fact that Singapore IS a Country that has 1 CITY.
The fact that it is a City does not mean it is not a Country.

There can be many levels of NATIONhood. Just like Transparency.
Some say there something is Very Transparent, More Transparent or not transparent. Some may even go so far as insisting there is Either Transparency (full transparency) or there is no Transparency. Is the word ‘nation’ used in this way that it either is a FULL NATION or it is Not a Nation? So, should we also say something is Transparent when IT IS and not when it is 50% Opaque?

Since when did people 1st told us that singapore is not a nation when the word singapore and nation were used to describe singapore since long time ago?

I am really confusd by that 2 guys’ words.

I do not recall anyone saying singapore is not yet a nation nor singapore is not a country in the past, say >=5 years ago.

What is the rationale for ‘revealing’ this to the citizenry ?

Soo Hong Chia
Nov 1, 2009 10:53

Some memorable singapore national day related song lyrics:

“This is my COUNTRY, this is my flag….”
“…singapore forever a NATION strong and free….”

did someone pointed out before that the lyrics is inappropriate?

What Change?
Nov 1, 2009 11:50

And which wise man decided that a city state that is not yet a nation needs a huge influx of immigrants who are then given almost-instant residency rights and even citizenship?

Kenny
Nov 1, 2009 12:00

What the hell??
So… all these years people celebrate national day for what?
Since we aren’t even a nation yet??
Good one Soo Hong Chia.

I guess it should be
“This is my corporation, this is my brand…”
“… singapore forever, a corporation strong and free…”

Or better yet… as some has pointed.. a city of China??

Liew Tenant
Nov 1, 2009 12:29

Then can dont serve NS what

notalone
Nov 1, 2009 12:39

Suka they talk just to cover-up whatever sh*t Singapore as a country is facing, and it’s never their fault in any case.

Sigh…

Come on people, time for PAP to step down.

We want new responsible leaders with no strings attached, and deep in our hearts, we still want Singapore as a country, dont we?

Online Shmonline
Nov 1, 2009 12:50

And now, according to CNA (http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1015089/1/.html), some more “promising” PAP candidates have been identified for next election, slated for Feb 2012.

Are they really going to take that long?
They may, if they think they need that much time for additional brainwashing and bribery at the grassroots level with small vouchers for old folks (with poor access to their CPF) and the destitute.

I believe this is a red herring.

Times aren’t good. However, their overall inability to spur anything is increasing the rate of resentment. I think they’ve announced the 2012 date to throw off the opposition. Then, out of the blue, a snap election announcement may happen.

I’ve seen this done in tightly controlled regimes (Honduras, Nicaragua, Myanmar, etc). Give false info to lull the crowds…then WHAM! No one sees it coming and the new PAP folks are walked in via GRC and walkovers before you can give your NRIC at the polling station.P puts it down.

Time for talk is over.
Time for action is upon us.
Use your vote responsibly.
Don’t vote for PAP.

ahtong
Nov 1, 2009 13:01

“Napoleon is always right” (Animal Farm). ‘Nuff said.

macam macam
Nov 1, 2009 13:12

oh my god! what’s our identity then. maybe the PRC is right about us it’s the Lee village.

Yamamoto
Nov 1, 2009 13:16

Great, just great….people get paid only 500k to govern one of the world’s biggest nation….and our dear MIW get paid millions to govern a small city….I just love it….really, i do!

MayAllRulersBeRighteous
Nov 1, 2009 13:43

If this is only a city, not a country, why the need for National Service, election every 5 years to elect a parliament and President. Why not just employ the best CEO to run this city? No wonder Singaporeans are so apathetic to politics. In other words, this place is like a BIG corporation with Profit & Loss bottomline so that the top officers are paid millions each year.

patriot
Nov 1, 2009 14:08

After the CONFIRMATIONS by MM Lee and Minister Shanmugan, i now confirmed my suspicion that the Independence of SIN was/is a freak one. I was/is of the view that the Former Master, the British was just looking for anyone for her to give away SIN and well, a local was given it(SIN).

patriot

Utopia
Nov 1, 2009 14:16

So Singapore is the Sin City. Where is our Bruce Willis to get rid of corrupted gahmen ?

Lee Chee Wai
Nov 1, 2009 14:35

Reality Bites #27 -

Depends on what you mean by “mid-sized”. Population-wise, depending on how populations in US-cities are counted, Singapore would be as high as #2. Area-wise, Singapore is slightly larger than Austin, Texas at #27.

BlindMan
Nov 1, 2009 14:59

does this mean we gonna be part of Malaysia ?
No wonder we got the flood gates for foreigners opened …….this is a hotel, stay here and split the scene one you are done ….. or have made some money selling your property…..

If its not a country, and its a city…. it must be hotel ……..

I am sure many people are not suprised by these comments from our elite ministers anymore….you seen one, you seen them all…..

Open letter to PM Lee HL
Nov 1, 2009 17:27

Dear PM Lee HL of the Republic of Singapore

Two of your over-paid ministers MM Lee and Law Minister K Shanmugam have spoken seditiously and undermined your leadership.

We should do something about this. They are indirectly encouraging our youths not to do NS.

A reduction of 90% in salary and taking them to task would restore confidence of Singaporeans.

JW

theforgottongeneration
Nov 1, 2009 18:33

Well, that kinda explain why our “top management” pay can be much higher than those of other heads of state — like the mafia king of a totalitarian city can rake in more money than that of the country’s leader.

By that argument, what is NS for then? A prviate army to safeguard a city? Maybe each GRC/town council should raise its own “army” then — the people only defend their immediate neighborhood and if there is a walkover, then the males of that constituency don’t have to serve NS since that is no “nation or state” for them to protect.

I bet this is the carrot given to FTs to “integrate”" them here — they are considered only city residents, so no need for them to serve NS. Alamak, NS/eservist just gets cheaper every day . . .

Poitical Salesman
Nov 1, 2009 18:55

Singaporean get play out since the PAP get into power!
They make U read the pledge every morning in school. On National Day they make U Sing “This is my country, This are my friend! We ‘re Singapore, Singaporean. All Bull shit.

patriot
Nov 1, 2009 20:19

Just watched and listened on Channel U 7 PM News, PM Lee claimed that he has found the Next Generation Leaders who are prepared to dedicate, devote their live(xian sheng) for the Country. He asserted that only his Party is able to provide such dedicated(sacrificing) calibres.

Lost all my appetite and felt like throwing up everything i ate earlier after watching said news. It was appalling to hear those claims when reality shows none of them. It will be very sad if Singaporeans believe those words spoken.

patriot

FeverGuy
Nov 1, 2009 21:33

Another Blooper from a million dollar minister. This is really a joke. No matter how small Singapore is, whether we are only 700 sq km, this is my home and my country. I do not need to explain to any other foreign entity whether they should classify Singapore uniquely for a better press ranking. And the need to downgrade Singapore to a City in order to be put under a different light. There are principles to follow and our dear minister K.S is truly living in a ivory tower of his own. VOTE them out!

FeverGuy
Nov 1, 2009 21:40

patriot.

I was like laughing out loud when i heard the “great news” PM Lee mentioned. These days they cant be taken seriously anymore. Their words lack sincerity and moral values, except money values. The next generation leaders are definitely not my choice going by the way things never change no matter how degraded it has been. The only hope for Singapore is to vote a new group of courageous Singaporeans as the opposition camp or better still take over the running the CITY, since we are not a country yet according to our LAW Minister. For every passing moment go by, our dear current PAP leaders just pass over their chance in the next election.

bittersingaporean
Nov 1, 2009 21:42

singapore s already a gone case. it is just a matter of time before a revolution will start. how can a ‘country’ be run in so extreme means. it is a sinking ship, before the ship sink, those who have the means to leave better migrate first.

mice is nice
Nov 1, 2009 22:17

S’pore is neither a nation nor a country?

must be a Lee-gime lah!! :P

Seow
Nov 1, 2009 22:31

Not a nation, not a country…please don’t tell me Singapore is a fiction of my imagination and I am living in a matrix where humans are being kept alive to harness our energy to fuel the matrix!

Nooooooo!

patriot
Nov 1, 2009 22:46

Hi FeverGuy:

now, me got fever too listening to empty claims. Maybe, they do think they are great and dedicated, they have their own set of vocabulary. However, we know very well they are VERY DEDICATED to their pockets and keenly seeked vainglories.

They gave accolades and awards to foreign dignitaries that CONTRIBUTED NOTHING to our wellbeings and they(foreigners) in return, reciprocated and patted each others. So, we saw our politicians got awards and recognitions now and then. ‘Chen te sung nau zin’(Pinyin), kepala pusing(Malay), it hurts to listen to our leaders.

patriot

Parameswara
Nov 1, 2009 23:11

Time to scrap NS.
There is no country to defend.
We are a city with one third aliens.
Pay tribute to US or China and seek protection like Parameswara did in the 15th century–its much cheaper.
Our cabinet probably cost more than the top 10 countries combined.
Or have we already paid tribute by ‘investing’ in toxic western banks—–buy high sell low

Michael
Nov 1, 2009 23:29

It is not election every 5 years, it is erection every 5 years. hehehe

Xuaihng
Nov 2, 2009 0:38

I like to hear from someone like Mr Tan Kin Lian, what is the reason for the 2 person to recently describing singapore these ways.

May be Mr Tan can explain better.

Mr Tan, over to you.

theforgottongeneration
Nov 2, 2009 1:31

@56) FeverGuy on November 1st, 2009 9.40 pm

Unfortunately, he did mentioned GE in 2012, meaning they realised they need more votes — 3 more years to bring in more “new citizens” and $10 millions to make these people feel at home should tilt the balance of the ballot box by then.

As Law minister, KS sure have a problem that a Constitution is for a country, not a city. But then we found recently that our Pledge was “flawed” — I supposed it should be: “We the residents of the city of S’pore….” Oh dear, since his appointment as Law Minister, we seems to have many problems interpreting our legality as a country…err… city.

Jay
Nov 2, 2009 3:33

Very interesting. I am happy that I live int he States. I know that we may be experiencing some problems now, and the rest of the world may hate us. However, I love my country and I reading this article makes me appreciate who I am more then I did five minutes ago.

Thanks.

Jay

Jay’s Saving Your Money

Donaldson
Nov 2, 2009 4:36

54) patriot on November 1st, 2009 8.19 pm

Just watched and listened on Channel U 7 PM News, PM Lee claimed that he has found the Next Generation Leaders who are prepared to dedicate, devote their live(xian sheng) for the Country. He asserted that only his Party is able to provide such dedicated(sacrificing) calibres.

The Secretary-General of PAP makes that claim at every General Election.

You sure or NOT
Nov 2, 2009 8:29

66) Donaldson He did not mention the following:

a. my grandson would eventually take over
b. i am sacrificing and staying on till 98 to make sure this happen
c. we can toil for singapore but we need to be paid like we were private sector ie. capitaland $$$MX20
d. of course i am not in control, we allow level playing field in politics. ha ha ha winked.

angry_one
Nov 2, 2009 11:34

I have a horrible foreboding of dreadful things to come…..

Think of the recent trends in these ministers’ speeches. LKY saying our pledge is a ‘aspiration’ and now all this talk of sg being ‘not a nation’. What does it all lead to?

Simple: these scums may intend to SELL SINGAPORE OFF, probably to China, and then retire in their houses overseas, bought long ago. None of them like sg anyway, not even LKY, a Malaysian-born traitor who wanted initially to rule Malaysia and got sg for scraps. There will be no remorse. To them it’s like dumping some unwanted pet.

Baccarat
Nov 2, 2009 12:00

We are indeed a UNIQUE CITY

We have 1 president, 1 MM, 2SM, 2 DPM, 1 PM, 5 mayors, that is one average S$2M leader per 400,000 people, and yet we are NOT a nation but a city ?

The Minister is at best sleeping if not insane

Utopia
Nov 2, 2009 12:06

So what’s next in line of PAP’s rubbish ? “YOUR CPF IS STATE MONEY, it is NOT YOUR MONEY” ?

FriedKwayTiaoWithHum
Nov 2, 2009 12:21

In the past, I always heard commends comparing how similar Singapore is to Israel. Now that these self-serving fat cats said that Singapore is not a country or a nation, I know that the comparison is an insult to Israel.

Those countries in the middle east has refused to acknowledge that Israel is a country and wish that she can be destroyed and be wiped out. Despite political differences, the Israelis leaders and the people have not failed to stay united and fight for Israel’s sovereignty.

Over here, despite gaining independent in 1965, our self-serving fat cats is telling us we are not a country or a nation. We are a MNC indeed!

sturmtruppen
Nov 2, 2009 12:53

It seems the self interested overpaid greedy gluttony pigs in animal farm are making more changes to the existing stifling rules to suit the farm to their expensive tastes and to further consolidate their control over the masses.

For those who vote for the greedy pigs in past and coming GE, they are already in the pigs pockets.

For the rest of us, just vote right.

If no further constructive changes we can made postively on our end for singapore and future generations of singapore. I guess with the greateat regret it is time to leave for another country that will appreciate you as a true citizen then singapore ever will. A so called country or city or whatever the pap gov’t wants to say today or tomorrow or whenever it suits them that treats its citizens like 3rd or worst 4th class citizens.

Without us and past citizens will singapore get where it is…it seems living too high up the ivory towers with too much deluded air, too much free time and expensive good food has made some people think they are more then human beings.

hubris is not far away.

Red Herring
Nov 2, 2009 13:04

wah lao eh, so after all is said and done,
HAS THE AUTHORITIES INFORMED ALL OTHER COUNTRIES IN THE WORLD
THAT singapore as they know it

IS NOT A COUNTRY AND NOT A NATION?

yes / no?

anakin
Nov 2, 2009 13:05

Little wonder why in the on line ST forum today did a guy (assume he is FT) say why Singaporeans make a hue and cry abt NS and ask for more preveilages. Defending a city is kacang putih isn’t it? Our ministers have proven once again that Singaporeans do matter- to do cheap labour and get exploited by elites. The rest is not important.

Utopia
Nov 2, 2009 13:21

We must inform the world and encyclopedia that Singapore is not a country but a city. The Wikipedia and website should reflect likewise so that the world is not hookwink anymore. It is dishonest to deceive people into thinking Singapore is a country where government say it is just a city.

We are world’s most expensive city in the world. Even the majors and clowns running the city can be paid millions !!!!!

When you go NS, you are not defending the country, you are defending the city.

btan
Nov 2, 2009 15:15

PAP has always been a small-minded party, led by small-minded people. We are constantly being reminded how small we are, how vulnerable we are. Other countries with fewer population will just go ahead and do great things instead of reminding their citizens how small they are and how they have no achieve nationhood or this or that.

It is no wonder that our national psyche is also so meek.

Cast off the chains that PAP had secured on us and our minds. We are a great nation if we decide to be. If PAP has no balls to lead this great nation, then it can jolly well stand aside and let their betters do so.

Michael
Nov 2, 2009 15:54

Jan 2010 is my ICT and I have no idea what to do about it!

I guess I will find some excuse not to attend. I refuse to defend any other entity now that the pap declared that singapore is not a country!

prettyplace
Nov 2, 2009 22:10

Had a good laugh reading the comments…

Not a country, not a nation but a city…it is also a hotel…and some even say its a prison….HAHAHA…

I think Shanmugam is just coming up with ideas to defend PAP’s hold on to power with weird verses.

I wonder if anyone laughed during his speech. I would have, especially when a MINISTER says his country is not a country but a city, even if it meant in terms of politics. Shows how much of patriotism he has for this nation. His regard towards SINGAPORE the name, the history and its people.

In one stroke he has made us all look small.

prettyplace
Nov 2, 2009 22:12

Seems like this is the new ploy by PAP to carry on and not be ashamed by the international community.

Anonymous
Nov 2, 2009 22:49

I am now living constantly in a state of shock since the last GE in 2006. First they said GST increase was to help the poor, then they said HDB flats are subsidised even though HDB is making more than 100% per flat. When they said that our women would become maids in a foreign country, I didn’t realise that our old people here would also be serving young foreign talents in our own country. Then they abolish bye-elections, and national referendums. Then they said that the next GE is in 2012 which is six years (not five) from the last GE. Now they say our Pledge to achieve equality is only an aspiration, and Singapore is not a nation.

Oxylessron
Nov 2, 2009 22:59

All wiki related public domain literature may need to be errata’d.
All text books affected may need to be reprinted.
But then

ask yourselves,
Can a CITY exist without a COUNTRY?

If not, what is the country for singapore, the city?

This wiki seems affected :

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/City-state
Quote: “A city-state is an independent COUNTRY whose territory consists of a city which is not administered as part of another local government.”

FriedKwayTiaoWithHum
Nov 2, 2009 23:16

77) Michael on November 2nd, 2009 3.54 pm

Michael,
you should go for the ICT. At the ICT, ask your officer what is his opinion regarding :
1) LHL said that he does not want to be the PC of Singaporeans 30 years old and above.
2) Singapore is not a nation not a country, then why do you need to serve NS/reservist? (after the answer from your officer (if any), you should be able to leave the camp anytime since you are not a citizen of any country)

Robox
Nov 3, 2009 0:05

prettyplace on November 2nd, 2009 10.10 pm wrote:

Re: “Not a country, not a nation but a city…it is also a hotel…and some even say its a prison…”

It’s also a transit centre: for foreigners on the way to greener pastures.

kf
Nov 5, 2009 16:40

67) theforgottongeneration on November 2nd, 2009 1.31 am,

I anticipated the move from policy makers like what you mentioned :-). Backdoor strategies of various forms abound, and foreigner admission is 1 of them (apart from GRC etc of course).
The reason I mentioned in 1 of my earlier posts, that if foreigners converted to citizens don’t serve NS of any kind, they should not be allowed to vote.
I did not see anything in the current process calls for these foreigners to renounce their citizenship in original countries when tey become citizens here.
If it has to be till their next generation gets to do NS, so be it, then they vote when these next generation starts stepping into field camps.

Jezebella
Nov 5, 2009 17:27

I’m so pissed off at this. The only reason I can give is that I feel very betrayed.

theforgottongeneration
Nov 5, 2009 22:47

87) kf on November 5th, 2009 4.40 pm

“. . . .If it has to be till their next generation gets to do NS, so be it, then they vote when these next generation starts stepping into field camps. . .”

I really, really like this idea ….. don’t know why million dollar ministers can’t come up with such proposals.

nonsense
Nov 6, 2009 6:28

They intend to suck and bankrupt Singapore before they lose power.
Grab as much now.
World=Singapore=Ending 2012=doesn’t matter country or city. Just s.h.i.t.

PG
Nov 8, 2009 12:34

I agree , having lived in Singapore for a few years , it is neither a nation or a country , was designed and set up by foreigners ( not matter what LKW says ) , and with no natural resources , and is reliant on what happens in the rest of the world for its economy . The government is a laughing stock in most of the western world , a small city and the highest governmental salaries , which is OK if everyone is rich , but the big majority of Singaporeans can’t even afford to retire , and spend almost all of their time at work . ( good government policy , then no time for the population to think if they are doing a good job. and react , better than the ISA ) The country is not even capable of being a rallying point for ASEAN , they should be the leaders , but noone respects Singapore. Once the PAP loses power , we will see whether the government was as transparent , efficient and honest as they say . The truth always comes out at a change of government , look at other SE Asian countries .
As an example of Singapore’s influence , ask a lot of people in the western countries ( and Australia and NZ) , even China , where Singapore is , and do they know anything about it . The majority have heardly heard of it , so that says all.

patriot
Nov 8, 2009 13:10

Hi Donaldson #69:

well, he and his pack never feel the slightest shame of dishing out empty promises ad nauseam for the past decades.

However, most Singaporeans are very tired listening to them

and i am not only tired.

I am sick of them for lack of honour.

patriot

c-p-k
Nov 9, 2009 15:08

Actually we need not be a country, nation, city, island,
or whateveryoucancookup.

All we need to be is a chameleon, then we can be
anything we want to suit each and every situation.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook

Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments

It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan

More In Uncategorized