TOC TV - Written on Wednesday, October 7, 2009 8:45 - 39 Comments

So, has the NTUC been able to “upturn the downturn”?

1. Upturn the downturn – NTUC sings to lift spirits
  2. BBC: Singapore struggles with downturn
  3. PM Lee urges citizens to do their best to get through downturn together
  4. Former CEO of NTUC Income calls for “collective protest”
  5. NTUC Leaders talk

39 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Harrison
Oct 7, 2009 9:11

A comic relief for the severe stormy years ahead for Singaporeans by non other than PAP’s NTUC. Ministers and MPs’ way of showing the way forward by singing away the blues.

Verdict:
Singaporeans must vote for change to win over the future of Singapore, not PAP’s future. We have enough of misguided GDP growth policies which are lop-sided and skewed to the rich’s benefits.

rvian
Oct 7, 2009 9:38

Upturn the downturn? I thot subsequent to this motto the gahmen said that it will be a double U (W) turn? of cuz, there must be change. i just hope the opposition will field candidates not only in all single ward constituencies but also all the GRC’s.

Shitty Times
Oct 7, 2009 10:06

WHAT A SCARY VIDEO!!! THE HORRIBERS!!!

yang
Oct 7, 2009 13:17

Horrible. Want to throw out. Stop watching in seconds.

Horrified
Oct 7, 2009 14:19

I find the video too mocking, thoughtless and boring. Members paid a hefty sum to get this kind of solution from MP without teeth. Now foreigners can also join as members. Are they short of cash to build another NTUC brand of white elephant?

got2change
Oct 7, 2009 14:37

dear fellow countrymen/women,
do i vote 1 for very bad or a 5 for very bad?

aygee
Oct 7, 2009 15:33

TOC, your headline not fair lah…

All else aside, and despite being one of the most cringe-worthy youtube clips i’ve seen in my life, this song is meant to fire up, inspire, give confidence.

I dont think the song, or even Lim Swee Say, made a promise that he or NTUC can help change the economy.

Your headline aims to illicit negative responses, methinks. Is that the objective then?

Very similar to the “prank on chinese national”…another irreverent posting which i felt is meant to illicit a lot of negative comments about govt’s FT policy and aims to raise anger, rather than reading it for what it was – a prank on an individual (however crass and rude it was).

Patriot Missile
Oct 7, 2009 16:26

Another Singapore’s shame when broadcasted to the whole world.

Totally tasteless, just like the MDA music video.

*sigh*

Desperate for Change
Oct 7, 2009 19:34

aygee @7

Totally disagree with you! Such a headline would only raise anger if the answer is NO, the NTUC chairman did nothing to help. Its up to NUTC, not TOC. Did TOC make it all up (like the States Times) by omiting words and stating unverified facts? I can’t find any! The medium, like TOC is the bearer of unpleasant news. Can you blame the bearer for the bad news?

Simon Cowell fan
Oct 7, 2009 20:10

Oh dear, the world, after seeing this video may think Spore’s got no Talent. I hope Simon Cowell won’t speak his mind this time, it will be too hard to bear.

Gorndoml
Oct 7, 2009 21:02

Is it an Aspiration or a Promise that is legally binding?

eric
Oct 7, 2009 21:05

The singing of the idiots.

They turn our normal live upside down.

KopitiamApek
Oct 7, 2009 21:30

7) aygee

You got the genearl intend correct methink also

red_dot
Oct 7, 2009 21:57

All these issues can be resolved with a two-party system.

Vote for it!

Legolas
Oct 7, 2009 22:12

Who voted these idiots in????!!!!

They only turn the economy UPSIDE DOWN!!!

RONIN
Oct 7, 2009 22:13

Should put this on Youtube and let the world laugh at them!!!

We are paying them millions each year for this performance!!

Never Trust
Oct 7, 2009 22:39

See how the ‘Cho Bo Lan’ ,CBL,. is taking about the JCS.
Its extension in some form have already been debated at cabinet level and decided —ann next tues.
Yet the so-called chief CBL talked about asking the govt to extend it.
Please stop your wayang because nobody is watching.

man against the tank
Oct 7, 2009 23:26

Soon the whole gang will be doing pole dancing with their Leopard preens Bigini…
Lead by the Minister of clowns…LSS…The pappy village *censored*.

nappys
Oct 8, 2009 0:06

warning !! after watching this clip will make u
cannot eat
cannot sleep
cannot work
if u want more down turn , pls carry on watching..

Andrew Loh
Oct 8, 2009 0:43

aygee,

Listen to the lyrics.

doctorwho
Oct 8, 2009 1:34

some1 call siow keng, 10+ MP kee siow!

Roy
Oct 8, 2009 7:04

Except for Lim SS, the rest of people on the stage seemed embarrassed.

gargle
Oct 8, 2009 8:45

Aygee,

Did you actually hear what these clowns were singing. I didn’t know we elected a bunhc of circus crew!!!

Seventh Son
Oct 8, 2009 10:23

These so called leaders don’t inspire me AT ALL!

AN
Oct 8, 2009 11:06

Utterly disgraceful! A bunch of clowns indeed!!! Shameful LSS! KNN, hope you get your retribution! Remember this idiot LSS said before “Every month, when I receive my CPF statement, I feel so rich and the best part is, I know the CPF money won’t run away. CPF will still be around for a long, long time to come. Not only is it earning good interest, my capital is protected.”

This is the kind of First World Govt we have, commanding ‘out of this world salary’. Making all this shitty videos, boasting insensitively about how rich they are!

I bet this bunch of clowns can’t even survived for 3months in the private sector!

SilentAssassin
Oct 8, 2009 11:55

Utterly disgraceful. Reminiscent of the MDA rap BS. Look at 1:00. LSS’s muaythai knee move is basically telling us:

“I just kneed Singaporeans in the groin! Song bo?”

aygee
Oct 8, 2009 12:17

To be honest, Andrew, i didnt listen to, or read the lyrics, because its too painful :-) So i stand corrected.

But i think my point still stands thats its still a song meant to inspire, and we shouldnt be expecting too much from NTUC or LSS in the first place.

To have a headline like “So, has the NTUC been able to “upturn the downturn?” is asking a bit too much from them in the first place.

And if anyone BELIEVED that NTUC or Lim Swee Say being able to help the economy, and EXPECTED them to deliver, from a song they sung, then i have nothing more to add to that.

Local talent - pap supporter
Oct 8, 2009 14:08

‘Aygee: To have a headline like “So, has the NTUC been able to “upturn the downturn?” is asking a bit too much from them in the first place.’

NO! If you don’t like the headline, don’t read it! Keep your lky-opinion to yourself. I like this headline and the content in this article. I hope it would inspire others to think about how incompetent the lky regime really is.

aygee
Oct 8, 2009 14:50

I guess many of us are unhappy about some of the policies undertaken by the current government, but to call the LKY regime “incompetent”?

Commenter #28: please elaborate. What do you mean by “incompetent”? What has the regime done that you label them incompetent?

and in line with your comment, i do hope that my comment would also inspire others to think, before they respond emotionally.

SilentAssassin
Oct 8, 2009 15:03

PAP politicians and public servants NEED to STOP singing and dancing for “our” benefit. Get the job done, then let us do the singing and dancing if or when you got the job done.

Where is the upturn
Oct 8, 2009 16:41

There u go again, this group of clowns. The stupid lyrics spoilt the nice music. They sang worst than the Ah Pek and Ah Soh at the Orchard underpass.

Agent008
Oct 8, 2009 17:26

aygee

How do you come to the conclusion that whenever the comments here are not in favour of LKY or PAP, they are EMOTIONALLY driven? And yours – carefully thought out and reasoned! How very logical!

Can you please name one thing LSS did or is doing in NTUC that might upturn the downturn (thats other than the song and the singing).

joker93
Oct 8, 2009 23:41

hhahah. josephine teo wanted to high-five but nobody else wanted to..

alex tan
Oct 8, 2009 23:44

we should be glad that PAP is having Ministers who spout nonsense to the public from time to time. by simply collecting evidences of their disconnect to reality, the next General Elections spells hope for the Opposition.

the online platform will be the pivoting point to bringing down the PAP. cheers all anti-PAP singaporeans!

sweeney 38
Oct 9, 2009 1:12

sounds like funeral choir singing,
disgusting, shameless lot!!

T
Oct 9, 2009 10:04

We pay them millions for them to indulge in karaoke singing – and badly at that?

aygee
Oct 9, 2009 13:19

Agent008,

Firstly, i wasnt the one making claims that “LKY regime is incompetent”. i also didnt say that LSS or NTUC has done great things for the economy.

I believe the person who made that claim should be the one trying to convince me they are. Why am i being asked to disprove a claim that i didnt make?

What i said was – if you believe that LSS and NTUC can upturn the economy, through a song, and hold them accountable for it, then you’re expecting too much of them.
(Putting aside the frustrations we all have abt their high salaries and poor policies aside. I have already written off LSS and NTUC a long time ago and singing at a rally definitely wont do anybody any good, outside of getting PR. I agree with SilentAssassin’s comment #30. we should be dancing and singing when they do their jobs well).

Because i commented on TOC’s headline, or i disagree with any anti-PAP rhetoric/comments here, it doesnt mean i’m PAP or pro-PAP – so i implore you, dont be too quick to judge people just because they disagree with you. Everything is not black and white.

We all complain about poor reporting by MSM and STOMP and we all want the Internet to give a better and fair reporting. Yet, if the Internet doesnt give balanced and fair reporting, and if we dont practice it, are we not becoming hypocrites?

finally, it was just my comment on a headline which i thought was a bit harsh. There’s no other loaded intent behind my comment. For some of you to jump immediately and conclude i’m pro-PAP, is that not an emotional response? If its not, then i apologise for over-simplifying your reaction.

PS – why i say its emotional response?
1. The use of exclamation marks, which expresses anger.

2. “If you dont like the headline, dont read it.” How does one NOT read a headline?? What are headlines for? How can one read an article without reading a headline? To me, it seems written with anger :-)

lynn
Oct 9, 2009 15:17

If they really want to help, they should look into ways to help protect the rice bowls of Singaporeans, true Singaporeans.

I remember seeing at a news commentary on the recruitment exercise of RWS at e2i Bukit Merah, 1 of the guy who got a job as a technician on the spot was being interviewed. He speaks with a chinese accent. Do we think he is a native born Singaporean?

Hence, whom does the employment opportunities goes to?

Talk Talk Show Show no use!

The new citizens, PRs, FTs should not be allowed to have a fair playing field with Singaporeans as we are the ones whom will remain in and contribute to Singapore for the rest of our lives, not them.

TemaSICK
Nov 3, 2009 14:39

Take a look at the spending sprees of NTUC income or shall I say NTUC Inc. See: http://kiasee123.blogspot.com/

After understanding NTUC Inc spendthrift ways, can you believe NTUC as a whole has a heart to help people?

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook

Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments

It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan

More In Uncategorized