Mr Zaqy Mohamad, chairman of the Government Parliamentary Committee for Information, Communications and the Arts, said the improved ranking “underlines that our press remains credible especially in the face of challenges like the new media”.
@50) smallvoice585 on October 23rd, 2009 1.36 am
“Democracy, press freedom, human rights, accountability, transparency, etc, are all mere surrogates for political benevolence.”
You are right. The current MIW team has none of the above attributes. We should really vote wisely in the coming election
@ 47) smallvoice585 on October 22nd, 2009 5.48 pm
Good idea. They should just abolish the Press Freedom ranking system, and replace it with Credibility Press ranking.
Your job now is to convince the ranking committee
This guy is not only out of touch with the people, he is also out of touch with his own mind. What kind of logic is he using? Though the ranking goes up a few notches, but still right at the lowest of the bottom end, means singapore;s newspapers are credible? They can only be credible when they stop reporting only the good news favourable to the PAP’s govt. They can only be credible when other people and other countries say they are credible. They can only be credible when they are ranked amongst the top ten to twenty places.
Don’t be an idiot, Mr Z! By saying such nonsense only reveals your mental ability and this will result in your loss of votes in the next election.
What kind of MPs are we really having now? No wonder someone says that we are scrapping the bottom for talents. No wonder that the Bangla cleaners are now considered as foreign talents by MOM!
>>this will result in your loss of votes in the next election.
He under GRC leh….must thank his lucky star. Unless they find another poster boy….it’ll be him helping residents track holidays all year round via banner for the next few yrs.
If ever they were casting again for the movie”BATMAN”, i think you will be suited for the role of “THE JOKER”! Cos you sure know how to tell a joke about this.
Hey, lets face it you and I and the rest of Singapore and perhaps the world also know that our news media especially the Straits Times just to name one is controlled by the governmnet and in this case the PAP.
So please stop bragging and telling the world how far we have come. We are the only country in the world that sues everyone and wins. Ha ha , that’s a joke the wrold knows very well. E can’t accept consrtuctive criticisms and the truth. And this reminds me of the movie where Jack N say’s “You cant take the truth” And this is something the PAP and the government cannot accept and that is the people of singapore have had enough of them and we will let them know that.
They will still win but all we need is to win 1 GRC and save the people some money from the pay the PAP pays them. Would it be wonderful if our PM our a senior minister looses in that GRC! What history will be made. If my memory serves me correct LSL lost a lot of votes in the last election more than any other person and hey, he is our PM. So history can be made.It just needs us to be honest and brave to do it. Let’s show the world that we are willing to change for the better.
What I don’t get is why the gahmen don’t realise that many many people see what they say and do as complete and utter idiocy. Everyone on this forum and many people outside of it would view this comment as coming from someone who
a) cannot count as he seems to think 133 is a good number to be at when it’s out of 175 and
b) cannot even think up something originally deviant to convince Singaporeans that our venerated press is credible.
As such, why say it and risk looking like even more of an idiot than you already are? No one, and I mean no one, can be stupid enough to believe that by saying that we would believe our press to be credible right?
I’m just amazed, not that this is the best response that they could come up with, but that they still think s*** like this is enough to hoodwink Singaporeans. The arrogance that comes with believing that one line from the once great PAP is enough to make all Singaporeans give up their dissent of the issue in questions is what truly rankles.
Because they can only be one of two things here, arrogance or stupidity. Or in the case of the PAP, probably both.
Mr. Zagy, if you run in a race where 200 participants take part, and you come in 133 position, what does it mean? Surely you are not a good runner and I say that the first 25 that reach the tape would be the best!!
Singapore has always wanted to be the best…Changi Airport, PSA, etc but why not in terms of press freedom???
(47)smallvoice585 @October 22nd, 2009 5.48 pm wrote:
Just to play Devil’s Advocate, may I question the assumption that being ranked lowly in press freedom connotes a lack of credibility in our media.
Woof, woof, Your master just say that, ranking implied credibility, and improved ranking underlines credibility.
Woof, woof, try harder next time. Your master may not give you a bone.
Let’s see………one of the most developed countries, check.
Asian style journalism not western, so not comparable ………..check.
So why is he using the ranking as a measuring stick for credibility.
We are the only developed country out of the top 100, we are at 133. So I guess we are at no 33 among under developed countries. Is that what how he sees the credibility of our MSM? Get the statistics right before claiming the limelight.
Climbing a few spots can mean two things. Either you did better or others did even worse than last year. I didn’t see any improvements so I am afraid it will be the latter in this case.
((((underlines that our press remains credible especially in the face of challenges like the new media”.)))) What kind of challenges from the new media? At 133rd position, you certainly have credibility issues.
if it were indeed credible, the fact that our dismal press freedom ranking would’ve come to light; journalists would have taken to the streets with signboards…
is the media credible? or is our people credulous?
Hi bro Zaqy, what did you take before making that statement?
Nasi lemak and WHAT?
We shouldn’t be satisfied with #133, after all we always pride
ourselves as #1. So let’s try harder next year for #1………..
…….from the bottom!!!!!
I noticed that none of the big guns dared to make such a
claim. They knew the type of response that would greet
such an idiot. So this hired hand was sent as a sacrificial
lamb to test the water.
Itchy backside!
Now we should know why our MPs are quick to credit themselves and shun mistakes. Under such group of Monkeys in Parliament, Singapore will not prosper internally. They can build all the hardware they want, but they can never buy heartware for sure.
If that is the case, according to his ideology and theory, living in a pig sty and eating pig swill can be considered as 1st world standard of living, hmm, it is really a credible kind of utterances!
Ranked so low still consider credible!
Well done, my dear million-dollar nerd of the despicable miw! May be in his dictionary there is no such word called “Shameful”! if I were him, I will swiftly dig a “deep hole” or may be “bottomless pit” to bury my head as I will be to “shameful” to face my fellow citizens!
I think the North Star published by National Solidarity Party and the Hammer by the Workers’ Party would definitely rank much better than the 133th place.
All of you should take a minute to read the Norht Star. They are very professional in a way as it really has more amazing articles and definitely more credibility than the MSM.
I really feel disgusted with this ranking and shame on our …….”elected” MP Mr Zaqy to make such a comment.
I wonder, if, for eg SIA were to be ranked 133th in the airlines industry would any Minister or MP or pro-PAP person consider SIA to be still “credible’
Well, only here in Singapore can u utter ‘”rubbish” and still assume that the people here are going to believe you.
Position 133 is an outright disgrace. The Ministers and the MPs should bury their heads in the sands like ostriches when they meet the public. Just call a spade a spade. We are not stupid.
I posted a comment questioning equating freedom to credibility – but that comment is not here now.