Ravi Philemon

The reply of Mr Chee Keng Chye, Deputy Director (Upgrading Programmes Management) Housing and Development Board (HDB) and Mr Sanjay Devmurari, Deputy Director (Corporate Communications), People’s Association(PA), in response to Mr Muhammad Yusuf Osman’s letter is baffling.

Their reply said that it is the “Government’s practice to implement its national programmes for residents through advisers to grassroots organisations who are appointed by the Government to gather feedback from residents”. The issue they skirted around was that 82 of the 84 appointed grassroots advisers are elected Members of Parliament (MP) who belong to the People’s Action Party.

If it is indeed government practice to implement national programmes for residents through advisers to grassroots organisations, then they should change their policy to appoint elected MPs as grassroots advisers (even if they are opposition MPs), or hold separate elections for the proper election of grassroots advisers by residents.

To suggest that all grassroots advisers “regularly engage the local residents to understand their needs and concerns” is almost tantamount to the HDB and the People’s Association campaigning for the PAP’s Mr Eric Low and Mr Sitoh Yi Pin.

Mr Low slapped a fee on his previously free health-screening programme, stopped his Meet-The-People sessions and the free breakfast service for the needy immediately after losing the last general elections; while Mr Sitoh’s right hand man, when commenting on the lack of community outreach events after the last general elections said, “So far, there’s been nothing. There is also nothing planned”.

Both Mr Low’s and Mr Sitoh’s reactions immediately after the elections does seem vengeful, if not at least bitter; and certainly not one of understanding the needs and concerns of the residents.

What is even more baffling is the deafening silence of the opposition MPs in the two wards, Mr Low Thia Khiang and Mr Chiam See Tong.  How do they feel about being identified merely as Town Council chairmen? Are they displeased that the announcement was not made to them first and/or through them to their constituents? They cannot continue to hide behind a theory that the media is biased against them, for the media of today is diverse and include not just the mainstream media but also the many bloggers whose reach is growing day by day online.

—–

Read also Gerald Giam’s blog entry titled, “How PAP uses taxpayer-funded grassroots for political gain”.

Excerpt:

Not many Singaporeans are aware of how much the taxpayer-funded grassroots have been used by the PAP for political gain.

Here’s a quick run down:

The People’s Association (PA), a statutory board under the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports, was set up in 1960 to counter the influence of Chinese clan associations and unions on working class Singaporeans.

Like all other stat boards, it receives a yearly grant from the government to run its programmes and cover operational costs. In FY2008, PA received $280 million from taxpayers, and another $23 million in “operating income”. It spent a total of $320 million last year.

—–

63 Responses to “That baffling reply – and the opposition’s silence”

1. Fortune-teller 10 October 2009

Who appointed the PAP losers as advisers for the AP wards in the first place? Shouldn’t such appointments be approved by the MP of the ward instead of the government?

Also, if the losing PAP candidate by default becomes a grassroot adviser then shouldn’t the AP losers become advisers in the PAP wards they contested?

2. Are you for real ? What is the point of writing this when you are going to reverse your position when you suck up to your PAP dictators. Werent you helping out at some meet PAP MP session. You should know you are part of the grassroots organization since you mention they are used for political gains. Please choose your stand clearly and use the right head to think through this issues.

When the interity is questionable, the article lacks cred.

3. blackfeline 10 October 2009

Ravi, is it true you are a PAP member ? If that is true, you owe us an apology by pretending to support the opposition in attending our meetings. How could you double time. You can do it in your private life, no one cares but not politically.

4. Cecil Chua 10 October 2009

Why is it surprising the opposition didn’t reply? The PAP tends to sue the opposition when they cast aspersions on the PAP’s integrity.

5. How Can ?? 10 October 2009

The more you know about the PAP, the less you respect them.

Corrupt- free Government ??

Really ??

Not if you now know that they use taxpayers’ money to advance the Party’s cause.

They are nothing but a bunch of manipulative, heartless, calculative, elitist, self-serving Men In White.

I can imagine the tons of skeletons in their cupboard that have yet to be exposed.

6. I beleive LTK & CST are pleased that their town have been selected for upgrading. They prefer not to jeopardize it by saying anything against the PAP as for now. This is what we called a gentlemen gesture to protect the residents staying in HG & PP. Whereas Sitoh & Eric Low are nothing but PAP Stooges always waiting for opportune time to grab other people credit usng taxpayers money their master has stolen from us.

7. Way Yang Party 10 October 2009

Many have been asking, what is the Reality?

Why is it singapore opposition gives us an impression they are not like the ‘standard’ opposition we see in 1st worlds like Hong Kong, USA, europe, TW S.Korea, Japan etc.

Eve malaysian Opposition are very gungho.

So, what is the Reality?

Is it a surprise that a new opposition party have sprouted?

Its Baffling.

8. New Era 10 October 2009

Everyone wants to know the skeletons in their closet. Hopefully, we will know when the opposition wins the next GE and the PAPies get kicked out.

It’s about time their skeletons were exposed.

9. New Era 10 October 2009

Mr Sanjay Devmurari, Deputy Director (Corporate Communications), People’s Association(PA). Sounds like one of those PRs who are now taking over the jobs of Singaporeans.

Is this whey we pay big money to them? To give stupid answers to our queries.

No wonder talented Singaporeans are leaving.

10. Low tk comment is in today st forum. All this just shows the petty and small minded people we have running Singapore.

11. leesjuanpat 10 October 2009

The two cartoons who replied on the forum, you can see how cautious they used
    the words. They will not go against the mouth that feed them.

For what you know or don’t know if they reply otherwise. Out they go.

The whole PAP system sucks with all the cronies around, PA, CC and RC etc.

12. Mr Low Thia Khiang wrote to ST Forum regarding this issue. You can read it here.

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Story/STIStory_440388.html

13. Is it “silence” or ST refusing to interview opposition MPs??

10 October 2009
    No basis for MP not to announce life upgrading
    I refer to the HDB’s reply to Mr Muhammad Yusuf Osman’s letter on the Lift Upgrading Programme (LUP ) in opposition wards published today, titled “Why grassroots advisers announce lift upgrading”.

The HDB deems it appropriate for the grassroots advisor to announce the LUP because “the adviser gathers input from residents, thereby ensuring that the programme’s plans meet residents’ needs”. The HDB further states that the adviser can propose changes based on residents’ feedback, and seek residents’ support.

On what basis does the HDB assume that the elected Member of Parliament, who has the support of the electorate in the constituency, is unable to do the same thing and is therefore not appropriate to play the same role as the adviser?

The HDB also said that the Town Councils have an in-depth knowledge of the schedule and status of the works in the estate and can co-ordinate other projects in the estate to minimize inconvenience to residents. Why is it, then, that elected opposition members, who are also chairmen of the Town Councils, are deemed less appropriate to announce and to manage the LUP?

Moreover, Town Councils are required to co-pay for the LUP whereas grassroots organizations are not. Why is the chairman of Town Council, the elected MP statutorily responsible for the management of the Town and who must decide to pay for the LUP, deemed to be inappropriate to play a leading role either in announcing the program or in the working committee?

In the concluding paragraph, HDB stated that they understood the advisers are ”working closely with the town council chairmen, that is, the respective Members of Parliament….” In other words, the role of the elected opposition Member of Parliament in this process is relegated to one which is administrative in nature, perhaps merely to authorize payment for the LUP from the Town Council funds to the HDB.

This is the manifestation of the government’s attitude towards elected opposition Members of Parliament, which is, that they are not representative of the constituency but the grassroots advisers are, despite the fact that the grassroots advisers, who were candidates of the People’s Action Party (PAP), were rejected by the voters at elections at Potong Pasir and Hougang.

I understand the LUP is essentially the government’s program although chairmen of opposition Town Councils have to agree to co-fund the program. I suppose the ruling party, the PAP, would want their potential candidates in the next election to claim credit for the LUP, although the money does not come from either the PAP or the grassroots organization. This is playing politics.

I am open and prepared to work with anyone from the government or its appointees for the benefit of my constituents. It does not matter what role I play or that I am seen to be cooperative with the government, so long as the will of the people at the election which returned me as their representative to Parliament is respected.

I feel compelled to respond to this issue because the justification given by the HDB for the role of advisers in opposition wards in LUP touches on the fundamental issue of respecting the will of the people expressed at elections. The elected representative in opposition wards in this instance is reduced to performing a municipal function as chairmen of Town Councils. This speaks so much of the respect of the ruling party for the will of the people expressed at General Elections and how mature we are as a democracy.

Low Thia Kiang

Member of Parliament for Hougang

14. Image Consultant 10 October 2009

Somehow, the 2 opposition MPs, Mr Low Thia Khiang and Mr Chiam See Tong, can’t help to be seen more as Town Council chairmen than inspirational political leaders.

15. Anonymous 10 October 2009

Silent Low finally open his golden mouth but only speaking for himself.

16. massivelosses_sohow? 10 October 2009

This country, PAP owns everything, every officer and agency would only carry out and report to the master.

Again, citizens are under illusions, government agencies work for people and are fair. I dont know why we keep asking same questions over years and it is like we all hope that they are impartial and working for us. Dont you see those friends, classmates and relatives in high places and you assume all are there because they are the best talents in this country?

17. Annonymous 10 October 2009

## 14) massivelosses_sohow? on October 10th, 2009 11.32 am

“” Dont you see those friends, classmates and relatives in high places and you assume all are there because they are the best talents in this country”"

Maybe we can play a game of ‘connections’ here.

I will start the ball rolling :

MM Lee Kuan Yew + PM Lee Hsien Loong = Father + Son
    Lee Hsien Loong + Ho Ching (TH) = Husband + Wife
    Lee Hsien Loong + Lee Hsien Yang (Singtel / F&N) = Brothers
    Lee Hsien Loong + Foreign Minister George Yeo = Army Buddies
    Lee Hsien Loong + DPM Teo Chee Hean = Army Buddies
    Teo Chee Hean + Tony Tan (Ex-DPM / Chairman SPH) = Nephew + Uncle
    Goh Chok Tong + Khaw Boon Wan = One time assistant to GCT
    Goh Chok Tong + Lim Boon Heng = Colleagues at Neptune Orient Lines
    MP Arthur Fong = Son of ex-MP Fong Sip Chee
    MP Ho Geok Choo = Daughter of ex-MP Ho See Beng
    Mah Bow Tan = Rumoured to be the illegitmate son of u-know-who and the reason why he is still a Minister despite failing badly in his job.

The list must be as long as an arm.

Can some kind souls please add-on to it if you know who they are.

18. Time for Change 10 October 2009

“People do want to know. There’s curiosity. But that is not sufficient reason to disclose information. It is not sufficient that there be curiosity and interest.”

19. FeverGuy 10 October 2009

Quoting from another comentator.

Mr Eric Low,

You had been the Independent Director of Ferror China Limited, a listed company in SGX ipo more than 3 years ago. I am a shareholder of the company.

I attended the agm of the company and you were always there with other board members and all (including you) spoke well of the company. The share price once hit $3 a share. I was told that the company is now in negative asset and not worth even 1 cent.

Ferro China has been suspended since 9 Oct 08. Since then NO news were forthcoming from you and the other Independent Dir, a lawyer. The owner and CEO She Chun Tai has gone into hiding and never heard since. Less than six months later, you resigned as Independent Director giving the following reason I quote:

“”With the cessation of the Group¡¯s business activities, the workings and information flow between the management in Changshu, PR China and the Board members in Singapore have been minimal. It is difficult for him to discharge his duties as an Independent Director without timely information and regular updates from the management.

In addition, he had a surgery and received medical advice to recuperate for time being. “”

You claimed to have a surgery and received medical advice to recupeerate for time being. I noticed that you have become very active again in politics. It seems that you have recovered very fast ha…

I wish you good luck and good health.

Another respectful Shareholders of Ferro China

20. No words can say about the present 2 opposition MPs. Just too soft on things I just want to warn them that they will lose in the coming election if the they continue too soft on issue effecting them. Show your guts guys. Learn from US President Obama. Then you will know what I mean.

21. Yamamoto 10 October 2009

Silence is golden…and empty vessels makes the most noise! so what does this said about the two of them?

Chiam and Low don’t have to say anything or proclaim on the news, and their supporters will know what they have done…

Eric and sitoh can make as much noise as they way, but in the end, they are people who turn their back on the resident after losing

22. That baffling reply – and the opposition’s silence

Ravi, you spoke too soon.

11) RONIN
    LTK is strategic.
    I like what he wrote ” It does not matter what role I play or that I am seen to be cooperative with the government, so long as the will of the people at the election which returned me as their representative to Parliament is respected”

23. Adult ID Caregiver 10 October 2009

I believe our MPs in Potong Pasir and Hougang are doing the best that they can for their constituents; the fact that they have been repeatedly returned can attest to that conclusion.

For those in this forum that believe they can do better I urge them to be more than just commentators on bloggs. It’s always very easy to make comments whether of the government or the opposition; putting your action where your words are is another situation altogether.

If you believe you can do better than CST and/or LTK get involved in a political party that you are comfortable with; otherwise start your own party. Don’t just be a armchair commentator!

Me? I believe in being active in serving the less provided in society. Yes, just walking the talk!

24. Annonymous 10 October 2009

18) Yang on October 10th, 2009 1.34 pm

“”No words can say about the present 2 opposition MPs. Just too soft on things I just want to warn them that they will lose in the coming election if the they continue too soft on issue effecting them. Show your guts guys. Learn from US President Obama. Then you will know what I mean. “”

Don’t try to show your poppy cock here.

You are not going to impress anyone here.

They are doing a good job under the difficult conditions they are working in.

Sopport them instead of critise them.

Unless you are willing to stand for elections and prove that you have balls made of steel.

25. 21) Adult ID Caregiver

Salute! Salute!
    I like you style

26. Old, Jobless And Poor 10 October 2009

No need to make any noise. They won’t listen, neither will they care. All Sporeans should just let our votes do the talking in the coming GE. Given the mandate to govern for so long, they have become too arrogant and self-centred . Their attitude is, only they know best and what is good for the country. The worst is, they can do what they like and no one can question them. We are in this sad and sorry stage because far too many, “kiasu and kiasi” citizens gave them the absolute power in the past GEs.

27. 13) Anonymous on October 10th, 2009 11.00 am
    Silent Low finally open his golden mouth but only speaking for himself.

did someone write this for you? evidently, you do not know how to read (see LTK’s letter 5th para where potong pasir was mentioned), so you shouldn’t be able to write either.

28. man against the tank 10 October 2009

Low Thia Kiang has finally spoken…let’s see the reply from shorty…if any.

http://forums.vr-zone.com/chit-chatting/493582-low-thia-kiang-strikes-back-pap-hdb-no-basis-mp-not-announce-lup.html

29. Anonymous 10 October 2009

“If you believe you can do better than CST and/or LTK get involved in a political party that you are comfortable with; otherwise start your own party. Don’t just be a armchair commentator!”

Such kind of defence sounds so familiar…

“Me? I believe in being active in serving the less provided in society. Yes, just walking the talk! ”

….so are you one of the WP baru?

30. Isn’t it time to change the name of this country

from

Republic of Singapore

to

Republic of PAP

or

People’s Republic of PAP
    (People’s Republic of China)

or

Democratic People’s Republic of PAP
    (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea = North Korea)

or
    Union of PAP
    (Union of Myanmar)

???

31. PAP is PAP, PAP is not Singapore.

The PAP government should respect the people of the constituency that voted for a non-PAP MP.

To write more would a waste of words or to talk more would be wasting our breath. The only solution is to vote against the PAP.

KICK at least 40% of the PAP MPs out of parliament, we can be sure they would be more willing to listen to the people of Singapore

32. LHL should be shamed by any standard now. As a Singaporean, I do not feel proud of the wayward behavior of PAP and underhanded, ungentlemently and arrogant acting behaviour to the extreme.. Without the support of taxpayers (coming from HG & PP residents too), PAP wuld n’t have existed. Yet the govt has degraded to become them (PAP) vs us (The people of Singapore). Is this the party we want in our life? Tolerance has it\s limit and I can no longer tolerated it.. I urge everyone to use their remaining power to put pap out of power as soon as the ballot boxe are opened.

33. Kick My ASSS 10 October 2009

## 26) Change on October 10th, 2009 3.25 pm

May I propose a short but apt name change to :

UnDemocratic Republic of Singapore.

34. Debra Soong Mui Hong 10 October 2009

Parties come and go, with time,
    its the PEOPLE that stays.

New citizens are also here to stay after they have come in.

Now, more ‘monks’ in the same congee shop for jobs in the same shop.

Some report suggest more new citizens does not mean less competition for native citizens.

i felt so relieved and feel good after reading it.

seem like all policies are flawless.

35. open debate 10 October 2009

#23 your “shorty” means Marlboro Tan right?

Challenge him for an open debate, sure he will run and hide at MND office just like he hid under Tampines GRC and sneaked to become a MP after losing to Potong Pasir’s Chiam.

The current PAP is only a bunch of cowards who have no guts facing up challenges for public debate of issues.

36. #3 How Can ??

Excellent observation.

I have only a few words to add: Kick the papies and their stooges out, and the sooner the better, for the sake of our future.

37. no need too much explanation lah…… its too obvious.. i think LTK’s answer is enough..

i think not a single person in singapore buys this. unless you count the new immigrants. .. anyone knows a new immigrant… care to give their opinions?

38. We still have the likes of Sitoh and Eric Low to contend with in the near future, those shoo in “leaders “. What baptism of fire crap is the old man talking about? Although I have a lot of misgivings about the way things are run these recent years, I believ there is a small group of MPs who are genuinely into their jobs and really concerned about their constituents. For some reasons, they have to toe the party’s line and that means being powerless against the whole machinery. So is that a sell out against yr constituents or selling yr soul to the devil? What I really want is more engaging MPs to their own party and not necesarily more opposition MPs. The 13k monthly allowance can easily attract some clowns.

39. FriedKwayTiaoWithHum 10 October 2009

15) Annonymous on October 10th, 2009 1.05 pm

To add to your list, Wong Can’t Sing is the nephew-in-law of the old man. I read it somewhere a few weeks back but can find the link. Anyway, I will try to search and will provide the link once it can locate it.

According to wikipedia, his wife name is Ruth Lee Hong Geok.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wong_Kan_Seng

40. FriedKwayTiaoWithHum 10 October 2009

33) Adam on October 10th, 2009 10.32 pm

“……..I believ there is a small group of MPs who are genuinely into their jobs and really concerned about their constituents. For some reasons, they have to toe the party’s line and that means being powerless against the whole machinery……”

What is the use of voting PAP MPs who can never or dare to vote against any policy motion in parliament by the ministers? They can debate until the cow come home and milk the cow until die it. The end result is a forgone conclusion even before it is started. The ministers pay is a classic example.

41. FriedKwayTiaoWithHum 10 October 2009

update to my post at #34.

Here is the link that says that Wong Can’t Sing is that nephew-in-law of that old man.
    http://www.spock.com/Wong-Kan-Seng

42. Donaldson 10 October 2009

Dear Blackfeline,

Please don’t post unsubstantiated speculation about TOC writers. TOC is very particular about the conflict of interest.

Best regards
    Donald
    Deputy Editor
    The Online Citizen

43. New Era 11 October 2009

15) Annonymous on October 10th, 2009 1.05 pm
    34) FriedKwayTiaoWithHum on October 10th, 2009 10.42 pm

Teo Chee Hean +Teo Poh Yim (Director NTUC) husband+wife

44. massivelosses_sohow? 11 October 2009

Nepotism is alive… discrimination and differential treatment are attached to the ruling. So what? What you gonna do about it?

45. Change Is Upon Us 11 October 2009

Meritocracy……………..No!

Nepotism……………….Yes!

46. blackfeline 11 October 2009

#37…for a start…can the editorial team pls advise why did they allowed TWO “blackfeline” to be registered???? I am not the one u r referring to! The other copy cat came in later..im quite sure.

47. kum beng 11 October 2009

#26 , I agree with you. All talk / comments are no use.
    What WILL have effect is what we already know.

48. Lifeobzervr 11 October 2009

Grassroots leadership should be elected. If they find the election process too difficult, perhaps, they should pay a visit to any one of the tertiary institutions during the students’ union election period….

…. hmmm but then, how much different could it be from a Lift Upgrading Programme voting process? They’ve been doing this for years already.

49. hailatah 12 October 2009

Donaldson(#42) with all due respect, you better check. Mr. Ravi Philemon was at PAP MPS. Won’t say where and he should tell you. If PAP sends an undercover like him to TOC, I really can’t understand what stunts they are trying to pull. I agreed with Blackfeline that it is really below the belt to double time as far as politics is concern

50. singaporean 12 October 2009

please reject people who take public money and use it for personal political gain.