Straits Times censor Lee Kuan Yew?:
Why did the Straits Times censor MM Lee’s remarks about Obama being a “very great” man? See TOC’s Facebook page here.

Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew gave an interview with Charlie Rose on the “Charlie Rose Show” (Bloomberg TV) on 23 October. The following are excerpts from the interview.

On Singapore:

CHARLIE ROSE: You’ve never had a moment where you thought Singapore was too authoritative did you? Not one moment?

LEE KUAN YEW: My job was to get the place going and get everybody a decent life and a decent education. And we’re now the best educated people in the whole of east Asia. Our universities — we got three, four universities, fourth one coming up.

CHARLIE ROSE: So the end justifies the means whatever it might be?

LEE KUAN YEW: No. The ends were laudable. Everybody wants the same ends. Everybody wants good education and good health.

CHARLIE ROSE: A good life and their children to do better than they did.

LEE KUAN YEW: The means — I had the consent and support of the population. If they opposed me and they did not cooperate, it wouldn’t have worked.

CHARLIE ROSE: You were in control of everything.

LEE KUAN YEW: No.

CHARLIE ROSE: Yes you were, you know that.

(LAUGHTER)

LEE KUAN YEW: The numbers of people opposing me, including the communists in the very early years, was endless.

Diversity in Singapore:

LEE KUAN YEW: “We are a small population so we can make it up with numbers from young bright Indians and young bright Chinese, young bright Malaysians, and all the people around the world, and some middle easterners.  We now have Ukrainians serving in the army.”

On maintaining Singapore’s relevancy to the world:

LEE KUAN YEW: “You cannot maintain your relevance by just staying put.  The world changes.  There are shifts in the geopolitics and the economics of the world.  We have to watch it and ride it.  You surf with them.  As the surf comes this way you ride the surf.  We are keeping our links with America, with Japan, with Europe.  They brought us to where we are…..We absolutely refuse to choose sides.  We will not choose sides between America and China or between China and India.”

On Obama:

CHARLIE ROSE: That brings me to President Obama. What are your observations about him?

LEE KUAN YEW: He’s a very great and eloquent man who is very persuasive and is very able and has appointed very able people into his key positions. And what impressed me most is his appointing people of different minds.

For instance, on his economic team, there is Summers Paul Volcker, and they’re both very strong minded people.

——-

Watch the interview on Bloomberg TV this coming Monday at 7PM Singapore, or

Watch the interview on TOC Youtube channel.

Click here for the full transcripts on TOC’s Facebook page.

—–

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

148 Responses to ““We now have Ukrainians serving in the army” – Lee Kuan Yew”

1. NS Encik 25 October 2009

My God, PLA in our SAF?
    That’s mean we have communist moles in our beloved armed forces, ready to take over Sg by violence and turn world class Sg into another North Korea?

2. Peoples Arrogant Party 25 October 2009

# 450 DavidLeong on October 25th, 2009 10.53 am

“LKY can play many roles in Singapore. Basically he is a very wise politician who knows the head & tail of a coin before it is even tossed or flipped”

You are so right about his skills at the game of coin throwing…

Heads I Win. Tails You Loose

3. Prophet Kongming 25 October 2009

Is LKY a dictator or authoritarian leader? If so, has he committed atrocities agst Singapore citizens by mass killings? To be fair to LKY, he is a great leader with a heart of passion for Singapore and a heart of compassion for Singaporeans. Even if he is a dictator or authoritarian leader, he is a good one. Unlike many dictators in history, such as Hitler, Stalin, Saddam Hussein, and Suharto, LKY has not killed any of his opposition. Only some were imprisoned under ISA for some years but were also released after a few years during the 1960s and 1970s. After that, at worst, he only sued them bankrupt. Many of these opposition leaders may actually not be bankrupt. They may have transfer their wealth to their family members. Hence, even how unhappy I am with the PAP for bringing in the large number of foreigners, I still respect LKY and the PAP old guards for all their years of contribution to Singapore and giving me an education and a job, and a peaceful and stable country to live in. Even if we want to oppose the PAP, we must be objective and be agst their policies, not personal attacks. They are still good leaders as compared to many political leaders in many countries.

4. New Era 25 October 2009

50) next door ah beng on October 25th, 2009 7.54 pm

Just abolished NS and form Singapore Foreign Legion lah. OK what?
    =======================================================

We have China nationals in our sports team. We have China nationals driving out buses and taxes. We have China nationals in our food court and restaurants.

Why not oursource out defence to PLA? Afterall, we are now know by outsiders as Chinapore.

5. New Era 25 October 2009

The day is fast approaching when China nationals here will vote their countrymen into parliament and take over the government. The will suck up all our reserves and go back to China, leaving us with nothing.

Have the MIW dismissed this possibility?

6. 51,

I can remember when there was a time when having links to the PRC was seen as highly suspicious.. haha.

7. Singapore Resident 25 October 2009

54) New Era on October 25th, 2009 9.07 pm

“….Why not oursource out defence to PLA? Afterall, we are now know by outsiders as Chinapore…..”

With the high rate of converting new PRC to citizens, is there any surprise that the number of PRC citizens in NS could easily form a battalion? This is as good as having PLA in our army, right?

So if there is a freak GE result, it is obvious which battalion LKY will send to crush the people, right?

8. 49) Juice Delayed is Juice Denied on October 25th, 2009 5.39 pm,

being the rich man he is, i doubt that incentive would prove useful… however, since we’re all so accommodated to the fact that our government jumps at every opportunity to squeeze even the last penny from its charge, we won’t fault you for thinking so.

9. Wishful thinking 25 October 2009

53) Prophet Kongming on October 25th, 2009 9.07 pm

Your view, fortunately, is only shared amongst the elite.

The majority of Singaporeans are staunchly against the MIW and will vote them out in the next elections.

10. FaceTheFact 25 October 2009

The Chinese army storms a mass demonstration in Tiananmen Square, killing several hundred people in 1989, a well known Tiananmen Square Massacre which received worldwide condemn. On the other hand, quoted from LKY endorsing the Tiananmen massacre, Straits Times, 17 August 2004 – “If I have to shoot 200,000 students to save China from another 100 years of disorder, so be it.”

Tell this LKY’s quote to China folks, you are going to have a hard time to convince them LKY has heart of compassion.

11. next door ah beng 25 October 2009

Can’t agree with u more. If LKY needs FT very much, why don’t use it to full potential? We can have another infantry unit next to SIR and Guards – Singapore Chinese National Infantry Regiment (SCNIR).

12. theforgottongeneration 26 October 2009

“. . . . .We now have Ukrainians serving in the army…”

Sure. Say, are they by any chance, place in charge of a machine gun? What happens if like that whore Zhang Yuan Yuan, we give them something, and then they just turn on us, flashing their ICs in our faces?

Maybe after next 2 elections, someone & gang can go to Ukraine for retirement?

13. Singapore for Singaporean 26 October 2009

Why are the MIW delaying having an elections? Waiting until the last minute to hold one could backfire on them.

Singaporeans are ready for Change now!

14. Time for Change 26 October 2009

Kongming, we have heard it all before from the other stooges.

Kishore Mahbubani: “There are no homeless, destitute or starving people [in Singapore] …Poverty has been eradicated.”

But Singaporeans know the reality. Here’s the link.

http://www.singaporedemocrat.org/povertyII.html

15. all singaporeans 26 October 2009

foreigners pay more taxes and levy than singaporeans and siingaporeans should be thankful to foreigners? oh really??

singaporeans:

1) pay high income tax

2) pay high property tax

3)pay high gst

4)pay high town counsil

5)pay high SP bills

6)pay high transportation fare

7)pay high medical fee

singaporeans are force to accept lower paid jobs

so this is what basically singaporeans are paying for the rest of their life and with low income how do you expect singaporeans to have even a small amount of savings for the future to retire old age?

or is there a retire for us singaporeans? we don’t see that yet.
    the pap and the goverment have made a way that singaporeans are to earn within the limit as not to allow us to have savings and our saving is in the hand of the goverment and it is up to them if they wish to give it to us or to pocket in the own banks.

with low income and no savings..singaporeans are merely a slave working harder and harder each day to survive and what we earn are basically not ours, we only see the digits of our pay but do we really own it? NO!!

this is to contain singaporeans in this country as not to allowed any of us lower income earn to flee the country. the goverment knows well what it would be is one singaporeans were to give enough money and savings.., resulting them not wanting to live in singapore and flee away. why is this so? ask the goverment!!

so this is why poor singaporeans have no choice but to accept the indirectly of human slavery and torture and to let us live in pain despite knowing that we are suffering they simply doesn’t care as all this long in their mind is….WHICH SINGAPOREANS DARE TO VOICE UP?? the answer is NONE!!

vote after vote singaporeans blindly give in and hoping the goverment will pity and the old folks and the child to help them come up in live and feel the life they dreaming to live in. but the goverment simply do not have this time for us singaporeans

all their concern is:
    you work you pay us
    you sick you pay us
    you want a house a place of shelter you pay us
    you want help? sorry goverment has no money for us singaporeans

this is what will happen if singaporeans keep voting for them and they think we fear them
    singaporeans think opposition will make our life more worst.
    so are our life now any good? NO!!

as lky says..look at singapore now..yes singapore is beautiful!! with casino,F1 track, hotels,lots and lots of tourist attractions,lots and lots of entertainment for tourist

and what is singaporeans citizen getting out of all this? nothing. we have to keep sweating out daily to support and give the goverment the money they need to make more of this to attract tourist, foreigner working here and to give them support and welcome them with an open heart and help them even to land here with a high paying jobs and living in luxuries properties.

we singaporeans are carrying their loads.

ukrain in the ns?well…why not put the whole china national ,indian ,vietnamese ,japanese, korean and more.. into our army? must as well call in osama bin laden to join our army too as things would be easy for singapore to be destroy in any country finger tips. is this what we call defending our country?
    STUPID LEE KUAN YEW!! you are exposing our country to disaster and open our country and selling piace by piece to foreign landing here. is this the promise you made for us singaporeans to vote you for the past 50years??!!

WE WILL VOTE YOU OUT THIS TIME AND WOULD NOT CONSIDER OVER YOUR GOODIES BAGS!!

16. another demonstration of LKY’s talk cock skills.

17. Prophet Kongming 26 October 2009

To all who disagree with me on my comments in #53:

In my previous comments in other blogs, I had expressed my unhappiness with PAP and the high defence spending as a result of the high pay PAP is giving to the SAF regulars in the hope to keep themselves in power in the event of a freak election. The Public Order Act provides the PAP tremendous power to maintain public order. However, this is on the assumption that PAP abuse such powers. Can we guarantee that the opposition parties will not do the same thing if they come into power? Are the opposition leaders lesser “sinners” than the PAP?

I agree with the need for a strong opposition to check the power of the PAP. I still hold to this view. However, for the good of Singapore, we still need a credible and clean opposition party i.e. opposition with integrity and really want to serve the nation for the benefits of the people. Otherwise, if Singaporeans vote in a “Hitler”, who was also once a opposition leader under the Weimar Republic, Singapore will be in trouble.

No doubt ordinary Singaporeans had suffered from the influx of foreigners who do not serve NS, the serving of NS by Singaporeans and the high cost of living in Singapore as a result of high defence spending . Under the government budget, defence spending is the highest among the ministries.

No doubt the capability of the SAF has improved and our defence forces have the best technology compared to our neighbour and Singapore need a credible defence force for national security. I certainly do not want to see Kostrad and Koppassus forces from Indonesia or SSG or Paskal forces from Malaysia roaming around our HDB flats. If TNI can commit atrocities in East Timor, and even in their own country, what makes Singaporeans think that they will not do the same to Singaporeans if Singapore do not have a strong SAF to protect the country? The question lies in how our money for defence spending goes into: How much have the $11billion defence budget gone into improving the capability of SAF? How much have gone into the pocket of the SAF regulars?

18. Pragmatism is NOT Vision 26 October 2009

If we are having more and more foreign nationals in our armies, then there are some implications which we should consider:

1. If we can accept more and more foreigners into the army, why then are our own Singaporean Malays being mistrusted in the armed forces, as propounded by LHL some time ago? By promoting one Singaporean Malay to Brigadier does not so easily veil the eyes of many to see that there is still a huge gap of acceptance for true blue local Singaporean Malays particularly in the SAF, and generally in Singapore. Why is there no Singaporean Malay given the post of Minister of Defence or PS Defence?.

2. Will this be used as a excuse by a neighbouring country to invade Singapore in the future? What were the agreements between Malaysia and Singapore before separation? What were the agreements between Indonesia and Singapore before Singapore became independent?

3. Is the PAP trying to establish a division of foreigners in the SAF so that it can be used to launch a coup in the event that it is being toppled? (As it is probable that local Singaporean NSmen will not follow such orders to shoot their own fathers, mothers, brothers, sisters, children and relatives if PAP were to use them to launch a coup to regain power).

4. Have we thrown all cautions into the air with regards to national security? Will there be a possibility that these foreigners could be infiltrators of some outside organizations? They infiltrate into our armed forces, the police, grass-root organizations, etc. so as to become sleepers to be used in the event of a conflict or crisis, yes or no?

Remember the ‘Two-Is-Enough’ family planning policy? Short-term gains but long-term losses. That is the consequence of lack of foresight but camouflaged and glamorized by the word called “Pragmatism”.

A man of vision? My foot!

19. This interview ill never take place in singapore cos it will be vetted. I wonder whether he has contacted his lawyers for a possible defamation suit against thie interview. Cos thats his style.

Finally the truth has been revealed about the man himself. If he goes to london and gives an interview more will be revealed again. Guess he will be warned not to give any more such inteviews in future.

We all like to praise him and thank him for all he has doen for the country but we must not forget the people singaporeans that he had prosecuted simply cos they were standing up for the people. From his sppech , his tone and his replies one can sense and detect that he is a revengeful person and he will get his dues one day and thats why unlike most of us who do not , he fears death cos there no one will be able to protect him and he will have to face the ones he prosecuted when they were alive and answer to them.

Finally justice will be served albeit a bit late.

20. hellhavenofury 26 October 2009

[i]Finally justice will be served albeit a bit late. [/i]

when you received your $0.10cents from st peters @ st peter’s gate
    the road to hell will be a LONG and hot 1
    remembered what kuanyew says?
    “aircondition is the best gift on earth”

guess his aircon unit in hell don’t worked @ all
    noped not what you all are thinkin
    in hell there is no 13amp plug……………
    i know
    i am the hell’s mantainance guy…………..

21. tiredsingaporean 26 October 2009

67) Prophet Kongming
    However, this is on the assumption that PAP abuse such powers. Can we guarantee that the opposition parties will not do the same thing if they come into power? Are the opposition leaders lesser “sinners” than the PAP?

Good pointer here, then again how sure you are that the opposition leaders are lesser sinners than the PAP before they can assume power to do their work? At this point of time, most people already knew all or most of those failed policies by the present ruling party and things are not getting any better, infact the worsening is taking place now except that the MSM are still very effecient in covering up and smoke screening the public with so many twisted news.

22. lualeebodohkayu 26 October 2009

[i]CHARLIE ROSE: That brings me to President Obama. What are your observations about him?

LEE KUAN YEW: He’s a very great and eloquent man who is very persuasive and is very able and has appointed very able people into his key positions. And what impressed me most is his appointing people of different minds.

For instance, on his economic team, there is Summers Paul Volcker, and they’re both very strong minded people.[/i]

opps.. i missed this 1.,. so leekuanyew what are YOU goin to do about it regardin your last sentence….you know the word ^ECONOMIC^ team? how much is summers paul volcker gettin? how much is YOUR dog minister limsiasuayed gettin..well besides all the ZEROs in his cpf account..also please whateverhappenned..your precious lovin daughterinlaw MR hoching is she an ^economic^ CEO?…………

23. Prophet Kongming 26 October 2009

#71) tiredsingaporean,

I’m not saying we should not vote for opposition. We still need to vote for the opposition so as to have a checks and balance to the PAP. While we need a strong opposition, we also need to ensure that we have a clean and credible opposition.

The PAP has definitely gone too far in bringing the foreigners and increasing the defence spending to feed their army regulars at the expense of ordinary citizens. However, if we do not have a clean opposition that serve Singaporeans with sincerity, Singapore will be in trouble if defence spending is cut to the extent that it compromise national security.

It is not a small matter to compromise defence of Singapore if the opposition parties cut defence spending, as I’m sure you do not want to be see your family being killed by Indonesian or Malaysian soldiers, if the extremist elements gain power in Indonesia or Malaysia one day.

However, on the other hand, Singapore’s defence spending cannot expand to such an extent that ordinary Singaporeans suffered from the high cost of living. Based on FY 2008 budget, MINDEF contributes only $39 mil to government revenue but defence spending is $10.8 bil. In fact, MOE contributes more than MINDEF, with $42.8 mil. This is surprising since MINDEF also owns the defence industries and should thus, contribute more to government revenue. GST contributed $6.2 bil and personal income tax contributed $5.9 bil. Hence, the government revenue from our GST and income tax has all gone towards defence spending. That’s why I agree with RP as it provides good alternative policies by proposing free education up to secondary level and cutting defence spending.

I’m not sure how much of our GST and personal income tax has really gone into improving the military capability for the defence of Singapore, or has they gone into the pockets of the SAF regulars? When MINDEF propose the SAVER scheme to the SAF regulars in 1998, it promised the SAF regulars a huge sum for their retirement upon their retirement at age of 42. However, a few mths ago it raised the retirement age of SAF regulars to 50 years old. This means that more of our GST and personal income tax will go into the pockets of the SAF regulars. Not sure whether the PAP is going to increase the GST and income tax to pay the SAF regulars again. Hence, we need a strong opposition party like RP which can provide us alternative policies.

24. There are 2 standard responses by MM whenever he is posed with difficult questions, opposing views of the way he runs Singapore :

(a) Talk about history, how difficult it was during the early days, how the young today do not know of the problems in the past history, etc, etc…

(b) Respond by saying that it is for Singaporeans to decide. They can vote PAP out if they do not disagree with his policies. The fact that PAP has won the last few elections means that they are doing right.

Forget about debating policies, forget about critcisims that are justified, forget about talking about issues that are against human rights, forget about expecting a response from him on issues involved.

It is always the same kind of response. The only way to wake him up is through the election process. So singaporeans, indeed, need to vote wisely.

25. Politics is about connections. Why is MM saying positive things about Obama ? The simple answer to this is that Obama is now in power. MM has to suck up to him for connections. Forget about what he said about Hilary being the preferred choice. He now wants to suck up to the one in power.

26. How to know ??? 26 October 2009

“While we need a strong opposition, we also need to ensure that we have a clean and credible opposition.”

How to know if it is not tested – we not talking about road sweepers, private 4-D runners, newspaper boys who field themselves as candidates.

Where is the platform which can give better visibility for the opposition (e.g permit for cycling, one-man assembly, media monopoly ??) to show that they are credible.

Many credible & talented people who may want to join opposition (to change something that they feel is wrong) will already be discouraged.

27. Prophet kongming #53.

It’s about time you change your crystal ball because the prophecies you are getting is about 20 years too late.

LKY and the PAP govt. have overstayed their welcome.

After almost 50 years in power LKY says Spore is not yet a nation. The press, TV, Radio (MSM) are all controlled by the PAP government.. They refuse to let you think and read independently.

The policies of the PAP government are making thousands leave Singapore.

To artificially boost up the population by 2 million within such a short space of time shows the PAP is bankrupt of ideas and their policies have failed. Obviously no government serious about becoming a nation implements such a policy.

The only ones enjoying their policies are property tycoons, bankers, foreign tax evaders

28. Homeless in my own country 26 October 2009

At this rate we are going…I definitely will vote for any opposition dog or cat..should there be any contest in my constituency in the coming GE. I think after almost 50 years, we should be able to have an alternative voice..a voice that will speak up and not the one that the Papas are advocating…it is impossible for them to bite the hands that feed them and hence quality of politics will inadvertently go down the drain..

29. Einsteina 26 October 2009

Highest emigration rate as a percentage of natural -born basis–in the world
    40 odd years and still ‘aspiring’ to be a nation.
    Citizens migrating in droves because of NS policy.
    Having one third of residents as PR–being too scared to do NS
    Going to be casino hub of region
    This is certainly different from the country that Goh K. S. and Winseimus build

30. FaceTheFact 26 October 2009

LKY said that “OVER MY DEAD BODY WILL SINGAPORE I ALLOW SINGAPORE TO HAVE CASINOS” while his son allowed 2 casinos setup in Sg. Another clear indication that our ruling party is running out of ideas.

31. Prophet Kongming 26 October 2009

#JW

I agree that the PAP has gone too much in letting so many foreigners into Singapore. Though I want to support the opposition, and hope the opposition leaders can win more seats in next election, I want to be sure that the opposition leaders are responsible people who are sincere to fight for the welfare of ordinary citizens. with alternative policies such as those proposed by RP, like free education up to secondary level, reduce taxes and defence spending, restricting foreigners.

If we have irresponsible people in power, then Singapore will be in trouble. Ulitmately, it is all about balance. We need the opposition party to provide a checks and balance to PAP. If PAP lose an election, we also need the PAP to check the new ruling party. That’s the way how democracy works.

32. DogCanOnlyBarkNotMiao 26 October 2009

78) Homeless in my own country on October 26th, 2009 4.15 pm

“………I think after almost 50 years, we should be able to have an alternative voice..a voice that will speak up and not the one that the Papas are advocating…it is impossible for them to bite the hands that feed them and hence quality of politics will inadvertently go down the drain.. ……..”

alternative voices can only come from the opposition parties. Those who believe that PAP MPs can provide check and accountability from the PAP government have to stop kidding themselves. Do you think it is possible for a dog to make other sound than barking? If you want sound other than barking, then it has to come from other animals.

33. chattels real 26 October 2009

i am amazed by singapore’s u -turns:

1. stop-at-2 to as many as you humanly and financially and practically can.
    2. no casinos to not just one but having 2.

the sign of the times.

34. 53) Prophet Kongming on October 25th, 2009 9.07 pm

In a relay, you will always be recognized & rewarded for running your own best leg. Once you have outrun your own leg and tired yourself by running into your partners’ 2nd or 3rd legs, etc – you may even jeopardize the whole teams’ performance and undo what you have set out to achieve in the first place.

35. I will like to quote below a part of a speech from Theorore rooselvelt (An American president) which i think is quite relevant to our judgement of LKY. Also as a light-hearted response to many singaporean in this forum that do not particularly like LKY.

“It is not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled, or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly, who errs and comes short again and again, who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, and spends himself in a worthy cause, who at best knows achievement and who at the worst if he fails at least fails while daring greatly so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory nor defeat.”

I think that LKY is a great man. He had the strong conviction and the believe to do what is right for Singapore and never look back. He is a man of great courage.

Having going through rough times like he had, certainly does something to his soul and character. We cannot expect him to be without ego which i suspect many Singapore dont like him for. At the end of the day, he is still a human being like all of us and we should judge him as a human being, not as a perfect person. We should ask ourselves whether all our criticism of him is realistic. Put yourself in his shoes.

36. “Serving” is very different from “fighting and dying”. Will MM Lee care to tell us how many Ukrainians are willing to fight and die for Singapore?

37. NS_FireEngineMan 26 October 2009

Malays in SAF vs 2nd gen FT in SAF? Just look at the simple thing like chances of any interested Malays who want to serve in RSN. If SAF can’t let the Malays join the Navy, don’t hope for anything better for local-born Sg Malays like me who (thank god) end up spending my reservist time fighting fires instead of protecting the sea above MCVs or frigates. But it is better than watching in our No.4, the navy guys happily parading beside the big grey hull. (as my cousin from the Army told me).

38. DavidSeeLeongKit 26 October 2009

> PAP say: WP (Workers Party) stands for “Wayang Party”.

S’poreans say: PAP is very clever in staging Political Wayang Shows to hoodwink the People.

> In America, Red Indians say: White Men speak with forked tongues (ie say one thing, but do another).

In Singapore, its People say: Men In White also speak with forked tongues (ie cannot be TRUSTED to PRACTISE WHAT THEY PREACH about honesty, integrity, responsibility, transparency, accountability, blah, blah, blah….. in Good Political Governance.

39. Prophet Kongming 26 October 2009

#84 Guoxin

Agree with you. That’s what I meant in my comments in #53. LKY and PAP are still much lesser sinner as compared to other political leaders in other countries. Although we may disagree with their policies and want a strong opposition party to provide a checks & balance, we still need a clean opposition party. Otherwise, we may end up committing greater sins than our forefathers when we vote and support a political party that end up committing atrocities agst its people and do injustice to our children.

40. Princeston 26 October 2009

Is PM Lee more willing to lead 30, 40, 50 yo Ukranians than 30, 40, 50yo Singkies? Hypohypohypocrite.

41. all singaporeans 26 October 2009

lee kuan yew are selling singapore to foreign country. ukranians will rules singapore army and singaporeans will soon be under them. under ukranians soldier and china soldier. so we end up living the same during the japanese time. comnunistism

42. FaceTheFact 27 October 2009

#84) Guoxin

It will be more convincing if you could help to list out what LKY had done recently to help the below average Singaporean (not the elite and rich lor!) to make you think that he is a great man. Please do not bring back what he did long long ago because you can’t simple keep asking for credit on those history.

Do you think that his recent remark on the golden period, the casino, no beggar in sg, defending on minister pay rise, his wife hospitalize encounter in London, GIC investment on US Bank for long term etc etc, doesn’t make him is a great man?

Honestly, I have never put myself in his shoe but I do play throwing shoe at Bush..hehe

http://www.sockandawe.com/

43. singapatriot 27 October 2009

for the last 50 years the PAP refused to give fair entry to Malays and Muslims in Singapore to participate in the army. now they are giving Ukranians a chance which they denied Malays and Muslims for 50 years. do PAP and the chinese majority in Singapore really think that that makes Singapore a safer place?

should there be a war tomorrow maybe not even with indonesia or malaysia, what reservations will Malays and Muslims in fighting SAF, the army that ostracised them? many Malay and Muslim friends that i talked to already harbour a deep sense of hatred for SAF. they are not wrong in that. Singaporean Chinese have to learn to share opportunities in their country or else they will end up like Sri Lanka

44. Thank you Guoxin 27 October 2009

“It is not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled, or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly, who errs and comes short again and again, who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, and spends himself in a worthy cause, who at best knows achievement and who at the worst if he fails at least fails while daring greatly so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory nor defeat.”

Sounds like he was referring to CSJ or JBJ.

“He had the strong conviction and the believe to do what is right for Singapore and never look back. He is a man of great courage.”

So are a lot of other men who may not have the luck to be in the limelight.

“At the end of the day, he is still a human being like all of us and we should judge him as a human being, not as a perfect person. We should ask ourselves whether all our criticism of him is realistic.”

When you subject others to such high standard, then you should not spare yourself from the eyeballs of others regarding your own performance & standard. Anyway, it is very human for such expectation to result naturally – people (or should I say human beings) just do not like double-standards, more so if it affects them negatively.

45. this fart is really going too far and too arrogant.

he is showing the world that he is on par with the rest of world most tyrant leaders.

46. New Era 27 October 2009

80) FaceTheFact on October 26th, 2009 4.27 pm

LKY said that “OVER MY DEAD BODY WILL SINGAPORE I ALLOW SINGAPORE TO HAVE CASINOS” while his son allowed 2 casinos setup in Sg. Another clear indication that our ruling party is running out of ideas.
    ================================================================

They are undoubtedly out of ideas on how to grow our economy. The are completely clueless. Other than the casinos, they have resorted to flooding this country with cheap foreign labour, to compete with our neighbours. It is time to give others a chance to run this country.

I am voting for the opposition as the majority of Singaporeans will do.

47. whole singaporeans 27 October 2009

5) whole singaporeans on October 27th, 2009 11.49 am

4) Hon Sen Tong on October 26th, 2009 11.46 pm

I beg to differ to #3 !
    ‘Greedy’ is such a strong word.

So, we should continue to Trust them that such highest in the world salaries are appropriate.

We should work harder and not complain too much.

so what you are saying is let them earn millions and billions of dollars and we as a singaporeans lower income and high cost and living and keep rising should work even harder trying to reach the goverment and ministers pocket needs?

the question is why they need millions of dollars into their salaries?? just because they are taking care of singapore or singaporeans?
    the question is for 10years cleaner salaries has been the same and only increase of just $50 maybe and while ministers goes for increament that sky high??

the question is why poor citizen and lower income was not given the help they need as a citizen as we encounter old folk going to the PAP asking for assistance and keep going and waiting for months before they can even get a $70voucher for ntuc?? thye have bills that they can afford to pay and what they get after begging and begging the MP is a $70 voucher of NTUC?? my GOODNESS!!

just imagine millions in pay and for the last 50years?? still got no money to assist singaporeans?no bull sht

still we are to ask to donate to charity and to work even harder to help ourself and others??
    ONCE SAID BY LEE KUAN YEW AND OVER AND OVER AGAIN
    if you don’t help yourself then there’s no one would be able to help you include the goverment and mp and all this pap. that is what it means straight forward straight talk!

so if we were to depend on ourself and to help ourself then how is it possible when the goverment is depending too much on our money on invesments and stock share and so on? how can we help ourself when the goverment need us to pay them huge amount of taxes, gst,bills, huge housing payment and 30year of payment and still have an outstanding due to lower income no able to coupe??!!

they have earn enough for all this and yet they can hard assist their own singaporeans and yet they can throw our money into their games and needs?

do ministers and lky need a million and billions dollar home??

oh yeah it is said by lee kuan yew that he have set his own business in europe and a few more countries! so that’s where our singaporeans money goes into their retirement of countless generation of their familee….?!! so does the ministers?? what are that they have been doing for us?? oh yeah a good bags hand out each $200 to $500 and preparing to take that money back from us plus interest in the upcoming increase in gst and taxes and so on?? WOW this is legal loan shark that will nail you up for lifetime!!

as JBJ who was with lee kuan yew from the early days has ask singaporeans to ask them why they need to be paid so much as in millions and billions collected??!!

48. whole singaporeans 27 October 2009

lee kuan yew was saying that it is difficult in the past as he is saying for himself that how difficult to make money in the past and now he easily makes millions and billions from us isngaporeans and thanks for singaporeans but no thanks for helping singaporeans and giving them better future.

only use this stupid singaporeans coz singaporeans are fear of lky and singaporeans follow order or lky will get the army to put each of us in jail

you still want to play and don’t want to pay?? you go in prison.

49. as a born singaporean, i will face the army if he ever call for an action.

50. BrothersInArm 27 October 2009

99) mike on October 27th, 2009 2.05 pm

no worries mate! you would not be alone.