Thursday, October 15, 2009 10:04
WP’s Sylvia Lim rebuts ministry’s reply on lift upgrading
In Main Stories • 5,999 views • 174 Comments
Sylvia Lim’s letter to the Straits Times:
I AM responding to the reply from the Minister for National Development’s press secretary on Tuesday (‘Ministry: MP Low wrong on lift upgrading’), as the Member of Parliament for Hougang, Mr Low Thia Khiang, is currently out of town.
The reply states that the Housing and Development Board’s (HDB) letter last Friday (‘Why grassroots advisers announce lift upgrading’) ’should be read in conjunction with’ the minister’s earlier explanations to the media.
This acknowledges that the reason given by the HDB in reply to Mr Muhammad Yusuf Osman’s letter (‘MPs should front initiative’, Oct 7) does not stand up to scrutiny.
Mr Muhammad Yusuf had pointedly asked why protocol seemed to be ignored when the HDB worked with the unelected candidates in opposition wards to announce lift upgrading programme (LUP) plans rather than with the elected MPs.
It is not disputed that the LUP is a government programme. After all, it is to rectify a design flaw in public housing which does not cater for an ageing society. Given this imperative, the public interest should trump politics.
Mr Low’s letter on Saturday (‘No basis for MP not to announce lift upgrading: Low’), responding to the HDB’s reply, was not about wanting credit for the programme.
He has stated that he is prepared to work with the Government’s appointees for the benefit of his constituents, and indeed has met the grassroots adviser several times over many months to give input on the LUP plans for Hougang.
It was the HDB’s unjustifiable answer to Mr Muhammad Yusuf – that the grassroots adviser was more appropriate than the MP to announce the LUP plans because he was able to gather residents’ input and marshal support for the plans – which compelled Mr Low’s response.
The HDB should have just given the real reason in its reply and not beat around the bush.
The Ministry of National Development’s (MND) reply on Tuesday further states that the LUP is funded from Budget surpluses, which opposition MPs are not responsible for generating.
However, the Budget surpluses are hardly the effort of the Government alone as they include significant contributions from the public through taxes, levies and stamp fees, which the Government simply reaps.
Finally, the MND reply also appears to interpret the general election as an event where the only outcome which matters is who forms the government.
This shows the respect the Government has for the people’s choice of MP, who is vested with the constitutional mandate to represent the constituency.
Sylvia Lim (Ms)
Chairman
Workers’ Party
174 Comments
Good one!!
hopeforwhat
you all know lark…pap party alway must win 1…if loss..act blurred dumbed and deaf….in the first place..why should an opposition wards be manned by town councils from the pap party? its liked askin dr chee/sister to run tangjong pagar town council right?
btan
People! THIS is your quality opposition candidate. Are you so blind not to see?
Many are waiting for you to be voted in. If you want see more, you have to vote in more. It is that simple.
Wake up now and do not let the PAP government dominate us anymore. Get more opposition representatives in to represent the 33% of those who voted but never have any representation.
Everyone must do your part.
RED-man
Speak with volume and clear about it. Well done and way to go.
lobo76
haha… I like the way she worked in the ‘public housing design flaw’ in her letter. A not so subtle barb aimed at HDB.
New Era
Singaporeans must do their part and ensure that Sylvia Lim gets elected in the coming elections. Kick out the incompetent MBT.
Say no to nonsense
Sylvia… Real great to hear from you again…
Yes… please continue to rebute those nonsense the way you are currently doing right now… clear, concise, well argued and articulated.
Many in Singapore are hoping to hear more from u and ur party.
Keep it up!
hoosiers
well said and to the point !
unlike those big headed moronic bureaucrats !
VS
compare Sylvia’s rebuttals with those from the PAP. No match.
Did anyone read Lim Swee Say’s barrage of slogans? Do a comparison on substance?
Bear
Perhaps it’ll be even better if some of you here – the more articulate and with more “powderful” english ones – can write in support/response to the letters in Straits Times. Cos this forum has limited reach still…
mike
the pap so kiasu might well ask the grassroot adviser to run the constituency as well why election then.
stupid dump fool of the pap members!
Dumb and dumber
To 2) hopeforwhat on October 15th, 2009 10.28 am
PAP cannot refute the un-refutable. Their arrogance and ignorance will be their downfall; the sooner and the better for the people.
Applause to Slyvia Lim! Well-said indeed.
FriedKwayTiaoWithHum
Hope people realise now the different between PAP MPs and opposition MPs. Opposition MPs will speak up and dare to tell the self-serving fat cats off while PAP MPs can only be yes-man to those fat cats.
What’s the point of voting for PAP MPs no matter how academically qualified they are when they can only be yes-man to the self-serving fat cats. Like the chinese saying “have heart no strength” (you xing wu li).
btan
@10) Bear on October 15th, 2009 10.55 am
No point, it will only get censored by ST. Only those in support of PAP will get published. That is why people write comments here. We know that the admin of this site will not censor pro-opposition comments and at the same time pro-PAP comments.
hopeforwhat
[i]Bear on October 15th, 2009 10.55 am Perhaps it’ll be even better if some of you here – the more articulate and with more “powderful” english ones – can write in support/response to the letters in Straits Times. Cos this forum has limited reach still… [/i]
tried..so many times..letters got into recycled bin includin my own complaint with injuries caused by ntuc inc roadbully taxi driver..it was never published..
however the chines newsmedia did a writeup and published my case with photo bigger than anita mui foto…
[i]12) Dumb and dumber on October 15th, 2009 10.58 am To 2) hopeforwhat on October 15th, 2009 10.28 am [/i]
thank you..we all know whats behind the dirty trick department…
btan
Some info on Sylvia Lim for those who do not know her.
source : http://www.wp.sg/wordpress/our-organisation/executive-council/
Sylvia Lim Swee Lian
林瑞莲
sylvia@wp.sg
Mailing Address: VBox 881451, Singapore 919191
Age 44
- Chairman, Workers’ Party
- Chairman, North-Eastern Area Committee, WP
- Town Councillor, Hougang Town Council
Background:
Sylvia holds a Bachelor of Laws (Hons) degree from the National University of Singapore and obtained a Master of Laws degree in 1989 from the University of London. She was called to the Singapore Bar in 1991. She also obtained a Cambridge Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults (CELTA) in 2005.
In 1991, she joined the Singapore Police Force as a Police Inspector where she served for three years; she was active in investigation work (including supervision) at the Central Police Division HQ and thereafter was staff officer to the Director of the Criminal Investigation Department.
In 1994, she returned to practise law in the private sector, with M/s Lim & Lim. From 1994 to 1998, she was active in both civil and criminal litigation and handled a variety of cases in the High Court, Subordinate Courts and Juvenile Court.
In 1998 she joined Temasek Polytechnic as a law lecturer, a post she still holds today. She is concurrently Manager of Professional Development at the Polytechnic’s Business School. Her preferred areas of teaching are in civil and criminal procedure, criminal justice and private security.
In May 2009, she commenced postgraduate studies in security management with Michigan State University’s School of Criminal Justice.
Sylvia became a Non-Constituency Member of Parliament (NCMP) after leading a Workers’ Party team to contest Aljunied GRC in the 2006 General Elections and securing 43.9% of the votes cast.
Philosophy:
During the 2001 General Elections when two-thirds of seats were uncontested and the ruling party won 75% of the contested votes, Sylvia was very concerned that unless credible people came forward, the fate of alternative parties in Singapore hung in the balance. She believes strongly that alternative parties have a role in scrutinising government policy constructively and asking for justifications for any laws which will affect the people.
Sylvia loves running outdoors but, due to injury, has also turned to swimming. She also enjoys music in many genres from classical to jazz, and is a supporter of the local arts scene.
lefleche
listening to Lim Swee Say on radio made me cringe. he really needs to attend english classes. how did he get pass the PAP interview?
also he kept emphasizing “cheaper better faster” or something like that…i wonder how is something that is so good be so cheap? one of the first things i learnt from doing business is never compete on price. its a downward spiral. everyone loses in the end. its just a matter of who has the most to lose.
given s’pore’s high-cost of living context, i think his strategy is completely out of sync with reality and would only kill Singapore faster.
he used to be one of the ministers i like because of his down-to-earth manner but now i seriously doubt his competency.
Andrew Chuah
15/10/09
Good and keep it up Sylvia Lim. Upgrading of HDB flats must be across the board and not only confined to PAP MPs and their wards solely (must includes those held by Opposition MPs and their wards as we are all Singaporean citizens and owners of these HDB flats and must not be penalised simply on the ground just because we have voted for the Oppostion MPs).
Today, we are no longer in the Dark Ages whereby there is no need for Opposition MPs in Parliament and my stand has been very clear ie we need credible Opposition MPs in Parliament and more than what we have now ie 2 elected Opposition MPs, to give the PAP MPs a run for their monies. We cannot live without credible Opposition MPs (the present PAP MPs have not lived up to Minister Mentor’s expectation despite bulk of them are “blue chips and elites”.
Regards
Andrew Chuah
mike
17) lefleche on October 15th, 2009 11.14 am ,
my sentiments of him same as yours.
How Can ??
The Men In White are looking sillier and sillier by the day.
Unfortunately, their silliness will not lighten our day or bring a smile to our faces.
It actually makes you want to cry when you realise what a bunch of arrogant, manipulative, heartless, insensitive and petty-minded people we have in Govvernment.
Surely the people of Singapore deserves better this.
Annonymous Agent 007
## 17) lefleche on October 15th, 2009 11.14 am
“”given s’pore’s high-cost of living context, i think his strategy is completely out of sync with reality and would only kill Singapore faster”"
Very well said.
Look at the quality of FTs / PRs the PAP Government bring in by the boat loads and you will understand why we have to put a stop to it.
A S$ million Minister ??
Money down the drain…
kaomangai
I actually felt quite embarrassed reading the MND reply. Using regurgitated logic like “surpluses were accumulated by the PAP” therefore opposition held wards have no right to it. PLEASE – PAP stop using this as people in opposition wards can stop paying taxes using the same logic in reverse.
We did not just graduate from kindergarden and PLEASE treat us Singaporeans with some respect. We still can understand that political parties like PAP do not own Singapore.
Reading what Sylvia wrote was such a breath of fresh air. The MND response is also good in that it can convey absolutely nothing with so many words.
To Sylvia – WELL DONE and you have my vote anytime.
PerpectuallyAntiPeople
“After all, it is to rectify a design flaw in public housing which does not cater for an ageing society. Given this imperative, the public interest should trump politics.”
Hitting the nail in the head !! Any govt, whether pap or others, will logically have to add lifts to ensure the wheelchairs bound are able to get out of their house. It is not an ingenious scheme crafted by the so called talented minds of pap. It is simply a necessity not to be trumped as an advantage of voting for pap.
Senior citizens in the opp wards have been punished unnecessarily because their children voted for the opp parties. This should not have happened in the first place because these senior citizens are the pioneers of our modernised country thru their hard work, talent, contributions and tax monies.
suaysuay
Sylvia Lim Swee Lian
林瑞莲
I hope she’s not linked in any manner to Lim Swee Suay. That’ll be disastrous !
Yamamoto
Using regurgitated logic like “surpluses were accumulated by the PAP” therefore opposition held wards have no right to it.
Yeah, our dear leaders will think that these surpluses were generated solely by them and the common people has not part in it, while in fact the people is a major contributor to the surpluses, while someone happens to waste part of it away, and that someone isn’t a common people like you and me.
which is why, i love Ms Lim’s reply…this is way better than what MND or MIW can come out with…I will say, Ms Lim has has to be voted in…Aljunied MP, beware…
joe
well said, sylvia.
samantha
PAP should not resort to using of LUP as political bait.
Obama will be here in Nov for the APEC and when he realised such underhand and petty tactic by the ruling regime, imagine the wry smile on his face esp that the salary of our leader is, what, 5 or 6 times of his ??
nothoodwinked
PAP should have a Post Mortem
So highly paid but yet cannot even conduct
a simple PR
they are heading from one PR disaster after another
The more they try to twist and explain, the more
they dig themselves deeper into the shxxt hole.
As I said earlier, let more continue with their
pork barrel politics and practically hand the peoples’
votes to the opposition without the latter having to
do anything
Moe Gan Thai
Let us vote her in if there is still Aljunid GRC. But hope that WP put a more stronger team this time, not those who don’t know how to fill forms and create unnecessary problems. Pap will attack you during the 9 day hustings and you can’t fight back
Time for Change
Please vote in Sylvia Lim. She deserves a thousand times to be MP than all the PAP men/women combined. She can wrestle LHL one-to-one without sweat and effort too. WP has a gem within to be explored further. If Sylvia wins Aljunied GRC, we will go all out to cheer her and lend her all our support even if we have to sacrifice a few sleepless night out there to fight for change – I can’t wait for election now it is going to get very exciting because time has change. But let’s wait for the arrogant one to announce the coming election. I am utterly dissapointed with PAP.
sgPotongPasir
After voting for Mr Chiam for all the past elections, I keep telling myself the next time I will vote for PAP then I’ll get my LUP & freebies. I shouldn’t be deprive of the freebies, let other people vote for opposition. But every time, the PAP guys have to do something stupid that piss me off.
Last election was GCT, now this…… I don’t understand why they (PAP) can’t just do something right. Previous elections, they said you don’t vote for PAP, no upgrading. Recently they announce that potong pasir is designated for upgrading, I thought they’ve change (starting to treat residents in potong pasir as Singaporean) then sitoh instead of chiam announce LUP for potong pasir. They’re really thick-skinned…who is my MP….? Who is sitoh?
they said “the adviser gathers input from residents, thereby ensuring that the programme’s plans meet residents’ needs”. The HDB further states that the adviser can propose changes based on residents’ feedback, and seek residents’ support.”
input / feedback from who?? I’ve never been asked for feedback or input…. I didn’t see them around since they lost in the last election ( suddenly they reappear). So who’s feedback are they referring to…
Resident’s need… who would want to have lift build at the back of the block so that they can carry their dripping bags from market straight into their kitchen. Come on use your brain lah…
It suddenly occur to sitoh & PAP that we need lift to every floor…. announce LUP just after Town council finish replacing some of the existing lifts… shouldn’t they work together to save cost and avoid inconvenience to residents. Feedback my ass.. this makes my blood boil. Now residents got to go thru months of hell again. Maybe after they finish upgrading, they can tell sgporeans that their lifts are better, it goes to every floor.
Election not here yet (can feel its coming) & they are making me furious again….
apologise for my poor english…
Desmond
All right Sylvia! Keep up the great work!
btan
Honestly, I hope PAP makes more mistakes until the coming GE. Already I have seen many former PAP voters waking up and vowed to vote for the opposition in the coming GE. Good for you guys. With more PAP mistakes and boo-boos, more voters will wake up.
There is one more danger. Aljunied GRC garnered over 40% votes in last election. There is a possibility PAP will employ dirty tricks again to split it up. After all, George Yeo is not that great a minister to be able to secure it. In fact, no other ministers are good now, in the eyes of the public.
If Aljunied is split up, whichever GRC (or even SMC) that Sylvia is running in, voters of that constituencies please support her. Bring your voting friends and family to attend her rallies.
Seow
“The Ministry of National Development’s (MND) reply on Tuesday further states that the LUP is funded from Budget surpluses, which opposition MPs are not responsible for generating.”
Every tax-paying Singaporean in one way of another contribute to the income of the Government. After helping yourselves to million dollar salaries each (amounting to say S$5-10Billion of civil service salaries); what is left is the surplus. It is so unthinkable that a civil servant can be so ungrateful to forget who pays his salary.
HaiGong
Very simple, the result of last election has shown that the residents in both wards rejected you all . So dont ever dream that you are the leaders there, if you are desperate to be MP follows MBT and hide in someones skirt instead. Dont shame yourself in singapore lah!
SM Goh
I also sit in the coffee-shop and talk c*ck (read gather feedback ) to my friends who are residents in Potong Pasir and Hougang, so why did the government not ask me to announce the LUP instead?
Must be appointed by government you say? Who is their boss? How are their performance judged? Who is to decide whether they are telling the truth? Since PAP tried so many times but failed to win back these 2 wards, doesn’t it mean these 2 jokers are performing poorly, and can still last long?
I am sure many people also want to apply for these so-called adviser jobs, getting paid by the government to talk c*ck (again read gather feedback) to the residents with no visible results.
Truthsome
Actually with this incident revolving through the Internet community and some papers, sensible folks can see how badly + shamelessly the PAP handle this issue. Ironically, it swings to more cons than pros for PAP. All taxpayers deserve equal treatment that includes wherever HDB you live in i.e. LUP.
apu
im really proud to have a person like ms sylvia lim lecturing in my course. she dares to stand up and speak out.
this is blatant disrespect to not only the opposition MPs, but most of all the voters who stuck by them.
this website needs more publicity. most singaporeans need to know the dark side to Singapore’s meteorical progress.
mike
well done guys. the game had started now as you can see lot of hit and frustration (includling me) singaporean are fuelling the way pap behaved and stupidly manner.
what pissed with me is, look at LHL and his henchman esp LSS, they way they behaved like so sured of winning this coming election like nobody business.
way to go!
neh neh
@ lefleche #17:
the moment i saw his grin while mentioning his mantra of having a “cheaper, better, faster” Singapore on TV, i turned off the bloody tv and went to bed.
anyone still remembers his singing and dancing to that retarded piece of MOM propaganda?
merry go round
“However, the Budget surpluses are hardly the effort of the Government alone as they include significant contributions from the public through taxes, levies and stamp fees, which the Government simply reaps.”
Very good response. Very good indeed. Keep it up and say what you need & must say – lest the other side thinks that they can distract all of us with their merry-go-round reasoning. single seat mp-to-grc & town council concept-to-appointed advisers.
FriedKwayTiaoWithHum
41) neh neh on October 15th, 2009 2.27 pm @ lefleche #17:
“……the moment i saw his grin while mentioning his mantra of having a “cheaper, better, faster” Singapore on TV, i turned off the bloody tv and went to bed……”
I also turned off the TV and went to bed. The problem is I can’t fall asleep because I was boiling with frustration.
I remember reading in the newspaper that he said we cannot expect to get higher salary doing the same thing going forward. In the same vein, why should they give themselves such a huge pay raise doing the same thing for the past 44 years?
Kiyda
This LUP fiasco is a perfect example of how a ONE party system when placed in power without a viable opposition to keep them in check, will continue push their agendas down our throats without anyone stopping them.
If they can get away with this LUP issue, what about bigger issues like the price of public housing and the import of foreign talent? Was there even a consensus when they raised the salaries of our dear ministers?
Would you as citizens of Singapore rather have a say on the policies that will have impact on our everyday lives as compared to a nanny state that decides what is best for us? It’s time to vote wisely in the next GE.
I am sorry – may be I don’t follow what is happening. The HDB lift upgrade was “voted” via HDB questionnaire and survey in my area – I don’t know about other areas.
What is oxymoron is in the way some of the upgrading are done. Like, in order to avoid several flights of stairs (correct expression??) to the road and bus-stop, one may have to take the lift to an upper lift, get out on that floor, walk to the extreme left to another lift that takes you down to where the bus-stop is.
Otherwise, old folks can choose to take the lift all the way down to ground level, and walk up 2 to 3 flight of stairs, and reach the bus-stop/road.
You may not have voted for the lift upgrading but majority wins, so the upgrading was done and “expenses” of the upgrading have to be shared by all in the block.
The thing is – there is no PUBLIC COUNTING as to the votes, so how do you REALLY KNOW that majority voted for lift upgrading? You just have to take what THEY SAY!! Welcome to the real world of transparency!
Slyvia is RIGHT about the public housing design flaw. I mentioned this many times before in other posts’ comments a year back. If the design is not good, what do you expect about allocation and practicality of the lifts?
prettyplace
HDB is unwise to isolate and break-up Singaporeans into Opposition and PAP wards, when it comes up with, plans.
It is too dangerous and risky. I hope they see it that way and start to rectify this matter before Singaporeans start to part ways and break this country up.
MND should stop this nonsense and start to respect Singaporeans who have voted against them and work with the WP in Hougang, or they might just create chaos in Singapore, which might and can lead to other social problems for all.
Very Dulan
When PAP said Singapore surplus belongs to them, I was damn pissed!!! How much of our blood, sweat and effort were put in by singaporeans to earn a simple livings but our depressed incomes were sucked off immediately by PAP. Now they tell us the money belongs to them and not Singapore. To make matter worst, a half-woman-half-man even lost billions of our reserves without uttering a word of apology and still continue to play mighty. What kind of life are Singaporeans putting thru after the last election? If pap continue to rule in the next election, there is only one word to describe the mentality of Singaporeans – borned to be “doomed”. If we want to change our fate and stop the “hitler” from ruining our life, we must die-die vote for change, for everyone. Our life must no longer be manpulated and controlled for the benefit of the LEEgime.
spirited-centred
All PAP MPs are part-timers to their town council management, so they have to depend on their grassroots (mostly self-serving individuals, who help if got monetary or business interest to gain, in fact many PAP grassroots have toto booth licences, own many hawkers stalls profiting by renting them to other working hawkers). Can you imagine, under one PAP town councils you can have 30 to 40 committee members and project members and they are drawing a monthly allowance. With so many members, the MP in charge is just a lame duck , got nothing to do except to sign cheques. So this is their culture, thats why the grassroot members have more say and authority in the PAP wards.
With the passing of LKY, I am very worried that these PAP grassroots structure set up by him may very soon degrade to the core without moral and humanistic value. Everything is ‘NO money No talk’ .
These RC and PA structure are too politically polarised by the PAP, they have lost the confidence of the people. In fact they should be dissolved and a new grassroot structure installed and members should be elected by the residents and their main role is to help the residents irregardless of which political party MP is serving their constituency.
naninews
Talk is cheap. What is WP going to do after all this talk talk talk??
Go back, sit in Parliament, take $13,500 per month and diam diam, guai guai sit sit.
wat4stay
tell me again, why are these morons worth their million $ paycheck??????
naninews
One letter from WP and opposition supporters are falling over themselves with delirium. LOL! Wake up, people! WP has been sleeping for the last 3 years and will continue to sleep after this minor hooha over nothing!
What has WP said about foreign talents? HDB prices? Unemployment rate? Temasek? GIC? Wet Markets?
ZILCH! ZERO! NANANOTHING!!
Real wayang, this party. Only care about not being given the right to announce the lift upgrading.
Bloody pathetic.
wat4stay
50) naninews on October 15th, 2009 4.46 pm
i quite agree with you. the oppositions are supposed to be an alternative voice in the parliament and the silence they have been keeping is deafening.
this is all the more imperative that we must vote in more opposition to garner more opposition strength and might. there is only so much the opposition can do now, with the odds all against them.
lim_peh_korng
Residents of Hougang,this is a gross insult to the person whom you have freely elected to represent you in parliament.
Will you take this sitting down?
Let your representative lose face?
Going by Sylvia Lim’s last statement here,what the government is doing is unconstitutional.
btan
Don’t blame opposition party “silence” when you guys only voted 2 inside parliament. And their voices are drown out by 82 to other PAP MPs.
You want “noise”, the jolly well vote in 20-40 opposition MPs. They will give you noise every day and every year.
If you don’t vote in more opposition MPs, then you have NO RIGHT to say they are silent.
That said, opposition MPs and NCMP have been making speeches in parliament. This can be proven by a simple search in youtube in the pass few years. The speeches by WP and SPP can also be found here (right side link)
So it is you, you, you and you who are sleeping. Not them.
Time to wake up.
Bacarrat
50) naninews on October 15th, 2009 4.46 pm One letter from WP and opposition supporters are falling over themselves with delirium. LOL! Wake up, people!
It is GMT + 8 hours in Sg and wake up Naninews
You failed to name any significant accomplishment of PAP MPs when you were challenged by other bloggers in anotther related topic.
If Low Thia Khiang is louzy, let him faces the vote in next GE, but he has beated PAP in GE since 1988,
Unlike PAP MPs, they dozed off 3years, 3 terms or longer in Parliament, comes election, they hide in GRC and echoed their Bosses like parrots, they stand on a bar to take pictiures with Ministers, just like the 4 parrots in photographing stand in Bird park !
So, be brave, name the PAP MPs’ accomplishment or start to speak human language — no more bird talks !!
Say no to nonsense
Hey Naninews,
I wonder… do you have a personal crusade against WP?
Anyway, just before you shoot off, you should do some homework first.
Check out the parliamentary websites below.
http://www.parliament.gov.sg/parlweb/hansard_search_latest.jsp
In fact, WP’s MPs Low Thia Kiang and Sylvia Lim did talk about most of Singaporean concerns in parliament.
I wonder, did you get the impression that the WP MPs do not do their job from the media? If that is so, I suppose you have to reaccess the current situation of Singapore… read more postings from TOC first… before you make your rash judgement.
And nope… I don’t think Sylvia gets to take 13k a month. Last I heard, Steve Chia only gets around 2k a month from his NCMP commitments.
Ricky Padrino - Morally Bankrupted
Well written Sylvia!
I have a feeling that Aljunied GRC will disappear and residents will be absorbed into either Tanjong Pagar GRC or Marine Parade GRC – remember Cheng San GRC?
smallvoice585
Singapore is in such a ludicrous political situation because of 2 main reasons:
(1) A complacent government emboldened to become unscrupulous in its actions. This is because, whatever they do, Singaporeans will still return them to power at every election as long as their material wants are satisfied.
(2) An ignorant and politically immature populace distracted by material concerns. Their general attitude is one of voter apathy.
So, reason (1) feeds on reason (2), and reason (2) is the natural consequence of reason (1) leading to a toxic vicious cycle of political stagnation and mediocrity.
This has nothing to do with the quality (or the lack of quality) of opposition politicians.
Penn and Lee
Yes, it is confirmed that NCMP does not get a full elected MP allowance of $13+K
Yamamoto
50) naninews
Just to remind you “Victorious warriors win first and then go to war, while defeated warriors go to war first and then seek to win.”
and for your criticism of WP… why don’t you speak about it the other way? who created the problem in the first place? instead of looking at the root, you are just trying to cut the top away….and what happens after that? same old thing goes again.
So i will like to return this to you “One letter from WP and NANINEWS is falling over himself with delirium, shooting his mouth off.”
sama sama
Sylvia’s reply is excellent, but frankly speaking, one do not need to be a good politician to rebut PAP’s lame excuses. Many can do the same if not better.
The hardest and the most challenging part is – what the leaders (opposition leaders) say in the parliament and at public also being practiced in their own backyard.
I know a leader in opp camp show no respect & trust to his own CEC members by sending his right-hand man to “look after” them, e.g at their Youth Wing which were “elected” by the cadre members. This has show that this leader didn’t respect the cadre members they “voted’ for, not to mention the ordinary members.
Talk is easy.
btan
@60) sama sama on October 15th, 2009 5.50 pm
*yawn* still trying to smear the good names of opposition members? You trying to curry favours like the rest of the stooges with PAP?
Many voters are intelligent enough to see through the dirty tricks of PAP and the lack of respect they have for them.
Some are so pissed that they would vote a dog if a dog would stand against PAP monkeys. At least a dog would be loyal and hardworking but a monkey would play with peanuts.
Yang
All these incident show that our PM is not in control. He is not capable enough to run this country. Not able to get the right person to help him. i think he had to learn a lot from Obama. what we need is a leader with kind heart towards his people. Not just know how to make money.
SuKii
right now, everyone is riled up by the incompetencies of the PAP, and talk about voting for the opposition. then before the election, PAP will start to shell out goodies like the govt handouts to make us all happy. Sadly, there will be people who will forget everything, see the money in front of them and vote for the PAP, again.
we know which are the few wards leftover that will be open for voting, so people in those wards, please vote wisely!
Jo
what is the role of the grassroots again? please don’t give me the old story about grassroots being the “voices” of the people. last i heard, the most absurd one was that “We need community leaders, be it business, religious or grassroots leaders, to play a key role in reaching out and calming the community” (speech on MCYS website). RIGHT.
so the PAP in this case is saying that the MPs that were REJECTED during elections BY THE PEOPLE are the ACTUAL voices of the people? They’ve got everyone’s minds boggled here. So WHAT WERE THE ELECTIONS FOR?! our votes don’t matter eh? It’s what the PAP thinks that matters. How about next elections, we elect the PAP back, then put the opposition into the grassroots, and we’ll see if the grassroot leaders will still be the “representatives of the people”.
This is playing politics. But in every game, beautiful strikes and sportsmanship decides whether a team goes down in history. NOT bullying and brute force.
massivelosses_sohow?
They should make MBT announced thagt LUP was possible for PP and HG as he is making HDB very affordable instead. he he
wp?
seriously, what has the wp been doing for hougang so far? any big milestones? dun just support the oppo for the sake of supporting the oppo. a speech from the PAP u guys say it’s bullshit. a speech from wp u guys clap, applause and throw a party. doesn’t both of them boil down to nothing but just words? if u set such low expectations from the oppo (considering how everyone seems so impressed by a mere scripted speech from silvia lim), how can we expect them to improve or mature to become truly of government standard? the oppo should bring some laudable achievements to the table and singaporeans shouldn’t be satisfied with anything less than that.
samantha
66) wp? ,
C’mon, have you been living in mars or what ? Haven’t you realised the insurmountable obstacles that PAP instituted for all OPP parties ? How can they achieve anything when even the opportunity to announce the LUP has been robbed ?
IMO, what Sylvia has done is already a milestone achievement. Given more leeway, do expect a stella performance from her and the WP team.
pap?
Comparing the resources of PAP and resources of opposition, yet the party with less resource has someone who is ready to fight for her countryman and more than that she is a woman. That itself is enough to put the ruling party to shame. With the kind of resources that the ruling party has, why have all MPs and ministers being toeing party line all the time ? Please don;t give me the crap about ” look at the buildings around us. If not for accountabilities, transparencies, they won’t have exist”. PAP MPs and ministers have neglected the countrymen for far too long and they now have to pay a heavy price for their oversight.
wp?
to samantha,
its not, in the first place, PAP’s job to nurture the opposition and give them a wide open space to grow. this is politics. competition is necessary and no matter in what country, the party that is currently in power will naturally have more resources to use to their advantage. i don’t think it’s fair to blame the PAP on the inability of the oppo parties to provide concrete more achievements.
to pap?,
“Comparing the resources of PAP and resources of opposition, yet the party with less resource has someone who is ready to fight for her countryman and more than that she is a woman.”
- how did u find the confidence to say she will fight for her countrymen? has there been some evidence that i might have missed? i wonder why a few speeches from the oppo can carry so much weight, to the point the people are ready to call their own houses ‘crap’ and call the PAP as ‘neglecting’ them. have you seen the state of other countries? in which country have you found your perfect government?
David
It will take 10-man years for LHL to write something sensible like Sylvia Lim. In the meantime, what LHL is capable of is “Mee Siam Mai Hum, Fixing the Oppositing and Cry Onion and Chillie”. You guys judge who are more professional and who has the leadership quality. Besides, LHL right and left hand man are nothing but full of superficial and nauseating slogans.
jerminho
STICK IT TO THEM!
I think the PAP made a really big boo boo on this one…
Use your vote to make them pay!
EastEndBoy
Let’s try and get the protocols right. Why is LTK even “meeting the grassroot adviser and giving his inputs on LUP”. LTK is an elected Member of Parliament. He should be meeting the Minister of National Development or even representatives of MND to give his inputs on LUP. By meeting this grassroot adviser to give his inputs, LTK has given the moral authority for this grassroot adviser to act or speak on behalf of Hougang for the LUP.
If we can’t even get this simple protocol right, it’s a sad day for the opposition in Singapore.
ACYS
Potong Pasir & Hougang residents, you need only to this:
Say “thank you” and “I love you PAP”, welcome the lift upgrading with open arms, work with their non-elected nincompoop candidates, co-operate and listen to them. Let idiotic HDB (Housing Done Badly anyway) complete the lift upgrading, enjoy your lift stopping at every floor and when the election comes along, vote CHIAM SEE TONG (or whoever takes over from him [methinks it might be his wife], since he says he is going to contest in a GRC and Low Thia Khiang again. That will be the ultimate victory to show the whole Singapore the might of the voter! Let those 2 born-losers slide into oblivion again! That feeling is just so sweet!
pap?
To wp?
Since when have the PAP government consulted citizens ? building two casinos, managing country’s reserve without transparency, inflating cost of living to add money to their coffers and then rewarding themselves with high salaries, disregarding quality of lives of ordinary singaporean. where is the swiss standard of living that some “yes-man” brought up or is it just a convenient subject to bring up during election ? do we need more speeches from the PAP ? do we really need more of these speeches that never ever materialise from the PAP ? have you not heard enough of speeches from PAP ? do you not see that PAP speeches from are the same over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over, which is to keep giving credits to themselves ?
Yamamoto
69) wp?
What have they done?
How about their TC didn’t squander away millions in mini-bond…compared to some oh-so-well-managed-pap-tc?
can that be considered a milestone? and how about overcoming crazy obstacles? have you ask the residents on what their MPs have done? or did you just read from the paper?
and comparing their MPs and MIW MPs at M.P.S, that’s a hell lot of difference.
To be truthful, I who doesn’t stay in Aljunied once email Miss Lim for some advice on some legal issue and she is nice enough to offer advice and recommendation….
Debra Soong Mui Hong
Sylvia Lim is GungHo!
I will vote for Sylvia.
Miss Vivian Bollah
There is ONLY 1 WAY OUT, trust me.
George Mc Fly
I like to see which Reader can answer this:
1. Does / Will the TC report include KPI for Mosquito problem?
2. Does it include Tree branch falling on cars parked in HDB carparks where the trees referred to are those planted or owned or maintained by the authorities?
3. Bird Noise Pollution and shit pollution due to tree branches too thick or bushy or overgrown too much allowing birds to choose trees in a carpark as place to gather by them flocking there together?
I feel that these are obvious issues that AFFECT the Residents Directly and a common problem, at least 1 of these to many residents. These are issues of PUBLIC INTEREST.
I feel strongly these should be part of the GRADING or Appraisal KPI.
Let me know which of you has the answer.
More good year with more opposition in parliament
May I just add to [#6 New Era], that not only Malboro Tan, all those who hid under the GRC blanket and sneaked in to become MP without going through the election challenge and still yaya PAPaya need to be challenged and kicked out.
Without facing up challenge through people’s election how can they represent this First Class Country Singapore to face up international negotiations and debate of issues?
Without facing up challenge through people’s election how can they, the First Class Minister, have the concience to take people’s $$$ and justify their First Class Salary?
Without facing up challenge through people’s election how can we, the citizens of Singapore, entrust our future to this bunch of cowards’ hands?
wp?
pap?,
PAP did more than give speeches, no matter how bad u think their speeches were.
to all who seem so unhappy with the PAP, how would u run a country? will you ask opinion from everyone for everything? will you give your opposition space to grow? will you not try to plant your own people in as many positions as possible?
will you make perfect decisions everytime?
if singapore lacks talents in the political sector, it’s because singaporeans are just impossible to please. who will dare to step up knowing that they are expected to be nothing less than perfect?
Lee Kong Nan
I am concerned about how the 33.3% People are being Represented.
Seems like 33.3% support given to Opposition is not having strong enough effect.
Does it mean the Loyal Opposition should have a stronger support given to them for them to have some power?
So who is the govmin? Is Opposition not part of the Govmin structure?
Or is ONLY the ruling the govmin?
I am asking from a technical point of view.
Is 33.3% Sufficient?
Say no to nonsense
Hey Naninews, welcome back as wp?… hahaha…
Before you anyhow shoot again… please… go and do some homework again…
Unless… I am afraid… u do not know how to use google… do you?
Nevermind… i will be nice again to provide you with some links once more…
Hougang Review…
http://www.hougang.org.sg/hougangweb2.pdf
I PLEAD with you to go thru the link carefully… look with you eyes open…
While we are still in the topic of lift upgrading… see how our Mr Low tried and managed to bring lift upgrading to the people, and mind you, WITHOUT any extra cost from the residents!… before he was finally blocked by HDB from carrying out his plans even further.
It pains me to see HDB charging residents whereby it is proven by Low that there is no need to…
It pains me to see HDB trying their means to bring discomfort to the people…
It also pains me to see people like you totally disregarding all the efforts put up by credible opposition like Low and Sylvia… and even try to discredit them by sprouting nonsense here.
Everyone… please… together with me… say no to nonsense!
singaporean
wp?,
i support you. finally someone is changing this into a more balanced platform. i was starting to think TOC is a WP website.
Charles Chee B B
This country’s achievements are contributed in part by the People and that includes the opposition , their supporters and even the rank and file workers.
Without the lower pay employees, no employers can survive. PERIOD.
This is just a simple example to illustrate the contribution of the ‘Joe the Plumber’.
I urge and suggest TOC or any blogger or organization to hold regular Contribution Acknowledgement Award Events to educate people to let them be aware that there are many people who contributed to this country.
I worry that the youths may not understand this or have wrong impression that the country achieved wahtever it achieved not because of them.
The Key is Repetition. Repeat more and they will understand. Have more events or articles on Contributions to the nation by the Joe the plumber as well as supporters of parties, for instance.
YODI
Finally the opposition has spoken. Well done. The time has come for the PAP to prove their worth and revert back to single seats instead of hiding behind GRC. Let the people vote who they want not what you want.
None of the present MPs who came in by the back door can honestly say they were voted in by the peopleas individuals. Have the courage to stand individually and sell your self to the public. Let us decide if you are capable of representing the people.
The next election will be the test of whether they are who the people wanted in. Dont hide behind the skirts of the PAP. I dare you to prove your worth. Rest assured the next election will definetly see more opposition voted in. i am very sure as the sun rises in the west and sets in the east so will the risen sun of the PAP be sent into obilivion. Rise up the OPPOSITION!
Jo
wp and singaporean,
are you saying that singaporeans should just accept whatever comes? WHAT kind of “talents” will we attract then?
PSC??
#34…
There’s no more public service mentality in the current bunch of cowards.
It’s time to change ‘Public Service Division’ to ‘Private Sukasuka Division’
What’s public? To these cowards, it’s now about MY high salary.
What’s service? To these cowards, it’s now about ME continue to control the people.
People have been moved to secondary place, and the cowards have placed themselvs high up to squeeze every drop out of the people.
btan
@81) Lee Kong Nan on October 15th, 2009 10.57 pm
The answer to your question is because of our electoral system. It is what they call first-past-the-post system. Meaning, winner takes all. Taking a purely academic scenario where we have 100 SMCs (for ease of calculations) and each SMC is won by PAP by a narrow margin of 50.1%. That means PAP will have 100 MPs (100% control of parliament) and a mandate of 50.1%.
So the losers basically have no representation. If all constituencies are single member constituencies, the likelihood of the ruling party winning every single constituency is very less. This is because opposition can place a strong candidate against a weak candidate (e.g. Sylvia Lim vs some unknown PAP MP) and most likely the opposition candidate will win.
PAP knows this ever since 1988. You can see the then results here.
http://www.elections.gov.sg/elections_past_parliamentary1984.html
If you study it, you can see many opposition members got around 40%. This means any time PAP slip, they will win those seats in the subsequent year.
That is why PAP came out with the GRC system on the pretext of minority representation but all non-stupid people know it is so that the weaker candidates can hide behind a strong candidate (usually a minister)
The GRC system is one of the many obstacles (but a significant one) that prevents near proportionate representation of opposition members in parliament.
Hence we have this freak result of 33.3% opposition supporter but only 2 opposition MPs to represent us.
I discount NMPs and NCMPs because NMPs are note voted in by the people and NCMPs cannot do any voting in any parliamentary laws nor can they manage a constituency (e.g. meet the people)
Watch Sylvia Lim trying to move a motion to abolish the GRC in front of a largely uninterested PAP horde.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WtdhJHBAF0Q
Look at their bo-chap eyes and then understand why we need more opposition up there to slap them awake.
This is also the reason why SDP is so unhappy and want to protest in the streets because they felt that with this system, there is no way they can win.
Unfortunately, there *is* a way they can win. All of the opposition parties need to unite under one common banner. This way, even the most sceptical or jaded of voters will sit up and take notice. Opposition supporters who pick and choose will also vote in a more united fashion. And naysayers will forever be silence. Unfortunately, that day has not come yet.
As such, as opposition supporters, we need to write to all the opposition leaders to ask them to form an alliance to take on PAP and wrestle a few GRCs from them. I have no doubt if an alliance is formed, they would win at least one.
WP so far has almost won 2-3 GRCs with high 40% votes. But due to our system, is still not good enough since winner takes all.
I hope this throw some light on how much uphill tasks the opposition has to go through given their very meagre resource.
Against it
During previous GE, PAP promised to achieve swiss standard by the year 1999, and it is year 2009 now, instead they come up with policies that impose huge HOUING DEBT BURDEN
fischerman
Hello Nainews or wp,
from your postings everyone already knew who you are, so shame of you,
have not answer all the questions posted by other blogger including me in thoer thread and now come over here and talk nonsense again.
You need to understand the circumstances the Opposition is going through, good example is the SDP, just by walking they are charged, what democracy are you talking.
All citizens here will agree with me that we will give credit to the PAP govt if what they did is correct and right.
From your posting will PAP introduce their new to be candidates to the public yet, and you say thay are doing the right things, nobody know who Lee Bee Wah is till she give her speech about jamban and recently the STTA saga, so tell us what good thing she did for Singapore or yishun south?
Don’t hide we know who you are.
Charles Chee B B
Has singapore attracted Whiz Kids , Child Prodigies , world record champions to become citizens?
Who are they, IF ANY?
木子三郎 Woods' III
80) wp? on October 15th, 2009 10.55 pm pap?,
PAP did more than give speeches, ….to all who seem so unhappy with the PAP, how would u run a country? will you ask opinion from everyone for everything? will you give your opposition space to grow? will you not try to plant your own people in as many positions as possible?
Dear “wp ?”
Please remember this, leadership is neither pleasing everyone nor self benefiting.
Thinking that PAP is perfect is like stuffed your ears to steal a bell.
This govt is average govt given they claimed that they are world class and take space-class salary
The recent recession, PAP had no solution, the GDP rebounced recently is riding on the wave of global recivery,
Sg did worst than many economies in asia in past 13 months, behind China, Hongkong, Taiwan and South Korea. and Sg’s rebounce is not ahead of theirs.
Many of 2006 GE are unfulfilled or broken, simply PAP did not see the dark cloud in the near horizon, all they care was to raise GST and Ministers’ salary and they claimed this as 2006 GE mandate, what mandate ?!?!
I don’t know how old are you, how smooth is your living, but do go out to see the lost job’s and thos efamilies who live below $2,500 a month, how many people still unemployed even with the halting of economic decline.
For past 5 decades, PAP ignored repeated calls to help local enterprizes, when will our Samsung, Huawei, Acer, Legend, Sony, Nintendo ever emerged ?
After MNC is still MNC investment, creating every 100 jobs only see 80 are filled by tyhe foreigners, the expats and PR.
Will govt every honestly publish these figures
1) What is the number of Singapore citizen less PR ?
2) What is the mean income of Singapore citizens ?
3) What is the effective un-employment rate among Singapore citizens
Perhaps, one day when you or your close relatives face difficultie slike many of those pushed out by the wrong econ policies and wrong immigrant policy, you will certainly talk a different tones…
Open your eyes buddy, see the world and look deep among your fellow citizen’s declining living.
samantha
80) wp?
“PAP did more than give speeches, no matter how bad u think their speeches were”
Yes, they certainly did more than mere speeches. Just to name two :
a. Instituting nepotism by planting “kakis” in positions that control state wealth, and in the process, also succeeded in wiping out BILLIONS of our hard earned reserve !
b. Disillusioning the ppl with a swiss standard of living that caused an unstoppable escalation in living costs, yet crushing all our hopes with the incessant influx of FTs/ FWs that caused a spiralling downward employment for the locals. And to rub salt onto our wounds, we now have to compete with them to be Cheaper, Better and Faster. CBF my foot !
mr. Mister
90) 木子三郎 Woods’ III – “90) 木子三郎 Woods’ III”
Well said 木子三郎 ! You have succinctly summarised the thoughts of the common man/woman, and who found absolutely no way to communicate such feedback to the leaders. Forget about the REACH thingy, they only want positive feedback so they can let their master know a job well done and so carry on to justify their million dollar salaries !
Yamamoto
80) WP?,
this country doesn’t belong to them only, it belongs to the people, thus inputs from the people should be seek….it is ok if you don’t ask everyone for everything, but it is not ok if you never ask some of the people regarding most of the important things.
Then let’s switch to a company context…what will happen when a company fails to seek input on customer’s needs? and plant incompetent people/yes man into position of power? If you don’t know, then let me point a gentle finger you for to guide you to look at GM…look at their current state….the former largest automobile producer been brought to its knees at it produces stuff that people are not attracted too and put identical people into its senior management.
“will you make perfect decisions every time?”
we understand that we are all humans and we do make mistake…but you seem to have miss the point. In the first place, if they have never boast about their extraordinary capability to justify for extraordinary paycheck, we would not have this expectation, but that’s what they did and they reap what they sow.
swisschocolate
[i]69) wp? on October 15th, 2009 8.25 pm
have you seen the state of other countries? in which country have you found your perfect government? [/i]
switzerland.. ever heard of geneva conventions? how about the red cross ok ok rolex watches if you are really really that stupid…even our highly over paid ministers banked with/on them……..
theforgottongeneration
Though not exactly a fan of WP, at least they are starting to engage the govt openly on issues. They should show their constituencies, the 17% (mandated 34%) voters and other Singaporeans that enough is enough – GRLs, HDB, PAP cry babies, etc.. coming into your house trying to act like your grandmother shoud be given the broomstick quick.
Isn’t it typical for the govt. to have different people from different depts taking turns to answer to any public issue? Maybe each is trying to justify for their high pay, to show that Singaporeans are in “good hands” with goons above them. No need lah, just be cheaper, faster, better and bag us a Nobel Peace award, pronto.
So, any opposition out there, show me some calibre and I will show you my vote!
Remember you are running against some PAP de facto and my cat.
Ren
Good, I’ll vote for Sylvia anytime over anybody – looks and brains, awesome!
The question is why are the “grassroots leaders” not reporting to the elected mps, ie Mr Low and Mr Chiam? How can a grassroot leader be effective when he does not even respect the wishes of the majority residents???
Going a step further, why is HDB playing politics instead of serving Singaporeans?
Oops, sorry, scratch the second question. HDB is headed by a PAP minister, and we all know how PAP likes to “fix” its opponents. Using our tax money.
Vote for alternative parties e.g. WP, SDA, RP and SDP. Better the weaker devil you don’t know than a strong devil that you know well.
leesjuanpat
Sylvia Lim further explained and exposed the bias answer given by the HDB. How can MBT side-steps the serious issue of bypassing the elected MPs of the two wards on LUP and give glory to the losers Sitoh and Eric.
This truely shows as Sylvia said, the PAP only wants the election results, insensitive to the feelings of the voters of Houngang and Potong Pasir who have chosen their MPs.
In many ways, the gahmen (PAP) has lost the total respect for themselves without respecting the electorates.
As a chinese saying goes : “Let us not play music to the cows.”
Zero
To #80 wp?
You said: PAP did more than give speeches, no matter how bad u think their speeches were.
Comment: What ,exactly, is the “more” you are saying in your statement?
Many people feel that the “more” refers to more “nonsense, bad policies, and miscalculated plans, more salaries to feed themselves, etc”… as a result of their incompetence and lack of creativity. Worst, the greatest sin, is they COVER UP and refuse to discusss mistakes. This is particularly clear in the last few years, I agree with you that there is no perfect leader who does everything correct all the time. But let me tell you this, singaporeans are actually reasonable people. IF the PAP were to humble themselves and sit down and discuss in a constructive manner (not talk down attitiude) things which failed, and express their remorse, I believe that they will begin to get more votes. Do you see the point? It is the attitude which sucks, not just only the policy per se.
The current issue of the lift upgrading is a demo of the high-handed attitude of PAP which draws flak. In the official response, the HDB used a word Government and government, one with and one without capital “G”, read the straits times again. They insinuated that the G is PAP but the g can be WP. This is ridiculous. WP, being elected MPs are part of the G. Therefore as a good loser, PAP should allow WP some space to carry out the LUP stuffs. I am utterly disappointed that PAP show such poor sportsmanship, and worry over such triviliaties. By not working with the elected MPs, and, instead continuing to bolster their two puppets in Potong Pasir, the PAP had made itself look lame, weak and insecure. A strong, responsible party should have no fear over letting Chiam see tong or Low TK handle the lift upgrading stuffs. Everything the PAP does is questionable these days, simply because they failed to communicate with themmasses, and every single one of their speeches has a default tone “YOU ARE WRONG, I am RIGHT”. This is extremely childish and unacceptable to any thinking person.
Finally i also comment on the issue of “Cheaper Better Faster”. I suggest that the MP’s take a cheaper salary. Sylvia Lim or any of the opposition MPs i think would be quite happy to have 50% of the salary of Lim Swee Say et al, yet deliver better performance, faster response and give more value. Say yes to CBF and please let us have cheaper better faster government leaders!!!
Zero.
Zero
LWL
wp?
I agree with your point that it is not the role of the ruling party to provide space for an alternative party to grow.
It is also natural that they want to surround themselves with like-minded people to protect their self-interest.
However, arrogance displayed by a party that has received the mandate from the people is not what we expect, is it?
Similarly, by manipulation of the constitution, and the curbing of personal freedom, the reliance of defamation and ISA, the ruling party has in my mind crossed to line, from merely protecting their own self -interest but instead to silence all opposing views and dissent, and to destroy them. This is morally wrong.
The confusion between state and party also makes it convenient for the party to tap on state resources to carry out political activities.
This is what is unhealthy about the situation today.
Quite unlike a situation where an organisation gains an advantage because it is better run and managed and therefore avails itself to greater amount of resources. In this instance, no one would suggest that the playing field was uneven, even though it the larger organisation would inherently have the advantage.
The ruling party already has this advantage, yet it still finds it necessary to further entrench it’s position through actions that go against the universal principles of fair play.
I believe no one is asking for the ruling elite to make the playing field favourable to the alternatives, but basic principles of fairness is necessary in any competition, including the political arena.
New Era
Sylvia Lim is a very capable woman. People who know here will attest to that. Why isn’t she elected.
Instead we have a minister like Lim Swee Say. The only reason I can think of that he is minister in the Prime Minister’s office is that probably both were in the boy scouts in Catholic High School. LSS looks more like he should be selling fish in a wet martket.
Robox
wp? on October 15th, 2009 8.25 pm:
Re: “..in the first place, [it's not] PAP’s job to nurture the opposition and give them a wide open space to grow.”
Neither is it the PAP’s job to actively seek out every opportunity to cause unwaranted HARM to the opposition.
That’s where Lee Kuan Yew – and obviously you as well – show that you are don’t only know where your own limits are, you are also not prepared to respect others’ boundaries.
It’s one thing to “not help” the opostion”; it’s an entiely diferent matter whan you cross the line and actvely seek to HARM the opposition parties.
Do you know the difference?
naninews
Eastendboy (#72) is the only one who speaks intelligently here. All others seem to be blinded with blindfold, praising one little letter from WP as euphoria. That’s the sad standard which opposition supporters have for the opposition. No wonder the opposition like WP feel they do not need to do more. Just one letter and look how their supporters fall over themselves with praise, behaving exactly like morbid PAP supporters.
It’s SO funny that while Low TK and Sylvia Lim LAMENT that the HDB did not let them announce the lift upgrading, at the same time LTK says he is willing to work with the grassroots advisers!!
How DUMB is that???
It’s the same thing as WP saying they do not support the NCMP scheme BUT their chairman is an NCMP!!!
Sigh. Opposition (and WP) supporters are so easily pleased. No wonder politics in S’pore is of such low standard.
naninews
Name me on concrete thing Sylvia Lim has done since entering politics.
Just one thing.
naninews
Oh, besides making useless speeches in Parliament which nobody gives a s**t about anyway.
*All those who ask me to read Parliament reports, you must be scrapping the bottom of the barrel.
*All those who ask me to read WP website must be dumb. Their website is a ghosttown which nobody visits. You mean ah pek and ah sohs also must visit their website to know what they’re doing? Hahahaaha..
singapore got talent
“if singapore lacks talents in the political sector, it’s because singaporeans are just impossible to please.”
In democratic countries, most people are demanding and difficult to please.
They protest right out in the open, have strikes that may cripple certain sectors for days (if not weeks) and their ruling have to sometimes ow and apologise (and sometimes resign) for stupid mistakes with the full glare of competitive media.
The strange irony is that these countries do not complain (or condition their people) that theirs lack political talents – simply bcos it is a no-brainer and as there is no dearth of people over there who are willing to do the job and take the heat.
Now tell me, who is more difficult to please. The people or the ruling elites here ?
Yamamoto
104) naninews
Have you ever read Romance of the Three Kingdoms? Just because the ideology of that 3 men are different, that doesn’t stop them from working together when the time requires it.
“It’s the same thing as WP saying they do not support the NCMP scheme BUT their chairman is an NCMP!!!”
Perhaps you are missing the point…if there is no NCMP scheme, perhaps she wouldn’t be relegated to that post as people may think NCMP is better then none.
104) naninews
When you point a finger at others, remember that 3 of it are pointing back at you.
Yamamoto
104) naninews
Name us the good concrete stuff that PAP has done since the last GE? Mean testing? increase in GST? losing reserves via fiasco….
sometimes we have to choose the lesser of two evil….to save ourselves if our leg is crush by a border and we will drown when the tide rises, we have to cut off the leg…people like you, who expect perfection is asking for something that is insubstantial
Andrew Chuah
16/10/09
Modern Singapore and her reserves (including surpluses) belong to all Singaporean citizens, and not the PAP who is only the government of theday (since her independence).
We must have credible Opposition MPs in Parliament who can give the PAP and its MPs a run for their money, knowing now that they have not lived up to the expectation of Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew. What we have now ie 2 Opposition MPs are not good enough and one is old and in his 70s and the other only cater for a certain sector of Singapore Chinese group which is not good enough. What we need are credibe Opposition MPs who cater for all Singaporeans and a good Opposition Leader who can lead them, and time to put a stop to the inflow of second and third class Chinese from China who I fear one day will over run us local and rule our Modern Singapore. What the Singapore Opposition needs is one who can lead them and give the PAP a run for their money.
Regards
Andrew Chuah
singapore got talent
“Eastendboy (#72) is the only one who speaks intelligently here. All others seem to be blinded with blindfold,”
open up the media & physical space (minus the move-on order), then you see who is blind.
“praising one little letter from WP as euphoria.”
open up the media & physical space (minus the move-on order), then you see how many letters or people with voices to make will start to slowly flood the whole environment.
“No wonder the opposition like WP feel they do not need to do more.”
Just measured and good calculated response will do. Other supporters will do the noisy part for them – simple mutual understanding. What do you think the internet is for.
“How DUMB is that???”
Perhaps, you are the really dumb one not to have seen through OR pretended to be dumb not to see through.
KanaSai
I actually agree with Naninews and wp? that being an NCMP, it is difficult for Sylvia to do anything concrete. I say we vote her in and see whether she can perform.
Singaporeans are noted to attend all the oppostion ward election rallies and then vote for the PAP for reasons best known to themselves.
Something is missing here – is it fear or they find that the oppostion can’t deliver?
We all know that 33% of the voters will cast their vote against the government come what may. The trick is to transform another 18% of current PAP supporters and convince to give the opposition a chance.
My take is that with the current high unemployment rate and unpopular high influx of PRs into the country, this could be the best chance for our oppostion to snatch victory in the next GE.
If they cant do it now, I don’t know when the right time will be.
NTUC vouchers
Last time, the NTUC vouchers were given out to the needy by the PAP advisors and grassroot leaders. They do it again this time. Lawless, Unconstitutional, No respect to the voters. COME ON PEOPLE, FIGHT THE ELITE FAMILEE.
patriot
The humble, simple, concise and most importantly, effective responses from Low Thia Khiang and Ms Sylvia Lim contrast with the dandy, conceited and lack of substance flowery claims and replies from Sitoh and the Authorities say it all.
To have the cheeks to claim credits from some vote-buying sophistries and acts(acting as in opera) and to be supported by their shameless master will only further damage their already doubtful integrities.
Why are the ‘talented’ lot so careless now? Or are they liked cats on a hot tin roof, desperate?
patriot
木子三郎 Woods' III
106) naninews on October 16th, 2009
Oh, besides making useless speeches in Parliament which nobody gives a s**t about anyway.
*All those who ask me to read WP website must be dumb. Their website is a ghosttown which nobody visits. You mean ah pek and ah sohs also must visit their website to know what they’re doing? Hahahaaha..
Naninews,
please behave like an adult when we write here
You refuse to see what opposition hve done for their consituents.
You refuse to visit their website
You failed to name what PAP MPs have done for the people in the Parliament
You only turn around and blast the NCMP.
It is ok to take side , in your case, for PAP
But it is sad to deny facts and refuse to see wider and further.
End of the day, you vote whom you like and others do theirs. but denying the weak representation of people’voice by PAP MPs, you are simply a foot soldier of PAP with no substances and data in mind….
Think about it
btan
@naninews
I think you are a troll but let me humour you.
[[Name me on concrete thing Sylvia Lim has done since entering politics. Just one thing. ]]
She has stood up as a candidate of an opposition party and represent the people, risking being “fixed” by the government. What have YOU done except hiding in your hole criticising such self-sacrificing individual.
She has received 58,593 votes in the last elections. Enough to make her an NCMP. How many votes have YOU received from the people?
[[Oh, besides making useless speeches in Parliament which nobody gives a s**t about anyway.]]
Part of the job of a Member of PARLIAMENT (if I can make this word 22 points fonts and bright pink, I will) is to make speeches, table a motion and vote on issues and laws IN PARLIAMENT. What else do you expect an MP to do? Sleeping in parliament like PAP MPs?
[[*All those who ask me to read Parliament reports, you must be scrapping the bottom of the barrel.]]
No, the thing we are scrapping is the bottom of your hollow skull. Apparently, there is no brain matter there. If you don’t want to bother with parliamentary proceedings, then you should no bother at all and go cry in one corner.
Oh, we did not ask you to READ parliamentary proceedings, you may view this in youtube…you know? the thing with moving pictures and sound? I think you are probably too lazy or brainless to even be able to do so.
[[*All those who ask me to read WP website must be dumb. Their website is a ghosttown which nobody visits. You mean ah pek and ah sohs also must visit their website to know what they’re doing? Hahahaaha.. ]]
Only people who can read and understand simple English need to visit the website. If you have reading and comprehension, might I suggest you attend and English class?
Ah Pek and Ah So, already vote for WP, cause they know WP will help them. Not some men in white with fat paychecks.
Like I said, I can only conclude you are just trying to be a troll, a PAP stooge or just someone who is simply still sleeping. In that case WAKE UP!
New Era
113) Gilbert Goh on October 16th, 2009 11.41 am
“If they cant do it now, I don’t know when the right time will be.”
=================================================
It is true that if the opposition don’t win more seats in the next GE, then Singapore is headed for a downward spiral. Without massive unemployment for locals and the ever increasing cost of living here, it is almost unimaginable that the opposition will fail to win more seats.
For my part, I used to believe all the BS of the MIW and voted for them in every elections. It was a Singapore filled with Singaporeans then, after all. Now there is a foreign invasion and everywhere I look I see an unfamiliar face. This coming elections I will be voting for the opposition, no matter how much cash they throw at me. If my case is anything to go by, then there is a strong chance that the opposition can with 5 or 6 GRCs.
Majullah opposition.
btan
@113) Gilbert Goh on October 16th, 2009 11.41 am
[[Singaporeans are noted to attend all the oppostion ward election rallies and then vote for the PAP for reasons best known to themselves.]]
Read my post (88) to understand the situation. I don’t deny those who attend the rallies, some are there just for the crowd. A lot are actually supporters like myself who came from all over the parts of Singapore. I lived no where near Aljunied and I went all the way there to listen to WP making speeches. Unfortunately, my ward is a walkover, so I can’t cast my vote at that time.
We can attribute all these 33% voters but only 2 MPs to the GRC system and the gerrymandering going on.
It’s like seeing a 12-aside soccer match. On the one hand, a team has 20 players and a very small goal post and 3 goal keepers. On the other hand, we see a team with only 3 players, no goal keepers and a goal post that stretches the entire field. Then some idiots will jeer at the smaller team for not performing while waving their underwear at the bigger team for “playing so well”. The election system is something like that.
That said, I know there are people who complained about the government but still vote for PAP. These people can only be slapped until they wake up. Some have confessed to voting for PAP in the past and regret it and vowed to vote for opposition in the future. Whether how many have woken up, is yet to be seen. I do not know how many voices here who support the opposition are originally opposition supporters or former PAP supporters who have jumped ship. (By supporters, I meant have voted or would have voted for that party if given a chance)
Perhaps TOC can do a poll to see how many are former PAP voters (or would have voted for PAP) and in future will vote for opposition.
New Era
A word of advice for those who will be voting in the coming GE.
Remember that for every dollar they throw at you before the elections, they will take back 10 times over after the elections. You and your family will end up struggling to pay the bills as the cost of everything shoots up skywards.
btan
@118) New Era on October 16th, 2009 12.18 pm
You are not the first former PAP voter who has said will vote for opposition in the coming GE. Let’s hope enough former PAP-voters will wake up to turn the tide. Even only one GRC won is already a tremendous victory for the opposition and will start the snowball effect.
Eventually, with an effective 2 or multi party system and hopefully the abolishment of GRCs and revert back to all SMCs, we may see a truly democratic Singapore and government and opposition who will work together, balance each other, for the good of all Singaporeans.
That day will come only if the coming GE one GRC is won by opposition. Sylvia Lim and her team has the greatest chance to win that GRC. I forsee the battle will be intense.
mr. Mister
Workers’ Party,
We wil definitely vote for you in the upcoming election.
Meantime, please prepare yourselves to represent the people in addressing these fundamental issues :
a. Justification for MILLION DOLLARS compensation package by the leaders, when it is obvious that our economy is tied to and influenced by the global markets rather than the achievements of the ruling regime.
b. Reduce the influx of FTs, FWs and to institute minimal wage for the low income groups.
c. Place the locas as priority when it comes to jobs offering. Forget about the protectionism shit, it’s just a smoking device by the ruling regime to deceive us into believing that foreigners will help to improve our economy.
d. Stop allowing PRs to own flats here. Doing so only create the artificial propping up of hdb prices resulting in upspiral of living costs. Public housing SHOULD be for the LOCALS only as they are built with our forefathers’ sweat, blood, talent and money. Why should PRs claim any of these ?
e. Stop investing tax payers’ money on the pretext of safeguarding our reserves. BILLIONS have been lost. Enough is is enough, and the reserves should rightfully be returned to the PIONEERS of our country, many of whom are still alive and who have contributed with their sweat, blood and talent to the coffers. Allow them to retire graciously and gracefully, instead of collecting dishes at hawker centres and food courts.
f. These reserves will then be managed by the PEOPLE and be distributed to all SMEs instead of being hogged by the GLCs, TH and other govt subsidiary companies. Money will flow within the country instead of being lost in overseas permanently.
g. Form a govt that is open, transparent and consultative. Forget about those useless REACH channel, they don’t work and are only seen as propaganda machines. Be more accessible to the common mass, not just the occassional show during charity drives on tv.
h. Lastly, LISTEN to the peoples’ heart, instead of blaming all as being complacent and thus must be cheaper, faster and better. Work with all, instead of having in-breeding nepostic practice that concentrate power within the inner circle. Remember, the govt is by the people, and for the people, not the other way around.
Yang
If everyone feel that this present suitation in s’pore is ok for you. Then Vote for PAP, if not, change side. Think about it not just for yourself but our next generations.
FriedKwayTiaoWithHum
120) New Era on October 16th, 2009 12.30 pm
“…..Remember that for every dollar they throw at you before the elections, they will take back 10 times over after the elections….”
New Era, we should be crying with joy if PAP only earns $10 for every $1 that it “gives” us.
For example, for the past one year, the electricity tariff was increased 21% then decreased 25% and recently increased 12.5% again. The electricity tariff increase for the past one year is 8.5% despite the oil price having fallen from US$130 to US$77 for the same period of time.
Another example was the increase of 2% GST from 5% to 7%. For every $1000 spend, we will have to pay $20 extra. Assuming a family “receives” $600 GST package from the PAP government and its monthly expenses is $2000 for necessities such as food, bills, transports, etcs, the extra per month is $40.
Hence, the GST package for the family will help to cushion the GST increase for slightly more than one year. However, the GST package is a one off event but the expense is not. Besides, the calculation has not taken into account other factors such as inflation.
These days, I will have sleepless nights when PAP announces it is” giving” out goodies to Singaporeans. How I wish I can opt out from goodies so that I can be exempted from all the fees hike that comes there after.
btan
@124) FriedKwayTiaoWithHum on October 16th, 2009 1.53 pm
[[These days, I will have sleepless nights when PAP announces it is” giving” out goodies to Singaporeans. How I wish I can opt out from goodies so that I can be exempted from all the fees hike that comes there after. ]]
You can. By voting in opposition. Once we have an effective two party system, the ruling party cannot anyhow raise GST without getting blocked by opposition.
See the beauty of a two party system? Stupid laws or laws that is detrimental to our citizens will not get rubber stamped. Government has no choice then but to engage the citizens and come to a compromise.
Think of PAP as the manufacturer who makes stuff and the opposition as the quality control. The poison and defective products (in this case policies) will not be released to harm us because the quality control will ensure bad stuff does not comes out. Right now we do not have the QC to do that and you cannot expect manufacturers to QC themselves.
naninews
HUH? I take sides meh? I support PAP meh? Hahaha. Opposition supporters are exactly like PAP supporters – CANNOT TAKE CRITICISM. LOL!
No one can tell me what Sylvia Lim has done since entering politics?
Everyone blind to Sylvia Lim and WP not supporting the NCMP but still have their chairman as a NCMP?????
What has Low TK done except to stay safely in Hougang?
What issues have WP brought up besides making useless speeches in Parliament?
How many people know of their speeches in Parliament?
Oh YAYAYAY!!! Blame the media lar. Media not fair lar. PAP not fair lar. Singaporeans don’t care lar.
Blame all except WP itself which is sitting on their asses for the last 3 years.
NAME ME ONE THING WP HAS DONE IN THE LAST 3 YEARS WHICH IS WORTHY OF MENTION.
NAME ME ONE THING LOW THIA KHIANG HAS DONE IN THE LAST 3 YEARS TO JUSTIFY HIS $13,500 MP PAY.
NAME ME JUST ONE EXAMPLE.
sweeney 38
Good on you Sylvia for speaking up. You give us hope!
It’s about time we vote out this bunch of imbeciles, only interested
in $$$$!!!!
Disgusting, Shamless lot!!
Fat Cats of Singapore
KPI
Well done Sylvia. You should run as single constituency candidate next election. Would love to see you elected as MP in government.
singapore got talent
“NAME ME ONE THING LOW THIA KHIANG HAS DONE IN THE LAST 3 YEARS TO JUSTIFY HIS $13,500 MP PAY.
NAME ME JUST ONE EXAMPLE.”
Why not you be specific a little bit. Tell us in specific words what you think LTK should have done to justify his keep.
wp?
90) fischerman “Hello Nainews or wp,
from your postings everyone already knew who you are, so shame of you, have not answer all the questions posted by other blogger including me in thoer thread and now come over here and talk nonsense again.”
wow. how is it possible u know who i am? and i don’t remember commenting on some other thread which i didn’t give answers to…
naninews
#129,
HUH? HUH? HUH? Low TK take the money and I have to say what he should have done to justify taking the money? Opposition supporters all so irrational one ah??
LOL!
No no no no. Low TK take the money, so Low TK must justify why he deserves the money.
Understand? Or else, Low TK should not take the money and sit on his ass all these years. LOL!!
naninews
Still no one can tell me what Sylvia Lim has done since entering politics?
LOL!! All just blindly support her because of one stupid petty letter complaining about why Low TK didn’t get to announce the lift upgrading? The letter is petty and whining about something so small when S’poreans are all so concerned about so many other issues.
WP prefer to score cheap political points. lol!
naninews
#129,
Why not you tell me why Low TK deserve the $13,500 monthly pay??
Better right? Since you’re sucking up to him. LOL!
btan
@122) mr. Mister on October 16th, 2009 1.00 pm
Those are good points. However, you should send them directly to WP. They can be contacted here.
http://www.wp.sg/wordpress/contact-us/
Or you can send them to Sylvia Lim’s e-mail. E-mail is stated in post 16 as is the link of all the CEC members which their individual e-mails are stated.
They may not follow all the points you mentioned out but I am sure they have noted some of the considerations.
joe
Naninews
By virtue of the fact that he is the MP, LTK is the chairman of the Town Council in Hougang. He takes charge of the maintenance and upkeep of the consitutency. He represents the opposition voice in Parliament. He is the “go-to” guy when the people in his consitutency faces difficulties.
Sylvia Lim being an NCMP recognised by the law, provides a check on the PAP and voice discontent about government polices.
I am not sure what your point is. If you are saying they do not deserve the MP’s allowance because there is no specific accomplishments, then the same could be said of the other PAP MPs in other wards. Or are you saying the the MPs pay is too high ? The fact that they are recognised by law to be either MP or NCMP means that they are there to serve a purpose.
Fiona Chua Mui Soon
singapore welcomes foreigners and also welcome them to be PR and also welcome them to be citizens. These are said to be good for singapore and its citizens. They provide human resource for companies to choose. Competition is Good for singaporeans.
Likewise, in a way Opposition is as benefitial as FT is to singapore. The more the better. But of course we expect only the best. Not so much in terms paper qualification as qualification of the heart. A heart that REALLY cares for the people. A heart that will ensure People 1st than Party 1st. No PLP. No Dangle giamchai. No Liars. No Gamblers. No Opaqueness.
Not that anyone is already like that.
singapore got talent
“HUH? HUH? HUH? Low TK take the money and I have to say what he should have done to justify taking the money? Opposition supporters all so irrational one ah??”
Supporters here are quite happy with what he is currently doing given the constraints that he (any opposition for any matter) is facing – which is good enough justification.
Hence, he just needs to build on the positive momentum (perception) that he is having.
Irrational ? Hey may you be directed to those ministars if you want justification ? Lest you create too much smokescreen here that we forget & begin to lose our focus. LOL.
“Understand? Or else, Low TK should not take the money and sit on his ass all these years. LOL!!”
Sure we understand. Perhaps you may want to play your part to convince the other 60+ %. Else, we will have to wait for several more years making further analysis on money & looking at asses.
Naninews' Dad
Naninews
You are simply a nuisane here, the lowest class of foot soldiers thyat PAP won’t wnat to hire .
Why don’t you ask those PAP MPS who also draws $13,500 and tell us what these 82 fellows PAP MPs have done for common people in the street ?
also tell us that there are 5 mayors who are all PAP MPS, and they are drawing $45,000 a month, what are they doing ?
Please, regardless of how much you like PAP but don’t abuse freedom of speech and easte the space here with your childishly talks
Lee Goh Lee
Naninews,
You are running from cover to cover and shoot from your hips
But you are cowardly avoiding answers
Let me pose you same set of questions I asked you in another subject blog, in which I asked you that :
Naninews
Please name us
1) How many PAP MP attend parliamentary session, in any one day
2) How many of them spoke for people or against the ministers’ harsh policies
3) How many of them table a bill for people
4) How many of them simply echoed what the ministers said, and
5) How many of them are voted in stand-alone, and not through back-door GRC
If u can rationally answer the above, then u are fit to question WP MP.
You can run but you can’t hide, let’s hehave as an adult, if you dare to throw grenade to others, you better have gut to answer questions.
joe
i wonder whether MPs have performance bonuses ??
Are whether there is a performance grade for them (just like the hawker stalls?) Ha Ha!!
Wouldn’t that he interesting to know how well or bad they score !! HA HA!!
steven
We were told by lky that the A team is running Singapore but they can’t even do the simple things right. Are we getting A Grade performance from them to match their A+++ salaries? Singaporean are being sold 3 for $10 durains as mao shan wang durians. Voting Sylvia into parliament won’t do us any harm as she can’t be worse than those faceless MP we currently have.
MrsGohPeeNuts
#135) joe
“I am not sure what your point is. If you are saying they do not deserve the MP’s allowance because there is no specific accomplishments, then the same could be said of the other PAP MPs in other wards. Or are you saying the the MPs pay is too high ?”
Totally agree with you. Similarly, what has MPs like Cynthia Phua accomplished ? Just name me 1, I mean singular ONE, feat that she’s done that is meaningful to the citizens and deserving of the $13K that she draws every month from the tax payer coffers ?
Sylvia should challenge all these MP lao cha bos to a tv debate and shoot them down one by one with her eloquence and objectivity.
MrsGohPeeNuts
141) Steven “Voting Sylvia into parliament won’t do us any harm as she can’t be worse than those faceless MP we currently have”
That’s an understatement. Voting Sylvia into parliament will do us great justice as she can easily outperform any of the useless MP we currently have.
U
Well if WP actually acted like an opposition party maybe they would be accorded more respect and would not have been stepped over so much.
Mati Diri
Just here to say that Mr Low Thia Khiang and Ms Sylvia Lim deserve every cent they are paid as parliamentarians because the voters have chosen them over other contestants/candidates.
In any case, it is morally wrong(constitutionally wrong as well, said some posters) for LUP, MUP and Home Improvement Programme to be used as threat, bait, inducement and blackmail to get votes. And it was extremely shameless when top man was involved in the Scheme.
Kudos to Mr Low T K and Ms Sylvia Lim.
YODI
” THIS IS IT” ! Sung to MJ latest song: This is it. The time has come to vote the PAP out of government. This is it, the people will speak come the next election and we will vote the opposition in. What has the PAP done for us and given us. We have high prices everywhere and in everything.
All they care for his their high pay every month and we have to suffer in silence. But no more we will not anymore take this from them. This is it. We all know the time for chnage has arrived. So lets all vote them out and show to them that we dare. Give us back our country our dignity and our pride. To be a better singaporean living in peace and in harmony. This is it. Do it now or forever we will regret that we did not exercise our vote to our freedom from the PAP. This it is. Make it ours now!.
teacherpet
[i]naninews on October 16th, 2009 3.07 pm #129,
Why not you tell me why Low TK deserve the $13,500 monthly pay?? [/i]
and your master leekuanyew deserved his monthLEE $100,000 salary
right? how much is YOUR ahkong earnin?
teacherpet
[i]naninews on October 16th, 2009 3.07 pm
No one can tell me what Sylvia Lim has done since entering politics?[/i]
and what is your master leekuanyew been doin lateLEE?
you know beside drawin his over $100,000/month salarLEE and free meals @ the instana..playin golf all day and travel overseas on sia flyin ambulance first class..who pay for the petrol? leekuanyew himself?
you tell us since you are so talented and very clever for a boy who just attained k2 graduation certificate…
naninews's doctor
naninews, please return to IMH and take your medication. And please stop disturbing these nice people.
naninews, as usual you are making no sense. And stop harping on LTK’s salary. He has done more than all those incompetent PAP MPs put together. LTK has spoken out for the people more than those clowns from the ruling party and I am sure he will accomplish great things once the people of Singapore put 30 more opposition members into parliament.
New Era
133) naninews on October 16th, 2009 3.07 pm
Why not you tell me why Low TK deserve the $13,500 monthly pay??
=====================================================
naninews, LTK and CST have have represented their wards very well. The people living in Hougang and Potong Pasir will testify to that.
As for me, I don’t have to justify to you or anyone else the opposition member I vote for is deserving of my vote. All I know is that the PAPies have made a great mess of things and from the mass influx of foreigners it is abundantly clear that they are not interested in the least in looking after the welfare of Singaporeans who voted them in.
Let me make it clear to you so that you understand perfectly. Anything is better that the present ruling party. I would vote for monkeys if the opposition fielded them to contest in my Sembawang GRC.
Time for Change is now.
Yamamoto
naninews
If you have pop by, gave constructive comment/criticism, people would have accept it…but instead you drop in here, shooting your mouth off illogically with out-of-point criticism, and you expect people to accept it?
how will you feel, if you invite someone into your home, and that person mess up your home and insult the people there by calling them dumb?
Please, before you criticize others for not seeing your point of view, you should know that 3 fingers are pointed back at you, as you don’t see others point of view and been thick-headed, defend your points even though they are not even making sense.
“NAME ME ONE THING WP HAS DONE IN THE LAST 3 YEARS WHICH IS WORTHY OF MENTION.
NAME ME ONE THING LOW THIA KHIANG HAS DONE IN THE LAST 3 YEARS TO JUSTIFY HIS $13,500 MP PAY.”
naninews, likewise we have return you with the question and you haven’t answer us at all….tell us what are the good stuff that PAP has done….increasing GST, CPF life, mean testing, TH fiasco, what are the good stuff? Likewise, the answer to your first question can be answered by what WP has not done. They didn’t take foolhardy risk and invest their sink funk compared to some MIW ward that results in lost of million. that’s worthy of mention…
I really wonder about your true ages naninews, using CAP locks…that’s ill manners.
Yamamoto
naninews
thank goodness you don’t have to plan an ambush or something along that line, lol, if not, enemies will know your intention from way far far away
Turn over a new leaf
hello naninews,
From the way a person put across his/her question and go about arguing his/her case we can tell if the person is losing the ground or not. How do we know? We have been “trained” by the PAP cowards elections after elections. For decades, one of the obvious things these PAP cowards do when they know they are going to lose the argument or run away from debates is tell white as black and black as white, and force people to take that as truth. In Chinese, we say: 颠倒四非,强词夺理。
We see this happen in your arguments and your questions.
Nevertheless, it’s still not too late for you to turn over a new leaf and support the Workers’ Party. Please consider to 面壁思过,弃恶从良,改过自新,支持工人党!
No Balls
“NAME ME ONE THING WP HAS DONE IN THE LAST 3 YEARS WHICH IS WORTHY OF MENTION.
NAME ME ONE THING LOW THIA KHIANG HAS DONE IN THE LAST 3 YEARS TO JUSTIFY HIS $13,500 MP PAY.”
Please ask the Hougang residents these questions, since they voted for LTK of WP. If you think LTK is useless, tell the Hougang residents to vote him out!
rwkc
Excellently put, Sylvia. Kudos to you.
You have our support.
patriot
The Senior Parliamentarians are drawing multi million SIN Dollars yearly and what have they done?
Give headaches, heartaches, disappointments and sicken the Citizenry!
Might as well vote them out in the next election.
patriot
rwkc
#156 patriot
“Might as well vote them out in the next election.”
I agree with you.
If it’s possible, we should vote AGAINST every papy candidate.
naninews
So, after all the personal attacks against me, no one can still answer my question? LOL!
Some throw the question back at me.
Some throw the question back at the PAP.
BUT NO ONE CAN ANSWER MY QUESTION ABOUT LOW TK AND WP.
LOLOLOL! This is why the opposition is dreaming and its supporters are pathetic.
Worse than PAP supporters.
naninews
I repeat:
Name me one thing, JUST ONE THING, of any significance which Sylvia Lim has done since entering politics.
Name me one thing, JUST ONE THING, of any significance which Low TK has done the last 3 years since GE 2006.
Name me one thing, JUST ONE THING, of any significance which the WP has done since GE 2006.
After more than 150 comments, NO ONE CAN NAME ME EVEN ONE THING????
LOL! Stop the personal attacks, people. You all look like *&^%$^&&*((
KanaSai
Seems like Naninews’s KPI hinges on proving his point that the opposition has done nothing for Singapore so far.
I say, we vote in as many opposition as possible and prove him right that they are a useless bunch…..
Brainless Bee Wah
nainews,
you failed to live up the challenge, don’t dare to answer questions and use vulgarity, u r disgusting
stop asking and start answering, u r nobody to question others without any spine to answer questions… @#$%^&*
Brainless Bee Wah
when people asked u to read wp site, to get all answers u asked, u avoid, that is coward to the extreme, naninews, get some sleep, see a IMH doctor, that helps
Yamamoto
Naninews, well, it may not be significant for you, but it is to me, as she has offered me very valuable advice, when she can just ignore me as i am not from Aljunied, but from a heavyweight GRC…and i even let her know when I was asking the question that I am staying somewhere else…
and yet, she has the heart to offer me advice and recommendation…which came way before my MP reply came…
So you ask “JUST ONE THING, of any significance which Sylvia Lim has done since entering politics.” Well, to me, she has shown me that she has the heart and is willing to help…perhaps i am lucky… but Naninews, what you didn’t see or hear about doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist.
naninews's doctor
Hi folks, please excuse naninews. He becomes hsyterical and throws a tantrum whenever he misses his medication. He is also know to utter a vulgarity or two or even more. Please ignore him completely.
naninews, come back this instance or I will send the medics.
Yamamoto
Oh, and naninews, perhaps you should stop blaming others for the personal attack, as the root seems to be from you…if you want respect from others, you need to treat them with respect first too?
and what did you do? you appear here and starting calling people dumb, displaying lack of etiquette/manners by using Caps Lock, and using “vulgarities” …so what do you expect from others? hugs and kisses? lol
naninews's mother
naninews, please come home lah, ah boy. Doctor said you need to take medicine. I already told you not to go the Internet Cafe. Got bad people there. See now, mama cannot sleep.
I already tell you hat Mr Low is an oppostion MP. He is not a Minister. Got difference one. Why you never ask what our million dollar minsters acheive. Why you pick on Mr Low.
An MP is first and foremost a representative of the people and accountable to those who elected him. His job is not to formulate public policies. Why must Mr Low help the PAP? His job is not to make the PAP look good. His job is to help his party win elections so that they can form the next government. Ask people in Hougang whether they think he is doing a good job.
Ah boy, stop asking people stupid questions. Only make you llok dumb.
Tell you truth, I also think Mr Low doing a great job in asking tough questions of the PAP.
>>naninews on October 15th, 2009 4.43 pm
Talk is cheap. What is WP going to do after all this talk talk talk??
Go back, sit in Parliament, take $13,500 per month and diam diam, guai guai sit sit.
Hi Naninews, that is why MPs who do that – sit guai guai and do nothing are twats who serve their own self-interests.
>>>>Name me one thing, JUST ONE THING, of any significance which Sylvia Lim has done since entering politics.
She did not win the useless NOBEL PEACE PRIZE!!!! But in all seriousness, dear Naninews, according to what I hear from others, she asked a neighbour if she was feeling alright. That was an old lady. A little gesture of kindness is a noble act.
>>>naninews’s mother ROFL !!!! :D
KanaSai
You all mean that Sylvia and Low TK only show sincere concerns for Singaporeans, represent their small day-to-day issues and raise the concerns of us ordinary citizens in Parliament like any decent MP are expected to do but 82 of them don’t??? Tsk Tsk Tsk….all the small and simple things that any MPs (except the 82 of them) should do anyway right?
You all mean they never formulate policies or make decisions like the famous policy of “opening the floodgate to all foreigners with 2 legs/2hands and your future depends on it immigration policy” and of course my favorite one “make mistake ok, get caught ok, just make sure you are on the right side accountability policy” ? No wonder people compain what Low TK and Sylvia has done….
naninews
Yep, as expected. The personal attacks continue. LOL!
No one can name JUST ONE THING of any significance which Low TK or Sylvia Lim or the WP has done these last 3 years.
That’s really sad. Opposition supporters prefer to sidetrack and make personal attacks instead. Is this the future of opposition politics? Is this how opposition supporters behave?
Nvm. I am ok with personal attacks because they just prove my point. ;))))
Bacarat
we should just ignore naninews, a simply runner dog of pap.
he failed to name anything the 82 PAP MPS have done for Singaporean and turn around to attack a ncmp, the more we respond the maximum attention this jerk will score,
Naninews is a fly in the summer, irritating and brainless. is this personal attacks, nah, naninews calls for it, and gets that. we shall move on.
Let the voters decide in next GE, but spread the right message and news of opposition which mainstream starits times and zao bao will publish.
every 5 years, pap tigthtens theit claws on Singapore, we will be shame to face otehrs in teh world if this abuses is allowed to go on.
Yamamoto
Yup, 171) Bacarat, you are right, and you know what, this reminds me of the saying “empty vessels makes the most noise”
When people state what contribution the 2 has done, Nani will just cancel it out either because his mind don’t register information or to him, those are simple not contribututions…
so Naninews, what contribution Do you expect from them?
Yamamoto
Naninews
“That’s really sad. Opposition supporters prefer to sidetrack and make personal attacks instead. Is this the future of opposition politics? Is this how opposition supporters behave?”
That’s really interesting! You expect people to gave you an answer, when some one ask you a question, didn’t you do the same thing? Side-track and make personal attacks? and let me see, won’t you the first one who started it? even calling people dumb? and now what, you are using this to attack readers here…
“Nvm. I am ok with personal attacks because they just prove my point.”
you have to be ok with it, but actually you aren’t, since you keep whining about it…but boorish, uncoath person should expect attacks on them, since they invite it with their behaviors.
If you, naninews, have come in here, offers constructive criticism instead of baseless ones, and speak in a nice manner, instead of using cap locks and “vulgarities” this wouldn’t have happen.
Look at Apek, people argue with him for his view, but nobody do personal attack on him….so you reap what you sow, young one
FriedKwayTiaoWithHum
159) naninews on October 17th, 2009 12.42 am
naninews said: Name me one thing, JUST ONE THING, of any significance which Sylvia Lim has done since entering politics.
I say: Sylvia Lim had spoken against the self-serving fat cats from giving themselves a big pay increase. She would have voted against it, if she is allowed to vote. Agreed that some PAP MPs also spoke against the huge minister pay rise but at the end of the day they voted in favour of it. Now that’s hypocrisy.
naninews said: Name me one thing, JUST ONE THING, of any significance which Low TK has done the last 3 years since GE 2006.
I say: Low TK was against the self-serving fat cats from getting fatter and voted against it.
naninews said: Name me one thing, JUST ONE THING, of any significance which the WP has done since GE 2006.
I say: WP is against the self-serving fat cats from giving themselves a huge pay increase. WP’s MP has voted against it in parliament. JUST THIS ONE THING is enough for me to vote for WP or any opposition parties at the next general election.
naninews,
your behaviour is just like the stray dogs on the streets, barking incessantly to attract attention and causing annoyance to anyone that come within its view. The more attention anyone gives the stray dogs the louder they will bark.
There are many ways to remove stray dogs, but a faster, better and cheaper way to get rid of all the stray dogs from the streets is to send them to Lim Swee Say ,who will train them into obedient dogs.

Sylvia Lim has nailed it again. Her reply put PAP members to shame and her arguments apt & down-to-earth. This show how humble alternative party can be by not trying to claim credit but to highlight the flaws & discrepancies committed by HDB. Such flaws now became a tool used by PAP to garner votes and display arrogance to the exteme.