Main Stories, Ravi Philemon, Top Story - Written on Saturday, November 21, 2009 8:20 - 57 Comments

Casinos, the Internet and the sex trade

Breaking News:
Former CEO of Ren Ci, Rev Shi Ming Yi, has been sentenced to 10 months jail for fraud. (AFP
)

Ravi Philemon

Ms Kaelbel-Sheares  is looking forward to serving the rich and famous at Marina Bay Sands (MBS) as its director of Paiza (MBS’ club for premium players) and VIP (food and beverage).

She recounted  an incident when she was the director of butler service at Las Vegas Sands’ The Venetian and The Palazzo resorts, when a hotel guest wanted to throw a party with bar service and a deejay for 40 friends – within half an hour. In such places, money is no obstacle – and money is what everyone is there for.

Anyone who has ever been to Las Vegas understands that prostitution is part of the culture in “Sin City”. Anywhere big money, like what is found in Las Vegas, is involved, those looking to make a quick buck will flock to it. This is not limited to men but also to women. .

It is highly likely that major prostitution rings which feed off the casino entertainment industry will make use of the fact that Singapore is the most wired nation in the world – with broadband penetration rate hitting 99 percent here –  to set-up highly sophisticated but  shady businesses which will thrive here.

As far back as 2001, a saleswoman in Chinatown told Agence France Presse (AFP) that every weekend she sees “China-born girls, all dressed-up, going to the KTV lounge upstairs with old uncles in their 50s and 60s”. A China-born student allegedly told AFP in the same report that Singapore men are like passports to a better life.

In 2004, there were reports of women being involved in vice activities in an effort to financially support their children’s studies in Singapore schools, with dozens being arrested in police raids at massage parlours and foot reflexology centres.

Then in 2007, the evening Chinese daily Lianhe Wanbao reported the story of online advertisements appearing on MediaCorp’s classifieds website,  mocca.com,  of female students masquerading as escorts to offer  sexual services.

One need not be diligently seeking to find Cecilia at Singapore Model Escort, who is touted as a “beauty with a brain (and) an undergraduate student”. Her  going rate is $1000 per hour.

The ease of anonymous advertising offered by the internet will  fuel the explosion of prostitution. Posting low or no- cost ads on services like sammyboyforum and Hi5, prostitutes no longer have to walk the dark, red-lighted, back alleys.

If The Ridge’s (a National University of Singapore Students’ Union publication) report on the liberal attitude of the undergraduates towards sex is taken into account, with the trend towards promiscuity and an unquenchable thirst for materialism, the student sex trade, facilitated via the internet, should come as no surprise.

Although some students resort to selling sex because of  their personal  debts, most young people are not poor. They just want money to buy things.

Casinos will always try to sexy-up their entertainment to ensure that the gambling dollars don’t walk out of their doors.  As for the party-tourist, he expects prostitution and sits in the casino bars all day looking for it.  They will also surf the net to find women who offer such services conveniently.

It’s all a simple economic equation, demand equals supply. Someone will find a way to provide what people want. Who cares if they are mere students.

——

1. A false necessity: Singapore’s maid trade
  2. A key maker and his dying trade
  3. Foolish talk of regulating the Internet (again)
  4. Human Trade – the scams in Singapore and Malaysia
  5. Advisory council proposes further liberalisations of the Internet

57 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Pimp-to-be Soon
Nov 21, 2009 9:12

Once the casinos have settled in, Singapore will become a SIN City.

Now we are seeing China girls doing prostitution in Singapore.

With the influx of foreigners to take up Singapore PRs and Citizenship status relentlessly encouraged by our leaders, in a few years time, we will see the reverse picture – Singapore girls and young men doing prostitution while the China girls and boys become their bosses.

That will be the best legacy of the PAP government in the history of Singapore.

Robox
Nov 21, 2009 9:49

Re: “Anyone who has ever been to Las Vegas understands that prostitution is part of the culture in “Sin City”. Anywhere big money, like what is found in Las Vegas, is involved, those looking to make a quick buck will flock to it.”

I don’t know if this will ever come to pass in Singapore, but if the American experience (at least) is anything to go by, drugs, guns and violence (including gun violence) could well be part of the scene.

But then again, this is “high class” vice, so I might be wrong especially about the guns and violence part, though not the drugs.

mon
Nov 21, 2009 9:56

This is the least of worry.

The worst is what if even having the casino, we still don’t make enough monies to feed PAP.

You sure or NOT
Nov 21, 2009 10:43

Well, if you can see, the election is timed after the opening of the 2 casinos, and so much increases in various forms of taxes, the report cards are going to look good. I bet the ministers’ pay would be reviewed increased two fold to $6M+12 months discretionary, which means they can get more than $10M annual, that is also besides the numerous directorships and private ventures which they have vested interest.

Anyway, you voted for it, so dont complain lah.. they always “MOVE ON”.

David
Nov 21, 2009 10:50

Casinos are failed project. It makes Singapore worse and not better. Years ago pap sang & argued about how much jobs it will create for Singaporeans and how it will benefit Singapore. Now, it appears they have created jobs for foreigners instead and our jobless rate remain high. Such are bad policies they wish to sweep under the carpet but we will remember, just like telling us 2% GST hike to help the poor and still we see an influx of charities begging for donations, Charties show, Lego bricks, president’s night…and many more to come on TV soon. So where does the 2% GST hike gone to? It is knowing the immediate salaries hikes totalling billions for all ministers add-up, certain CDC members get their 8 months bonus, to pay someone & his family for his expensive french cooking lessons, for ho jinx to loss our billions and even millions loss under TC management. So are we getting a good bargain from expensive ministers or they getting a good bargains from the republic people? God tells me not to trust LKY and I believe it.

patriot
Nov 21, 2009 11:06

When a city has to resort to vices for survival, its’ destiny is sealed.

It is like a woman resorting to prostitution for there is no other means for her to survive.

patriot

Been Laden
Nov 21, 2009 11:59

I’m not a blockhead for sure.

Nothing is fixed in stone – “Change” even Obama says.

There are casinos almost everywhere today near & far to collect revenue for the state to build infrastructures, pay public servants, etc.

Get real lah. Millions are lost when S’poreans go almost daily on gambling cruises, to Genting (Islamic Malaysia), Batam, etc., to punt.

Our casinos come with hotels, shopping arcades, amusement parks, restaurants, etc. A blend for all.

Why not? Catch the millions of wealthy rich mainland Chinese who love gambling. Presently, they go mainly to Macau & Genting cos China’s has no casinos (how long more can the Chinese government take it is anyone guess).

On balance. I think. And I say “YES” to the IRs with casinos.

Any other solutions to generate jobs and revenue for the country in this tough world today? Words are CHEAP lah. Anyone can talk cock. Right?

idiosinguppo
Nov 21, 2009 12:10

singapore has progressed so much. Its shocking.
Majuhlaj!!

XIIIblackcat
Nov 21, 2009 12:20

1) Will the rich and famous flock to Singapore in the first place?

commentator
Nov 21, 2009 12:40

That’s how our govt create jobs for the FT – by building casinos.

Yes – it will generate many jobs for loan sharks, money lenders, debt collectors, prison officers, pimps, lawyers, doctors, nurses, social workers, funeral directors etc…. What a way to boost our domestic economy!

Spore Sprout
Nov 21, 2009 13:34

For a Qing-dynasty Chinese perspective on casinos in Singapore circa 1887, see http://sporesprout.blogspot.com/

gambit
Nov 21, 2009 13:34

welcome to the basic economics of demand n supply.
next

dd
Nov 21, 2009 13:49

@9)

exactly… Stop living in a Utopia, recognise the real world.

There is bound to be vice. Legalize it…Time to recognise it.

Out-of-ideas
Nov 21, 2009 14:10

Can anyone tell me who and when one of the ministers in Singapore ever said”"If Singapore ever needs a casino, we are bankrupt oo ideas.” Was he Lim Kim San or Goh Keng Swee some 30 years ago?

tomb raiderz
Nov 21, 2009 14:15

The 3 pillars look like ….

in the name of the F, M and the H Go.

btan
Nov 21, 2009 15:26

The sex trade have been thriving in Singapore for decades. It started with the “legal” brothels in geylang and Malaysian prostitutes, followed by southeast asians prostitutes (mainly Thais) in orchard towers catering mainly to expats and western tourists.

The real “boom” was when our government open our countries’ door wide open and a massive influx of PRC girls came in to do brisk businesses. Other SEA girls (e.g. the Philippines) also came in en mass to bolster the number in OTs.

I’m not sure but similar things probably happened to the Indian community with Serangoon Road, catering to the mass number of single construction workers in Singapore. Some FDW (i.e maids) also moonlight as prostitutes (my own block had a maid who had Indian construction workers queuing for her services in the day time when her employer and majority of the neighbourhood was out to work, she was later found out due to a neighbour who was working at home noticing the men waiting outside all the time)

So, while casino itself possess problems to our society, namely increased gambling addiction, I do not believe increase in prostitution is one of them. One need to simply go to sammy boy’s forum to see the massive number of prostitution activities going on in our little island, long before the casinos start their business.

Botan Botock de Buttoc
Nov 21, 2009 17:04

I think what Ravi meant by prostitution is of course not when the trade started.
It prolly started thousands of years ago.
What he meant could be that the Casino will attract High Class Casino Prostitutes. This is High Class babe.
Btan may be too junior to know.
Anyways, these high class ones do not lehlong like what btan may see at Serangoon or Geylang.
These are Freelancers, University undergrads or grads working partime from their fulltme office jobs.

Why would people sell their souls a naive may ask?
Well, many highly educated people sell their souls everyday, unbeknownst to the naive.

The simple short answer is GREED, MONEY. Of course some do it out of desperation.

Alan Wong
Nov 21, 2009 17:33

By interviewing a potential employee whether they are prepared to work in a smoking environment, it appears that the IR casinos are already bent towards breaking one of our laws even before they have started. Either that or our Govt is going to grant them an exemption to allow smoking in a public air-conditioned enclosure.

As for the Vice trade, if there is a willing buyer willing seller, do you think our Govt will care ?

Enigmatic
Nov 21, 2009 18:05

Casino aka the other types of cash- SIN city liao once both of them are up – whose legacy leh ?

tiredman
Nov 21, 2009 18:18

You will never know there will be more supply of sugar daddy around. How will my kid (esp girls) be affect or influence by this? How certain can one be that such situation will not happen.

Chua Bai Bai
Nov 21, 2009 19:38

What an achievement!
Who presented this idea to our leader huh?
Which smart one?
Can we have a name pls?
3 cheers for progress!

Talk to my sexy face
Nov 21, 2009 19:40

Whose daugther will become the next ….. erm i mean casino idol?

Citizen of Sin City
Nov 21, 2009 19:52

When a country (or city according to Shanmugam) has to resort to casinos, it worse than an individual who is addicted to gambling.

An individual at least can be restrained by being put in jail but a country cannot.

An individual at least cannot gamble continuously for 24 hours a day, because he needs sleep and rest, but a country can gamble continuously 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

An individual can lose all his money and have no choice but to stop, but a country’s greed for money will make it want to collect more and more money from the gains and taxes made through all forms of gambling.

An individual can commit suicide if the Ah Longs are pressuring him to return the money he borrowed to finance his gambling habit, but a country needs not worry about committing suicide for owing money; all it needs to do is increase taxes and think of schemes to suck out more money out of its citizens.

Therefore, with the opening of the casinos (under the guise of Integrated Resorts), Singapore will not doomed but many Singaporeans will be!. Yes, Lee Hsien Loong’s dream of “A City of Possibilities” is materialising! This will be his legacy to go down in Singapore’s history for the future generations to savour.

Singapore will become a vibrant City of Sin with lots of spirits (evil spirit, alcoholic spirit, gambling spirit, winning spirit, suicidal spirit, fun spirit, drug spirit, prostitution spirit, violent spirit, etc.) but without souls.

May God save our souls.

Brendan
Nov 21, 2009 20:29

WELL DONE TOC! FINALLY!

Thanks for shredding light on the casinos in Sg. For too long, this issue has elluded the lime light. This pet peeve is finally given the attention it deserves.

btan
Nov 21, 2009 21:41

@17) Botan Botock de Buttoc on November 21st, 2009 5.04 pm

[[Btan may be too junior to know.
Anyways, these high class ones do not lehlong like what btan may see at Serangoon or Geylang.
These are Freelancers, University undergrads or grads working partime from their fulltme office jobs.]]

I think you are the one who may be too innocent to know. Your so called “high class” working ladies are very much active in sammy boy’s forum (see third picture in the article above) hawking themselves.

You want to know real high class pros? How about those selling to visiting royalties? Enough said.

[Why would people sell their souls a naive may ask?

Well, many highly educated people sell their souls everyday, unbeknownst to the naive.]]

LOL, no, I won’t consider prostitutes as selling their souls. They are merely selling their bodies, which is really an honest trade, if you look at it from a certain angle. The real people who soul their souls are those working for PAP.

[[The simple short answer is GREED, MONEY. Of course some do it out of desperation. ]]

Money makes the world goes around. I’m a skeptic. Everyone has a price. When that price is met, they will sell anything.

Tua Kee Spider
Nov 21, 2009 23:11

Growth at all costs?

Gambling & Addiction & Shattered lives
Nov 21, 2009 23:16

A 4th pillar building should be Erected next to the 3 asap to Honor the talent who Architected if not Masterminded the Casinos of singapore.

Surely a human was responsible for the glory?
The ideas could not have come from a Hum right? Must be a Human.

honkitongman
Nov 21, 2009 23:26

Is it just me or is it not true that
MBS have been announcing they have so many thousands of job openings since at least like a year ago and recently if my ear serves me well, i heard on radio they still have thousands of openings.

Kind of a puzzle to me.

But I know that many thousands of people ever applied to MBS since long time ago. I wonder how could it have so many thousands of job openings again and again?

A Tan
Nov 22, 2009 10:51

My beef has been that casino is 20+ yrs too late.

Shows that PAP talk of being pragmatic is BS. They just as ideological as the CCP or USSR.

Eina
Nov 22, 2009 21:45

At poster #16 said, prostitution has been in Singapore for years already. Even in 1982 there was The Strip, Bugis Street, Red Lantern, Jockey Pub, Geylang, etc.

Anonymous Coward; Cult of the common sense
Nov 23, 2009 9:48

Not to be a fear monger here but it is almost for sure that the cons outweigh the pros with the construction of two casinos in Singapore. As a society, we are already facing problems with addicted gamblers and families in ruins. Who is to say that all that government “ads” about how gambling is bad for you is helping society in the long run? The argument which the government proposes, a levi for Singaporeans whom wish to gamble in the casino stinks of an utter lack of thought process in the passing of this regulation as a hardcore gambler will find ways and means to get that money. Cheat, beg, steal. Sounds familiar? I thought so. How much more Singaporean blood do we need to spill before we realize how futile this is and how we are setting back out own country in many ways? I urge those reading to consider.

With an increase in outlets for large scale gambling; mind you, this isn’t your average 4D/Toto shop in the neighborhood. These are places where almost every single betting game can be found and with that, be prepared for an increase in crime as people attempt to feed their addiction and for females, prostitution. It saddens me that we are sacrificing our citizens and our individual souls on the pretext of “growth at all costs; actually just to make the GDP look good” just to feed the greedy hands of a few at the top.

To those with daughters, my heart goes out to you if she’s a rebellious kid. The influence of the media and society will shape one’s mindset from young and quite frankly, this place is lacking when it comes to educating the young. We brought up an entire generation which have not learnt anything else except learning how to memorize the data from books which are to be regurgitated during the exams just to “get ahead”. I wish you luck in educating your young. This in turn, with all the vices which are flowing into Singapore will indeed have an adverse effect on those whom are born into such a place and with time, will accept that this is a norm of life. That is what we should fear. Giving the impression that such vices are a norm of society. They aren’t. How does one protect their young from undesirable vices? Don’t ask me. I didn’t come up with this stupid idea of having 2 casinos and all of it’s vices within walking distance! Perhaps, more TV ads would do fine. /sarcasm

To the government, your policies, plans and foresight is astoundingly shocking and stupid as each day goes by. In a country where the people are living with suppressed wages, large influx of foreign workers are brought in to destabilize the social fabric and to keep wages low, do you actually think having a casino here will save anything? If any, all it will save is your pay check for you look good on paper and the GDP. We already do have massive problems with loan sharking and gambling, yet, you are unable to stamp those out and today, we are looking at the creation of 2 casinos at the same time on this island. However, remember this. A country is not a country without it’s people and in this place, it’s eroding fast.

I leave you with the following quote of the day,
All that is necessary for evil to succeed is that good men do nothing. — Edmund Burke

singapore boy
Nov 23, 2009 10:38

sin city = singapore
That will the the new name not garden city.
Prostitution, loansharking, gambling and other activities will be prevalent in singapore.
What a nice place to live in.
Where you can get competitive rates for hookers, illegal loans and under singapore Case.
what a wonderful place to go.
Spend all your money on sex and gambling.
That where singapore is heading.. down into the gutters.
To pay for multi million pay for ministers, civil servants.
Who cares about the average folks like me and you?
When they have collected enough, they go to USA ( like Devan Nair- previous president of singapore) or other countries.
Leave their “leagcy” here, the average folks that paid for their emigration.

Lee Kam Chia
Nov 23, 2009 17:22

Bros and Sis,
get ready to vote with our conscience.
IF you have never done so before.

winstoncheng
Nov 23, 2009 17:36

Gamblers, small or big time are the same in one aspect. They are compulsive. When the high rollers lose all that they have (on them), they would want to borrow for another shot to recoup their losses. Hence, the presence of big loan sharks. And we are not talking about the Geylang `Ah Longsan’ type but big triad operations from overseas. How they operate and the crimes they perpetrate will be beyond what our law enforcers are capable of handling. High powered triads under the guise of big time overseas businessmen will be a regular feature in our beloved `Clean’ city and more high powered people in office will be bought to protect their turfs. Good luck : )

QQY
Nov 23, 2009 17:45

As if Singapore does not already have enough vice – we will soon have 2 casinos (masquerading as a family integrated resort and a biz integrated resort) to add to it!

Prostitution is inevident in such a case- is that why we have so many ‘FTs’? To take on the profession as prostitutes??
Soon we will overtake bangkok as the city for pros. No 1…just the way was always like to be in everything.

Prostitution is never right morally – there’s just no 2 ways abt it. It’s simply an easy way out to make a quick buck – by selling yr body.

For those who think otherwise – ask yrself: would u still think it is ok if your:
mother, sister, friend is the prostitute??

Oh Holy
Nov 23, 2009 18:18

BUt so many Sg girls are already pros….look at the number of pretty escort girls lol all locals…

Joven Naipong
Nov 23, 2009 21:40

18) Alan Wong on November 21st, 2009 5.33 pm

“As for the Vice trade, if there is a willing buyer willing seller, do you think our Govt will care ? ”

There is a difference.
The Casinos can present a new opportunity for high class prostitution.
There are singaporeans ladies who may be tempted by this new opportunity.
These are those who do not like to be seen in the city as its not convenient. Doing it in the casino areas , which is less accessible to the general public due to the expensive entrance fees, may be a safer way for them. In the day, they work in the office. At night, they do freelance. Highly paid by the hour.

With Casinos so accessible in terms of distance, many ladies now have new opportunities to earn extra income discreetly and earn fast money like never before. This is because Casinos attract high rollers, the very rich. Where being rich not necessarily mean you are a good person.

tiredsingaporean
Nov 23, 2009 21:51

36) Oh Holy on November 23rd, 2009 6.18 pm
BUt so many Sg girls are already pros….look at the number of pretty escort girls lol all locals…

Lau Lee says our female citizens would become maids should the opp takes over power from the papees. Now it seems no need anymore, even papees still holding on to their power, our sg girls already becoming playmates for the rich.

agongkia
Nov 23, 2009 22:44

Why do you people link the word prostitutes to female only?You all not worry that our singapore men may also landed up as a “M P” meh?

Brendan
Nov 24, 2009 11:21

The ISA, set up a long time ago wasn’t designed to handle loansharks, only communists and terrorists and other organised crime. They never foresaw this as a problem. Why?? Because gambling was illegal back then. Either the mistake was legalising gambling OR another co–up by WKS and team. Take your pick.

gambling and gaming
Nov 24, 2009 11:49

Casino or IR we be ready in 2010.

how we minimize the effect of casino on the evil side is a technique which need to master.

gambling is rampant in Singapore now, the amount of money we spend on legal and illegal betting in football, toto and 4D should be publish regularly.

NCPG should be gear up and improve the reach to out to all citizen in Singapore.

We should be dicsuss on NCPG to see if we are ready for the casino

what is your thinking of the NCPG, just look at the logo NCPG and visit to the website you know that they are not professional run.

nothing wrong with prostitution
Nov 24, 2009 12:47

As long as the prostitutes (male or female) are entering the trade happily and willingly (e.g. some enter the trade not because they are poor or in debt but because they want to gain more money faster), there is nothing wrong with prostitution, philosophically and morally speaking.

It is good that the profession of prostitution is legal in Singapore though prostitutes are not allowed to solicit for customers in the public.

Matilah_Singapura
Nov 24, 2009 15:06

Prostitution should not be prohibited. As long as trade is voluntary, it is the same as any other business transaction.

If there is one thing th sg.gov has got “right” is that they allow prostitution to be legal.

The “absolute moralists” — feminists, knee-jerk jerk ideologues, religious wing-nuts et al are all entitled to their opinion. What they are not entitled to is to ram prohibition through the law books.

Keep your hands off my dirty mind! What I do with my genitals is none of your business, and if your daughter is over 18 it’s her business entirely too ;)

btan
Nov 24, 2009 15:51

Prostitutes are human being too. Before you judge, take a look at this article.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/8361557.stm

As for casinos, what we need to focus is the real damage to society. That is how gambling addiction will tear apart homes and contribute to high crime rates. Imagine now loan sharks are running rampant. What will happen if the casinos are opened? It will be a golden age of loan sharking. I would not be surprised if by then the police will be bought off by loan sharks (especially if some of the police goes gambling and end up to be heavily in debt)

Dong Fang Zhi Foo
Nov 24, 2009 23:49

who knows, this casino may create job opportunites for say , Models.
I mean people may ask for cat walks in casino areas what.
what u thinking?

Matilah_Singapura
Nov 25, 2009 9:08

> what we need to focus is the real damage to society <

"We" need not do anything. Dude, I think you've been drinking too much of the collectivist kool-aid. There is no such "thing" as "society. It is an idea which resides only in the mind.

What exists in the OBJECTIVE reality is REAL individuals — men, women, childrem, transgendered.

Sound of Silence
Nov 25, 2009 13:42

To
Ravi Philemon & others

“It is highly likely that major prostitution rings which feed off the casino entertainment industry will make use of the fact that Singapore is the most wired nation in the world – with broadband penetration rate hitting 99 percent here – to set-up highly sophisticated but shady businesses which will thrive here.”

“In 2004, there were reports of women being involved in vice activities in an effort to financially support their children’s studies in Singapore schools, with dozens being arrested in police raids at massage parlours and foot reflexology centres.”

>

Sorry, people like you and most Singaporeans are NOT qualified to pass judgement on the morality or otherwise of what you call VICE ie prostitution in this case.

This is the MORALITY OF MONEY and people like you are part of it……….

As noted by a poster, prostitutes make an HONEST living……..unlike the likes of bankers who sell you financial products in order to boost their bonuses and profits knowing that you, the customer is just a sucker. Same with insurance agents, housing agents, even doctors, lawyers.

Matilah_Singapura
Nov 25, 2009 15:40

> what we need to focus is the real damage to society <

"We" need not do anything.

Dude, I think you've been drinking too much of the collectivist kool-aid. There is no such "thing" as "society. It is an idea which resides only in the mind.

What exists in the OBJECTIVE reality is REAL individuals — men, women, children, and the transgendered.

I agree, prostitutes are * individual human beings * too. That means, in the absence of coercion, the vast majority of women (and men) who decide to rent their bodies in exchange for payment do so VOLUNTARILY.

If they are conducting their chosen PRIVATE enterprise peacefully, and conduting their enterprise on private property with the owners' consent, then neither you, nor I nor the government should do anything to prevent them from SERVING THEIR CUSTOMERS TO THE BEST OF THEIR ABILITY.

In other words, it would behove you to mind your own business, just as the whore, harlots and pimps mind their own.

Realist
Nov 25, 2009 15:56

The casino has already started many “new” services. I do not know if it was a planned move but lately we have sudden increase of licensed moneylenders offering personal loans.

Years ago there were only a handful of licensed money lenders who basically provided business loans to trusted clients. The general public had to approach banks and back then they were limited personal loans on offer by banks, mainly education and renovation loans. Now we have so many offers from banks and approval is within the day and you do not need to provide a reason for borrowing money.

Now its even better, if you cannot get a loan from the banks, you can always turn to your friendly ah long san turned licensed moneylender.

Singaporespirit
Nov 25, 2009 16:36

Singapore ROCKS! I mean ROTS!!!!

Stranger
Nov 25, 2009 17:30

@46: ‘honest living’ aiding the cheating of another.

Shady Enterprises
Nov 26, 2009 9:41

The sex trade has already started in a secret enclave in Sentosa. Filthy rich people have started visiting the ’special hotel’ for a fling, enjoying themselves with specially-catered ’services’.

My friend, who is a security consultant, had told me of such happenings. One recent case happened just before the APEC Meetings went like this:

One filthy rich dirty old Arab even wanted to have a go at a young PRC Chinese girl, employed as a chamber maid, who is quite pretty but decent. According to my friend, this dirty old man seemed to have molested that chamber-maid girl. She then ran out of the room crying, and happened to meet my friend who was doing some checks around at that time. My friend asked her why she was crying. She then explained the whole situation to my friend. My friend then went into the room to tell that filthy rich dirty old man off – explaining to him politely that the girl was not for sale (sex), and if he wanted sex, there are people who can provide him with. That dirty old man was furious for being ticked off. He wanted to lodge a complaint against my friend. My friend told him that there are house rules in place, and subtly counter-threatened him that he would expose his secret flings to the whole world if he did complain. Then that filthy rich old Arab backed down his threat.

I wonder how many of these gross misdemeanors are going on in the shady places of the high society of the filthy rich and cowardly powerful. How many innocent girls are being forced into the sex trade? How many families have suffered the agony and irony of pain and the need for survival?

Matilah_Singapura
Nov 26, 2009 11:28

@52

The reason sex industries are “shady” in certain countries is because it is either that professional sexual services are prohibited, or that there is no clear “policy” which makes it legal.

Compare the US and Canada: In the US, prostitution is illegal. In Canada it is legal. In the US it is “shady” and in Canada — although still discreet on the individual level — it is out in the open (relatively speaking).

If professional sexual services were made clear, misunderstandings like you mentioned would decrease. I doubt if it will disappear — it is not uncommon to find that rich men from male-dominant cultures assume that their money can buy anything — especially when they are in a foreign port, far away from the prospect of social ostracism which would probably make them think twice before behaving like a sexist boor at home.

j
Nov 26, 2009 15:20

43) Matilah_Singapura,

i agree with you. willing buyer willing seller, i don’t see the problem unless the prostitute is underaged or coerced into the business.

Anonymous
Nov 27, 2009 18:59

They ask you (O (Prophet) concerning wine and gambling. Tell them: “There are grave sins in both, although there are (some) benefits (also)for the mankind. However, the sin (and the harm incurred)by them is greater than their benefits.’ And they ask\you concerning what is it that they should spend. Tell them, ‘That which is in surplus.’ Thus does Allah make, clear His commandments in order that you may consider (all aspects). (Surah Baqarah 2:219)

loop
Dec 3, 2009 12:43

Chinese loves to gamble. If you don’t operate a casino in Singapore, the people can always go somewhere else.

rottoy
Dec 11, 2009 0:53

if u just go to the web n search, u will be shock at how many of the singapore teens r freelancing(prostitution) and of cos from 1 of the famous site, u can see the pimps marketing the local teens. u will be shocked to know the exact numbers of local teens offering service. ANd many of them cite the reason for doing it is to pay for their private degree. So probably, if u r getting a wife, make sure she’s not from a private school.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook

Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments

It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan

More In Uncategorized