Friday, November 13, 2009 10:20

Goh Chok Tong: The pioneer bond-breaker?

In Gangasudhan, Main Stories • 3,479 views • 29 Comments

Gangasudhan / Photo courtesy of country-data.com

Speech in 1990 seems to suggest that the SM had technically broken his bond in 1964 – albeit temporarily

ONE SATURDAY EVENING ALMOST 19 YEARS TO THE DAY AGO, then First Deputy Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong illustrated the difficulty of getting top talent to enter politics by sharing his own experience when he first graduated in 1964.

“My first choice after graduating was to be a professor. I wanted to do a PhD. So I signed up as a Research Scholar at the Singapore University. Two weeks after I started, the Vice-Chancellor called me up. He said that the Government wanted me to work in the Civil Service as an Administrative Officer. ey would not release me. I was then under a five-year bond, because of a bursary I received. I was put in the Economic Planning Unit. I worked there for about one year, until I saw an advertisement by Shell. I applied. After a series of interviews and tests, plus a lunch where they observed how you behaved socially, I got the job. They also gave me a loan to pay up my bond. So I resigned from the Civil Service, brought forward the date of my marriage so that I could go for my honeymoon before starting on the new job, and happily went off with my wife to Malaysia. Halfway through our honeymoon, I got a telegram from Shell: Come back immediately. I thought they needed my services immediately. Instead they told me that Dr Goh Keng Swee had expressed unhappiness over their taking me. They would still take me in, nevertheless, if I insisted on joining them. I sensed their reluctance. So I returned the loan I took from Shell, and went back to the Economic Planning Unit. Later, I was seconded to NOL. I was very happy there. I thought I had found my niche in life.”

Goh Chok Tong

17th November 1990

NTUC Income Day 20th Anniversary

The story unfolds rather haphazardly, as though the then freshly graduated Goh Chok Tong had not sought clearance from the Singapore Civil Service (SCS) before enrolling in the postgraduate course, and again, as though he had not properly severed his ties with the SCS before approaching Shell for a new job.

Also, the chronology of the current SM’s career also raises eyebrows as it appears that he may not have wanted to be in the Civil Service in the first place. Piecing together the available information, a pattern emerges as follows:

• 1961 – accepts bursary to study at NUS (possibly as a Colombo Plan scholar)li>
  • 1964 – graduates but tries to defer entry into the SCS by enrolling himself in a postgraduate course but is denied permission and told to start work immediatelyli>
  • 1965 – breaks bond, resigns from the SCS and joins Shell, only to succumb to pressure, renege on the decision and return to the SCSli>
  • 1966 – secures a fellowship to study at Williams Collegeli>
  • 1967 – returns from sabbaticalli>
  • 1969 – seconded to NOL but is still a staff of the SCS li>
  • 1970 – resigns from the SCS and takes up a permanent role with NOLli>

Although scholarships were in existence in Singapore since the 1800’s, it was only in 1960 that public service bonds were instituted – incidentally just a year before Goh Chok Tong began his tertiary education.

“In 60, the Government decided to require all scholars to serve a stint in the public service upon graduation. I suppose that is when the PSC bonds began.”

Lee Hsien Loong

25th July 2009

PSC Scholarships Award Ceremony

Thus the circumstances seem to suggest that the young Goh Chok Tong in 1965 could have very well been one of the first few – if not the first – to have broken a civil service bond in Singapore.

class=”MsoNormal” style=”line-height:150%;” align=”left”>References:

Gale Research Inc. (2008). Volume 6 of Encyclopedia of World Biography. University of Michigan. (Portion on Goh Chok Tong’s biography is reproduced at tp://www.answers.com/topic/goh-chok-tong)

Lee, H. S. (2009). Speech at PSC Scholarships Award Ceremony on 25th July 2009 at Shangri-La Hotel – tp://www.news.gov.sg/public/sgpc/en/media_releases/agencies/micacsd/speech/S-20090725-2.html

Public Service Commission. (2009) History and Evolution. Accessed from PSC website at http://www.pscscholarships.gov.sg/SCHOLARSHIPS/History_and_Evolution.htm

The Singapore Cabinet, Mr Goh Chok Tong –a href=”http://www.cabinet.gov.sg/CabinetAppointments/Mr+GOH+Chok+Tong.htm”>http://www.cabinet.gov.sg/CabinetAppointments/Mr+GOH+Chok+Tong.htm

First DPM Goh’s revealing speech in 1990 is available online at
tp://stars.nhb.gov.sg/stars/tmp/gct19901117.pdf

1. TOC apologises to Ms Stephanie Chok
  2. Strengthening the marriage bond
  3. Undergraduates help married couples bond
  4. Seeing stars: Uniquely S’pore – Equality
  5. Low-wage workers better off, now everybody worse off?

29 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

good research
Nov 13, 2009 10:37

would his daughter be the first quitter from Singapore?

A Tan
Nov 13, 2009 10:51

So what if he broke bond?

He rejoined civil service, albeit under pressure.

His fate to be PM between the two Lees.

patriot
Nov 13, 2009 11:15

May i say that we should not involve SM Gohs’ daughter in the discussion here and elsewhere.

We should and must be fair to treat her as an independent person from her parents and siblings,especially when she has never involved herself in our political matters. She has even migrated, showing that she does not have much love for anyone here or this country herself.

It is extremely sad that parents’ deeds invariably get their offsprings and even their(politicians’) own parents into blames. This is unfair and uncalled for unless they are actively in defense of the politician(s).

patriot

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 13 Nov 2009
Nov 13, 2009 11:18

[...] education – TOC: Goh Chok Tong: The Pioneer Bond-Breaker? – Singaporean Skeptic:Generous Singapore Scholarships for University Students! Too good to be true? [...]

Swiss Standard of Living Dreamer
Nov 13, 2009 11:22

Goh Chok Tong was a wise young man then. Cannot beat them, join them lah.
And finally got himself a niche in the “Establishment” of the PAP, and ultimately become its Commander-in-Chief from 1990 to 2004.

Well done, SM Goh! We need your leadership at this hour of darkness and increased sufferings by the masses. We are also still waiting for your “Swiss Standard of Living”.

Please make a come back vigorously for the sake of all the peanuts in the Little Red Dot. Yes, you can do it. May the force be with you forever and ever!

New Era
Nov 13, 2009 11:24

Later, I was seconded to NOL. I was very happy there. I thought I had found my niche in life.”

So it is okay for him to break a bond but not lesser mortals who want to pursue their passion. Okay for the elites but not the peasants.

sgcynic
Nov 13, 2009 11:48

A hilarious title

Ryvyan
Nov 13, 2009 11:51

3) patriot:
When you advise us to stop bringing the daughter into discussion, I’d expect you to stop at that?

I dislike that migration is such a dirty word that is so directly linked to “not having love for anyone and the country”. I want to get out of here for other reasons which not even the love for my family and friends and country could justify.

Pioneer Quitter.
Nov 13, 2009 11:55

Yes, and we’re waiting for the next article about the pioneer quitter.. his daughter?

Loser is who or loser is as the loser does?
Nov 13, 2009 12:21

Interesting article.
Very refreshing.
Thanks TOC! some more , its free.

What Change?
Nov 13, 2009 12:37

If I remember correctly, GCT’s daughter (or her company) was the organizer for the S’pore Art Festival in London some years back. Wonder if there was a public tender.

patriot
Nov 13, 2009 12:50

Hi Ryvyan:

Thank You for your response.

I meant to say that there was/is no love strong enough to keep her rooted to SIN.

Anyway, i will be more mindful of my words in future.

My apology.

patriot

missile
Nov 13, 2009 12:59

A TRUE SELF-SERVING AND HYPOCRITICAL LEADER

KUDOS TO THE PAP FOR GETTING TOP TALENT LIKE THAT TO JOIN POLITICS

starchaser
Nov 13, 2009 13:01

[i]His fate to be PM between the two Lees.[/i]
what fate? he was supposed to be the crashed dummy BETWEEN the 2 LEEs..
off course without a doubt…he act blurred dumb and deaf..defeatin lauLEE dream by a miles…he could have still been the current prime minister if he so wished to…

mike
Nov 13, 2009 13:44

13) missile on November 13th, 2009 12.59 pm ,

i agree with you totally…

bond, shaken not stirred pls
Nov 13, 2009 14:16

Eeee, the picture so pale look wan.

Political SalesMaN
Nov 13, 2009 14:47

Swiss Standard of living Dreamer.
I remember GCK & LKY has said: The Swiss take Three Hundred Years to create Swiss Standard of living. We can only take thirty years to create it. Now is Fifty Years, It makes Singpaorean Dreaming. Never mind no Swiss standard of living.
we have Gracial living. Eat Bak Chang, Yew Chia Kuay. Mee Rebus, Kuey TOTO.
Mee Siam Mai Hum

Bad Leadership Shows Bad Examples
Nov 13, 2009 17:12

If a person can easily breaks a bond with the government without even any second thought, except under pressure, he can also break all his promises such as “Swiss Stand of Living”, “More Good Years’, “Gracious Living”, “Growing Old Graciously” and all the other promises, is it not?

When a leader has no qualms nor restrains in giving labels to his fellow Singaporeans, calling them names such as “Quitters”, “Losers”, “Whinners”, etc., then a day will come when fellow Singaporeans will repay his debt with similar labels such as “Peanuts”, “Wooden”, “Dead Wood”, “Seat Warmer”, “Balls Carrier”, “Hypocrite”, “Sycophant”, etc., is it not?

george
Nov 13, 2009 18:54

I call such a ‘leader’ a puppet, with strings attached to the old man.

Political SalesMaN
Nov 13, 2009 20:32

When the baton was pass on to him, he didn’t care to change the system.
That’s why is big Boss call him “Kayu.
That’s not enough, we shoulds call him “Gila-Tiga Suku Orange. Ting Gah Gee.
Seow Ren-Sam Pak-Tong Gong-Sar Buai Sek—–Chia Sala Yok—–Boh Now–See Liow Boh Ren Chai—-See Beh Chow——Car Chng Boh Moir—-.Car Chng Boh Bak

Political SalesMaN
Nov 13, 2009 20:37

Thirty Year to create Swiss Standard of living. It for themself (PAP Ellistes)
not for the People. Thirty Years their Bank Account accumulated with )))))0000000000000000000000 zero, Cannot be detected. One press on the computer it bust into flame.

Ang Mo Quee
Nov 13, 2009 20:42

Patroit : Why not Mother like Indian very much.
Daughter like Ang Mo, nothing wrong isn’t it?

agongkia
Nov 14, 2009 1:12

20)Political salesMaN
Your “Ting Gah Gee”reminded me of my grandfather who used to say that when he is angry.Not many people ever heard that,I believe.I have heard of all words you use ,But what is Tong Gong?

mike
Nov 14, 2009 13:17

19) george on November 13th, 2009 6.54 pm ,

ya, he is indeed a pupper. the junior is no different as well….

Politicial SalesMaN
Nov 14, 2009 18:30

agonkia : Tong Gong is the same meaning with Ting Gah Gee.

spirited-centred
Nov 14, 2009 23:15

Singaporeans are worst off have to be bonded for scholarships, now foreign scholars getting LKY scholarships no need to be bonded to civil service but just to be obliged to become Singapore Citizens. That’s how native Singaporeans are treated.

PoliticalSalesMaN
Nov 15, 2009 19:54

agonkia : I miss out one more character words for U. It Call “Chen Sin Kow”
That’s mean when the dog is awake it will bite the owner. Now U got it

agongkia
Nov 16, 2009 8:37

27)PoliticalSalesMan
Thanks for the sharing.

zeroth
Dec 8, 2009 12:41

I am rooting out for SM Goh! .. he is my fav PM so far .. hahaha i liked his speeches and gentle touch ..

*Frantically washes away mud thrown on his image..*

Leave a Reply

Comment