Andrew Loh

“Whichever place we contest, it will be minister-specific. Not at the personal level but at the policy, ministry level. It’ll be ministry-oriented,” says the National Solidarity Party (NSP). Revealing the party’s General Elections strategy to The Online Citizen, the NSP says that one weakness of the opposition parties in Singapore in battling the ruling People’s Action Party (PAP) in past elections was their lack of focus on specific ministries and their policies.

“This time round, [we’re] not really choosing Tampines per se,” says Mr Goh Meng Seng whom the party has appointed the team leader for the area for its contest in the next elections. “[We’re] choosing the minister of the ministry, instead.” The minister for National Development, Mr Mah Bow Tan, is one of the five Members of Parliament for the Tampines Group Representation Constituency (GRC). “This will be a change in focus in our election [campaign],” Mr Goh says. “We’re questioning the policies of the ministers and whether the voters want to have such policies under [their] charge.”

One of the main issues for the next elections which the NSP will be fighting on will be public housing and the costs of HDB flats. Thus, the party intends to question Mr Mah’s housing policies.

The party believes HDB prices will make a big difference to how the residents in the GRC vote.  “Tampines is a semi-matured estate,” Mr Goh explains, “with young voters – in their 20s – who will be looking to get married and to buy a flat. The high housing prices will have an impact on this group of voters.”

The NSP’s president, Mr Sebastian Teo, explains why high flats prices do not benefit flat owners. “If they sell it and buy it again, [they’re] going to incur heavy financial costs.” Higher HDB prices is not going to benefit the 80 per cent of Singaporeans who do not own more than one flat or house, he says.  It only benefits the 20 per cent who do. “Majority of Singaporeans should know that this is a problem for them, and not those who own more than one house. The 20 per cent will be happy. If I have two houses, I will be happy. [HDB prices] can go up to one million [dollars]. I sell my HDB [flat], I’ll still have my private house.” But for the rest, they cannot re-mortgage their flats to cash out the value.

The party feels that the government’s housing policy is defective and is fueling the current rising prices of HDB flats.  The question of whether the government should intervene, therefore, to quell the current red-hot housing market is moot. “Rather than [ask whether the government should] intervene, I think the policy itself is flawed,” says Mr Goh. According to him, the structure of the public housing policy, including the way flats are valued and the pricing mechanism, actually makes prices rise. “So, the intervention of the government right now actually [is causing] this problem.  They should re-examine the whole system.”

The group of party members was at the Tampines Street 11 wet market and hawker centre on Sunday morning to sell the party’s newspaper, North Star News. Sales was brisk as residents, who were out doing their marketing or having their breakfast, gave their support.  “Brother, I see you again,” one resident said to the party’s secretary-general, Mr Ken Sunn, as he was making the rounds at the tables.

“The ground is ok,” says Mr Teo. He is heartened that residents are more willing to buy the party’s newspaper now.  As a sign of encouragement, he cited the sentiments on the ground about high HDB flats’ prices. “PAP [retained power] because of HDB,” he explains, “and PAP [will go] down also because of HDB. This is what people in the markets say.”

The NSP, which was founded in 1987, has contested Tampines GRC five times but has never won. Its only presence in Parliament since the party’s creation has been the Non-Constituency MP (NCMP) seat which was given to Mr Steve Chia in 2001. However, this has not deterred the party, which intends to contest three GRCs – Tampines, Jurong, Jalan Besar – and three Single-Member Constituencies – Yio Chu Kang, MacPherson, Nee Soon Central –  come the next elections. Party members have been working these areas since the last GE, says Mr Sunn, with their weekly door-to-door visits and visits to the markets and hawker centres.

The next elections will see 12 NCMP seats created, up from the current provision for 9. How will this affect the NSP? “We will proceed as normal,” says Mr Teo. “It’s only 3 seats more. We’ll go back to the constituencies which we contested before and we’ll see how the situation develops.”

For Mr Goh, he is not interested in contesting any SMCs. Instead his focus is on “break[ing] the fortress of the GRC”. “Only then can you effect change, within the rules,” he explains.  “[This is because] the PAP always reacts to changes. The only change we can make is when the fortress fall, they will think of something else.” So, is his Tampines team ready for the elections? “My team is already formed,” he says “but I’m not going to reveal it.” He gives two reasons for his reluctance to reveal more about his team –  when the elections will be called and whether Tampines will remain a 5-member GRC or become a 4-member one. PM Lee, in announcing the changes to the political system recently, had said that the sizes of the GRCs will be reduced. Because of these two uncertainties, the NSP does not want to raise the public’s expectations, Mr Goh explains.

As the party gears up for the elections, it is working on its manifesto which, Mr Sunn feels, needs to be updated. The party is also in the process of setting up its Youth Wing and recently recruited some new members, including former Workers’ Party candidates in the 2006 elections, Ms Lee Wai Leng and Mr Abdul Salim.

The Online Citizen asked the NSP’s sec-gen, who is one of the founding members of the NSP, what he thought of Prime Minister Lee’s performance in the last three years since the 2006 elections. “I think his performance is credible. I find that he has mellowed considerably since taking over [as Prime Minister],” Mr Sunn says. “He is facing the reality [and is] having a difficult time. We sympathise with him. However, the issue of cronyism still comes up once in a while and that is something that [the PAP] has to dispel.  We foresee that he will continue to lead the party for one more election, health permitting.

“We don’t see much change in the PAP make-up. However, we do definitely see change in the opposition’s presence in Parliament because now we’re better-organised, better focused and more dedicated.”

——

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

102 Responses to “NSP to adopt “minister-specific” strategy in next elections”

1. Same outcome lah 15 November 2009

Whatever strategy the opposition take, I think the main problems for them are as follows and will most likely not resolved by the next election.

1. Not enough credible or new candidates. Most are the same old recycled faces. Hence 50% walkovers. Make voters feel no confidence already even before the battle starts.

2. Even if there are, credible alternative isn’t built overnight. Since last election, what happen to opposition “growth”? They still remain quite stunted. And political strength is not a 1 or 2 credible man show.

3. 66% of the voters are quite OK and happy. They are not so much affected by the PAP policies or external factors because they have good income, had bought their flats cheaper earlier or are doing good business or have big savings to retire on.

That’s why I predict the next election outcome will be not much different from previous elections. Singaporeans are serious and realistic when it comes to the vote. They will still choose the lesser of 2 evils.

And those who believe Singapore has no future have emigrated already. Or at least planning to.

2. y goh meng seng, lee wai leng & abdul salim left wp and join nsp?

3. This policy=ministry=minister centric staregy is refreshing and a good one.
    Education, Tpt, health and housing issues are the pain the people will feel most, thus MOE, MOH, MOT, MND are good targets.
    Lesser impact if they go for MCYS or MEWR or MFA or MOF or MINDEF.

4. But I wondered if letting the cat out so early was a wise stategy.

5. 1) Same outcome lah

/////Singaporeans are serious and realistic when it comes to the vote. They will still choose the lesser of 2 evils.////

The “by election effect” strategy has been proven to be the cure to this problem you raised. It must have worked superbly to the extend that by elections are now extinct in SG. Add this to the ministry- centric statregy proposed in this article, and we may have a winning formula.

6. You sure or NOT 15 November 2009

I talked to a taxi driver almost 65, he said government always take money from us.. what gst credits etc…. And then i said, because we voted them, so we endorsed their policies. Then he said, yeah boy…. they doing not a bad job, how can we compare to philippines and indonesia???

then i started to question him:-
    1. you only look at yourself, you almost near retirement, has a house, driving taxi to make bonus income, of course you dont feel much. how about your son and daughter?

2. can they afford hdb? now our hdb from $400k to $700k and those jumbo size is $1.2M. you must leave your house to them, otherwise they have no place to live. agree or not? he said yeah.. how huh? my house only 4 rooms… if they marry, big issue, no space.

3. our multi million talents: you heard about those billion losses.. yeah.. woah that pm wife lost so much. this is why they may not be able to pay our returns, so need to raise prices ie hdb etc. i thought we have the best talent? what talent? all friends and families.. yeah lo.. but no choice what?

4. we are always comparing to indonesia, philippines, but we are first world living standard, did not they compare our pay to swiss, london or new york or even japan? wages keep coming down, how come their wages keep going up?
    this is unfair, but no choice..

5. did you owe them a living like they always claim we depend on them for almost anything. what bullshit, i drive to pay and pay…. only gst credits … but they raise everything that few hundreds all gone very short time.

6. our erps/transport/electricity/water amongst world highest… i know but what to do, their pay so high.. so need to get from us right?

7. you think how come sudden few years so many PRCs and Indians given citizenship. you know or not? i see them by thousand at serangoon, causeway and many other remote areas. but now government said it is very strict on control. but how come only after they imported so many?? dont know leh… i say its for election votes – agree or not? what to do.. need to win at all cost.

8. gst to be 10% after next election – are you sure or not???!!!! i cannot afford la.. things already so expensive..

9. hdb lost 2B: you believe the price of hdb now so high and they are losing more? dont know leh, the news say so, so i believe. when they were selling 150k to 300k, the losses not so big. now they selling 400k to 1.2M, the hole is bigger? real or not… dont.. know, news say so. now you made me wonder.

i am old liao, i got house etc but my son and daughter, dont know how. but you still vote pap right? now i am wondering after you told me this but i have house everything.. but my kids will have big problems.

Conclusion: a lot of old folks are contented but they are very short sighted and they dont realise until you discuss with them item by item.

7. And for this strategy to work, OPP must not be just lots of hot air. OPP must present upfront an alternative policy to replace the unpopular policy of Ministry being targetted.
    OPP must organise ground feedback on what alternative is really wanted by the people, and present that as their platform.
    This earlier this work get started the better.
    Once the direction is clear, more will join in the support of the OPP, if not now, after they are in.

8. 6) You sure or NOT

Not all that are old are short sighted (not literally). You should also have conversation with 65 years old school teachers, bankers, PMETs. Maybe at the end of the conversation, you too will be enlightened.

9. 6) You sure or NOT

/////i am old liao, i got house etc but my son and daughter, dont know how. but you still vote pap right? now i am wondering after you told me this but i have house everything.. but my kids will have big problems.////

Have you ever wondered what will happen to all the flats these old guys own when the leave this world?
    They have in their hands the solution to their children’s housing problem. It is a matter of if the children can accept the solution.

10. You sure or NOT 15 November 2009

9) KopitiamApek – a lot majority of Singaporeans cannot afford pricey hdbs, high cost of living with miserable pay.

Old school teachers, bankers, PMETs are rich, they dont bother. Most people are selfish like you, never spare a thought for our middle and lower classes.

MM said people want food, dont want democracy, freedom of speech/press. Its damn wrong. When people are civilised and knowledgeable, they want to participate and speak in decision making processes. If people want only food, we need to go back in time, Emperor Qin wants to live forever and wishes his family and friends can rule forever – make Singapore the 14th dynasty, which is looking like it.

11. It could be becos GMS, Wai Leng and Adbul Salim felt that WP is very much still a Low Thia Khiang’s party, not Workers’ Party.

12. Yamamoto 15 November 2009

We didn’t inherit this world from our ancestor, we owe it to our children

So we need to make sure that we pass to them a good singapore…

13. John Tan 15 November 2009

The only way to fight the mighty PAP is for the opposition to contest every seat.
    Only with every seat contested will the marginal apathetic voters be forced to take the election issue very seriously and not simply put the cross on the PAP square just becasue voting is compulsory here. If these marginal voters know that their votes are very important and can determine who the new government will be, they will have to consider carefully the consequences of their voting.
    So, the opposition must be untied and coordinate their fights well so as not to result in three-corner fights. This is the lesson we must learn from Malaysia where a united opposition of even the very diverse parties of Pakatan, PAS and DAP could knock down the mighty UMNO.

14. 10) You sure or NOT
    ////Old school teachers, bankers, PMETs are rich, they dont bother. Most people are selfish like you, never spare a thought for our middle and lower classes.////

In a sentence, you sentenced half the population of singapore to a life of being selfish.
    And the rest are short sighted.

Are you in the optician trades?

BTW, please read my post again

15. Sure easy to talk John Tan 15 November 2009

Mr. John Tan, it is sure easy to talk.

The PAP had already put in the laws to make raising funds so difficult for the small parties. How much financial resources do the oppositions have?

No way they can compete in all seats. You want to be the sugar daddy?

16. 12) Yamamoto

Yes agree.
    And the current generation of youngsters have a lot more from their parents than what their parents got from their parents.

17. John,

Thank you for sharing your strategy.
    However, I do not subscribe to the idea of going to war simultaneously in all fronts given the limited resource.
    The men will all die a miserable and futile death.

18. NSP,
    to convince the people to cast their vote against PAP, isn’t the most appropriate strategy is to focus on the PAP’s system rather minister ? The system is what make the MIW and echelon immorally corrupted, greedy and nonsense-talker, and thus the system is the root cause of the problem, which Lucky Tan has pointed out. By pointing out the system and how those clowns utilize the system to exploit the citizens, it shows clearer picture that Singapore needs change. Party is not voted out based on certain minister but based on the system that breed the arrogant selfish greedy God/DemiGod of PAP. If you focus on the minister, you only fall into PAP’s trap, and that in turn they accuse you of been emotional and personal.

eg:
    The police raid of syndicate tell us that focusing on the system is effective. By understanding the criminal system use by syndicate, can the police eventually bust the ring, and bring justice and charge against the criminal masters and echelons.

If the police focus on just on the master, how effective will the charge be against that person ? Is it worth the effort. Your guess is as good as mine !

19. funactiver 16 November 2009

I am encourage that NSP have choose a very pratical way to challenge PAP election strategy, who will divide public focus from real policy issue to personal attack on opposition candidate. I will hope that NSP will not fall into such trap of PAP in the future election. I want to see NSP progress in the upcoming election.
    I am doubtful of PAP credibility if they can’t even face to face challenge even from opposition and claim themselve leaders. Can they face real challenge from the real world? Can their policy fall in future will tough time comes?

Keep up the good work. NSP. You have my support.

20. I am looking forward to know more about NSP manifesto & intention of forming NSP youth wing. It seem to me that NSP is the only party who seems moderate with no idolism. All I see is that they are working hard on ground listening. THAT WAT I WAN 2 C MAN….!!!

21. AllTheWayForFreedom 16 November 2009

to Wat Sup

I agree wit u. We see too much LKY, LSL, LTK, CST, CSC & JB, but where are the PEOPLE??? We need a working team for Singapore, not an idol.

22. noiseMaker 16 November 2009

Went to see NSP election rally talk last election. The first impression is that they will not get voted in at all. Speakers rhetoric is not convincing and unable to rally the people.
    Taking on a minister is a strategy that is too simplistic and cannot work.
    There are so many issues to bring out to challenge the PAP this coming elections. Different issues will touch varying groups of people heart and single issue at most can touch a single group of people heart.
    Consider offering the following to residents when they vote for you.
    1) NSP must promise total transparency in their management of the town.
    2) Will press government to give money to those who are jobless and poor.
    3) Give the town a real first world amenities at a third world price.
    4) Help to integrate township transportation that benefit residents traveling within estates and to work.
    5) Promise of help to resident small business people in growing their business to compete with the big boys.
    6) Ensure that residents who have season parking will get a parking lot very near their HDB block without competing for parking space.
    7) Symbolic free rice day once every three or six months to residents within the town.
    8) Help residents to sell their HDB flat with competent real estate agents at very low commission. Free advertisement space for anyone who want to sell their house.
    9) Pro Singaporean HDB business will get cheap or free yellow boxes if they employ more 100% Singaporean in their place of business.
    10) In celebration of voting in the opposition, residents need only pay 10% of conservancy charges for one of the month as a thank you gesture. A one time exercise.
    11) Will have a MP to personally give condolences to every residents with any member of their family past away and attend wake.
    12) Give ang pows or presents to every wedding held at void deck of HDB.

Above are some of my personal constructive help, if it is not applicable please forgive, they were done without full knowledge of rules and regulation or custom in such matters.
    Hope NSP can capture Tampines by sending competent candidates. Weak candidates of yesteryears will bound to fail. Jia U.

23. andrew leung 16 November 2009

Dear Andrew Loh,

I note that at the Editorial Team page still show that: Editor-at-Large – Andrew Loh

I am glad to hear NSP’s new strategy and surprised that NSP can field so many candidates, perhaps TOC can also focus on the ministers and their respective ministries performance.

The PAP has often focused on the strength of their party, teams and past performance as a whole. I am sure they will reveal many new candidates with excellent resumes and their new vision for Singapore in the next lap.

I hope the Opposition leadership can also inspire the voters that the country needs Change.

24. winstoncheng 16 November 2009

Dear Opposition,

When you want to fight something hard, unless you can hit harder, go soft.

While your opponents love to belittle you by hurling brick-bats, stay calm and rational, praise them and suggest alternatives.

When they throw allegations, unfounded as they may be, stand upright and take the hits, admit your past mistakes but highlight on what you have learned (through mistakes)

As a citizen, I yearn for a change but I do not want to see an opposition who behave like the incumbent. Have the courage to be different. Be bold to be honest. Speak from the heart. That’s what will win me over.

25. Go For It 16 November 2009

Yes, speak from the heart. Don’t try to please just for pleasing sake.

26. Tan Cheng Hua 16 November 2009

So many “suggestions” and “great ideas” here by commenters. Wonder why opposition still have problem finding people to join them.

27. Just listen 16 November 2009

Just listen more to the people. Know what they need.
    Feel the ground. Only then can you have a fighting chance.

28. You sure or NOT 16 November 2009

14) KopitiamApek on November 15th, 2009 11.23 pm

A lot of people dislike PAP but still vote for it, cause they are selfish like you. They worry about their upgrading, estate downgraded to slumps, no kindergartens, opposition capabilities, no gst credits etc. But they dont remember that nothing is free. ha ha ha

What does this say? We have been transformed to becoming self centred and selfish.

29. Kudos to TOC to show some news of various opposition parties. Keep up the good work.

Voters must open up their eyes to see the opposition are trying their best despite having limited resources and facing various obstacles placed by PAP.

Despite that, many opposition are functioning by passion alone and as such, deserve our utmost support. By support, it means we can either physically help out, make political donation to them, help spread their messages to friends and families and vote for them in the election.

Without them, we will never be able to have a two- or multi-party system. Without such a system, PAP is able to rubberstamp laws and continue to oppress the people while handing out crumbs to keep us barely alive.

Voters need to wake up the ship is heading towards an iceberg and if not enough people wake up, one day everyone will wake up when the shit hits the fan.

My best wishes to NSP and other opposition. While I am a bit disappointed NSP will not be contesting in my ward, I totally understand their limitations. I hope through supporting opposition, they will grow and eventually, all wards will be contested.

My final advice to NSP, which is the same for all parties, is to work together with your fellow opposition parties to form an alliance and contest under one brand. Only through unity can you break the hegemony of the PAP.

30. Alex the peasant boy 16 November 2009

I really hope Singaporeans would really stop judging the Opposition candidates on how well they could speak or how well they dressed; we are not running some beauty or story-telling contest here. What I think most of us would want is someone that cares & would do his best to help the residents. How many times have we seen the PAP field highly educated people for the elections & honestly, could anyone tell me what these highly educated buggers have done for you after they were elected. Many people want credible candidates, but what do you mean by Credible? Does he need to be some big-shot in some big MNC or does he need to be some CEO of some foreign bank? Well, it would be nice but dont you think holding that sort of position at work also means he will be pretty tied up with his own commitments? I guess as long as he’s not some big time gangster or loanshake, I think he should fit the bill & I would vote for him.

Education should be part of the criteria for being an MP but it shouldn’t be the main one. I wont mind my MP is an A level or Diploma feller if he’s sincere & willing to take time to listen to our problems. So, please don’t judge the candidate cos he’s just some Diploma holder or a mere ‘small-time supervisor’ in some local company; the most important factor is his sincerity & his willingness to listen.

31. Second Class 16 November 2009

Can a monkey lose billions?

32. Remember you don’t OWN a HDB, you are leasing it from the Govt. They can take it back whenever they want. Or if the lease runs out during your kids lives, they can set the new lease at whatever level they want.

33. Debora Soongi 16 November 2009

As this article is about Elections, and election being a Democratic process,
    I like to share words of wisdom with All including PAP fans this famous intellectual quote :

“But we either believe in democracy or we not. If we do, then, we must say categorically, without qualification, that no restraint from the any democratic processes, other than by the ordinary law of the land, should be allowed… If you believe in democracy, you must believe in it unconditionally. If you believe that men should be free, then, they should have the right of free association, of free speech, of free publication. Then, no law should permit those democratic processes to be set at nought.”

- Lee Kuan Yew as an opposition leader, April 27, 1955

what say you?

34. Able the commoner 16 November 2009

Yes, I fully agree with Alex the peasant boy at #31).

It is about time Singaporeans stop looking up to the high status and highly educated people because these people tend to become elitist, and they do not have much time and commitment for the ordinary commoners. They have their full-time jobs and responsibilities to take care off, first and fore most. They also hold many Directorships or Chairmanships and therefore are totally tied up in many areas of responsibilities.

Some people may argue that they can multi-task. But don’t forget that multi-tasking also takes time. And every person, no matter how smart and how capable he may be, has only 24 hours a day. He/she also has to sleep and rest because he/she is not a machine. Neither is he/she a god. (Btw, I believe gods also need rest, right?)

As we have come to know, the PAP MPs only meet the people once a week/fortnight for 2 to 3 hours, right? And at the Meet-the-People-Session, who are the ones who actually do work? The Grass-Root people from the RCs or CCs, right? And what can the MP do to help you? Nothing, except to sign a letter which is drafted by one of the grass-root people and send it to the appropriate govt agencies. And ask you to wait for the reply from the govt agency. That is about all, right? They are basically part-timers (but paid full-time money). In other words, half-hearted people who serve not because they love to serve, but because they have some other motives or because they have been coerced by their master to do it.

What we all need now are leaders who have the passion, devotion and commitment for and to the people.

We need leaders who have and can spend much time to look into the welfare of the people. If we have such leaders, a few of them would do wonders.

We don’t need more and more of the elites type of leaders who only have the absurd idea of paying themselves lots of money so that they won’t become corrupt.

We need leaders who are down-to-earth, who can spare time mixing with the people; leaders who are easily approachable and accessible.

We don’t need leaders who sit comfortably in air-con ivory towers and living comfortably in big bungalow houses surrounded by personal body guards and police 24 hours a day and 7 days a week.

We need leaders who are of slightly above average intelligence but are commoners like us, who can be among us, who live in HDB flats, so that they can full appreciate, feel, understand and grasp our difficulties, problems and aspirations.

We don’t need highly intelligent scholars who tend to become cunning and crafty, formulating and deciding upon policies to their own advantage, under the guise of helping the people. One glaring example is “Increase the GST to help the poor”.

We don’t need any more of those pseudo leaders who think that they can earn more in the private sectors instead of becoming an MP or a Minister. If they can earn more in the private sector and have the heart to help the people, then why don’t they stay in the private sector and donate half of they pay to the people every month? Wouldn’t that be better for the people?

We need leaders who do not think too highly of themselves and who do not lord over us,

We don’t need leaders who are so arrogant, conceited and insolent; so much so that they simply decide everything for us without consulting us; so much so that they think it is their right to rule and lord over all of us; so much so that they start to give us labels and names such as “quitters”, “lesser mortals”, “complacent citizens”, “whinners”, etc.

35. Singapore - One Country, TWO SYSTEMS 16 November 2009

Tampines GRC was won by 50K odd votes

36. spirited-centred 16 November 2009

I think what the opposition lack in resources is not actually money but manpower resources. Manpowers are needed to support potential candidates to walk the ground, to organised community related activities to heighten residents’ awareness of alternative parties whom they can look forward to in times of needs, to carry out the many elections activities during the election such as volunteering to nominate candidate to stand for election for a particular ward (need about 8 local residents of the ward), about 20 polling agents to witness the voting at polling stations in each ward on 2 rotating shifts of 6 hours each, probably another 10 counting agents to witness the vote counting at counting centres and another 10 support staffs to organise rally sites such queue for permits, arrange contractors to set up rally stage and lightings, crowd controls etc and another 10 staffs or contractor labourers who must be Singapore citizens of voting age to drive lorry and put up election posters and banners and house to house flyers. So all in all just during election time each candidate need about 60 dedicated personnels to help him. So for a 4 man GRC they need about 240 personnels to carry out the election campaign. These 240 personnels have to come from the people themselves who are willing to come forward to sacrifice their time during the party groundworks or during the election.
    At present condition, not many are willing to join the frays due many reasons, may I suggest that someone who have good organisation skill could set up a ‘polictical activities centre’ that is party-neutral to engage the citizens especially the young to encourage them to be interested in politics, their roles as citizens, why and how they should participate in political activities and play a role during elections to support the democratic process , inculcate good values how to become good politician and also aspiration to be candidates during election irregardless of which party they join.
    With more people joining this centre, a ready pool of political manpowerw is created for alternative parties to tap on.
    This centre may become the platform for positive political growth for the well-being of all Singaporeans which I think our ruling party is not interested to inculcate as they already have their hands on our beholden civil servants

37. Chan Sek Leong 16 November 2009

#34,

yo gal, thanks for the quotes. Am really inspired by those words coming from a leader with majority singaporeans as his followers.

38. noiseMaker 16 November 2009

What is the pre requisite of an opposition to justify being electable?
    @Alex the peasant boy –

If we don’t judge how the candidate speak or dress, what then should we judge them on?

When a candidate speaks, it is where we know what he thinks. We then know what he can do for us. I can’t decide if he does not talk or if he talks rubbish.

If a person does not at least dress neatly and decently, it only goes to show he is not very organized. Do you want us to entrust our estate to such a person? Do you want the estate rubbish not cleared, the cracked in the block not patch and eventually the building tumble down killing all of us?

A CEO or business leader is not a position that everyone can do. If you do not have capability do u think that business want you to lead them where so many workers livelihood is at stake. A CEO is a proven person in a way that could lead. Depending on the individual, he may not necessary be the right MP, for that I agree. A person in such capacity definitely has an edge over another candidate without.

A community leader like a MP should not be judge by the quantity of work they do, but the management and brain he possess is what is needed most.
    His academic qualification though is not very important but those he employs to do the work must have the necessary qualification.

A fellow with diploma qualification and can listen to people, has first got to prove himself otherwise how do we know if he listens for listening sake and do nothing about it. To prove himself, he could volunteer in community work and help around and gain some recognition and not just base on what you say he is. I can say I am able to listen and hear you out, do you believe me? Do you want to vote for me?

I want to be your next MP. I am qualified based on your requirement, Alex.

39. Lau Lee Koh 16 November 2009

I visited Tampines recently for shopping.
    The food at the central areas are too expensive for the value it provides, imho.

40. Richard Elliotis 16 November 2009

I frankly but bluntly do not have confidence living in this city.

1. Cost will likely rise further

2. Human Congestion

3. Quality of Life

4. Cost of raisng Children and tougher competition children will have to face
    Considering more Foreigners than Citizens may populate this city, which some say is not yet a country.

5. How to retire?

ok lah, let me get back to earning money. Else cannot fall sick. I visited a clinic and it cost me $63 for fever. I have receipts also.
    I

41. Good to learn that our alternative parties are now more organised and educated. There is no point asking what is our current PM performances. There is only one apt word to describe him todate, that is “retard”, chose to be led and appeared artifcial on TV. Without oppositions in the parliament for him to “fix”, he has taken things for granted, for too far. Singaporeans are overall – drained by his policies and in full exhaustion. A terrible leader.

42. curious citizen 16 November 2009

If i may add, a good thread to read up on strategy would be to peruse http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/11/sdp-call-for-government-to-release-electoral-map/

there lies a sleeping dragon, the master strategist, Toolang, who might be able to provide his unique form of combat. Just like Sun Tze who was the author of the art of war, hopefully opposition parties might employ Toolang in garnering the support of voters so as to achieve a more democratic city that is singapore.

43. NSP will need to find a way to reach a wider public. As it stands not many people have even heard of them.

Just out of curiousity (with no complaints), didn’t Andrew Loh resign and state that he would no longer be involved in TOC?

44. Brandon Lee 16 November 2009

This is why while basically most countries in the world changed leaders since 2007 to 2009, the INC most likely will miss the boat.
    Unique.

45. Singapore needs a strong opposition party. Just look back from now. What have been done well to us? Walking on the walkway is now never a peaceful walk. Every 2 min a bicycle rider will ring you to give way. They feel they have the right to use the path as a cycling track. I do not have this problem 5 years ago.
    MRT and buses companies removed sit to make room for more people to stand and squeeze in as the population explodes. A decline in service coupled with an increase in fare. People are less willing to give up sits for the elderly as there is less chance to get a sit. More elderly are seen looking for trash to sell.
    Service sector flooded with mainland Chinese. The service they give is worse than anyone can think of.
    Half a year ago, Jurong Point and its neighbourhood is just like another geylang. Although, now there is lesser odd job labour, I still fear for our ladies as the group is still big.
    Is anybody listening to us? Hardly… they never listen…. Getting very tired of commenting to a wall…

46. Yamamoto 17 November 2009

39) noiseMaker

Empty vessels makes the most noise…and you must agree that actions speaks louder then words. I think what alex wants or preferred will be someone who prove their worth through their action…instead of letting first impression do the work…..if we judge them based on that, it only shows how superficial we are…although there is a min standard that we have to go for

“When a candidate speaks, it is where we know what he thinks. We then know what he can do for us.”

Wrong, totally wrong…don’t you know that words are empty? and just because someone says something, and you totally believe it and think you know what he can do for us? look at the bitter pills…and what happen…look at the golden years and what happen.

“A person in such capacity definitely has an edge over another candidate without. ”

Very nice, but that’s at the most in terms of judging capabilities…if a candidate without the capacity has the will and the heart to serve the people, that is a pivotal…Look at the well qualified MPs now…they have the capabilities, but are they serving the interest of the people who elect them?

“A community leader like a MP should not be judge by the quantity of work they do, but the management and brain he possess is what is needed most.”

So what is a brain and management skills when it doesn’t help the people? when some remain nonchalent…i think your priority is wrong here…it is not their management and brain that should be use to judge, it should be the quality of the work done…

So noisemaker, will you want to elect a once-in-a-generation genius to office….but that genius only pays lips service and don’t care a hoot about u?

47. Yamamoto 17 November 2009

Curious Citizen, a nice one…so they have to visit him 3 times to invite him?

48. noiseMaker 17 November 2009

@Yammoto – #39. Since I m a noiseMaker, surely I must live up to my name. If I am an empty vessel so be it.
    Teach me what I should do to elect a candidate.
    Close my eyes, don’t look at him, don’t listen to him.
    Much as well tell the opposition don’t need to go to rally since words are all empty.

Hey Joe, in order to produce quality work you need some tools. Your brain and management skill is the basic tools.

A MP is not a laborer, use his hand and make quality landscape. He uses his brain to plan and manage.

Who want to vote PAP, not me? At least the opposition must come with some decency. Otherwise I feel so embarrass to tell my neighbors to vote for NSP, when the NSP makes the PAP looks so good.

Come on be serious tell NSP to bring in the very best. Our neighbors are ready to support them but they cannot send people that stutter and dress dirtily.

49. Are GE coming?

1. ERP rates to discount a bit for school holidays. Wow, car -owner parents may feel indebted to this discount? So grateful?

2. Yesterday news about a poll or research or something about 20% students aspiring to be entreprenuers. (why self employed if can get a fat check? I wonder)
    Would this lower unemployment rate? Would this make fresh grads go into self-employment if they cannot find a job?

3. News about schemes to help new food-stall businesses survive .
    Would this ditto the sama sama of point 2?

December holidays or 1st quarter?
    I have absolutely no idea.

I am just a hum. Brain not so big.

50. @you sure or NOT

“A lot of people dislike PAP but still vote for it, cause they are selfish like you. They worry about their upgrading, estate downgraded to slumps, no kindergartens, opposition capabilities, no gst credits etc. But they dont remember that nothing is free. ha ha ha”

I don’t see how voting for the PAP based on these matters are wrong. I would think that they are very credible reasons for voting somebody into government, if they can guarantee you the required amenities to live well. It may not be the only reason, but it is an important one and I fail to find this selfish at all. You seem to be a proponent of democracy, yet you are in the same breath so willing to disregard to views of other (old) people who have ‘short-sighted’ and ‘selfish’ views just because you disagree with them.